Submitted by: Yardbroom

Last week I said on Barbados Underground, that the election campaign of 2013 has started. Recent events have reinforced that opinion, rather than diminished it. Many commenters here have said, the main threat of the opposition’s response to Prime Minister David Thompson’s budget. Was the declaration of “personal assets” by the opposition leader?

The declaration has no function as regards the budget, but it captured the headlines as intended.

It would be churlish not to accept that it was a “master stroke”. The intention obviously to wrong foot the Government. Many have said it was not signed by an auditor, accountant etc and there was no independent verification…perhaps all true. What about overseas assets? All true. However, politics is often about “perception” and what the view of the electorate is. The message in this case, is what “I” have done, limited though it is…what have you done?

This personal divulgence was long in planning, shorter in execution, and devastating in impact. I have consciously decided not to dwell on the minutiae of the opposition leader’s statement…irrelevant at this stage.

Perception, impact and a resonance with the electorate is what matters. Before we get into an “over” congratulatory mood – congratulations are in order – it must be stated that it was Prime Minister David Thompson, then in opposition who said Integrity Legislation would be addressed.

We should not hesitate to mention our friends at Barbados Free Press, who understood at the time, influenced and subsequently expressed the public mood.

I must be honest, it was said by David Thompson. Integrity Legislation would be implemented in 100 days, it has not happened. There may be reasons why this is so…they might even be justified. Reality at this moment is, the situation is as it was before the election.

Does this mean all is lost for Prime Minister Thompson? No it does not. I put it to you he is in a stronger position now than before the opposition leader’s speech. Why? Those -now – Parliamentarians who were dragging their feet on Integrity Legislation, are confronted with a new reality. There is no alternative but to declare personal assets. The option if they so wish is a bleak walk into the political wilderness.

It must be said there is nothing wrong with professional people -anyone for that matter – having a lot of money. Democracy is not about election by bank balance or lack of one. In this issue it is about how the money was acquired, when in office. Has the office influenced or facilitated the acquisition of great wealth at the expense of the electorate.

Prime Minister Thompson has the opportunity, inadvertently aided by the opposition leader to regain the initiative. Reluctant parliamentarians can be dragged – where necessary – into the fold, it is for the Party my friends and your survival, and naturally a pinch of self-interest.

On Barbados Underground we sometimes tap into the “very core” of majority silent positions. Some of our astute commenters have mentioned the change of body language, dress and even vocal execution in recent days. I will not dwell on that any longer.

The fight – and it will be a fight – is for the hearts and minds of the Barbados electorate. Make no mistake the battle has already started. The election will be a tough one, good governance for the previous five years or so will not be the only consideration. It will be about our future, the kind of society we have and aspire to, and what it means to be a citizen of Barbados.

In conclusion I should mention a personal position, it is only fair to do so. Last year, months before the election date was known. I said on the DLP blog that David Thopmson would win by a landslide because of the election strategy he was adopting and history would prove him right – he was then being severely criticised in some quarters – I also added he might become one of the best Prime Ministers Barbados has ever had. It is only fair I should state that opinion now.

32 responses to “Have The Democratic Labour Party Government's Clothes Been Stolen?”

1. This is the second week in a row that we have to agree with Yardbroom. We have two leaders who are trying to stake their reputation. In the case of Thompson he has won the government on a number of factors which has nothing to do with his personal national profile. He therefore has to demonstrate by his actions in very difficult times what he is made of.

In the case of Mia all Barbadians have a soft spot for the command which she seems to have of many of the topics. We know Barbadians love leaders whose oratory skills and demonstrated intellectual capacity is demonstrated. However Mia has the hill of being a woman having to travel where no on has travelled before. She also has the baggage to overcome of a woman whose personal behaviour maybe at odds with Barbadian traditional values.

The coming months and 2-3 years will be very interesting for the political pundits in Barbados.

2. David Thompson has been elected to be in the driver’s seat, it’s up to him if Mia make him look like the co-driver while she is ditating the pace. I agree David, this session will be very interesting. I hope they both perform well

3. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Well folks inspite of the strategizing by the opposition and Thompson’s need to show the rock from which he was carved, please take note that you are dealing with a more educated group of Bajans who are also think tanks and who are not as gullible and uninterested in the political scene as previous generations.

