limeThe Barbadian Broadband consumers maybe interested in a recent development in the United Kingdom. A Code of Practice has been implemented which seeks to better inform broadband consumers the line speeds they believe they are subscribing to. We had a look at the list of Net providers in the UK and we don’t see C&W signed on.

What are we missing?

Although there will be no penalties arising from the code of practice, it is commendable that the net providers in the UK sees merit in collaborating on an initiative which places the customer at the centre of the objective. Hopefully the providers in Barbados would adopt the approach of their sister companies in the UK, Barbadians are customers too.

Cable and Wireless has the lion share of the Broadband market in Barbados which makes it difficult to mirror 100% what is happening in the UK, however the desire to be transparent and to put steps in place to fully satisfy customers is a lesson still to be learnt.

LIME tell us what is a realistic broadband speed to expect please!

Thanks to the people over at KoolBarbados.

114 responses to “LIME Enforces Speed Limits On Broadband Highway”

1. JC, you got a big bottom?

2. @ David…do you really think it is as easy as that? We go and level accusations at the company with what kind of proof? The complaints of customers? Customers need to take on the fight by themselves.

3. This Bitter Limer confusing me…..

You state that the modems are inferior, now you want the customers to take the fight to LIME?
    Where is your conscience?
    If you know this and do nothing then you are just as bad as your employer.
    Maybe you dont want to lose out on that fat payout with all the trimmings.
    So either shut up and stop whining or do something to save the customers money.
    I think you are only here now talking shit because the axe is about to fall……but trust me…I would know ….ya aint going home broke guy.

4. @Bitter Limer

Agree with you partially.

In the USA and other developed countries employees routinely leak information to the public which is then investigated by others with a vested interest.

Remember that we are all in it together, nothing comes without a price.

5. @Skubiszewski: “Seriously THERE IS NOTHING TO BE DONE!!!!

With respect… Incorrect!!!

@Skubiszewski: “Any suggestions?

As .22 suggested above, use the available competition. Wherever and wherever possible. Take a risk! (Gasp!!!)

Is your Internet provider LIME? Try Freemotion / TeleBarbados / Sunbeach…

Is your Cell phone provider LIME? Try Digicel…

Is your long distance provider LIME? Try Blue Communcations (www.blue.bb), Digicel, TeleBarbados… Or use VoIP.

The Company does not listen to its customers, or (frankly) the “legislators” nor “regulators”. (The quotation marks in this paragraph are *very* intentional…)

They *do*, however, listen very closely to Adam Smith’s “Invisible Hand”…

Just look at the (telecommunications) situation in Jamaica for empirical proof of this… Jamaicans know how to stand up!

I will have more to say to this tomorrow. But now I have some actual work to do….

6. Sigh…

In the Geek: s/Wherever/Whenever/

I miss having human editors proofing my language….

7. Krzysztof Skubiszewski Avatar
    Krzysztof Skubiszewski

@ Chris Halsall

None of your suggestions lead to any improvement by C & W.

My only complaint is poor Internet performance. And nobody on the island currently offers anything better than C & W.

I have taken professional advice to force C & W to reduce their Internet charges to me. And they have agreed.

A concrete step we all can take.

It’s not an improvement in service either but it shows they know they’re not performing.

8. […] Many Barbadians seem clueless as to what their options are in the circumstances. BU family member Chris Halsall has been like a stuck record in his repeat that Barbadians who are dissatisfied with LIME’s […]

9. This is a test as Far as I can go.
    2:16am.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/370284548.png

Internet was slow as hell until 2am in the morning where the speed bumps back up and then down again.

YAWN! Time to switch providers when we can ‘afford’ our final alternative.

*good night*

10. Krzysztof Skubiszewski

That is good news. I trying that today self… but let me ask you something, you is a NAZI? That may be the difference with me getting through?

11. Even the LIME voice answering 1-800-804-2994 is really penetrating. Need to cut down on the treble..and then every twenty seconds the voice comes back for ten seconds saying “all our agents are still busy. Please continue to hold. Your call will be handled in the order it was received”.

