Submitted by The Scout

rope-nooseQuite recently, the then Foreign Affairs The Hon. Chis Sinckler signed an agreement to retain the death sentence in Barbados, However, we have all come to realize that this is just a formality, since any attempt at carrying out that sentence is blocked even if it meant convening a court session in the middle of the night. All kinds of arguments about human rights are brought up by the Caribbean and the World human rights association/societies.

At present, we have a number of murderers in prison, some who are still eligible to be hung, yet it seems we’re purposely waiting for the time to expire just to keep them at the expense of the taxpayers of this country. While we in Barbados who are members of the CCJ are reluctant in carrying out the death sentence, St.Kitts, a member of the British Privy Council, at 8.A.M today 19th December 2008, hung a man who two years ago murdered his wife.

Will this hanging open the door to such executions in Barbados?

With so many murders being committed in our neighbouring countries and the influx of all kinds of people into Barbados, we need to send a strong message to those who think they can come here and get off easily. I urge the powers that be to take another look at not just retaining the death sentence but for heinous crimes implement such.

175 responses to “Recent Public Execution In St.Kitts”

1. @Scout
    Maybe we should start a national register where all those against hanging can sign up their names.
    If anyone ever kills one of them or their family, that signature will excuse the killer from the death sentence.

…for the rest of us, we with Bonny Peppa…

2. Bush Tea
    We want two registers, we want the one for people like me who would want to pull the lever if somebody murder one of my childern or my wife deliberately.

3. J
    Now that Scout mention that incident in St. Vincent, what you think should happen to that fella? A case like that I would refer to as an open and shut case.Hang he.
    One of my sons is in a position to interact with these murderers in the law courts and that is why I can tell you that these criminals show little or no remorse. He is dumbfounded at times when some of them escape the hangman’s noose. My question though is, why condemn a man to hang when no one is ever hanged in B/dos? You could help me Scout?

4. This is one thing that might or can stop me from going to Heaven. I would PERSONNALLY KILL that person if through some foolish law that person gets off. I believe in the old adege “It’s better to be tried by twelve than borne by six.” I would have to beg God to forgive me if I was wrong.

5. Bush Tea,
    Greetings for de holidays to ya good self. Ya gine in de Park Christmas mornin’ and show-off de garbs?
    Wah kind a bush tea you is doe? Lemme tell ya sumting, I hope you ain’ de ones dat does taste like bitta-gawl.

I got my fountain pen hay reddy to sign dah regista boy. Pass by me wid um when ya reddy, hear? ( a gun keep a cold beer in de freeza fa ya)

6. It is interesting to hear bloggers who value life so much that they would allow persons like this to murder innocent people and not be required to pay the appropriate price…

Bush Tea values life so much that such animals who commit such crimes should pay the ultimate price – to demonstrate how valuable life is.

The problem with the first scenario is that the the innocent life taken by murder has been devalued by the lacklustre penalty.

It says that we are not serious. There are many people who have no problem with prison – it may even be an improvement on their ‘outside’ existence. Do such persons then have license to kill?

7. @Bonny Peppa
    I don’t wake up so early to make the Christmas morning thing, plus i’m not really a Christmas person myself. But that Bonny Beer sound real good.

I am the kind of Bush Tea that is good for all ailments….could be a bit hard to swallow sometimes though…

8. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Maybe you’re right Bush tea. Maybe there are some people who are beyond the redemptive and transformative power of BBE… I’m sure Ms. Devil would agree with you on that one LOL. Don’t lock dem up, string dem up… the best way to demonstrate how valuable life is, is to take a life in retribution. ROFL

9. Bush man ignoring me. So I loss this one then.

I can’ deal wid Bonny or Scout ‘ cause, cause … I can’ deal wid dem on this one. Ga long and keep yah turkey dis year cause I ain’ sharing mine.

Faget de national register, we all know wah dat would prove.

10. The Scout // December 20, 2008 at 6:07 am

“All you people who oppose the death sentence will only do that until a close relative of family member is murdered. Then you would want to be the executioner.”

