Submitted by Yardbroom

Sir Shridath Surendranath "Sonny" Ramphal, OE, OM, GCMG, ONZ, AC, QC, FRSA

An article in the Nation News by Wade Gibbons published 6-29-2009 attributed the following comments to Mr Inniss: “Minister of Health Donvile Inniss disclosed that public health facilities were under mounting pressure as a result of having to deal with the high number of undocumented immigrants. However, he told the Daily Nation that Government would not change its policy of not seeking to know people’s immigrant status before providing them with health care”. The Prime Minister David Thompson had previously made the Government’s position, direction and focus abundantly clear in an interview.

In the many articles now prevalent in the Guyanese Press and other areas, it is unlikely that this report will be given “top billing”. The reason being it does not demonise the Barbados Government enough, and has not got the illegal immigrant being preyed upon component, to wet the appetites of some who denigrate us from abroad. However, facts accurately presented will always reduce the lies and deceit now pedalled into convulsions.

I was pleased with the measured tone used by Minister Donvile Inniss; no “vitriolic exhibitionism” as recently used by a “supposed West Indian heavyweight”, but those words he – the supposed heavyweight – used…will come back to haunt him. A knight errant – in days past – often wandered and sought deeds of courage and chivalry to perform; now we have the “wandering” but alas nothing else with which to engage. The knighted one tried to obfuscate on the ground reality by introducing terminology synonymous with people been burned out of their homes; children being wrenched apart from their mothers and taken away in the night, leaving behind the smouldering embers of their dwellings, and fathers never seen again, having been taken to secluded places.

Minister of Health Donville Inniss

It is so sad that in a moment of “injudicious mouthings” he allowed an emotional outburst to blemish his undoubted achievements…keep your composure when others lose theirs, it sets you apart from the pack, and justifies your position of eminence. I will not repeat the words he used here, as that would give them a new burst of life; neither will I defile this submission for it later to be “cleansed”…we are a tolerant people.

When the morning mist has been cleared from this illegal immigration debate and the vitriol spewed at us Barbadians has melted like snow flakes in a desert sun; Barbados will be stronger, more united and a cohesive society. For the brothers and sisters who misguidedly sought temporary succour outside our encampment, you are still our own. To the “legal Guyanese” who remain, you will still be our friends and be most welcome, but we have drawn a line in the sand to distinguish between common sense and folly.

Barbados is not a bandit country where the Laws can be disregarded. In all successful countries when a crisis looms a leader of worth steps forward to lead; throughout the ages that is what has separated the successful from the rest…the Caribbean is no different. When the question is asked why has Barbados been so successful in comparison with some of our Caribbean brothers…that is the reason. In due course other Caribbean leaders will also make a principled stand on illegal immigrants and the Prime Minister of Guyana Barat Jagdeo will be forced to remove the heavy carapace from the backs of “all” his people; instead of expecting member states of CARICOM to be heavily burdened because of his incompetence.

1. Ruel, But put aside the racial attitudes of the Guyanese East Indians, the PPP and the borat jagdeo, the argument here is that Barbados is a 166 square mile nation with limited resources, and thus this inflow of all these (illegal)immigrants from Guyana compromises the standard of living of Barbadians.

Why is this so difficult for the PPP leader of Guyana to understand? This leads me to think that that the PPP leader of Guyana is of low intelligence. I am also absolutely amazed at how Sir Ramphal connects this removal of illegal immigrants from Barbados to ethnic cleansing. The crisis here is brought on by a racist and inept government in Guyana, thus the influx of Guyanese into Barbados, and the remedy here is for Barbados to deport them, be it to Guyana or country of choice.
    ###########################

I have already made that argument. If you follow my posts on this subject you would have seen where I juxtapositioned Guyana’s size and resources alongside that of barbados, and advanced the argument that Barbados should not be forced to pay the welfare consequence of Guyana’s inept regime.

There are islands in Guyana that are almost as large as Barbados. No sobretemperamented and objective analyst would take the attitudes we see on display from the lap dogs for whom self hatred has become a psychotropic substitute.

Imagine Shridath Ramphall refuse to go home and live under the regime he joins in insulting the nation that opens its arms to him. If Barbaods was Ceasar Ramphal would be Brutus.

