Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

I wanted to write about my ex-hero this week. I have never met her but I admired the progress she was making on the world stage. I was flabbergasted by the news of her being assaulted, and wanted desperately to “get my hands on that little boy”.

It was the first time in my life I envied the job of judges. I wanted to wake up one morning soon and find myself as a Judge in the United States with that little brown boy in front of me. I have been tossing around in my head the nature of sentence that I would hand down in the event that the evidence corroborated the allegations.

From a marketing perspective, I also thought of what, as an advisor, I would suggest my ex-hero could do to restart her career. I fancied a major world tour, with fresh lyrics, a new beat but still the eye-popping attire. My goal would have been for her to surpass all previous records and snatch every available award at the Grammys next year. For me, she would have been the Tina of the future.

But, I have waited patiently for a stout denial of any reunification or marriage. If there was pregnancy, I guess that would have to be embraced and factored into future equations, for that would have been conceived before the dreadful day. But, with time passing and no denial, I am left to assume that what we have all heard is true and that there is a 14-year-old brain in that 20-year old head.

I am not quick to judge persons and therefore it is not for me to determine right or wrong. What I would say, however, is that it is my right to add and remove names from my list of heroes and as of last weekend, I am short of one name.

But talking about heroes, my hero of last Friday’s no-confidence debate was none other than Mia Mottley. Yes, I know some persons would be surprised by that selection, but I believe that she is the only one of 29 MPs in attendance that came away from that experience with more, much more, than they had bargained for.

Several speakers landed a political punch here and there and others impressed with their eloquence, enormous vocabulary and manifestation of excellent research skills.

Mia Mottley, I must concede, came away with much more. Should would have hoped to maim her opposite number, the Prime Minister, and possibly to highlight the failings of his predecessor. But, never, never in her wildest dreams could the Leader of the Opposition have expected to emerge from that debate with that scalp of Owen Arthur’s political head. She owes Chris Sinckler big time!

It was the little man from Deacons Farm who smoked Owen Arthur out, to the point where, I believe, he lost his temper and blurted out, what I predict will one day be deemed as the fatal blow to the Labour party’s chance of re-election anytime soon.

Taunted by Sinckler about his agenda and motivation, and also reeling from David Thompson’s declaration the Sunday before of his negligence in permitting defaults in the Statutory Fund to climb, Arthur sprung to his feet and blurted out, without thinking I believe, that not only is he not desirous of leading the BLP or the country again, but also that he is supporting Mia Mottley 100 per cent.

Admittedly, this was the shocker. This was the proverbial fly in the ointment. After weeks and weeks of warming up in the nets; after 14 months of visibly, tangibly and measurably giving Mottley less support that one would have anticipated; after declaring outside Tyrol Cot that he is “back”; after investing in two lunches for former labour party candidates at Savannah Hotel; and after mobilizing and galvanizing the base of the labour party behind him, Arthur ate the bait that Sinckler planted and put paid to the rescue mission that thousands of labour party supporters were hoping he would have mounted.

So stunned were they by this development that scores rushed to Deighton Griffith last Sunday to confront their hero on what they described as “his folly”. But, alas, Arthur was a no-show. The reason given was that he had a sinus attack. Chris Gayle limped to the crease on Monday with a groin injury, but Owen Arthur could not go to Deighton Griffith last Sunday because his sinuses were dripping. Give me an aspirin!! Analysts believe it was more because he may have discovered the folly of his Friday morning temper tantrum.

Just when labour party supporters thought they would have made the necessary leadership change and switch back to Arthur, he, according to Lickmout Lou, “ups and does stupidness”.

What therefore was all the fuss about? Why didn’t he give Mottley the guidance and advice she needed over the past 14 months? Why hasn’t he been attending Parliament and participating regularly in debates?

If, after serving 14 years as party leader and Prime Minister, he no longer has the drive and passion for politics, why doesn’t he simply step down as MP and permit Mottley to recruit some new and fresh talent into the party. The odds are that with a good candidate, the Labour Party would win a by-election in St. Peter right now.

