I refer to a letter from D. Ramprakash entitled ‘Statistics are essential in the marginalisation debate.’ Ramprakash is of course correct; it is a difficult accusation to define or to quantify and so we have to establish marginalisation another way, ie by looking at the perceptions of people, since if perceptions are not reality, they certainly point to what is reality for our people.

Source: Stabroek

racismOn January 31, 2008 we published the blog with the title Indian Racism Against Afro Guyanese In Guyana which referenced a scholarly work (Racism and the degeneration of Guyana) by Dr. Kean Gibson, a lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. To the surprise of the BU household the academic’s research was dismissed by individuals who offered no research of their own, but instead operated on high levels of biase and emotionalism. Leading the charge was our decorated pollster Peter Wickham, who is still drowning in the accolades from being proved correct in the just concluded Barbados general election. In response to the aforementioned blog, Peter Wickham was inspired to submit to BU his article titled, Peter Wickham Says Itโ€™s All About Racism & Xenophobia. We said then that the BU household was disappointed Peter Wickham who is a professional pollster, and whose reputation and performance is built on using solid quantitative analysis would have resorted to mere words to refute Dr. Gibson’s effort.

The quote above was extracted from a letter to the editor submitted to the Stabroek newspaper by Mr. Anthony Vieira who is a Member of Parliament in Guyana. The submission is interesting because he is able to point to quantitative analysis, prepared by a Dr. Milissa Ifill of the University of Guyana (A study to assess whether there is any discrimination in the award and distribution of economic opportunities in Guyana), under the direction of the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC) in a report, which supports the widely held perception in Guyana that there is tension between the ethnic groups.

To borrow a quote to illustrate what we mean, Dr. Ifill states:

Indian Guyanese far more than African, mixed or indigenous Guyanese believe that the state, private sector and NGO sector act in a fair manner in their provision of economic opportunities. 80 out of 94 Indian respondents believed that the state acts in a fair manner, the corresponding figure for African respondents is 15 out of 73, while for the mixed groups the figure was 10 out of 40 and for indigenous respondents the figure was 6 out of 23.

The quote does not explain why the Indo-Guyanese is running away from Guyana, if the findings of Dr. Ifill is to be believed. The message which we continue to shout is the importance for Barbados to monitor and capture the results of the impact of a multi-ethnic country like Guyana. The ERC in Guyana has been established for ten years, and has had no obvious ameliorating impact on the rapidly deteriorating racial tensions. Good sense dictates that Barbados should become proactive in managing the rapidly growing ethnic groups. We continue to reiterate that Guyana and Trinidad provide the best case studies to anticipate how we need to manage ethnic relations in Barbados.

Why should we wait until the crap hits the fan?

For Barbadians who feel that their passive and reactive approach to the matter of managing race relations is the correct approach, they should wake up and smell the garlic…we mean coffee! Members of the BU household and others we are sure have listened to the early utterances of Minister Maxine McClean who seems to have a ‘feel’ for this challenge at hand. Does she and her young government need more time?

129 responses to “Gauging The Impact of Growing Ethnic Groups Living In Barbados”

1. The majority of immigrants here are the one s
    who are poorly educated and the ones with the slum behaviours. I am not xenophobic however we must manage our immigration lest we become a place of slums despite our government best efforts to make us a developing country.The Guyanese,Vincentians and Jamaicans seem to be socialised the same you can find them outside the Fairchild Street bus stand aka Georgetown while the others from the other countries such as St.Lucians and Dominica are more docile and save their money rather than get drunk every Friday.

2. Call me a racist if you care to, I dont care.

However, I have a suggestion to the Guyanese, Lets make a deal.

I would like for you Mr. and Miss Guyana to give us Barbadians ‘your’ country, and we will allow all of your people to come here and live. However, there are some stipulations, when ya all leave, you are not allowed to reenter Guyana only as a tourist or a foreigner.

I can bet you a zillion dollars, we will make your country the envy of the world. You want to know why, because with the little we have, we exceled. Therefore imagine that with all your resources your country has how we would shine. This is because we do not give up we fight for our causes and know that we have our children to fight for.