2. As a UK citizen of Bajan parentage, I’m alarmed at the news coming out of the Carribean – especially with regard to Barbados.

I will be visiting Barbados for the first time in 15 years in a couple of months; only than will I be truly informed as to what is going on over there.

On my last visit I was staggered with the complacency that greeted me. I was left with the impression that Bajans were “work shy”. For example vegetables and fruit were left rotting on the trees or on the ground or I was unable to find a decent level of service throughout the island; I will not mention those private buses!

I would ask my fellow Bajans whose ancestors shed their precious blood for this island to wake up, take reponsibility for your future and to demand immediate action from your government. Their’s no point blaming those immigrants or questioning their motives. If you want to reclaim your country, you will have to implore your government to start representing you. If you are united in your efforts than a change can be made.

I looked forward to living one day in the land where my ancestors were transported to. I have always believed that as a black man, Barbados was a safe haven where I could stand tall with my fellow brothers and sisters. I believe that dream may be dying. Is there another black country out there as successful as Barbados? Will this black mecca have to be ultimately shared with others who despise you?

The signs are not healthy; history screams the names of Kenya, Uganda, Trinidad, Guyana, etc who all slept walked there way into the abyss.

For the sake of your ancestors, yourself, your family and the future generations: please – WAKE UP!

PS – Will someone please tell me what are the advanatages of Barbados been a member of Caricom. Do we need to be a member of a club with so many dysfunctional players. After all if these were members of my family, I would probably of cut them adrift a longtime ago. Answers please.

X-man

3. Anonymous said:

Jay you talking bare crap.

Give them permanent residency as a consolation.

You understand the implications of what you are saying?
    ————————————–

Actually yes I do.From my understanding those that are granted CSME skilled certificates have the equivilancy of a country’s permanent residency.

I am anti-ILLEGAL immigration,nothing more or less.I have nothing against Guyanese or whatever nationality as long as they follow the damn rules & am strongly for SKillED immigration.I don’t care where it comes from as long as they respect Barbados’ sovereignty,people & way of life !

I do not care for Guyana or its problems,but I do have quite a bit of concern for Barbados’ future,nothing more !

4. Quoting “Anonymousโ€:

โ€œTheirโ€™s no point blaming those immigrants โ€ฆ

โ€œWho all slept walked there way into the abyss.โ€

Perhaps mostly what your homeland wants is someone who grasps the difference between โ€œtheirโ€ and โ€œthereโ€.

If you don’t grasp the difference, perhaps you should extend your very long visit to the UK. Clearly, you canโ€™t say anything to young Bajans about grammar.

5. LIB could you tell us what you understood Shridath to have meant when he said …..not within our regional culture; still less are intimations of โ€˜ethnic cleansingโ€™. ??

6. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    We’ve been over this. My suggestion, honestly, is to ask him. I see the offending article is presented on Norman Girvan’s blog, http://www.normangirvan.info/category/caribbean-integration/sir-shridath-ramphal-caribbean-integration/, so you could even offer a comment there. I would see no problem in being direct. If he refuses to comment, then so be it.

7. Shridath Ramphal was wrong. He freely admitted that he based his comments on a Nation article. This is a man who lives in Barbados and held the office of Commonwealth Secretary General. He could if he was genuine enough easily picked up his telephone and made a call before blabbering off. Barbadian are within their right to question his motive along with Compton Bourne.

8. i ain’t backing down. i want sonny ramphal out of barbados. i want compton bourne removed as president of the CDB and kicked out. these men offended us and tried to nasty the image of our country by their stupid statements and we have to make an example of them because they should know better. rickey singh also. if a bajan was in guyana and had made the statements these men did, the bajan would be put out. you have that in particular if he is black.

