Barbados Ambassador to China, former Prime Minister Sir Lloyd Sandiford (left), chatting with China's Vice-Premier Hui Liangyu after yesterday's signing ceremony. (Picture by Nation Newspaper)

It is unusual for a former Prime Minister to be appointed Ambassador to a foreign country. It is a first for Barbados! Sir Lloyd Sandiford’s appointment as Ambassador to China can be viewed from several angles, the one which appears worthy is the emergence of China as the global economic power and the need to hedge our foreign policy. To have a former Prime Minister stationed in China acting in the interest of Barbados at this juncture of geopolitics creates the opportunity for Barbados to ride potential economic opportunities.

The worry point for Barbados as we develop a closer relationship with China is the issue of trade-off. Barbados has developed a decent relationship with China over the years. In the last 25 years Chinese money and labour has supported several projects in Barbados, Queens College, Garfield Sobers Gymnasium, Salvation Army Headquarters, completion of the problematic NHC building in Warrens to name a few.  If we are not mistaken China has made money available to the Caribbean Development to fund a few projects.

The trade-off suffered by Barbados by accepting Chinese money over the years has been a growing resident Chinese population. It seems the Chinese never give money unless Chinese people come along for the ride. Like most ethnic groups, Indians, Syrians, Pakistanis, the Chinese are clannish in behaviour. Benefits to the rising Chinese presence are the growing number of Chinese restaurants popping up around the island, involvement in construction and agriculture. The truth is the Chinese has an aggressive work ethnic to be admired.

By coincidence a BU family member posted an interesting article which signals the importance of managing our foreign policy in parallel with an efficient immigration framework which seeks to facilitate social cohesion in our small country. So far the Auditor General’s Special Report on Immigration 2008 does not provide confidence.

The appointment of Sir Lloyd suggests Barbados will be home to many more Chinese in the future. If this is the case our policymakers should start to ready Barbadians to face a cosmopolitan Barbados in the coming years. Wake-up Barbados, the economic model which the Thompson government seems to be continuing from the former Arthur administration is that China is where the pot of gold is to be found.

1. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

As I read the latest comments, I am also writing about Sir Lloyd, and recalling comments that suggest that the Chinese staring at blacks is offensive. At the risk of ‘showing off’ again, I remember my first visit to mainland China (early 1980s), with a white woman with auburn/red hair and freckles. The Chinese curiosity toward black people is at least equal to their curiosity toward people with auburn hair and freckles. Both sets of people are rare in China and warrant close scrutiny. They stared at me and patted my hair; nothing new and I had had it a lot in central and northern (blond hair, blue eyed) Europe. I remember with a lot of amusement my friend’s horror as Chinese villagers passed their hands freely through her hair and touched her face, trying to rub off the freckles. They then laughed a lot and asked her to cut some of her hair for them to keep.

Offensive? Sure if done with malice. But often pure curiosity is all that is at work. Now, those people who think that you somehow get to an understanding of people through watching a few National Geographical documentaries or reading some travel guides, or rubbing up casually for a few short years, really do not have the faintest clue about the complexities of societies and how hard it is for foreigners to understand nationals and vise versa.

2. LIB, ur obviously a sensible man, yet silly at the same time!! There’s a world of difference between foreigners staring at you, IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY, especially if they’re not used to seeing people of your type before to MOCKING u, IN YOUR OWN country!! Foreigners need to be taught manners!!

3. And Bajans might not be entirely unculpable!! We might need to ‘get-with-it’!!

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bimbro
    “LIB, ur obviously a sensible man, yet silly at the same time!!”[I take the compliments. I try to stay in touch with my inner child.]

“There’s a world of difference between foreigners staring at you, IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY, especially if they’re not used to seeing people of your type before to MOCKING u, IN YOUR OWN country!! Foreigners need to be taught manners!!”[I would disagree. Everyone needs to be taught (good) manners, and nationals do not have a lock on good behaviour. A natural curiosity exists, and perhaps feeling more secure on home soil, the national lets that flow toward a foreigner, while the foreigner may be more reserved towards a national. But your accepting it from someone on their home turf leads me to recall some of your comments about the English in England and their attitudes towards blacks (many of whom are now not immigrants, but are still in a big minority). On manners, I have just seen another of your comments on a different thread ( Bimbro // August 10, 2009 at 3:40 AM: what does ‘teacing blackness’ or indeed ‘teaching whiteness, etc’, consist of? How about just teaching our children to be decent, worthwhile, human being! Teaching blackness! U mean, teaching them how to commit another genocide, as in Rwanda, etc?). That seems to suggest that all people should be treated with respect and that home soil should not be taken as the basis for justifying abuse to others from abroad. You also point to a consequence of racial or ethnic intolerance that has grave consequences (in every sense). So, are these lessons you utter or are they lessons you are prepared to learn? I don’ think that racial or ethnic intolerance is a joke. I am absolutely sure that the British National Party also do not think it’s a joke.

