Dr. Justin Robinson, Department of Management Studies, Cave Hill, UWI

In its most recent review, published on November 13, 2009, the Credit Rating Agency, Standard and Poor’s (S&P) affirmed Barbados’ investment grade international credit rating, but adjusted its outlook from stable to negative.  The S&P report has generated much public comment and debate on the state and management of the Barbados economy, as the economy wrestles with an economic crisis of biblical proportions, the worst since the great depression of the 1930s. I propose in this brief article to offer a perspective on the performance of the Barbados economy utilizing three widely used metrics of economic performance, the level of employment, the level of foreign exchange reserves and the state of public finances.

At the end of the third quarter of 2009, the un-employment rate in Barbados was reported at 10.1%.  Table 1 presents data on the un-employment rate in Barbados since the year 2000, as reported by the Central Bank of Barbados.

Table 1

2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
Unemployment Rate
9.4% 9.9% 10.3% 11.0% 9.6% 9.1% 8.7% 7.4% 8.1% 10.1%

The data suggests that the average un-employment rate in Barbados over the last decade has been 9.36%, and the median 9.50%.  Readers may want to note the increase in un-employment in the aftermath of the mild global economic slowdown after the September 11, 2001 attacks on the World Trade Centre in New York.  Due to the structure of the Barbados economy with its heavy reliance on tourism and international finance, we are uniquely vulnerable to global economic recessions.  Given the magnitude of the current global recession, an un-employment rate of 10.1%, after well over a year into the current global economic crisis, represents a measure of success to date. I am inclined to credit this to the commendable restraint shown by the private sector in terms of layoffs, and the choice by the government to maintain levels of employment in the public sector as well as implement a moderate fiscal stimulus.

In a press release of November 13, 2009, the Central Bank of Barbados reports that current levels of foreign exchange reserves provide 20.7 weeks of import cover, well above the accepted norm of 12 weeks import cover.  Readers may want to compare this to the recession of 1991, when reserves provided 2 weeks import cover.  Barbados does not appear to be in any imminent danger of an exchange rates crisis, or have any need to enter into an arrangement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).  The fact that Barbados appears likely to emerge from the current global economic crisis with its fixed exchange rate regime and independence from the IMF intact, represents a measure of success in navigating the economic recession.  I am inclined to credit this to the lessons learnt from previous crises, especially the strategy of pre-emptive borrowing of foreign exchange reserves.

In assessing the state of public finances I will utilize the fiscal balance as a percentage of Gross Domestic Product (GDP).  The fiscal balance is the government revenues minus government expenditure, and the total is then divided by GDP.  Table 2 table provides data on the fiscal balance in Barbados since the year 2000 as reported by the IMF..

Table 2

2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
Fiscal Balance to GDP (%)
-3.1 -6.2 -12.8 -5.9 1.4 -3.6 -3.8 -6.00 -5.6 -7.1 (proj)

The data suggests that Barbados has had an average annual fiscal deficit of 5% of GDP over the last decade.  Readers may want to note the dramatic worsening of the fiscal deficit in the aftermath of the global economic slowdown after the September 11, 2001 attacks on the World Trade Centre in New York.  Given the Barbados economic model of a high commitment to health care and education spending in particular, economic slowdowns wreak havoc with government finances.  Of interest is the worsening in 2007 when there was no global economic slowdown.  I am inclined to attribute the worsening of the fiscal deficit in 2009 to the slowdown in government revenues as a result of the global economic crisis, and the choice by the government to maintain levels of employment in the public sector as well as implement a moderate fiscal stimulus. In this respect Barbados is far from alone.  Economies major and minor, developed and developing have seen their public finances worsen as governments try to mitigate the impact of the worst global recession since the 1930s.  To provide some perspective, table 3 presents the latest figures as reported by the Economist magazine of November 7 2009.

