Submitted by Yardbroom
Peter Wickham
I can’t speak for Norman Faria, but I am inclined to believe that there is evidence of racial discrimination against Afros there [Guyana] at present, in the same way there was evidence of racial discrimination against Indos there during the Burnham – PNC era – Peter W Wickham April 12, 2009 at 6.25pm

The BU family can succinctly address your core argument.  You agree that there is evidence of discrimination “now” in Guyana against Afro Guyanese, which is exactly what Dr. Kean Gibson said, that there might have been discrimination against Indos during the Burnham-PNC era does not negate this “present truth”.

Permit me to quote you again: My thesis is not that there is no discrimination, but that discrimination is not caused by the mere presence of large numbers of Indos and moreover that Indos are not genetically or culturally inclined to discriminate because of their Hindu beliefs.

There are two core elements to your thesis:

(a) Genetics (b) Culture/Hindu beliefs.

(a) Very few of the BU family will argue that this issue is about Indians being genetically inclined to discriminate against Africans.( I certainly will not)

(b) I will now address “Hindu beliefs”/Culture

If we take culture to mean:  the set of shared attitudes, values, goals and practices that characterizes an institution, organization or group (Wikipedia)

The above leads me to what “underpins” the concerns of Afro Barbadians.

The modern caste system is an extension of the ancient Vamashrama tradition.  The caste system recognizes many more social groupings not mentioned in Hindu scriptures and only theoretically accepts the necessity of following prescribed duties.  Caste has become a highly contentious issue in Indian politics and academic scholarship on the subject has often been critical of its Vamashrama origins.  Traditional Hindus however do not regard Vamashrama as merely an hereditary pass to enjoy social standing.

Rather, they consider it to be natural and integral to daily life, existing to maintaining an harmonious and functional society based on spiritual ideals. (Wikipedia)

Mr. Wickham it is because of this belief system which they – Hindus – consider “natural ” and integral to daily life which is based on a “spiritual ideal” and which Afro Barbadians can “never” be a part of which is causing legitimate concerns to Afro Barbadians.

This fundamental fact will not go away…and no amount of clever articulation will make this “truth” a lie.  We are concerned because of learned behaviour which is part of their belief system, which is also linked to their spiritual ideals, which causes them to see Afro Barbadians and other Afros in general the way they do…because caste kicks into the equation.

Limited legal numbers yes, in overwhelming numbers no, unless you are prepared to destroy social cohesion in Barbados.

1. Norman Faria you have just exposed your ass you fool!!!!!

You can never intimidate right thinking bajans you ass!!!!!!!!!

HOW DARE YOU!

2. Negroman,
    I’m still here but recently lost a loved one tragically, so just not in the mood these days. It’s a real struggle for me these days but they say that time is a great healer. I’m trying to cope but it’s really painful.

3. Bonny Peppa
    Sorry to hear of your loss
    I thought you had run out of heat or flavor, and that is why we didnt seeing ya. Best Wishes with your healing, ma dear .

4. Bonny Peppa my darling sorry to hear about your recent loss.I offered my condolences.Stay strong and try to be there for rest of your family.

Norman Faria aka Bajan Born
    Go f–k yourself.A frail,fragile piece of shit like you cannot scare me.
    your citizenship should be revoke and you should be on the first fligh out of Barbados

Go & rot in hell yuh scum bag

5. Bonny Peppa
    Oh my DEAR, my little baby is hurting!!!!!! I’m sorry to hear of your loss, you have my deepest condolences. However, stay STRONG and dig down to regain the bubby person you am. Keep sweet , my dear.

6. Bonny,

Anon here wishing you peace and God’s strength during these tough days.

