Submitted by Yardbroom
Rosi & Kelli

A release from the Press Association (UK) Monday 31 August 2009, reported that female couples will be able to register both their names on the birth certificate of children conceived through fertility treatment.  Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 2008. The move will give women in same-sex relationships the same rights as heterosexual parents, to have their names on their children’s birth documents.

“Home Office Minister Lord Brett said the move was a “positive change”.  He explained:  This positive change means that, for the first time, female couples who have a child using fertility treatment have the same rights as their heterosexual counterparts to be shown as parents in the birth registration”.

I have put this submission forward in the interest of balance, so that a section of Barbadian society – though small – know that their concerns, not often addressed in other media in Barbados will be given a fair hearing on Barbados Underground (BU). I also hope the variety of views often expressed on BU are not stymied in this submission and that robustness is evident.  However, that robustness and freedom are tempered by responsibility and reason.

One could argue – perhaps with some justification – that there are not enough same sex female partners – living together – in Barbados for this issue to be of concern here, and even if they were, the cost of fertility treatment and access to it would prevent it becoming of major significance.  However, it could be argued that these debates are taking place in major industrial countries and it serves no purpose not – it does not mean we have to follow – to understand and debate issues which will give us a clearer understanding of our world.

“Same sex marriages are recognized in: “The Netherlands the first country to do so in 2001, Belgium, Canada, South Africa, Spain, Norway, Sweden and five states in the USA.  The majority of European countries recognize Civil Unions or Registered Partnerships as does New Zealand and Uruguay.  Other jurisdictions to the ones previously mentioned in the USA recognize Civil Unions or Domestic Partnerships.” – Wikipedia

The issue of names on birth certificates has become contentious, in Massachusetts – USA – where same sex marriage is legal.  Governor Mitt Romney said “babies born to couples of the same sex should be given amended birth certificates”.  As if to demonstrate how delicate the issue is, supporters of gay marriage say “the governor’s formula is wrong”.  They say “the words “Father” and “Mother” should be removed from birth certificates, and put in their place the terms “Parent A” and “Parent B”.

The supporters of gay marriage and those who agitate for a change.  Have to answer the charge that they always want “more” and they will only be satisfied with an equality, which certification cannot give.  It is often said there is a separate agenda by those who do not want a change in certification and it has nothing to do with the certificates, but more to do with and anti-gay marriage position.

In the UK there has also been opposition to their proposed New Legislation.  Ann Widdecombe a prominent Tory MP criticised the legislation.  She is reported to have said: ” Every child has a right to a father and this bill for the first time deliberately creates a situation where children are born without a father.

“A father plays a unique role in a child’s life.  The effect is quite simple.  You’re going to deprive a child from the outset”. As if to underpin the issue in not on party lines, Geraldine Smith the Labour MP was more succinct she said: ” To have a birth certificate with two mothers and no father is just madness.”

It is understandable that those in a stable same sex relationship have a desire to demonstrate their commitment to that relationship and the child or children being cared for, by having both names on the birth certificate.  However, suppose the child on attaining adulthood has a different outlook – it is possible – and is constantly being embarrassed when asked to produce his/her birth certificate.

If same sex marriage/unions are allowed, is it reasonable to refuse rights accorded to heterosexual couples?  One could easily argue that what they – same sex couples – are asking is completely different.  That is true but the “nature” of their relationship makes that so, it is not wilful intent to defy authority or the norm, they do not exist in a norm as “perceived” by some.

It is also possible that we could be allowing prejudice to determine decision making and that is not in the best interest of a fair and equitable society. It could be that we in Barbados will never have to make those hard decisions, but at least we are adult enough to reflect on them and give those whose opinions about society are diametrically opposed to ours, a fair hearing and an opportunity to advance their views.

1. victor wrote on September 4th at 11:52 p.m.

“Barbados has I think 5 femaIes to every maIe ”

No victor.

This is NOT true.

This is a foolish lie perpetuated by promiscuous Bajan men who use it as an excuse for their womanizing.

Tell the truth now, Barbados has about 270,000 people.

Do you really believe that Barbados has 45,000 men and 225,000 women?

And if this is so; since Barbados is NOT at war can you tell me who has “killed” off the “missing” 180,000 men? And how come nobody noticed?

In Barbados as is the rest of the world SLIGHTLY more boys are born than girls.

By early adulthood the numbers are about even, because boys are the fragile sex and are SLIGHTLY more likely to die in infancy and childhood than are girls.

If you doubt me go to any newspaper library and look at the numbers of boys and the numbers of girls who take the 11+ each year. You will notice that the numbers are about even. How then can it happen between 11 and 16 (the age on consent) that the numbers can become skewed so that there are 5 females to every male.

