Talk Show Host Tony Marshall

It is no secret that BU has been strident on the issue of the haphazard approach Barbados has approached the management of our immigration policy. It became a big concern under the last administration. The new government has informed Barbadians that a Cabinet sub-committee is currently drafting policy guidelines that will see rolling-out a ‘managed immigration policy’.

This week we listened with interest to Member of Parliament James Paul who expressed concern that the social fabric of our society is under threat. He gave the example that he is aware that Barbadian families are ‘taking in’ illegal and legal immigrants who were recruited to ‘work the land’. He defined the threat as the social fallout that is likely to occur to the traditional Bajan family.

Here is an interesting perspective from fellow blogger who runs Pull Push blog. Amit is  a Barbadian of Indian heritage and is peculiarly positioned to give a unique perspective.

It was interesting to listen to VOB Talk Show Tony Marshall attacking the issue of illegal immigration in Barbados. He expressed what the BU family has known and warned for a long time. In recent years little Barbados has open its borders to allow a gush of immigrants, illegal and legal from Guyana, Jamaica, China, Eastern Europe and elsewhere. Sometime ago we highlighted the the Italian restaurant on the West Coast known to have recruited waiters with visitor status. The issuance of work permits under the former administration were issued without rhyme or reason. We understand that since Minister Maxine McClean has taken over the responsibility it has become a little harder to get a work permit.

The point to our blog is to raise the query whether Voice of Barbados (VOB92.9) has departed from its policy of stiffling national debate on the issue of illegal immigration in Barbados. Moderator Tony Marshall seems to have picked-up a head wind on the issue, let us see how far his boat is allowed to sail.

128 responses to “The Problem That Will Not Go Away”

1. […] Barbados Underground and pull! push! share their views on Barbados' immigration policy. Posted by Janine […]

2. SNAKE-in-the-grass Avatar
    SNAKE-in-the-grass

The question is WHY ’employers’ go for ‘foreigners.’ It’s obviously not a ‘color’ thing.

Just guessing: could it be an attitude problem Bajans have?

Do Bajans want to “work the land?”

Is all this a result of our vaunted ‘education?’

3. But wha he look like!! Wha happen tuh he hed!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!!!

4. Bajans are allowed to employ and harbour illegals, especially guyanese, because the administration refuses to creat or impliment laws to punish or revent such for happening. Yesterday Jamaicans demonstrated forcefully against a large team of Chinese workers that are blocking them from doing simple jobs. The problem is not only in Barbados, it’s all over the region. The fact is Barbados because of its strong economic position is taking the brunt of the influx. I’m calling on my government to act speedily to avert a civil unrest in this country. It is approahing the Christmas season and traditionally indo-guyanese are at their worst behaviour around this time. I’m suggesting that the Commissioner of Police play special interest to areas when large amount of these people congregate, places like Fairchild Street bus Stand Kiosks. It is time an affirmative effort is made to regulate the illegal situation in Barbados

5. Best russian security electronic bulletin board. Welcome to http://coru.in/
    #
    Cult Of Russian Underground

6. If we have a problem with our workforce we need to see discuss how we need to change attitudes. Harbouring illegals is not the way to go.

7. Maybe to deal with this situation we may need to adopt a law similar to what was recently done in Italy.

If You are going to rent an individual living space they must show proof of their legal status and anyone found harbouring illegal persons then are prosecuted

8. Last Saturaday Immigration officials took away at least 15 bus loads of them,and they were deported,I appauld that department.There are too man of them living here, However,one of the young men who was deported call to say he would be returning in Feb,He just needs to pass some change.I strongly believe that serious measures needs to be put in place to keep these people out,even if it means moving around those officers who are willing to place this country at risk for a few extra dollars.

9. SNAKE-in-the-grass Avatar
    SNAKE-in-the-grass

I don’t know that shutting out foreigners is the answer, or that it will solve the problem.

It’s clear the employing of ‘foreigners’ is not a ‘color’ thing, nor – in many/most cases a ‘wages’ thing. You only have to ask people who employ foreigners why they do… and you’ll find out the reason: Bajans have a sour attitude, and generally – are not as productive.

David // November 7, 2008 at 1:45 pm says we need to discuss the need to change attitudes. You know what? Jesus, who has been coming for the last 2000 years will get here before. It’s no use prescribing aspirin to a cancer patient. Perhaps the last Government realized the way to change local attitudes was to administer a dose of dog bitters… which was to allow ‘foreigners’ to come in and work and then MAYBE Bajans would wake up.

