wanted_posterBarbados authorities continue to brace for the fallout from the vicious attack on two Canadian visitors which has resulted in one death. Up until now Barbados had managed to remain relatively unscathed from major negative incidents which involved tourists.

For many years the cracks had started to appear but Barbadians appear to believe that Barbados is a blessed country and God would protect us. What has now become obviously apparent is that the pristine image sold of Barbados as an island paradise has been besmirched. While it is true that as a country we should be concerned with protecting all citizens, the ramifications of the Terry Schwarzfeld incident will reverberate around the world whether we like it or not.  Long gone are the days when our local media would hide news and hope to ride out negative incidents. This is the Information Age and news today can reach any corner of the globe in an instant.

What the local authorities and media need to prioritize is a strategy to fight against the negative forces which are trying to take over our country. When all is said and done we are only 166 square miles for Godsake! If adequate resources were targeted at solutions to security concerns in Barbados and specifically targeted at the tourist belt five years ago, we would have been ahead of the game. Now Barbados has the distinction of being categorized with Antigua, Tobago, St. Lucia, Aruba and other Caribbean destinations where vicious attacks on tourists have resulted in the most tragic of occurrences.

Barbadians to a child know that tourism is our business and contributes significantly to the Gross Domestic Product. The fact that we can all agree that the incident at Long Beach is a isolated act, all the indicators point to a deterioration in hard crime on the island. We have been observing the deterioration in civil society whether we view it on our roads by private and PSV drivers alike, in our schools with the many instances of student resistance to authority, from our officials who perform for money only and not for love of vocation, the attitude that to deliver service is not cool …

Lastly, our officials believe that we can open our borders and let all characters enter. While we beat our chests that we are meeting our regional and international obligations to facilitate freedom of movement, we do so with a deficient immigration framework which has shown itself to be woefully inadequate. Commonsense tells us that we will have some more challenges down the road regarding some of the unsavoury characters entering Barbados under CariPASS.

Even so, Barbados in relative terms continues to perform well, however we must caution our officials that old approaches to managing the tourism sector will not work. Although we applaud the current Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy for taking the bold step to restructure the Barbados Tourism Authority Board, what purpose will it serve if we have a tarnished brand to sell?

In light of the significant contribution of tourism to the national coffers we wonder why this would not be demonstrated in a serious reward being offered for the capture of the vagabond(s) who murdered the Canadian tourist? We find the current reward of $20, 000 dollars to be insulting when matched against the weight of the crime and the significance of the tourist industry to Barbados. Would it not demonstrate to Barbadians and the others observing from outside that the Barbados government and the other stakeholders view this as an opportunity to demonstrate the seriousness of this matter?

Let us hypothesize if a $100, 000 reward was offered for evidence leading to the arrest of the perpetrator of the crime at Long Beach. It is only then that we would feel that we are serious.

1. When your Government keeps trumpeting that Tourism IS the Economy peopIe wiII eventuaIIy see tourists themseIves as the main revenue source, THE commodity. You are expected to be nice to these hordes that overrun your country bringing with them behaviour that disrupts your society, their money, attitudes etc. even if they dont mean to, their money making peopIe feeI poor. So why not expIoit these peopIe? Rip them off, bang them on the head as they have a stroII on the beach. If you teII peopIe that foreigners are their source of income they wiII treat foreigners as such. Its a case of kiIIing the goose that Iays the goIden egg but the situation shouId have not been aIIowed to deveIop in the first pIace. Condos, Iand grabs, marinas and uncontroIIed cheap immigrant Iabour cannot be sustained without ruining the structure of a society which was once regarded worIdwide with such high esteem, in a tiny country with such a smaII popuIation. In an ideaI worId tourism woud be restrained, buiIding wouId be curtaiIed and immigration wouId be strictIy controIIed …and then you wouId have Cuba! UnfortunateIy it is too Iate for Barbados to do that as it has been corrupted by the intoxicating scent of easy money.

2. Whom ever you are Victor, I have to agree with you on many of your opinions.

Shame Shame.

Imagine, some of these people who have been here illegally, have been told to leave the country; or have been recommended to the Permanent Secretary to leave the country, however, this NEVER happens, persons have the Permanent Secretary’s number and call and ask for an extension.

UNFAIR UNFAIR!

How can I a bajan go in someone’s country be it St. Vincent, Tobago, Jamaica or any other country for that matter be able to call a Permanent Secretary to remain in the country and he gives his consent pleaseeeeee this is a total disgrace, and then they claim that we are the no. 1 developing country.

DISGRACE DISGRACE DISGRACE.

Persons who are ‘high up’ in the Government have a lot of illegal immigrants working for them and can decide to ask a favour. Yet the politicians ask us a favour when they ask for our vote.

Persons have these non nationals working two jobs at a time. Sometimes they take care of thier employer’s children and then work with them as well doing two jobs instead of one.

THAT IS SLAVERY AND WRONG…….