7. The situation in Guyana is so bad that a guyanese packed his bag and went to the airport. He asked for a flight going to JEOPARDY. The flight attendant looked puzzled and asked him again where he is going. She got the same reply JEOPARDY. She checked the flights, then told him she don’t know where that is and as far as she knows, no flights go there. The ignorant indo-guyanese, got really mad and told her some nasty guyanese words. However, she asked him where he got the name of this place from. he told hear, he was listening to his radio last night and he heard a woman on the news say that they got 9000 jobs in JEOPARDY and he want to get there before all gone. Guyanese would go anywhere just to get out of that country, even to JEOPARDY

8. @Bonny Peppa……..I feel the pain in those words you’ve written and I have nothing but sympathy for you. Your loved one’s end may have been tragic but find comfort in knowing that even though the physical body is not with you the spirit is there. The Spirit never dies.
    Bonny you see how Negroman’s Spirit was feeling you and missing you, that is proof that the Spirit is stronger than the flesh and that it lives on.
    So stay strong my Sister and pop in every now and again to let us know how you are doing.
    Hotep my dear!

9. Bonny Peppa
    I am sorry to hear of your recent loss, may you gain strength from the love shared and the pleasant memories you have, please accept my deepest sympathy.

Yardbroom

10. Bonny my ‘rival’ chins up sweet pooh!

May the great Creator give you strength, courage, acceptance and peace, he is with you in these mournful times, stay firm in that knowledge my dear friend!

My condolences.

11. Condolences as well Bonny.

BU family must be aware as well of the growing Jamaican population in Barbados. Many of them are girls who are in the whore trade and are KNOWN to the authorities.

Barbados has spent a lot of money to develop our small country. We have spent alot of money to educate our people. Why are we so ready to surrender it to a large group of unskilled illiterate people? Call us arrogant or selfish, we prefer the label nationalistic.

On a secondary note. Did the BU family here the shallow response given by moderator Wendell Callender to a caller yesterday who expressed concern about the growing immigrant population? Bajans always wait until the crap starts to hit the fan.

The WEEDS are showing in the lawn!

12. Wendell Callender has always tended to be shallow and stupid from schooldays.

Not only are we very ready to surrender to a large group of unskilled illiterate people, but we love to force our skilled and litterate folk into exile.

13. Yes there are thousands of Jamaican women here who enter the island and remained illegally,but according to JC they are flinging their puss all around to the immigration men and the police..

I reall feel that those sensitive positions of national security should really be given to some tough,no nonsense women since bajan men seem to think with other parts rather than their heads and these guyanese and jamaican women just laughing at us.

Brothers man,respect yuhself nuh!

The Jamaican women are coming in as nail technicians,hairdressers,maids any thing so and they are all in the whore houses,in the racing pools,around the garrison and they got the police protecting them.

I must tell you,but Darwin Dottin got to be the weakest Commissioner of Police we had bout here for a real long time.

We are attracting the dregs of everybody’s society into this country and feeling smart bout it.

Thank yuh Owen Arthur.

14. Is Owen still in charge of things, well ,well ,well then I can assume that he is in Trinidad. No word seems to be coming from the summit about crucial Caricom issues. Better find Owen fast fast to let us in on whats going on.

15. That is why I liked the team of Ms. McClean, the lady from immigration (I think Farmer)and the Permanent Secretary Mrs. Williams they were excellent.

I will be honest, I know i give Mr. Greaves a hard time but ………. he is a good man; but when it comes to the GTs I am convinced they drugged him.

A guyanese woman said that she got Greaves number in Georgetown and from there it was cool sailing when she land.

Mr. Thompson I dont know why you put Greaves there atall atall.

Anon, the men aint going to fight for this country it wll have to be the women most men think with their other head ………

16. Look, never mind Faria. These people come from a culture of beliefs that perceive the blackman as inferior. They expect to be able to practice racisn without any intelligent response from Black People because of the stereotype of black people they have in their heads. They go ballistic and indignant when they get such response, and despite the euphemism they use, it boils down to “how dare you question my right to see you as the slave master taught me to”.