10. Was Barbados discovered five or so years ago? who developed Barbados to be the FOCUS of the region? Wasn’t it the same Bajans that everybody now saying is no good? An accent and cheap, sometimes unprofessional work, is want some employers are clinging to. I know some of these houses guyanese “contractors ” are building will fall if we get high winds. They build the floor, build walls and just drop steel down in the block. There is no connection to the foundation, one hard kick and that wall can come down, but that is what you pay for that is what you get.

11. This problem will persist until we have a complete overhaul of our immigration,customs & police departments.I speak from a position of authority that this present government is committed to confront & deal with this illegal immigration matter in practical,firm & humane way.It recognises the potential problems that could develop if unchecked inflow of immigrants are allow with no controls in place.I am aware that the concerns expressed by Barbadians are being taken into consideration by the relevant authorities.However,the government policy on this matter is being fustrated by members of the immigration,customs & police departments of Barbados.We have members of those departments actively assisting illegal immigrants especially the Indo-Guyanese scums to obtain work permits & status in this country.This is factual because I know of many cases of this nature.
    Reently on my return trip to Barbados on the plane were Barbadian & Indo-Guyanese in the row in front of me.A conversation developed between the two .I was not interested in the conversation but I overheard the Barbadian telling the Indo_Guyanese that he was having difficulty getting his Guyanese girlfriend a work permit and status in Barbados.The Indo-Guyanese indicated to the Barbadian that would not be a problem for him bcause he has his contacts in the immigration department and he is going to get everything organise for him.As the conversation developed I wsa made to understand from that conversation thet the Indo-Guyanese is a businessman in Barbados and he indicated that he lives in St James area
    I highlighted this story to show the enormity of the problem the government has on its hand.
    I can honestly say that Minister maxine McClean and the senior members of her ministry are determine to address this problem in a very serious way.However,Maxine McClean & many of her senior members of staff are fustrated.
    It would not surprise me if Minister Maxine McClean resign due to sheer fustration.

12. “Bajans have a sour attitude, and generally – are not as productive.”

The abundance of successful companies in Barbados, employing mainly Bajans, forces one to question the above statement.

13. As the construction boom cools, a lot of illegal immigrants are going to be unemployed. Bajan workers will not allow bread to be taken from their mouths to feed others. Employers who attempt to do this, will quickly find out, that all the docile foolish bajans dead and buried.
    Barbados get ready for when it is “brek fa ya self” time.

14. We are not shutting out foreingers we are saying that home drums should beat first if anything is left ove rtake it dont tell me that my children shoudl suffer and yours live, that is not fair!

15. While a great man does great things…

Little people do little things…

It’s like watching little children do little things on little tricycles…

“Ding! Ding! (Honk! Honk!) ((Zoom!!! Zoom!!!))

“Look at me! Look at me!

“I’m big! I’m big!

“Look at me! Look at me!

“Won’t someone please look at me??? [Ding! Ding! Ding!] [Honk?] [Honk?…]

16. A dog once chased a mongoose into a dead end. While running, the mongoose realised he would be trapped. Seeing no way out, he suddenly turned and started running towards the dog.

Ef yuh bak a boar cat inta a cornuh, e will cut yuh troat.

17. @General Lee: “Ef yuh bak a boar cat inta a cornuh, e will cut yuh troat.

One possibility. Another is that he will die…

These two possibilities are not the entire available solution space…

18. At least he would not have died running
    away.

Illegal immigration has it beneficiaries among those charged to prevent it.
    The problem is that the average man can do little, legally, other than talk on this issue.
    If you know otherwise please educate the children.
    Free of charge of course. 😀

19. stupse wannah wait and see then! intellectual lot ha ha ha halol lol!stupse!

20. Bonny Peppa/Ms.Obama Avatar
    Bonny Peppa/Ms.Obama

Oh Lord, look my sweetheart Mr. Tony Marshall. I too Luvs he, hear. And de sarcasm too. He too sweet. (smooches)
    JC,
    You like you scared to say dat we ‘shutting out foreigneers’, so I gun say it for ya. “Would all foreigneers, legal and illegal, especially de Guyanese, please GO HOME.We love you but we would prefer your room than your comfort. This 166sq. mls. can’t absord you coming in in swarms like flies or bees. What started out as a social event has turned into an unruly mob. Please go home and build your country. We can’t afford it.
    We love you all but not enough to miss you,so please leave.
    To those who say that we are lazy and don’t like to work, I ask one question:
    What fly was doing before dog ear get cut?
    Now go home.