If tourism is our bread an basket we should have treated all persons on this small rock better; instead of selling our country left right and centre firstly to those persons on the West Coast and then working permits to the illegal immigrants.

DISGUSTING DISGUSTING..

Wah after all we are only 166 sq miles.

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Barbados’ pristine image was/is largely a domestic myth. Many Bajans overseas were/are concerned about stories they heard/hear of crimes, even if not reported in mainstream media. High levels of crime against visitors is/was known within the industry and amongst tourists, even when not reported by the mainstream media. Both sets of stories circulate/circulated widely. Now there is some media acknowledgement. But many visitors (nationals and foreigners) come to Barbados already wary of at least crimes against property and persons. They fear both.

Many locals and visitors see little evidence that the police have an interest in dealing with crime or criminals, not least due to an obvious tolerance of clear wrong doing. If my five year old can see and understand ‘crimes’ that go on near her school, why cannot a law enforcement officer. She knows about those “funny smelling” cigarettes the men are smoking on the street corners.

Acquaintances (Caribbeans and North Americans) who come to live here quickly search out security firms and measures to protect themselves, but even that does little to allay fears, and certainly does not stop attempted crimes. Locals say “get yourself a big dog”, implying that they are aware of criminals in their vicinity, whether they exploit opportunities or plan crimes carefully.

The negative impact on tourism may not be rapid, and is not under the control of Bajans. But once it gets rolling, it’s a wave that is hard to turn back, except by putting tourists in separate areas. That method is already well known and widely practised: see gated communities, and enclave all-inclusive resorts.

There are crimes of commission and crimes of omission.

4. @livinginbarbados

Agree with much of what you wrote and it is why we wrote in comparative terms. Hopefully now that the BTA board is split to focus on marketing and product we will see more inter-agency collaboration to ensure the product (Barbados) is well served.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

livinginbarbados

Give us Bajans a break.

You are from a country where a Jamaica Minister once said that Jamaicans are the most wicked people on earth. You are from a Country where gunmen surrounded a house with the occupants inside, set it on fire and and shot dead everyone who attempted to flee the fire with the result that every one was consumed either by fire or gunshot. You are from a country where as people lay dying from a traffic accident there were being robbed by onlookers at the scene.

Please, save your advice for Jamaica they need it more. Heaven knows that.

This is part of our problem people who hate us walking into our country and applauding every dastardly act being committed.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

livinginbarbados

BTW The police force here are far more humane than the Jamaica constabulary and far more efficient.

The Jamaica constabulary could not even get it right with the death of Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer who died during World Cup Cricket in 2007.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

You can disagree with LivinginBarbados, don’t feel duty bound to agree with every thing he writes, a lot of what he writes makes no sense at all!

8. @CCC

Thanks for giving permission for us to disagree: – )

We often disagree with livinginbarbados and this is good it means we are doing something right. Sometimes the best feedback is that which comes from not from among us. Wasn’t there a time when Jamaica had a reputation equal or better to what we have in Barbados?

9. livinginbarbados // March 23, 2009 at 6:44 am
    ………………………………………………
    There is crime everywhere and Barbados has its share. The police in Barbados are relatively efficient. They can do better but next to cops in Trinidad and Jamaica, they are dynamic sleuths.

Barbados solves bulk of its crimes. Does Jamaica solve any of theirs? The incompetence in the Bob Woolmer case was alarming.

Jamica’s crime is pervasive and intractable. Not so in Barbados. Barbados safety reputation is not a myth. The reported cases of crime support the reputation. Bajans dont list crime as their main worry as Jamaicans and Trinidadians do.

However Barbados has to remain vigilant and safeguard its citizens and visitors. The death of the Canadian woman was dastardly and wicked and against the run of play.

Her attacker has to be caught and brought to justice asap.

10. Anonymous
    I agreed.It is a disgrace what Gilbert Greaves Permanent Secretary,Defence & Security is doing.It is a total disgrace that our immigration,police & custom officers are trying to enforce our local laws and Gilbert Greaves is overturning almost every decision taken by those officers.
    I agreed he is a national disgrace.

I cannot understand why we are so backward in our thinking & behavior in this the twenty first century.
    Why should a bounty of $20,000.00 be awarded for information leading to arrest of the culprit that carried out the crime against those white tourist at Long beach Christ Church
    How about a bounty for the number of unsolved murders of Black Barbadians over the years.In Barbados White People life is more important than Black People life.We must weep and be sorrowful when a white person’s life is lost in tragic circumstances but we do not show that same compassion when Black People life is lost.

I do not want to hear about the economic fallout that occur because that person was a guest of Barbados and it could have economic implications for the country.Unchecked criminal activity in the island could also have economic implications.I do not want to hear that bull shit.

The lost of human life should be treated with same sorrow regardless of the individual’s ethnicity.Do not value a particular ethnic group life as more important than other ethnic groups life.

The bleeding hearts on this blog including David should offer condolences to all those who have lost love ones in horrible circumstances .