I have never made the argument that all Indians are racist or prejudice. I have many Indian relatives, and it would be stupid of me to carry forth such an argument. In adition, black people do not teach their kids to be racist. Regardless of our views on religion, we tend to teach our kids to love their neighbours, and to accept people as one. You won’t hear black people threatening to kill their daughters if they date or fall in love with a person of a different race. We know where those comments from.

The PPP, from the time it came into office, proceeded to replace black career public servants with incompetent party affiliates who are Indians. A black woman who was the second in command at Customs, and who had been on that job for 30 years, was experienced, and had been acting in the capacity as the head of that agency was passed over for an Indian ex army officer with no custom experience. How the hell is that not racist?

Look at who are the drug Lords that the US is trying to extradite. One of them was caught bringing arms and ammunition into Guyana from Florida and nothing came of the case. Roger Khan who has now pled guilty to more than a dozen charges of trafficking was given carte blanche to carry on his criminal enterprise in Guyana, while he led a gang of vigilantes torturing and killing young black men. And they wrote letters in the newspapers calling him a hero. Give me a break!!!

17. JC // April 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm

That is why I liked the team of Ms. McClean, the lady from immigration (I think Farmer)and the Permanent Secretary Mrs. Williams they were excellent

whoa. nice try in defending that poor excuse for a politician Mclean. She only vex cuz a guyanese woman carry way she bajan man . Oh good lord . Try as you may it will never stop.

18. @ Ruel Daniels // April 18, 2009 at 1:13 pm

You know how much underhanded things go about around Barbados without being revealed, only under the disguise of protecting tourism.
    Wunna think this place is crime free. A lotthat happens in BGI the media houses dare not reveal’.
    All indians are not racist. I am an indian with the track record of only being involved with a black man. I love a black man more than anything in this world, I do hate the PNC for the misguided issues and voilent acts in their terms of service but there is nothing better than sleeping with a good black man! If so be the case then why so many black bajns marry indo-guyanese. This is a problem that will nevergo away cuz the indians that come here eventually marry a black man, so I am saying that to say that we can’t be all that racial.

19. Listen to me I do not want to know ONE F##* about Ms. McClean’s love life, I am interested in what I saw when she was in charge of Immigration.

That is what Guyanese do best brag about carrying away bajan men.

Has Ms. McClean dead cause the man gone long.

Wannah Guyanese got this thing wrong we bajan women love our men and yes like any other woman we feel like scum when they leave us but you mena you are going to come on his blog and BRAG!

Oh how I pity wannah asses!!!!

20. I am soooooo glad that my world doesn’t CENTER around a MAN wannah so fuc**** stupid…..

Imagine, in your country you all would sell wannah children like the GT woman in Ellerton who let her daughter sleep with her man in order to then tell the judge that she cant trust the man at home with her daughter and the Judge (another man of course) up and say the man would have to leave his house. LMAO!

Or perhaps you are like that GT Woman which at this very point in time has a lawyer representing her in taking away an old man’s home who she put in the The St. Michael District Hospital after she live with him (he and his dead assssss dick) and now that blasted old fool like he gonna dead before the case is settled and she already move in her children and family and she got a police man oh lord (another bajan man).

Or perhaps lets talk about the Guyanese man who molested a physically challenged young boy.

NOT ONE THING I HAVE MENTIONED IS A LIE NOT ONE

And then you talk bout the Indo Guyanese STUPSE!

You all so stupiddddddd!

21. JC

Forget that jackass posting as Concerned.

What he said about Maxine Mcclean is a big lie.

Never happened.

The truth is Faria and all the guyanese coolies frighten like hell for maxine mcclean.

I wish she was prime minister,you dunno?

Negroman says something is happening and will be revealed soon.

22. All wunna rassh**le stupid. Maxine Mclean attitude to her professional life has a lot to do with her personal and I truly see Mia motley being PM before her. She is a logical example of insucure women. That will never change.
    FYI guyanese women center focus is not on men, infact it is quite the opposite.