Why doesn’t Arthur truly put Mottley’s mind at ease by resigning from what he termed a “poor rakey” parliament and permit fresh talent to come to the fore. Anyone listening to the Opposition benches last Friday would agree the side could do with a new frontline batsman.

The two failed meetings at Tyrol Cott and Oistins suggest the party could do with new platform talent. The tired, discredited losers that were brought back for that series of meetings did nothing to enhance the image or appeal of the party.

Mottley, as undisputed leader, for the time being, would do well to ask for and to stagger the resignations of persons like Arthur, Cynthia Forde, George Payne, Rawle Eastmond, Gline Clarke, William Duguid, Ronald Toppin and Dale Marshall.

She would lose four seats in the process but would perhaps gain four fresh and appealing faces.

It is an option she would do well to consider.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

1. Hartley, Hartley, Hartley,…..

this is pathetic

the growing consensus is that Thompson came out of that no confidence debate with his credibility seriously shaken.

To seek to deflect attention from that by trying to beat up on the defeated Owen Arthur???? Surely ur not that desperate?

are you?

2. Hartley
    Since you have dropped Rihanna from your list of heroines, how about advising the P.M about dropping her as Youth Ambassador? Don’t you think she has disqualified herself from that title?

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Anonymous,
    You must be really in dream land, in speaking to the storngest of Bees they all agree that the 1000 Lbs of Blubber Mottley did the country and the 40,000 policy holders a massive disservice with her outburst of bad class and her temper tantrum style.

Let me also suggest that Mottley is struggling with her role as stand in leader of the Opposition SHE HAS NO SUPPORT FROM WITHIN THOSE THAT SIT ALONGSIDE OF HER, when in her shallow effort to firm up support by sending the CONSTANTLY MISSING FROM SENATE LIZ THOMPSON another 1000 Lbs of Blubber to support her only because she does not know who to trust within the BLP camp, not even Rawle, Glyne, Duguid, Owing nor the turncoat Kerrie support Mottley, Mottley knows that Kerrie is only too quick to jump political fences to suit his own needs so she is not on sound ground when speaking of Kerrie’s support.

When you listened to Rawle’s presentation on the Constituency Councils as well as Glyne it only too clear to see that neither one of them supported her stance on the matter and Owing delivered the knock out blow by not whispering a word on the matter.

You and your party my friend have more questions than answers, and the answers will not be given by Mottley some even suggest that if they really want to push a woman for the job they should consider Dale Marshall as a suitable candidate.

Your party is a disjointed (no Mottley not a joint as you are known to love one) but you are a party in denial and annoyed at the electorate decision to evict you from office on good sounds grounds of contempt for the people, and massive fraud and corruption.

4. Justice is nice Avatar

“if they really want to push a woman for the job they should consider Dale Marshall as a suitable candidate.”

OH MY LORD AHahHHAHAhAHAAHHAHhAHa

5. Mr. Hartley

Please tell David Thompson that we realise that you, Greaves, Roy Trotman, and all the likes of you have refused to deal with the Guyanese issue ……. we are tired of your pathetic lies.

How comes you checking for the tourists but when Ms. White down the road get her house broken into Commissioner Dottin aint send no body to frequent the area……..

SHAME SHAME SHAME.

Please remember that we voted for you.

Has anyone realised that in Welches the Muslims are now coming out look for the flags!!!!!!!!!!

Scout we in trouble realllll trouble these people know more big ups than we the ordinary people who vote!

Kiss we assssssss Harltley and the DLP

WE AINT VOTING NO MORE!

6. Email the c*nt at his address and see what he says.

7. its quite a shame when big ppl start cussing out others when trying to discuss important issues. no wonder we young ppl are the way we are when you adults behave no better.