9. @LIB

WHEN SYLVAN said on;
    July 5, 2009 at 7:53 pm

tell sonny to kiss his ass. since barbados is practising โ€˜ethic cleansingโ€™ as stabroek news said he said, he should do the right thing and leave barbados.
    ————————

YOU SOUGHT TO CORRECT HIM WITH;

@Sylvan July 5, 2009 at 7:53 pm
    Vilification is no substitute for accurate denigration.
    Cite correctly. The reports never included the word โ€˜practisingโ€™ but Sir S. was reported to have talked about โ€œintimations ofโ€ฆโ€. To you the difference may be moot.
    Should I hold you to what you wrote with โ€œETHIC (sic) cleansingโ€ or change it to what I want it to be?
    ———————————–

Still no understanding of what Shridath meant? Yet you understood Sylvan sufficiently to offer a correction???? Is it simply the words “practice” and “intimations” void of what they can mean to you?

10. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Adrian Hinds // July 6, 2009 at 9:31 pm

I sought to correct the citation made by sylvan. A terrible habit, but there you have it.

I then asked sylvan if I should take the words he/she wrote or change them to what I want them to be. (I actually offered no correction.) sylvan did not reply. So be it.

I engaged the author directly, and he/she responded or not, as is his/her right.

I suggested you engage Sir S. directly rather than asking someone else to divine his meaning. I don’t know if you did that. It’s your choice.

11. There was a context to my asking you for your interpretation of what he said. If you did not seek to correct someone for incorrectly attributing words and meanings to Shridath I would not have bothered you. But duck all you want.

12. AH

Good luck on getting LIB to comment on Ramphalโ€™s statement. His response to me was the same i.e. that I should ask Ramphal.. I plan to do so when I see him at the next cocktail party in the environs of Sandy Lane๏Š.:-)

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH & Sargeant
    I find it an odd exercise to try to press someone to interpret another person’s contentious remark. It’s a real damned if you do, damned if you don’t game. I, for one, am no paid political pundit, just someone with views and opinions that I am prepared to defend. (Let’s hope that does not lead to some asinine remark from a certain contributor.)

I’m not on any Sandy Lane cocktail circuit (my loss, I guess, so I will have to do some networking), but we could always try to arrange to have a breakfast with Sir S. near his home near the south coast.

AH, as I mentioned before, I will be in Boston later this week, the ball is in your court.

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ Adrian Hinds // July 7, 2009 at 10:11 am
    “If you did not seek to correct someone for incorrectly attributing words and meanings to Shridath” Accuracy is really important. Certain words used are contentious enough, but let’s attribute to him what he said. I would hope that is acceptable. I trust that you know the difference between the two verbs concerned, which to me is like chalk and cheese.

In the same way that we can deduce that ‘PUBIC convenience’ might actually have been mistakenly written instead of ‘PUBLIC convenience’, we cannot be sure, so one checks. And I repeat, the author did not respond to the probing, which bothers me not one jot.

15. Well can you apply your meaning to the two verbs and let us know what you thing he meant? you sandwich your comments with enough disclaimers to make certain that no thinks you are speaking on Shridath’s behalf.

What does your Boston Trip have to do with me? I thought i made very clear that I unlike the current Prime Minister of Barbados have no interest in meeting with Anti-Bajan individuals such as yourself?

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    “Well can you apply your meaning to the two verbs and let us know what you thing he meant?” [NO. What little media training I did warned me that even the most innocent of expressions can get taken out of context and turned and twisted and it’s then a devil of an effort to get back to what you meant. On my own statements, I will gladly exchange on their meanings. ]

“Anti-Bajan individuals such as yourself” [I fear, no regret, that this is the kind of remark that tells me that when a mind is closed, it is truly closed. But, you have your position, and appear comfortable with it. Over the past few months, I have started to make a matrix of remarks made by Barbadians, about their own country and its situation: not just any persons, but those who are deemed to be revered and patriotic. By your standard they are all turning out to be “Anti-Bajan Bajans”. They make very interesting reading, and it’s really hard to know how you for example really view your compatriots who make critical remarks about the country. It would seem, but I may be wrong, that you and some others are of the view that those who dare say anything critical about Barbados and Barbadians cannot possibly help us. For that reason, it’s interesting to see how David Thompson has been flipped from hero to goat in a few short days. Like a teacher who can only give good marks even on the worst of essays, you seem to want to nurture the bad as if it were the good. To me, that seems like a real dis-service, in the same way that some of your apparent compatriots think that to look smuggly at Jamaica’s smouldering social and economic ruins and argue that because that is so terrible they need not give a hoot about the tinderbox of similar social and economic disorder here is any solution.