23. Wunna bragging like bajan men don’t molest lil boys too. Barbados is the gay capital of the caribbean.

24. Wow look concerned learn a bajan curse word LOL ha ha ha lol

You all are despicable ha ha

what other ones did you learn.

Wait I was doing some research is it not true that there is an indian religion in which men are allowed to have sex with other men! This research has me CONCERNED

pun intended!

ha ha lol

25. All races in question has a choice of sexual orientation. Unfortunately all foreignors as you refer them as, come to Barbados to be more open. This is where all homosexuals can be liberal. cased closed.

26. The concerns of Barbados citizens with regard to immigration illegal and otherwise should never be reduced to ” tittle tattle” and innuendo about decent upstanding representatives of the people of Barbados, for to do so shows no comprehension of what this serious debate is about.

Our forefathers have invested too much in blood sweat and tears for us to casually throw it all away, they suffered a lot so we can enjoy the little we have, it is for us to protect it for our children.

To those who seek to swim in the fetid waters of name calling…to which they are accustomed, do enjoy yourselves in those canals we will stick to the facts of the situation.

27. Sorry Yardbroom I was more CONCERNED (at that point in time) in getting a good laugh!

LOL!

Please excuse me!

28. If the above post (Bajan Born) is indeed Faria, he cannot be taken as a serious cmmentator.
    That contribution is more like “rum shop talk”.

In my opinion, he shouldn’t be given a column to himself. For me, any submission, hencforth, from him lacks credibility and truth.
    He is just a propaganda machine for his ruling party in Guyana.

29. Concerned @18th April,

You said that Ms McClean is “insecure?”.

Doth thou know of what thou speakest?

Take off the political glasses.

30. Facts – // April 18, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Concerned @18th April,

You said that Ms McClean is “insecure?”.

Doth thou know of what thou speakest?

Take off the political glasses.

31. @ yardbroom

Your name suit you.
    Before Barbados was what is it is today it was a yard, sorry you were not around to sweep.
    When bajans flee to america, canada and england it is okay because these nations don’t have anything to protect, right-according to you.(A**)
    Shut up and sweep yardbroom. When Barbados was a struggling nation you know how many bajans went to Guyana seeking jobs and ironically they were never treated badly.

32. @Concern

Your has been dismissed several times. You obviously have not read the blog. Deal with the issues and forget the personal attacks.

33. @Concern

Your has been dismissed several times. You obviously have not read the blog.

34. @ concerned
    I have read your comments.
    Yardbroom

35. Yeah Yeah.. Welcome back Yard Broom and the Bushman, but my God wanna come back simple enough.

Indians think that Blacks are lazy, but Whites think that Blacks are plain simple. Just point them in a direction and they would continue down the path like “good Christians”, or good “Democrats” or good “racists”.

For Yard Broom to assume that all or even most Indians are Hindu is just plain asinine.

A Black politician in Trinidad spent 1.5 BILLION on staging this Summit of Americas talk shop. 1.5 BILLION…! How many heads signed on o the commitment at the end?

I wid Concerned on this one. And to compare Peter Wickham to Hilarious Beckles?

36. And yes Ruel Daniels as long as Blacks continue to remain simple, no ‘base’, they will continue to be inferior. I am still convinced that David BU is White and he is LTHBB (Laughing Till He Belly Bus’) at wunna.

37. @ BAFBFP April 20,2009 at 4:14am

Peter Wickham wrote:
    ” My thesis is not that there is no discrimination, but that discrimination is not caused by the mere presence of large numbers of Indos and moreover that Indos are not genetically or culturally inclined to discriminate because of their Hindu beliefs.”

You see BAFBFP I addressed the “specific” words used by Peter Wickham so that nothing was left to conjecture, a wise principle on a public forum. I am fully aware that all Indians are not Hindus.

May I also add you comments are not “just plain asinine” the compliment you paid me…it is only that you just failed to pay attention to detail…which is sometimes useful when intellectual acumen is judged.