The administration that delivers for the people, provides for the people and listens to the people will be the deciding factor on rather Thompson and his boys (and girls) regain political power or if Mia and her troopers take it back. The deciding factor will depend on if Thompson has learnt anything from the bleeps and blunders of Owing and his band of crooks. IF Thompson plays his cards right he can be in power for a very long time. Serving the people and letting the people see that you are serving them an interested in their needs and ideas will be the outcome of the next political reign. Nothing else matters, not even Mia’s preferred lifestyle will have any impact on her quest to be the first Female Premiere of Bimshire.

4. Earlier in this week – on Monday, July 7 to be exact, we had the presentation of the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals by the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Mr. David Thompson, and then on the two days after – first on Tuesday – the Opposition Leader’s Reply, and then from Tuesday into Wednesday, more ensuing debate on the said Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals by the other members of the House of Assembly. Too, no doubt the Senate will also get its opportunity to debate the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals some time soon.

Nevertheless, as a party that keeps its “ears to the ground”, we are discovering that there is an enormous groundswell of discontent by the vast majority of people that we are coming in contact with, over many aspects of the budgetary proposals, esp. those that relate to this wretched DLP Government’s carrying over from where the former failed BLP government left off … resorting to continue – through the use of TAXATION – to STEAL more and more portions of the incomes of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in Barbados. For example, just look at how motor vehicle and bicycle owners will be ROBBED of more of their incomes; just look at how those who are replacing their driving licenses will be ROBBED of more of their incomes; and very loathsomely how – for the first time in the history of moblie telecommunication services in Barbados -owners of cellphones will be ROBBED of portions of their incomes for simply being subscribers to mobile phone services provided by Cable and Wireless and Digicel.

But yah know, so intellectually bankrupt and dishonest are some of the elements in these two older parties that they think they go around making some Barbadians falsely misbelieve that it is good to TAX the incomes of people, businesses, and other entities in Barbados, when it is so very plain and simple that TAXATION is theft and robbery, and when it is rightly said in the Holy Bible by one of the ten Commandments that “thou shall NOT steal”. One MP, from the BLP side though, was even reported in the Thurday, July 10 edition of the Daily Nation, as shockingly remarking that just like Robin Hood, the new Government had taken from the rich and given to the poor. Is this the kind of philosophy we really wish to have (continue to have) instilled into our people in Barbados esp. the younger ones, that it is right to STEAL and ROB from one another, when it is TOTALLY CLEARLY wrong and evil to do so?

But, believe it the leaderships of the DLP/BLP shall NOT continue FOR EVER SO LONG to misbelieve that they can help keep the masses and middle classes in perpetual ignorance, sloth and indifference, and divided and ruled on this very sickening TAXATION agenda. Moreover, they can even go and sign off on a multiplicity of double Taxation Treaties with other countries, but believe it, we in PDC are ABSOLUTELY sure that – whenever we become at the helm of government in this country – with regard to this evil, barbarous, vampire TAXATION system – we shall upon acceding to governmental office ABOLISH it (gradually but rightly so) and put in its place the right, modernistic and democratic strategies that will, among other things, allow the state to earn its own revenues and pay its own bills.

Finally, it is getting clearer to increasing numbers of people in Barbados that there are four parties in Barbados: BLP, DLP, PDC and PEP, and that no longer is it proper and possible – except that you are extremely biassed like certain people within the traditional media in Barbados – to frame many public national political issues as if it is the BLP and the DLP are the ONLY parties in existence in Barbados. Well, we in PDC have news for ALL those biassed people that NOT ONLY at this stage are we getting greater and greater moral and political support for our efforts from many of the masses and middle classes, BUT ALSO many many of these same people are telling us that they are sick, tired and fed up with the DLP and BLP and the foolishness they have been perpetrating on esp. the masses and middle clases of people of this country over the years, and that they are ready for other parties to achieve government in this country and to do the things that are necesary to make our country brighter and better off than now. So down with the DLP and BLP!!