Live a life surrounded by yes men/women and cowtowers and you will live a life surrounded by those fearful of telling you the truth. Much as I may not have liked the policies of now Dame Thatcher, her notion of “Don’t give me problems, give me solutions” is instructive, because it realises that most situations are imperfect but can be improved. But if you believe that all is perfect then of course you will never see what is to be fixed.

Love your country and all its people, as you should, but always do so with real honesty.

17. You offered to meet (Not clear to me for what purpose) I refuse. You seem to think that I couldn’t refuse your offer and you asked again. Even if you were David Ellis or Mia Mottley or some other bajan of whom you speak, I would decline any such offer. You can continue to atttempt a weak defence of you not being a yes man and that you have been critical where it was necessary, if that makes you feel better. But I will recall those comments that i first saw on your blog which to mind demonstrated more than your current explanation. My mind is far from close, to your words, and opinion, but my arms and hands are folded to you. Suffice it to say I am not of your calibre or kind, I am also but a mere plebe that knows not his place.

18. LIB

Over the past few months, I have started to make a matrix of remarks made by Barbadians, about their own country and its situation
    1984 Here we come Big Brother is watching

I do hope that you use your matrix to produce accurate accounts and not the literary license to say โ€œYou get a lot of supposedly substantive arguments against this group for being ‘smelly’, ‘musty’, ‘clannish’, ‘not like us’, ‘scheming’, ‘wanting to take over’, etcโ€.

We have had this discussion about literary license before; when you substitute one or two commentators with the words โ€œa lotโ€; someone who may not be current with the discussion will take your word at face value without any idea what โ€œa lotโ€ represents.

Also, your characterisation of what some people say about Jamaicans on the blog is misleading. People tend to generalise, pop off and disappear and their views donโ€™t necessarily represent the position of the majority. The Jamaicans I know would be the first to tell you that their country has a great deal of problems, but they are fiercely patriotic and if Ramphal made the same statement about Jamaica he would be made to feel unwelcome. These Jamaicans tell me that Bajans are very docile (and these are only the females).

Parsing;Parsing;Parsing!

19. enough talk. strong action needed. tell those in power how you feel and that you want action

20. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    “1984 Here we come Big Brother is watching” [A tad paranoic? Is there some sense that you all believe that no one is taking note of what is written here? A bevvy of observations gathered from hither and yon, like squirrels chasing nuts. Look! Starbroek said this. Hear this! Man speaking on VOB…I am not the government, or police, or a particularly intersted observer of much that is written here, but who knows who amongst your own nation may be out there ‘watching’ and ‘tracking’? We know that the moderator is, as he can identify those who flip identities and try to generate what could be mistaken for dialogue but is in fact just one source.]

I said that my focus was on “those who are deemed to be revered and patriotic”. Faceless and nameless individuals commenting on a blog thread do not fit those criteria.

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    I really cannot take the views expressed here as representative of a very large body of opinion because they come from so few, no matter how stridently they are made. But, I also take a view on whether those who claim to be Bajan and are participating here feel they can take issue with what appear to be unfounded remarks made by their compatriots, uttered in a threatening, violent and disrepectful way at other nationals, or if they merely wait for the nationals concerned, to stand up for themselves, or hope that others will do that. It tells me something about what people see as right and proper. I’m still thinking about that.

22. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    My visit to Boston will give me time to reflect on how things in Barbados look from afar, as my travel usually does. I will use it to ask some questions of two friends who know ethnic strife well (a Peruvian Jew, who has just returned to the US after spending time in Rwanda abd Burundi) and a Guinean (my former junior economist, whom I sponsored to do a masters), whose country has 3 near equal-sized ethnic groups, who have not been in strife, but have watched how such strife has torn apart their neigbouring countries (Sierra Leone, Cote d’Ivoire and Liberia). It’ll be useful perspective also to talk about their histories, which they can trace back over at least 1000 years, and see how that has shaped what they call nationhood.

Maybe I will get to Fenway Park, for the first time, and see how the American national spirit is doing.

Pretty boring stuff, really.

