I refer to a letter from D. Ramprakash entitled ‘Statistics are essential in the marginalisation debate.’ Ramprakash is of course correct; it is a difficult accusation to define or to quantify and so we have to establish marginalisation another way, ie by looking at the perceptions of people, since if perceptions are not reality, they certainly point to what is reality for our people.

Source: Stabroek

racismOn January 31, 2008 we published the blog with the title Indian Racism Against Afro Guyanese In Guyana which referenced a scholarly work (Racism and the degeneration of Guyana) by Dr. Kean Gibson, a lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. To the surprise of the BU household the academic’s research was dismissed by individuals who offered no research of their own, but instead operated on high levels of biase and emotionalism. Leading the charge was our decorated pollster Peter Wickham, who is still drowning in the accolades from being proved correct in the just concluded Barbados general election. In response to the aforementioned blog, Peter Wickham was inspired to submit to BU his article titled, Peter Wickham Says Itโ€™s All About Racism & Xenophobia. We said then that the BU household was disappointed Peter Wickham who is a professional pollster, and whose reputation and performance is built on using solid quantitative analysis would have resorted to mere words to refute Dr. Gibson’s effort.

The quote above was extracted from a letter to the editor submitted to the Stabroek newspaper by Mr. Anthony Vieira who is a Member of Parliament in Guyana. The submission is interesting because he is able to point to quantitative analysis, prepared by a Dr. Milissa Ifill of the University of Guyana (A study to assess whether there is any discrimination in the award and distribution of economic opportunities in Guyana), under the direction of the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC) in a report, which supports the widely held perception in Guyana that there is tension between the ethnic groups.

To borrow a quote to illustrate what we mean, Dr. Ifill states:

Indian Guyanese far more than African, mixed or indigenous Guyanese believe that the state, private sector and NGO sector act in a fair manner in their provision of economic opportunities. 80 out of 94 Indian respondents believed that the state acts in a fair manner, the corresponding figure for African respondents is 15 out of 73, while for the mixed groups the figure was 10 out of 40 and for indigenous respondents the figure was 6 out of 23.

The quote does not explain why the Indo-Guyanese is running away from Guyana, if the findings of Dr. Ifill is to be believed. The message which we continue to shout is the importance for Barbados to monitor and capture the results of the impact of a multi-ethnic country like Guyana. The ERC in Guyana has been established for ten years, and has had no obvious ameliorating impact on the rapidly deteriorating racial tensions. Good sense dictates that Barbados should become proactive in managing the rapidly growing ethnic groups. We continue to reiterate that Guyana and Trinidad provide the best case studies to anticipate how we need to manage ethnic relations in Barbados.

Why should we wait until the crap hits the fan?

For Barbadians who feel that their passive and reactive approach to the matter of managing race relations is the correct approach, they should wake up and smell the garlic…we mean coffee! Members of the BU household and others we are sure have listened to the early utterances of Minister Maxine McClean who seems to have a ‘feel’ for this challenge at hand. Does she and her young government need more time?

129 responses to “Gauging The Impact of Growing Ethnic Groups Living In Barbados”

1. There are some friendly Indian Guyanese living here but as the numbers increase, so will the vice of the bad ones increase. For those of us who lived and worked in Guyana would know, the divide between the races is real and I don’t expect it to change drastically because they are living in Barbados. I fear that when they get here in large numbers, they would then show their real colours. With a looming recession coming, things are going to get hard here and we would see resentment from Bajans about the influx of Guyanese to this country. I just hope it doesn’t get out of hand. Guyanese can more rough it out than Bajans because that is what they are accustom to. i think the authorities should look at stemming the tide of Guyanese and those from other parts of the region NOW. Right now too many simple jobs are given to non-Bajan that can be done by them. It’s not that they don’t apply but the non-Bajan is favored over the Bajan. That’s not right.

2. I simply cannot understand why a site that is normally so spot-on can promote this sort of xenophobic nonsense. Immigrants typically do the jobs that Bajans do not want to do. You see it everywhere. They tend to cause no more crime than the local population – remember the shootings and arrests over Christmas – all Bajan fuh real, not Guyanese. Yes there needs to be restrictions, yes we need to be careful but this sort of rant does nothing to promote level headed thinking.

3. What does Peter Wickham think of the flood of Mexican illegals gate crashing USA borders daily? How does he feel about the hordes of non EU people illegally living in Britain and the millions desperately trying to join them? The USA and UK are alarmed about their leaky borders and the calamatious outcomes of unchecked illegal immigration.

Make no mistake about it Barbados is in the same boat as USA and UK with regards to the Guyanese mainly but illegals from other jurisdictions as well. I am not advocating mass deportatation and certainly not discrimination after all these are humans we are talking about. However our immigration apparatus has to be toughened and illegals ferreted out and returned from whence they came. The ones with legal status are as welcome as any bona fide tourist.

Over to you Minister Mclean. I concur with BU that Wickham’s vindication in elections has gone to his head.

4. Ya know if you go to the USA from Cuba you’re legal (political refugee) but from Haiti Mexico, Honduras, you’re economic and illigal. Mexicans lived in Florida and Texas long before Americans did. They were slaughtered and displaced and referred to as illegal. It’s all a load of crap. Immigrants are people looking for a better life.

Barbados is much much larger than people let on. The strategic housing policy and infrastructural development plan should necessarily take into consideration significantly increasing numbers of new Barbadians. To my mind a population of one million is still too small to act as a base for real industrial development. There is a relationship between population size and the degree of industrial sophistication that a country can adequately pursue. Small populations produce juices from concentrates. Larger populations produce guidance systems.

If there is a problem with the race, do like the Chinese and breed them out. China is a country of muts.. no Manchurians, no Mongols, dwindling Tibetans, they have all been bred out pf existence. The silution to the immigrant of Indian ancestry is therefore quite simple, donโ€™t insult them, SCREW THEM ALL!

