Submitted by Dr. Don Marshall

Next the challenge thrown out to me by BU to shed some light on the CARIFORUM/EU (EPA) Deal. I was said to play a key role in the negotiations. This is a mistaken view. I played no role at all in the CARIFORUM/EU negotiations. In fact, on April 21 2008, through a region-wide news link-up with OXFAM, I raised concerns over what I thought to be a problematic deal. That instantly meant that I joined the company of a much-maligned group of commentators for daring to say “I disagree with the signing of the CARIFORUM/EU deal.”

At the OXFAM forum, I emphasised, among other things, that the Doha Development Round proposals were being undermined by the provisions under a full EPA.

For example, in the trade in agricultural goods:

Least developed countries and some developing countries benefited from exemptions, flexibilities in the formula for cutting tariffs, and special safeguard mechanisms in the Doha Round.

But under a Full EPA:

All ACP countries are to eliminate and bind applied tariffs on 80-97 % of trade with Europe. No sector is exempted and no special safeguard mechanism is in place for agriculture.

Trade In Services under a Full EPA:

While we are being told that Barbados and other Caribbean countries stand to benefit from trade in services, little is mentioned about the commitments in the Deal that go substantially beyond the prevailing Generalised Agreement on Trade In Services (GATS) established under the WTO.
These are in terms of opening and regulations. Put simply, service providers leaving our shores will face stiffer requirements as it relates to rights of establishment, the need to have a prior work contract secured, and a matter of two years is allotted for qualification and vocational standards to be harmonised, even as each country reserves the right to benchmark the incoming service provider’s qualification to its standards.

Another point to note is the substantive commitments to transparency of government procurement markets in the CARIFORUM/EU deal. This appears useful at the surface as we all will wish for greater transparency in the way government contracts for services are awarded. But suspicions about this provision are in order as the pursuit of market liberalisation or openness in the area of government procurement was halted and taken off the Doha agenda at the Cancun Ministerial in 2003.

Imperial oversight of how our governments award contracts in the provision of public services lays future ground for the argument suggesting open competition, meaning allowing all countries in the EU and in Caricom including the Dominican Republic equal opportunity to bid for such contracts. This has been a traditional area for governments to stimulate the rise of new domestic entrepreneurs and sustain business enterprises. Brazil and other Latin American countries objected to it in Cancun. However Cariforum has made commitments to transparency in the Deal, creating the negotiating space for further liberalisation inroads where this was rejected in the Doha Round.

I have only raised some of the issues here but I could not end this post without pointing readers to a troubling foreboding. Havelock Brewster recently raised the point about the undermining of the CSME once the full EPA is in place between Cariforum and EU. At the OXFAM forum, I also spent some time on this point by focusing on the new architecture to come. I argued that CARICOM will lose its organic intensity and regional `feel’ once this new architecture is in place.

There is proposed, the creation of Joint Cariforum-EC Council, whose responsibility it is to actualize the EPA in all its aspects including monitoring, trouble-shooting and reviewing the EPA. This council will comprise representatives of signatory Cariforum states and members of the Council of the European Commission (EC) and the EC itself. This Joint Council will have the power to take decisions on all matters covered by the EPA. In this regard, it will have more authority over the region’s external trade than Caricom itself.

There is also a Cariforum-EC Trade and Development Committee comprising senior officials of both parties. This body is expected to service the Council and assist it in the execution of its responsibilities. It is thus responsible for ensuring that disputes are resolved and that the opportunities afforded by the agreement for trade, investment business ventures, and so on are utilized. In this regard it has responsibilities for securing the development objectives of the EPA.

There is in addition a Special Committee on Customs Cooperation and Trade Facilitation proposed, which is responsible for the effective implementation/administration of the EPA Chapter on Customs and Trade facilitation.
There are also two other non-specialist committees to be created, namely the Cariforum-EC Parliamentary Committee and a Cariforum-EC Consultative Committee. The former shall comprise representatives of the various parliaments that are party to the agreement and the latter organizations of civil society. I think you can glean how much CARICOM/CSME will slip from the mainstream.

The appeal remains the same. Caricom countries should avoid signing this agreement in its current form. The EU hopes to have all 76 ACP countries complete the signing of full EPAs. Strategically, Caricom governments may sign onto the trade in goods with some special exemptions but work alongside ACP partners to get a better deal in trade in services; intellectual property; investment; competition; government procurement — all of which go beyond commitments made in the current Doha Round.

There is nothing radical in this as developed countries and emerging countries stalled talks in Cancun on investment, non-agricultural market access, and competition policy and government procurement. Talks broke down again on July 29 2008 at the Doha Meeting in Geneva when India and China refused to accept the reduction of proposed measures (i.e. a US proposed formula) to protect their (i.e. China’s and India’s) farmers from trade liberalisation.