8. Wishing In Vain Avatar

It seems that not only is it Hartley that is taking a turn in Mottley and Owing but so to the Nation in their article THE ANIMAL FARM IN FLYING FISH AND COU COU of yesterday’s date.

I have seen parties loose power as did the DLP in the past and they accepted the peoples verdict gracefully and resigned themselves to sitting in the opposition benches and doing what the people put them there to do but never before have I witnessed such a disgruntled unhappy, mean bunch, hating the good people of this island and reacting with such turmoil and venom to verdict of the people.

May they find solace and compassion towards the good people of Barbados the electorate and no longer subject them to Mottley’s temper tantrums at her It seems that not only is it Hartley that is taking a turn in Mottley and Owing but so to the Nation in their article THE ANIMAL FARM IN FLYING FISH AND COU COU of yesterday’s date.

I have seen parties loose power as did the DLP in the past and they accepted the peoples verdict gracefully and resigned themselves to sitting in the opposition benches and doing what the people put them there to do but never before have I witnessed such a disgruntled unhappy, mean bunch, hating the good people of this island and reacting with such turmoil and venom to verdict of the people.

May they find solace and compassion towards the good people of Barbados the electorate and no longer subject them to Mottley’s temper tantrums at her removal from office, the people have spoken in no small way accept the peoples verdict and press on and stop whining and behaving like a spoilt child, we all know that you have been misled to believe that you are one entitled to be the head of this country and are you are part of an privileged family but let me suggest to you that status is something that is earned and not awarded to reach the pinnacle of life requires hard work, honesty and good moral values and as is evident to all and sundry you sadly fail to score a single point in any of these areas you are not recognized for hard work, honesty and good moral values, go back to the basics and come again, maybe a HOLDER of office can assist you.

You may do well to rethink your ways and seek advice the next time your group meet by Little Bentley in St Philip for you night of depraved fun, you should seek guidance from Lynette, Debbie, Michele, Alison,Carol, Jenny, Joann, Pearson, LaSandra and Cheryl.

9. Wishing In Vain Avatar

It seems that not only is it Hartley that is taking a turn in Mottley and Owing but so to the Nation in their article THE ANIMAL FARM IN FLYING FISH AND COU COU of yesterday’s date.

I have seen parties loose power as did the DLP in the past and they accepted the peoples verdict gracefully and resigned themselves to sitting in the opposition benches and doing what the people put them there to do but never before have I witnessed such a disgruntled unhappy, mean spirited bunch, hating the good people of this island and reacting with such turmoil and venom to verdict of the people.

May they find solace and compassion towards the good people of Barbados the electorate and no longer subject them to Mottley’s temper tantrums at her removal from office, the people have spoken in no small way, accept the peoples verdict and press on and stop whining and behaving like a spoilt child, we all know that you have been misled to believe that you are one entitled to be the head of this country and are you are part of an privileged family but let me suggest to you that that status is something that is earned and not awarded, to reach the pinnacle of life requires hard work, honesty and good moral values and as is evident to all and sundry you sadly fail to score a single point in any of these areas you are not recognized for hard work, nor for your honesty and no way for your good moral values, go back to the basics and come again, maybe a HOLDER of office can assist you.

You may do well to rethink your ways and seek advice from those buddies the next time your group meet by Little Bentley in St Philip for you night of sexual depraved fun, you should seek guidance from Lynette, Debbie, Michele, Alison,Carol, Jenny, Joann, Pearson, LaSandra and Cheryl.

More on
    Lynette Holder and Mottley’s relationship and influence over her and the power that realionship has on the future of COB City Of Bridgetown Credit Union.

I will furnish you with more information in the not to distant future.but suffice (as only mottley can say and repeat with such regularity) to say it is not a healthy position to find this operation in.

10. Cheeze on bread Harltey man. You ain’t got nothing better to do this bright God given Sunday morning that to come on this blog and talk about people’s supposed bedroom business.

Why didn’t you go to church man?

Or why didn’t you take your little blue pill and go back to bed and make love to your wife? or outside woman (if one will have you)

Cheez on bread man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Where is your sense of decency????