5. Amazing that White people could remain so pure after all these years in this neck of the woods. Just not healthy. They should have been interbred centuries ago.

6. Ignore those who shame Govt
    Published on: 5/14/08.

PLEASE PERMIT a little space in your daily publication to air my views as a citizen who believes Barbados comes first and personal sentiment comes after, and what contributed to my having those qualities is because I allow my heart to be the master of my judgement.

However, let me get to the point. The David Thompson administration assumed office with a number of serious problems inherited from the Arthur regime. Some of them are unique to our country. For example, the influx of immigrants coming into our country to work for low wages, thus putting Barbadians out of work.

Sir, let us look at the Ghanaian situation that was a big problem for our Government. One does not have to be a rocket scientist to figure it out. This situation is a continuation of the sick immigration policy by the Owen Arthur administration, which is a “whosoever will, may come” policy, with no regulations whatsoever, which is a serious threat to our national security and also overloads our social services.

For example, I know of a young woman who has been here six years and now has three children. If this senseless policy continues with the way immigrants are multiplying, this country will be ruined in twenty years.

Sir, it is crystal clear that those Africans were victims of racketeers.

Having said that, it was unfortunate that the Africans arrived here at the wrong time because they were faced with the Thompson administration which is making every effort to protect the national interest of this country and also to restore the dignity and integrity it once had.

Now, fortunately for the nation, the Thompson administration is committed to taking this country forward into the late great Errol Barrow’s vision. So let us come together as a responsible nation and give the Government our fullest support. At the same time let us call for the repudiation of those with an objective of embarrassing the Government just to satisfy their sentimental emotions.

โ€“ NEVILLE ROACH

7. Dr. Gibson come public which is what we want our people on the hill to do and Wickham and some others throw cold water on the lady. The beautiful thing would be to have some other academic rebutting her work using accepted approaches. That would be kicks.

8. The fact is that immigrants do not take jobs from Barbadians. Anyone who runs a business in Barbados knows how difficult it is to recruit good people. By “good”, I mean those who are prepared to arrive at work on time, get on with the job, and not find any small excuse to take time off. Ask those who employ immigrant labour, and they will tell you that absenteeism is negligible compared with that of Bajans. It is true that immigrants are prepared to take the lower paid jobs, but that does not mean that they are driving wages down.

9. Go to any construction site in Barbados, and as a general rule, you’ll see the Guyanese working hard, and the Barbadians working slow, or asleep. Barbadians aren’t racist so much as they’re lazy.

10. John Doe what nonsensence are you talking that Barbadians are lazy.A bunch of hog wash.Who built Barbados before the influx of these immigrants.Is it not Barbadians.You fool.If Guyanese and other immigrants are so hard working and have good work ethics why they did not stay and develop their countries.I hate the nonsensence that Barbadians are lazy.It is human nature that when immigrants leave their countries and seek their fortunes overseas these immigrants usually work hard because they want to achieve.Barbadians left Barbados and went and work hard overseas and improve they lot.It is sickening that we Barbadians are labels as lazy.Downright foolishness.I am a black barbadians who is working two jobs to provide for my family.Also many other people I know are also working to jobs to improve themselves.Would you call us lazy.
    Idiot wise up.
    I read in todays paper that 3 indo-guyanese were charged for physical assault.It seems they assaulted a black man going by the name I saw in the papers as the complainant.These are the concerns that we barbadians are concern about.I hope Peter Wickham,David Ellis,Michael Brown and all the other Indo-guyanese lovers and apologists are observing these developments.I wonder what is Peter Wickham views on the race relations in Trinidad and Guyana.
    I will like to believe that the present government is serious with its promise of drafting new legislation to deal with immigration issues.I have my doubts.One reason is because of our lead role in CSME and lack of vision and sincerity in our politicians.
    As I mentioned in previous comments Indo-Guyanese are intrinsically racist and where ever they go problems and destruction will prevail.Barbados beware.If the politicians do not have the courage to tackle this problems I believe that we must take this matter into our own hands and demand action to be taken in any form neccessarily.
    NB watch the chinese growth and influence these chinese are having on ourgovernment.

11. Anon // May 14, 2008 at 12:51 am

What does Peter Wickham think of the flood of Mexican illegals gate crashing USA borders daily? How does he feel about the hordes of non EU people illegally living in Britain and the millions desperately trying to join them? The USA and UK are alarmed about their leaky borders and the calamatious outcomes of unchecked illegal immigration.

================================

Peter Wickham has laid his socialist, liberal beliefs on the table, one of which is his disdain for Borders. His views on the Guyanese issue should be seen in this context. When you do so there isn’t any need to engage him.

12. Negroman i share your sentiment re Bajans Lazy. But please do not lend any importance to the views of David Ellis, Peter Wickham et al on this issue. They are no more informed than you or I, and the charge that their assumed rational and reasoned opinions are more likely to be shaped by personal benefits, is yet to be answered. What is in it for them does not include us.

13. Well said negroman. I also cringe when I hear Barbadians are lazy . They are some lazy people of every hue in every society. But when I hear it in Barbados its two segments among us who push this idea. The minority elite merchant classs and the foreigners.

You spelt out your case lucidly because its Bajan blacks who built this country to the extent that now hordes of Guyanese and others clamouring to live here. Where were they in 1937 when we faced down the guns of the racist white ruling class ? Where were they in the sixties when Barrow and the builders of this country moved Barbados from a village to the leading developing country in the world?

Barbadians are among the thriftiest people. They have to be . Look at what we had to work with. No resources only our people, sea water and sand. When I hear we are lazy I know exactly who is saying it. I can assure you its nobody looking like us . I am a black Bajan like you negroman. This is our land.