Do you really think that in our decision to oppose the death penalty those of us who oppose have not considered what we would feel if a relative or family member or anyone close was murdered? Do you really think we are that stupid? And what in Hades gives you the idea that some of us opponents of the death penalty have NOT had someone close murdered?

Don’t assume. In that lies the same room for error as in executing an innocent person.

11. Bush Tea,

Exactly what teachings of the Saviour do you adhere to?

12. @BWWR
    I have nothing but admiration for your emotional ‘goody-two-shoe-ness’, and I have no doubt that you are genuine.

The REALITY of life on this earth however is one of cold logic and the unrelenting spiritual and physical laws of nature.
    It is one matter to have strong convictions at the personal level, that is fine – but at the ORGANISATIONAL level, where we have to cater for ALL TYPES of persons, with all types of personalities and leanings, it is VITAL for the good of the group,that there are GROUP RULES.

Any group that defines its rules to suit only its goody two shoes (GTS) -when it also includes degenerates and louts in its membership is therefore setting the stage for its own demise.

Its like having one of your sons as an alcoholic and the ‘house rule’ allowing free access to all sorts of liquor in the home. Such a rule is fine with Miss GTS, but would be a poor family rule.

As to the finality of the death sentence, we should put this in perspective… We ALL will die. Innocent people die everyday -just from breathing in a stray virus, eating some junk or being hit by a vehicle-or stray bullet fired by a friendly murderer. Then they are accidents, heart attacks etc etc…and yes, some murderers -after extensive trial, may be put to death in keeping with the societies strong stand on taking innocent life.

Truth is, life is not so much about being ‘alive’ – but much more about HOW you live and HOW you die.
    Indeed I would think that there are some things for which we would willingly give OUR lives…reflect on what LOVE really is….

…otherwise we should reconsider the value of our current lives.

Anyone therefore, who maliciously and with prior thought, takes the life of another should have done unto him/her, what he was prepared to do unto another…. Society owes that to him/her….out of love.

13. @ Juris
    Those that he ACTUALLY preached – all!!

14. @BAFBFP

How am I ignoring you? I must have missed something.

15. Unfortunately hanging does NOT reduce the muder rate.
    ……………………………………………………………….
    It does not increase it either. I support capital punishment. The viscious killers who take peoples lives ought to know before they commit the crime they will be put to death.

I have noticed a change in how the police reveal statistics. Before they informed of all crimes eg burglary, gun related offences, rape, murder etc. Nowadays we are never informed of murder stats. I sense and the Commissioner asserts we have lowest murder rate in region. But where are the specifics? We as citizens should know the number in order to work towards reducing murders to none at all.

I read St.Kitts recorded 22 murders this year which is extremely high for a tiny island with less than 40, 000 population. St. Lucia recorded 30 plus. ditto St. Vincent. Trinidad has gone past 530. These are frightening stats but we dont know the figure for our own island. Why Commissioner?

16. Anon
    Yah know who want killing? The people that sending back (repatriating?) people who learned they craft in the “deveped societies” and are returned to their place of birth without warning or good cause.

17. Bushman you miss a whole lot. I responded to you the best I could and gun leave it at that. Truth is yeah, this is one topic that I would love to change someone’s opion on, cause I right, and de Negro, and BWWR and J and CCC and halfa MME and de Judge.

Georgie Porgie (first do no harm mixup with old Testament) very quiet.

18. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Bush tea,

No one is disputing the fact that GROUP RULES are VITAL. And nobody has recommended rules to suit only goody two shoes (GTS). Life in prison is both the pragmatic and moral solution. It is more pragmatic for several reasons, not least of which is the observation that it generally costs society less to lock someone up for a life of hard labour than to give them that “extensive trial” associated with a death sentence… lawyers like BWWR and death sentence cases cost several times more than prison guards and administration :-). Moral, on the basis that only BBE is competent to administer irrevocable sentences.
    The analogy of an alcoholic in the home is a very bad one. What you are ACTUALLY advocating is not analogous to locking the liquor-cabinet, but keeping it open and killing the alcoholic son.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BUSH TEA

You know that hanging rules do not apply to Whites, Indians and Orientals in Barbados.

