Submitted by Adrian Loveridge

Adrian Loveridge

Its 06.45 hrs Monday morning and for nearly three hours I have been trying to make a number of overseas calls and send faxes throughout the region.

‘All circuits are busy’ is the recorded message you get and when I dialled 0, the operator who eventually answered, knew nothing about the problem and then gave me the wrong customer service number.

When I called the right number, a heavily accented person stated ‘try again in an hour or so’.

With declared profits of US$97 million in one trading year, is it unreasonable to expect a higher level of service delivery?

Now of course, when the service is restored all calls and faxes will be charged at a higher rate because it will be in peak time and charge rates.

Yet! No expectation of a refund or compensation for this appalling service.

Should we expect more from LIME?

1. LivinginBarbados, your issues are easily resolved. You have so many issues with bajans; leave barbados, you have so many issues with BU, leave BU. Your arrival has not brought much anything to this blog.

DISHONESTY continues:
    Chris Halsall, J, Royal Mummbles, Tell me why, Dark Knight etc, are selective in their condemnation of WIV. Royal Mummbles started the first tangent, yet on one called him on it. In fact he was encouraged by David, Chris and J who joined Royal Mummbles in calling for Adrian Loverage to “come out” about his alledged firing. THE THREAD up to this point had nothing to do with the tourism board or changes there, firing etc. WIV then enters with a response to Royal mummbles, off tangent comments, and all of you lead by your dislike for WIV contributed negative comment to him cloaked in the most dishonest arguments ever.

2. ….as for the Adrian Loverage article, it does not need serious contribution from the BU family. At it’s (article) core it is about BET, aka Cable&Wireless, aka Lime, and as such so much have been said about this company from as far back as the nineties. Much of what is occuring in telecom today was discuss and foretold as far back as 2003, on Barbados forum, by me and others. All that is left to do is walk away from LIME, there is nothing more to be said, real and serious action has to be taken.

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Marlehole

I have made the following comment in About Us:

In the spirit of constructive criticism, take a look at a very good blog, http://www.davidgregorytv.com/. I will also post this in the LIME thread. If you need more resources then either get those, or work within your limits. But you cannot use the limitations to oversee chaos.

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Adrian Hinds

I notice a certain inability to really read carefully and understand issues. I also note a certain persistent defensiveness about Barbados. It is not perfect and many people, not just yourself, can offer advice and comment on how it can be improved. If you do not like others’ comments, then feel free to heed your own advice and ignore them. If they are truly worthless, why waste your time with them? You cannot have it both ways.

A little thought would tell you that no issues are resolved by merely getting the person whose views you dislike to leave the discussion. That’s the 3 monkeys syndrome.

As a last observation, you feel capable to speak for everyone rather than letting each person speak for him/herself. That is patronising. Let others judge for themselves what contribution I or others bring, rather than elevate yourself to being THE JUDGE OF ALL THAT IS GOOD AND GREAT. Feel free to have your own blog and that way only you need be in the room.

5. David you must ask yourself why persons like LivinginBarbados, would want you to believe that he has BU’s interest at heart. Is it really so? BFP is out of contention, all that is left is BU and so some are returning and others have left the secure confines of their own blogs to resuce BU. David you don’t know what you are doing, you need the expert advise of a former IMF employee. He has a track record you know.

The one thing that BU has never done and that is the only “best practice” identifiable on all other bajan blogs is censorship. The results of this difference is clear.

6. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

If they do not like it that is their opinion but it does not make it law nor does David have to conform to their shallow empty mouthings as for royal mummbles as adrian calls it, like Henderson Bovell he has moved from a chairman of a board to officially a messenger of Mottley’s paid for by the taxpayers of Barbados.
    No wonder h both of them are so disgusted with the electorate like Liz Thompson is as well.

7. I know my craft well, and as such I can say with confidence that if and when BU decides to follow the approach of persons like backward Jamaican Dennis Jones, The BU family will dwindle. No bragg just fact. ha ha ha

8. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

I wanted to make a comment on this thread about LIME (Life In Misery Everytime) but then I read some of the postings and decide to forget about commenting on LIME.