11. ha ha ha ha CcC ease up pun living in Barbados. I do understand how his “tone” actually his writing style can rub some the wrong way. He does have a lot to say and we should find the willingness to read his comments, though difficult such may be. What i have done, to allow me some ease with reading his bajan experience, is to remain focus on the fact that he is Jamaican, and believing that there is more tolerance amongst bajan for him than can be found in Jamaica.

….I was reading de udder day dat a guy faked being a policeman for six months. He had a police uniform, and sevice weapon and all.

@ all
    concern about interntional fall-out from the unfortunate death of a Canadian guest/tourist to our Island, is not new. We go through such worry and concern everytime there is such an incident in the Caribbean, and while such worry and concern can have a positive effect of having more of us redouble our efforts thereby keeping such incidents to a minimum, we must also be mindfull that this is not the first incident of violence againts a visitor, in Barbados and the caribbean for that matter.
    So what has been the impact to a country’s tourism sector after such an incident? Lets look at Aruba after the disapperance and death of Natalee Holloway, in 2005. This incident dominated American news and by extention international news in a way and probably would be for a much longer time than the recent murder in Barbados can our would ever be able to achieve. Is Aruba suffering significant fallout? What about Tobago and the murder of a Swedish couple? are they no tourist in Tobago today? are they shutting shop as a result of it?

I do not intend to make light of this sad incident, but this will not have the effect that some are at this point imagining.

12. @Negroman

Another label to add to the list, bleeding heart?

@Adrian H

Here is the problem we have with your argument.

The incidents you cited occurred when world economies were buoyant.

The fallout because of a tarnished brand has greater implications in a recessionary environment.

You agree that the incident has caused Barbados to refocus effort on security and related concerns.

Benchmarking the Barbados situation to Jamaica, Aruba, Tobago is comforting but should not be used as a case of bringing leadership to the matter.

13. Negroman……continue to keep it real. What we have here are the affects of mental slavery and indoctrination where the life of one white person is valued high above the life of a black person. The #1 Sector in Barbados should be the people of Barbados. Negative forces are not trying to take over the country. It has already been taken over. From the time we were shackled hand and feet and brought from the womb of our mother under duress, we were and are ruled by negative forces. So if you think that November 30, 1966 really has any significant meaning for Black Bajans, think again. An independent people does not have to wait hand and foot on the crumbs that fall from the table of the oppressor. A free people don’t live in fear, so let the damn chips fall where they may. And since Necessity is the Mother of Invention, like a Phoenix rising out of the ashes Bajans too will tap into that genius DNA that has been dormant for too damn long. Reject the devil’s philosophy.

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Taking the comments that come in the sense of ‘let’s not hear it from a foreigner’ in their context. Don’t listen to me, just talk to people who come here and hear their concerns.

Yesterday’s Brass Tacks was interesting in that both the Ministry of Tourism and BTA preferred not to appear because they felt it was important to ‘manage the message’ carefully. Read into that what you will. The problem is that they had not input to the messages, which were broadcast worldwide.

Head in the sand, is head in the sand.

Tobago is suffering badly from the fall out of crimes in Trinidad. Jamaica’s tourism had to be ‘saved’ by putting tourists into enclaves. Similar trends in Bahamas. British visitors to Barbados of several years have mentioned the tendency to whisk them to the resort and keep them there, so that they do not have to deal with locals.

I am not judging tourism or the country, merely observing.

Those who want to claim efficiency can site the figures on crimes solved and convinctions.

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

…’cite’… not ‘site’

16. @David
    Benchmarking the Barbados situation to Jamaica, Aruba, Tobago is comforting but should not be used as a case of bringing leadership to the matter.
    ===========================
    Not benchmarking Barbados to other islands at all. If i was to do that, it would be to benchmark Barbados response to such incidents with similar approaches in those countries mentioned. I have not done so. What I could be accused of benchmarking by my previous comments is the likely response of future Holiday makers on learning about this incident. Do you know that tourist arrivals in Iraq are up? Barbados as a high price destination with limited airlift can have more of a devastating impact than Mrs Swartzfield’s murder can, and yet we have had a tourism product of note with the two afore mention constraints in place for many a decade.

17. Do you know that tourist arrivals in Iraq are up?
    ……………………………………….
    lol

18. Yesterday evening, at a well-known restaurant/bar on the beach in holetown, a young man was making spliffs whilst sitting by the bar, and selling them to the group of his tourist “friends”. He wasn’t even on the beach, but in the bar itself. Recently, after an overnight robbery in a store at Quayside Centre, the police “CSI” (acronym for “Can’t See It”) refused to take fingerprints that were jumping out of the woodwork, with the excuse that “I can’t get a print from that”. The robbery was so obviously an inside job involving security, but has there been any progress? No. Aquaintances of mine who run the store are more than frustrated. As part of the stimulous package, we need more and better paid policemen.