Therefore there is no way that i will sit idly by and see you all guyanese who at the end of the day have some huge places to run and hide take away my son’s and daughter’s privieleges and make our lives harder than it is already.

I know for a fact that I do not have the right to come into your country and take up space. I will never do it. Why? Because IT AINT BLASTED WELL RIGHT.

I love being a Bajan, and yes i have 1 or 2 guyanese friends; and you can ask them, I always tell them to go back home and fight for their country. Cause it is THEIRS, will ya all all0w chavez and the beliezian people to take control of such a beautiful place. PLEASE, go back home ya all are sickening.

I apolologise to no one for my statements. We do not need only labourers and prostittutes, we need hard working, educated persons to carry Barbados into the future.

3. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

Do not apologise JC the truth is the truth. We going get releif soon. I know that this DLP goverment is going to bring laws to get rid of all the illegal indians about here.

4. Well said JC I support your views 100 % Get rid of the wicked no good Indo-Guyanese who bring only destruction and pain Go back home and develop your country.As JC said we need highly educated people who can handle the technology the world has to offer to help carry Barbados forward.
    Indo-Guyanese
    GET OUT & STAY OUT

5. CARIFESTA is on, OUR COUNTRY, y/our culture…….the region is coming, the world is watching, so come and enjoy the 10 th Carifesta in GUYANA….THE BIGGER AND BETTER COUNTRY….GUYANA SO MUCH TO SEE AND LOTS TO DO……..

6. JC, Please, ….you people could not deal with a few stranded Ghanaians who came on holiday, muchless survive a day in BIG SKY COUNTRY GUYANA….

7. Miss Guyana u are talking bare crap. Imagine my blasted foreparents didnt have a lot and we achieved what you asses couldnt achieve and that is to SURVIVE. And you dare to say that we couldnt survive in your country spare ME. WE HAVE DONE THE UNACHIEVABLE and that is to do what Guyana has failed to done and that is to suceed at all cost and never give up. You will ask where is my proof.

My blasted poroof is

YOUR PEOPLE INVADING MY COUNTRY FOOL!

8. PS

Oh and you people could not deal with jim jones, my proof

‘him massacering many people RIGHT UNDER ya all blasted noses.’

And then you dare to say we couldnt survive.

p l e a seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    spare me.

9. Miss Guyana;… so you know whenever i am in NY i always head down to the Richmond hill area and usually spend the day eating Guayanese dishes. But this will not change my view on the open door policy of guyanese immigration to Barbados. At the end of the day i am impartial to Bajan cooking, it’s all about the taste, and we don’t even have that many curry dishes. ๐Ÿ˜€

I love curry, and Dal and Achar, which i can get at any Indian restaurant.

10. Miss Guyana,you want we PROUD Bajans to raise our flag in Guyana again an let the Guyanese pull it down and trample it in mud like they did a few years ago at South Dakota racing track. Unless your gov’t is prepared to debate the race problem in your country with us and stop sweeping things under the carpet, things would NEVER change. I have many afro- Guyanese friends and they are scared about the influx of indo- Guyanese here in Bim. It’s just a matter of time before something erupts. You know the slogan in Barbados “the best Guyanese,is a d–d Guyanese” That is awhful but that’s how bajans are thinking.

11. Miss Guyanese let me tell you about Barbados. My grand-parents smelled HELL to develop this country to what it is. When I hear stories that they went through to get me/us to this stage, it is my NATIONAL DUTY to see that you and the rest like you don’t come here to change our culture, a culture that we MUST leave for our offspring. That’s why I’m willing to give my blood for my country and if you people start that same arrogant behaviour that you have in your country, bajans will retalliate and viciously too. I hope it would NEVER come to this but “the best Guyanese is a d–d Guyanese”

12. all i can say to scout is YEAH HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

We Bajans have your back. No way on God’s green earth will ya all suceed with your malice decit and greed.

Scout, many people are realising it.
    D. Thompson and M. McClean do your jobs.

Get rid of them we are tired of them and we know their capabilities.

Anybody read a Saturday Sun 2 months ago.