11. It is Sunday man. You forget that we Bajans are decent pun a Sunday even if we do evil on weekdays.

You got me feeling that I ain’t going vote “D” next time.

12. Hartley Henry wrote “If there was pregnancy, I guess that would have to be embraced”

I ask why?

Why would any woman bear a child which was conceived with a violent man?

Legal medically safe abortions exist to save women frm having to bear children for thugs.

Why do we like to pretend that every damn fool conception should see the light of day? When we know very well that in the real world it don’t work so.

13. @J

IF you were a fetus wouldn’t you want to live?

14. Dear David:

I WAS A FETUS AT ONE TIME YOU KNOW.

I’ll be honest with you as a fetus I did not give any thought at all as to whether or not I wanted to live.

Honest.

Honest, honest, honest.

15. Fetuses are incapable of thinking.

Nowadays we get weselves tie up (as the young people say) and try to ascribe all kinda things to fetuses.

Fetuses CANNOT think.

Period.

16. Educate us J because it was always our view that a fetus is defined as a living organism which when fully mature after 40 weeks is delivered by mummy. This being the case any decision to abort a fetus maybe legitimately described as murder by some.

17. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I told you so,this place is in serious confusion headed and made so be the close relationship Lynette Holder has with Mottley, it is forcing bad decisions onto the members of the credit union, case in point Carol Roberts, what do you expect her to do but thief???

COB head’s ‘figures not adding up’

ONE DIRECTOR of the embattled City Of Bridgetown (COB) Co-operative CreditUnion is up in arms over what he termedthe “wrong figures” given by president Lynette Holder last Thursday.

Holder told the DAILY NATION,in response to a signed petition from 50 members for her and the board to resign, that the 25th anniversary celebration costs were only $300 000, and that she had overseen a reduction in delinquency and a significant surplus increase.

But one of the seven directors, assistant secretary Lindell Earle, said Holder’s statements could not be substantiated by any documentation.

Earle told the DAILY NATION that contrary to Holder’s suggestions, the anniversary “costs exceeded $300 000 in a material way. Based on January 2009 financials approved by the board at the January 2009 board meeting, the total stood at $434 000”, said Earle, an accountant and the company’s former financial controller.

He also statedthat delinquency had increased from 5.09 per cent at March 2008to 6.7 per cent at January 2009 – contrary to thethe president’s report of a “reduction”.

“This information is extracted directly from the last set of approved statements presented at the January 2009 meeting,” he added.

On the matter of COB’s surplus, Earle said it had declined from $4.7 million at January 2008 to $4.2 millon inJanuary this year.

Earle also pointed to the company’s wholly owned subsidiary COB Financial Services Inc. (COBFSI), which was a sore point for credit union members who said last week that over $50 000 had been paid in directors’ fees.

“COBFSI has made less than $5 000 in income while incurring costs in excess of $50 000 from inception to date”.

Signed petition

Noting he was not one of the members who had signed the petition – which called for the board to resign and asked questions about expenditure and howsome senior positionswere filled – Earle said he just wanted clarity.

“I would have sent concerns to the board last year – some would’ve been mentioned [in last week Friday’s article] but there are other glaring issues that should be dealt with,” he said.

Holder, calling on Friday for an end to publicity of the situation, said the director had breached the firm’s communications policy.

She also reiterated that when she cameto the board five years ago, delinquency was in double digits and had decreased substantially under her watch; whilethe surplus was $6 million last year – the highestin COB’s 25-year history.

She also explained that the $50 000 on COBFSI represented three linesof business: real estate, mutual funds and the insurance agency – all of which were being developed in the last three years.

