There has been some debate about the recent appointment of David Rice to the job of CEO at the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA). Minister Richard Sealy was forced to defend himself against the accusation from the Opposition regarding the appointment. The position of CEO of the BTA is one of the most important positions in Barbados in our view. The tourist industry has been and will continue to be the one leg which has to support the Barbados economy. The key decision makers must therefore be the best that we can afford to buy to effectively manage the number one industry.

In a previous blog we questioned the continued appointment of Ralph Taylor as Chairman of the BTA. Our concern was made against the background that Almond Resorts, of which he is Chairman, has reported a drastic deterioration in financial fortune in the 2008 financial year. A reasonable position to have is that he will need all the time he can muster to manage Almond which also has an operation in St. Lucia. What time will that leave for the BTA? Remember that we consider the BTA one of the most important government entities.

We don’t know much about David Rice besides the fact that we understand he is former DLP candidate and Chairperson of the YMCA Marilyn Rice-Bowen’s brother? Not sure why BU commenters would have made the observation but we had a look at the video above and our concern, and by David Rice’s own admission, he was responsible for operations and not sales at Welk Resort.

We all know the job at the BTA is significantly sales oriented. While we wish him well as head of our number one industry at this critical juncture in our economic period, we hope that his resume lists other responsibilities which would have satisfied the people who employed him!

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

It is always heartening to see a Bajan with experience in his field return to Bim, hopefully to make a stirling contribution – if allowed.

I wish David well. May God help him fight the Goliaths he will undoubtedly face!

2. NO .. GP a resounding NO!!!

The BTA has enough people who are experienced in Training, House keeping, reservations, accounting and so on. What it needs are people who can SELL. Full stop. This man is experienced in everything else except what is required to champion the primary marketing arm of our number one foreign exchange earner. WRONG man…!

3. And while I am at it the same is true for the National Cultural Foundation. A CEO must have as a required skill, amounst other things, the ability to SELL. To SELL him or herself, to SELL his or her organisation, to SELL the industry that he/she represents to the rest of the world. Academics make piss poor sellers. You know this GP. You know this very well. The UWI is spitting them out a dime a dozen with humanities back grounds and they are taking up positions that label them as CEO’s… They have absolutely no skill at operating on the revenue side of the income statement…! A CEO should be very well paid because he/she should be expected to earn the company more money by his/her presence than he/she costs. If the NCF is not a marketing machine like the BTA (in theory anyway) then it should be…!

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFBFP

Man you got muh. Maybe your right.
    I gwine have to stick to opining on the Bible man. LOL

I was just expressing my hopes for the fellow and the country.

5. By his own admission in the interview…he is responsible for all else EXCEPT sales!!…and this is only across 3 hotels!!…BTA doesnt want an administrator it wants a sales magnate!!!!

6. The following article appeared in the Barbados Advocate announcing David Rice’s appointment. We have highlighted a snippet which requires explanation in light of what we heard on the video. Does he have sales experience or not?!?

BTA appoints a new President & CEO

4/23/2009

A NEW face will be at the helm of the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA).

He is David Rice, who will assume the position of President and Chief Executive Officer effective May 4, 2009.

Rice, most recently held the responsibility of Vice President of Resort Operations with Welk Resorts, one of the most respected independent brands in the Vacation ownership industry.

In his role, Rice held responsibility for overseeing the Welk Resorts in San Diego, Missouri, Palm Springs and a new recent development in Mexico. He has been credited with significantly improving both top-line and bottom- line growth as well as generating strong sales and marketing leadership at all of Welk Resorts.

The 25 year veteran in the international Resort, Hotel and Vacation industry, who has worked and lived in Europe, the Caribbean and several parts of the United States, has held senior level positions at Sunterra Corporation, Bluebeard’s Castle and Beach Resorts, Marriott Corporation, Orange Lake Country Club and Divi Resorts and has been described as a results-oriented and innovative leader. He has managed the sale and transitional operations of several resorts in both the United States and the Caribbean.

A graduate of the Lewis Hotel School in New York, USA, Rice holds the designation of Certified Hotel Administrator from the American Hotel and Lodging Association.

Rice, who was Chairman of the Caribbean American Resort Development Association, has held previous positions as Chairman of the USVI Development Association and Vice President of the St. Thomas and St. John’s Hotel Association.

An alumnus of Harrison College, Rice has also served on the Board of Directors for Hospice of Central Florida, Rotary International, California State University, Skal (International Association of Tourism & Travel) Club and United Way.