STUPES!~

13. The Scout & JC Negroman is behind you all 100%.I wil give my last drop of bloodl to protect Barbados from destruction. I,Negroman make no apologies whatsoever in saying that I hate Indo_guyanese with a passion.They hate blacks in Guyana and I am not stupid or naive to believe that Indo-Guyanese will come to black Barbados and love black people.I am not that gullible and so are many other black Barbadians. You all will not be able to treat black Barbadian the same way you all are treating my black Guyanese brothers & sisters.

Please relax!

14. Goodness, I don’t know what to say……> as I don’t know what you all are talking about…..>Adrain….Yes you can get your curry and Dhal, and puris and achar at any Indian restaurant, BUT it will NOT have the flavour that you are accustomed to , since Indians from India do not know how to cook Indian food like Guyanese. In fact people have said the best Chinese food is from Guyana, and the best Indian food is from Guyana…So there….You must go Sybil’s too Adrian… there you will get authentic Guyanese pastries, such as patties, pinetarts, cheese rolls, salara, and chineecakes. , casava pone, conkee, guava tarts and all your Guyanese favourites. What is Barbadian food? I know our Cynthia, it tastes like home is over in Barbados teaching you all how to cook in the Guyanese style.

15. Negroman,,, No body in Guyana hates anybody….that is a myth..spread by unpathriotic people. Guyanese don;t want to take over Barbados…why would we…we just come to help you all out….now it is your businesses that come and recruit us….yes they run ads on GUYTV starting come and meet us at the Le Meridian Hotel if you want to work in Barbados. And the people that trampled the BDS flag at South Dakota were really Brasilians, you know 30,000 of them in the country, they have shops and food places and hotels, and they are very pro Guyana…they love the country…any can be a bit rambucious.

16. Miss Guyana is really sister baby.

Can’t you recognisr her ramblings.

17. Miss Guyana
    Why would you want to leave your country to come to ours to “help us out” when you need all the help you can get there? Let’s get real, you have miles of unused land, why can’t the so-called farmers who would want to come here to work 2 or 3 acres just stay at home and develop home. We have been doing very well without you. The real reason is that you people see Barbados as a little U.S.A. I know of Guyanese who are here who are doing agriculture who were teachers, policemen, custom officers etc. who would not do that type of work in their country. We’re only 166 sq mls,there are islands in the esequibo river that are bigger or the same size as our little island and there are 366 islands in that river alone. Why would you want to leave all of that to come here. To HELP us? no darling; it’s GREED, you’re Indo-guyanese gov’t and people like them is who got there like that, and you’re bringing your same dirty habits here like squatting anywhere and live in shanties. We passe that stage years ago and I/we are not going to allow you or anyother “neighbours” to come here and take us back 30-40 years. NO WAY. Like the young people would tell you “wheel and come again”.

18. Miss Guyana
    Let me give you my resume. I lived and worked in Guyana, during the day Indo-guyanese would tolorate you at work but after work the same people would not even sit at the same table with you at dinner. If a Afro- guyanese and a Indo- guyanese becomes sexually active, the Indians community considers her as tainted. She becomes an outcast. One influential Indo- guyanese once told a few of us blacks at a party one night that he would shoot somebody because one of the guys made a remark to an Indo-guyanese who was not even in his group. According to him ” Indian rules”. This is just a little of my experience in your country. Don’t even try that in my country. I see Indo-guyanese as more racist than whites. You STINK. You believe you’re superior to blacks but I think you’re envious of us blacks. That’s the problem.

19. I agree with every thing you say Mr. Scout and thanks for your first hand experience.

You believe one time I was the first to say to give them a chance (that is when I was younger).

However, now I have children and realise I must have principles and beliefs and as far as I am concerned. HERE BELONG TO WE. And if we choose people to come they should be persons of value.

Persons who came from Guyana like Mrs. Allsopp and Ms. Gibson, and the list have gone on (mostly blacks) have proved their worth and to them I give them their respect for they have earned it.

But no Indo Guyanese has proven his or her worth of salt. They just breed, pick fares, and claim to be skilled artisans.

20. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

Indian women oily and sweet but it is time that the goverment get all of them indians out like Miss Ram. I dont understand what taking PM Thompson so long like he want to be a one term goverment.

