Reproduced from Nation Newspaper 10/24/2008

A FEW WEEKS AGO I jumped into a one-sided discourse on immigration. Gorilliphants Rickey Singh and Trevor Marshall seemed to be firmly on the “y’all come” bandwagon. NATION reporter Michelle Springer was pushing articles on Guyanese links.

I dabble in ethology – the study of animal behaviour. Mankind under pressure invariably follows the same patterns of behaviour, hence books like The Naked Ape and The Human Animal which warn us:

“However much we may think we have evolved from our animal ancestors, our instincts and behaviour are still rooted in our animal past. By denying this inheritance we are in danger of destroying everything we have strived so hard to create.”

We are talking here of powerful primeval forces and I tried to point out that the contributions made by immigrants or remote family ties count for little when loss of identity or competition for jobs and housing create friction between locals and immigrants.

Recurring instances of “man’s inhumanity to man” with horrendous massacres between people who seemingly got on well before, are simply man being himself. My contention was that such problems can be predicted and avoided by timely action.

Many readers agreed, including a concerned immigration official. A friend born in another island felt I was stirring up antipathy to immigrants. There let the matter rest, I thought.

Two columns by newly-arrived immigrant, B. C. Pires, however, have opened a new vista of this issue. We have always enjoyed Trinis poking fun at Bajans in calypso. But now we have an outsider spelling out exactly what Trinis think of us.

In his first column, B.C. questions if you can “call a piece of real estate you could walk across in a day . . . a nation”. Says his friend: “Barbados is not a country, nor even an island, you’re moving to a sand-trap in the middle of the Atlantic.”

After taking a pot-shot at our apparently over-sized national anthem, B.C. returned this week to taunt (praise?) our colonial queueing and passion for order. He added: “Apart from a smattering of smut, there is virtually no humour.” So much for Mac Fingall, Market Vendor, Lickmout Lou, Madd, Laff-it-Off, Trevor Eastmond and Eric Lewis!

B.C. concludes that “Little England” isn’t stuffy enough to describe us: “Barbados is Little Germany”. We must respect the man’s candour.

But my question today is: Why? Why, if we have all these shortcomings,would Trinis in droves be coming to live here? Why would Pat Castagne who wrote the Trinidad national anthem (presumably of the right length) move here? Why would the great B. C. Lara buy a mansion not too far from me? Why would this other B.C.?

We understand why so many Trini women marry Bajan men: as Sparrow put it, “when she feel to feel alright, who she goin’ cry for”? And we accept that Chefette’s rotis taste better than any in T& T. By far. But that can’t be all.

Could it be that living in Barbados lets outsiders experience the ultimate Christian, civilised society at work? For we treat them as prodig-aliens, no less.

Two instances: my good friend, Maxine McClean, has never brought me a fish-cake. But she carried Kentucky Fried Chicken (that I love but can’t afford) for a pack of illegal Africans that gave us hell over here.

Secondly, any Bajan doing a little addition on his own land with his own money, but without planning permission, gets it unceremoniously ripped down. God help him if it is in Zone One. But foreign squatters can build on Bajan land worth $15 to $200 a square foot over sensitive water-restricted areas, which could cause major disease problems. And we don’t touch them.

Even the Bible doesn’t go that far. “If any animal is dead of itself,” it says, “eat not thereof. Give it to the stranger that is within thy gates to eat, or sell it to him.” In other words, if one of my goats drops dead, it is my Christian duty to give it, or sell it, to B.C.

But we in Bimshire go the extra mile. We let immigrants take land free while order-bound Bajans can’t get. Truly we are the holy people of the Lord thy God.

* Richard Hoad is a farmer and social commentator.

49 responses to “Richard Lowdown Hoad At His Satirical Best”

1. So am I to take it that no one but born Barbadians will be allowed to live and work in Barbados? What about foreign spouses? The foreign doctors whom we need? The professors? Only if they are Bajan, right?