21. It looks as if Maxine Mclean cornered Negroman. You cornered also because Thompson declare he grandparents are Guyanese. We got Sinckler who claim he is Guyanese. We got ‘I man’ Kellman who celebrate with the Guyanese and Faria at Browns Beach. I nearly forget Suckoo who look more Guyanese than the Guyanese. Negroman you nor Maxine cant win this one boy the Guyanese here to stay.
    How ya like ma?

22. Barbados does not want to offend. We feel that if we take action against illegals we maybe perceived as being hostile and the friendly and passive people that we are, we do not want to upset other countries.

Yet we look around the world and countries are all looking to ensure home drums beat first.We prefer to wait until all hell breaks loose before we react.

23. We heard a recent radio news report that suggested that the Prime Minister of Barbados was saying that foreign investors should at this time of local recession be allowed to raise local capital to finish some of their stalled projects in Barbados. He was reported then as projecting that this was an idea coming out of recent so-called national economic consultations.

While we believe that foreign investors have long been using local finance to assist in the carrying out of some projects in Barbados, and while we are NOT exactly sure about what kind of foreign investors the prime minister was talking about, we in the PDC would nevertheless strongly strenously object to any government policy that has this kind of wuffless stupid backward philosophy at its core or anywhere residing in it.

The truth of the matter is that such an idea would be anti-thetical to some important aspects of foreign investment. Foreign investors are supposed to, et al, bring into the country foreign capital for the needs of country and to transfer knowledges to it.

But to see a situation whereby government’s economic financial policy would be fashioned to actively help foreign investors – who are already seriously viciously exploiting many of the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados – get local finance – which itself would be used to help cruelly exploit these masses and middle classes more and more – is so sickening to think about, and esp. when many of these foreign investors are into the dangerous practice of buying up or helping “sell” our precious scarce lands to foreigners, and esp. when the local private sector is generally NOT able to secure as much finance as possible to carry out their own projects, because in many ways the government is preventing many within the same local private sector from getting enough financing for their projects because it is over borrowing locally. So, to see foreign investors adding to their burdens would be so distressing, unstrategic and anti-national developmentalist.

Finally, what such a woefully inadequate philosophy would indicate is the failure of the this DLP Government to properly come up with the right, sustainable and well organized policies to country out of this severe recession.

24. Inadvertence: second last line – insert “get this” between “to” and “country”.

25. SNAKE-in-the-grass Avatar
    SNAKE-in-the-grass

To: The Scout ~ you asked “Wasn’t it the same Bajans that everybody now saying is no good?” Yes Bajans USED to be. But Wednesday is not Monday. Things have changed.

To General Lee: Instead of formulating opinions based on imagination, you should base them on actual fact. You need to talk to the people who employ ‘foreigners’ and learn directly what the differences are.

26. @ SNAKE-in-the-grass

Where is the fact in your statement?
    What evidence do these employers that you talk to have?
    Who are these “foreigners” that you are referring to?

27. SNAKE-in-the-grass Avatar
    SNAKE-in-the-grass

By the way, I have an observation. I travel the Caribbean a lot. Here’s what I’ve noticed… in countries like Cuba and the Dominican Republic ‘the average person’ is poor or almost poor ~ and you find their disposition is cheerful, gracious, friendly… and most of them have a smile.

In Barbados ‘the average person’ is better off … they have their cable TV, brand name sneakers, a car, etc… and the snooty attitude to go along with it.

It’s an interesting psychological observation that can probably be noticed all over the world – that the “better off” a person is, is the more arrogant and conceited they usually are. We see this locally with the rich tourists who come here.

Bajans have followed the pattern. They are, in comparrison to many other countries, “better off” and their insolent frame of mind shows it.

This is why I keep questioning… what really is ‘education’ ? ? ?

Here is what it boils down to:

The attitudinal problem Bajans have is not going to go away any time soon.

The axis of business is efficiency, and Bajan employers will employ Bajans who want to work and work efficiently. Then they will fill the remaining positions with ‘foreigners.’

The simple facts of life.