5. PDC how many votes you got in the last election?

What ground swell what? oopps that phrase belongs to Bush Tea and Chris Sinkler. 😀

6. Yardbroom i concur with your assessment. This is the third time that Mia has worked with Thompson to Thompson’s favour. The first and second has to do with Owen’s cheques, and the hardwood issue, and now acting as the political whip of the DLP, regarding asset declarations.

7. Whither Hamie- lah is the title of a nationnews article, which discusses the Member for St.Michael East’s decision to vote what he terms as his conscience. Folks this man actions represents the true intent of our parliamentary democracy. You get elected on a party ticket but once you are a member of the house your party credentials are of less importance and this is most noticeable by the titles given to members and how they are address. Voting party line is expected, is coerced and is the norm, but the fact is that nothing can happen to a sitting parliamentarian for voting his conscience, however the party can during the next election seek to replace the member that does not respond to the party’s parliamentary whip. This is not an easy task for the BLP since they have publicized the openess and democratization of their candidate selection process. But i want to get back to the main theme of my contribution. The same article that ask “WHITHER HAMMI LAH?, also refers to him as the PEOPLES POLITICIAN. How ironic is it that the people who by deliberate design have little say in the democratic process, that so too should People politician be found wanting, Loitering as some would say at the steps of parliament? It may be ironic but not a coincidence that Kellman, Eastmond, and Hammie Lah having endeared themselves to their constituents (the people) should find themselves very much in the same light as the people. Written off, talked down too, not respected, and lied too. The people of Barbados need to continue electing more people like these three men.

8. Adrian, got to disagree with you there. We would be in all sorts of trouble if we elected more people like them. Kellman’s a raving lunatic (another airport on our small island – give me a break) and whilst you’ve got to take your hat of to Hammie-La’s work with the poor, his timing looks self serving under the flag of “conscience”. He jumped from DLP to BLP when the B’s were in power and is looking at doing the same the other way when the D’s are in. I smell a rat. We need more politicians with a conscience, just not like these three.

9. Bajan Fuh Real // July 11, 2008 at 9:38 am

Adrian, got to disagree with you there. We would be in all sorts of trouble if we elected more people like them. Kellman’s a raving lunatic (another airport on our small island – give me a break) and whilst you’ve got to take your hat of to Hammie-La’s work with the poor, his timing looks self serving under the flag of “conscience”. He jumped from DLP to BLP when the B’s were in power and is looking at doing the same the other way when the D’s are in. I smell a rat. We need more politicians with a conscience, just not like these three.
    =================================
    Political parties are not important to me. Lets say you are correct about Hammie’s intent, I see nothing wrong with it. He has a responsibility to his constitutents and he carried that out. He shouldn’t have to cross the floor to get support for his consitituent, but party diehardism has made that reality in Barbados. I see his choice to support the budget in the same light that i view Barbados decision to seek and accept military equipment and financing from China when the US due to their own interest withheld the same from us. I refuse to elevate political parties to something they are not and should never be.

Kellman’s idea makes a lot of sense for a number of reasons, it’s expense not withstanding.

We have an abundance of politicos with a political conscience, look where and what it has gotten us. We need more members of parliament with a social concience.

10. Has The Democratic Labour Party Government’s Clothes Been Stolen?

OR

Have The Democratic Labour Party Government’s Clothes Been Stolen?

A big man like you who goes to tea parties with the Queen has to be careful!

11. Adrian H:

Before committing yourself to a recommendation of Hammie, consider there may be other reasons for him constantly courting the party in power.

Have you ever checked on the reason for the high cost of chopping down the ackee tree?

That may give you a clue.

12. Anonymous // July 11, 2008 at 9:54 am

Has The Democratic Labour Party Government’s Clothes Been Stolen?

OR

Have The Democratic Labour Party Government’s Clothes Been Stolen?

A big man like you who goes to tea parties with the Queen has to be careful!

Amazing to me is your view of things being discuss here. Of all the slavish words strung together here in the master service of imparting our thoughts you can only focus on whether “Has” or “Have’ should have been used. If i didn’t know better i would think you live on culpepper island or that big rock just off Basheba.

….So can you tell us which is the correct statement and why? What is “has” and it’s relationship to “have”?