Quite annoying. As if it is driving you to hang up. Been holding on for some time now. Hear that voice about 25 times already.

12. Report

The Customer Rep. at 1-800-804-2994 in St Lucia, told me that it may be the ADSL filter problem. She said I should try unplugging my phone and filters and plug directly into the line feed (direct supply) and see if the problem continues. She said I should unplug all the extensions and filters.

That not being satisfactory, I called 292-5050, stated my problem and asked to speak to somebody in Barbados. The Operator put me through to the PA of the CEO and she gave me a number to call directly to the person who seems to be assigned to deal with this problem.

I called the number and got an away from my desk message. I left a message and as soon as I get through I will give a further update and hopefully a direct link to BU family to ask for a rebate for the poor service. At least this would be a good way to protest.

13. Krzysztof Skubiszewski Avatar
    Krzysztof Skubiszewski

@ROK

What’s a NAZI? I know what a Nazi is.

BU has started a campaign to get C & W sorted out. By withholding payment to them.

Here’s what I wrote on that subject.

@BU

Excellent idea to withhold payment. Thatโ€™ll bring C & W to their senses.

But continue paying for the landline โ€œserviceโ€ so they canโ€™t cut us off for non-payment.

Withhold only the Internet connection charge and send C & W an email to their โ€œhelpโ€ address stating exactly why youโ€™re doing it.

And keep at it until we get what weโ€™re paying for.

14. What’s the “help” address? Why send us searching for it? Or maybe I missed something.

Withholding paymeny may mean that you get your internet service cut at any time. I prefer the negotiation for the rebate. Will let you know how it turns out.

NAZI, Nazi, nazi… trying to be smart I see.

15. Krzysztof Skubiszewski Avatar
    Krzysztof Skubiszewski

@ROK

Not trying to be smart. We Polish people aren’t crazy about people who throw that word about.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nazism

16. @ technician….BIG FAT STUPSE

I am a LIME customer but let me tell you something if at any time I do not get proper service from them I does work to suit. I DO NOT PAY for what I DID NOT GET. Simple. You pay for a service, if you do not get it you are entitled to a credit. Why the hell should I protect your money for you? I protect my money for me. If customers don’t do the same DAT SUIT.
    YOU!

@ technician …What fat pay out what? You obviously think I am a highly paid technician like you were. My job done axe I have nothing to save and I aint gine home wid shit so stop assssuming! The only evidence I have is the same as the average customer….common sense..if something don’t work good, it can’t be no good. The problem is with bajans that dem does talk too much and dont do shit. You guys call and complain and bitch in my ears for 15 mins, knowing full well I am no help to you and at truth be told the end of the day I pretending to care over the phone but I really dont give a damn, while listening to you I rolling my eyes cause I tired listening to yuh and just want you to shut to hell up and put down your phone cause I know when de due date hit yu gine and pay de bill and all de shitey service wunna getting next promotion LIME got you in dem stores lining up like dem giving way money at de booth. Stupse!

I just said what I said to help open wunna eyes cause wunna like wunna blind as piss.

17. Krzysztof Skubiszewski

Sorry, but you have a lot not to be crazy about. I really asked about the help address and you send me a link to nazism. Not interested in being a nazi.

18. Will Prime Minister David Thompson be able to save jobs? Maybe while he is at the negotiating table he should send some other messages to LIME. They do have an ethical responsibility to show more care to our region which has generated enormous profits for them over the years.

PM to meet with BWU and Lime
    December 09, 2008

Prime Minister David Thompson has stepped into the impasse between the Barbados Workers Union and the former Cable and Wireless now known as LIME.

He will meet the two sides Wednesday afternoon at the Ministry of Labour at Warrens.

The company has indicated that it plans to lay off 250 workers this month a situation which the BWU says is untenable.

The BWU and Lime have held three sessions with little or no progress.