23. Jack, you are far too intelligent, logical, rational, intellectual and educated to be wasting your time dealing with these people. Best Regards.

24. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Where so ever you all are with your thoughts, I’m going to have fun in a Crop Over tent.

25. It seems like I will miss a great intellectual meeting of like minds, hope that Boston gives you the red carpet treatment, as they await your presence and comments on the American national spirit. Nothing less is deserved.

26. You people realise, of course, that Ramphal was merely reporting what he had heard and read (“intimations of ethnic cleansing”) He was not at all saying that there was ethnic cleansing in Barbados as many, a few of whom should know better, seem to think!

27. Themis // July 8, 2009 at 12:00 am

You people realise, of course, that Ramphal was merely reporting what he had heard and read (โ€intimations of ethnic cleansingโ€) He was not at all saying that there was ethnic cleansing in Barbados as many, a few of whom should know better, seem to think!
    ————————————————-

So he is not to be held responsible for what he said? Is the supposedly learnt fellow in the habit of uttering quotes without any personal interpretation as to what they mean? Should I dismiss just this comment or the entire article as the ramblings an old ……

BTW since we can’t get de Jamaican LIB to answer, what do you think he meant or better yet what the article meant?

28. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    “It seems like I will miss a great intellectual meeting of like minds,”
    We are anything but of ‘like minds’, even in the area of the economics that we practised together. This is where assessment of people can be important.

An exercise that would be worth going through in the immigration discussion, but more broadly, is thinking about what it is that makes people seem different or similar. Look at the three disparate individuals, of which I am one.

1. A middle-aged Peruvian-born Jew, who spent time growing up in Peru (as part of a religious minority that has known centuries of persecution) and Israel (as part of a religious majority that was built to avoid persecution), studied and worked in the US (where he was part of the religious minority but in the racical majority), worked and lived in Ghana, Rwanda and Burundi (where he was the minority in so many senses–and in two of those countries elimination of ethnic minorities is a well know part of recent history). Has his family living in Israel while he goes off to do Hebrew studies.
    2. A late 20s Guinean born and bred Muslim, who studied in his country (where political opponents of the presidents have been brutally eliminated over decades) and Morocco, then worked with a group of expatriates (none of whom shared his religion), then studies in Tunisia and now the US. Whose family now lives without him, though in their home land.
    3. A Jamaican-born Christian (who has never known religious persecution), who spent 30 formative years in England, as a not much liked racial minority (though never really persecuted, personally), who then lived about 20 years in the US, again as a not much liked racial minority (where racial persecution of this group is still part of living memory). Who also lived and worked in west Africa as part of a racial majority but part of a religious minority. Who returns to the Caribbean, but as part of a racial majority, but also a distinctive foreigner.

How could or would we become of ‘like mind’?

29. @LIB

Report back on all views with respect to “Nationhood” and all that it entails.

30. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    “Report back on all views with respect to โ€œNationhoodโ€ and all that it entails.”

I do have that very much in my sights, with the modest caveat that ‘all that it entails’ may be beyond me.

As an aside, I am always amused how I have to explain to many people that my English accent or time in England DOES NOT MAKE me English in my mind, one little bit. Yet there are some who will see me as nothing as pure Jamaican.

Our Caribbean lives are complex enough for a region so small. My generation was born British (by administrative fiat), then became something else (by adminsitrative fiat) when our countries became independent as their different times. Some like me could reclaim British nationality (by another administrative fiat) and yet also retain our new national identities by administrative convenience. But throughout all of that, I was/am, and I am sure many like me, were/are only ever ‘nationals’ in our own eyes.

Enough for the moment.

31. @LIB

โ€ข Iโ€™m not on any Sandy Lane cocktail circuit (my loss, I guess, so I will have to do some networking), but we could always try to arrange to have a breakfast with Sir S. near his home near the south coast.
    My bad, I should have said the diplomatic cocktail circuit judging from your recent exploits. And you know where he lives too; youโ€™re โ€œwalking in some mighty tall cottonโ€ as they say in the Southern US.

Anyway feel free to ask on my behalf, poor boys like me donโ€™t do cocktails or cocktail parties very well, we may embarrass ourselves by asking the hired help if dey got any see-tru.