14. I believe the racial devide that is clearly the national passtime of Guyana is already eminating from Guyanese in Barbados towards Barbadians. It is my understanding that there may be someone of Guyanese origin working at the nation newspaper and that may also have access to that Newspaper’s Editorial page.
    The following represents the Editors comment for Saturday 22, May-2004 . Maybe it was Carl Moore who wrote it. ๐Ÿ˜€

========================
    STOP BASHING THE GUYANESE
    Stop The Guyanese Bashing – Saturday 22, May-2004
    THERE IS a very special ring about radio talk shows that keep us all buzzing with conversation. Interesting people make valid points which add considerably to public debate on issues of import.
    But that is only half of the talk.

The other is diatribe. Pure and simple.

Unfortunately, we have to swallow the one with the other. We have to listen to much nonsense if we want to benefit from the comments of value.

The most recent example is the debate about the presence in Barbados of a large number of non-nationals, in particular people emanating from the Republic of Guyana. Estimates put the level at between 25 000 and 30 000.

People are screaming on the airwaves about it, and they sound pretty sick. Arguments that border on racism and the need to preserve our โ€œraceโ€; arguments about Guyanese taking away the jobs of Barbadians; arguments about the social and infrastructure cost of this excess population are but three of the most non-sensical.

This is not the first time that this debate has raged. The slightest public incident involving Guyanese or reference to the presence of Guyanese here gets the crazy-heads going on radio.

Few people want to admit that without the presence of Guyanese artisans the construction industry would be at a standstill because of a labour shortage.

Skilled men and women have made their way here and have made their mark because they bring to construction a sound work ethic and the ability to do some of the finest finishes.

Others have come here to escape the hardship of life in a country divided down the middle because of racial conflict master-minded by selfish politicians.

Others are a type of political refugee, and they fit into our country better than many others in this region because Guyanese and Barbadians have similar modest lifestyles and levels of social tolerance.

The majority of people who access the radio to talk have no appreciation of the fact that we in the Caribbean โ€“ particularly the English-speaking Caribbean โ€“ have a common history and a common destiny.

They are blind to the realities of a coming common market and want to ignore the fact that many years ago it was the Barbadians who benefited from the hospitality of other countries, absorbing our excess population.

It hurts to hear pygmies giving vent on air to their petty chatter and myopic thinking, unchecked and unchallenged. We now merely listen and wait for the time when the bar is lifted and the radio shows return to more inspiring, more sane debate.

15. The word “racist” is thrown at people on this blog, with a frequency which make its useage common place. The purpose being to bully, intimidate and consequently silence. The downside to this, is that the normal force which such a word warrants in a deserving case, is lost through inappropriate use.

Some Barbadians are of the opinion, that a drastic change of the population mix in Barbados, through illegal immigration can do great damage to Barbadian society. To believe Barbadians are a special people, and the stresses and strains which have brought havoc to our Caribbean neighbours and elsewhere cannot touch us is lunacy, bordering on irresponsibility.

Barbados as a nation is not impervious to societal breakdown, what will prevent it, is not to allow the circumstances on which it feeds to arise.

Prudent management of immigration, controls in place to ensure those who are forced to or desire to take the illegal route are thwarted. This gives a firm foundation for legal immigrants, through rights recognized by law, and acceptance by the indigenous population through management of numbers.

To gamble many years of social cohesion, through proper assimilation and prudent practice ,for a short term feel good factor is nonsense. This issue is so serious that it should not be left to a wish and a prayer.

The downturn in the economy will come at some time time in the future, there will be unemployment and the society should be able to absorb that slack without internal tensions.

At such a time everyone in the country should be seen as entitled to all rights and privileges, and there would be no social tension that cannot be managed.

Rebuttal to nonsense.
    Barbadians are lazy, long before the building of the Panama canal Barbadians were sought to work abroad, after, in Canada, USA, UK and many other places, theyhave made a success for themselves and their families through hard work.

Foreign Immigrants work for less.
    They can afford to, a young single immigrant male in Barbados sharing with a couple others, can afford to, he has not got the financial commitments of the Barbadian male of the same age-who perhaps has a family to look after in Barbados and all that entails. To ask a Barbadian to lower his/her standard of living to what the immigrant is accustomed to in their own country, to get a job in his own country, Barbados, is to throw reason and common sense out of the window. Of course, employers would like that, they would be delighted if workers worked for nothing , it increases profits, but we have been there before.

Barbadians over many years have tried to make a success of the little resources the have had – and they have been little indeed – if immigrants wish to mke a case for permanent residence in Barbados, do so, but to make that argument on the back of scurrilous nonsense that the host- Barbadians – are lazy lacking in initiative and endeavour, begs the question why can’t your enterprise only flourish in lazy, backward Barbados, why not in the golden halls and marble palaces and with the thrifty and enterprising people of the country you left? why after so many years it has come to nought?

16. This was my response response to that 2004 editorial.

In reponse to a one-sided opinion from the other side that is masquarading as the Nation news paper editorial comments.

=================================
    Others have come here to escape the hardship of life in a country divided down the middle because of racial conflict master-minded by selfish politicians.

Others are a type of political refugee, and they fit into our country better than many others in this region because Guyanese and Barbadians have similar modest lifestyles and levels of social tolerance

If there are escaping racial conflict in their society, what levels of social tolerance could exist in that society that are similar to ours??????

.Are we selective in who we accept from this racially divided society?

.Are we allowing individuals from both sides of the racial divide?

.Do people who migrate immediately suspend their cultural believes and practices?

Can we safely say that these individuals will be acculturated into Barbados sufficiently enough to fade any remnants of the generational social diviseness in their native society?