The union has accused the company of violating the process set out by the social partnership, a charge which Lime has denied.

The union is also arguing that the workers are being sent home at the same time that the company has announced a profit of over US$90 million.

http://www.cbc.bb/index.pl/article?id=2804523

19. These are indicators that C&W and now LIME really care nothing about people. They do not care about their staff and even less about their customers.

Anybody with excess would back down at Xmas time. So even the Xmas spirit which they say they embrace, eludes them.

I can only conclude that we are being tricked by C&W. We continue to be raped by this entity. At a time when everybody everywhere is feeling the economic pinch, this company is not just adding to inflation, but sitting fat; a lot of free money; yes largesse; that is one thing they cannot deny.

20. @ Bitter Limer…

I have stayed away from this issue on the blogs for a reason but when you come here whining about your employer now that shit has hit the fan, I cant help but to call you out on the nonsense you are talking.
    Even if you are the maid (which I doubt, as they are contracted) you would still be paid out generously.

From you tone, it seems to me as though you thought you were in for something extra but got nothing, which fits most kiss ass employees at LIME anyway.

All you have done with your pathetic whining is highlight the same complaints by most bloggers here.
    Maybe while at LIME, you should have used the time to further your education so that now you would be ready for a new chapter in life.Many seemed to think that they would be there until retirement.
    You say we call and complain and bitch in your ears ……that is the nature of your job son….if you didnt like it, why didnt you leave?
    If you wanted to enlighten the public, any number of opportunities were there without you having to identify yourself.
    BU was around for a while, so too BFP…Letters to the Nation..etc.

One can understand your frustrations of losing your job at this time but dont tell me you are not going to be compensated fairly and equally for your time spent……you see,my friend……..you are preaching to the choir here !!

21. @ David…
    Workers were also sent home when the profits were $120 million too.

This issue of sending home started at C&W 10 years ago.

22. KoolBarbados.com Avatar

This isn’t a perfect solution to the C & W non-Broadband solution but I’ve found using different browsers helps for web-surfing.

The latest Firefox is spectacular. Opera is great too.

And for speaking clearly to people wirelessly there’s always Sk?pe and a great download called VoxOx.

23. @ Technician…”Maybe I should have used my time there to futher my education” I can assusre you technician, I may most likely have more qualifications that you my dear.

Having just completed my masters degree my seperation could not have come at a better time. I did not leave simply becuase I was waiting for my lovely package with plenty trimmings lol.

You see I am very young and I am a lady stop referring to me as a man…. I had no intentions of staying there much longer but you seem to think I am here talking because I am bitter about leaveing, maybe that was the case with you but not with me. We young people don’t have the same, stay until you are 60 in a company mentality.

I am just here to state to show that most of the customers that whine about service contantly are just a pure annoyance because they still do nothing about it. Customers need to start acting as if they have some kind of value and if they don’t like the way they are treated they should leave.

24. @ Bitter Limer…….RLMAO!!

I guess your Masters has nothing to do with Customer Care then!!
    When you can call the complaints of customers who have no real other option or recourse for bad service whiners, it shows me your mentality.
    You came on this blog and berated people for doing what is expected and you scoffed at them when it is your job to at least give then the feeling that there is help coming, that is my issue with your contributions.
    You state that the customers ‘are just a pure annoyance’. That is the same attitude that has LIME where there are now.
    What do you expect if you are paying for a service every month and it is crappy?
    Everyone does not has the same recourse.
    To the elderly with a POTS line, paying with their pension, what should they do for alternate land line options?
    I guess to you these old folks are nuisances for calling you when their line is noisy.
    Just so you know…..be careful about trying to reassure me….you will be pleasantly surprised.

If one was to go by your handle and your contributions………..duh?

All the best in your future endeavors .

25. Ok guys its 5:30 and I am now throttled down to 1/4 the speed I am paying for.

26. @TheTrashHeap: “Ok guys its 5:30 and I am now throttled down to 1/4 the speed I am paying for.