21. Like I said before, there are some Afro-guyanese who are 2nd generation bajan. Few of them are comiung here because this group is very industrious. it is the oppurtunist Indo- guyanese who would come here pretent to be anything you want and accept very low wages. Once they are established, then they start to show their colours, by then many bajans would be displaced by them. It hurts when I hear my own people cry down bajans but they only do this because they are ubder the Indo-guyanese spell. Lately I’m hearing a lot of people who believed in them beginning to complain. This is only the beginning. We have to nip it in the bud NOW before it’s too late.

22. I’m appealing to this gov’t; let this njation have a national debate on this Indo-guyanese issue before it’s too late. We have the future of this country to protect. Look at Trinidad, that country was mainly black, now the indian influx and their breeding habits has changed the complexion of the country in everyway. I’m now afraid of going to that country.

23. Miss Guyana
    I read in the Kaieteur News today that a Nepalese soLdier was imprisoned in Guayan jails for illegal entry into Guyana for nearly a month.His case was only dealt with when it was highlighted in the press.His was in prison sick with all type of sores on his skin and was not receiving medical treatment.
    The interested thing about this whole situation was the response of Minister Clement Rohhee.He indicated that Guyana could hold illegal immigrants for an unspecified period of time and when the person is deported he has to provide his own airfare.
    This is the same Guyana Goverment that condemn Barbados and other Caribbean Countries about claims of illtreatment to Guyanese.
    Guyanese are attempting to enter Barbados with all type of bogus documents forge passports,wrong names and false work permits and in some cases illegal Guyanese living in Barbados are sending for their families and friends going to the airport and want our immigration authorities to let in those people.When our immmigration officials have to carry out ther duties all type of criticism is heap upont hem and all type of negative publicity is given about Barbados.
    The same way Guyana has a right to monitor the inflow of immigrants and who it will let into the country we in Barbados have that right also.
    DO NOT CONDEMN US WHEN GUYANA IS DOING THE SAME
    MISS GUYAN PLEASE RESPOND.

24. I’m not being insular but just look at the names that are in the newpaper of those who are in the law courts in Barbados. Isn’t there a large increase of names that are not traditionally bajans names?

25. Negroman
    That is exactly the way Indo-guyanese behave. They think they are superior to other people especially blacks. I once had an altercation with one of them and he tried forging ahead of me in a bank line and when I had to reprimand him, his response was “indian rule”. I promply had to let him know that I’m no Afro-guyanese, I’m bajan and if he only push me again I would brek down inside the bank wid he. Obviously he backed off.

26. Negroman
    That is exactly the way Indo-guyanese behave. They think they are superior to other people especially blacks.

27. The Scout
    I do not think a national Debate about the Indo_Guyanese situationwill ever happen and the true figure of the amount in Barbados will be known.I said that because I know for a fact that Voice of Barbados (VOB) wanted to carry about a programme about that issue sometime ago.I have proof of that because a very close friend of mine a former Minister in the last administration told that to me.Miss Ram of Firniture Limited fame told VOB do not bring that programme because Miss Ram and the other powerful Indian business groups in Barbados will boycott the radio station.As a result the programme had to be cancelled.
    The Scout if the governemnt of Barbados and I believe the Government will like to do something about it.Unfortunately it hands are tied.I suspect little will be done or the government will have to resort to covert activities not neccessarily bad ones to alleviate this situation.
    This is a very seriuos matter because it will affect the future of our children & grand children andI think we should not let up on this issue.I will continue to deal with issue until some form of action is undertaken.
    The Scout, You,JC,True Believer,Anonymous & all the rest of us MUST continue this attack on this issue.We should not let it die.
    NB I WANT DAVID ELLIS,VIC FERNANDES & THE REST AT VOB TO COME OUT CHALLENGE THIS STATEMENT

28. Negroman,Scout,JC & Others

I am asking you outright now,what have you done so far to educate yourself and your other fellow bajans about the disastrous consequences of this high number of indians continuing to remain in Barbados?

Have any of you contacted your parliamentary representatives and in strong terms let them know of your objections to these high number of indo guyanese and other guyanese in our country?