I will re-iterate that I think it is totally unfair to ANY citizen of Barbados to be villified on this or any other blog by persons who are making scathing and sometimes horrific accusations under the cloak of anonymity. I think it speaks to the direction of our social environment. We should be able to disagree without taking the conversation to the sewage plant.

This thread started out talking about LIME, moved to someone being fired from a board to total filth. Is this the “news and opinions of the people” that we want to convey especially to our young people.

“A mature person is one who does not think only in absolutes, who is able to be objective even when deeply stirred emotionally, who has learned that there is both good and bad in all people and all things, and who walks humbly and deals charitably” – ER

BC

9. Wishing In Vain

Hartley, permit me to comment again on your “squeaky clean” DLP government.

Perhaps BU can start comment on “child rape.” Chris Sprinkler and “Kenny Lest,” would not mind.

Neither would John Boyce, if wife beating is discussed.

Then, how about “thiefing” and corruption.

Certainly you could add comment on “manissa ramfally” and tell BU on whose land Cost u Less will set-up, for starters.

From special advisor to the FBI grasp. In time my friend. In time!!!

10. It will not stop unless we move away from picking on one person base on personal dislikes, rather than on who started the off topic comments. Royalrumble started to the off topic thread, WIV responded and all most everyone then castigated WIV. Not fair, according to you. ha ha ha lol!

….as for the fairness of calling persons name in here. You will not get any support from me. For too long things have been hidden, and not discuss in Barbados, to the benefit of the “too few” I feel no sympathy for these people, (Politicans) and will not attempt to subject a blog to a higher standard than what pertains in the Parliament of Barbados, where name calling by the same Politicos is standard fair. They will never be seen as victims by me. At any rate it is as Marlhole said, ..time to act against Lime, talking about it has gotten us nowhere, thus far.

I am not hiding when i call names. I would like to meet Dennis Jones fuh real though. It could be the shortest introduction ever. ha ha ha ha

11. Adrian, my commenting on WIV is based on his constant criticising of a selective few regardless of the topic at hand. His behaviour reminisce a stick record or a calypsonian singing the same lyrics every crop over. WIV must separate facts from fiction and you should not be his tutor or defender. Peace

By the way, how is Canada and the meltdown.

12. The next thing they will be insisting is that david shut down the discussion on the immigration issue and the high number of illegal guyanese here in barbados.

VOB does not allow any discussion,the Nation newspaper is selective in what letters they publish while ricky singh and others have free rein saying what they like in that newspaper,so all we have is BU blog.

David this is one time I am glad that you are anony,ous.

13. Tell me Why // March 18, 2009 at 11:39 am

Adrian, my commenting on WIV is based on his constant criticising of a selective few regardless of the topic at hand. His behaviour reminisce a stick record or a calypsonian singing the same lyrics every crop over. WIV must separate facts from fiction and you should not be his tutor or defender. Peace

By the way, how is Canada and the meltdown.
    ===========================

Tell Me Why, I think you are bias in this instance. I really do! :0 Royal rumble started the off topic comment to which WIV responded, yet how you got to him, and totally missed RR is no mystery to me. lol!

@Anonymous // March 18, 2009 at 11:49 am

I agree. duh aint gine fool me without my help and i have none to give. ha ha ha ha ha ha lol!

14. Oh Tell me Why, I missed your question:

Maybe PiedPiper can shed some light on it. Some Canadians only a couple years ago where attempting to rub the strength of the Looney (canadian dollar) in the face of Americans. They came across the Border apparently in droves to buy up foreclose American property. Some even sought to suggest that what was taken place in America was contained at the Border. The fact of Canada’s export driven economy being fueled by American imports did not seem to matter. Well the Chicken may have come home to roost.

http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/20081002/election2008_ndp_sunday_081002/20081005?s_name=election2008

As fuh me i doing like most, trying to keep muh head above water.

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

On the matter of LIME’s service, it’s worth keeping an eye on how the suit brought by Digicel against CW/LIME goes, which may do more to change service quality than uncoordinated customer complaints. See http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20090313/news/news6.html

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Adrian Hinds.