He is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Deer Springs Fire Council; the President’s Circle of California State University and was also nominated to serve as a member of Governor Schwarzenegger’s Olympic Committee.

On his appointment, Rice said that he is “very excited” about the opportunity to market Barbados as one of the world’s foremost destinations. He plans to immediately implement strategic initiatives for the BTA and strengthen its capabilities over the coming months.

On welcoming Rice, Austin Husbands, Acting Chairman of the BTA, said, “We are very fortunate to attract someone of Mr. David Rice’s calibre. We are confident that his extensive experience and knowledge of the global tourism industry will make him an asset to the Barbados Tourism Authority, particularly during this challenging but exciting period”.

Rice enjoys golf and scuba diving, and holds a private pilot’s license.

7. “He has been credited with significantly improving both top-line and bottom- line growth as well as generating strong sales and marketing leadership at all of Welk Resorts.”

By whose admission? The video clip says something different. Was the clip doctored…! Based on looks and sound, he is no seller… point blank! But he does have many influential contacts and that may prove to be very important.

8. Incidentally GP

Just so you know, I just printed our your response and framed it so that in time my grand children will see it. Prof GP from Florida stood corrected…LOL

9. Minister Richard Sealy

All the information available on the Internet supports the impression that Mr. Rice’s background is skewed towards an operational background. Here is his online profile.

BU is not suggesting that Mr. Rice is not a good bloke.

10. If boards are looking for office managers, then employ office managers. But when they speak of CEO’s that is a whole different ball game. Other than for the contacts that he may have, some one skilled in operations is not enough.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Will you please ban BAFBFP for harassing me Sir! LOL

After all BAFBFP I strayed out of my field man, so I had to tek wuh I get.

If yuh give a batsman width and bowl the wrong line, you will get creamed!

David was a contemporary at HC. He seems to have done his time, here and there, obviously learning. So I would hope that he could adapt and adopt and apply his exwerience to the task at hand.

He has got a chance to serve at a high level. This is more than many others have got. I wish him well.

12. Man I wish him well too…Hope he could organise a medical conference or something like that here and invite you as a special participant or something like that. Hah! Take care good man.

13. I know 20 boys who would love that sinecure.

A couple of them have proven sales records, in fact one of them is related to a senior politician.

Unfortunately he is of the red persuasion.

Did anyone see the advertised post?

I missed it.

If I wanted a pudding, I would probably be tempted by Rice.

If I wanted to appoint the best possible advocate of our #1 export I maybe would have spread my net wider.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ST
    It is infortunate that what you are saying is probably true.

You ask a very pertinent question about the advertising of the post also.

Well thats Barbados for you!

15. ST surprise..surprise ! You bring in race to imply some clown you know wont get BTA job because he red(white.) So Rice land job only because he black ? Typical Cattlewash viewpoint.

Folks like you, BAFBFP, and other white know it alls, believe just whites can manage dizzying heights of economy.

I long for day when blacks shrug off mental slavery and begin to support their own businesses to replace parasite white monopolies that have price gouged Barbados since slavery. A minority elite are obscenely rich because of monopoly and its ally discrimination.

16. 1834
    I be negra, so don’ be callin’ me whate now yah heer..?!
    In any event for Christ sakes man we are talking about the need to recognise salesmanship for these posts over mere operational expertise. And what does colour have to do with advertising a post before it is filled by the brother of a known DLP operative?

Now don’ make me shame to be negra with your simplistic rhetoric now ya heer..

ST
    I see that you and Rohan like to wipe yah feet ovah at the BFP town hall. To each his own…!

17. BAFBFP // May 23, 2009 at 9:15 pm

I be negra, so don’ be callin’ me whate now yah heer..?!
    ………………………………….
    Your racist jokes are worn. Your come uppance is not its coming and ugly. Stay tuned.

18. 1834
    Get a life!

19. The issue most affecting Barbados is not who walked out of Parliament or was prevented from speaking.

Rather, it is about the “political incompetence” and “intellectual weakness” of the Democratic Labour Party and poor judgement and decisions which David Thompson made or did not make – which has pushed this country into recession and is causing unnecessary economic hardship for thousands of Barbadians.

20. I wont to became a food and bevarage
    pertion to a food & bevarage ex… manager .plz give me suggast what to do by me?