Shhuupppsee evertime that i think i can dismiss the perception of “small island mentality” a “anon” shows up.

13. Straight talk // July 11, 2008 at 10:08 am

Adrian H:

Before committing yourself to a recommendation of Hammie, consider there may be other reasons for him constantly courting the party in power.

Have you ever checked on the reason for the high cost of chopping down the ackee tree?

That may give you a clue.

Hammie 12,000 vs. Owen 75k or Noel Lynch millionaire status, or any other number of unexplained eyebrow raiser incidents of wealth and or property attainment by politico’s.

….If you want me to follow your line of thinking please live up to your handle and say it straight. 😀

14. Are we unwilling to salivate over cracks in the BLP as we did when they were evident in the DLP?

Adrian Hinds
    November 24, 2007 at 8:48 pm
    The politics of inclusion:

Let us look at this phenomenon. What are its strengths? What are its weaknesses? The reason why I am attempting to look at this Owen Arthur creation is that like all other things under the sun, there will be a time to live, and flourish, and a time of death and withering away. As I cast mine eyes back to the most recent turmoil in the ranks of the DLP, all the disgruntle folks, who eventually left, and went over to the BLP, had initially join the DLP on their own volition. Crossing over to the BLP happened at a time of plenty in that camp; I think it is safe to say, that the pensions, placements, and patronage, that a PM has, and can dish out, is the real glue, the cement that keeps the recipients of the politics of inclusion in place with the existing members. What can happen in the absence of the power and access or the thing that makes real, the promises of said pensions, placements, and patronage is that their is nothing independent of power that can keep the New BLPites and the true true Bees in a tandem of mutuality. I think that in addition to the fear of prosecution and public embarrassment similar to what is occurring in Jamaica, the eminent fallout of theses oil and water BLPites is by far more disconcerting to Owen for his legacy. That legacy, should he not retain power and thus the ability to keep the heat and fire away from this powder keg of disunity is certain and of concern to him.

The politics of inclusion is not a BLP party initiated phenomenon, it is an Owen Arthur creation, if he is no longer in a position to sustain it, can it survive on its own?

THE ANSWER IS NO.

15. The following table taken from the EIU report put out by the Economist shows the debt to gdp for a number of countries. Look in particular at the debt to gdp ratio for argentina over the years. By your argument argentina has a lot of scope to borrow more money given its relatively low debt to gdp ratio.

1998 1999 2000
    Japan 112% 126% 134%
    Belgium 120 115 109
    Canada 94 90 82
    United States 64 61 58
    France 60 59 57
    Brazil 42 49 49
    Argentina 38 43 45
    South Africa 49 48 44
    United Kingdom 48 45 42
    Mexico 25 22 21
    Chile 12 13 13

One should note that Argentina defaulted on its debt in 2001 or so. The point is that while Debt to gdp and debt service to gdp are useful measures for scaling the level of debt and debt service relative to the size of the economy, what a lot of economists do not understand is that GDP does not equal income that can be used to service debt.

For example, if you borrow $200 million to build a stadium, expenditure related on that stadium increases gdp, but does that gdp increase reflect cash to service the interest on the 200 ml borrowed to build the stadium. Surely, gdp does not reflect that.

In Gresham’s haste to condemn, he and others have conveniently overlooked the fact that there was an exercise called the estimates earlier in the year.

Please go back and look at the estimates. What is the total projected expenditure in the estimates and what is the total projected tax take? Gresham takes a little time, look at those numbers and get back to us on the blog. I will suggest to you that the government of Barbados will run a larger deficit than it did last year. So this notion about the government contracting spending during a recession that is being peddled is not supported by the facts.

All that has really happened with the budget is the government has announced a number of new initiatives estimated to cost $82 million and they have tried to fund these new measures without any new borrowing.

The government program for the year includes the estimates and the budget. When you look at them together, I think you get a rather different picture than suggested by Gresham and others.

L

16. Trained economist Avatar
    Trained economist

ooops, i was trying to get that table to look decent and ended up posting anonymously.

The table shows the years 1998, 1999 and 2002 and the debt to gdp ratio for the various countries.