5. A ‘wonderful’ essay, L!! I’m certain u know precisely, what u mean! I’m afraid, I have n’t a clue!!

6. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant // August 9, 2009 at 9:45 AM
    “LIB

I hope those politicians were speaking on the record. We want names, dates and places, no anonymous quotes. It’s interesting that the BLP & DLP ministers engage each other while some bloggers always have their political battle armor on. I know the PM reads the blogs (at least he used to) not so sure now that he has his hands full but don’t keep us in suspense we want to know what the former PM said over those “mangoes”.”[I hope that the blog post satisfies you, http://livinginbarbados.blogspot.com/2009/08/you-make-best-of-what-you-have-but.html. Though I do not write for an audience, as I noted yesterday. I think the details are good enough, and does not draw into the fray those who do not need to be. The timeline is pretty clear. I did not clear the piece with any of the named and famed, as they were put on notice. I don’t think I did any of them malice, and I will make sure they all see it. A lot passed my mind yesterday and I am not sure if I did well in trying to bring it all together at once of if I should have broken it up. I can be read in ‘episodes’.]

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bimbro // August 10, 2009 at 5:59 AM
    “A ‘wonderful’ essay, L!! I’m certain u know precisely, what u mean! I’m afraid, I have n’t a clue!!”[Just a suggestion. Each time you make a statement look at it as if you wrote it to yourself, then decide if you would like to hear it said to you/about you. Sometimes, it hurtful, so then you ask yourself, “But is it true?” If you believe it is, then ask yourself “How can I explain it to the person so that the hurtfulness is less?”

I make my children do this, and it helps keep them the kind of decent persons that you suggest you aspire to be.]

8. LIB

Though I do not write for an audience, as I noted yesterday. I think the details are good enough, and does not draw into the fray those who do not need to be

Just read the article on your blog zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, understand the justification for the above caveats zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz and you said that Holder’s initial piece on Immigration was too long yawnnnnn zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz will get back to you on your blog when I’m awake.

9. LIB, ‘thank u’ for the chastening remark and sorry to learn that I hurt ur feelings, especially, as I was n’t aware that Jamaicans knew anything about hurting, except hurting other people, especially who are n’t Jamaican like themselves!!

10. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sergeant
    “you said that Holder’s initial piece on Immigration was too long”[I’m in careful reading mode today. My words were not as you suggest, but “What you offered several weekends ago was a treatise, as far as most newspapers are concerned, and that you went at length into the exposition is to your credit. The Advocate split the presentation over 2 publications (not sure if that was with agreement by you). I read them in full and did not count the number of words, but many/several commented on this blog about their excessive length. They were certainly the longest pieces I have seen by an outside author in any of the local papers, but will defer to others with longer histories if that is not the case.” So, I read it all, and did not complain.

I also suggested reading in episodes. Given the heavy rain here, it is excellent for inducing sleep, so I can still take credit for it.

I’ve done some research today on tactical writing and speaking and how length can be used to deflect criticism (see Castro as a classic example), but something is not working.]

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bimbro
    “LIB, ‘thank u’ for the chastening remark and sorry to learn that I hurt ur feelings”[As they say, “no pain, no gain”. More can be adminstered as desired. MY feelings were not at all hurt–more so because I know I am in paradise, even with the teeming rain–and some others are elsewhere not so nice. I asked about how others felt hurt or adminsitered it. Seems to be a bad reading day on the Bimshire side.]

12. LIB

I’ve posted some other thoughts on the piece on your blog. Not very complimentary but I hope you take it as objective criticism

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    I just received the comments, and will review/post ASAP. As I said before this blogging business is not a beauty pageant. Even if your criticism is subjective it can still be valid; you just have to accept that it’s subjective not objective.

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    I replied but clearly need not go into that here; the response are with your originals. I would merely ask that you consider why you state a certain ‘admiration’ then describe how you take a position which could be construed as less admirable. That’s not something I can fix, but you can. Not for immediate answer, here or in the other place.

15. LIB
    I also responded, my comments are there to be approved or not…

I am not naive I understand the limitations of reporting conversations in a social setting on a blog but if you were to revisit your original comments I think I have reason to say
    that “you over promoted but under delivered”.