And, so, what do *you* do? Right *NOW*.

Do you whine? Do you LIME?

Do you call your provider and complain? (“Operators are standing by…”)

Or do you make efforts to change to another provider?

The choice is yours…

Do please tell what *you* do….

27. @ technician
    Actually LIME’s landline service is not that bad. That is the one thing that they are good at landline and perhaps mobile. The internet needs major work. No my masters had nothing to do with customer care actually. Yes they are an annoyance, no one knows how it feels to hear on average 200 irate customer a day. You wonder why I would call them an annoyance? Yes it is annoying for me and to anyone who does this kind of job… not because they dont deserve to be heard YES they do, they are of the highest value to the company. But Customers always have options my friend…ALWAYS! But they are too busy playing victim to see.

28. bitter limer

You have an option besides BWA to get a water supply? Do you understand the word monopoly? It is this said monopoly that has the telecoms market grossly inflated and competitors at their wits end.

C&W knows it can put you to hear customer complaints without giving you the authority to satisfy the customers because they know their customers have nowhere to go… but let me tell you that their time running out and just as they fold up all over the world, they will fold up here too.

That is why they liming now. Trying to rake in the sweets before the inevitable. How can you tell me that you making things better after you made them worse by sending home over 1400 workers and now looking to send home a further 250?

29. I didn’t know so much people were going home. Leh we start walking this is SHITE!

30. @ Bitter Limer…

……Actually LIMEโ€™s landline service is not that bad. That is the one thing that they are good at landline and perhaps mobile.
    —————————————————————————–
    Huh??
    Compared to who?
    Haiti?

31. How do you think the ADSL gets to your home?
    If the plant is bad , then the ADSL wont work. This is where a lot of slow speeds and dropouts are also coming from.
    New technology and old plant is just window dressing .
    Ever wondered why your POTS line crackles at night but clears up during the day?

32. JC

That music sound sweet, sweet, sweet.

33. Chris Halsall : I am tired calling and complaining. The losers claim that they have no idea what I am talking about. Telebarbados needs to upgrade their speed to compete with Lime first though.

34. @TheTrashHeap… Could you elaborate a little?

Just who are “The losers”?

And why does TBB “need” to upgrade their speed?

Connectivity is about more than just “speed” — it is also about reliability.

I, personally, did my first year of University at 300 baud. Bidirectional.

My second year I upgraded — I was at 1200 baud. (For context, 300 baud is 0.3 kb/s.)

And I was *very* productive.

Fundamentally, it’s not the size of your “pipe” that matters, but rather how you use it…

And its reliability….

35. @All… My apologies, my immediately above was slightly wrong…

300 baud includes a “start” and a “stop” bit for every character (read: byte, or eight bits). AKA 8N1.

Thus, I actually did my first year at 0.240 kb/s…

Technically, when I upgraded to “1200” , I was actually using “600 baud”, with two bits being transmitted per baud. (Two possible symbols.)

In modern terms, this means I was running at 0.960 kb/s.

Please note the “0.xxx” kb/s above is now exactly correct… I therefore sometimes laugh when people complain about their connection speeds.

“In my day, I used to have to walk uphill to school! Both ways!!!” [wink]

Using the full-screen editor on the front-end of the IBM 360 mainframe of my school, I used to be able type code faster than my dial-up connection could refresh my display….

36. We need both and not just reliability… for customers.

*sigh*

If we want to throw two birds in one stone.

37. Report 2

After seven days of waiting, I finally got a call back from C&W. I was told that they have to make checks so they have to send out somebody.

However, I was also told that if the fault is on my premises, they will bill me on my next phone bill.

So my question to the lady was, is this how you get people off your back by threatening them with extra charges so you can continue with your bad service? I ended up by telling her that I did not care what she did but I will not be accepting any charges.

That is after she told me that they will not be sending out anybody unless I agreed to pay. I did not agree on principle. I therefore have to think through this another way. Maybe I should have agreed because everything is theirs, including the new filter they supplied.