Other than tripping over yourself and clearly showing the difference between the two societies, when you probably intended otherwise, what is your argument? What statistical measurement was use to arrive at your asserted breakdown of contributions to the radio talk shows? Should we just stop talking because, mixed amongst the valid points, are others, according to you, that are rifted with diatribe? Isnโ€™t this true of every national issue under discussion? Who made you judge and jury anyway? Would it not be better to attempt to win those diatribe talkers over to a more pragmatic discussion? What purpose does it serves to talk down, criticize and dismiss a contributor to this debate. I am not going to speculate on what could be the agenda that is driving your equally offensive remarks.
    Here it is, you have access to prime editorial real estate that could be better used to educate these contributors on why you think their arguments may be incorrect , and you seemly could not resist the simpleton temptation to squander that space to engage in what to my mind could be considered remarks that are equally deserving of the same dismissive title you attributed to theirs. Have you call on Sir Leroy Trotman to identify those 3 construction sites that he has said are dismissing Barbadians only to hire non-nationals? Is he lying? Should we not believe him? Do you understand the context within which he Sir Trotman is calling for a national registry on non-national workers? Do you agree with this approach? I do believe him, and i am at a lost as why you would refer to that particular argument echoed on the call-in programs by average person as non-sensical? does that argument alternate between the senical and non-sensical base on who stating it? People will always want to know things and when they canโ€™t get the information they tend to create it. If you honestly want to limit the so called diatribal, borderline racial arguments, then research the correct information that will counter such, and present it in response to the arguments that you think are incorrect.

This as got to be an individualโ€™s OpEd (Opinion editorial) masquerading as the collective opinion of that news organization

This post has been edited by Adrian: May 22 2004, 04:21 PM

Adrian Hinds and Hindssight are one and the same. ๐Ÿ˜€

17. “Foreign immigrants work for less…” Where this nonsensical statement originated, I don’t know, but unless the foreign worker is the lone employee in a particular workplace, or all the employees in a workplace are immigrants, then it doesn’t make sense. In my opinion, which comes from personal knowledge, it is almost impossible to place a foreign worker in a job alongside Barbadian workers and pay him/her less for doing the same job. Neither they, nor the Bajans would put up with it, quite rightly. The reason that immigrant labour is recruited for the most part is that Barbadians cannot be found who are willing to do the job for the pay offered. Quite often, this pay is a function of the competitive situation a firm may find itself in, and not necessarily due to exploitation by the company, though I admit that this does occur in some cases. As has been the case the world over for generations, immigrant labour does take the lower paid jobs not wanted by the indigenous population. West Indian immigration to the UK after the Second World War is a perfect example. Often, in those cases, there was generally low unemployment and extra labour was needed. Last year we were in a similar situation in Barbados, and there are some industries which still find it extremely difficult to find skilled labour here. A controlled immigration policy is the answer to this problem. I would have no truck with illegals.

18. Jack Bowman
    May 14, 2008 at 4:03 pm
    Mr. Banned, in this very discussion, makes an astounding offer:

Thatโ€™s a remarkable and excellent offer, Mr. Banned. But would you only pay if it were Mr. Wickham who visited the United States and reported on his findings? If so, why?

Can we strike a deal here? Iโ€™ll do the trip and write the report if you only pay two thirds of the cost, not the whole thing. Iโ€™ll report fully, and Iโ€™ll plead with BFP to publish my findings.

I write at least as well as Mr. Wickham. And, in a recent poll among a representative sample of my family, a clear majority thought I was (i) more intelligent than he is and (ii) better looking.

What do you say? Do we have a deal?

Sorry but BFP is moderating my comments as usual. The offer is extended to Peter Wickham. He draws more attention to you and I trust his judgement. Obviously you and the madmen at BFP have a problem with that. Sorry but he is the star not wanna.

19. What is the fuss about Peter Wickham’s opinions? He is a socialist, what is the surprise there?

…He was invited to the US by the US State Department during the Last presidential election, his report back was a bias and driven by his ideological position as this “China View” of his. The cake for me in his recent article is that he seems to be refering to Barbadians as “Ignorant” with the following

“The fact that it takes 18 hours, over two days, to reach China’s capital city Beijing, where the native tongue is hardly recognisable to most Barbadians, means that few of us visit that place or even give much thought to the politics and culture of a country that now occupies the spotlight as a result of the Summer Olympics.

IN AN ENVIRONMENT WHERE IGNORANCE IS THE “NORM”, perceptions based on the propaganda of those who care to express an pinion easily become our reality or worse yet, our gospel and in the case of China, we have more recently been reading from the book of CNN, BBC and (God forbid) Fox News. ”

You see his “Perceptions” are better than yours and you better accept that. It is a fact. ๐Ÿ˜€

20. Taken from page 13-14 of the IMF consultation with the Barbados Government in 2000

The first protocal convered the priod 1993-95 and made provision for an economy-wide wage freeze. The second (1995-97) provided for a period of wage restraint in line with productivity changes.

Unionized labor accounts for 60 percent of the labor force. The public sector accounts for 20 percent of total employment and sets the tone for the rate of private sector wae increases; while public sector wage settlements are set in two-year contracts, private sector contracts are generally longer

Page 14 continues……
    to a substantial bidding up of wages in this sector, particularly for skilled workers; more recently, however, these wage increases have been moderated by the inflow of workers from other Caribbean territories.

Barbados: 2000 Article IV Consultation

I want to make the point to those who continue to think that the presents of illegal workers in this country is a result solely and or primarily of their ability to work harder, better, and in skills and areas of employement that are no longer preferable to Barbadians. This influx has always been about lowering cost (people willing and thankfull to do the work for less). I will always refer back to comments that Mr Richard Williams then GM of Sandy Land made to his staff out of fustration over a work stoppage. “I look forward to the day when i can hire Vincentions and other foreigners”

…..as i know Barbadians, they will wait until the truth cannot be disputed, but then as always it will be too late. The only place caribbean integration is taking place is in Barbados, and while we have Barbadian companies on the ground in other islands, COW and Goddards, comes to mind, i can recall the difficulty of one. Julie’N’s entry into St. Lucian Retail space was met with hostility by establish retailers, and a violent robbery and criminal injuries to a couple of Barbadians sent to work there had the impact of scaling back operations…..I don’t know what has become of the business or the injured Barbadians.

http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/scr/2000/cr00158.pdf

http://www.barbadosforum.com/index.php?s=&showtopic=1119&view=findpost&p=33577

21. The problem is Bajans don’t like their own. Before this influx of Indo-guyanese, Babados through the good professional work of Bajan had develop a country that was the envy of the rest of the region. That’s why the big movement toward this country when the flood gates opened. How come now Bajan workers are not good? What I can say is the quality of workmanship in Badbados as fallen badly. I know of some major construction site with massive problems and mainly because of non-badbadian labour. I also know of sights where Bajan are not welcomed. The problem is when these projects become disasters and the foreign labour gone too, we bajans would have to take the blame.