Barbados seems set to sign on, if it has not already, and this can only mean that it is operating under the swing of the pendulum. No brownie points are on offer in this conjuncture. It is now in the circumstances of an oil price crisis, a carbon/energy/environmental crisis, a credit crunch caused by a mortgage crisis in the US, and a commodity price spike that the circumstances are ripe for vulnerable countries to demand exemptions and considerations in their trade deals. Certainly the cost of living spiral necessitates flexibility in trade deals in the direction of food security, employment creation, poverty alleviation and some degree of economic protectionism.

The accustomed pragmatic neoliberal counsel is not suited at this historical moment as its premises are under ideological attack. Even the Conservative Party of Britain under a resurgent David Cameron is maintaining that the market cannot be left alone to affect its putative miracles.

25 responses to “CARIFORUM EU (EPA) Deal Could Be Problematic For CARICOM”

1. We are very concerned that 35 years of building CARICOM is becoming trivialized by the Cariforum EU EPA. Regrettably the only leader we have heard speaking out on the EPA is the President of Guyana. Prime Minister Thompson appear to be of the view that nothing is perfect and the big markets which will now become open will be of benefit to CARICOM. Is it too late to have a gut check on this EPA? We read of James Paul’s concern as it relates to agriculture.

2. Foreign Affairs Minister Chris Sinckler has said in public that the EPA is a good deal. I acknowledge that even before appointment as Foreign Affairs Minister, Mr Sinckler was involved from the NGO side in these matters. A call should be made to him to join the debate on Barbados Underground on the EPA (hint to WIV). I will admit that on this issue The Devil can only observe and hopefully learn something as this topic is far removed from my area of expertise.

3. David,

Two points!

One: This reads like a typical PDC piece, except that it is logical and reasoned, however the language is ‘CaveHillian’ (ie designed to impress others of one’s command of the queen’s English)

Basically, Dr Marshall is saying the same thing that James Paul recently said, except that every Tom Dick and Harry can understand Paul’s language.

The proposed ‘agreement’ is obviously a ridiculous one for us to sign -but so was the CSME, so at least we are consistent.

Second Point:

What Doctor Marshall mean by ‘Next challenge thrown out to me by BU…’ ?!?

Does he think that the first challenge is covered? Does he really think that his flimsy excuse about being in Europe for a few days holds any waters? Does he think that BU bloggers were all born recently?

David, I was about to share some real licks in you for calling for an apology, however I see that my thunder has been stolen by better bloggers that Bush tea.

The very fact that Bloggers needed to EXTRACT an explanation from SSA at all, is highly disrespectful to Bajans. After such commotion, including a strike – with garbage on our streets – and then NOTHING?????

What apology What!?!

…and don’t talk about Ian Bourne, a top blogger AND PRO of the SSA to boot….and BU family have to cuss and carry on bad to get some explanation…however flimsy…
    I still waiting to see how Ian Bourne earns his pay…

…looka, don’t get the Bush tea boiling yuh….

4. Can’t please you all BT? We encourage the Cave Hill people to share their views and when they do you all pelt blows in them. The man has said he was away let us give him the benefit of the doubt that he needs to get up to speed.

5. …Spare the rod and spoil the Academics David. Don’t listen to those anti-lashes academics yuh…

Ok I concede. It is better when the academics contribute -But tell them to ease up with the big words and show-off conceptualizations….. This is BU not Harvard Review…

..also I also would ask the good Doc, what would he recommend as the appropriate course of action for Barbados in light of the unfriendly EPA deal?

….and if he say ‘CSME’, things going start boiling ’bout here – so watch it.

6. We think Devil’s comment above typifies how Barbadians feel about the EPA. It is a very technical subject matter and the average Joe does not have a clue. We know that the Devil is an intelligent person and they are struggling with this EPA business. Should the PEOPLE be able to understand this agreement with the EU, should the media and government be doing a better job?

More importantly should the education process have been done long before signing?

7. …Not only EPA David.

Even as we speak, Government continues to under estimate the need and value of sharing information with the public on many areas that are critical to us.

Most of these are not really that complex – just made so with Cavehillian language and technocrats who want to sound important (lots of acronyms are key…)

In the days when they could control what the few news agencies said, that approach could work. But with blogging, the new approach MUST be openness and transparency – else we going still come back to haunt them in the end on the http://www….

…they will learn.

8. David

Did you realise that the nation’s article on the smallest snake found in barbados references the blogs but as you have earlier stated the Nation refuses to mention the name of the blog – in this case BFP.

I think these people at the nation better wake up and realise that it is a new day and the traditional media is being left behind.

9. Yes indeed! The time is coming soon when we will have to do an expose on Roxanne Gibbs the Executive Editor. The Nation took the same position when we broke the 3S/Jonathon Danos story. We are beginning to question her professionalism or lack off. The Nation’s silence on the immigration issue is deafening as well.