19. […] Tourism Authority Board, what purpose will it serve if we have a tarnished brand to sell?”: Barbados Underground is concerned about the future of the island's tourism sector. Cancel this […]

20. Part of the problem is we have no effective deterent to crime, a crime is commited and when/if the criminals are caught they are sent to jail and eventually out to do the same, we have signed on to every treaty and bill of rights for the criminal that we will just be “spinning top in mud” most of our lawyers and ministers are members of amnesty international anyway so what more do we expect. Plus, can we effective track our caribbean brothers who come in to commit crimes and leave? We are just wasting time, this is a time bomb waiting to explode. Barbados is being dragged down and alot of people are not seeing it. We must judge it by how we treat our people and visitors and not my how many fetes and shows we have.

Until……

21. Arrivals in Afghanistan up too, and nuff green gettin’ spen’ but the tourises wearing camouflage…

AAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

22. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@CCC
    It’s good to hold down jobs for 40 years and fool people with nonsense!
    @Adrian Hinds
    Thanks for your kind support 🙂

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Adrian Hinds
    Accepting that there may not be a straight cause and effect.

For Aruba, tourism receipts, which account for 80 percent of export revenues, declined by 2 percent in 2006 as tourist arrivals fell. Part of that might have reflected the negative publicity. There was a rebound in 2007/8, but general economic conditions were more favourable.

So, Barbados may suffer an initial drop off due to negative publicity/wider concerns about safety. Whether there is a rebound or no drop off depends on what tourist really experience and feel.

The blogs play a mixed role. By being frank they expose but also frighten some people, especially if they do not know or understand the local context. I can cite specific stories on BU and BFP that have had that result.

Benchmarking does little to allay fears. Tourists (especially North Americans) react quickly and negatively when they hear that risks are high, irrespective of what is done. The sight of armed police at Long Beach, while meant to assure perhaps, could have the opposite effect, as people now think things are really out of control.

24. @livinginbarbados

Which blogs posted on BU would have scared visitors away and what measurement would you have used.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re “The Jamaica constabulary could not even get it right with the death of Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer who died during World Cup Cricket in 2007.”

and

“The incompetence in the Bob Woolmer case was alarming.”
    ————————————————–
    How was this so? It was eventually determined that Bob Woolmer was NOT in fact murdered, and died because of a complication of his diabetes.

Following the stress of the defeat to the Irish, it should have been obvious that high catecholamine levels stimulated a pathologic process that resulted in. diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) in Mr Wolmer as it is is well known that DKA can be triggered by severe physical stress, as Wolmer undoubtedly experienced on that day.

DKA is commonly precipitated not only by a lapse in insulin treatment but more often by an acute infection, trauma, or infarction that makes usual insulin treatment inadequate.

As the blood becomes more acidic, ketoacidosis can cause falling blood pressure, coma and death.

Major components of the pathogenesis of diabetic ketoacidosis are
    1- reductions in effective concentrations of circulating insulin and
    2-concomitant elevations of counterregulatory hormones (catecholamines, glucagon, growth hormone and cortisol).

Many of the pathological changes seen in DKA are less the result of an absolute lack of insulin, as they are the result of an alteration in the balance of insulin and the other counter-regulatory enzymes.

The Jamaican constabulary could not have been expected to know the facts above, no more than the commenters on this blog. The incompetence in the Bob Woolmer case was no more alarming than occurs in Barbados.

Clearly the persons who commented above have never been present at any crime scene with the top officials of the RBPF as I did for over 14years.

The problem with the Bob Wolmer investigation was that the international press were looking for some “hype” and “fowl play”, and pressure was brought to bear on the local officials, who even called in Scotland Yard.

Consequently, the blood chemistry results submitted by the Antiguan Fitzmore Coates, who has spent his whole life in Chemistry were ignored.

From the time I heard that there were no toxins in the blood or any marks on Wolmer’s body to suggest trauma, my diagnosis was DKA secondary to a myocardial infarction secondary to increased counter-regulatory enzymes resulting from the severe stress encountered by the coach that day.

After many weeks of “go-ing and fro-ing, ” I was not surprised to hear that Bob Wolmer died of “natural causes.”

The uneducated commenters on this blog are in no position to criticize the Jamaican constabulary for incompetence in the Bob Woolmer case, as there was none!

26. cocktail peanuts Avatar
    cocktail peanuts

Georgie Porgie // March 23, 2009 at 3:12 pm

——————————————-
    Trust you to talk rubbish cloaked in medical hogwash.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Why am I not surprised at your comment? It is easy to bash others who we hae or do not know, and hard to give praise where praise is due.

The details in my hogwash is the hogwash that you hope your doctor will share with you when you and your relatives are sick.

If you did not understand what I wrote, you can use a book called a DICTIONARY to look up the words, or Google to corroborate what I said.

The details of my hogwash is exactly what causes the death of many diabetics in Barbados and around the world daily. My hogwash is designed to enlighten and educate- but I cant spoon feed you with respect to vocabulary.