I refuse to sacrefice my black people.

I am not Bonny Peppa.

20. A good example of why we hold the Utilitarian view is supported by the case of Caylee Anthony in the USA. A little girl who disappeared but unfortunately her remains were found buried recently.

How does a society at the time feel about the murder and more importantly treating with the murderer?

What is the state of mind of the PEOPLE at the time of the incident.

We can look at the numbers, we can look at the sanctity of life, we can look at all the logical arguments.

What matters is how does the society as a majority on that ethical continuum feel about that person who murdered a 3 year old.

21. Man MME, What life in prison what?!?

Ok… suppose that Bush Tea had listened to you and gone and invest my Georgie Bundle is those shares that you liked….

…and now when I take a stock, the Bush Man ain’t worth grass…
    House get tek way… Wife gone long… girlfriend gone too… nothing to eat…

… Wuh MME, prison look like sugar to a man like that.

You mean I now got a free license? … weh you living MME????….

For some of us in the group, prison don’t mean squat… QED, for them taking a LIFE ain’t mean squat…

what kind of group rule is that?

22. Yes, it may be true that some were hanged innocently, when evidence later revealed they were not guilty.
    This is sad. It however, shows that the Judicial system is not perfect (Juris, I’m sure you’ll agree).
    However, this should not discredit the system, which is man-made and prone to loop holes.
    What about those (and there are numerous cases) who willfully murder and escape punishment by having a good lawyer who is skillful in finding weaknesses in the case?
    What about those with the “right connections” who manipulate the system?

I have a friend from a developed far eastern democratic country who recently told me that their crime rate is in the 0 percentage figures. Why? Tough laws on crime. Murder is actually unknown.

Capital punishment is penalty for the crime.

23. What rre you saying, Bust Tea? Avatar
    What rre you saying, Bust Tea?

Bush Tea,
    Are you speaking in codes? Can’t understand what you are talking about.

24. Negroman please inform these people that words are introduced into people’s vocab and have differnet meanings altogether! And that is a linguistic fact!

25. @CarsonCC
    What you mean is that the system is unfair, unbalanced and biased against blacks. You may well be right, but the solution is to fix THAT problem- not to dump the baby with the dirty water.

@What are you saying, Bush Tea?

You are probably right too. It is a long story. MME understands. Maybe we should be more general if we are conversing publicly like this…sorry.

26. The word ‘abstract’ in I think it is in St. Kitts (can’t remember) or one of the Caribbean countries ……. means something totally differnent I think it is a peice of jewllery!

Now @ Bush Tea ….. you said

If you want peace strife for justice ….
    No truer words have been spoken.

@ CC

You said

Recently two white men beat the crap out of a black boy, what happen to them? Did they reap what they sow?

———————————————–

I asked this very same question, no one answered. However, I KNOW that if one of my friends from on the block was wrongfully charged, and was hanged; how many people would be bold enough to kick up pist about it and demand and get JUSTICE! ……

No one!

I understand how persons would feel if their loved one had been brutally killed by someone however, it seems so inhumane! It does not make sense …… Try to make society better bottom line!

27. @Micro Mock Engineer

I think that I will refrain from debating with you until after the season. The way that you are deliberately abusing my analogies leads me to believe that I am arguing with ‘Cockspur’ or ‘Old Gold’…LOL

28. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL BT… if I knew you were taking my stock advice seriously I would have kept updating it regularly for your benefit 🙂

That Cockspur/Old Gold remark derail my train of thought LOL… you looking through my monitor or wuh? Yuh right about abusing your analogy though 🙂

“Prison like sugar to a man like that” LOL… you mean the kinda prison we got bout hey. To use your line of argument, if we have a concern about the way the prison is run, we should fix it, not kill the convicted in order to bypass the ‘problem’. Think about it BT, with all your knowledge about the ‘Master Plan’, you really feel that giving someone prior notice of their ‘final hour’ is worse punishment (or better retribution) than a life of hard labour?

