Watch The Massacre!

On Sunday 16, 2008 Barbados was humiliated in a World Cup football qualifier at the feet of the USA 8 goals to zero. The game was played some where in Los Angeles which is on the West Coast. A long trip our boys from Barbados would have had to make. Most Barbadians and indeed the world would have recognized this game for what it was, a David and Goliath match-up, some may even have stretched it to say First World versus Third World (we hate the term!).

In the build up to the game, Barbadians were told that with the infusion of overseas players, the Barbados team would have been able to compete with the USA. The blind recruitment of footballers who had minute traces of Barbadian blood by the Barbados Football Association (BFA) has become the topic of humorous discussion in the US media. The drama heightened when when two players snatched from their country of residence were not allowed to play with the team. The reason reported in the local media suggests that passports were not processed on time.

For Barbadians the sequel to the humiliation will continue on Sunday (23 June 2008) when the return match is scheduled to be played at Kensington Oval. If it is any consolation for the Barbados team, it has been reported that the USA has rested ten players for the return game! The US football team is currently practicing in Florida, the plan is to fly in a few hours before the game on Sunday. It is accepted that most teams in this situation would have preferred to practice in Barbados to quickly become acclimatize to game-day conditions. The arrogance of the American team!

We have taken an interest in the administration of football in Barbados over the years. It is public knowledge that football administrators are more concerned with the trips abroad, and the other perks which are on offer, rather than working hard to strengthen the current football structure. Sadly the same can be said about the policies of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) policies. If Barbados were to have had a realistic chance to restrict the USA to four goals or less, the BFA should have focussed on good preparation. The fact that they lost to Bermuda in a warm-up game should have been a good indicator that the Barbados team was not ready. Bermuda is currently ranked below Barbados in the FIFA rankings.

Maybe the BFA should have forfeited the game!

It has been reported in the local Press that it cost the BFA $500,000.00 to prepare for the qualifiers. The Head of the BFA is Minister of Education Ronald Jones. We are forced to asked Minister Jones what message is the BFA sending to the public in light of this latest fiasco? Maybe a more pertinent question for the Minister is to justify the $500,000.00 expense against the background that the team was under-prepared. Minister Ronald Jones is the Head of the BFA which has failed to generate the required funds to build a football facility, heads should roll.

BU recommends that the BFA should focus on the domestic football structure for the next two years. The sport does provide an outlet to the youth. This is especially true of individuals at the lower end of the socio-economic spectrum. During this time the BFA should suspend participation in international competitions.

77 responses to “Barbados Football Team Kicked To The Curb By The USA With the Blessing Of The Barbados Football Association”

1. …. isn’t sport one of the reasons we justify the lottery in Barbados?

Maybe we should do away with the lottery !!

2. Yes Yardbroom

Our colonial past is responsible for eveything that has happened to us as a people-EVERYTHING-

you name any social ill and it can be traced back to our colonia pastl. To deny this is to deny our reality.

To deny this is to deny the damage done to our psyche and to deny this is to deny that we are in mental slavery.

Just like in slavery some of us bought our freedom, some of us are free from mental slavery but it is so entrenched that we are none the wiser.

so YES- OUR COLONIAL PAST IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL —A-L-L of our social ills-ALL

Asiba say so !- SIMPLE !

3. You mean to tell me after getting beat 8-0 they want me to pay $40,60 and 75 to watch them beat again? bfa got to be crazy.
    Learn from the dominica match,$20 and the whole place was jammed.
    Some people just dont learn.

4. Asiba the FAT Buffalo etc etc

…much respect to you pal, but your position of blaming all our social ills on our colonial past is not SIMPLE, it is SIMPLISTIC…

…perhaps you mixed up the words.

Asiba, I agree with you whole heartedly that our experience as a people is probably unprecedentedly cruel by any historical terms.
    I agree that the scale of inhumanity displayed by the Colonial masters was of biblical proportions….
    I agree that we have suffered physical, mental and spiritual trauma from the experience and that this continues to influence our behaviors as we type…

BUT I would also suggest that we have to admit that there are some side effects for which we must be appreciative…

Given the difficulties that has continued to hinder our mother continent (and which would probably have happened anyway) many of the descendants of slavery have found ourselves to a large extent isolated from the misery that has continued to befall most of Africa….Barbados in particular is noteworthy.

As a result of the experience, you live in the no 1 developing country of the world. You are educated at way above world average and significantly above African averages.

…I don’t know how much it has benefited your singing…. but overall I think that we should say that Colonialism has significantly impacted us – but it is more complicated than just blaming all our ills on it.

…besides many communities that did not experience Colonialism suffers from the same ills that we do…

5. The BU household have unanimously voted that Minister Ronald Jones, who against all commonsense refused to relieve himself of the position as head of the Barbados Football Association, resign his BFA post effective Monday, 23 2008.

If Brother Jones fails to accede to commonsense he may not be able to contain the political implications. This is free advice Minister Jones, please take it!

6. Bush Tea

Talking about Africa and trying to imply that we are better off in Barbados is an argument that Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier does not buy.

I would encourage you to read Walter Rodney when talking about Africa /Caribbean

7. why should ronald jones resign? is he a one man committee?

8. It is not a one man committee but he is the leader of the association. Through the ages leaders have accepted the weight which leadership brings sometimes the tendering of a resignation is required. Unfortunately it is something which leaders this part of the world resist. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that we the PEOPLE don’t demand accountability from leaders.

9. David,

Why would he resign?
    This is Barbados. Is there a history of leaders resigning on a matter of principle? Does anyone ’bout here take responsibility for failure in their area of responsibility… You didn’t just hear Lt Col Nurse say that over the past seven years Barbados had a model prison service….