There you go again, to borrow the words of Gov. Palin: speaking for other people.

But aha, I hear the concern that ‘censorship’ might work to curb some excesses.

Now let me see if I understand your remark properly: “It will not stop unless we move away from picking on one person base on personal dislikes”. Hmmm.

Anyway, to help with the track record, I am also a former urban planner, former professional footballer, former track champion, former central banker,…Maybe I should have taken the CDB job at Wildey when I was offered it in 1990, to boost my Bajan credentials.

17. BFP is out of contention, all that is left is BU
    ……………………………………………………………..AH so true. BFP gone after blacks again. This time its the Mottley’s and some mansion they have in Miami. Why not go after COW and the other 4,999 white Bajans who horde monies overseas.

COW told us he owns millions of acres in Argentina. How did the money to buy Argentine land get to Argentina? Answer that BFP. Cow told us he relocating to Argentina. We still waiting. He, Bizzy and the 4,998 although they hate blacks are going nowhere. Life too sweet in Bim. They rich, they live rich, they live segregated , they make billions from us blacks and dont have to associate or speak to us. Thats heaven for Bizzy and the white Bajan clan.

BFP we dare you to expose white investments abroad as you did with Mia Mottley and she black family.

18. @BFP days are numbered. They are not the many white Bajans on the rock, not even if you include Dennis Jones. ha ha ha ha lol!

to whom it may concern: lol!

19. Anon wrote (about Bizzy and COW):

They rich, they live rich, they live segregated , they make billions from us blacks and dont have to associate or speak to us. Thats heaven for Bizzy and the white Bajan clan.

Wait, Bizzy does doan’ speak to or associate wid he own wife?

20. Wishing In Vain // March 18, 2009 at 9:41 am

If they do not like it that is their opinion but it does not make it law nor does David have to conform to their shallow empty mouthings as for royal mummbles as adrian calls it, like Henderson Bovell he has moved from a chairman of a board to officially a messenger of Mottley’s paid for by the taxpayers of Barbados.
    No wonder h both of them are so disgusted with the electorate like Liz Thompson is as well.

Wishing in Vain aka Hartley Henry, not everyone can be like you and be the bagman for unscrupulous Caribbean Leaders. I certainly would not want to be like you, selling illegal drugs to young men while at the same time setting them up to be sexually ravaged by those with money who feel that money is the only leverage to life. The money you earn from the kind of operation you run will not sit well in my bank account.

But you must tell us on this blog about the $1.2 million you are collecting for your land that Costless, a company you encouraged Thompson to give a licence would be leasing and the finder’s fees you will be collecting for incinerator.

21. ha ha ha ha I love this. WIV if he is Hartley Henry, and Royal Mummbles if he Slyvan Greenidge, duking it out like the political party slaves they are.
    Now I do understand Royalmumbles if he is Slyvan Greenidge, coming into he forums as often as he does these days. Removal from the public trough is a difficult thing to overcome. What i don’t understand is WIV if he is Hartley Henry,….need to be bout in de blogs defending this and defending that. Guh long and feed like yuh suppose to do. lol! but stop in ever now and then to let us know wuh gine on in Roebuck street, yuh hear, cuase as much as Royalmumbles does be bout in here he aint gine tell pun he own. ha ha ha ha ha lol!

22. Anon I agree with you. BFP is now officially dead and that is simply because Ronald Jones, Thompy, Henry and Loveridge are now too busy to update their blog.

23. @ Adrian Hinds,

Is it true that Wishing In Vain, yes, hartley “madeoff” henry – got a couple millions as a finder’s fee for the Ininerator, the government he advises, is preparing to build?

How much did hartley “madeoff” henry get as finder’s fee for bringing Cost-U-Less to Barbados, and even more to set up on the the land he owns?

Talk about feeding at the trough!!

hartley “madeoff” henry is getting obese!!!

While he concentrates on money, others in the DLP are more facinated with child rape and wife beating.

What a sorry “outfit!!!!”

24. Am I the only one having to scroll through many comments not relative to this article to focus at this topic at hand?