Have you done anything personally like informing the immigration where the illegal ones are,or not hire them for jobs or rent them houses/apts?

We must let minister maxine Mcclean and David Thompson know that we want a temporary halt to permanent residency and citizenship for the time being until we get these illegal immigrant problem corrected.

THIS IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT BECAUSE ONCE THEY HAVE A BAJAN PASSPORT THEN BAJANS WILL KNOW WHAT GOD THEY SERVING.

Continue to call on VOB call-in shows and raise the issue of the fallout of these indians coming here in large numbers – and point out what is happening in Guyana,Trinidad and Surinam.

Don’t let David Ellis or Michael Browne or Peter Wickham discourage you or try to throw you off track when they question you – just stick to your argument.

If Michael Browne cuts you off then call back another day and demand that you be allowed the right to speak.

If you don’t do that you will soon be second class citizens in your own homes.

29. Negroman

Have you noticed now that every Saturday evening at 6:30 p.m. Veoma Ali is doing an indian programme sponspored by indian businesses with bare indian music?

Now wha de shite I hearing doh!

Imagine a christian country with an overwhelming black population and at prime time on a weekend we got dis shite coming over we radio.Hey,Hey,looka dis ting fuh me do nah.

Blame Vic Fernandes (the indian woman lover) for that.

That introduction of indian music is only the start to getting you accustomed to things indian and then sooner rather than later they will tell you well we are part of the culture so we want our own hindu schools,and our own indian holidays,and an indian senator etc etc.

Remember David Thompson was the man who pushed out Patrick todd in 1999 for the indian man Patel to run for the city seat.

Wunnah better start talking serious to David Thompson hear?

I don’t know how you feel negroman and scout & JC but I feel it goin’ be some kinda mashing up bout here if this government don’t do something fast bout this immigration problem,especially the indian immigrants.

No apologies for that!

30. “The scout // May 22, 2008 at 4:57 pm

Iโ€™m appealing to this govโ€™t; let this njation have a national debate on this Indo-guyanese issue before itโ€™s too late. We have the future of this country to protect. Look at Trinidad, that country was mainly black, now the indian influx and their breeding habits has changed the complexion of the country in everyway. Iโ€™m now afraid of going to that country.”

Check your history. You make it seem as though the Indian presence in Trinidad is a recent thing. Following slave emancipation in 1834, large numbers of Indian indentured servants were brought to Trinidad from the sub-continent to work on the sugar plantations. Their numbers multiplied significantly, as did their economic clout. I’m not sure what the current demographic make-up of Trinidad is, but this is by no means a recent development as your post seems to imply. To say that Trinidad was “black” and that an “Indian influx” has changed the racial dynamic is quite a stretch.

31. No, no, no, Minister Rohee is right in that persons who break Guyanese law will be dealt with severly. In the case of the Nepal man he entered Guyana illegally and with out an onward ticket, so GOG had every right to detain him….Why should the taxpayers of our country pay for an airline ticket for him to get back to Nepal considering that this person has broken Guyanese laws? There are others like him that have entered Guyana illegally from China, Nigeria, India, Domincan Republic.to name a few and they are dealt with in similar fashion

32. Gosh I can hardly wait to see Bollywood hits on my country’s NCN-Guyana TV. And I like the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Saba Show, and Dhamic Veda religious show, plus I like the the regular hit show like video hits with Wanita and Guyana Today and the 6:00 oc’clock news and IPED Show with with Carolotta.. I am Guyana Happy Yeah.

33. If it is that, certain organizations will not advertise on VOB, if it runs specific programmes… fine, if that is the game they wish to play.

Then, Barbadians “key” to all their ills is majority purchasing power; make it count, talk alone will serve no purpose.

Spend your hard earned money with organizations you feel comfortable with… it is as simple as that.

No fuss, no rancour, no antagonism, quietly “engage your minds”, and think of your children.

Finance is the “engine” that drives events.

34. Bollywood Hits hosted by Sharon Bhola is a great show on NCN Guyana TV11. Lots of fabulous Indian actors and actresses singing and dancing. My favourite actor was Raj Kumur. He was a great actor and I always went to Liberty Cinema in GT to see him in the lastest Bollywood flicks. I am so happy I am Guyanese because I have wide understanding of different cultures, without forsaking my own. I like Metamgee and pepper pot and chowmein, but I can curry and roti everyday.