Table 3

United States Japan China Britain Canada
Fiscal Balance to GDP (%)
-11.90 -7.70 -3.40 -14.50 -2.40

In summary, I would suggest that the Barbados economy has performed reasonably well to date in terms of levels of employment and the levels of foreign exchange reserves.  The public finances have, however, suffered as the government has sought to maintain levels of employment in the public sector, and stimulate the private sector by implementing a moderate fiscal stimulus.  The change in the outlook from stable to negative by S&P is largely driven by the increases in the fiscal deficit. The international credit rating is important and the nation should try to hang on to it.  Hopefully we can find a way to maintain desired levels of employment, make the needed fiscal adjustments and hang on to the investment grade rating, in the midst of this deep and stubborn global economic recession.  Given the Barbados economic model, this is far from being anyway near as easy as the S&P analysts seem to be suggesting.  My question is, as raised by my colleague, Dr. Don Marshall, if the adjustments in the fiscal deficit required to please S&P necessitates that the economy be plunged into an especially deep recession, would that be in the best interests of Barbados as an economy and a society?

178 responses to “How Is The Barbados Economy Doing?”

1. “FRISCO NIGGS AINT NO PUNKS”

2. I do not mean to sound malicious. But there is such a long list of his accomplishments that his academic qualifications are conspicuous by their absence.

He seems a little young for being a Professor Emiritus.

3. What about that national breakfast meetings that would to have help Thompson run this country – given that he does not know what he is doing or what to do?

4. @Veritas

Here is another question we would have posed to the PM.

Please confirm BU sources the government is well on the way to settling with 3S (the company fired by government contracted by the former government to build the flyovers). What is the amount and it is provided for in the 2010 budget?

5. donald duck esq // November 20, 2009 at 10:42 AM

What about the $160 million in expenditure cuts announced by the Minister of Finance?

Incidentally, in it last Article 1v Consultation, the IMF recommended to the DLP that it should reduce its Goods and Services Vote by 2 – 2 ¼ % of GDP ($7191 Million for 2009) (i.e.) between $143.8 to $161.8.

The same $160m that Thompson has.

This is one of the clearest examples that DLP policies already carry a: “Made in Washington Lebel,” and that Barbados’ economy is being run from Washington and not Bay Street.

6. This is one of the clearest examples that DLP policies already carry a: “Made in Washington Lebel,” and that Barbados’ economy is being run from Washington and not Bay Street.

To Alex Fergusson,

If what you claim above is true….then that is better than the BLP years when our economy was fashioned on GREENLAND….a DUMP !

Millions down the DRAIN…and yet a bag of garbage cannot go there.

Tell us which is better ?

7. @Justin Robinson, RJH Adams and Dennis Jones…

I would be very interested in your thoughts about the current, and future, BDS peg to the USD.

Four main questions:

1. As a net importer, does the “peg” to the USD really make sense? From whom (or is it who?) do we mostly import? To whom do we mostly export?

2. Does the current peg of $1.98 BDS to $1.00 USD make sense? If nothing else, shouldn’t it have been (for example) $2.02 (or $2.05 et al) BDS to $1.00 USD? (Think about all the vendors who accept $1 USD as being $2 BDS.)

3. It has been suggested that in the near future (read: within 10 years) there will be a shift from the USD being the international currency to another. Possibly another country’s currency; possibly a new “global currency”.

4. What would be involved in decoupling the BDS from the USD? Either taking it independent, or tying it to another currency?

I would be very interested in all your learned points of view.

Best regards to all.

8. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@ Alex Fergusson // November 20, 2009 at 3:05 PM
    “Incidentally, in it last Article 1v Consultation, the IMF recommended to the DLP that it should reduce its Goods and Services Vote by 2 – 2 ¼ % of GDP ($7191 Million for 2009) (i.e.) between $143.8 to $161.8.

The same $160m that Thompson has.

This is one of the clearest examples that DLP policies already carry a: “Made in Washington Lebel,” and that Barbados’ economy is being run from Washington and not Bay Street.” [Just because the cut in spending equates to a deficit change indicated in the Article IV does not mean that this is “made in Washington’. Fund policy proposals are a package, not disparate parts, so you need to see what other policy changes will accompany the spending change. Many outcomes other than the one envisaged by the IMF are consistent with that one figure. Look again at the Article IV and the key policy variables, if the governments monetary/inflation, balance of payments, and output scenario that go with the $160 million cut are the same as proposed by the Fund then you are not looking at the same policy package.

Even if the government’s policy package were the same merely means that the Fund and Barbados are agreed on the necessary policy changes, not on whose ‘factory’ put it together.