FYI, I followed the Bob Wolmer case in the International press daily. I read all the hype and waited patiently for them to declare the obvious; that Wolmer had died of natural causes due to his diabetes.

I am sorry that you dont understand my hogwash Sir, but what I have said is sound doctrine that cannot be refuted.

Its sad that you can only in your obvious ignorance make such a silly statement. Your ad hominem attack can not detract from my knowledge or scholarship, however.

I am sure, that David would have learned from my essay, and would appreciate the standard of information I deliver to the forum. When professionals like me post on BU, we bring a level of expertise that is rarely seen in our daily press.

I repeat, it is unfair to blame the Jamaican constabulary in the investigation of Bob Wolmer’s death, since the Jamaican police could not discover that a crime was commited, because IN FACT, NO CRIME WAS COMMITTED. THE MAN DIED FROM NATURAL CAUSES.

What I found appalling was that the Chemical analysis of a graduate of the UWI in Chemistry, who has worked for over 30 years post graduation at his profession was doubted. Scotland Yard did not find his analysis wrong when they came.

28. Dr. Porgie you are to be commended by not using your trademark term ‘bovine excrement’, you must have studied Job recently?

: – )

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Sometimes clicking on to BU brings entertainment, but BU ought to be seen also as a source of SERIOUS INFORMATION. That being the case……….

Let me try to make things simple for those among us who think it hard to work on their vocabulary, because this issue about this important complication of diabetes must be grasped by the BU family, as it may lead some of you laymen to intervene sooner rather than later, and possibly help save the life of a friend or relative..

Stress results in the body producing chemicals in glands above the kidneys called the supra renal or adrenal glands called catecholamines ( i.e adrenalin and noradrenalin OR epinephrine and norepinephrine according to which side of the Atlantic you live.)

Adrenalin and noradrenalin will among other things directly INCREASE HEART RATE.

Always remember this. DIABETES MAKES EVERY CONDITION YOU HAVE WORSE and EVERY CONDITION YOU HAVE, CAN MAKE DIABETES WORSE.

It is therefore expected, and it does happen, that uncontrolled diabetes due to stress can easily lead to heart attacks in diabetes, as the high levels of catecholamines will affect heart rate. It will also cause a rise in sugar levels in the body by stimulating the liver to make glucose from protein or other precursors in the body (gluconeogenesis.).

So though stress will kill non diabetics, it will kill DIABETICS faster.

Diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) is a complication of diabetes and an emergency that sends diabetics to hospital on a regular basis. It is perhaps the commonest thing that sends diabetic diabetics to hospital.

It can be brought on even though you have been taking your diabetic medication and following your diet rigidly.

An acute infection such as the flu, or something as simple as a stick while gardening or a stone bruise can cause a diabetic to spiral out of control and skid into hospital in DKA coma and at death’s door.

It can also be brought on by an acutely stressful event.

How can this be called hogwash, when this can happen to your friend or relative anytime?

Many of the pathological changes seen in DKA are less the result of an absolute lack of insulin, as they are the result of an alteration in the balance of insulin and the other counter-regulatory hormones.

In other words whereas insulin works by controlling high levels of sugar in the blood by lowering blood sugar levels, the counter-regulatory hormones have the important role of automatically raising the blood sugar levels when needed, so that a balance can be maintained. So whereas high sugar levels can cause coma, and death; low levels can also cause coma and death.

The hormone, insulin on one side and the counter-regulatory hormones on the other keeps everything in balance.

Anything that affects the levels of either one or the other can spell disaster for the diabetic- irregardless to how well they are controlled at any point in time.

How can this be called hogwash, when this can happen to your friend or relative anytime?

Ordinary policemen cannot be expected to know or understand the ramifications of the Chemical Pathology of Diabetes. So because some one on the blog hates Jamaicans, or don’t think that Jamaicans should live in Barbados, or opine on BU, or believe that Jamaicans are dirt, does not entitled them to engage in criticizing the Jamaican constabulary for incompetence in the Bob Woolmer case, as there was none!

Bob Woolmer most likely died from a myocardial infarction or heart attack due to increased counter-regulatory enzymes resulting from the severe stress he encountered by the defeat of his team by the lowly Irish that day.

Because the international press chose to beat up on the Jamaican constabulary does not mean that commenters on BU who are ignorant of what transpired should follow suit. It is not fair.

That same scenario might well have happened in Barbados, in March 1981 the night Ken Barrington died from a heart attack, after witnessing the over to Boycott from Holding and the over to Botham that day!

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Regardless to how you try to sugar coat it, the Jamaica police got Bob Woolmer’s death seriously wrong.

It was a huge embarassment to me as a West Indian. The eyes of the whole world was upon us and we showed them how incompetant we were.

Thanks to the J
    amaica police force.