18. Lynette Holder must go. As a credit union member I am appalled. Appalled at the gross over expenditure – that is money that big companies floating in money spend on celebrations, not a small credit union. You see people like Carol Roberts have absolutely no regard for money, theirs or other peoples. And Lynette is answering all the charges like the politician she is. She was Mia’s campaign manager. They think alike. What the france does a credit union need a holding company for? They are carrying the institution down the wrong road. Focus also needs to be placed on Public Workers as well. There are board members and senior staff, namely the CEO who use the corporate card to buy food etc on a daily basis. The figures are astounding. There is a lot going on that was drawn to the attention of the registrar and the former minister. Let us hope the current minister will step in.

19. David not everyone who delivers a child is mummy.

And there are millions of mummy’s who have never delivered a child.

Don’t get tie up.

20. A mummy is a woman who raises a child, that’s all.

A good mummy is a woman who raises a child well.

All else is extraneous, or as the young peope would say a lotta along talk.

21. Dear David:

You wrote “This being the case any decision to abort a fetus maybe legitimately described as murder by some.”

Not it may not be so described David. “Some” do not decide what is murder. Murder is defined by the law, not by “some”

I am sure that you know that the crime of murder is very carefully described in Barbados’ law. It does not matter what you or I or “some” think. All that matters is what the law says. Under the law of Barbados and many other countries ending an a pregnancy in the early stages is not murder.

Before the laws permitting the early termination of pregnancy were passed very careful thought was given to the matter and there was very vigourous debate. There is very good reason why the early termination of pregnancy is not murder.

Abortion is common place David. It has alsways been commonplace.

You would be surprised at the number of respectable mothers, grandmothers and great grandmothers we would have to jail if we decided to convict every woman in Barbados who has every terminated a pergnancy.

David are you prepared to build and staff a prison that can hold tens of thousands of women?

And while those womeen are in jail who will “mummy” the children who are left on the outside?

You are normally a reasonable person David.

But on this one….??

22. Hartley Henry aka Wishing In Vain, could not have a mother or a wife and I know he could never come around me! I dont care how he feels about Mia and Liz politically but every week to be so insulting to people just shows you the kind of low life he really is.

He needs to get a real J-O-B and stop this nonsense every week. We voted for change and just getting a bunch of nonsense! Same bunch of jackasses just a different letter. I know I wont be voting again until I see a politician that seems to have some sort of class. It seems this crop trying for some serious gutter politics and then we blaming the youth for all the ills in the society, when the leaders aint setting no kinda good example, chupse

23. Wishing in vain
    “they should consider Dale Marshall”
    Lord have mercyyyyyyyyy,ya got ma cryingggg. I still trying to get up offa de ground. Ya wicked but I luv um.

24. Wishing In Vain Avatar

You think Mottley got issues today?

You can think again, the whole blp got a toss out coming their way, it is going to be cat piss and pepper when Owing makes the barge to the finish line, it will show Mottley how empty and shallow her support really is, her support has emptied since the 15 th of Jan 2008 if asked today who the blp supports for its leader IT WILL NOT BE MOTTLEY.

I heard today from Senate that yet another day and another sitting and there was a another no show of the Cantankerous, dishonest disused Liz Thompson, it must by now becoming a major nightmare for Mottley and her clan as to what to do with her last tower of support and strength from the glory days gone.

Mottley in her effort to have a vote from Thompson is tolerating gross neglect of public service to the people of this island, when will enough be enough and when will Mottley pull the noose around her neck before it pulls the noose around Mottley’s own neck.

25. the growing consensus is that Thompson came out of that no confidence debate with his credibility seriously shaken.

You are dreamimg!

26. Modern day politicians, have to learn to set examples for our youth. Their is NOW ayouth parliament in this countryand therefore the politicians and their allies need to raise the bar. Get away from the antiqu6ated style of politics. As a young man, I once heard a seasoned politician on the platform talking about his wife buys her panties by the dozen. I thought this type of politics was over, time we move into the 21st century type of politics. We now have a greater level of education and the young generation is begging for a more educated level of political debates, discussions and blogs. Mr Henry PLEASE set the example. I know you, you have the ability to do such, don’t disappoint me and many others that know you

27. The Scout // March 17, 2009 at 1:55 am

Modern day politicians, have to learn to set examples for our youth.
    ————————————————

You are obviously serious, and i join with you, in that call.