2. @Juris

If that is what you have interpreted him to be saying then we recommend that you do a reread.

3. @ Juris

Comprehension obviously isnt one of your skills.

4. For many Bajans their only qualification is “I was born here.” When it comes to work ethic, productivity and simple everyday good manners…. they knoweth not. But the world turns and changes occur and if you cant (or wont) keep up, somebody will sit in your chair. That’s why the ‘immigrants’ are scoring.

5. I have re-read as advised. Now could anyone give me their interpretaion of what Hoad is trying to say?

6. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Excellent piece of work by Richard Hoad. It captures specifically the direction in which Barbados Invest intends to go and at any cost necessary

7. wondering if these “undesirables” are net employers or really taking taking all these jobs that have the poor locals on breadline. where is the immigration policy paper should answers these questions once and for all so we are “informed” citizens.

8. Interesting to note that unlike Antigua, Bahamas,Jamaica and others who have been very protective of their borders, Barbados has welcomed all over the years. Yet we have a bad reputation based on who you talk to. So why do we open our borders and don’t enforce our immigration laws?

Interestingly the USA is currently battling the problem of 20 million illegal immigrants who supply labour which americans don’t want to do. Americans cite low pay as to why they give up those jobs to the illegals. The employers obviously have been exploiting the situation. There is a situation in several US states which are battling keeping English as the official language.
    What makes us feel it can’t happen here?

9. Dear Observer:

You wrote”For many Bajans their only qualification is “I was born here.” When it comes to work ethic, productivity and simple everyday good manners…. they knoweth not.”

Can you please explain for us if as you say many Bajans are uneducated and unqualified (their only qualification is I was born here), lazy (when it come to work ethic…they knoweth not) and ill mannered (simple everyday good manners…they knoweth not) why is it that foreigners want to leave home, family and country and come to live among us ?

I beleive that Bajans both at home and abroad successfully compete with the best and the brightest in the world. I believe that Bajans are less likely to be welcomed and less likely to be deported from the countries in the great white north that any other Caribbean people.

Can you please explain why this is so.

Thanks.

10. CORRECTION:

More likely to welcome and less likely to be deported

11. I must applaud Richard Hoad.The world and his wife coming to Barbados to live and feel that Barbadians shouldn’t be concerned.
    By the way Observer it is the lazy, ill mannered , uneducated Bajans and their foreparents who made this country the place where everyone in the Caribbean wants to live.Barbados and Bajans are so awful yet they will do anything to live here.Why don’t some of these immigrants go to the lovely St Lucia, St.Vincent, Dominica or Guyana?

12. Why don’t some of these immigrants go to the lovely St Lucia, St.Vincent, Dominica or Guyana?

oh but they did. from the late 19th century to the mid 20th…from barbados to guyana.
    illegal immigration is completely wrong for our island or any country.

13. If find these responses very interesting. It seems Barbados is experiencing a problem similar to other islands that tend to attract immigrants. These immigrants tend to criticize their host countries to no end. The same criticisms of locals being lazy, un-educated, etc, is leveled against them as well. And locals respond similarly that if their country is so great, then why do they emigrate in the first place. I find this in the Virgin Islands (US and British), Bermuda, and the Cayman Islands. In all of the above countries, immigrants make up close to 50% of the total population.

Also of note is the very restrictive and protectionist laws and policies that exists in the countries of many of these immigrants. You would think that if they feel that strongly about similar laws and policies in their host country that they would first try to have those laws amended in their native lands. But alas, it is not so because it benefits them.

14. Yes Nation Builder. The same is true with Mexico and the US. Mexico has some of the most restrictive immigration laws, yet as a national policy they demand that the US dismantle any remaining barriers to their citizen’s entry into the US.