31. Kudos to the Barbados Police Force for being so quick to make an arrest:

Mon, March 23, 2009
    Arrest in slaying of Canadian in Barbados

By BETH JOHNSTON, Sun Media 

Terry Schwarzfeld was attacked and beaten on a Barbados beach. The Ottawa woman died on March 18, about three weeks after the assault. (File photo)

Barbados police arrested a 24-year-old Barbadian man over the weekend and are expected to charge him with the attack that killed Terry Schwarzfeld.

Swartzfeld, 60, a beloved member of Ottawa’s Jewish community, died March 18 in Ottawa hospital. She never regained consciousness after she and her daughter-in-law, Guelph resident Luana Cotsman were beaten with a wooden plank and robbed on an isolated stretch of Barbados beach Feb. 28 – FULL ARTICLE

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Carson Cadogan

I am not sugar coating anything. I am explaining the Chemical Pathology of Mr Wolmer’s death. It was very clear to me from the beginning! But then I am trained!

Having studied with Fitzmore Coates at Cave Hill in 1971-74 at Cave Hill, I had total confidence in the chemical analysis that he did. I know him to be a dedicated chemist.

I prefer to go with Coates’ 38 years in Chemical Analysis and Training before what you are saying in your absolute ignorance, or listen to the foreign press, who are also basically forensic illiterates, just like you are. Ah lie?

I am as much a Bajan, and West Indian as you are, but unlike you, I am reporting not out of bias, but as a student of Medicine, Pathology and Biochemistry, subjects which are foreign to you.

I was never embarrassed by the Jamaican police in this case, as I was sure that they were correct from the beginning! And as they were proven to be by Scotland Yard. GIVE JACK HIS JACKET.

This is not DAN IS THE MAN IN THE VAN as you learned in Primary school! I happen to know that this is far out of your scope! You are out of your league here, lad.

Whereas you are of course entitled to your opinion, take a little time to learn something that goes on all around you everyday, about diabetic ketoacidosis.

You are completely out of your league here, sonny. Stick to commenting on prices in the supermarkets, and issues that you can handle.

I dont just opine out of the blue on BU. You will notice that I discuss only those areas where I have devoted a life time to study. And I am quiet on others.

I read and try to learn from those who know more than I do, about the many things about which I know little. I ask questions, and seek to learn.

Please indicate how the Jamaican police got Wolmer’s death wrong?

Give me forensic evidence.

Was he poisoned? If so, what was the toxin? What was its mechanism of action? At what receptor sites did it act? Did it affect oxidative phosphorylation or the electron transport system (chemiosmotic pathway)?

Was he beaten to death? If so, where was the Anatomical evidence as provided by autopsy? Such as Lacerations? Contusions? Penetrating injuries? Defence wounds? Abrasions?

Were there poisons in his gastric contents?

Was he shot? If so, where was the entrance and exit wound?

Was he strangled? Where were the ligature marks on his body, or the damage to his hyoid bone?

How many forensic scenes have you visited? What is your training or experience in forensic matters?

In the absence of any of the above appropriate forensic findings, and with the knowledge that Wolmer was a diabetic, my diagnosis is the most likely one.

Scotland Yard investigators came to the same opinion as the Jamaican forensic lab (who are not police, but chemists) PRIOR to the hype whipped up by the foreign press.

The same could have happened to us.
    Have you ever been on a crime scene with our local top Police, and seen them walking all over the area where one might expect to find evidence, as though they have not scene a police movie on tv? And I am speaking on before CSI days? Well I have! It always used to amaze me.

You see I had studied the text by one of the leading doctors and forensic pathologists who worked for Scotland Yard, because I was not prepared to be made to ever look like an ass, when I gave evidence for the Crown as I often did over a period of about 20 years.

When I went to Court I only gave the evidence that I could document, and never specualated or try to take sides one way or the other.

You can run up and bowl again, but you wont win this one! Carson, you are not debating with a parro in the local rum shop man.

Judge righteous judgement and not by the apeearance. How can you judge the Jamaican police with blatant ignorance of Forensic Medicine?

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“But then I am trained!”

Monkeys can be trained too, so what is that saying about you?

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

No Carson.

Rude boy!

I won a Barbados Exhibition and graduated from UWI Medical School, teach Biochemistry, Pathology Pharmacology to Medical Students, practiced Medicine over 30 years and worked with the local police on forensic matters and happen to know what I am talking about.

That is the training I am talking about, sonny.

Can you address those aspects of my discourse and CV and leave out the attempted low jab, or bouncer.

Address the Biochemical part of my post, and the Medicine and the Forensics, man. What I have taught you today about DKA might come in handy in saving the life of someone near and dear to you.

35. Geez CCC…..is that the best retort you can come up with???

Man just admit that GP got ya good and tek ya licks like a man nuh !!

36. Dr. Porgie,
    My dawlin, as usual , I’m impressed with your submissions. Can I be one of your ‘medical’ students pleezeeee?