29. Read in one of the news papers today that both Antigua and Jamaica are considering starting back hanging too.As i posted before St.Vincent is seriously considering hanging that guy who severed his former girlfried’s head sometime early in the new year.
    my Bible tells me render unto the government what is theirs and render unto God what is his. The death penalty is a govenmental law and MUST be upheld.

30. David // December 21, 2008 at 11:58 am

Sorry I don’t believe in majority opinions as relevant. It’s an easy way to make a decision but a horible way as witnessed in every singly democracy in history.

31. If the Bushman would rather play with MME that’s fine.

Earth to Georgie Porgie, Earth to Georgie Porgie, come in please…

32. Come on, you tell me you and a person had a disagreement and he went home carefully plan your murder and then executed it. Why should he not lose his life too? Funny thing these guys then fight hard to live. It doesn’t make sense to me and it’s making a mockery of the system. The victim also had a RIGHT to life that was taken from him by the murderer,therefore HIS RIGHT to live automaticaslly should be also taken from him on summary conviction.When you were planning the murder, these thing should have been taken into consideration.

33. It is undoubtedly true that in some jurisdictions black people have been executed unfairly, capital punishment or not cannot put this right…it was other issues at fault in those jurisdictions.

The enormity of a crime should not sway a decision on legalised state killing, in taking a decision on a matter like state killing, the decision must be taken on the basis of whatever the crime, however heinous or whatever the magnitude of it legalised state killing “will not ” be considered.

If you believe in the “sanctity of life” as I do, then that sanctity does not “disintergrate” because it is the life of another person whose actions have been heinous.

I will not try to adopt a position of moral superiority on this issue, because there are people whose morality is not in question who take an opposing view.

One must be comfortable in any decision to take a human life, some find that decision easier than others. There are a few things so precious that “I” hesitate at the taking of them…life is supreme in that regard.

I could not ask others to take such an action in my name when I would hesitate to comply.

34. “I could not ask others to take such an action in my name when I would hesitate to comply.”…yardbroom.

Every day, we require of our policemen, soldiers, doctors, para medics, firemen, and others, to make life and death decisions on a routine basis. In many cases they have to make split second decisions of life and death….

…and we here talking about not dealing with tried, convicted, appealed murderers -after YEARS of review- (the few that are caught and found guilty and lose appeals…) because of the ‘sanctity of life’….

Give me a break yardbroom. you can do better than that.

At least you people must recognize by now, that it is your sissy attitudes that embolden murderers and devalue the lives of innocent victims.

we always get exactly what we deserve.

35. @ Bush Tea
    “Every day, we require of our policemen, soldiers, doctors para medics, firemen, and others, to take life and death decisions on a routine basis. In many cases they have to make split second decisions on life and death”

Of the above I have done a few of them and done them without hesitation. I have looked down the barrel of a gun before, but it is through that experience from which I have gained “inner strength.” I have no reason to prove how “manly “I am with the life of others, some might disagree. I think no less of them for it, true strength is in the “mind”.

36. Yardbroom
    If you were faced in a situation with another person and it was a case of you taking his/her life or that person taking yours. What would you do?

37. Pop deh necks as long as I or non ah de Judges or lawyers or Senators or politicians don’ have to be de executioner or got tah watch it happen….

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

38. @Yardbroom
    It is not a matter of being ‘manly’, it is a case where there is a JOB to be done on behalf of society, and somebody has to do it – or all of us will suffer.

I am sure that many of us can’t even kill a fowl, but expect to eat chicken every day. Similarly, we expect to walk the road in peace and security, without dealing with the issue of the value placed by society on innocent human life.