22. In the 50’s and 60’s lots of Bajan men migrated to” B.G Demarara” in search of employment. A vast country with a small population and much room for development. These men started families there, that’s why if you look through a Guyanese telephone directory you would see many many Bajan surnames. These are the black Guyanese. I believe if we accept the 2nd and 3rd generation Bajan from Britain, we can do the same for the Guyanese, but the Indo-Guyanese who come here ain’t no family to we. In there numbers, they would cause big problems in this country. If you are fortunate to talk to an Afro- Guyanese he would tell you that it’s only time before this happens. We are still in the embryonic stage of this influx and we have to nip it in the bud NOW or accept what happens after. Our children and their children will smell hell in the future. All that we and our ancestors have work so hard to develop is going to be destroyed in one generation. I would be dead by then but God help this little country. For years they were trying to get their hands on it and the vultures are taking over, we will become fifth class citizens in our own country.

23. I will always refer back to the comments of Mr. Richard Williams then GM of Sandy Lane made to his staff out of frustration over a work stoppage. ” I look forward to the day when I can hire Vincentians and other foreigners”
    ………………………………………………………………………..
    It is unbelievable this same Richard Williams was hired by the BLP government and Noel Lynch for a truck load of money to allegedly market Barbados in USA. The above statement clearly tells us Williams is incapable of marketing anything far less Barbados. He is apparently still in position drawing thousands from hard working black Bajan taxepayers. What is the new government doing about these useless clowns?

24. Maybe not relevant but Vic Fernades and Roxanne Gibbs are of Guyanese extraction. Both occupy critical positions in the media.
    Could this explain why the traditional media is blanking this issue?

25. Have we tossed out the concept introduced by Clyde Mascoll before he left government that the working population of Barbados needs to increase commensurate with the need to increase productivity/GDP. The aging demographic of Barbados supports his point?

26. Straight talk Avatar

David:

The whole world’s economic system is based on the belief that there will be a permanent increase in everything.

Unfortunately, in our world of finite resources,
    this cannot happen.

Our own pensions depend on the increasing number and productivity of younger taxpaying members of society to sustain them, and they themselves will depend upon an even greater increase.

It is an exercise in futility, it obviously cannot go on forever.

It is a dragon eating its own tail as the earth cannot support continuous exponential growth.

27. David // May 14, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Have we tossed out the concept introduced by Clyde Mascoll before he left government that the working population of Barbados needs to increase commensurate with the need to increase productivity/GDP. The aging demographic of Barbados supports his point?

You encourage your current population to “breed” some more.
    Clyde Mascoll’s opinion was a politically calculated attempt to draw on the believe that his title of an Economist of some standing would emasculate the already unpopular policy of his new found friends.

28. SMALL BUSINESS OWNER Avatar
    SMALL BUSINESS OWNER

I have hired numerous workers over a period of 10 years and based on my experience I would say 90% are not worth what Paddy shot at. The major difference is that the Guyanese will work hard initially until they get a foothold , then they become as lazy as the average Bajan worker.

29. I say breed them all or have them breed us all, either way, clear case for sex as a wonderful solution.

Again China is a nation of muts. They make it Government policy to encourage intermarrying so there are no ethnic issues. Score A++ for social engineering

30. Dr. Randy Persaud Avatar
    Dr. Randy Persaud

Disucssion is always always good for democracy. So long as we have debate, we are able to keep the promise of having a better society. I am writing this note on account of shocking remarks made on this website. I have to tell you that for sometime now I have heard of anti-immigrant feelings in Barbados, but I never imagined it had reached this level.

In an ironice way, therefore, BU is providing a good service. It gives expression to extremist anti-Indian and anti-Guyanese positions, but it appears willing to tolerate dissenting voices.

For today I just to make a few points.

(1) The ways Hinduism is practiced in India is quite different from the way it is practiced in Guyana. Guyanese Indians intermarry across all lines. Muslims and Hindus frequently marry in Guyana.

(2) The Hindu texts were written thousands of years ago, and to select this and that line fro the text to “prove” whatever is not good scholarship.

(3) The Hinduism that Gibson writes about is unknown to me. I state this in categorical terms.

(4) As a Caribbean person, I have been proud of the accomplishments of Barbados. The attacks against Indians and immigrants, however, have given me pause. I had promised to take my family for a vacation to your country, but cannot do so anymore.

(5)I appeal to Barbadians not to go down that path of race politics – in this case anti-immigranthysteria. This is happening all over the world.

(6) I urge you to debate without personally attacking people. Critique the arguments, and give people to respond.