Carson C
    Oh Carson, Carson, Carson. Don’t hate, just appreciate. Thank the good Doc for the info and move on nah. ‘Sus Christ.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bonny Peppa

I will let you be one of my medical students if you get permission from JC.

You see, you so hot and spicy,I fraid I might be tempted to put some horns in she, and that I might wind up pun dis forum like Ri Ri and Chris, or she might put some warm licks in you self.

I am sorry to get upset with Carson Cadogan, but I get angry with folk when I get the impression that they are not respecting our local expertise and think that the foreign press or folk out of the region always know better than we do.

That boy Coates was a good humble boy. He came to Bim in 71 with a CIDA scholarship, and a wicked evil man from the States who could not teach, fail the boy twice, in two sucessive years because he was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

This wicked teacher made a pass at a Grenadian class mate of ours at a party one weekend when he was drunk.

She came in the lab the following Monday morning and was telling the story to Coates, who is Antiguan. The man fail both of them for two sucessive years, cause he was ashamed. Luckily GP wasnt there, or he would of failed me too. The girl had to transfer out of the Natural Science Faculty eventually, and Coates had to run to Jamiaca to finish his first degree.

By that time his CIDA scholarship was expired. He wanted to do Medicine and would no doubt have made an excellent doctor. He stayed in Jamaica and worked for the Jamaican Chemical Labs. I have no doubt that this man’s work is good.

I was very proud to hear that it was his work that stood up to the test when Scotaland Yard came down to investigate.

A lot of good dedicated students went through UWI in the 70’s, and do the region proud today. I dont tolerate no foreign press talking bovine excrement about the work of some of these folk, who have already been unfairly and harshly treated by these foreign people already.

The teacher from the USA that failed my colleagues taught 2/3rds of the Chemistry course and was real, real lousy. He had no right to hurt these young folk.

There was another bastard from Bristol, now deceased, who, when I mentioned to him that another colleague from St Lucia had been accepted to Mona to do Medicine, told me straight off the bat.. ” OVER MY DEAD BODY.’

Funny thing he is now long dead, but the St Lucian lad is a big maguffy consultant in St Lucia today.

Do you know the number of folk whose transfer forms that white man from Bristol refused to sign? Do you know the number of young West Indians from Barbados, the Windwards and Leewards whose dreams that man destroyed?

Then when he finished, he got UWI to appoint a big buller man from Bristol as head of the Biology Dept at Cave Hill before the woman who had set it up, and drilled so many of us to become competent students of Science.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Oh by the way, seven years after that wicked man from Bristol told me what he did, I met him in one of Mark Johnson’s Aucion sales in Lower Collymore Rock.

The Professor was looking to get some doors cheap at the sale. Man I bought the whole lot cause I could have afforded to. I wont let he get one!

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Here are some sobering statistics for you and LivinginBarbados:-

2007, 1574 men, women and women were murdered in Jamaica. One weekend in Dec. 2007 alone saw 14 people murdered.

2008, 1600 men, women and children were murdered in Jamaica. The highest total on record.

I know that these statistics are embarassing to you and LivinginBarbados. But that is just how Jamaicans are.

Their national sport is murdering each other in large numbers and who ever else they can get their hands on.

Can you tell me how many of these murders were solved by the Jamaica police force? Let me tell you. very few. There are more killers walking the streets of Jamaica free than in any part of the civilised world.

The total number of people murdered in Jamaica for 2007 and 2008 are more than all the people murdered in Barbados for the past 150 years.

LivinginBarbados can put that in his pipe and smoke it!

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Last November, I received some queries on my blog from Americans planning to visit, who were concerned about various things, including Muslim extremism and xenophobic attitudes. They were concerned by what they had read on some earlier posts (one of which was http://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/04/07/muslims-guyana/, and related links to a Peter Wickham piece). They did not understand the regional and local contexts and took the views expressed as being very anti-foreigner.

I had some long exchanges to try to paint a better picture. They came and had a great time.

However, one of the dangers is that we do not know how what we post is interpreted and/or misunderstood by others, even those who are in the local mix.

41. Oh go suck a lemon.

We recognise that lie from a distance.

So big deal,we should shut up just because some foreigner mis understand our frustration and our passion because of our local problems.

Pleeeeeease.

Do we always get the context when we are reading an american blog?

Huh?

42. @CCC
    I do not recall anyone thinking there was an Olympic sport called murder and mayhem and that the discussion was about who was getting gold medals in that. The matter at hand is whether crime has a bad effect on tourism. Jamaica’s statistics, shocking as they are, are of naught to Barbados in that regard.

If people feel a place is safe they will visit and encourage others to visit. Depsite Jamaica’s local crime madness, tourists have by and large been reassured that they can have a good vacation, but with limitations. The numbers bear that out.

The danger is that Barbados’ tourism product does not lend itself easily to enclave tourism, because of the island’s size and the style of accommodation. People visiting really seem to hope enclaved do not come here as a result of scares regarding safety.