38. “your comments”

39. The problem is not the Guyanese but Thompson and the DLP. This is a distraction tactic.

Did the Guyanese mismanaged the economy or increase the price of diesel by 77%?

Did they fired your friends and family from the public service?

Are they the ones responsible for a doubling of the cost of living.

Focus people!!!!

This is one of the isssues:

Prime Minister Thompson told overseas Barbadians living in Canada, that former government officials “stashed millions in foreign bank accounts.”

After the silliness and untrustworthiness of Mr. Thompson comments were pointed out, his $156,000 paid principle political adviser wrote in the Advocate of September 25, 2008: “Prime Minister Thompson will probably never trace a cent of this to any personal bank account.” Why, did you steal it?

First point: Mr. Thompson’s comments were supposed to down play the report from Transparency International that for 14 years under the BLP, Barbados was the least corrupt country in the Caribbean.

It took a mere nine month for the DLP to change that. Perhaps Hartley Henry can explain why.

Second point: Contrary to the impression given by Mr. Thompson, once he has evidence that there has been a breach of any law of this country, it is easy for him to gain access to those persons’ bank accounts.

Third point: The agreement reached between offshore financial services centres and the OECD was that while we could charge “low” tax rates, we had to agree to mutual information sharing under certain conditions. One such being, criminal investigations.

Fourth point: Even the Swiss, where foreign accounts were traditionally said to be held – have to abide by the erosion of bank secrecy laws even though still on the black list.

Therefore, contrary to what was said by David Thompson – if there is any evidence of wrongdoing against a person with a foreign bank account, the obstacles to looking into that bank account is far lower today than before.

Fifth point: All of the UN Conventions against corruption, not only speak to politicians but also politically exposed persons. No one can hide.

Sixth point: Barbados has mutual legal assistance legislation and is party to mutual legal assistance treaties with US, Canada; the Commonwealth and our major trading partners. Again, if there even the slightest evidence of wrongdoings – through it central authority – the government of Barbados can request legal assistance from any of those countries.

Seventh point: In today’s sophisticated financial markets, the movement of every penny the PM alleges is stashed in account abroad can be traced. The local police are often called upon to assist foreign authorities in cases similar to what is alleged by Thompson.

Eighth point: To talk about fraud and corruptions and then try to give the impression that there is nothing government can do is ridiculous.

It is well within the technical capacity of the local Police Force to investigate such matters as they have done in the past.

Ninth point: Canada is one of our leading trading partners in the offshore financial services sector, from which we source million in foreign exchange. Barbados enjoys an outstanding reputation in that domicile.

Thompson’s comments therefore run the risk of doing serious damage to this country’s good name and image there, and in circumstances where he has a duty to protect Barbados’ good name.

Tenth point: There is evidence that the tender price at the RDC has doubled, yet Mr. Thompson has done nothing to address that situation.

Twelfth point: Instead of protecting the interest of Barbadians in these challenging times, Prime Minister Thompson opts to use distraction tactic so that people would not focus on the high cost of living

Thirteenth point: Prime Minister Thompson is yet to disclose his assets even though he does not need legislation to do so.

Fourteenth point: The DLP gave the impression that its members had signed on to some integrity – code of conduct, but to date, that Party, which promised freedom of information and that it will not keep any secrets for the people – is yet to make the contents of that secret code of conduct, public.

Fifteenth point: The DLP is not doing anything to address the cost of living; or help Barbadians pay their mortgage and protect their jobs.

Sixteenth point: Barbadians are not foolish. We are interested in how this government will advance our welfare. We are not interested in salacious gossip. We voted for change.

Seventeenth point: The DLP does not need legislation for its members to declare their assets as promised.

It does no need legislation for it to release unemployment and cost of living figures.

Eighteenth point: Mr. Thompson investigated Hardwood and the UDC.

He must also launch the appropriate investigation so that Barbadians will know who are the person/s and agencies involved in stashing those millions in foreign accounts.