Do you really believe that somebody is killing off huge numbers of our young men between the age of 11 and 16?

If a good number of men seem to believe the 5 women to every man myth it is because they are foolish enough to believe that each of THEIR women has only them.

In fact Bajan women are just as promiscuous as Bajan men.

Because in order for a heterosexual man to be promiscuous he has to have promiscuous women to help him.

But for the most part women are sensible enough NOT to talk about their promiscuity.

2. Bonny Peppa. Don’t you ever get tired of being such a mindless bigot? You are indeed the loudest empty vessel ever to slither across creation. I’m tired just reading your tripe!

3. My dear Bruv ROK…

I have neither the time or the inclination to insinuate, gesticulate or imply INSULT* especially to folks who I do not know or may never know on a personal level…

We can split hairs over semantics all day long as well as go at eachother with sabers drawn in a swashbuckling effort to prove who is more fastidious in their intellectual prowess when drumming on a point of contention…

All these things I am sure has their respective place – needless to say, I am not in the slightest enamored to entertain any such bravado…

Maybe when I was younger… But age catches up with us and it brings with it wisdom…

So my dear Bruv, rest assured that you and I (though hidden in the mist of primordial cyberspace) are still COOL…

God bless – onward and upward!!!

4. @BONNY PAPPA…

Thanks BABE* for the holla’…

You are such a JOY* to read…

And quite “arrapante” according to my Italian family…LOL

Take care Sweet Pea…

Be Blessed…

5. @Terrence M. Blackette

There was no intention to insult you and if I carelessly did so, I humbly apologise.

You’re right about the fact that I am still cool.

6. Bonny

Who is this Miss Lou? Sounds like she come to give you competition. Wonder if she of Lickmout fame?

7. @Miss Lou

If you see flawed arguments the thing to do is to challenge those arguments in a cogent manner.

8. J,
    I agree wid you bout dis ratio of women to men. Hogwash. Some women doan like man and some a dem is wikkas so it should balance back out. I ‘m not too sure bout de infant boys death ratio as opposed to infant girls so left dat as is.

Ms. Lou,
    If I mashing you corns because I say I doan wikk, dah is your problem. Now do me a favour, gather all de females in you household including yaself and stand infront a mirror. You never thought that so many mindless bigots could be in de same place at de same time nah? It happens. Sad but so true. Now move along nicely Piss-pot.
    I trying to behave today Sundee. Sa far sa good.

Terence M Blackette
    Wait, yesterday I read that you are Jewish now today you are Italian? Which which is which? You trying ta trick me or wah? I luv Italian men doe, they’re said to be more romanti-que. You’re Italian, right? Ya teasa. Luv ya.

ROK,
    I doan kno why de whores doan leff me an leh me live to love you. Dem jellus??
    smoochesssssssssssssss

9. J, I got my information about ratios of men to women from some govt handout forget what. Sorry if it is wrong, wiII investigate further. If it IS wrong I wiII have to change my views!

10. J you are right, just did a quick googIe and as far as I can make out there are onIy about 5-6% more femaIes than maIes at birth in Barbados but my info was not from govt. websites but UN, etc. Not sure how accurate this is nor how ratio changes in oIder age groups. There are indications that more boys than girIs start schooI compared to birth rate though. Might be wrong, internet is so unreIiabIe as a source of info.

11. @BONNY PEPPA

“Wait, yesterday I read that you are Jewish now today you are Italian? Which which is which? You trying ta trick me or wah? I luv Italian men doe, they’re said to be more romanti-que. You’re Italian, right? Ya teasa. Luv ya.”

Well darlin’ based on my DNA (DAMN NASTY ANCESTORS)* – sorry I shouldn’t say that should I, “it not nice is it?” LOL

On a more serious note, my great grand-mum was Portuguese Jew married to a direct descendant of a slave from the Gold Coast of Africa…

So that is the Jewish link…

As for the Italian connection – my brother Earl is married to a beautiful Italian girl and they both live across the pond in Italy…

On a final note, would you and ROK* my controversial brotha’ PLEASE try to NOT* add an “E”* to my surname…

In the event of an accident (God forbid*) making an insurance claim could prove illusive as the name may NOT* match the individual in question… (smile)

Had the same issue recently with the airline check-in agent as she mis-spelt and I had to tell her to pls make the necessary amendment (just in case)…

I LUV U 2 and I think u r wonderful…

Be blessed darlin’….