South Florida suffered because people preyed on tourists and used information on things like car rentals to target visitors. Once that was under better control, tourism got back a lot of visitors.

Whether one likes tourism or not, it is here. Cruise passenger who are scared to leave the boat, will result in the boat not docking in Bridgetown. Visitors who find themselves held up on some country road will tell their friends don’t rent a car and drive out of town. Those results mean that money flowing from tourism dries up or stays locked into the tour operators’ pockets. Those are the type of consequences I thought people were concerned about. If we need/want to debate Jamaica and its social ills, then let’s do that in another forum.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Carson
    I am a Bajan. I lived and studied in Jamaica, and I am well aware of the difficulties in Jamaica.

However, my debate with you has nothing to do with crime and violence in that country, but was totally about the competence of the Antiguan, Fitzmore Coates, and his stellar Chemical analysis that was able to withstand the test of Scotland Yard’s scrutiny. Why cant you accept that I know what I am talking about in this matter?

What ever are the ills of Jamaican society, there are also positive things that emit from thier civilization. But that was/is not the issue that I am harping about.

However incompetent you think their Constablary to be, in the case of the death of Bob Wolmer in March 2007, I will continue to submit to you that the Jamaican constablary can not be held responsible for determining that he WAS MURDERED, WHEN HE DIED OF NATURAL CAUSES AS THE JAMAICAN FORENSIC DEPARTMENT AND SCOTLAND YARD ASCERTAINED……. as as I had speculated from day one.

A man cant be murdered and die from natural causes simultaneously, even if the natural cause was induced.

If you bring six sexy nude dancing girls into the bed room of your old grandfather, whom you know to be prone to heart attacks, it might be deemed that your motive was to murder him. I will let the lawyers argue dat one.

I dont care how many folk get murdered in Jamaica or how many that the Jamaican police solve. I am debating ONLY the cause of death of one ex cricketer Bob Wolmer, who was determined to have died from natural causes- and not murder.

I am imploring you to learn from the Biochemistry lesson on DKA, as it is very common among our people, and might be even at your very door step, or that of a freiend or relative. Learning that lesson is of greater import than worrying about the Jamaican murder rate.

Do you know that when we were students in Jamaica, that many of us proud Bajans looked down our noses and said that certain things we saw in Kingston, could NEVER occur in Barbados? We had to eat our words years later.

We can not have the number of murders that Jamaica has ever, because we dont have the population. Our country is smaller than thier smallest parish man!

You can now carry on by yourself, as it seems that unlike monkeys, you can not be trained.

I gone ya hear? And I done wid you wid dat!

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

By the way CCC, more tourists visit the North coast of Jamaica each year than come to Barbados. With all thier murders and mayhem. Ah bet you didnt know dat.

45. Georgie Porgie what sort of quack are you? Difficult to think you really are an MD. Your response on Rihanna was appalling. You are an unpatriotic Bajan as well if you are Bajan. Who the hell cares about Coates? All we know about his alleged competence is that he is your friend. Stewps!

Cadogan is correct you are misleading BU. You and BFP are a perfect fit.

46. Living in Barbados wrote “Those who want to claim efficiency can site the figures on crimes solved and convinctions.”

The last figures that I saw the Jamaican police solve about 61% of murders.

The Barbados police about 98%

It is as easy to commit murder in Barbados as anywhere else.
    But very few people get away with it.

47. 51%

48. I would think that my patriotism is indicated by getting Bajans to grasp the concept of DKA and how it may impact on thier relatives and friends.

The Chemical analysis done by Coates spoke for itself when Scotland Yard personnel ascertained that Wolmer died from natural causes- and that he was not murdered. What ever we might think of the Jamaican police, we cant deny the competence and prestige of Scotland Yard.

Scotland Yard vindicated the work of the Jamaican forensics people, and Coates. I am for defending the skills of UWI graduates.

Re Georgie Porgie what sort of quack are you? Difficult to think you really are an MD.

Well you can discuss that with the guys at UWI who passed me, or the thousands of Bajans whom I treated, or the students whom i have taught.

My response on Rihanna was my opinion- to which I am entitled. I have the right not to idolize any one as well. My comments on the inflammatory response can not be refuted either.

Its one thing to comment on BU because one has a computer and internet access.

It is another to be able to comment on Pathology, Biochemistry, Toxicology etc because one has learned it, practiced it and taught it. As Paul says in Titus 2:8 – SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CANNOT BE REFUTED!

49. Anonymous // March 23, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Georgie Porgie what sort of quack are you? Difficult to think you really are an MD.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Both are right according to how you look at it. Georgie was just dealing on tourism note where he is stating that the murders have not interfere with tourist arrivals; and yes, I agree with him. However Carson point relates to the wanton murders and how our ten murders if so many per year would take many years to reach just one calender year of Jamaica’s murders. Carson is also right, it is the context that would affect the argument.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BONNY PEPPA

“Dr. Porgie……I’m impressed…….”

It does not take much to impress you does it, Bonny?