————————————
    I’m black, and will not vote for Barack. 🙂

15. Market Vendor is not humor, he(she?) is just plain crass…!

16. I agree wid you Anon, and he barely legal himself.

As for the US “illegal immigrants” that David thought was appropriate to mention, which among these so-called Americans are truly legal? Man dey kill off all the “legal” ones or put them on reservations and turn around and tell any new comers, many of whom have ancestry dating back thousands of years as having occupied the continent, that they are illegal. What David means is “undesirable”. Call a spade a spade.

17. Lost in Paradise Avatar
    Lost in Paradise

Juris, i realise that no one has answered your request…
    From what i understand, foreigners flock here and like it then stay on , some live a very long time get comfortable while being illegal they then get alot of preferential treatment while they lambase everything about our beautiful country, they cry down the way we live, speak, eat etc, The foreigners you are mentioning are LEGAL ALIENS who have gone the right ways to work and offer their skills here (which is much appreciated) but they too lambase everything this country is about and was built on. Why do we as bajans entertain these people and take all their crap
    It seems that whoever loaded with the dollars is now bajan and they can talk and do as they like (doan mind they aint born here or even marry to one uh we) Dollars talking and beaches blocking, Illegal Aliens flocking, docking, clocking and bajans walking (around doing nutin)

So i doan think Richard Hoad is digging at foreigners on the hole, it is the preferential treatment you get (better to be an Illegal Alien in this country now than a bajan), people more interested in yu.

We are going to have a serious problem in the future if something is not done to ensure Barbadians have rights in their own country, we built this from when it was nothing and now we are sidelined in most things, the biggest construction jobs are done by foreign companies, all inclusive resorts that treat locals like true undesirables, trying to block our beaches and get away with it until enough pressure is put in the right place and they then comply, Hoad is right, if you build on your own land with your own money but dont ask for permission they make you tear it down,
    But we are lost in paradise.

18. Yea Yea.. Building a mountain with mole hill material..

19. @ Adrian Hinds // October 26, 2008 at 10:12 am

Oh yea Adrian, I f’get to mention that Barack does not have a “slave, New World Black” ancestr, so it is safe to say that a lot this pandering that you see is to build a following among Whites and no more… Wha’ you say?

20. Lowdown is one of Barbados’ best writers. Keep up the good work and keep some goat milk for me. i prefer goat milk from you than cow milk from Morgab Lewis.

21. Barbados got too many Black people in it. LOL

22. Lost in Paradise Avatar
    Lost in Paradise

Or to many people judging skin colour, like if this is a reason for anything…

23. @ LIP

Thats not the funniest. Imagine you are bajan and help build the wall that block you out! Dont dare come and tell the owners that since the building done you could remember the view and just wanted to see the view again

Private property! Police in ya tail lol lol lol!

24. Because people were willing victims it does not mean when they come to their senses that they should not have the right to right wrongs.

25. BAFBFP
    BArbados got too many black people in it
    ===========================. PLEASE EXPLAIN.

26. Maybe he is referring to the discussion about inbreeding which is bound to occur in a small host population which is not growing. The growing immigrant population does not solve the problem because the Chinese and Indians have been clannish in behaviour.

27. Thats a nasty statement BAFBFP! Cause we are black people we suppose to let everybody else do shite to we and we take it; Stupse Thanks BAFBTP~!

28. The influx of Indians and Chinese in Barbados would just result in an increase of perdigree bajan chinks in this country.

29. BAFBFP // October 26, 2008 at 7:20 pm

@ Adrian Hinds // October 26, 2008 at 10:12 am

Oh yea Adrian, I f’get to mention that Barack does not have a “slave, New World Black” ancestr, so it is safe to say that a lot this pandering that you see is to build a following among Whites and no more… Wha’ you say?
    ==========================

…What is a “Slave New World Black ancestor”???????

Pandering is 80 percent election politics. For most politicians what they say and do to get elected, differs significantly from what they intend to do, which is almost always driven by their core values and ideology. So if you look to past utterences, associations, and practices of a candidate you get a better feel of what they are most likely to be when elected. I did this and do not like Barack’s past utterences, associations and practices, therefore what he says and do now to get elected does not register with me. A look into the past can be a mirror into the future. At least this is the case with politicians.