If as a society, we fail to support our ‘men’ – i.e. those who are brave enough to deal with these roles that NEED to be done, then the society will break down…in nature, only one outcome is sure for a group of sissies…

…If Bush tea is right, we should be seeing a continuing breakdown in law and order in these societies that generally compromise their value of innocent life….despite all the success of the softies and goodie two shoes….

39. @ Bush Tea
    I fail to see the connection of “men” I will let that pass.

When you have been in a situation as I have been to draw live ammunition from the armoury, to sign for it, to have your weapon checked and then to go out knowing that those you are up against are well trained and determined…that is different to talking about it. The “men” I have been with were quiet without any bravura, hoping to return without half of their faces blown off- not a pleasant sight – I have a prety good idea what it means to be manly.

@Scout
    The situation you have related I was trained for..I will leave it at that.

Now to the issue:
    We have become entrapped in a vortex and with every revolution of it we are convinced that we are right. In our efforts to secure victory we ratchet up the psychological pressure, suppose your wife is murdered? suppose your daughter, what then? Convinced in our minds that the opposition will meekly succumb, but alast principled stands are not like that. So we beat our breast and say the opposition is either mad, bad or not manly enough. Whilst in truth they have only taken a principled stand borne of a deep “inner conviction”…that is all.

Bush Tea you also said..”we get what we deserve”..

How true we have convinced ourselves not only in this but in other areas that all politicians are corrupt, crooks and dishonest. So we look for it. Those who are not will join the merry band for that is expected of them and those who do not seek a fortune will not venture forth for to do will mean they are tarnished.
    We have lost “faith” to see honesty, to be honest and to inculcate it and expect it of others, a change must come first from ourselves…we “definitely” includes myself.

40. Bush Tea
    Would you, you BT, execute a convicted criminal?
    If the answer is yes then you’s the kinda simpleton that de state could do without…

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhh

41. Real men declare war on other countries and send de sons of poor people off to fight them….

AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

42. Dear Facts:

You wrote “I have a friend from a developed far eastern democratic country who recently told me that their crime rate is in the 0 percentage figures. Why? Tough laws on crime. Murder is actually unknown.”

1. That person is NOT your friend, because friends do not lie to us and do not expect us to believe their lies.

2. Mention the name of that murderless paradise on earth nuh?

A ‘friend’ from Bahrain told me once too that NOBODY in Bahrain commits fornication nor adultery. What she did not know was at the time my sister was living in Saudi Arabia ( a nurse) the very heart of Islam, and she saw the evidence of fornication and adultery every day.

I let the Barahni idiot go ‘long. I can’t bear to argue with idiots.

43. I wonder though if the Bahrani woman could explain the existence on clinics in Sweden and other Europen countries which specilize in surgically “re-storing” virginity.

She really think that poor black women from Barbados go to those expensive northern Europenn clinics to have their virginity restored?

44. Carson C .
    According to J, it is too near to christmas to call you an idiot so I gun jus’ call you a goat. De rope, pasture, everything.
    You think that the judicial system we have is prejudice? Juman went to prison for killing he wife. He is un-black, I think.
    Merry Christmas anyway.

45. Yardbroom
    You still didn’t answer my question, what you did was dance around it beautifully like the rest of you softies would have done.
    However, we can discuss this for the rest of the year and well into the new year and we would still have differing opinions, therefore, let’s agreee to disagree and I sincerely hope NO-ONe interferes with you or your family/relatives/close friends to cause any of you to change your mind. Have a GOOD Christmas and do but please don’t overdo. God Bless. Just remember the true reason of the season

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BONNY PEPPA

“Juman went to prison for killing he wife. He is un-black, I think.”

Juman and how many more of his or other races?

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BONNY PEPPA

As a matter of fact go back the last forty five years and name another from any other racial group than Juman.

48. A white boy, a teller get trow in jail faj teafing ten years ago

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhh

49. Bush Tea // December 21, 2008 at 10:27 am . Your views and convictions (and I do not mean criminal) are your own. I could go into a long explanation of mine and the REALITY of those views, and it isn’t goody two shoes, but as very real social conscience on my part and a desire to see our society improve, not regress.