38. ROK so is there nothing you can do at all?

39. There is always something that can be done. Just have to think it through. Right now I have to work on getting the evidence. May need some help from the gurus like Chris.

For example, they said the last recorded drop out from my phone was 11th December. Since then I have been disconnected/dropping out too numerous to count. I need to be able to find the data recording the dropouts. I’m sure it is somewhere here on the computer.

The problem with agreeing to pay is that they may come and say it is at me. Then I will be telling them it at them. Meanwhile, they may cut off my line for non-payment of the extra charges. I don’t need that drama. Let me find another way.

40. @ROK: “So my question to the lady was, is this how you get people off your back by threatening them with extra charges so you can continue with your bad service? I ended up by telling her that I did not care what she did but I will not be accepting any charges.

Of *course* this is how they constrain customer’s complaints. They threaten that it could cost *money* if the fault is not past their “demarcation point”.

My counsel to you and all: call their bluff!!!

Now, some more knowledge on the situation…

As part of the “telecoms liberalization process”, C&W agreed to “allow” customers to provide their own Customer Premise Equipment (CPE). Read: phones, fax machines, modems, et al.

However, as part of this agreement, C&W negotiated a “demarcation” point. This is a small grey box outside of each customer’s premise where the cables “interconnect”. Everything to the “outside” of this box is C&W’s responsibility, everything “inside” is the customer’s. This is actually a “good thing”.

However, it *does* mean, again, that the customer is responsible for a quality “network” (read: wiring and CPE) within their own premises.

Thus, there is a “non-zero probability” that the problem is actually within the customer’s domain of responsibility. *HOWEVER*, the statistical likelihood of the problem being instead in the C&W domain is *much*, *MUCH* greater.

(One need only look around at the “utility pole” network to accept that this is likely…)

If one wished to be *absolutely* sure that the problem is with the C&W nettwork, what do you is this:

1. Open the demarcation box (you are allowed to do this — they’re designed such that the customer can open half of the box with standard tools. The C&W side needs a “special tool” (which, frankly, just about any geek has — it is not “sealed” like the BL&P demarcation points).

2. Disconnect the copper pair leading into the premises.

3. Attach a brand new cable (CAT5 or a single twisted pair or untwisted pair — doesn’t really matter).

4. Run this new cable to a *single* device (read: your ADSL router).

5. See if the problem still exists.

Let me please tell you that I *know* (and have documentation) that the C&W technicians will point to every possible reason why the problem is within the customer’s domain.

If you do have a C&W technician out, ensure they run the tests from the demarcation point, with the customer’s “network” disconnected. *Observe* the testing. Confirm, and ask for a copy of the “Signal to Noise Ratio” (SNR) number, “Run Distance” (RD), et al their devices report.

Again, my fundamental point: call their bluff!

41. I see that to call their bluff is the way but I need to know how to proceed when they get here. So thanks for the above.

Would you say though, that there may be minor technicalities that they could throw at you in order to throw you off and get you to concede?

What test would they run? Suppose during the test run, there is no drop-out or disconnection of any sort? Are there indicators from the tests that would tell you if the service is likely to dropout and what are they?

42. @ ROK ,

First you must constantly call customer care , they are required to log ALL calls , so therefore it shows the severity of the situation, they will log a report , if it is not cleared /rectified within the specific time allocated by the FTC you WILL receive a rebate.

You need to request a loss of service , that’s what it is called , take down the times & dates you made reports , also who you talked to ,through customer care , they are systems that can trace EVERYTHING . Mine you they are many customers who state they were not able to connect but the system proves otherwise ,If your query is genuine , the credit will be applied on your following bill .

43. not to mentioned you will be told this sh*t now because ALL calls are being answered in St.Lucia and customers are being misinformed !