32. I was/am, and I am sure many like me, were/are only ever โ€˜nationalsโ€™ in our own eyes.

Is that Jamaican Nationals or Caribbean Nationals?….yuh know, of the Caribbean Nation?

I am surprise that could be so confuse by your accent. ๐Ÿ™‚ Now that I know you see yourself as Jamaican, I shall refer to you as British. lol!

33. @Sergeant: My bad too. I’m not on the diplomatic cocktail circuit either, but just know a range of people. If I thought I.could meet him over pudding and souse that would be better. But even poor boys by origin or current position can stand in tall cotton. The English say a cat
    Can look at a king.
    M

34. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    “Is that Jamaican Nationals or Caribbean Nationals?โ€ฆ.yuh know, of the Caribbean Nation?” [To me, there are nations (and territories) in the Caribbean region, and we can confuse things by referring to ‘Caribbean nationals’ because there are many who are ignorant of our location and status and confuse themselves. Even if we had a common passport we would still be nationals of the individual countries, unless they have disappeared as states in the process.]

“I am surprise that could be so confuse by your accent. ๐Ÿ™‚ Now that I know you see yourself as Jamaican, I shall refer to you as British. lol!” [There you go. I am more likely to be truly offended by being called British or English–not least for the insult to my ancestors and compatriots and those with whom I align myself in the Caribbean.]

David did not think the British ‘invasion’ was worth being concerned about now/yet. But though my initial intention had some facetiousness about it, it’s worth focusing on. One of the good Calypsos from last night touched on this issue, and who is buying up the land. Food for thought.

35. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@Sergeant
    “And you know where he [Sir. S.] lives too…”[Ain’t no big secrets in Barbados. On this little island, people can bump into each other a lot.But, I don’t know or follow his movements.]

36. How should I accept the following:

and we can confuse things by referring to ‘Caribbean nationals’
    —————————————-

Were you deliberately attempting to confuse when you referred to your wife as a Caribbean national?

So the Brits failed to assimilate you. After 30 years of living there you still do not see your self as British. So much for the their defence of Multiculturalism. Would you still advocate for a deepening of a multicultured Barbados?

I am with you on the new British Invasion. It is sad that they are leaving the multicultured society they created, and still defend.

37. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    “Were you deliberately attempting to confuse when you referred to your wife as a Caribbean national?” [Remember the full context I gave for the potential confusion, which added “…because there are many who are ignorant of our location and status and confuse themselves” I do not take it that those who are in or from the Caribbean suffer this confusion. But, many of my wife’s compatriots are conflicted because although their country has Caricom status, it’s located in The Atlantic Ocean. They often refer/referred to those from islands located in The Caribbean Basin as “West Indians”. (The whimsical part of me wonders if the so-called Indo-Guyanese are wondering if they should revert to spreading this new ‘insult’ by calling black Bajans, for example, “Indo-Bajans” (from being former West Indians).)

“So the Brits failed to assimilate you. After 30 years of living there you still do not see your self as British.” [Of course not. I’m not. But claims to national identity are largely individual. My father lived in England as long as I did, and he would never call himself English, though as a returnee to Jamaica he is called “English”. 20 years in America did not make me American, but I would understand my 5 year old (in US of born of parents of different nationalities, spending 2 years in Guinea and now 2 years in Bim) having a bit of sorting out to do. Nationality is not a nomadic badge.

I don’t quite follow the last sentence.

38. LIB, AH, as a person who has not lived in Barbados for more than 15 years and rarely visits, can only comment and opine from the perspective of one who has no realistic view of current life in Barbados or the Caribbean.

39. Not much has changed in the Caribbean for the last 40 years, so my so called 15 year old reality would still hold.
    But tell muh not…..

Caricom is still a talk shop.
    Cannibis is still St.Vincent number one export.
    St.Lucia still begging for a US embassy.
    Dominica, is still no claim to a sand bank just off it’s coast.
    Grenada still remembers Bishop as if it was yesterday
    Trinidad is still an oil rich nation, with high poverty index
    Venezuela still has not given up it’s claim to two thirds of Guyana
    Guyana today looks like an Indo Forbes Burnham is in charge.
    Jamaica is still known as the murder capital of the world and the police is getting in on the act.
    We bajans are still docile, overly pragmatic and thinks that politicians have our interest at heart.
    The former commonwealth Caribbean Nations are still run like Fifedoms.