Thanks for the link Livinginbarbados on the Update on the C&W & Digicel case.

C&W/LIME are acting in a manner thinking they’ll hoard off loads of money now from a competitor. Using a lawsuit against Digicel that is false.

From the time I heard the January 7th report of C&W attempts to sue a competitor. I found it worth of rubbish from C&W as “usual”.

25. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David, I think a little research will show that they are persons blogging under different names on this site.

As I said royal mummbles I understand your frustration and concern after all to now move to nothing more that Mottley’s doormat / messenger is really a steep fall from grace, no one wants you , nor does anyone care about you in the blp camp, they are too busy fighting for their political life both in the Lower House and in the Upper House, tell me more about the battle among Dale, Mottley, Owing and Rawle and the battle among Liz Thompson, Kerrie Symmonds and Gregory the fat useless boy Nicholls.

26. WIV we don’t have to do any research, we are aware of those who use multiple names. In difference to what other commenters are saying could you and Royalrumble/Dark Knight take your political slugfest to this blog? The BU family has always been fairly sensible about these things. Look forward to your cooperation.

27. Yipppeee, thanks David, finally we will get rid of all that political mudslinging.

28. @Adrian Loveridge: “I want a REFUND!

@Halsall: “Then demand it!

Just wondering if you might inform us as your progress to date on your desire for compensation for service not delivered?

Explicitely… And seriously…

What have *you* done?

And what have been the results?

Please tell us what you’ve experienced.

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Chris,

I have spoken to three persons and each time I mentioned a refund they said to contact the Customer Service dept.

Do think someone in St. Lucia is likely to approve a refund?

15 hours without a service I am paying for should be worth something!

30. @Adrian… Thank you for playing this game… (And it is game…)

I hope that each time you spoke to these three persons you recorded their first names (they will not give their last names — nor should they).

I hope that each time you recorded (on paper or audio) the exact time each exchange occurred.

I hope that each time you received an unacceptable answer that you asked to speak to their supervisor (and then their supervisor, and then their, and then their, ad infinitum…)?

(Don’t actually expect to be able to do so… The supervisors will almost always be “away from their desk” or “unavailable”…)

Never forget, this is carefully calculated a game…

Record and document *every* interaction. It is the only hope of compensation, and change.

Namestie.

31. Dear Adrian Hinds you wrote “Chris Halsall, J, Royal Mummbles, Tell me why, Dark Knight etc, are selective in their condemnation of WIV.

I get my jollies by giving WIV grief. You have a problem with that?

32. WIV you wrote “and Owing as the last time he showed his face in Parliament he looked very aged and gaunt”

You lie. I saw Owen face to face in the store a few weeks ago and he looks fine. Better in fact than when he was PM.

I don’t like politicians of any stripe. But Owen looks good for a man who is almost 60.

33. Lime needs a good run for the people’s money……where is the frickin competition…….poor serivce and ridiculous charges….something must be done and fast……

34. Can you imagine someone being billed for ADSL service when they do not have any form of internet service?

Would you believe they do not know, or cannot give the mac address of the modem accessing their network from the line they are billing for this supposed service?

To any of BU’s technical experts, how is the immediate above possible?

Management should replace the sign on the outside of the office that reads Customer Care with the one inside that reads, Beware Of Customer Care, we would then only have ourselves to blame for daring to expect more.

35. @General Lee: “To any of BU’s technical experts, how is the immediate above possible?

Easy. One (of many) possibilities is your provider’s Operational Support Systems (OSS) / Billing Systems are not up to date.

If what you claim above is true, then you should ask your provider to:

1. Immediately disable the xDSL service they claim to be providing to you.

2. Refuse to pay any amount of the bill associated with the xDSL service.

3. Tell them to have a technician examine the DSLAM cross-connection to your PSTN / POTS connection.

4. Ask for proof that they’ve been providing you xDSL service.

5. Raise the issue with the Fair Trading Commission.

6. Ask for a written apology.

I (and others) would be very interested in the results of your particular exercise in this matter….

36. Chris thanks for the advice.

#2 has already been done.

According to LIME, it appears that the modem was delivered.
    The person who signed as having received the modem is yet to be identified.