17. Political parties are not important to me. Lets say you are correct about Hammie’s intent, I see nothing wrong with it. He has a responsibility to his constitutents and he carried that out.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    The thousands who voted for him should have been informed. That was not done, yet on the floor he stated he had consultation with his constituents. We have to ask the question When, Where and with Whom? Over to you Hammie.

18. Tell me Why // July 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm

Political parties are not important to me. Lets say you are correct about Hammie’s intent, I see nothing wrong with it. He has a responsibility to his constitutents and he carried that out.
    The thousands who voted for him should have been informed. That was not done, yet on the floor he stated he had consultation with his constituents. We have to ask the question When, Where and with Whom? Over to you Hammie.
    You would think this is necessary because you may think that party is relevant to Hammie’s success at the polls, and this is not the case. Hammie is not Mascoll. Hammie’s success is and has always been the result of who Hammie is not what party he belongs too.

19. Bajan fuh real
    Your reaction to the airport was the same the BLP made to free education and free school meals – that this island is too small .

By the way it seems that the Advocate has sold out today.. cant seem to get one yet… You think it could be because of this story??

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/NewViewNewsleft.cfm?Record=35998

20. Andrew: That was a great speech one that i will save.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Great mastery of the language!
    The man is proficient in quoting both Skakespeare and the Scriptures.

I like ……”That is perhaps the fundamental distinction between the Member for St. Michael North East and myself, because even though she may have become a man, she has not yet put away all childish things.

22. IN THE COURT OF PUBLIC OPINION

In the first 100 days of the new DLP administration remove VAT from building materials on houses valued up to
    $400,000.

ON THE CHARGE OF: FAILING TO ACT AS PROMISED – WE FIND THE DEFENDANT – GUILTY

Provide 500 lots of land in five (5) months at $5 per sq foot for first time homeowners. These lots have been identified and land will be acquired by private treaty where necessary to speed up the process.

Commit to building 2,000 housing solutions per year in the first term of a DLP government. These will include rental units, terrace units and starter homes.

A new DLP Government will immediately embark on a health promotion campaign to sensitize the public to the dangers of unhealthy lifestyles.

Reduce the drivers licence fee for drivers over 70 years of age.

Under a DLP government, the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf through:

• Regular press briefings following meetings of the Cabinet of Barbados

AS SEEN IN A MANIFESTO….

On 15th January 2008, you will be asked to make one of the most important decisions in your life.You will have a choice between progress and regression.Even if you are among the elite few who could benefit from another
    term of BLP rule, think of your children and your children’s children.

The Democratic Labour Party humbly asks the electorate of Barbados for their vote. Let us put Barbados back on its proper course.

“Let us put Barbados back”? (WHY NOT, “Let us move Barbados forward…”?) WE FAILED TO SEE THE SIGNS.

23. “That is perhaps the fundamental distinction between the Member for St. Michael North East and myself, because even though she may have become a man, she has not yet put away all childish things.
    This is a quote by our Attorney General in reference to the leader of the opposition. Now tell, here we are listening to the budget debate and a supposedly identified statesman can come on my television and make such a vile remark about someone. This should not be a laughing matter as displayed by the foot soldiers of the party decoying themselves as parliamentarians. This is an insult to Parliamentary privileges and to add insult, our children who are looking up to these politicians would have seen this poor display our intellectual gimmickry on our TV tubes. No wonder our Prime Minister said that his children are watching and with that he display impeccable statesmanship. Congrats PM. Shame on you Freundel. Remember a member of your family might turn up or has already turned up a Homosexual or a Lesbian. How will you respond to criticism. Just think about it Sir!

24. ha ha ha “Tell me why” yes this is the first time such has occured in parliament, and yes children are watching, and everytime one of them hears Mia they often remarks “dah woman sound like uh man”, and this is only now that she has decided to stop wearing her Father’s jacket and shirts. Back then, they would have thought her to be a man without remarking such. So the AG’s comments isn’t any more alarming or confusing to children than they seeing the now feminize Mia and then hearing her very “Frank” voice for themselves, can be.