35. Some issues are so important and fundamental, they cannot be reduced to curry, roti and whatever good that those might be…even entertainment.

The issue here is trying to preserve what Barbadians have. How others conduct their affairs – entertainment and diet – is of little conern to me…I wish them well.

I have no argument with their culture, way of life and general practices. Barbadians just want their own space, to live in peace and harmony without inviting circumstances; which could lead to decay and violence.

36. Anonymous
    I have spoken to my Parl. rep, I’ve spoken to many of my friends and parishioners; I will never rent anything to them(that’s another topic). Let me tell you, to no avail, I’ve been called all kind of nagative things BY MY OWN PEOPLE. I’ve brought to the attention of the authorities of areas where Indo-Guyanese were squatting and dumping their waste in the ground they were working. The problem continues. i was even threatened by phone and I reached the point where I kept quiet because I thought I was beating my head on a wall. All the time things are just getting worse. I once heard some Indo-guyanese saying some of the worse things ever about “stupid bajans”. I am prepared to be a martyr for my family and my country. God bless this great nation of ours and may it remain here for our children and their children.

37. It’s just a matter of time before we start celebrating all those Guyanese festivals. Walk up Browne’s Beach or by Fairchild St. on fridays “muf Indo-guyanese music”. When we celebrate our independence, our national service is punctuated by a lot of funny religious prayers. Are we still a christian society? I’m afraid, we are losing our way. Where is our PRIDE?

38. Gosh you are sure a hateful lot, considering that you are a Christian society. Goodness, give me the Hindu religion anyday and keep me away from Christians. You are not losing your way, you are just becoming cosmopolitan, like your neighbours to the South., Trinidad, Guyana and Suriname. Look there are 30,000 Brasilians in Guyana, just wait and see in a few more mornings you will see them setting off by the planeloads in Bridgetown. The word is not out yet, they still getting use to GT, they probably don’t even know where Timehri Airport is located, but just give it time, they will discover the Land of the Flying Fish, you will see.

39. I am not lying, I support this government at this point of time. However, take warning young people are not foolish and if we dont see changes bout here. It will be cat piss and pepper bout here take warning Mr. Prime Minister.

We are under threat BAJANS.

40. Scout & JC

Thank you for your patriotism.

Many will not understand what we are saying,but guess what people didnot understand Marcus Garvey or Martin Luther King when they too sounded the alarm about various issues – because they were ahead of their times and had vision.

They saw into the future – down the road – what the short sighted people could not see.

Lets hope our government is not myopic.

Don’t give up Scout and others,little by little our people will see the light.However don’t forget that there are some who have vested interests in having these people remain in our country.

Whether it’s some of the immigration officers,whether it is the employer of these people or whether it’s iggrunt bajan men who like ‘long hair’.

On another point,I want to stand today in defence of Barbados Underground from the criticism labelled against it by the Barbados Free Press.

I think it was unseemly and uncharitable for the BFP to make the charges it did against BU and I am reminded of that old saying – ‘first take the beam out of your eye before you look at the splinter in someone else’s eye’.

The truth is – BFP as described by themselves are with perhaps the exception of 2 – not black but can be described as either white or mulatoo.

I understand that even though they may try valiantly to understand what some black bajans are saying they may not totally understand where they are coming from.

While at times raising the issue of racism – they seem to want to do so in circumscribed ways.

But we all know the topic of race and race relations is a messy thing and one can be temid and expect to just want to tip ones foot in the water when you open that pandora’s box.

BU has always allowed its contributors to discuss their views freely and with little censorship as possible ( sometimes to the chagrin of some) – this unlike the administraors at BFP.

I appreciate them both – But my strongest admiration goes to the team at Barbados Underground for the way they have fearlessly undertaken to discuss those ‘touchy ‘ issues like homosexuality,racism and the indian problem,and even the declining morals in our society.

They have been labelled all kinds of things but they have taken the criticism and kept on ticking like the ever ready bunny.