31. Indian guy seriously, can my dauhgter marry one of yours? My wife is White.

32. Dear Editor:
    Academic dishonesty at Guyana’s institution of higher learning by Rickford Burke http://www.c-gid.org/

It is time for a substantive debate on racism in Guyana. It is a cancer which has been festering in the Guyanese polity.
    Since Guyana’s ruling East Indian People’s Progressive Party (PPP) government came to power in 1992, they have engaged in pervasive racial discrimination, ethnic cleansing and ethnic triumphalism. The corollary, by intent, of this philosophy of racism or “Apan Jhaat” (vote your own race) has been the disenfranchisement and political, cultural and economic marginalization of Afro-Guyanese. This has gravely fractured our national polity.
    More recently, the PPP has been engaged in clumsy attempts at the psychological conditioning of the nation as well as revisionism of the social and political history of Guyana. Pro-Chancellor of the University of Guyana and PPP official, Dr. Prem Misir, recently tarnished his academic bona fides by releasing a bogus study which he claimed establishes that there is no evidence of marginalization of the African-Guyanese collective in Guyana. Dr. Misir’s study is such a fraudulent exercise and dishonest academic work, that it usurps his academic standing. This presumed academic study borders on being CRIMINAL. It must be vigorously condemned. It is a disgrace and a curse on the University. If not repudiated, it would decimate the University’s academic standing and further reduce the institution to the PPP’s deplorable, ethnic workshop.
    The raison d’รƒยชtre of Misir’s study was deception. He was uninterested in an unbiased assessment of the veracity of allegations of marginalization of blacks as a consequence of PPP racism, ethnic triumphalism and racial and political discrimination. Rather, the study was designed, in methodology, mechanics and execution, to negate and disprove the reality of pervasive racial discrimination. Its so-called quantitative observations and conclusions are fallacious and have no scientific or academic merit.
    When challenged, Dr. Misir admitted that his study was limited to what he called “social marginalization” solely in the Guyana public service. However, Misir deceitfully included demographics from the Guyana Police Force and Army, which are not public service entities under extant law and which East Indians do not traditionally join because of cultural factors, to deliberately kew the results of his study.
    I could care less about “social marginalization, ” and what ever definition he ascribes to that condition. As a PPP member his mission was to strategically change the psychology of the debate on PPP racism, and to use his office to provide a platform to deny verifiable allegations of racial discrimination; so that the PPP can in the future reference his phony conclusions as “emanating from a UG study.” But make no mistake about it; Dr. Misir’s “claims” are mendacious and highly offensive.
    His concept of “social marginalization” is premised exclusively on ethnic distribution in the public service as well as the police and army, which combined has less than 10,000 persons. However, conversely, PPP racial discrimination and marginalization of blacks have been pervasive throughout the entire society. How does he account for the other 90% of the black population under the siege of racial discrimination? If Misir’s machinations is not a manifestation of a culture of academic immorality then what is?
    An aggregation of Africans and other ethnicities in the government service “cannot” be used to determine marginalization, and Dr. Misir, who claims to be a researcher, know this very well. It is just what it is – an enumeration of the varying ethnic groups participating in the service. Therefore, one cannot assess marginalization of one group in a multi ethnic/racial society, without a comparative analysis on wealth distribution, education, job availability, and access to equal opportunity under the law. An analysis of these social indicators will establish that the dominant ethnicity in Guyana – East Indians, who make up the government, dominate in these areas, while Blacks have been systematically excluded and made the dependent segment of the population and have been marginalized in the society.
    Traditional social behaviors, job opportunity and availability, qualification, political identity and loyalties, are factors which influence public service participation in Guyana, not the generosity of the PPP. Therefore an evaluation of these numbers cannot be an accurate sociological measurement of the imposition of an ethnocratic ideology on a population or the ideological practices of a government. If one person is discriminated against by being refused a job, compensation to which he/she is lawfully entitled, a contract, equal protection under the law, etc., on the basis of race, then that is empirical evidence of marginalization. This is what Misir should be evaluating, if his motivations were genuine and noble. But they are NOT. His intent is sinister. It is to give his party an academic shelter from it’s racist practices.
    When the PPP selectively targets African Guyanese in the traditional public service and places them on the bread line, THAT is racial and political discrimination and marginalization. Such action is deliberate and serves the singular purpose of oppressing the minority. Their action in the allocation of government contracts is racist. Their lack of response to, and countenancing of, the extra judicial killings of Africans, is racist. Their reluctance to confirm numerous Africans in acting positions in the public service is racist.
    These behaviors by the PPP are not the unintended consequences of charity, but rather the deliberate policy of an active dictatorial ethnocracy! They employ simply, repressive measures of controlling and reducing African people in the society. For the African Guyanese collective, marginalization in any context is racial and political discrimination; it is a deliberate function of PPP ‘s racial and political discrimination.
    This practice began in 1992 when the PPP was elected to power. Hence, a study of “marginalization” cannot be isolated to 2002 and limited to “social marginalization” as Misir has surreptitiously done. An honest study must look at racial discrimination, racism and marginalization from the time the PPP took office in 1992 to present. It must also be objective, holistic and comprehensive. It must be inclusive of all social groups; age, sexual orientation, race, gender, religion, etc. Any other methodology, especially by the head of an academic institution of higher learning, will be dishonest and unacceptable.
    Don’t tell hundreds of thousands of Guyanese blacks, that we are delusional and that there is no racism or marginalization in Guyana, when we live it, feel it and breathe it every day. Many died as result of it. The PPP regime in Guyana is a full-blown, oppressive ethnocracy. They have an insidious noose of impoverishment, subjugation and servitude around the neck of the African Guyanese collectivity and are attempting to strangle it back through the “Middle Passage” like the imperial master.
    I continue to believe until proven otherwise, that Dr. Prem Misir is an enabler of PPP racism. His writings betray this. His dabblings in PPP racial politics and open disrespect for and denigration of the African political opposition, expose him as a rabid partisan who should not be in the Pro-Chancellorship at the UG. None, not one of his predecessors has ever indulged in Guyana’s partisan politics in this manner. Not Bollers, not Baird, not Craig, not Walcott. None! Neither can anyone name any head of a University in the region who has unabashedly practiced Misir’s brand of partisan politics. Universities have always stood-out as a place that is independent and academically sacrosanct. This is so because it’s environment must be honest and conducive to unrestricted learning.
    Dr. Misir asked me in a previous correspondence if “Africans in well-placed positions are ‘tokens’ as we have no indicators to measure this conclusion?” My answer is yes. I believe that Africans like Sam Hinds, Henry Green, Roger Luncheon, Gary Best, Juan Edgill, etc are Judases who are willing to sell their race for money, position and concessions. With the exception of Dr. Roger Luncheon, all the others are literally powerless and are “merchants” of the head of the ethcnocracy, who cannot exercise their own professional judgment.
    The bottom line is that Dr. Prem Misir’s “study” is merely the enumeration of an ethnic census of the traditional public service. It is part of a deliberately engineered phenomenon which has a predetermined outcome – the political and social domination of a select group in Guyana, primarily because of their ethnic origin and perceived political affiliation. The PPP’s agenda is to use academia to promote and justify racial supremacy and their ethnocracy. Dr. Prem Misir and Dr Tara Singh are only two of their recognized compliant and willing agents.
    The faculty at the University of Guyana must disassociate themselves from Misir’s work, lest it validates his attempts to turn the UG into an ethnic “crook-shop. ”
    Rickford Burke
    President
    Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) http://www.c-gid.org/

