Dear BU Family

We blog with a heavy heart tonight. We have long ago accepted the reality as to why we committed to start Barbados Underground (BU) in 2007. In the heat of the last general election we came face to face with the sacrifice we will have to make if we are to continue BU. For sensitive reasons we prefer to avoid getting into the details of some recent incidents which have occurred. Suffice to day the BU household has placed itself at risk because of the bold step we have decided to take to expose issues from the underground of Barbados.

Recently we ran a series of blogs which focused on the lack of leadership over the years which Barbados has shown in the development of alternative energy sources. We would have touched on the subject earlier when we interacted with Stephen Worme , Chief Marketing Officer at the Barbados Light & Power Company Limited. We take this opportunity to thank Mr. Worme for his willingness to interact in the blogosphere. At the same time we appreciate that he works for a company which may want to communicate with the public by using the traditional media where information can be better filtered and controlled. As long as he is a paid servant he would have to do the BL&P’s bidding. Just ask Mr. Michael Browne who has been recruited by Vic Fernandes to be the hatchet man on the call in show. David Ellis seems to be a bystander in the whole process of late.

The BU family would have heard in recent days Mr. Worme participating in an energy program with David Ellis on Voice of Barbados, which has dealt with many of the issues already raised on Barbados Underground. Listeners to those programs would have been disappointed to hear that the Barbados Light & Power is currently not in a position to receive hook-ups to their power grid if proactive citizens wanted to do so at this moment. Of course in the blogosphere, Mr. Worme would have been challenged to assert why there is no contingency plan devised by anyone, to create an easy transition to supplementing the national power grid owned by them. As a stakeholder in the process to provide sustainable energy to Barbadians we would have expected a leadership role from BL&P.

We have no doubt that Mr. Ellis like some of his colleagues visit the blogosphere on a daily basis for stories and show no class when they avoid giving credit where it is due.

Not only are we disappointed at the above. But we know of one instance where one our sources has been threatened with job dismissal if they comment further on BU. The only ‘crime’ done by our source would have been to expose the truth to Barbadians. We regret that we can’t be specific an share recent events with the BU family. We just want to say as long as we see our numbers growing then we know that there is hope. People keep coming back to BU and they seem to be telling others.

Barbadians will have to make choices. Do we continue business as usual so that Barbados continues to be raped by a few, while being facilitated by a few greedy people? Or do we as proud and educated Barbadians participate in our democracy to ensure a better place for us, our children and our children’s children.

Barbados Underground

Previous Energy Stories

14 responses to “We Shall Overcome”

1. Straight talk Avatar

If BL&P can guarantee affordable supply to Barbados for the foreseeable future then let them continue their present policy.

However if the alternative is true and their chosen method of generation is proved to be the wrong one, all deals are off.

Revocation of their monopoly is not a threat, but a national necessity if ordinary Bajans, having relied so long on a reliable yet affordable supply, are to suffer through their shortsightedness.

I advisedly say shortsightedness, not wishing to accuse them of profiteering from a captive market.

The world over nett metering is being adopted for micro-generators and to say we have not the capability is not just wrong, it is downright lying.

Where there is a national will, there is a solution, but it may never be promulgated by a profit driven public company.

Government leadership is needed now more than ever, not repeats of the “we are helpless in the face of rising global prices” excuses.

Tomorrow will be too late.

2. ST what he did say was to the effect that they have to study the impact of multiple users connecting to their grid.

3. Representatives from the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) last night attended the second in the series of town hall meetings on the DLP’s proposed establishment of constituency councils across the country at the St. Michael School, Martindales Road, St. Michael.

And, what a TOTAL FARCE this meeting was!! Too, what an exercise in naked self-righteous DLP psychological manipulation of many of those who attended this meeting!! Indeed, if that meeting, which was largely attended by DLP members and supporters, is anything to go by as to how these so-called councils will in fact function and so-called achieve their goals (like “deepening participation”, like “communities influencing decision-making”, “building the capacitites of our people and organizations” ), then, believe us, these councils are going to be A POLITICAL DISASTER for the DLP and, furthermore, another stark example of how once again another one of these old and intellectually bankrupt parties is going to be grossly misleading another large throng of already marginalized people in Barbados. For sure, we will NOT be attending another of those useless meetings any where else in Barbados!!