28. Have you heard of the passing of Byron Lee?

http://www.carib101.com/byron-lee.htm

Many, if not most, bloggers reading here will remember Byron Lee and the Dragonaires. I was one of the crowd who attended his first ‘show’ here in Barbados – at the Empire Theatre – somewhere around 1960. What a night that was! His was the first real band Bajans of the day were treated to… “in those days” all that was going down locally were ‘guitar bands’ playing boleros…

29. General Lee – good morning Sir. The suggestion was given you… follow it up unless you are frightened to it: go and talk to the people who employ ‘foreigners’ and learn first hand why they do it.

Then you will walk in the light.

Over and out

30. @ SNAKE-in-the-grass

I have previously worked among “foreigners” and am presently working with an employer who employs “foreigners”.

A LEGAL “foreigner” and a bajan working under similar conditions (same pay for same work) will produce the same.
    This equation differs greatly when an an ILLEGAL “foreigner” is involved. No sensible employer will support unproductive employees, as it is bad for business.
    Any honest employer will tell you this. If they say otherwise, tell them to show you the evidence.

This talk about unproductive bajans is a myth created by snakes in the grass like you.

31. OK – In a manner of speaking, Snake ITG may have a point.
    Bajans HAVE changed.
    This country has come a LONG way on the last 50 years. OBVIOUSLY things would have had to change.

One of the changes has been that workers are MUCH more aware, intelligent, ambitious and independent than ever before.
    They can also be much more PRODUCTIVE as a result of the changes outlined.
    HOWEVER !!!!
    …there have been no commensurate improvements in the MANAGEMENT systems that we have in place. These continue to be typified by the same semi-literate, ‘us and them’ – plantation attitude that prevailed 100 years ago.
    Most of our businesses are run like plantations- with the ‘bosses’ – even the little one-door-shop kind, giving ‘orders’ while they run from luncheon to dinner to ‘conference’ in their BMWs and then expect their ‘workers’ to kick the business into shape….. IDIOTS!!!

Since this does not work, they look for the kind of ‘workers’ who fit their management abilities – poor, starving, low-class immigrants -who can be ‘sent back at a whim’ easily meets the bill.
    Everyone knows that when the ‘lazy’ Bajan worker finds him or herself in a modern establishment with enlightened management, the results are almost ALWAYS outstanding and impressive – be it abroad or here in one of the few well managed establishments.

The problem then is not the ‘laziness’ of Bajan workers – but the ignorance and incompetence of Bajan managers – from the very top to the very bottom.
    I am surprised that this is not obvious. Bush tea has been highlighting this issue for months now – from Education, to UWI, to CSME to the ABC to the VECO scams – pathetic management leading to stealing and waste…. and bloggers continue to accept this as ok???

What hope what?!?

32. “Here’s what I’ve noticed… in countries like Cuba and the Dominican Republic ‘the average person’ is poor or almost poor ~ and you find their disposition is cheerful, gracious, friendly… and most of them have a smile.

In Barbados ‘the average person’ is better off … they have their cable TV, brand name sneakers, a car, etc… and the snooty attitude to go along with it.”

It is not easy to maintain this lifestyle in Barbados as you would know if you live here.
    People are not happy when they have to live from pay cheque to pay cheque.

Give them the opportunity to earn extra income and you will see production. 🙂

“the “better off” a person is, is the more arrogant and conceited they usually are.”
    Agree ………generally

33. My grandmother always used to say; nothing is better than a dose of Bush Tea. 🙂

34. Well said Bush Tea!!

35. Why must we always the one to challenge Bt, besides Inkwell of course 🙂

Bt your analysis/diagnosis is intellectually sound. Do you think though that the nuances of West Indian societies like nepotism, favourtism rooted from our smallness, political yardfowlism, system of government which is skewed towards socialist which means governments are the biggest investors, employers managed by our civil service which is inefficient/not performace driven.

No tell us Bt when we add all of these issues together, and they are by no means exhaustive, does this environment lend itself to being receptive to modern management practices?

We forgot about the trade unions who still use an approach which served them well back in the old days when they negotiated for the sugar workers.

36. David,
    Nepotism, small-mindedness and ‘yardfowlism’ are not ‘Bajan traits’- these exist all over the world. We just happen to be so small that it is difficult not to be obvious.