To convict a person of murder depends on two main factors. First, there is the act itself, called the “actus reus” and second, there is the state of mine, called the “mens rea” or “malice aforethought”. If you cannot prove the second, you have manslaughter, not murder. There is also the question of the mental capacity of the person committing the actus reus. That is determined by a set of rules (updated from time to time) called the McNaughton Rules of 1832. These rules do not really keep any kind of pace with the advances in psychiatry.

That aside, I grew up in a time when the death penalty was not only on the books, but practiced. Practiced in most cases. Of course, the appeal process was far shorter and usually there was no appeal. 21 days after sentence, the convicted person was hanged.

Hanging itself is a brutal way to go. It is not only brutal on the person hanged, who can, with a broken neck and with urine and feces running down their bodies, hang for as much as 3 minutes (provided the neck is broken, which is by no means always the case) conscious. During the executions following the Nurenburg trials, one of the executed did not have his neck broken and suffered for 20 minutes at the end of the rope. Executions are hard and cause untold mental problems for all involved, from the death watch officers to the medical people to the priest to the family of the convicted person. Execution does not only end a life, it ruins many others theretofore going on quite nicely. I know. I have witnessed it.

In Barbados, we have no incidents with anyone trying to prove that someone innocent was executed – and maybe before we go signing undertakings to keep the death penalty, we ought to.

In the UK however, there are several such, most notably Derek Bentley, a 19 year-old of “diminished mental capacity” in other words, Derek Bentley was retarded. You see, during World War II the blast from a German bomb caused Derek to fall and hit his head on a pile of rubble causing permanent brain damage. Derek had the mental age of 11 and suffered from epilepsy as a result. He was lured to go on a robbery (without properly understanding what he was doing or that the 17 year old was armed with a gun) by a 17 year old boy. The boy, not Bentley, shot a policeman during the robbery. As the boy was underaged, they could not hang him, so they hung Bentley. The boy who shot the policeman spent 10 years in jail. Now, all these years later, the case has been reexamined and the decision and conduct of the Lord Cheif Justice, Lord Goddard (whom I was presented to here in Barbados when he was staying as the guest of our then Chief Justice, Sir Allan Collymore) has been severely censured for his conduct and misdirection of the case. However, Goddard CJ bowed to political pressure that dictated that someone hang. In 1998, 45 years after Bentley was executed, he was posthumously pardoned. And much good that did him.

Death is very final and for a society to adopt the death penalty is to me in this 21st Century the sure sign of a backward society – and I do not believe that Barbados is that. And later if the person you hanged is found not to have committed the crime, what are you going to do? Do like the Brits and say “SORRY” or “OOPS”?

Given the advances in DNA and criminal investigation generally, I do think that if you were to reinvestigate the cases of people executed over the years in Barbados, you might well find that there are SEVERAL unjust executions.

These days, given the lengthy appeal processes involved, the death sentence can fairly be described as cruel and unusual punishment on that basis of delay alone. Pratt and Morgan goes a ways to rectifying that – BUT NOT FAR ENOUGH!!!

Without in any way seeking to provoke a religeous argument, I refer to two biblical incidents. First, Lot and Co. and second, “Vengeance is mine, sayeth…..”.

Finally, the penultimate English executioner (who carried out executions throughout the Commonwealth also and trained tghe Barbados executioner – and executed Bentley) was named Albert Pierrepoint. In the course of his career, he is reputed to have hanged over 603 people. Here is what he had to say – a man in the front line – about the death penalty:

“I have come to the conclusion that executions solve nothing, and are only an antiquated relic of a primitive desire for revenge which takes the easy way and hands over the responsibility for revenge to other people…The trouble with the death penalty has always been that nobody wanted it for everybody, but everybody differed about who should get off.”

I agree with the executioner and I stabd by my statement that executions are a soft option for governments and that, Bush Tea, is reality.

50. BWWR
    By far and away the most intelligent comment to date on this sordid topic.