Submitted by The Scout

rope-nooseQuite recently, the then Foreign Affairs The Hon. Chis Sinckler signed an agreement to retain the death sentence in Barbados, However, we have all come to realize that this is just a formality, since any attempt at carrying out that sentence is blocked even if it meant convening a court session in the middle of the night. All kinds of arguments about human rights are brought up by the Caribbean and the World human rights association/societies.

At present, we have a number of murderers in prison, some who are still eligible to be hung, yet it seems we’re purposely waiting for the time to expire just to keep them at the expense of the taxpayers of this country. While we in Barbados who are members of the CCJ are reluctant in carrying out the death sentence, St.Kitts, a member of the British Privy Council, at 8.A.M today 19th December 2008, hung a man who two years ago murdered his wife.

Will this hanging open the door to such executions in Barbados?

With so many murders being committed in our neighbouring countries and the influx of all kinds of people into Barbados, we need to send a strong message to those who think they can come here and get off easily. I urge the powers that be to take another look at not just retaining the death sentence but for heinous crimes implement such.

175 responses to “Recent Public Execution In St.Kitts”

1. Hahahahahaha, yardbroom! I aint throwing you nuh licks for once!

2. In all issues affecting mankind ethnicity plays a critical role in the degree of justice meted out.
    There are many a case in the USA where black men & boys met their demise in very controversial circumstances.
    A black 14 year boy went to the gas chamber because he was looking after his animals on a pasture when a white man raped a little white girl and that poor little black boy paid the ultimate price for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.Another case of recent vintage occurred when a deranged white woman killed her children and put the blame on a black man.There are so many numerous cases to mention where a lot of non-white people died for crimes they did not commit Many a black person suffered that fate during the horrors of slavery.As a matter of fact black life were of little or no value that games were played with the life of African black people.That is how the game of Polo came about.When the white plantation owners wanted a little fun & excitement.They dug holes and buried African slaves to their shoulders only exposing the African slaves heads.Those bastards then got on the horses with their clubs and rode and lashed the heads of the African slaves until theheads fell off.That is the origins of Polo.Now we have a bunch of black jokers playing and following such a wicked a game such as Polo.The word Picnic also came about when whites were also having their fun when a slave life was about to expire.It was a big party where the whites would put on the best clothing,packed their baskets with food & drink,dance & have a good time when black slaves were being murdered
    All conscious black people do not support Polo and drop the word (picnic) from your vocabulary.The word “PICNIC” is an ACRONYM for pick a nigger.

On the international scene Saddam Hussein was hanged for his so-called crimes against humanity but the many European despots like former Serbian leader I do know how to spell his name is still alive today.He was responsible for the ethnic cleansing that occurred in the for Yugoslavia.
    Capital Punishment is wrong.

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Juris,

My point exactly.

If the man had a better lawyer, would he still be alive now?

4. Hahahaha…you kill me, Negroman. Picnic is actually a French word and polo is a game invented to mimic the old jousts fought by knights. Where did you get your information?

5. AL, I wonder about this. Even if the lawyer missed a deadline, what about appeals to the Privy Council on that very point, the IACHR on the death penalty?

6. Bushman
    I want to be clear. I am not speaking about a right to life, this is about shirking responsibility. “we are all responsible for doing our personal best to give justice at whatever level we operate” ensuring that as parents our charges are brought up in a healthy VIOLENT FREE invironment; ensuring as media operators that our youth are not exposed to obscene and violent influences, and that our population is exposed to untainted facts about events around us; ensuring as educators that children/adults are taught to think as opposed to follow (God, Queen, Country); ensuring as law enforcement that prejudice in no way affects the process to be executed; as political leaders allowing for the selection of those who pass judgement to be done by a non-partisan ‘qualified’ grouping; ensuring as Senators that laws are passed on merit and not on expedience and so on.

7. MY bad, BU. St Kitts is not a signatory to the Convention, which probably means that 5 year peiod should have been reduced.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BUSHTEA

“somewhat like the one which says that you ‘will reap what you sow’.”

Judging from the numbers incarcerated in Barbados, it would seem that only black people in Barbados reap what they sow.

Recently two white men beat the crap out of a black boy, what happen to them? Did they reap what they sow?

9. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“Devil in the Details” I fraid you more than I fraid the real devil, however my use of those statistics was simply to show the illogic of this statement: “No they don’t have these things, they have school massacres, universal drug culture, and huge prisons that create a subculture of violence and vice that is unimaginable”. The fact that countries don’t apply the death penalty has ABSOUTELY no correlation with school massacres, drug culture or subcultures of violence and vice. That was just a baseless emotional argument… don’t you agree?

