Submitted by Yardbroom

There is a view, that it is dishonest of some main stream media personnel to suggest that the result of the last general election in Barbados, was not influenced – to some degree – by the varied opinions expressed on the blogs. I am not suggesting the blogs handed victory to one particular party… as that is difficult to prove.  What I am suggesting is that issues generally hidden in Barbados were brought to light; resulting in the electorate ceasing to view “alleged” abnormalities as normal.  This new “participation by observation” nucleus was difficult to assess.  However, the result was a landslide victory, not anticipated by some experienced observers.

This new and different voice was in part the reason why some politicians made serious mistakes.  They equated the numbers commenting, with a set number of votes. not taking cognizance of the “participant observers” to which I have previously alluded.  Those who read, discussed, but never made comments.  It is important to understand Barbadian society; as those who do not can equate call in programmes with the blogs.  Some participants on call in programmes will say what is expected of them depending on party loyalty etc. 

A restraint not always exercised on the blogs.

Astute politicians should catch the public mood and will gather information from “all sources”… a wise thing to do.  A hint of what is blowing in the wind, is often the difference between success and failure in elections.

Before the next general election quite a few new blogs will be started.  Some will be politically motivated and over time this will become apparent.  Others will fail as is the nature of such things and a few will stand the test of time.  Those in the vanguard will no doubt improve by building on their foundations.

Into this mix are the commenters, a few have already positioned themselves ready to lay siege; chameleon like they will switch delivery between standard and colloquial Bajan to give the impression, they are in touch with the boys on the block.  However, their only “constant” is their own agendas.

No criticism intended. We all have agendas, even if not politically motivated.

If I may be so bold, the Internet “will” have a greater impact on the next Barbados General Election than it did on the last.  Why?  Barbadian society and its societal interaction are made for it.  Who will be victorious?  That I do not know, there is a long way to travel, but in most races to win you must be in the right place at the right time.  Perhaps, just perhaps regardless of Party the electorate and the Blogs might be victorious.

A quick recap of the 2008 Election results indicate in about half a dozen consitituencies the margin of victory was just about 300 votes.  It would be unwise of “any” politician to ignore any medium of support.

62 responses to “The Next Barbados General Election And The Influence Of The Internet”

1. We need to put some serious fines on these people.

A friend of mine went to the UK and didnt even get off the plane good; his ass was in detention camp why? They said he didnt have enough money to prove that he was there on a vacation.

the more they layway and dont deal with this issue the more pist off everyone is becoming! I know that people just waiting for an excuse my perfect example is of the block that I mentioned earlier!

And now them mekking noise for land ha ha ha ha halol Anon! this thing serious yeah real real serious!

Anon why they dont talk about the Guyanese woman who lives in Clapham guess how she get the land the old man that she use to take care of dead *(dont ask me how and negro man you aint lying the women is work in at Silver Fox! Believe me it is true! I am going to see if I can get a picture of the land cleared away in St. George and some evidence. I have other serious issues going on in my life right now; but as soon as I get a chance which would probably be before December i am going to do some serious investigative journalism and mek the nation look like shite!

Anon they giving us stories every sunday about our close ties ; nobody aint giving you the story about the old man who is living in the district hospital whilst the Guyanese and her family after putting the said individual in the hospital now renting out the house wel well you aint lying anon! I waiting to see what David going do!

Let me tell you how long we was saying so the more things change the more they remain the same hmmmmm

David Thompson we aint want no lotta long talk.