If I were to say what Bush tea thinks differentiates us from others, then you will be glad to know that everyone (- especially Inkwell, ST and MME) will join you in sharing licks in the bush tea….
    …but who cares?
    Bajans have very little PRIDE in ourselves. We undervalue our self-worth. As a result, we never stand up for our beliefs, we allow all kinds of excrement to happen and our response is ALWAYS “let’s forgive and move on….”
    This only leads to more excrement… etc.

EWB referred to it in terms of ‘mirror image…’

As a result, we now have a tradition of idiots assuming positions of leadership at all levels, failing BADLY, stealing, wasting resources, messing up and we all accept this like SHEEP. ….and move on to the next set of idiots while the ‘failures’ retire with our money.

I could not believe my ears when Mia recently said that the wastage outlined by Dr Estwick was “not their fault – it was caused by poor design!!! “
    *Who hired the designers?
    *Who agreed to and signed the contracts?
    *What steps were taken to make the lousy designers PAY for their mistakes?
    ….or was this not possible because of ‘special arrangements’ with those poor designers?

…but then again she also said that she did not know about the ABC fiasco….

David-
    Do you realize that when the prison burnt down our ARMY and POLICE were in control of the place? That sounds right to you? …. That a number of unarmed prisoners, who had been corralled in an outdoor pen bypassed armed soldiers , police and prison guards and burnt down a stone building?
    …and dat dun just so????? After a quick arrangement with VECO to the tune of hundreds of millions of our dollars?????

…and now this new lot has been here for 10 months and are yet to outline where we are with the VERY ISSUES that they raised in protest against the last lot of jokers.

Nothing clear on immigration!
    On the ABC ? no flyovers- but what, and why?!?!
    NO policy on beach land speculation.
    An idiotic stand on land taxes….
    …and even when positions ARE stated, these are unilateral positions which assume that these ‘bosses’ know all and that our inputs are useless…

…you follow my drift – SAME PLANTATION APPROACH.

THIS IS THE PROBLEM.

As a society develops, ALL aspects need to move forward together. If anything, LEADERSHIP should develop in advance of everything else.
    In our case, we have advanced education, advanced infrastructure, advanced communication systems, and advanced expectations (generally by importing vision from overseas) but our plantations have continued to sit on top of it all.

You and I both know that the unions are just another type of plantation – just that they do not actually produce anything….and their managers get to keep their cork hats for life…

…..why you don’t stop provoking the Bush Tea nuh???

37. Cat got your pen David?

To answer your specific question
    ” does this environment lend itself to being receptive to modern management practices?”
    Absolutely !! except for want of a population with GUTS and PRIDE.

38. Bt you should know better just that we have been away from the keyboard for awhile!

We look at the political parties/politicians and we see that they have similar ideologies/philosophies, all them went to the same schools. This is a point we can develop later which is relevant to forging a new way of thinking/managing.

Many of our managers now have masters, doctorates and other qualifications which suggest that theoretically they should be armed with the concepts/knowledge to confront most situations in the workplaces from developing strategies, to rolling out tactical plans to harnessing the human resources to give lift to what is hoped to be achieved.

Bt you should know that good management practices will not fall from the sky. The economic power in the country is still concentrated in the hands of a few and it does not matter how enthusiastic a manager is for him/her to do the job they must feel empowered.

In Barbados we suspect that we have an army of managers/politicians whose behaviour is no more than we would see from a flock of sheep. When will the revolution come?

39. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL… man Bush tea… you en holding no punches today.

David, watch yuhself with the bush man when he in dis kinda form 🙂

40. Man David – Try and listen to MME yuh… cause you falling into a Bush trap….

First thing: Degrees, Masters and Phd’s aint got ONE pang to do with management (or leadership)….

I maintain that these things only mean that these people could afford to sit in some college for a few years….
    They usually learn a few things, but generally little to do with LEADERSHIP…. and Bush tea got some of those little letters by he name too, so I am being honest.

SECOND thing;
    Good management practices DOES ‘fall from the sky’ in a manner of speaking. This is EXACTLY why we are so short on it…. (If it came from degrees we would be sitting pretty…)

It comes from WISDOM, David and that comes from only one source….(believe it or not)

Interestingly, that makes it available to all -but somehow it has become almost non existent. You go figure… or ask MME -that Blogger knows a lot of draft…

Thirdly, I know that you ain’t fraid to express your ideas David. I have the greatest admiration for you – as man!!!
    You demonstrate a humanness, compassion, fairness and openness to ideas that is outstanding by any measure – and mind boggling for a Bajan.
    Tell us the truth – weh you really come from?