Efforts to resolve the issue are continuing.

37. Faithful Customer and Employee Avatar
    Faithful Customer and Employee

As a faithful customer and employee of lime, I will not be taking out any more services with this company. I will be getting my mobile service from Digicel and I will be changing ISP’s. Despite my significant discount I get being staff 50% off. I find dealing with their new customer care, frustrating. I hate going into the office…in uniform customers harass me and without uniform I have to wait like all the rest. Last week I was in sheraton office for 2 hrs before the rep solved my issue. I hate the shitty LIME service and I urge other customers to do the same…even if that means me having to look for another job when the company folds!

38. Faithful Customer and Employee Avatar
    Faithful Customer and Employee

@ General Lee…LOL this is not an isolated case, happens all the time and the decision makers refuse to credit customer’s bills all the time plus they still bind the customers to the 1 yr contract. The funny thing is that customers accept it lol.

39. I had an awful day with lime…….. My internet was so sloooooooow and now the phone line plaYing the fool too!

WE NEED COMPETITION ASAP……

40. It appears that the adsl service was activated even though the modem was not delivered, hence the bill.

How can you activate and charge for a service when you have not provided all the equipment necessary for the customer to utilize said service?

How could you then “soft cut” an existing service, because the customer refuses to pay for a service he was not aware he had, and you are aware that you have not fulfilled all your obligations (providing modem etc.) to enable the customer to access your service?

After being aware of all the above, how can you still insist that the disputed bill be paid before the “soft cut” is reversed and at the same time assure that a credit will issued later for the said disputed bill?

Do you really believe that “…because it is already in the system it is easier to do it that way…” is good customer service?

Something is seriously wrong with a business model that allows a company to provide a partial service unbeknownst to a customer, charge for it even though the customer has not, and could not have used the service, forces the customer to pay the bill to avoid disconnection of existing services and in the end simply issue a credit.

41. @ General Lee: “Something is seriously wrong with a business model that allows a company to provide a partial service unbeknownst to a customer, charge for it even though the customer has not, and could not have used the service, forces the customer to pay the bill to avoid disconnection of existing services and in the end simply issue a credit.”

This is definitely not a fair way of trade… from the tone of it.

42. Chris Halsall, In relation to General Lee’s problems.

Here’s something from ‘Cheryl’ relating to payments of Bills:

“Section 10:13
    YOU MUST PAY YOUR BILL BY THE DUE DATE STATED ON THE BILL.IF YOU DONT PAY YOUR BILL BY THE PAYMENT DUE DATE WE CAN DEBAR YOUR USE OF SOME OR ALL OF OUR SERVICES AND CHARGE YOU INTEREST ON WHAT YOU OWE AT 1.5% PER MONTH. WE WILL CHARGE YOU INTERST UNTIL YOU PAY….

SECTION 10:8

YOU WILL NOT BE RELIEVED FROM MAKING PAYMENT TO US BECAUSE YOU HAVE NOT RECEIVED A BILL SHOWING THE AMOUNT OWED ON YOUR ACCOUNT.YOU SHOULD CALL US IMMEDIATELY IF YOU HAVE NOT RECEIVED YOUR MONTHLY BILL TO OBTAIN YOU CURRENT ACCOUNT BALANCE.”

Has the terms and agreement changed?

43. LIME workers mat well be on strike this Tuesday in solidarity with their colleagues from the Call Centre.

It seems that big ol’ bad ass LIME recently sent registered letters to the Contact Centre employees, letting them know that they will not be paid any more as their redundancy is effective 31st March.
    Big meeting scheduled for today as the BWU walked out of the meeting Thursday after hearing about the letters and asking for them to be withdrawn since negotiations are still ongoing.
    Mr. Austin refuses to budge, Trotman aint backing down either….wish I was a fly on the wall at today’s meeting :-).
    My sources also tell me that Don might be on his last days as head honcho……as it seem that he is the only head in the Caribbean, who didnt get rid of his quota of employees , not to mention the present situation…..guess the Big boys are a wee bit upset with the Don.

44. *may*