21. I generally don’t do blogs too busy. But what BAFBFP said was a mouthfull. This has nothing to do with race but the fact that this guy is clueless on what it takes to make the BTA much stronger and continue to move forward in the right direction. And sales is it. As of now, he identifies gives his team the right tools because they were lacking but just a couple month’s on the job, he is making a mess. Barbados will definitely suffer.

What he has done reaffirms his point of view as an operations VP….and thus far a bad one. In a few weeks pay close attention to all the mess he has caused by looking at the News agencies. This guy is the wrong person for the job.

Oh and what degree does he has…it just says certified hotel administrator? That should raise red flags.

22. We have receive information about some decisions going down at the BTA. We will wait to see how this goes down. iman if you have an another view feel free to share.

23. I would like to share more and tell the truth. Unfortunately, the BTA North america is a mess. Just within a few short days of a very important resignation “as they said it happened.” The minister is clueless and David Rice is the same and many agents I have learned dropped Barbados as a destination because they did not like the decision. And the mashing corns by the BTA is not over yet and it only gets worst day by day my inside sources tell me. I only hope the Barbadian people knew the truth and did not have to suffer at the hands of incompetent, unqualified government appointed people.

24. @iman

So far your comments have been wish wash. You need to provide examples about what you mean. How is the New York office a mess? Why did the person resign? Why would agents drop Barbados just like that?

Sealy: BTA moving ahead

Richard Sealy, Minister of Tourism.

Published on: 8/6/2009.

THE PROMISED CHANGES at the top of the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA) have started.

Just a few days ago Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy said he was “prepared to mash some corns” as the Government moved to restructure the agency’s overseas tourism promotion operation, but even before that announcement, Richard Williams, the BTA’s vice-president of sales and marketing for the Americas since 2007, decided to quit.

“I resigned the position effective July 31,” he told the DAILY NATION in a short interview yesterday.

“My last day was Friday. I haven’t finalised my plans for the future. My contract was due to end this year. But any further word would have to come from Barbados,” he said.

And that has happened.

In a statement yesterday, the BTA announced Williams’ resignation, describing him as “a visionary leader” who helped “to further the development of the Barbados tourism offerings and bringing this message to the United States and Canadian markets”.

Arrivals down

As is the case throughout the Caribbean, both the arrivals and the earnings from the Barbados tourism industry have plummeted this year.

Meanwhile, Urban Cumberbatch, the authority’s senior business development manager, has been appointed to act as vice-president for the Americas.

Highly-placed sources also said that Ryan Blackett, a business development officer in New York, is being recalled to Bridgetown, while Cecily Walcott, the BTA’s chief executive officer, may also be affected.

The minister told reporters over the weekend that the BTA was selecting a new leadership team such as vice presidents and would be appointing advertising and public relations agencies to promote the country.

“I have really been on top of the board to work hard, to make decisions, and let’s do what we have to do, make what changes need to be made,” Sealy said.

“If we have to mash a corn or two in order to benefit 270 000 souls that are relying on the tourism industry, let’s do it.

“I don’t mind getting cursed for that.” (TB/PR)

25. Barbados has a great opportunity to take a big part of the NA market, but the money is not spent with the right people or in the right way. The resigned president went up against people who does not have a clue the American mindset and expected things to be done like in the UK and Canada. American’s are a different animals, and guerrilla marketing like subways would work. As I ask American colleagues if they heard of Barbados, they say no…even listening to a rhianna track. Oh she is paid by the government to be an ambassador for Bim.

26. Well for the dropping part, becasue Richard Williams was a respected industry leader who changed the image of Barbados abroad without using large budgets and gave a bajan the opportunity which should always be the case…but they accused the Bajan of making too much money, even thouhg working with the local saved them hundreds of thousands of dollars. Destinations like Jamaica and Bahamas couldn’t come close at events both participated at. The acting VP has had countless complaints against him but the file disappeared. Maybe because the HR spends vacation in his house. Agents won’t seel Barbados and have sent in email to the NY office to that effect. Is that enough info for you.

27. If Richard Williams was doing such a great job and the HR has been engaged in unethical behaviour at best what is the New Yory staff doing about it?

28. David, I believe that you are a part of the Board for tourism. You should be able to pin point these things. Also, how would the office operate with the two seniors not there.

29. I never said that the HR was in an appropriate behavior but that in such close family or friend relationships, why would a file about his not allowing most people in the VP or senior roles not function and always in opposition go missing. Maybe this relationship is to his advantage. Let’s face it, most of these positions are from government relationships. And the VP did not resign.