Devil, I surprise you got time to bother wid my foolish opinions anyway, seeing that we are smack dab in the middle of your favorite and busiest season… de financial crisis affecting your business too?

Bush tea, which part of my above argument is flawed? You like you been out drinking Doorly’s wid Straight talk yuh. 🙂 Look, when you see BWWR, Negroman, Yardbroom and BAFBFP all on the same side watch yuhself yuh.

David and Bush Tea, you both have way too much faith in Governments and judicial systems. When governments around the world demonstrate that they are capable of applying justice fairly to ALL, irrespective of race, ethnicity, religion, political affiliation, level of wealth etc. then you can come again with your argument to grant them the power to execute their citizens.

10. MME

I promised you the link to my favorite online commentary since September.

Here it is

http://www.soniclight.com/constable/notes.htm

11. @Micro Mock Engineer /BAFBFP
    Try to follow me here… I am NOT saying that the present system is great or even fair, in fact Bush Tea is a constant complainer… so the point is NOT about governments around the world showing that they can dispense justice…

The question is ‘what is the best approach for us to take in seeking to create a just, peaceful society.’

Now, the other thing is that none of us are perfect, so we are talking about best efforts here. Somewhat like due diligence.

It seems to me that your alternative is to ‘forget the rules since they are being applied incorrectly /unfairly/ unevenly etc.’

However when there are no rules and boundaries, we get chaos. Children grow up confused, angry and reckless. They are unpractised in self-control and you end up with much more serious types of crime and attitudes to deal with among teens and adults.

From this analysis, we have identified two different ways to achieve a chaotic society…

1- by dropping the rules altogether and having a jungle approach

2 -by having the rules, but applying them unfairly/ unevenly/ unjustly

I suggest that the answer is to fix No. 2 and NOT to opt for 1.

@anonymous
    Thanks for the English lesson. Noted! I will also try to stop using ‘wunna’, and putting so many dots after sentences….

12. @ Bush tea

I deliberately use wunna and dialect so dat nobody can accuse me of bad english but if ya wanna use english, use um correctly dot dot dot!

13. Hey BT: keep the dots….. it maintains the spontaniety of your post.

In fact it is almost too dashed conversational.

14. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

@GP: Thanks for the link… I thought you had given up on me. 🙂

@David: “Why is it that we create armies to protect our borders and civil liberties at large with the knowledge people will die in the name of being patriotic, however we are reluctant to do the same in the name of deleting humans, a minority who will cause society untold harm.”

David, I support the idea of dying or killing to protect ones borders and civil liberties from invaders intent on harming you… that is analogous to your home being invaded by an intruder that threatens your life. This is very different to killing as a deterrent to others who might want to try… that is analogous to the preemptive-strike doctrine made famous by Bush tea’s namesake.

@Bush tea: I agree with your conclusion that we not opt for option 1 , and work at continuously improving option 2. All I am saying is that our fallibility must factor into the punishments we mete out. MMEs have not yet proven themselves competent enough to impose irreversible sentences… leave that out until you become registered in phase 2. 🙂

15. Juris, with all due respect, Polo originated in Mongolia, whose people were some of the best horsemen in the world

Our little research shows that capital punishment was simply used to fit certain types of crime. This issue is one which can find good debate on both sides of the issue. The BU household like many sees this as an ethical and utilitarian matter. We respect the opposite views expressed 🙂

17. Bushman

1- by dropping the rules altogether and having a jungle approach

2 -by having the rules, but applying them unfairly/ unevenly/ unjustly

3 -by changing the rules to exclude the death penalty and have lawyers on both sides accountable for shoddy work (with holding evidence, filing late, incompetance etc.). In fact allow the jury to field at least one question during the process.

I will opt for 3.

18. You know Bush man if you have spent time in jail then to be found innocent at a later date, you should be compensated adequately as well. This will also put pressure on those involved in the process to get it right or pay a price in the future. I am sure that you are aware that a judge is considered to be the twelfth man on the team by members of the bar?

19. MME
    Re … I thought you had given up on me. 🙂

How can I give up on an engineer who can get into the intracies of apoptosis LOL

20. If it is proven beyond a shadow of a doubt, that you committed a murder, you should be hanged. You think that Winston Hall and his counterparts shouldn’t have hanged? I believe that if you do the crime, be prepared to accept the punishment in accordance. How many people hang wrongfully. Wunna only talking shite to consolidate the argument against hanging. I remember David Simmons promised the electorate that if he win his seat that he would ‘hang ’em high’. Not a boy ain’ hang under his tenure. Gimme a break. All of a sudden , Pratt & Morgan was a stumbling block in his way. Wunna full a um.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BONNY PEPPA

Suppose the next boy to get hang is your son.
    Afterwards it is discovered that he was innocent.
    What would you say then?