If any BU member has info that will support this position please email us.

10. “The future is now”

The PM is absolutely correct on this one. Greater access to European markets is a bigable positive. It means greater opportunities for Bajan businesses and entrepreneurs; the PM has done his job. The days of inefficient antiquated labor intensive agriculture are over, change and adapt to the new technology or perish. As for the elimination of tariffs, this should have been done 20 years ago. Why should poor Bajans continue to subsidize antiquated subsistence agricultural methods? Those who can’t swim in the deep waters of globalization should be allowed to die their natural deaths.

11. @degap

We agree with some of what your wrote and concur with Bush tea’s mantra that we have to become Efficient, Innovative, Flexible, Creative and Imaginative but…

To compete with developed countries who have enormous financial and human resources at their disposal and have been able to hone their production machinery over the years does not make the EPA a good fit for the poor and developing nations of the CARIFORUM. The good out of it we agree it will pressure our nations to become efficient, the BAD is that the big countries will continue to flood our markets with their commodities because of the willingness of our people to buy foreign.

Is it too late to stem the tide?

12. It is so highly objectionable to the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) that a Cariforum/EU EPA that has so many adverse implications for the future social, political, material and financial development of Barbados and other CARICOM countries, is yet to receive the investigation, scrutiny, analysis and determination of the people of Barbados and CARICOM as a whole. However, in terms of Barbados, such a deliberate POLICY of the former BLP Government, under whose watch negotiations for this EPA started, and now such a similar reckless POLICY of this present DLP Government, NOT allowing our Barbadian people to know what is contained in the terms and conditions of this Cariforum/EU EPA, is indeed very reprehensible, and is a grave cause for concern for the viability and integrity of the nation building and democracy building processes that are being supposedly carried out in Barbados.

Therefore, the fact that this wretched DLP Government is set on signing off on this EPA later in this year, without the people of this country having been afforded the opportunity to survey the terms and conditions of this agreement and therefter to make an informed judgement on it is as it stands, or to demand changes to the present agreement, in light of what Dr. Marshall, Sir Sridath Ramphal, Mr. James Paul and others have been excoriating this EPA for, is surely entire affront to the aspirations of a great number of people in Barbados to have a greater say and control over their own affairs, esp. in regard of NOT ONLY this EPA BUT ALSO so many other of these types of agreements, policies and laws ( WTO, EAI, CBI etc.) that have at various points in time in the past been adversely affecting them and that will, indeed, continue to seriously disadvantage them in so many ways.

Also, the right of the people of Barbados to know about the entire process that has given rise to the EPA and these types of agreements, policies and laws ought to have been taken into consideration and enforced by previous post-independence DLP and BLP Governments and now by this DLP Government!! Certainly, we as a people in Barbados must NOT continue to allow indefinitely any governments to simply think that they can go and negotiate and later on ratify bi-lateral or multilateral agreements with other states or groups of states without our people having inputs into these agreements themselves. Never must we continue to allow indefinitely these governments to take the notion of our country’s sovereignty for granted for ever more! NEVER EVER FOR EVER MORE!! This kind of atrocious governmental behaviour must certainly be stopped!!

Finally, we in the PDC are NOT, NOT EVER going to support this Cariforum/EU EPA, given that we and the great majority of the Barbadian people have NOT seen what it looks like and therefore have NEVER had the chance to make any inputs into it; given that many Barbadian and CARICOM experts – who we honestly think are on the side of masses and mases of people in Barbados and CARICOM -have been very valid and trenchant in their criticisms of it, and given that this agreement seems to have been dominated by the Europeans and their type of hegemonic Eurocentric thinking and manipulation.

13. David,

People are crying bloody murder for the cost of living. Customs officers are digging up the bags of Bajans so they can assess exorbitant duties on one box of cornflakes and two curtains (100% duty on curtains). In 2008, the treasury is still dependent on import duties. After all these years, tourism still can’t pull its own weight? Bajan produces need to incorporate the technology and innovations currently employed by globally competitive companies then they won’t have any trouble finding local customers.

14. It is interesting that Ambassador Denis Kellman and MP James Paul have come out against the signing of the EPA. It is refreshing to hear government backbenchers speaking to their conscience.

15. @David et al…

Is the information available at:

http://ec.europa.eu/trade/issues/bilateral/regions/acp/

…the best we have to work with, or have any of our own thinkers published (on-line) anything which we in the region should consider?

Please advise.

Kindest regards to all…

16. For the record…

I made a post here a bit earlier. It included a URL reference.

My post has disappeared. Even my own queries do not show the post “awaiting moderation”…

So sad…

David: do please tell…

17. Seems short posts, which include a URL, get dropped in the spam basket with no acknowledgement.

18. @Straight talk…

Thank you for your insight…

I spend years teaching myself “the art of the short form”, only to discover that some computer decides to use this to decided that I’m a spammer…

One would cry, if it wasn’t so funny…

Perhaps I should start “channelling” the PDC, rather than Newton, Einstein, Smith, et al… (LOL.)