12. Terence M B,
    I’m blushing. Oh dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I don’t know about ROK but my reason for putting an extra ‘E’ to your surname is because I think you’re ebullient,educative,eloquent,enchanting,enthralling, enterprising and Entelligent.
    Can we Elope?
    Enteresting.

13. @ BONNY PEPPA – September 9, 2009 at 5:46 PM

Terence M B,
    I’m blushing. Oh dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I don’t know about ROK but my reason for putting an extra ‘E’ to your surname is because I think you’re ebullient,educative,eloquent,enchanting,enthralling, enterprising and Entelligent.
    Can we Elope?
    Enteresting.

BABY GIRL – NO ONE ON BU WANT NOTHIN’ WITH YOU!!!

HAMMER said – “can’t touch this”…

No truer words were spoken…

Listen Babe, I want your email address…

Go to my website:
    http://dreamstarimportexportagents.com
    and send me your personal details…

I want to share some “stuff” offline with you –

LUV

Terence*

14. @ Bonny Peppa, ROK, Terrence Blackett:

What is with the soppy stuff? You behaving like teenagers, lol!

No, no, no, muh aint jealous.

15. Well, Bonny Peppa…

You say you would rather be known as a “mistress” than as a “wikka.”

Truth be told, I wouldn’t like to be known as either!

The mistress HARDLY ever gets to be a “wife.”.

A lot of people mistake me for a wikka.

However, there are only 2 women that I would sleep with..their names are “Myself” and “Me!”

I’d rather play with myself than be promiscuous with anyone (man OR woman) and get an STD!

At least with me, I won’t get pregnant, and I won’t get AIDS or anything else!

God bless my fingers!

16. Terence MB
    A Rodrigo de Caribe (a nudist) wants my email address, ROK is awaiting my hand in marriage, Mash Up can’t wait to get his hands on me, Negroman loves me to death, Scout adoressssssss me,Dr. Porgie wants to administer some TLC personally, Yardbroom wants to sweep me offa me feet, BAFBFP is infatuated with me, Technician has proposed to me and now you are asking for my email address too.
    In the meantime, my main ‘squeeze’,Bimbro is there armed with his rusty, old saw-off shotgun to do damage. Anything to protect his ‘luv’.

Soon, the blogmaster is going to put a ban on me for attempting to solicit-on-line via BU.

I will flee for my life Terence dawlin.

Pat,
    I’m a teenager at heart. ‘Cuse me pleez. Bimbro said something last week about some sexy J/can gal he had a crush on and she told him that age is just a number. I forgot to mention to him that my telephone number is just a number too. Just a number. 🙂

Remember, I said what I,ME, would prefer to be, not what you prefer. Aight?
    And yes, God bless your fingers and also sex toys, don’t forget that one. No harm done my Boo.
    Why are you mistaken for a wikka? You wear baggy shirts, pants and cap peak behind? Ya betta be careful chile or ya mite get ‘tek’ fa tru. Watcha.

17. BONNY PEPPA – September 9, 2009 at 11:50 PM

Terence MB
    A Rodrigo de Caribe (a nudist) wants my email address …..I will flee for my life Terence dawlin.

I am (LMAOS)…

Hiding behind the acronym BP – I am beginning to think you are either my lil’ sis Alison who works for RBC Corporate or a modern day carbon copy version of Harriet Tubman…

No one else I know has the “coglione” (Italian for “balls” or as we say in Britain – “the bollocks”) – or the mental or emotional veracity I have seen displayed in the temperament of one little woman…

Good luck to the other suitors who would like to woo the socks (maybe not be the correct apparel) off of you my dearest one, but my inclinations are of a much more fortuitous yet somber nature…

Your depth of ability as a formidable Black princess only attest to my ongoing arguments as to the power we hold as a people, as a nation and as a race…

The sad irony is however, the numbers are few and too far between…

By the way my peach, what is a “A Rodrigo de Caribe (a nudist) ?” LOL

Much LUV…
    (I am still laughing my arse* off seriously)

18. @Pat – September 9, 2009 at 8:32 PM

@ Bonny Peppa, ROK, Terrence Blackett:

What is with the soppy stuff? You behaving like teenagers, lol!

You are so right Pat – but you know what, thank God for DAVID & BU Family…

After a long day or night depending on which hemispheric meridian time warp you sadly get caught up in – it’s good to know after a 12 or 16 hour “SLOG” dealing with all kinds of “nutters”, ego-maniacs, demi-gods and the rest of the “bloody” lot – ain’t it good to kick back and relax with another group of folks who remind you of those schooldays in the playground, playing cricket, football or pitching marbles…

But then, most of us good folks just too grown up to remember younger days when life was not as serious as it is today…

19. Terence MB
    Sorry my sponge-cake. It should read ‘A fella named Rodrigo de Caribe (nudist).
    You know what a nudist is Saint Peter alias Terence MB? (teehee)

20. @BONNY PEPPA
    “You know what a nudist is Saint Peter alias Terence MB?”