What made that meeting so downright farcical and so arrantly manipulating – and which might NOT have been grasped still by some of those who attended it – are two fundamental things:

1) The fact that it was/is ALL BUT clear that the DLP has already made up its mind about the modalities and scheduling associated with the establishment and functioning of these councils. Thus, these people in Barbadians appearing at these meetings and giving their views at them will realize that, et al, they will HAVE NO SAY AT ALL in approving these councils when they are set up – since the Minister of Constituency Empowerment will do so; WILL HAVE NO SAY AT ALL in sanctioning what goes on in these councils and in setting the direction in which they will go – since these councils will be responsible to the Minister of Constituency Empowerment, and WILL HAVE NO SAY AT ALL in determining how much money these councils will get to help them in their functioning – since the Ministry of Constituency Empowerment and the Ministry of Finance will be in charge of doing so. Thus, point blank, there is and will be NO CONSTITUENCY EMPOWERMENT AS A RESULT OF THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THESE COUNCILS WHATSOEVER. Ergo, therein lie some of the farce and manipulation at that meeting. Moreover, what this already failing and sinking DLP is basically all about vis-a-vis the establishment of these councils is certainly from time to time TESTING FOR HOW MANY PEOPLE IN BARBADOS are responding to it and its ideas on the whole and in what ways are they going to do so or not. Thus, for the DLP, these councils are about creating a greater political dependency among our people on the two old parties; about creating a greater level of political welfarism in the country; creating a greater level of political bureacratization; and the establishment of greater means of political mobilization. And,

2) The fact that ALMOST ALL of the proposed functions of these councils are already being carried out by many already existing institutions and processes of this country, e.g. by some ministries and government departments themselves, by the personal assistants of ministers, by parliamentarians themselves, by community groups. There were even representatives of the Pinelands Development Council there last night to prove to those who might NOT have known at the meeting that they and other community groups have been long “linking governments and communities and “fostering the community spirit”. Thus, we are wasting time and money at the national level in rehashing what essentially already exists.

Finally, we say to many Barbadians that a future PDC Government shall make sure that REAL AND GREATER EMPOWERMENT AND ENFRANCHISEMENT is given to the people of Barbados through such a government establishing CONSTITUENCY ASSEMBLIES in ALL THE CONSTITUENCIES of Barbados, and in which constituents, et al, WILL DEBATE AND PASS THE LAWS OF BARBADOS. Surely, these councils are NOT going to get our support!!

4. Keith Headley Avatar

Yes, we’ve heard “we have to study the impact of multiple users” before. In fact we’ve heard them say that the problem is that they want to be able to control disconnection when their workers are using the power lines.

From a technology standpoint, these problems have been solved. For the utility however, every micro-powered house means a loss of revenue.

So generate it yourselves utility? According to BL&P, if the wind farm goes up tomorrow, it will generate 2% of Barbados’ electricity.

I leave it to those more qualified to state how much power the new conventional power plant in St. Lucy will generate. Suffice it to say it is way more than 2%.

The money they invested could have been invested in something more green.

It won’t be. Are there plans to create ANY large scale “green” power plants in Barbados?
    No?

How about encouraging large scale micro-power? No?

Widespread education programs so that people can install the stuff themselves? No?

Incentive programs fro the Solar Energy companies so that they can do the job for you for a price? No?

Legislation mandating a certain percentage of power – small at first, slowly increasing year by year, must be green? No?

I’m trying really hard to avoid sarcasm, but I think I’m failing utterly.

Hmm, failing utterly; that had better not become prophetic . . .

5. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

Nationalise BL&P, they don’ earn nah foreign exchange…

6. i am confused

what is this thread about again ?

7. i thought this blog was being closed down

shut down

destroyed

eliminated

8. Unfortunately to protect parties we have to be deliberately vague. Please try and understand,

9. Has anyone else noticed that the Barbados Advocate haven’t bothered to update their website since 2008.05.20?

We love to claim we’re one of the most “wired” countries in the region. Yet we can’t even seem to have our “news” on-line.

Interesting times (and getting more interesting by the moment)….

10. Read much of ‘Posts and Comments’, re-energy. Interesting reading, esp. K. Headley’s. Appears as if his dad and few others were frustrated at the lack of assistance from the ‘Powers that be’. If some one of his standing could not overcome the hurdles,how can one who is less prominent succeed?

11. Maybe the Prime Minister is waiting until the next budget to demonstrate leadership in the area of alternative sources of energy. The ticket of CHANGE still has to unfold.

12. I hope this energy issue is discussed more. There has to be alternate sources. The Gov’t has to intervene now and not allow the Barbados Light and Power to look at this matter as a “profit” only situation. Solar enery is a good way to go. Dr. Erskine Simmons uses solar power. I saw him on Caribvision sometime ago remonstrating against Barbadians using conventional sources of energy.

13. Unfortunately to protect parties we have to be deliberately vague. Please try and understand,
    ——————————————–>
    man i am even more confused

will not comment on dis blog until ah find out wha gwine on and wha dis is all about

14. David I can’t say I understand this tory.

However one thing stand out in my mind ,that sentence above where you say:”Just ask Michael Browne,who Vic Fernandes hired to be the hatchet man on the call in show”.

I wonder if michael Browne feels good about the perception that is out there.

Maybe integrity and his reputation is neither here nor there for him.