Hurrah for the blogs and a special Hurrah for BU.

Already bajans have been complaining that they cannot raise the indo guyanese issue at VOB,at the Nation newspaper and now it seems they also might be restricted in how they do so at BFP.

Without you where would we be BU?

Barbados Underground rocks!

41. In recent days, Barbados Underground has had a large volume of hits. This is because it has highlighted “human interest ” topics. It is true when topics are featured, in which people feel passionate about, the temperature will be raised.

To equate what has happened or is happening on distant shores, as indicative of what can happen in Barbados. Would be right if the histories and culture of the countries involved were similar.

In terms of violence, one has not got to look far afield to see it. In our area – the Caribbean – violence is being used, with specific reference to the topic being discussed.

You should not seek to stifle democratic debate, on the basis it will encourage violence. If individuals are not allowed to express “opinions” in debate what other lawful measures do they have to express themselves. Which can bring about change.

What has caused this sudden change of events?

I believe it is simply that a commenter on Barbados Underground has said that they – up to now – are free to spend their hard earned money at organizations which they feel disposed towards…and only those.

Further, that people could freely without anger or violence choose to take action in their own interest. This has caused major concerns… and so it should.

It is for the Authorties to take appropriate action to the perceived problems, as seen by Barbadians.

42. Let me add my two cents to Indo-guyanese debate. I dont agree dealing with this matter on basis of colour. Although its a truism that most races hate us blacks I believe we dont have to go that route. As Bajan nationalists with high moral principles our policies must be non racial and legally sound.

If we legislate proper immigration laws along with what is already in place and most importantly enforce them we would not have to worry about masses of undocumented Indo- Guyanese or any other ethnic illegals. Owen Arthur blasted immigration officers for doing their jobs. Guyanese illegals used Arthur’s obscene interference in the work of the immigration department to their advantage. Jagdeo went public saying Arthur was a great friend of the Guyanese.

This DLP administration must ensure the immigration department does its job properly, fairly and without the distasteful politicism Arthur brought. No special treatment for Guyanese or anyone else. No one above the law.

I dont agree with any witch hunt for Indo -Guyanese. My observation of them is they are clannish and dont mix with blacks. But the same holds true of white locals and we have tolerated them for centuries. Live and let live. Our immigration policies though have to sharpened and modernised to meet globilisation.

Blacks have made Barbados the best governed black nation on earth. We have much going for us. The Guyanese or whoever is here with legal status whether Indo or black should have nothing to fear. The undocumented ones are breaking our laws and must be dealt with accordingly. Norman Faria would do his Guyanese flock the greatest service by advising them to obey the law.

43. Bim rush
    What you’re saying is true but I invite you and anyother, to do a history on Indo-guyanese migration and report back to BU, your findings.
    Only after that would I give mine.

44. yesterday I was on Browne’s Beach and the Guyanese the fighting like dogs. When the police come on the scene they disappeared into the Guyanese shop on Bay Street.

Many people thought it was funny, including my boyfriend and son. I didnt think so, because sooner rather than later this negativity will spill into my community. Somebody will now claim that Bajns get on bad too.

But ya want to know what, we dont need the additional negativity.

If that is how they are going to get on then go back home and now.

45. Todays article in the Nation newspaper has me increasingly convinced that the David Thompson administration does not intend to change the course re the guyanese set by the Arthur administration.

Why you ask am I under this impression?

Listening to Chris Sinckler and the loud silence by David Thompson himself – there seems to be a rush either not to offend or to appease this group.

Chris Sinckler who is known to put his foot in his mouth – big time- is quoted today as saying that Guyanese should be given the human rights of free education and free health when in Barbados and we bajans should reach out to them.

(This is what happens when persons feel that they have become diplomats and must speak diplomese.)

Excuse me? Is Mr Sinckler saying that we the taxpaying citizens hard earned taxes must pay for persons who come here and stay illegally – and enjoy the benefits for which we have worked so hard?

What is it about our politicians that whether BLP or DLP they believe they must kiss Norman Faria’s behind and be seen handing out ‘meaningless awards’ and seeking to appease the guyanese community at the expense of the barbadian citizens concerns and fears which are not being publicly adressed by this DLP government -( nor was it addressed under the Blp.)