2. JC
    Nice to hear you commenting on these issues again.David Thompson,Maxine McClean and the DLP are a bunch of sell outs and human waste.I have no apologies to make to anybody for calling our Prime Minister & our other leaders human waste.That is what they are.Our Prime Minister accepting meat & other food stuff from a rat catcher & mango seller from Pakistan. No wonder many of our senior government officials are accepting all types of bribes & hand outs from the Whites,Indians and Chinese in Barbados.We have our leaders setting the example.
    This inept,incompetent government promised us serious action on this immigration issue and up to this moment nothing has been done.JC & others we must take matters into our own hands,we cannot wait on those losers for relief.I am going to mobilise the marganalised black youth across Barbados to take action by any means they consider necessarry .Talk done.The youth are seeing jobs being taken away from them and their parents in Barbados by non-nationals .JC do likewise with the youth in your neighbourhood.
    TALK DONE THIS IS ACTION TIME.

3. Stinking BU a*sshole.

Kiss yuh scunt.

What a bunch of LOSERS!

4. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

Mr. A. Hinds…..amazing…..name calling. YOU have definitely raised the level of this debate.

5. What is wrong with well managed immigration policies. We have been pleading for months with the government of the day to deal with this issue.

Yesterday I went to Courts and to my amusement there are now hiring the the guyanese what is going on! dont believe me go to Sheraton Center tomorrow. ha ha ha lol! they claim the person was the best person for the job!

Are we not good enough to get jobs anymore!

Bajans need to wake up!

6. Anonymous
    Guyanese now are receptionists, maids,taxi drivers, truck drivers security guards, just now one of them will be in parliment and crapo smoke we pipe.I have had enough. Negroman, you told me that something is happening soon to rectify the problem. That is taking too long I’m ready to sacrifise my life to help resolve this injustice. My country has been peacefully invaded and my leaders have sold us out.

7. The Scout maybe I must confess but I was duped by senior goverment,politicians from the DLP and even government ministers that positive action was underway.I was assured that this government would had gotten serious with this issue,I am so wrong it is amazing.It is up to us to let the government knows we mean action.Like you I prepare to make the ultimate sacrifice.
    David Thompson,Maxine McClean and the rest of his goverment are a bunch of political hum bugs and despots who are taking Barbadians for a ride.These politicians are lucky we do not operate like Jamaicans and other regions in the world.One day coming soon that might change.

8. Barnabas Collins // October 19, 2008 at 6:54 pm

Mr. A. Hinds…..amazing…..name calling. YOU have definitely raised the level of this debate.
    ===========================

“name calling”? Barnabas Collins is not and has never been a real person, Dr Sparman would not be upset with the context in which his name was reference. Only David Ellis could be, but he does not visit the blogs. Or does he???????? Oh well I am not interesting in playing seek while you continue to hide. Nothing decernable here so I am moving on. 🙂 🙂

9. Negroman I know you will be happy to hear that some measures are being put in place by this Government. Are you bak from your trip!

I hope it was enjoyable!

David I know you all will like what you hear! I dont want to say too much people will know who I am!

All I will say is that in order to get a job in Barbados for an illegal immigrant is going to be difficult.

Fines and so on are coming hmmmmm about time!

10. Ms. McClean is willing but she is treading carefully!

11. Anonymous Yes I am back home in my beloved Barbados and indeed I enjoyed my trip overseas as usual.I will be happy and satisfy if the government will act decisively on this illegal immigration matter.The time has long passed for meaningful action to being taken.If fines and other measures are implemented to deter business owners from hiring illegals immigrants I am all for it and will rightfully support the government.I hope this is not one of the many promises that this government proposes from the start of its term on this illegal immigration issue and is yet to fulfill any of them.
    Anonymous like you I receive many assurances from senior government officials and even the minister but yet nothing positive has occur and this is nearly a year.
    David Thompson,Maxine McClean and this DLP administration Barbadians are depending on this government to deliver us from the invasion of our shores from illegals from the Caribbean especially the Indo-Guyanese scums and the nasty racist Chinese.Act or we will act on your administration at the next elections.

12. Negroman it is JC that wrote both of the previous comments; now I have checked i relise that my blog name was not in the name box.

Yes negroman things seem to have started I got some information that I know for a fact that has started. I feel good about it and very confident.

The government has to start protecting their own first!