Am I wrong? ha ha ha ha lol!

40. No Adrian, You’re not wrong but some things have been added. All over Barbados you will find Chinese restuarants and lots of them walking around , most of the large government projects are now done by chinese and some private ones too. Then their is the large influx of guyanese who are competing against the chinese for jobs. It is not unusual for an unemployed bajan artisan when he applies for a job on the worksite, that they don’t employ bajans. Yes, this is Barbados I’m talking about, a Barbados that many bajans are beginning to lose faith in. Progress is great but bajans are not benefiting. Even the NHC seems to be favoring guyanese for their houses over the bajans. Something will explode soon.

41. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH/The Scout/Mongoose

I do not believe all I see on the Internet, but one source (http://www.benbest.com/lifeext/murder.html, reportedly using Interpol data, and with caveat “Homicide statistics for much of the world are hard to come by and often very unreliable”), gave the mid-1970s murder ranks as: 1. Lesotho, 2. The Bahamas, 3. Guyana, …5. Nethelands Antilles,…9. Trinidad, 10. Jamaica.

When The Scout writes “Youโ€™re not wrong but some things have been added. All over Barbados you will find Chinese restuarants and lots of them walking around”, I know that I have never seen a CHINESE RESTAURANT WALKING! Impressions are one thing, what is real is often something else. I think it’s a toss up if there are more Chinese restaurants than Indian ones in Bim, and what I have seen puts each at no more than 10 (but I stand to be corrected, though Yellow Pages seems to support that figure). Not really odd for a tourism-driven economy; some may say woefully few.

What I can tell Mongoose is that the island is overrun by British people, mainly on holidays, but swarms of them all over the island. I went to a restaurant yesterday that was full of them (5 tables all taken). They get shipped down daily by British Airways and Virgin Atlantic, and more than 200,000 of them descend here each year; see Caribbean Tourism Organization data for 2002-7, http://www.onecaribbean.org/content/files/2007anguilla-bonaireCountryStats.pdf. That, you know, is nearly the same amount as the island’s population.

Many of the island’s large residential properties are owned by them and they (with some Irish help) own large tracts of land too. Many large enrterprises have CEOs whose voices are distinctly English-sounding–not definitive, but indicative. Some, like LIME/Cable and Wireless, are headed by known English persons.

You’ve lived amongst the British quite some time. Do you want them to turn Barbados into a more than “Little England” in name?

Yet, ironically, the British High Commission in Bridgetown just announced that from August they will cease passport operations for Barbados and the eastern Caribbean, but deal with these in New York. What does that mean?

I think that I am one of the lucky ones who can see where all of this will lead.

42. Ha ha Scout let me โ€œINTERSEEDโ€ on yours and my behalf. Your statement though grammatically incorrect did not result in any miscommunication thus. We ALL understood your point. Do understand the Jamaican LIB propenSCity to correct the obvious. Indeed by the statistics Jamaica is not the murder CAPITAL of the world, nor is it a Capital, but is a Country. How the Jamaican LIB now Language maven missed this one???? To be more pointed in my response,โ€ฆ.15 years later what has change in respect to Jamaica and murders committed there, for 1993 the year I left Barbados, Jamaica murder rate was 26.8 per 100k with 600+ murders recorded. By 2004 Jamaica was ranked as a country with one of the highest murder rate in the Caribbean. By 2005 its murder rate was reported to be one of the highest in the world.