44. You make the report , A technician is sent out to your residence, If the problem is internal , you have the option to choose either a personal tech of your choice or a tech from c & w , if C & w is chosen then a cost is attached to it ,They will advise you of those charges . You are not advised of the charges before the tech visits and confirms the problem is not coming from there end .

45. @ Chris….

You said….’If you do have a C&W technician out, ensure they run the tests from the demarcation point, with the customerโ€™s โ€œnetworkโ€ disconnected. *Observe* the testing. Confirm, and ask for a copy of the โ€œSignal to Noise Ratioโ€ (SNR) number, โ€œRun Distanceโ€ (RD), et al their devices report.

This could prove futile as the technician uses a Dynatel tester, which does not print and unless you understand electronics, the information will be like Greek to the average person. I cant envision any LIME technician showing a customer his test readings either.

Signal to noise????

They dont even waste time on that test, it will fail everytime.
    The most tests done will be a resistance, capacitance, voltage (should be 48v dc for an idle line) and then a TDR which shows high resistance as ‘dip’ and ‘opens’ as peaks.

Your advice on the cable from the NID (demarcation box) makes sense and ROK should try this as soon as possible. I would advise him to use one pair of a Cat5e cable to do this test, run it for a couple days and record any dropouts.

On another note, when seeking a tech for your personal issues, you should always make sure that they are Goverment Certified. There is a list of all at the Telecommunications offices next to BET in Wildey.

46. @Technician: “This could prove futile as the technician uses a Dynatel tester, which does not print and unless you understand electronics, the information will be like Greek to the average person.

It *doesn’t* matter if the testing device doesn’t print. Nor that most people won’t understand the results. The technician is there to take empirical readings. These readings will have to be recorded somehow, even if it’s written down on a sheet of paper.

What *does* matter is that the technician provides the results to the customer, and knows that this is being recorded.

I’ve found that people get a *whole* lot more serious when they know they’re actions are being recorded…

@T: “I cant envision any LIME technician showing a customer his test readings either.

Then the customer should ask for the technician’s supervisor’s contact details, and inform said technician that said supervisor will be contacted for an official copy of the results.

This posture should be communicated the moment the technician arrives on site.

47. The Technician called this evening. After a little pow-pow with him, he said that he will bring along his laptop and do some tests.

Worst of all, the techie said that he was not aware that so much people had problems with adsl. I was trying to find out from him, if so many people have similar problems, is he going to solve mine by visiting me?

In terms of charges, they did inform about charges if the fault was found to be on my premises. I reminded him that all the equipment that I am using is weeks old and came from C&W. He said that warranty on the equipment was a year and did like Chris and drop it there; like ‘pick sense’. He is therefore supposed to come at 9 a.m. tomorrow.

48. @Technician: “On another note, when seeking a tech for your personal issues, you should always make sure that they are Goverment Certified. There is a list of all at the Telecommunications offices next to BET in Wildey.

I’m personally not so convinced that being “Government Certified” is all that important, but it doesn’t hurt…

Also, FYI, the Telecommunications Unit has moved into the Government Building in Warrens. Has been there since mid 2007.

49. @ROK: “Suppose during the test run, there is no drop-out or disconnection of any sort? Are there indicators from the tests that would tell you if the service is likely to dropout and what are they?

This is an issue…

You see, many people encounter problems with the “last mile copper” during and after rain. If it hasn’t rained for a while, everything may be fine when tests are done.

Not quite sure how to deal with this issue, short of recording diligently any issues as and when you encounter them, and try to correlate them to rainfall.

50. @ Chris…..

Thanks…havent been up there since 2004.

Being certified is a plus when it comes to telephony.

I had a client who got an electrician to wire his house for 2 lines. The guy used 4 wire instead of 2 pair.
    While his wife was on line1 with her girlfriend, he was on line 2 with the ‘outside’ woman. Wifey heard the whole conversation. A certified tech would have known the difference.
    Some people see the wiring as just 2 wires but with ADSL added now, it is better to have someone who knows about wiring…..thats all.