——————————–
    I am black, and will not vote for Barack.

30. If Chinese and Indians (and Whites) were not so clannish. Man I would have them breeed the hell out of all these thorough-bred bajan egomaniacs so that we could have a nice even population of mixed-breeds like David for generations to come. Oh Lard too many simple people… come fa ya worl’…!

31. Adrian Hinds // October 27, 2008 at 9:46 am

Well then sir I am on your side. He really does not interest me enough to require my researching his deep past. But he is half African and not half-ex slave. I give him that as an advantage.

32. BAFBFP // October 27, 2008 at 11:51 am

Adrian Hinds // October 27, 2008 at 9:46 am

Well then sir I am on your side. He really does not interest me enough to require my researching his deep past. But he is half African and not half-ex slave. I give him that as an advantage.
    ===========================
    Indeed this is why White liberals find him appealing, for they knew all along that blacks will go for a person that LOOKS LIKE THEM even though that person, is not of them. I laugh when we make the case that there is more to us than the colour of our skin, to the point that most American Universities have degree programs with a core major in Africana Studies or Africlogy. Indeed Martin Luther King wanted us to judged by our character and not by the colour of our skin. Even Bob Marley told us that until the colour a man’s sking is of no more significance than the colour of eyes, they will be war. Yet most persons supporting Obama cannot get beyond his skin colour.

33. My choice for President is Cynthia McKinney (Green Party) the American for the oval office (as an added extra she don’ believe the official 9-11 story nider) Both the Republicans and the Dems (she is a former dem) hate she…! But left to the media in the US and Barbados, you would never know that she existed (nor Ron Paul, Ralph Nader, Gloria La Riva and a couple other very good, intelligent, well educated problem solvers with viable agendas).

F**k the press they corrupt everything.

34. Shite Adrian, you must hate that last post. Sorry, can’ tek it back now…

35. Dear Adrian:

We hear ya already. N0 need to repeat that you are not voting for Mr. O’Bama

36. Adrian, Many decades ago we had an organisation in my country called the League of Coloured People, we had our fair and we were just wonderful and there were many young men in the League that looked like Senator Obama, so to be true to my race, the coloured race, I had to give Senator Obama a litte vote. Many years ago Congress woman Shirley Chisholm, a decendant of Barbadians ran for US President, she did not win. She was born in New York, but raised in Barbados.

37. Heard in the news last night, the governor of the central bank warning that there has been a rise in unemployment that will escalate. The question is;what will my P.M do to secure the jobs in Barbados for bajans FIRST? I saw this coming and am worried that many bajans with mortgages and loans to pay,families to support, and other expenses to look after, are the ones who will be on the bread line because both legal and illegal immigrants will be willing to drop their wages to keep their jobs at the expense of bajans. If this problem is not addressed ASAP, it can cause some civil unrest as the economic crisis deepens.

38. Scout, Well, don’t overseas Bajans sent home money to keep the home fires burning.

39. Anonymous
    Let me state up front. Many bajans went through a rough period in the early 90’s , some lose their homes. We don’t mind tightening our belts and roughing it out for a while until this country return to an even keel but not when these illegal people are here in this already densely populated island and we bajans being taxed out of the little we have while these people rob bajans out of work and pay no NIS nor PAYE,nor Income tax. If this government don’t get them out when the sh*t hit the ceiling we bajans will get them out.

40. Some of us bitch about the “others” who dare to be amongst us…

(IMHO… Said some are sad, pathetic, fearful, scared, impotent, and, ungrateful…)

Artillery shells are launched (and land (and kill)) in the “mother land” several times every hour as we “speak”…

A simple question: has a single artillery shell been fired in anger here in Barbados in the last 100 years?