40. You really need to stop being so political and be realistic.

Wasn’t it Owen see thru arthur who wanted to change the political voting pattern as well as the demographics of Barbados.

I cant stand frauds when either party do shite we should forget about political affiliation and say

WANNAH DOING SHITE!

I am sick and tired is assssssss of WIV and DK 2 c***s!

41. @ Anonymous:

What do you mean by: “change the political voting pattern as well as the demographics of Barbados?”

You mean realigning of boundaries (as the law provides) to ensure each constituency are equally sizes in terms of the number of constituents to be served?

Or, are you confused about who wants to introduce overseas voting?

Wasn’t that why Peter Wickham submitted an Invoice for $10,000 to make recommendation to the EBC on how people living overseas could stay there and vote in Barbados’ elections?

I am serious, I really do not know what you mean!!!

42. Dark Knight
    Why are you trying to change the course of this discussion.Do not come with diversionary tactics.We are discussing the implications of a demographic shift as a result of a large influx of other races into a predominantly black country.

It is the inept,corrupt,wicked Barbados Labour Party last administration headed by the drunkard Owen Arthur that has Barbados in this predicament with a very large illegal immigrant population headed mostly by the Indo-Guyanese hum bugs & degenerates.This government is trying its best and we will continue to pressurize this government to do the right thing on this immigration issue and we will not let up until this issue is brought under control

Dark Knight go and look for the light of day.The Democratic Labour Party is in power and it is a government that has to listen to people and it must respond to the wishes of the people and one of those wishes is to rid this country of illegal immigrants especially the Indo-Guyanese human waste

43. Oh my Lord! Caricom has just spoken as one voice through the mouth of Patrick Manning. Most of the PMS seek to speak in similar tones about solutions for CLICO and our P.M talked about a regional approach on that matter. Lord, why not a regional and Caricom approach to immigration within Caricom. This surely stinks on ice. We need to get back to the intents of the original treaty of Chagauramas remember Burnham, Barrow, Williams and the others at the time. Are we still one region one people one Caribbean and one destiny. We expect Obama to do for us what we have difficulty in getting done.

44. Imagine, the DLP say that Thompson and the American President have things in common. The majority of Barbadians disagree!!!

In Barbados, the DLP is rounding up and deporting CARICOMnationals, whereas in the US, President Obama is talking about immigration reform or making over 12 million persons legal.

Had it not post the above, the debate would still be consistent with trademark DLP standards – poor rakey.

45. I meant – “Had I”

46. If the DLP is rounding up and deporting CARICOMnationals, THEY ARE RIGHT! If the nationals are here illegally the DLP BLP or any P has the right to do thier jobs.

Do you think that you can go in the other CARICOM states as you like? Do you think that you can get a work permit in other CARICOM states as you like?

That President Obama is talking about immigration reform or making over 12 million persons legal is BARE NONSENSE. It will come back to haunt him.

47. Oh Dear Mr. Broom,

If you were aware that there are Muslim and Christian Indians in very large proportions in Guyana this would have been the perfect opportunity to show a flaw a Peter’s reasoning. But to not have pointed this out; instead you use it as the main pillar in building a racist argument. Details? Man you are too close to the trees..!

48. Then do you see a differnece in Immigration Policy?

It was the DLP that said that Thompson is like President Obama.

The Barbados government is even paying $155,000 to someone to manufacture similarities between Thompson and President Obama.

Fortunately, most Barbadians have been saying all along that President Obama is bright.

One thing about my arguments, they can withstand scruting…

49. Dark Knight
    1- I dont think that either Thompson or Obama are smart.
    2- I believe that both Thompson and Obama are puppets.
    3- At the same time I ran away from my homeland Barbados because the BLP Government severely restricted by opportunities to work in Barbados.
    4- I also suffered at the hands of Thompson years ago.

50. I am sorry to hear that: 3 and 4 of yours above.