25. bajan2nv // July 11, 2008 at 2:23 pm

IN THE COURT OF PUBLIC OPINION

===============================
    am Bajan2nv BLP country is in Barbados and not the other way around therefore some may refer to your court as “The court of Blp Public Opinion. Now guess who or where may not be counted as such if wunnuh do the wrong thing?

….good guess; the constituentcy in which the person who said the following lives.

“”I am not surprised by what has happened,” said constituent Errol Boyce.

“He is the poor people’s politician and has fought for us for years. It has nothing to do with party politics. He just wants to help the poor and I support any decision he makes in that regard,” he added.

Said Marina Paul: “He has always supported the poor. If they [the BLP] penalise him for representing us, I hope they know the poor people will remember what they did.” ”

Almost all the residence supported his position.

Uh tell yuh if i were ever to be a representative, I want to have the confidence of my contituents like Hammie lah does.

26. Hammie Lah’s said the following : “My conscience will not ignore that for the first time, schoolchildren will be travelling free on the Government buses, that over 400 persons residing between the Pine, Wildey and Parkinson Field no longer have to pay for their units, saving practically $400, and that poor farmers across Barbados are getting a whole plantation to plant vegetables,” he said. ”
    ==============================

Did the DLP do all of that in 175 days?

Barbados never abandon your local needs never. In fact let the politicos work themselves to death taking care of both national and local needs at the same time, or change the system so that both can continue to get good but seperate attention. Either way i will be very happy.

27. @Adrian

Can we ever expect our politicians to vote conscience? We say this against the background of the partisan electorate which Peter Wickham’s polls continue to show. It seems the only politician who has been able to transcend the yardfowl politics is Hamilton Lashley. To explain Lashley he was never regarded as a true true politician anyway.

Any politician who votes conscience in Barbados will do do at his own peril. Educated Barbadians will not allow it!

28. Andrew // July 11, 2008 at 12:46 pm

Bajan fuh real
    Your reaction to the airport was the same the BLP made to free education and free school meals – that this island is too small .

By the way it seems that the Advocate has sold out today.. cant seem to get one yet… You think it could be because of this story??

————————————————————

Excellent presentation! Superb! Definitely will save it on my blog.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Adrian

So the AG’s comments isn’t any more alarming or confusing to children than they seeing the now feminize Mia and then hearing her very “Frank” voice for themselves, can be.
    ==============================
    I must say Frankly that I love your pun here. Go to the head of the class.

30. David // July 11, 2008 at 6:00 pm

@Adrian

Can we ever expect our politicians to vote conscience? We say this against the background of the partisan electorate which Peter Wickham’s polls continue to show. It seems the only politician who has been able to transcend the yardfowl politics is Hamilton Lashley. To explain Lashley he was never regarded as a true true politician anyway.

Any politician who votes conscience in Barbados will do do at his own peril. Educated Barbadians will not allow it!

I would argue that they are many more willing to go to parliament, to truly serve thier fellow man, but absolutely will not do so under either political party. The next move is for the people to be bold and progressive and vote for persons base on their character, and commitment, and less on what party they represent.

@GP:
    I use to get a kick out of showing video clip of Mottley and then one Kerrie Simmonds to my son. The first time i did he remarked, “how did you switch their voices like that?” ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

31. Tell Me Why,
    You should have mentioned that to Owen Arthur when he attacked Irene Sandiford-Garner in a budget wrap-up a few years ago.

32. The lead above makes sense.

I happen to know that the Dems knew what Mia and Owen were going to do. Now if the Dems follow suit and all declare that’s the end of that. They can produce any document and say its their assets as both Mia and Owen did.

Mia and Owen – only – have set the bar very low indeed and they will pay dearly because they have been almost reckless.

The declaration of assets document in and of itself is not the basis of ITAL! Or have I missed the point Adrian? Is this all we want of our public servants? A mere declaration?

Bigger issue: why didn’t the other BLP members declare? It may be that the real battle is in the BLP not the Dems.

How can a leader be a leader and get only one out of ten to follow?

Mia has definitely played into David Thompson’s hands very clumsily. And, knowing him, I have a suspicion that he knew exactly what she was going to do!

It was not a body slam. I believe that David Thompson is playing dead to get something alive!