(Drilling down a bit further, the only firings in anger would have been un-targeted “signals” many hundreds of years ago. (One or two of the sites of the firings are now tourest atractions. (I’d offer you fries with that, but food is not available…)))

(And the most powerful firings here would have been the HARP research work done earlier in the latter part of the last century — by a “damn white foreigner”…)

IMHO, we have no respect for the work done (and sacrifices made) on our behalf by those who have gone before.

41. Yes we African people are God’s people, and I know he loves us more than any other people on earth. But the problem with Barbados appears to be like you all want to be English people, black English people, you know they call you all Little England and everything over in Barbados is so prim and proper, and so the people coming to Barbados, they want England in the tropics, so why not come to Barbados. You never got a (Afro)-Bajan indentity after independence, look 10% of the people there are European, which other place has that ethnic make up after independence, plus the Chinese and East Indians from Guyana. I still don’t see how you can keep out the illegals, they will come by LIAT, BW or swim to get to Little England, now the solution might be to become Little Haiti or Little Guyana, not a soul would come.

42. War brewing between Lowdown Hoad and BC Pires ( he is a Trini writer who thinks he is funny). Cou cou versus callaloo. Lowdown won first round.

Pires sound flustered changing a letter in Dick Hoad name to make it dirty but it doesnt click. Pires it seems got out of Dodge(TnT) and move here.

Cant wait for these two whiteys to slug it out. Great fun so far.

43. Anonymous
    The method to get out the illegals in well in advance preperations. The warnings were made, the patience waiting on government to act is gracious, the execution of the project will come about when ALL these have fail, bajan would do the patriotic thing and DEFEND their country to the death. WE DON’T PLAN TO LOSE.

44. ME Oh Laud, Meh a LOL big time here. because you name them coucou and callaloo, aka pigtail and salt beef, that is what I name them.

45. Dear Anonymous on October 30th at 5:35 a.m. you wrote:

“But the problem with Barbados appears to be like you all want to be English people…now the solution might be to become Little Haiti or Little Guyana, not a soul would come”

You diagnosis is wrong. Your solution is wrong. We Bajans have no intention of harming Barbados, visitors or migrants. We have no intention of carrying out a scorched earth policy.

I would suggest that you go back to sleep.

46. J, I didn’t mean it like that, I think you know what I mean, everyone wants to come to Barbados, even people form
    he mother continent, Ghana an example, so what I meant to say, if Barbados was like Guyana or Haiti they might/would not come. In the old days LIAT use to oversell its flights to BGI from GEO and I have seen Guyanese women of all races, colours and sizes fighting to get on board the plane to come to Barbados. I didn’t understand the problem until I meet this blog. Up until, I use to laugh to myself when I remember the women fighting to get on the plane, and I would say those girls can hardly wait to start their vacations in Barabdos, not knowing they might have had alterior motives. No I don’t want any one to destroy anything, but especially life. So sorry if I came across as some sleepy, don’t know what I am saying person.

47. Since Babadians have such a poor work ethic etc. why is it that so many foreigners move and live there. It is obvious that many of the other Caribbean citizens are envious of our country. This is very dangerous. People only move into our country for what they can get but they do not lose all of the negative values which make them run from their countries in the first place. Many of these islands are larger and have more natural resources than Barbados. Why do African want to live and stay in Barbados? These countries are so massive and have so many minerals etc. Trade and tourism is very positive but tribal, cultural and colonialism differences keep Africans from progressing as they should. We have a very small economy and it is because of our strong work ethic, good manners and national pride among other positive traits such as gratitude to God that we are so successful. Jealousy is a terrible thing and Barbadians need to be strong, keep the faith and keep on striving. Enforce the immigration laws. Every other nation is trying to doing it: Australia, the U.S, Canada etc. Is it because we try to serve God? Christians are not supposed to please people. We must have self respect. People take kindness for weakness.

48. Sorry for the grammatical errors; I was typing fast.

49. I’ll be back in Barbados in 2010 God Willing. Best place in the World!!!!!! USA? Can’t wait to leave!!!!