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    I’ve seen your additional comments. I will repeat one thing I have said before in different ways. Stay with the ball, don’t buy the fake. I did not sell you a fake but you ran to where the ball was not going. The immigration point is a bit subtle. If you want explore it you can do so by e-mail. Let’s not take up anymore of David’s space.

17. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    Both comments are published and I can see them on the blog, and approved in my email.

18. Ok, LIB, just what is it u do for a living?!!

19. And here again we have people who were suppose to be discussing one topic taking shots at each other and diverting all the needed attention from the issue(s) at hand, this is typical of WE Caribbean people, no exclusions of anyone but inclusions of all regional individuals. Wonder why we can’t solve any thing properly we are way to caught up with other things.

20. Yes, I’m in favour of immigration; as a child of Bajan parentage who was born and raised in Europe – I have to be! However it has to be balanced and should not disadvantage the receiving nation. For example you could have a numeric quid-for-pro exchange of nationals. With this in mind could someone please explain to me how, Barbados has ended up with Indians, Syrians, Pakistanis, Philippines and Chinese living in their country. Are these groups here on temporary work contracts? Are Bajans so lacking in skills that the government and businesses believe that the answer to their recruitment problems lies outside the country? Are these groups planning to remain permanently in Barbados? Are their numbers contributing to the housing crises in Barbados? What a situation! I do not personally know any Syrians; so I can not pass any comments. However concerning those other nationalities why has Barbados allowed in these groups who have either no historical connection to Barbados or who are totally inept at integrating with host communities. I always believed that Barbados was a religious country; obviously the biblical story based on the Tower of Babel has been misunderstood.

Please Mr Government if you need to recruit workers from outside; focus your attention more on the Black Diaspora: those with the appropriate skills, intellect and the ability to integrate within the host community. Why bring a plague into your own house? If they are really needed (those listed nationalities), do not give them citizenship, do not allow them to purchase land or houses, do not allow them to over stay their welcome, do not allow them to bring over their families, do not give them citizenship if they marry a Bajan, do not, do not………………..

I do not see how the popping up of Chinese restaurants all over the island can possibly benefit Barbados. All that salt and sugar is dangerous junk. Stay away from it! Cook your own food and keep your money in your bank account. Bajans need to reset the clock and re-learn some home economics. Peace!

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

X-Man
    Vous avez posez q’q questions et avz continuez sans reponse. Non, implicitement vous vous avez respondu. Donc.
    For example you could have a numeric quid-for-pro exchange of nationals {Avec quels pays? Si les travaileurs ne sont pas disponible, pusi…?}. With this in mind could someone please explain to me how, Barbados has ended up with Indians {immigration et de q’q sorts y compris des autres pays caribes–les anciens travailleurs envoyes pars les Anglais}, Syrians {y compris les resultats des insurgences au pays; ils s’en installe dans plusieurs pays, et sont tres important dans le commerce, par exemple en jamaique}, Pakistanis (envoye par les anglais et immigration voluntaires}, Philippines {demande par les employers…} and Chinese {envoye par la Chine pour construire des projets specifique, par ex. l’extension de l’hopital; emmene par le secteur prive, par. ex. pour le projet Paradise/Four Seasons} living in their country. Are these groups here on temporary work contracts? {ca depend} Are Bajans so lacking in skills {oui, voyez la reconstruction de Kensington Oval et le manque de certain travailleurs au pays} that the government and businesses believe that the answer to their recruitment problems lies outside the country? Are these groups planning to remain permanently in Barbados? {ca depend} Are their numbers contributing to the housing crises in Barbados? {le gouvernement dit oui, mais sans preuve}

22. I know that we are living in a global world (I do not believe in the economics and philosophy behind globalism) and that all countries rich and poor require emigrants. I stand by my claim that those mentioned nationalities are broadly inept at integrating with host communities. I find it bizarre that those who have a contempt for the black community should chose to reside in a black country. Bajans should be aware that they would not be welcomed in those afore-mentioned countries and others whether on vacation or as residents. I’m amazed that the Barbadian government, with such a tiny population, has failed to provide an educational springboard that would benefit the Barbadian economy and its citizens. Is agriculture and the principles of learning a trade no longer consider to be fashionable? Mr Government start looking after your electorate. Globalism may be tres chic, very much in vogue; but what of tomorrow? Fashion comes and goes.

23. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

@ LIVING IN BARBADOS

取音以兼收歷代字音為目

you could not be more wrong !

24. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bimbro // August 10, 2009 at 2:17 PM “Ok, LIB, just what is it u do for a living?!!”[Breathe deeply, exercise regularly, eat heartily, drink moderately, smoke never, think occasionally, speak openly. I don’t like other people’s singing, much. There you have it!]

25. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@X-MAN// August 11, 2009 at 4:20 AM
    “I know that we are living in a global world (I do not believe in the economics and philosophy behind globalism)”[but you do in a sense when you use its benefits, like the Internet]

“and that all countries rich and poor require emigrants.”[emigrants leave, immigrants come, which do you mean, for clarity?]

“I stand by my claim that those mentioned nationalities are broadly inept at integrating with host communities.”[Some of them have produced prime ministers and other leaders in the region, selected by popular vote…so how so?]

26. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@”*Adviser to the President*” // August 11, 2009 at 4:33 AM
    “@ LIVING IN BARBADOS

取音以兼收歷代字音為目

you could not be more wrong ![Pochemu? Ya dumayoo nyet.]

27. @LIB

BU understands the thrust of X’s argument.

28. @livinginbarbados
    I should have said immigrants. As always you are spot on. Have to go to work now.

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@X-MAN
    Understood. There are also important arguments realating to those countries that need EMIGRANTS.

I found “I’m amazed that the Barbadian government, with such a tiny population, has failed to provide an educational springboard that would benefit the Barbadian economy and its citizens.” very difficult to deal with initially, given the reportedly high level of literacy that Barbados has attained. Could you expand on why you feel that despite that the country does not have “an educational springboard that would benefit the Barbadian economy and its citizens”? Thanks.

30. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    Sir Lloyd and I have an outstanding issue to discuss. It stems from his call several weeks ago: “I would go as far as a Single Market among the countries but Single Economy? What is an economy? I call upon the economists among us to tell us what an economy is all about. The first thing I know of is taxation and the slogan, no taxation without representation.
    I don’t want anybody else to be telling us what our levels of taxes should be in Barbados or saying what should be taxed and what should not be taxed, so we should forget this thing about Single Economy, we can build our relation without talk about Single Economy.” These remarks were reported in the Advocate, July 19, http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=4971. I wrote to Sir Lloyd that, despite his position, Barbados was already in the position he disliked, and it was not due to CSME. I pointed out that the US has a global view to taxation, which means that those within the US whom they think are liable for taxation are due to pay irrespective of whether they have represenation rights in the US. Likewise, the US stretches its taxation arm to draw taxes from those it feels liable wherever the income is earned in the world–that is one aspect behind the recent debate about the low tax status of places like Barbados.

The circumstances of our first meeting (he had just come from his office, was enjoying cricket, and then relaxing with people eating mangoes) did not seem right to have this debate. But, it is to come.

31. @Bimbro // August 10, 2009 at 2:17 PM “Ok, LIB, just what is it u do for a living?!! ”Breathe deeply, exercise regularly, eat heartily, drink moderately, smoke never, think occasionally, speak openly. I don’t like other people’s singing, much. There you have it!

LIB, i.e. not much!! I’m surprised u don’t desire to deploy ur perceived enormous talents (possibly, actual talents) for the benefit of JA instead of wasting ur time woffling here, all day! The desire to return to colony-status was an excellent op. for u to expound ur views with regard to what has happened to Jamaica but, u bottled-it!!

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bimbro
    “I’m surprised u don’t desire to deploy ur perceived enormous talents (possibly, actual talents) for the benefit of JA instead of wasting ur time woffling here, all day!”[I spend much of my day exploring how people use a logic, but apply to others rather than themselves. I have not yet understood this dichtomy, but I am still working on it.

If I am “wasting time” “woffling here, all day” what are you doing? If you activity here is not time wasting then what is its value? If its value is high, how is that realised? Through emotional satisfaction or for some monetary consideration? If you do not answer, I can put forward a range of possible explanations. As they teach at the IMF, it all has to add up; follow the money trail.]

33. LIB, u make me laugh, in fact, I was thinking about it just before coming here – the propensity of my people (Barbadians) to ‘miss the point’, which condition, u appear to have contracted! Bro, the question is n’t about me and what I’M doing here but, YOUR would-be contribution to events in JA. Don’t ‘muddy the water’ bro! Ur the one who’s alleged to have the ‘big brains’, not me!!

34. I just hay fuh d ride!! if u comprehend Barbadian!!

35. i.e. to have a little fun till god ready fuh me!!

36. Whatt a fren we have in Jeeeeeeeesus!!

37. I am looking to lay some pipe in china
    My friend just came back from there and tells me the opportunity is great for pipe laying.

38. If China is so important Why are you putting a tired old man there?