Mr Henry PLEASE set the example.
    ————————————
    You are not serious! We have politician with the last name Henry?

28. Can anyone say if it is true that Thompson’s wife and Leroy Parris’ wife are in bed together.

That is to say, they bought a property in St. Philip for $925,000 CASH?

You may say that Droopey’s wife also bought 4 properties in Miami. See how your insurance premiums are being used – to allow Parris and Thompson to travel on a private jet and enjoy the big life why you struggle to make ends meet?

Is your money safe at Clico and who would Thompson choose to protect – you or Leror Parris?

29. Meanwhile…

We have people to feed, cloth, shelter, educate, further and advance…

If I May…

This is a bit like autogratification, but without the euphoria….

30. Chris Halsall // March 19, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Meanwhile…

We have people to feed, cloth, shelter, educate, further and advance…
    ————————————————

This use to be the responsibility of the individual. Todays socialist, and the greed of the free marketers have strip most of their independence, and the williness to do for themselves.

31. Is it true that hartley “madeoff” henry is having an affair with Senator Gilkes

Is that why he was placed on the BTA Board?

There is no harm in being parked-out or going on a cruise with a man – is there hartley?

32. @anon

You right yeah, I hear bout a fight he had with one ah dem. De girl get on bad as ass and mek he shame to r*asshole.
    If a dog pass cross in a dress he would bark..

33. why was my comment removed BU?

34. The DLP’s Housing Scam

While in Opposition, as a gimmick to get elected – the DLP promised to do a number of things within the first 90 and 100 day once elected.

As I recall, the warning given by the BLP was that those promises were “an absurdity that bears no relationship to the country’s development needs; that bears no relationship whatsoever to any of the matters that are facing the country and that offers no solutions to any of the things that Thompson said were fundamental”.

I also recall the BLP having cautioned Barbadians that those promises were nothing more than “an exercise in financial recklessness and thoughtlessness, which was not intended to enable the country to achieve any economic or social purpose.

Also, that they were intended simply to be a crass exercise in economic and financial backraising.”

As predicted, having been elected, the DLP refused to implement those sacred promises.

Now in office and with people loosing their jobs daily (as a result of its bad decision and poor judgment) the DLP continue to play on the need of Barbadians and has therefore turned to “housing” to serve the purpose, which its 90 and 100 day promises served while it was in Opposition.

But what is the DLP’s housing policy, as outlined in its 2008 Manifesto?

(a) A Home Ownership Resolving Fund for public sector workers, proving interest free loans to appointed public servants with 5 years service who are first time homeowners, capitalized with an initial injection of $40 million.

(b) Two thousand (2000) houses per year

(c) Five hundred (500) lots of land in five (5) months.

(d) Twenty-five (2,500) house spots for sale to low and middle income wage earners in the first term of a DLP government.

Neither a, b, or c were achieved by the DLP last year, while (d) seems questionable.

The issue on housing is not that the DLP is executing the BLP’s Housing Programme (although that is true) but that the DLP is using “housing” and exploiting the needs of Barbadians – much in the same way that it used its 90 and 100 day promises, as a ploy to get elected.

Note that the DLP is promising housing through the NHC and not through the UDC and the RDC.

Therefore, in order to get one of those houses you have to be employed, in order to qualify for the mortgage or to be able to pay the rent.

The problem is, so far the DLP has caused 3000 to loose their jobs, with job lost projected to intensify after April this year.

If you do not have a job, how then can you talk about wanting a NHC house?

The DLP realises that the more people who go on the breadline, the fewer persons will qualify for NHC housing.

The DLP’s aim therefore is to cause massive job lost to regulate demand downward.

Herein lays the DLP housing scam!!!

How will you qualify for a NHC house/unit if you do not have a job?