19. degap
    Why should poor Bajans continue to subsidize antiquated subsistence agricultural methods? Those who can’t swim in the deep waters of globalization should be allowed to die their natural deaths.

Because, degap, that is EXACTLY what the so called developed countries do, and proposes to continue doing, while we kill off our farmers and producers, and convert our taste to their produce.

While you are right about the need to be competitive, we also need to use our COMMON SENSE.

Jumping into an arrangement where we remove tariffs to imports of goods and services in exchange for nebulous promises of access to their markets would be foolish and suicidal.

Everyone knows that those developed countries use so called ‘quality control’, based on standards that THEY control, to limit access of third world products to their markets.

Where are the examples of ACP countries negotiating successful developmental trade arrangements with the first world?

The problem for us in your second statement is that as it presently stands, we all would likely die ‘natural deaths’. This is because, instead of ‘learning to swim in the deep waters of globalization’ we wasted time and money with CSME and in negotiating with first world entities who were interested ONLY in their OWN survival.

Even the so called regional high flier companies are barely jokers on the international stage and are merely one eyed men in blind man country….

At least by subsidizing our agriculture (just like the big countries do) AND by discriminating AGAINST cheap, subsidized imports designed to destroy our production totally (just like they all do with various mechanisms), we would give ourselves a fighting chance to at least meet some basic needs on our own steam, and not be fully prostrated at the mercy of the globalization moguls that threaten us all.

20. Will Barbadians hear our media and academics discuss how the CARIFORUM/EC EPA could possibly derail the CSME process?

21. Bush Tea,

Pensioners don’t have $200 dollars to spend on groceries every week. If local farmers need technical and or financial assistance then there is a role for government to play, but you can’t ask pensioners to pay exorbitant prices in the name of nationalist pride. The local farmers must change.

High standards would be the same for everyone, so Bim would not be at a disadvantage. Why should I enjoy first world quality in the US while my grandmother is relegated to just good enough for the third world quality standards in Bim. The US market is flooded with third world products. The English speaking Caribbean has missed the open market free trade boat. We still believe that the universe of a small island state is sufficient to sustain long-term economic growth.

22. The significant point which we all should remember is something the economists call ‘economies of scale’, the Caribbean can only compete with niche products and even so on a limited scale. From what we gather Barbados is hoping to compete by exporting services.

23. degap,
    I really do appreciate your position. In a fair world i would agree 100%. However, Bush tea is as old as some hills and has come to understand the lack of morals that drive our world.

True, pensioners are hard hit by high prices. Do you have any idea what pensioners in failed states are paid? Are you aware that in many countries in this world where bad political decisions were taken, not pensioners, but working families are hard pressed to raise $200 per week?

The ultimate objective therefore is to ensure the viability of the STATE.

Now the problem with globalisation is that you are asking your productive sectors to compete with those in large ‘developed’ countries.
    How does it make sense to hamstring your producers, WHILE THOSE IN THESE COUNTRIES ARE RECEIVING SUBSIDIES?

Obviously this will result in attractive low prices for your pensioners – FOR A WHILE….
    …when you are totally dependent and you have NO productive sector, and no income – even at the low prices how will you buy ANYTHING?

Here is another Bush tea parable;-

You are a mason and have been supporting your family reasonably well. You are told that since Globalization is upon us, you need to compete with foreign masons. Thousands of chinese masons turn up working for half your rate. Of course your ‘pensioners’ (customers who you do work for) love it… Do they care that China is subsidizing their masons? that they pay no NIS? that they live in substandard conditions?

…so you are out of work, but so too are painters, foremen, and soon nurses, secretaries and even lawyers and engineers like MME…

…no work means no money coming in so even paying the low Chinese rates we will be unable to support ourselves.

Is it not better in this scenario to also subsidize our workers? To place barriers to the way of the cheap imports? etc? At all cost we must keep our productive sectors producing.

Having achieved this, we must then strive to be more efficient, more creative etc so that we can REALLY compete with anyone out there – But degap the VERY FIRST STEP is to NOT SHUT down our productive sectors… especially by catching at the shadows of cheap goods and dropping the bone of our productive bases.

24. I never got involved with this EPA discussion. However, after reading an analysis by Sir Ronald Saunders, abusiness consultant and former Caribbean diplomat, I do think it is folly for Thompson to ink the deal. Saunders piece is here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/story/2008/08/080815_sanders_epa.shtml

25. Hello to All the Guests and Members,
    My computer worked slowly, too much errors. Please, help me to fix buggs on my computer. On format http://www.yahoo.com please.
    My operation system is Windows XP.
    Thanks,