41. Bush Tea
    I am not into the intellectual discourse that you, David and the other bloggers are into at this moment.I support your points.We need committed,serious people who recognize real problems and have real solutions to deal effectively with those problems.We do not need people with all types of fancy initials behind their names and sweet sounding titles at the beginning of their names.
    I agreed we have replaced one set of bunglers with another set of bunglers who appear not to have any clear cut policy on any issue especially this immigration issue.
    I believe simple solutions should be use for simple problems.This illegal immigration issue is a simple problem.Once an individual is illegal and has broken our immigration laws the simple thing to is deportation.
    There is no need for any special sub-committee of cabinet to deal with this issue.
    Illegals should be deported henceforth.

42. This is better than any debate I have ever heard or seen….keep it going Bush Tea and David….I am your student.

And Mia said the blogs are a threat….she damn right…..educate the sheeple Bush Tea.

43. Negroman,

I real glad that you came in at this point. I really don’t know what ‘intellectual discourse’ you think that me and David into – we talking down-to-earth common sense here (if we want high intellectual stuff we does ask MME)

I admire your simple to-the-point approach. I also like your intestinal fortitude. You remind me of my old man who left school at 14 and even years after his death, he continues to be the model that I would some day like to equal when it comes to wisdom and common sense.

The problems of this world are admittedly complex because of the complex technologies that we have adopted, and because many of those who should enforce the laws have hidden agendas, but right is still right and wrong is still wrong.

I understand you strong feelings on the issues that you support – and I recognise that you are not a racist or hateful person – just one who cares deeply about his country (SOMETHING THAT SEEMS TO BE SHORT IN MANY BAJANS) . Sometime I am tempted to use the language that comes to mind when I see foolishness happening too – but out of respect for David and his BU I try to find softer language…

I am a supporter Negroman.

44. First thing: Degrees, Masters and Phd’s aint got ONE pang to do with management (or leadership)….

It’s the societal standard.

SECOND thing;Good management practices DOES ‘fall from the sky’ in a manner of speaking. This is EXACTLY why we are so short on it…. (If it came from degrees we would be sitting pretty…) It comes from WISDOM, David and that comes from only one source….(believe it or not)

Half the world is caught up in relativism.

Thirdly, I know that you ain’t fraid to express your ideas David. I have the greatest admiration for you – as man!!! You demonstrate a humanness, compassion, fairness and openness to ideas that is outstanding by any measure – and mind boggling for a Bajan. Tell us the truth – weh you really come from?

Never knew you were driven to flattery to win tight arguments!

Seriously though; the first two points identify the societal blockers, to use the jargon 🙂 so where does the gamechanger comes from? from the sky Bt? You need to show us the bridge which at the moment is leading to nowhere.

45. David says: First thing: Degrees, Masters and Phd’s aint got ONE pang to do with management (or leadership)…. excellent observation, Sir. What with all the scholars coming off Cave Hill we just got uh lot of big frogs in a small pond. That’s exactly right and what I was aluding to in a previous post.

46. Re this ‘race’ thing … had Obama lost you’d be hearing all about how the white people didn’t want a black in the White House.

Now that it all over, nobody is mentioning it was the whites who put him there.

As a black person myself, I’m well aware of the tactics. As soon as something goes askew… it’s the ‘white people’ fault. We will have this ‘insight’ with us until dooms day. IN THE MEANTIME HOWEVER those who can see… get on with their lives (all colors) and make a success of it, while the blind (all colors) continue to grope.

47. @ David

Re your first two points – These explain why we have the chaos in the world that we have at present (despite having more technology, brains and degrees that ever before in all history)

Re your last point;
    All is fair when it comes to love, war or arguing with you and MME,…

The ‘gamechanger’ will be here much more shortly that you may think….

48. David,
    I am out for a few hours…

49. @Thats not it Bonny Peppa I am just trying to be civilised for a change I remember when i bougt up the ‘poppy issue’ oh lord i caused sodial unrest so I was just treading carefully! Imust commened busht tea, negro man and David for speaking patriotically on this topic! Barbados should be for Barbaidans first!

50. Unfortunately “most” of our politicians see national problems not in the way they impact on the majority population, they were elected to represent, but in the the narrow way those problems affect them personally or their families.

With this mindset, the national interest has always and will always play a poor second fiddle.