THANKS SO MUCH SWEET PEA…

By the way, are there any “nudist” beaches in BIM?

Or we haven’t got a raunchy or as hedonistic as Jamaica…

Loads of LUV*

T*

21. Terence MB
    Hell no. No nudist beaches or camps here. Don’t forget we’re more sanctimonious than the Pope or Mother Theresa.
    And then again, if some were here you would’ve never gotten the chance to meet Bonny. Because ya see me, every ounce of my spare time would be spent perpetually perched on a limb in the nearest tree, armed with my binoculars and just takin in de ‘views’. They say that ‘ an eyeful isn’t a belly full’. Who cares about food with this sort of ‘food’ is everywhere in sight? Stupseeeeeeee.
    Lord, look at he, look, my Godddddddddddddddddddddddd.(fantasizing a’reddy)

22. @BONNY PEPPA

You are a hard act to follow. I’m serious!!!

The imagery and words you come up with is mind altering, mind-blowing, totally of the stratosphere kinda’ hurt-ma-belly with laughter STUFF*…

You could have an awesome career as a screen writer, novelist, stand-up comic, TV character or just simply in some form entertainment where you can bring “joy” to other people…

You are an awesome piece of “work” as well as a great piece of eye candy!!!

Sending you much LUV* on this quiet Sunday morning – even if BIMBRO, ROK and the rest of ’em pissed off…

23. Terence MB
    I do have an awesome form of entertainment where I do bring ‘joy’ to other people. 🙂
    That’s anotha subject for anotha day.
    Today is Holy Sundee. Na smut today.
    Aighttttttttttttttttttt?

24. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

What is going on here ?

25. You need to elevate your perverted mind out of the trash can.
    Today is holy Sundee.

Aightttttttttttttt, President.

26. I’ve been reading through the comments, and frankly am both amazed and appalled by the extent of the ignorance on display here. I understand their is some apprehension regarding homosexuals – the idea does not appeal to us as heterosexuals, but this in and of itself does not give us the right to condemn it. May I remind you all that not so long ago, whites regarded blacks in much the same way as you all are regarding homosexuals now – with fear and disdain stemming primarily from misunderstanding. And yes, just as many of you are doing now, they turned to the bible to justify their fears. I respect the bible and think that it is an excellent tool in finding guidance in this life, but the fact is that over its lengthy existence it has seen so many revisions and alterations that to use it to levy and argument against homosexuality in 2009 is ridiculous. After all, does Leviticus not invite us to beat our slaves but only within reason? Is this word to be followed because it appears in the bible? Think people. God gave you brains, use them. We are made in his image – white, black, gay, straight, man, woman. We are ALL his children, and ALL deserving of his love.

27. @ Wow,

Throw out the Bible and become a free spirit like me. That book is not relevant to anyone or anything.

Dont castigate the people who ‘tolerate but dont accept’. It has been ever so in Barbados. Homosexuality in Barbados has been an open secret for generations. I knew of and about it as a young girl, even though it was not discussed publicly.

At least they are not gay bashing and killing suspects as in other countries, even our Caribbean.

28. Pat,
    My hunny-suckle.
    Ya in lie.
    Ya got ma cryin doe. Ya tell Wow ta thra out de bible. You mite hol’ sum licks fa dah statement but if dah is how you feel ’bout um, well, to each his own.

29. […] resonance of marriage something that gay couples shouldn’t the entitled to? Do you agree with the bajan blogger who argues that supporters of gay marriage have to answer the charge that they always want […]

30. […] Bajan time the BBC World Service will broadcast its popular program World Have Your Say. A BU blog, A Step Too Far Or Fairness And Equality: Same Sex Partner’s Legal Rights posted by family member Yardbroom has been featured on the BBC blog which promotes tomorrow’s […]

31. Hi all,
    I truly enjoy reading and following the blogs that BU posts, there are often lively, intelligent and well thought-out arguments posted. What I do find disconcerting though is the personal attacks and childish responsis sometimes posted. Can we not just respond to a post showing a little courtesy and keep the rude comments to ourselves? this is not just about this particular blog but many others on BU that I have read. thanks and all the best

32. […] time ago I wrote a submission on BU (Barbados Underground) – A Step Too Far Or Fairness And Equality: Same Sex Partner’s Legal Rights – asking the question with reference to same sex couples, Is Marriage A Step Too Far?  The subject […]