But the key take away (see paras. 10-11 of the Article IV) is that while the Fund proposed expenditure cuts (1% of GDP) to keep the 2009/10 at the same level as last year, the government ‘did not favour further tightening of the fiscal stance at this stage’. So the question to ask and answer if is the government has now changed its view.

9. Trust kiki to interject noise into a serious discussion…

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yy0ByqNuwmw&hl=en_US&fs=1&]

10. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Christopher Halsall // November 20, 2009 at 3:38 PM
    1. Most of Barbados’ imports come from the USA (about 40+%), Caricom (20+%) and the UK (10%) (see the IMF’s Direction of Trade Statistics 2004, http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/scr/2004/cr04153.pdf; these older data are free, while more up to date through 2008 are available but by paid subscription–I do not believe that the structure of trade has changed much since 2004). But remember that a lot of goods are priced in US$, so the exchange rate variation may be less that implied by the geographical direction of trade.

Exports went mainly to Caricom (35%), US (15%), and UK (12%), and other (23%).

One really ought to factor in services too, mainly tourism and you can look at the CTO’s data to see where most tourists come from (UK, US, Canada), and where most Bajans travel.

2. The official rate is B$2:US$1 but in most actual transactions involving banks there is always a spread, from which they get part of their fees.

3. Moving from the USD as the world’s main reserve currency will take a long time, whether it’s in 10 years or more is hard to say. Lots of things need to happen before the USD can be displaced as the primary reserve currency, and the major currency for financing international trade.

4. B$ decoupling from US$ is hard to discuss in a vacuum. It depends on what the new situation would be; there’s quite a wide range of standard alternatives. Moreover, decoupling may not be the desired option, with a change of peg value also possible. If the exchange rate regime were to change from fixed to floating (if that is what you mean by ‘independent’) then that would also entail other changes in how international transactions can be conducted so that the various movements could properly have their impact on determining the value of the currency.

Hope that helps.

11. CH:

Whilst we are all blinded by our supposed regional superiority, in being able to maintain our peg to the suspect dollar, let us not forget we are devaluing our currency at the same rate as the US are allowing theirs to depreciate.

Devaluation by stealth, with not a word said to explain our rocketing inflation, except soon expected relief supplies from Dominica and an ever increasing airlift from the terminally ill airlines.

Blowhard “economists” have proved, through their most recent and now discredited predictions, that they are as much scientists as were the emperor’s tailor’s were gents outfitters.

We see previous, seemingly weighty, comments on this blog smugly defining where we went wrong but where were their learned voices when we were taking those faux pas.

Perhaps the suggestion of a possible way forward may be more acceptable from these timid academics, anything rather than a belittling ” well if I was going there I wouldn’t start from here”
    kind of commentary.

Give us a vision, if you can have one without mashing corns, not history.

12. @Straight talk: “…the emperor’s tailor’s were gents outfitters.

Agreed. The emperor has no clothes…

Sad, isn’t it?

Some still wear clothes.

Interestingly, they’re not generally listened to….

13. @Chris

After the intellectual discourse on the matter of peg or no peg, answer this – do you think a Barbados government (party) ever have the will (power) to implement such when the economists say the time is now?

14. @Dennis Jones: “The official rate is B$2:US$1

I think you’re wrong.

Or perhaps I am.

My understand is the official exchange rate is $1.98 Barbados to $1 US.

Could someone please tell us all which one of us is correct? Or if we’re both wrong, what is the correct ratio?

15. @David… There is an old saying: Get an even number of economists in a room, and you’ll never know the correct answer. Get an odd number, and you *might* know…

To answer you direct question indirectly…

I am beginning to believe that perhaps it is time for a *serious* third Political Party here in Barbados. Perhaps in time for the next general election.

As they say: serious people seek counsel from many; but then they make their own decisions….

16. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@CH
    The Article IV document (p32) has a section on ‘Exchange-rate arrangements’ and reads:
    ‘Barbados accepted the obligations of Article VIII, Sections 2, 3, and 4 on November 3, 1993, and there are no restrictions on the making of payments and transfers for current international transactions. The Barbados dollar has been pegged to the U.S. dollar since mid-1975 at BDS$2.00 = US$1.00.’

