Submitted by Royal Rumble

IntegrityIt is with some trepidation that I write you on a matter of grave national importance – a threat to our global reputation and an embarrassment to Barbadians throughout the Diaspora.

Barbadians at home and abroad have always held their country and its leadership in high regard so much so that anything remotely done or said by its leader that can sully the country’s good name invokes their anger and ultimately the withdrawal of their support.

I have no doubt that a large part of the Barbados Labour Party’s failure to recapture the Government in the last general election had to do with the smear campaign of the Democratic Labour Party. Throughout that campaign Barbadians were told that the BLP was corrupt and that they had stolen money from the treasury and had stashed it in foreign bank accounts. The DLP has been in office for almost two years now and not a single thread of evidence has been produced to support this wild and malicious charge.

In an attempt to give the impression that the DLP were upright and honest citizens they promised that within a hundred days of assuming office they would bring a number of pieces of legislation under which public officials, including parliamentarians would operate. The immediate introduction of integrity legislation, the declaration of assets of all public officials, a code of conduct for Ministers and a law to govern freedom of information were all promised made by the DLP. To date none of the promises made have been kept. In fact the only two public officials that have declared their assets are the present Leader of the Opposition the Hon. Mia Amor Mottley and former Prime Minister the Rt. Hon Owen Arthur, both from the BLP – none from the DLP.

The Way the DLP has been conducting itself in office since January 2008 is clear for all to see and has establish beyond a shadow of a doubt which party is truly corrupt. I invite you to read the attached article published in the Times Newspaper of the Commonwealth of Dominica. You may draw your own conclusion.

11 responses to “VEXX”

1. Nah, dread.
    You say “which party” like it could only be one!

Shame!

2. Call it LIES by Hartley Henry

The DLP campaign was a sham and it fooled the young people 18-25

3. Hahah I love politricks in Barbados. DLP accuse BLP of stealing when both parties are walloping in the riches of dirty dealings. I think the whole of Barbados knows fully well that you cannot believe anything coming from the stinging Bees and the rest of Dem. Makes no difference in the long run. Select one and you basically get the same thing. Politicians are all cut from the same cloth.

4. I..I Don’t know where to start…naw.. forget it..

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“only two public officials that have declared their assets are the present Leader of the Opposition the Hon. Mia Amor Mottley and former Prime Minister the Rt. Hon Owen Arthur, both from the BLP”

Are you sure that is all the assets?

6. Man doesn’t make me laugh about no Owen and Mia declaring no assets. An integrity commission or authority would have to be set up under law first and then they could declare their assets to that body. If they become involved in public office and they are found to have more assets than they declare then they would have to account for it or be subject to the penalties laid down by the law.
    The Prime Minister must be aware that a lot of Barbadians voted out the BLP not only on the corruption and persons getting rich off the tax payers but by his promise of placing Integrity Legislation and Freedom of information on the statute books.
    If these are not achieved then he would lose those voters.
    Those of you who missed the PUBLIC TROUGH so badly would get back to ripping off the taxpayers again.
    Oh so sad.

7. yes there is a difference

The BLP does a better job of running the country. The accusations about thiefing are over exaggerated.

There is a certain amount of play between the ropes of government finances and some dipsy doodling might take place but I think it is grossly exaggerated in the case of both parties.

People have friends and things happen. A contract here and there and a little diversion here and there .

Dont expect everything to be squeaky clean because -quid pro quo-exists and people owe people and people are people. You will not get it 100% squeaky clean but if it is 90 % –thats a pass.

During the reign of the BLP, unemployment was down and the foreign reserves were up. There were nuff guyanese and yet still the unemployment figures were down.

You have the DLP and what do get
    a situation where things have not gotten better. For all those apologists of the DLP , I ASK THE QUESTION–

Are Things in Barbados better since the 2008 DLP election victory ?

Is the cost of living lower
    Is unemployment lower
    Are the foreign reserves higher
    Are the ZRs vans better controlled
    ——what has the DLP done to improve our lot and put a smile on our faces and
    a warm feeling in our hearts.
    -raise the water rates ?
    -put a tax on bicyles ?
    -eyeing a 8% cut in salaries ?
    ———————-
    hey KISSMYA -yuh got dem
    they cant answer yuh
    I like this post
    it sweet !-it hit dem for 6

8. Man Royal tell us what you think about that article.

The article got me somewhat confused. A Banking license in Dominica would be issued by the Government of Dominica. Why would Hartley Henry have to do that on behalf of DLP members???? are they not in power????

…..Thompson and Associates????? Who this Thompson is bosey….. ha ha ha ha lol!

9. Question for the BU family.

Many agreed with former Senator Kerrie Symmonds when he on his own resigned because of a messy relationship which started to hit the public fan. If we used the bar set by him it seems reasonable if the government side has prominent individuals who are being chased for debt owed the Prime Minister should asked such a person to do the honourable thing and resign.

10. This post was obviously too hot for the DEMS to handle

11. I am flabbergasted. The Senior Political Adviser to our Prime Minister stands accused of being promised US$100,ooo for getting some shady characters a banking license and all like Adrian Hinds confused.

Well I have to say I am not surprised. I have heard dark stories about Henry’s modus operandi down the islands for many years. When you add this to the Jennifer Lazlo letter the picture of a certain character starts to emerge.

I was wondering what the mad rush to buy planes from China was? But the picture is becoming clearer by the second.