Caribbean Islandsโ€Ž – Page 254
    by Lonely Planet Publications Staff, Ryan Ver Berkmoes, Amy C. Balfour, Paul Clammer, Michael Grosberg – Travel – 2008 – 880 pages
    Jamaica has the highest murder rate for any country not in the throes of war (
    the nation had a record 1574 murders in 2007, a 17% rise on the previous year)

43. No wonder LIB started his response with “I do not believe all I see on the Internet” He knows that one only has to type Jamaica, and the word “murder” MAY miraculously appear. ha ha ha ha
    btw as a prolific contributor to various fora/forums on the internet I wonder if he reserves some of his doubts about it’s contents for his own contributions? ha ha ha I too like it when the pragmatic, fact base individuals who spends a significant amount of time admonishing others to view the world more so via facts and ideas than feelings and beliefs, resorts to their “beliefs” when face with overwhelming evidence on a point that they may wish were not so. ha ha ha ha

44. LIB said:
    Youโ€™ve lived amongst the British quite some time. Do you want them to turn Barbados into a more than โ€œLittle Englandโ€ in name?
    ————————————————-
    Any Ideas on why only two or three islands have signed onto the CCJ?

Any Idea on why there MAY be a significant number of persons who do not want to change our constitutional monarchy for a republic?

Could it be that there isn’t much trust of the West Indian politician?

45. You know what LIB is going with this donโ€™t you? He wants to provoke a backlash about British citizens or people with British accents who are visiting or residing in Barbados. He tried it before and then said it was โ€œfacetiousโ€ now he is trying it again. Some folks fall for the trap and lose focus on the discussion and comment negatively on Jamaicans, Guyanese, Chinese etc. now he wants to add British to the โ€œmatrixโ€.
    If someone responds that they want these people to leave then its all grist to the mill for his blog where he can accuse Bajans of xenophobia.

LIB I donโ€™t know if you have been in Barbados long enough to hear or understand the phrase โ€œone smart died at two smart doorโ€๏Š. I am sure Miss Lou has a similar phrase for Jamaica.

BTW I notice that you havenโ€™t responded to my post of yesterday regarding New Zealandโ€™s treatment of British citizens aka their kith and kin.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/australiaandthepacific/newzealand/5753544/British-expats-forced-from-New-Zealand.html

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/expat/expatnews/5556582/New-Zealand-is-best-destination-for-expats-says-poll.html

46. Thanks Sargeant. I must admit I almost fell for it, although in the back my mind I sense a change in his position re. I am Jamaican not British, and his play up of his past 30 years in Britain as a minority who was constantly reminded that he is. Yet he his Englishness is laid out for all to see on his blog.

47. livinginbarbadob Avatar
    livinginbarbadob

In transit…have fun in my absence.

48. livinginbarbadob Avatar
    livinginbarbadob

@Sargeant: No evil plot. Briefly, we open our hearts it seems to children of those who enslaved our ancestors and brought them here. We close our hearts and minds to those who were sort of in the same boat. Will expand once feet settle in the state of the tea party. Doing this by mobile phone is hard.

49. livinginbarbadob Avatar
    livinginbarbadob

@AH: No change of position. I am prepared to give personal context. Becuase I think it is relevant. Some peole like to run with a lot of simplistic stuff and name calling and treat that as substance. I try not to. Doors closing. Gotta b uckle up.
    My mind has always been clear, dare I say from birth. I am willing to give personal context

50. LIB

We close our hearts and minds to those who were sort of in the same boat.
    Man you singing from the same song sheet as the honourable Knight Ramphal, he with his โ€œAll a we is oneโ€ and you with โ€œin the same boatโ€. I can see why you were loathe to crticise Ramphal, the two of you think alike there must be some school or organisation for folks who can flit from country to country at will to impart โ€œknowledgeโ€ to โ€œthe great unwashedโ€; you as a Technocrat and he as a Mandarin. What boat was this? The one that transported us across the ocean below deck, in chains and unable to see the sunlight? Or the one that brought some with their culture and religious beliefs intact. I donโ€™t know if my ancestors worshipped the birds and the bees or the Sun and the Stars, however you described yourself as Christian and I fit that description. Some can point to a culture and religion that goes back thousands of years while I donโ€™t know if I was descended from Ghanaian peasantry, Royalty or even the Kabaka of Buganda.

BTW sometime ago during a casual conversation with a Guyanese colleague I asked what caste she belonged to and she told me she was โ€œBrahminโ€ ,no โ€œDalitโ€ for her ๏Š

If you come on this blog with that foolishness about the same boat we will have to take you to the Bajan equivalent of a woodshed

Enjoy your stay in Beantown. I hope the Bosox go on a losing run (sorry AH)