If he resigned I would be shocked… I don’t credit him with that level of integrity…

Asiba

…man cool yuh head nuh… You hear me say anything about better off? … all I say is that the situation is too complex to dismiss by SIMPLY saying that all our ills are due to colonialism…

…. what happen? you writing a song about too much colonialism in the place??

10. Asiba

If our colonial past is responsible for “all” our ills as you say.

Our colonial past cannot change, it is History. Does that mean in one hundred years, in two hundred years, in a thousand years. We will still find it expedient to blame our colonial past, for issues and situations which are within our remit to change.

Our colonial past has had an impact on our conciousness and the way we see things. However, it is for us to make a determined effort to “change” the way we think about ourselves.

Human beings are capable of changing behaviour, and influencing others to change theirs. It is the “determination” to change a mindset – however it arose in the first place – to assist others, and to believe we are in control of our destiny that will continue to make us people of worth.

It is that attitude of mind which will change the situation we are in. Our circumstances and people, cannot and will not be changed. If in the scheme of things we blame something as insignificant as a football defeat on our colonial past.

It shows how far from reality “some” of us have ventured.

11. Yeah Bush Tea !
    I have written such a song –will record it sometime soon
    ———————————————–
    Yardbroom writes

“Our colonial past has had an impact on our conciousness and the way we see things. However, it is for us to make a determined effort to “change” the way we think about ourselves.”

Asiba agrees–200%

BINGO !———-you hit the nail on the head
    I wanted someone else to say it because this would reaffirm my faith in the fact that they are many many intelligent bajan people. I have met some older folks that are so ntelligent , so rich with ideas that it boggles the mind.——-but this is an aside.

Your statement is the most profound statement , I have ever seen on this blog or any other blog .
    The import of this statement is such that if thought precedes action and we follow through in a logical manner, the social and psychological landscape in Barbados would be changed forever more.

Regrettably there is not sufficient thrust in this direction. His Execllency Errol Walton Barrow understood this and the whole thrust towards free education remains one of the most significant undertakings in this country. It needs to move to the next level.

I have heard one politician and one only allude to the need for phase two of EWB ‘s plan.
    This second phase would bring about exactly what you referred to in the words I have quoted

Nuff respect Yardbroom !
    Action is needed

12. Hey Yardbroom

the defeat in the football game is not insignificant

Sport is very significant and the way we approach sports might say something about us a a people. For sure on the world stage we will be judged accordingly.

13. The point which Yardbroom makes is very significant and does indeed say alot about our people. Isn’t our superior education which we boast to all about suppose to inform the required thinking process to move us FORWARD?

Past State x Current State = Future State

14. Here is an example of the advertisement which the BFA had on their website which became the butt of jokes in the US media.

15. Asiba
    With reference to the significance of football! – you know what I mean – are you trying to have me crucified?
    Respect

16. David,

We need to be careful. The 99.8% literacy rate that we claim does not indicate that we have “superior education”, but that nearly all of us have basic education, that is knowing how to read, write and do arithmetic. The difference is important.

The regrettable fact is that many of us do not make the effort to take our level of education any higher and while we are technically literate, remain essentially mentally disfunctional and have severe difficulties in moving forward.

There is not only “bad” in our colonial past: there is much good that we have derived, notably our organized school system and our much vaunted literacy rate, considerably higher than contemporary states in Africa and our stable, democratic form of government, absent from many states in Africa.

The above are but two of the positive legacies of our “colonial past”. We need, while remembering the negatives of the past, to make better use of the positives to build better selves and nation.

17. Inkwell couldn’t agree with you more. The superior education which we referred to was don e in a relative sense. You used Africa as the benchmark but you could have stayed right at home in the region e.g.Jamaica, EC etc.

Let us hope this period of debate will help our small country to evolve to what is required to sustain competitiveness in the new world economy. A renaissance of sorts.

18. I love football. I have played it competitively, and now recreationally (for over 20years). I see today’s young players with great skill on the field, they can dribble well, they can shoot great.. but, what is missing is the ability to think and carry an attitude that can win a game. They are more obsessed in pulling down each other if a mistake is made (cursing is the accepted language on the field. In fact they have mastered the ability to make complete sentences without using one single pure word) . The meaning of team is absent from even their imagination. To be a combined unit of players who are supportive of each other is a hard thing to master, and if we do not achieve this mastery (team attitude), we can say goodbye to championships, be it in football, cricket, business etc. The question is what is the solution?

19. “The question is what is the solution?”

Answer: More ‘white’ people in the administration of the sport.

20. […] Barbados Football Team Kicked To The Curb By The USA With the …On Sunday 16, 2008 Barbados was humiliated in a World Cup football qualifier at the feet of the USA 8 goals to zero. The game was played some where in Los Angeles which is on the West Coast. A long trip our boys from Barbados would have … […]

21. Hey Terry

Read mine and yardbroom’s earlier posts and find the answer to your question of a solution.

More white people in sports is not the answer

22. Asiba more than anybody else (with his slavery and colonial thing) really wants more ‘white’ people running everything. This would give him somebody to blame instead of facing reality.

23. […] couple weeks ago the Barbados Football team was embarrassed on and off the field – previous blog. The mismanagement of King Cricket continues to embarrass the hell out of the region. The stupidity […]

24. Could not be further from the truth

Given my encounters with history, colonialism and the colonial mentality and my own philosophy

sounds like a book

History, Colonialism and the Colonial Mentality

25. this is utter foolishness, teams like this should be banned from competing until they get their act together. World Cup qualifier game losing to USA a team not known for football or Soccer ( as they stupidly call it) by eight goals.. Bajans need to stick to cricket and fish !!!

26. i will like u help me join your tearm

27. i need a sponsorship to help me play football