22. So, Bonny, are you allowed to appeal the judgment?

23. Carson C.
    Did I stammer just now? I don’t think so. Why if it it my son that committed the crime my views should change? Because it is my son? I don’t think so. You do the crime, you do the time. My sons know where I stand already on lawlessness. I always tell them anytime either of them is caught trafficking drugs or getting involved in robbery and they are caught, by law, they will be permitted to make one phone call. I always advise them not to waste the opportunity calling HOME. I mean it. I don’t condone nonsense boy. So I don’t know why you think that my opinion would change about hanging because it is one of my sons. I would be sorry as shite fa he but he got to pay whatever the price. It would hurt as a parent but not for very long. DOAN CALL HOME.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BONNY PEPPA

You did not read what I wrote properly. Look at it again.

25. And you have not answered my question!

26. Juris,
    Season’s greetings to ya good self. Pleezed to meets ya.
    I want to make it emphatically clear to all n’ sundry:
    IF IT IS PROVEN BEYOND A SHADOW OF A DOUBT, that you are the one, then, POPS,ya neck gone .
    I remember a good few years ago these two men had an altercation at a dance in Jackmans, I think, and one of them left the dance, went home for dynamite and come back and ‘blow-up’ the other man’s house. You know who died in that incident? NOt the fella that he had the fracas with. The innocent father of the fella who was no way involved in the quarrel. I knew a sister personally and years after it happened, she would still cry when she recalled the horrific way her elderly dad died. Now the ‘killer’ is asking to be reprieved cause he believes that he is repentant and also that he is holier now than de Pope. Gimme a break. Can the old gentleman have his life back? He took a life and now wants to hold on to his dearly. Change shite. Hang de bitches man.

27. Bonni
    How many Judges would be quick to pass the death penalty (in Barbados they really have no choice for murder) if they had as part of their responsibility, to hang the condemned people? How many prosecuters would be as zealous if they had to pull the lever? How many Governors Generals would refuse to pardon if they were required to play executioner as well?

28. 1. It was not a PUBLIC execution.

2. And unfortunately it is unlikely to reduce the murder rate.

Anybody remember when Trinidad hanged 9 people in one week about a decade ago and people rejoiced and expected that Trinidad would be safer because the bad guys had been hanged.

Instead the murder rate in Trinidad keeps going UP, and UP and UP.

Unfortunately hanging does NOT reduce the muder rate.

29. Negroman wrote “The death penalty is barbaric,inhumane & anti-life.It should be abolish in Barbados.”

I ALWAYS disagree with Negroman.

But this time he is right.

30. BAFBFP
    My main squeeze BAFBFP, you ‘if-ing’ ta much fa me bosey. If shit had wings you know wah would happen? We would be in syrus troubl ’bout hay.
    We gun agree to disagree pun dis whun but de luff still day. I comin’ fa piece a de ol ham ya got in de larda and a slice a de great cake. If ya got any jug-jug, ya cud toss in piece fa good measure too, once it doan taste like my neighba whun. Lord have mercy. She should be sentenced to death fa persecuting jug-jug so. Ya bad.

31. Bush Tea wrote “When I was a teenager, I went through the stage where I felt the need to challenge my father’s right to set the rules in my house. ”

BT You were a naughty boy then???

My parents did not administer many lashes.

The rule was that if you do not like you did not like the parental rules then you were free to live elsewhere, and when you go to live elsewhere do NOT come back.

So very little violence was used in my father’ shouse and very little has been used in mine. Yet we managed to raise well disciplined men and women.

It worked for my father’s children, and it has worked for mine.

32. Bobby Peppa wrote “How many people hang wrongfully”

Dear Bonny Peppa: Even if only ONE person has been hanged wrongfully, then that ONE is too many.

How would you like if the ONE hanged wrongfully was your favourite son?

33. J,
    Lemme tell ya sumting Plum puddin’. I was raised with many, many siblings. Too many to count on both hands. I was about the third last and I telling you, licks was de order of the day. Ya either hear or feel. I raised my sons wid real licks too unlike my siblings who spared the rod far too often. Today my sons are doing okay and I can’t say the same for my siblings offspring. So the argument can go both ways Honeycomb. I believe in lashing children not brutalising them but giving them a good whipping when necessary. I am doing the same with my grands too. You disobey granny, you will meet my friend and your enemy, the belt.
    You say unfortunately, hanging does not reduce the murder rate. I agree but it sure reduces the murderers. Hanging is not a deterrent. It is the punishment for murder. Those 9 would never get the opportunity to kill again.