There should be documentation/legislation to back this statement by the IMF (and you may take a look at the Central Bank of Barbados, and as far as I’m concerned 2:1 is the official reference rate.

In practice, any exchange rate will have a buy-sell spread, so you may see rates quoted as 1.98/2.02.

17. 1 US Dollar = 2.01000 Barbados Dollar
    1 Barbados Dollar (BBD) = 0.49751 US Dollar (USD)

Median price = 1.99000 / 2.01000 (bid/ask)
    Minimum price = 1.99000 / 2.01000
    Maximum price = 1.99000 / 2.01000

18. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

My advice is simple

get rid of x
    scratch y
    _________ X patience
    insert p

=
    buoyancy in the economy—
    This is a simple equation not hard to figure out at all

19. @RJR Adams, Rawdon, your Father and Grandfather would be so proud of you; a real ‘chip’ of the old block! Brilliant!

While I’m ignorant (lacking knowledge) re this subject matter, I truly delight in reading what you have to say, just wish I could make sense of it!

My forte is eschatology, ‘End-Times’ as it relates to the IMF, World Bank, WTO, the ‘Federal Reserve’ the greatest *hoax* fostered on the American people, ever, which has deliberately created this current economic crisis, as it did in the great depression of the 1930s, only, this this time around, it serves to help usher in the ‘New World Order’ One World Government, which is just around the corner, and a new world currency, the US dollar is on the way out, all carefully planned, and in its final stage of execution!

Sorry fellows, did not mean to interrup your well-meaning, and courteous exchanges on economics!

20. Public Enemy – He got game

21. WEIGHING IN!!!

Monetary experts now warn, “We’re in the terminal stages of the world’s most gigantic pyramid scheme” in fiscal history…

If you believe the academic and monetary claptrap – then both the Poseidon and the titanic are sailing along just fine….

“All signs point toward the U.S. dollar – already down one-third against other world currencies since 2002 – heading at breakneck speed for a precipitous and historic crash…”

“Anyone holding dollars or dollar-denominated assets is sitting on a ticking time bomb, and the fuse is burning short. There isn’t a moment to lose before we see a worldwide rush to the exits…”

“The unmistakable warning signs revealed – point to a monetary crisis on the verge of spinning wildly out of control, leading to massive INFLATION* and quite possibly, a sudden and catastrophic dollar collapse that will change the world forever…”

“Major foreign investors such as China are quickly catching on to the hard reality of impending U.S. insolvency. They are coming to the inescapable conclusion that the only way Washington can keep its Ponzi finances going is by running the monetary printing presses non-stop…”

” Even mega-investor (and high-profile Obama cheerleader) Warren Buffett recently admitted publicly that the frantic spending and money creation underway right now will trigger a currency-destroying inflation that will be much more severe than in the 1970s…”

“That’s why big-time investment gurus such as Jim Rogers seized on the temporary dollar rally earlier this year to hustle their assets out of harm’s way – before, as he puts it, the dollar “goes the way of pound sterling” and “declines by 90% in the coming years…”

Here’s just a glimpse of the likely fallout:

* A price explosion as Americans scramble over one another to buy tangible assets or simply hoard basic necessities, before the dollar’s purchasing power evaporates fully.

* Widespread shortages, sparse grocery store shelves and the return of long gas lines.

* Failed businesses and economic dislocations far eclipsing anything we’ve seen to date.

* A breakdown in commerce, as longer-term transactions become impossible to make.

* Rising crime and rampant unemployment.

* Government handouts drying up, with an angry dependent class taking to the streets.

FINAL THOUGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Apocalypse or Random Economic Theory?

YOU JUDGE – YOU DECIDE!!!

In the 2009 Unrestricted Warfare Symposium at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory, intelligence analyst James Richards unveiled a blueprint detailing exactly how U.S. enemies could drop the value of the dollar by a shocking 75%, crippling our economy overnight…

This report’s conclusions are nothing short of chilling.

So vulnerable is the U.S. to this scenario, Richards urges U.S. ‘intel’ agencies to pay close attention to global gold supplies and the financial maneuvering of rival powers…

Richards’ prescient paper came out days before Zhou Xiaochuan, governor of China’s Central Bank, challenged the U.S. to step aside to allow a new global currency to replace the dollar.