Is this the same Chris Sinckler who at athe political mass rally in Independence Square on the eve of the general election told the thousands of bajans that when the government (DLP) gains power – they will deal with the guyanese,and that he will be putting police men in place to deal with any illegal guyanese trying to vote in his constituency.

It seems like some of these DLP politicians think that they can take the bajan voters for granted – and they think we are fools.

In the article he said that he has guyanese nieces and nephews – so I expect this is what might be colouring his views.

Something smells fishy to me about this turn of events.

Is it that Chris Sinckler is spouting hot air and just feeling excited about the fact that he is now a minister and speaking only for themselves?
    Because I can’t see why a senior minister like himself,the minister of Foreign affairs no doubt,felt it necessary to attend that non-event and hand out some paltry award.

Why the guyanese Association and not the Jamaican or vincentian associations ?

Why does the media give prominence to every fart Norman faria says and every cockfight he gets involved in?

We really are a bunch of yellow belly people who will deserve what we get when this country take a turn like guyana.

No wonder Guyanese feel bold enough to declare in barbados that they hate bajans and they will run Bajans out of Barbados.

46. Some one on the radio show Brasstacks just tried to say that Norman Faria keeps speaking only about how guyanese are making a positive contribution to Barbados – but before the caller can finish his comment on the fact that Faria should also speak to guyanese who are bent on negative behaviour – Mr MICHAEL BROWN – the Producer at VOB – cut the caller off.

Now where is the free speech there?

Are you only allowed to speak in glowing terms about the guyanese at VOB?

Michael Brown better be careful where he is going with that.

47. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

What the hell I reading. Gorilla Mout Sinckler telling me to welcome the Guyanese! I like I get trick by the DLP. lord come for your world. Shite I went in the polyclinic and had to wait blasted long because the nurse dint know what to do about the guyanese that came to see a doctor.

48. Bim Rush wrote: “Blacks have made Barbados the best governed black nation on earth.”

Fully agree Bim Rush, but don’t forget that the institutions of government and society that Barbadian blacks used to make Barbados such an enviable place in the world were largely put in place by the British: a professional civil service, an impartial judiciary, a largely uncorrupt police force, and a strong legal tradition with many qualified attorneys-at-law. And these are the institutions which continue to keep Barbados strong.

By contrast, when that odious colonial power Belgium “gave” the Congo it’s independence, there were allegedly only 3 qualified Congolese lawyers in the entire country. Would that they had had the same institutions that Barbados was fortunate to have.

Food for thought!

49. Anonymous
    Why worry about Michael Brown & VOB.Do like me and boycott the dam radio.As I mentioned in an earlier presentation I do not listen to VOB I have boycotted it.We are the ones who make VOB and we are the ones who could destroy VOB.VOB is being sabotage by the indians.As I mentioned earlier also VOB had to cancelled a program about the impact of Indo-Guyanese in Barbados because the indians treatened to withdraw their business from VOB.Also remember Vic Fernandes is a Guyanese.Nothing that VOB does surprises me.
    We must recognise that David Thompson and the government hands are tied.Little will be done about this situation.I beleive Chris Sinckler was being political expedient.I do not think he meant what he said.This government is in beds with the indians in Barbados Remember David Thompson drop Patrick Todd for Abdul Pandor to run as a candidate. and Taan Abeds also ran as a candidate.Observe that the same Abdul Pandor is the chairman of National Housing Corporation.Businessman Chatrani is a member of some Board. A Patel is a member of the Film Censorship Board and other indians are on other Board in Barbados.The Indians are putting themselves in strategic positions.Remember that the indians were some of biggest financiers of the Democratic Labour Party.I do not think much will change regarding this issue under this present administration.
    The power is in ourhands and we must use it.I do not mean only at election time.Observe what the South Africans are doing and learn from them.The South africans feel threaten and are retaliating.Maybe we might have to do the same.

50. Straight talk Avatar

The law of the jungle will re-assert itself world wide, Negroman.
    As things get tougher, who you gonna turn to when a real power (not Guyana) turns itself on Bim.