33. TO RANDY PERSAUD:
    please address the particular posts that cross the lines of decency so define by you. It is not fair for you to make your blanket comments and throw caution to all on this website and to an entire nation as if to suggest that all of us are contravening your defined boundaries.

I will continue to speak about the very real events that take place daily in Guyana even if you and others there and that are from there continue to turn a blind eye to these things. Make your caution and concern work for you by throwing it to those specific comments that offends you. No censure will take place on this blog.

34. GT-Reality // May 15, 2008 at 3:27 am

Dear Editor:
    Academic dishonesty at Guyanaโ€™s institution of higher learning by Rickford Burke http://www.c-gid.org/

It is time for a substantive debate on racism in Guyana. It is a cancer which has been festering in the Guyanese polity.

GT i share your concerns. I read everything about Guyana that i can find on the Internet. I actively seek out Guyanese of every hue and colour, living in the diaspora and engage them on this topic. I am yet to find one that does not agree that there is too much divisiveness among black and Indian Guyanese. Not one. I don’t know where these defenders of the status quo are coming from and have been living, but they are not going to change my mind on the experiences, verbal and written comments that suggest what they are clearly in denial about. They will not win the argument by placing ill-define labels on me and others for our willingness to engage the truth of what Guyana is today.

35. We Bajans are not critical thinkers,EVERY other race in this world because of white supremacy considers themselves better that so-called ‘blacks’.By letting large numbers of Ind0-Guyanese in we are creating a problem for the future.They need to stay at home and build Guyana up what is wrong with that.If its wrong can some one explain to me why its wrong.I am an immigrant living in a ‘first world’ country and I know what is is to be tolerated but not liked.I know all manner of ills are ascribed to immigrants,bringing disease,driving wages down,upsurge in crime etc and I think to myself why am I here and not back in B’dos building it up.Unfortunately immigrants will always be despised wherever they are and Bajans are reacting no more differently than Germans,Americans or English.

36. hindssight
    “No censure will take place on this blog”
    Maybe you could speak to the egomaniacs at BFP

37. Unless BFP explicitly says that it has censure you, i will not take your word for it. From time to time moderation is turned on, on both blog, and i do not see that as censure.

38. Ady Hotep // May 15, 2008 at 9:36 am

We Bajans are not critical thinkers,EVERY other race in this world because of white supremacy considers themselves better that so-called โ€˜blacksโ€™.
    ================================

DITTO: I often challenge people to indentify for me, a country where , not even black but simply the darker skin citizens are not at the bottom of the economic ladder. My experience suggest to me that it seems as if non-whites who are not black, tend to work extra hard to differientiate themselves from Blacks. Like everything in life there are many many exceptions to this observation, and therefore i am not blinded nor guided by it.

39. i cannot see why as soon as there is a call for the management and control of immigration the stance is labelled as irrational and anti-caribbean

No body is saying stop the guyanese from coming but we must manage the amount who come and take steps to remove those who are hear leagally or regularise their status.

40. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

I dont mind the indian women i too like long hair but a lot of the indian men just racist as hell.

41. I have no interest or desire as regards the females of any group identified here, my only concern if about “immigration” and the consequences of that, if not controlled, on the indigenous Barbados population.

42. I agree with yardbroom.I have no regard for any women of other races.All of them are racist against black people.Indian women are the worst.
    The Black race has the most beautiful women in the world and black women must recognise that and stop believing that them are not as beautiful as women of other races.Black women with nice firm bosoms,big hips and nice thick juicy kissable lips.oh what a joy.Compare that with no shape flat bottom,no hips indians ,Europeans & chinese.
    Negroman do not need any other race of people to come into Barbados and disrupt our demographics. Barbados is black man country and we will maintain it this way by the last breath in our body.We do not need the uneducated.semi skilled,unskilled stupid ass Indo-Guyanese to come here and destroy this beautiful country like they destroy their own.
    Indo-Guyanese you all are not welcome in Barbados.Go home to your despise,God forsaken homeland.
    GET OUT & STAY OUT

43. Ms Maxine Mcclean – Mr David Thompson;

BEWARE!

Barbados is about to erupt into racial conflict – if these indian guyanese with their racist tendencies are not sent back NOW!

Enough of the pussyfooting.

Bajans voted the dlp in because they wanted change – and we are not seeing it with these illegal guyanese pests.

I am proud of negroman,yardbroom and others who are undaunted by the taunts and label of ‘racists’.

Please barbadians contact the constituency office of the prime minister in st john as well as your parliamentary representative and complain IN LARGE NUMBERS – THEN AND ONLY THEN WILL THEY GET THE MESSAGE.

Stop hiring these people,stop renting them rooms,call the immigration department if you find out they are living in the island illegally or are going to school here while their parents are here illegally.