The writing is on the wall – the wheels are almost off the wagon….

No amount of lucid economic theory can save this or bolster it in any way…

Change has come!!!

22. DEBT THE ACHILLES’ HEEL OF ALL GOVERNMENTS!!!

This week AMERICAN* debt came in at a staggering $12,031,299,186,290.07….

America is running ever-larger budget deficits, including $1.42 trillion in fiscal 2009 alone.

The interest cost alone on that debt last year was $202 billion….

China owned $799 billion of our Treasury debt as of September. That’s up from $618 billion a year earlier and $468 billion the year before that. About 61% of the Treasuries traded in the marketplace, as of mid-2008, were in foreign hands. And now, China has surpassed Japan as the largest foreign owner. That means they control the purse strings…

The chairman of the China Banking Regulatory Commission, Liu Mingkang, just warned that …

“The continuous depreciation in the dollar, and the U.S. government’s indication, that in order to resume growth and maintain public confidence, it basically won’t raise interest rates for the coming 12 to 18 months, has led to massive dollar arbitrage speculation.”

He added that …

“The U.S.’ monetary policy has seriously affected global asset prices, fueled speculation in stock and property markets, and created new, real and insurmountable risks to the recovery of the global economy.”

There’s a “GORILLA” in the room but folks can’t see it…

Don’t be blind people!!!!

23. The next coming economic crisis will be much more severe than the current one…

Financial asset bubbles are one thing, and they are a risk. But most of the risk, at this stage, is to investor and consumer confidence.

A bust that would bring financial assets back in line with the fundamentals of the economy would be another major blow to sentiment.

And that could be the trappings for another recession — even a depression.
    But the guaranteed danger right now is the real economy, real asset deflation, and evaporated demand.

The threat of a sharper deterioration in the real economy leads to a complete stand-still in economic activity … i.e. a date with depression.

That’s the battle central banks are most worried about.

If you’ve concluded that this looks like a lose-lose scenario for the U.S. and the highly interconnected global economy — I’m afraid you’re right.

A likely best-case scenario is a very slow and painful rebuilding period, where weak demand and lower standards of living rule.

The worst-case scenario:

A bout with global depression.

24. SAD VERY SAD !!!

25. It’s all about realigning priorities
    becoming less materialistic
    stop spending to boost the economy
    learn not to waste money
    save what you get to survive
    individuals are more important than
    markets and institutions
    food and good health is like money in the bank

26. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

you people are saying that barbados is along for a ride if the dollar crashes but so would most of the world’s biggest economies. China and Japan especially are “riding the tiger”. They can’t get off or they will be eaten.
    By this I mean both countries hold temendous amunts of US denoted securities. A 75% drop in the dollar would cripple the US but it would also devastate China and Japan’s asset holdings. The problem is that most countries in their position cannot divest themselves of US denoted securities without taking a significant hit in their asset holding values.

27. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Don’t state the obvious, come up with a solution.

Alex Fergusson states
    “The second point is that whereas such a high deficit should be used only in extra-ordinary circumstances, under the DLP it has become the norm.”

Are these not extraordinary times? My God man, Have a conscience. The world is in the worst recession/financial crisis anybody under 50 has ever seen.

@ Bushman you are correct. Economists seem not to understand that you cannot run deficit financing continuously. politicians also seem to fall into that boat sometimes. the well must run dry. We should aim for sustainable levels in fiscal management which equates to prolonged periods of small surpluses or balanced payments cycled with fiscal deficits when problems arise. The problem is that even in the years of plenty we spent more than we generated. the deficit accumulated gradually . We now have to add to that in these bad times to try to keep things stable. Sooner or later though we have to run a balanced budget or a surplus. That will mean swallowing a lot of bitter pills.

28. Have you all considered…

I personally am a fan of asian cultures. They are intelegent. They are learned. They are patient.

Did you know, for example, that Sony has a 300 year business plan?

So, from the above, might I please suggest that perhap.those asian countries who own so much USA dollars and debt know *exacly* what they’re doing?

And from that, may I please suggest that we little Barbados (little more than a rounding error when you get right down to it) might see the writing on the wall?