I passin’ fa piece a putten fa de holidays.
    I

34. J,
    Bonnie in got na ‘favrit’ sons. I got two sons. I don’t fava one over the other. I got a favrit gran. De res’ doan kno’ doe.

I repeating myself too much on this one. If you are PROVEN guilty beyond a shadow………..you suffer the consequences.

35. There are certain laws in Barbados and as a citizen you need to know about them. The traffic law states that if you exceed 30 M.P.H on an ordinary road you can be reported for speeding. Therefore if you speed and is caught and the magistrate fines you $ 500.00, why complain? Similarly, the law states that if you deliberately kill someone the penalty is death, why should anyone complain? There are laws to any country, if you don’t want to do the time, don’t do the time. In some eastern block countries, you can’t even hiss at a woman or you would get charged and punished. I bet none of you would go there and try that. Therefore you know if you kill purposely you will be hanged, then just don’t do it.

36. Mr sincklar didn’t sign the death treaty but quite recently at a conference he stated that Barbados still retains the penalty and will continue to do so. The Barbados government will have to decide what they really want. If they think it should be abolish, well, come out and say so and put the nescessary amendment in place. Failing to do that implement the stated judgement when needed

37. But Bonny juges are human, juries are human. Judges and juries have been know to make mistakes.

Alright not your favourite son. My favourite innocent son, wrongfully executed.

What then???

38. Bonny peppa
    I too have a son, if he in defence of himself kills someone, I would go to the end to support him. However if he stupidly gets himself in trouble, God knows, I would cry long long tears for him but he has to face the judgement. God knows it would hurt me to the core but wha. I know of a man who signed the back of his retirement cheque to save his son from jail after the boy had stolen a lot of money and splurged with it. The old man died almost penniless and the same boy did little for that man after he got off.

39. Scout, it is one thing to impose the death penalty; another to carry it out, You see, the convicted man is able to use the law to help him escape the noose. All perfectly legal.

40. Sir Scout,
    Cheers mi amiga.
    I passin’ by you an’ we gine get drunk wid a bottle a NON-alcoholic wine man caws I don’ understan’ dese peoples a ‘tall. Kill and thou shalt be killen, kill and thou shalt be killen. It’s as simple as that. You kill willfully, you shall be killen likewise. (‘bring dah neck hay’)

41. Juris
    Same thing with speeding, some people speed and get away, some speed and get caught. That does not change the law. ya do the crime,if ya get caught, ya do the time,if that is the penalty given.SIMPLE.

42. @J
    “BT You were a naughty boy then???”

….now too!!

43. Don’t tell about being Christian, the five foolish virgins did nothing wrong except run out of oil for their lamps and they were banished. Ya do the crime, ya do the time, ya pay the penatly SIMPLE.

44. Bush Tea
    Confession time? There is a bit of naughtiness in the best of us.

45. Your analogy is misplaced Scout. You are caught and sentenced like the speeder. But then begins another legal battle; to carry out the sentence. The convicted man does not just sit there and let them hang him. He fights with all the law at his command.

46. Juris
    So what, that’s his right but when ALL his rights are exhausted and he still guilty BREK HE NECK. The person he deliberately killed didn’t have that RIGHT. He is fortunate, but ya guilty DEAD.

47. J,

Let’s turn around the question. Your son is brutally murdered and the killer is proven guilty of murder on all counts. What should be his punishment? What would you like to see done to him?
    Do you know that some of these murderers are as cold and callous as death itself. Some of them show no remorse or mercy. Jail time is cakes to them and your son is gone forever.

48. Agreed. Once all his rights are exhausted. But nowadays, included in those rights are an appeal to the IACHR which does not favour hanging, and an appeal to the Privy Council which insists that all appeals be heard in 5 years!

49. Bonny Peppa
    J would be at Dodds twice a day with Proppa pork fa he and try to rehabilitate he.
    To ALL THOSE AGAINST HANGING
    ST Vincent will very soon hang the man that severed his girlfriend’s head in the van stand in the presence of many commuters. TEK DA. One more, Wanna getting freighten or wha?

50. Because, he woman left he, he decide no other man can’t get she, so he bait she and caught she in the van stand, drag she outta the van and cut off she head and pelt it in the drain. You will tell me he should live. Hanging is too humane for him.