Most importantly,call the radio stations over and over and over again until the stations decide to deal with this matter.

44. Anonymous
    Thanks for the support.I will not be daunted by any labels or attacks by reactionaries clowns who are afraid to face the realities of what an influx of other ethnic groups could do to a country.
    Our parents and grand parents struggled & made too many sacrifices in building Barbados to what it is today for us to enjoy the sweets of their labour to handle it over lazy,no good,nuisances likes indo-guyanese to destroy.
    It is unfair.I believe that if the situation was the reverse the guyanese would not be not keen in opening their country for all to come in and enjoy at they expense.As a matter of fact in Guyanaat this moment Guyanese are crying out about the high influx on Brazillians coming over the border and buying land,and taking away jobs from Guyanese in Guyana.There is a big out cry in Guyana today.Even the Guyana Government expressed concerns about it and indicated that it would put measures in place to control the problem.
    The same guyanese want to condemn us and attach all type of labels to us because we are responding in this manner.The impression was given by our last leader Owen Arthur that Barbados was a free for all country.
    My observations in life dictate to me that where ever there is mixture between blcks and other ethnic groups we blacks get the worst end of the affair

45. Those who know us love and it quite clean here that Barbadians are in love with Guyanese, for we are the country that gave the world beautiful Shakira Baksh, former Miss Guyana and Miss World 1st runner up, and Carifesta, uniting the people of beautiful Guyana withe the islands inthe sun. The region is coming and so are Austria, Japan, Indonesia, Morrocco and groups form the UK, USA, Canada and France, and the world is wtaching. Guyana Stadium is the place to be for it where the cultures of Guyana, Suriname and Cayenne will meet the region and the world. It’s a nosntop party that you so not want to miss. And just in case you become tired from all this partying we have got the GUYANA HILTON right next door to Guyana Stadium for your rest, relaxtion and fabulous Guyanese food. So come to Carifesta and be part of a festival that clebrates you. Come to Guyana and see for yourself. Guyana where Guyanese of East Indian, African.Brasilian, Portuguese, Amerindian, Chinese, English, German, Dutch and everyone celebrating our country at Carifesta.
    Remember GUYANA is a free and open country for all. And I am not saying that, but that is the ideal of late leader President, Dr. Cheddi and his dear former President Janet Jagan. Love N Unity, Peace N Harmony, hey hey hey

46. If we are in love with guyanese not Indo-Guyanese.It is the black Guyanese who look like the majority of us and who history is similar.
    Miss Guyana you sound like a Indo-Guyanese.You all do not have any thing to offer us only your bodies.
    Miss Guyana I want to know from you.What is the attraction in Barbados that is drawing so much of you all to come here at any cost?It is a puzzle.Do you ever ask what is wrong with your country that it is in some much turmoil
    The Guyanese people do not have much to offer the Caribbean that is why Guyanese are being mistreated in every Caribbean country that you go to live .I do not want to constantly bash and put down Guyanese but I think Guyanese should really face reality.Running from your country and making you all self nuisances in other countries will not solve the problems Guyana encountering today.I believe the goverment and the people of Guyana must work out a strategy to uplift and take Guyana to a level that the people will proud of it.Guyana is a beautiful country I like it and visit it at least twice a year.I have many black Guyanese friends and them are only type of Guyanese friends Iwant.I do not like indians and I will make that abundantly clear.I am proud to be a black racist.
    I believe that Guyanese should stay at home work hard and develop their country and do not leave it for the Chinese,Brazillians and Europeans to take away from you all.
    Go home and develop your country.Running away will not solve the problems it will only create more.

47. WE ARE YOU! And as such we are family! Guyanese people grace the world stage with their beauty, FASHION,food and culture….whether it is talented Sonia Noel, Roger Gary or Michelle Cole-Rose..Guyana’s fashionistas to the world! WE DRESS THE REGION…..or Asha Blake ..the beautiful Guyanese news reporter for KTLA news in Los Angeles, USA…or Donna Short-Gill another Guyanese beauty who brightens the set of Guyana Today with her warmth and charm, or Nadia Dawn, another beautiful Guyanese actress based in Hollywood, or our handsome President Jagdeo, working hard ofr a better Guyana, or the one and ONLY CCH Pounder, that famous Guyanese movie star, or the late Geodfrey Cambridge who delighted the world with his humour, and of course Rihanna…one of us by default. Those who know us love us and we bring LOVE N UNITY….PEACE N HARMONY to the world, whether it is in the arts, music, comedy, entertainment or our world famous cusine….that is right CUSINE…people flock to Guyanese restaurtants to delight in our ecclectic cusine, be it Toronto, New York, Miami, Seattle, Chicago, Bridgetown, Paramaribo or Boa Vista….Come to GUYANA,,,,,,,It’s the place to be.. CARIFESTA…YOU & WE.

48. Miss Guyana you sound like an out patient of a mental hospital.

49. Mali, I AM GUYANA HAPPY… that is why I am an outpatient of the mad house…..You coming to CARIFESTA……..it’s in the air…..come and raise your the bautiful flag and celebrate OUR culture…GET INVOLVED…..and see you in August

50. Hello Negroman. To answer your question….Barbados is a beautiful place with beautiful people and as such we GYanese like to come and holiday, but at the same time catch our hand….Oh, I beg to differ with your assertion that the Guyanese people have nothing to offer the Caribbean people…..you might have to eat those same words one day……as food crisis is upon the world, except Guyana…..Anyway, it’s sad that you don’t want to know us….your loss…not mine…….I like the one comment of how Guyanese can ride out a reccsssion unlike other peoples, so true….anyway, no one is running from Guyana…..we like to travel…..and this begs the question of why can’t you control your airport and harbours…..as to prevent the illegals from coming in……we have a bridge across the Takutu River form our city of Lethem to BonFim in Brazil and we are not upset that Brazilains stroll over to Lethem from Bon Fin….we welcome them….Bye