(Posted via my Blackberry, as LIME have had a widespread xDSL outage the entire day today….)

29. Make hay while the sun shines.
    You Never Know What You’ve Got
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/21/you-never-know-what-youve-got/

30. @Bad Man Saying Nuttin

To say we have to balance the budget makes good sense but the bitter pill which has to be swallowed; what is the plan? BU has discussed this matter already, the reason why Barbados is a magnet in Caricom at the moment is the high standard of living and the attendant amenities which are on offer.

We asked the earlier, which government will have the balls to create measures to encourage/force the desired behaviours?

31. @All…

Is it just me, or does anyone else grow tired of kiki’s perpetual parasitic injection of noise into serious dialogue?

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUfS8LyeUyM&hl=en_US&fs=1&]

32. Just you Chris….to hear the noise you have to click on it…….why would you, if it bothers you…

33. Yes chris I too am bothered by kiki’s distraction with all these clips often on very serious topic.

It is not a matter of not clicking on it,I think it is selfish.

34. @ David
    “…..which government will have the balls to create measures to encourage/force the desired behaviours?”
    Sometimes you amaze the Bushman yuh know!!

The point that I have been trying to make from the inception of BU is that there are some absolute spiritual laws that are unstoppable.

The kind of government that would take those needed steps is a wise, intelligent, prudent one. In other words, IT AIN’T GONNA HAPPEN>

….However, the INEVITABLE consequences of continuing with the folly foisted on us by the jokers that we admire as ‘experts’ is frighteningly close to the scenario described by Terence M. Blackett // November 21, 2009 at 2:01 PM …. and actually has already started – even as we type….
    It is going to be a really rough ride…. but it will be so much worse for those who define their very life by what they have accumulated..

You are clearly a wise man David. Surely you can see the writing on the wall….
    Surely you can see the folly in the logic of the ‘experts’…
    …only unkind words could describe those who cannot see the consequences of continually spending more than they earn….and presuming this to be their rightful due at that…

But even more fundamentally – David, surely you have been able to deduce by now, that the real true measure of life has little to do with the accumulation of such junk as we consider wealth….

I strongly recommend to you that you stop reading the junk material normally referenced by the likes of GP, MME and Terence. That kind of draft is useless, misguided and fundamentally flawed….. besides only Harrison college types does really understand that stuff anyway….rotfl.

I recommend my hero, the international literary genius, Lowdown Hoad – and in particular his latest article which touches on the subject….

35. @Bush Tea

Agree with you about the disregard most Barbadians have to the idea of balancing the personal budget. It is very fashionable to fund the deficit with credit cards and loans as they drive SUVs as status symbols, travel the world and the like. Tell us why a family of 3-4 would have to build some of the edifices which have going price of 1 million?

The BU household felt flattered that Dick would reference a BU blog to inspire his last article, our only criticism is he did not have the balls tofully cite his source…lol.

36. @David…

It is one thing for one or more families to run a deficit…

It is quite another thing for an entire country to….

37. @David
    The reason why a family of 4 would build a mansion and use their credit card like there is no tomorrow is that they model their behaviour on the Government’s, and on what the ‘experts’ advise.

In the old days, before we had a graduate in every home and international gurus living in Barbados, the simple, common wisdom was to live within your means, AND to save a little for the rainy day.

…along came the educated economic gurus with their ‘fiscal deficits’, ‘easy credit cards’ and ‘consume now, pay later’ Ponzi schemes.

…but as my mother used to say, ‘what sweeten goat mouth does burn he tail….’ and a lot of tails will catch afire soon in our world.

38. Chris I ain’t gonna argue with you again
    that would mean we had an emotional involvement which we haven’t got btw

Now carry on pontificating old sport..

39. @kiki… You’re not my type.

I desire sophistication in my woman….

40. 2 options for massive debt are:
    (a) borrow more to stay solvent
    i.e. rob peter to paul
    (b) bite the bullet, stop using credit and
    clear the debt over x amount of years

41. @ Kiki
    …take 40%. there are many more options.

c. Your creditor sends the debt collector and take over your house and throw your family into the road….

d. You declare bankruptcy and move in with the inlaws…

e. You are pointed to the fine print in the agreements you took and find out that your creditor is your new Lord and Master….and he likes your wife and daughter…

…here’s an option some of us may like…
    f. your creditor likes you, and is willing to cancel your debt…all you need to do is bend over a bit…

…Long and Short of it,IMHO, there are no good outcomes from a long term policy of fiscal deficit.

42. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Terence M. Blackett // November 21, 2009 at 2:01 PM
    You put a lot into quotation marks, so could you cite from where you’re drawing your gems?

43. Bush Tea
    Yeah I know the bankruptcy options.

Big Legal process with big legal costs
    take your home and assets to pay the lawyers
    not the creditors, who are underwritten
    against losses

Hit the creditors where it hurts in their
    pockets, stop using their services and kill the industry dead.

44. Kiki
    …play some more tunes….

45. @Terence, Thanks for the update from the monetary experts.

Even at the level of secular honesty, these monetary *prophets* clearly see the ‘writing’ on the wall; I see this as Almighty God allowing the ‘natural’ man, ‘psuechekos de anthopos’ to confirm what His Spiritual Prophets are seeing, and waring people about, unprecedented economic crisis, world wide, the likes of which mankind has never experienced!

But, we must not take our eyes off Isreal and the Middle East; especially in light of what Obama is pushing for to appease the Palestinians, here is an update re this most serious matter:

‘Obama’s “Dangerous” Comments on Isreali Settlements Emboldened Palestinians give ‘green light’ for terror.’

“Israel’s plan to add some 900 housing units to the southern Jerusalem neighborhood of Gilo complicates efforts to relaunch peace talks and embitters the Palestinians, US President Barack Obama said Wednesday.”

“At the conclusion of a wide-ranging interview in China, Obama told Fox News, that additional ‘settlement building’ will not make Israel safer. He said such moves made it harder to achieve peace in the region and embittered the Palestinians in a way that he said would be ‘very dangerous.”

“Within hours, both Palestinian leader Mahamaud Abbas, and imprisioned terror chief Maruan Barghouti called for a new *uprising* against Israel. Clearly emboldened by Obama’s comments and numerous condemnations from major world leaders, they set about *inciting* a new wave of terrorist violence against Israeli civilians.”

“Eight years ago, the same embattled Jerusalem suburb of Gilo bore the brunt of Palestinian mortar, sniper and bomb attacks against the capital. To day it continues to be home of tens of thousands of lower and middle income civilians.”

What Obama and other world leaders don’t understrand, is that Jerusalem, the capital of Israel, IS the very *apex* of consummation of all End-Time cataclysmic crisis, that will hold the attention of all nations.

Hear from Almighty God’s Word on the matter of Jerusalem:

2 Chronicles 6 (ca 425-400 BC)

“From the day that I brought My people out of the land of Egypt, I chose NO other city among the tribes of Israel, for a house to be built in My Name: neither chose I any other man, to be the ruler of My people Israel. But, I chose JERUSALEM, that MY name might be there: I chose David to set him over My people Israel.” (2 Chron. 5,6) emphasis added.

2 Chronicles 33.

“…the LORD had said, ‘My name shall be in Jerusalem FOREVER.”

Question: ARE the nations being stired up about Jerusalem…???

What does the Lord have to say in Joel 3?

“The Lord says, “Stir up the nations into action! Let them march into the valley where I will JUDGE them. I will take My seat in court. I will judge ALL of the surronding nations.”

……….

He the Lord Blesses His people.

“The Lord says, ‘You will KNOW that I am the Lord your God. I live in Zion. It IS My holy mountain. Jerusalem will be My holy city.”

…..”My people will live in Judah and Jerusalem FOREVER. The land will be their home for ALL time to come.”
    (2 Chron 33; 12, 17, 20) emphasis added.

What do we not understand about the word *FOREVER*?? It cannot mean one thing for Israel, and another for us! Their FOREVER, is our forever!

Yes, the global economic crisis, which is just unfolding before all of us, plus the Israeli/Palestinian crisis, are the twin points of End-Time prophetic convergence!

Let him who has eyes to SEE, see; and those who have ears to HEAR, hear!

46. Okay Bushman,

Dedicated to the ‘Complainer’

Man Next Door
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/21/man-next-door-2/

King Tubby – A Noisy Place