We are sure the humorous story which unfolded in the media last week should prove to be insightful not only to the farmer et al involved but to the supporting agencies like the Barbados Agricultural Society and the Ministry of Agriculture. In case you missed it, we have this farmer who for the second consecutive year called in to the popular call-in show Down To Brasstacks, and was highly critical of government for not creating a system where farmers can efficiently distribute their ‘produce’. He cited his own example where he had a significant supply of onions which were about to spoil because as he read it, there was no market and or there was a glut. He attributed the mess, if we understood him correctly, squarely to government reneging on their leadership role in the agriculture industry.

Here is the humourous part 🙂

A couple of days later the St. Lucy farmer was reported in the press to be pleased that the over-supply or lack of demand for his onions, which he had complained about only 48 hours earlier had miraculously been snapped up by eager consumers (wholesalers and retailers alike). The farmer was pleased that he was able to offload his crop of onions but here is what he was reported to have said when his perceived problem was first reported:

St Lucy farmer Arthur Smith was forced to give away 10 000 pounds of tomatoes last year when he couldn’t get them sold. This year he has a glut of onions on his hands and is once again blaming the importation – this time of onions duty-free – for his failure to get his onions sold. Smith told the DAILY NATION yesterday he was not pleased about this ongoing situation which was making him look like a fool. He charged that if Government was serious about agriculture it would ensure that there was a market for farmers to get their produce sold – Source: Nation

Some questions which we have for the farmer: do you have a problem or not? If you are in business is it not your responsibility to ensure you can market your product? If you are having challenges don’t you have several agencies which have been established to provide assistance? – We refer to agencies like the Barbados Agricultural Society (BAS), Small Business Association (SBA), and should we mention the several government agencies embedded within the Ministry of Agriculture? Ultimately the farmer is a businessman who must be able to make the right decisions to ensure that his business can sustain profitability. Having admitted that we are aware that some business sectors because of several factors outside of their control need support to compete.

Haynesley Benn is the new Minister of Agriculture who is accountable for the performance of this ministry in Barbados. We can vouch that this is a man who has a great love and appreciation for agriculture and the benefit it has for any country. A country must have an agriculture base! In the last administration there was the misguided view that because production costs make it convenient to import most of our food, this was the direction to go. Consequently green plants have gradually been replaced with those of concrete. It did not seem to matter that the ability to produce food, although we are not able to be self-sufficient gives Barbadians the ability to reduce our import bill – i.e. opportunity costs benefits by saving scare foreign exchange, concentrate on quality produce, engage the land to prevent wastelands and employ a section of the labour force which is ‘unskilled’ which preempts social alienation among this group.

It should be obvious why we have picked this story. As we bang on the keyboard the world continues to stave-off a food crisis. Our agriculture industry will more and more assume a greater importance in our everyday quest to feed our nation and region. We say region because the opportunity exist in a CSME context for Barbadian farmers to create production systems which could stretch beyond our shores-that is if the current crop of leaders are able to get it off the ground!

The idiotic example of a farmer not knowing how to create distribution channels by using basic marketing techniques is unacceptable at this time.

29 responses to “Barbadian Farmers Need To Get Their Act Together, & SOON!”

1. Carmeta must be rolling in her grave, FOOD FIRST!!!

2. David,
    I think that you are being unreasonably harsh on that farmer. The question of the marketing of farm produce is one that plagues societies every where. In ALL the so called developed countries, facilities are provided through subsidies, agro-processing facilities, and other incentives for farmers to succeed. What is there in Barbados?

Do you appreciate the risks involved? the blatant theft of farm produce after farmers make large investments in time, money and resources?
    Do you know of the challenges of irrigation? and occasional flooding?

Cud dear man….

I really appreciate people like this farmer who defy the odds and actually PRODUCE something that the country needs.
    Are you aware that there are powerful people here who import stuff to deliberately frustrate such local producers?

Why should he have to be a marketing genius IN ADDITION to being able to grow things?

I think you owe that farmer an apology.

3. Bush tea you are correct, we are not frmers. We have no idea the sacrifies which this farmer must have endured to bring his crop to market. Having said that however we imagine that this farmer cannot see himself as only a rson who plants seeds, equally he must be a businessman if it is that he has invested and continue to invest money and other resources in his pastime.

It therefore stands to reason that he has more than a passing interest to adopt basic business practices to ensure the success of his business. One of those practices is to have an idea how he plans to sell his produce after harvesting. No doubt he will need help but the farmer must be his own advocate.

4. Here is a related article but should we say another talk shop?

CARICOM, Guyana — April 19, 2008 — The Regional Agriculture Investment Forum will provide a platform for Caribbean and international parties with an interest in investing in the agriculture sector to seek business alliances with existing and potential agriculture entrepreneurs.
    This was emphasised today by H. E Bharrat Jagdeo, President of Guyana and Lead CARICOM Head of Government on agriculture at the launching of the event in a ceremony at the CARICOM Secretariat in Guyana.

He stressed that the Forum is not a “knee jerk reaction” to the rising food prices across the globe. He added that for too long many have talked about maximising the potential of agriculture but this has not come to a full realisation.

President Jagdeo emphasised that across the Region the agriculture sector has not attracted a multitude of investors and now is the time to put mechanisms in place to remedy the situation. He added that agriculture as an industry has a central role to play in CARICOM countries seeking to reaping the rewards of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME).

In his remarks, Secretary-General of CARICOM H. E. Edwin Carrington added that the Region’s US$3 billion food import bill could be lowered with investments in agriculture. He added that with the shortage of food now a global reality there may well come a time when, even though possessing the money Caribbean countries may not find the food to buy.

“We have a virtual crisis situation on our hands. All hands must now come on deck – governments, private sector and Civil Society in partnership. We are going to have to change our consumption habit. It may appear difficult but we have to.” said Secretary-General Carrington.

He added that the Regional Agriculture Investment Forum is an effort to which there must be commitment.

The Chairman of the Task Force to plan the Forum, former Executive of Grace Kennedy in Jamaica, James Moss-Solomon, added that the Caribbean has to develop the mechanisms to deal with the increasing challenges with regard to food security. He added that being proactive is vital, and that the Agriculture Investment Forum should be seen as a means of Caribbean countries taking steps towards seeking to maximise the economic potential of the agriculture sector.

The Regional Agriculture Investment Forum takes place in Guyana 6-7 June 2008, and will bring together private investors from the Caribbean and elsewhere; Fund Managers and Venture capitalists seeking to diversify their portfolio; Bankers with clients operating in the agriculture sector and companies seeking strategic alliances with other businesses.
    http://www.caribbeanpressreleases.com/articles/3147/1/CARICOM-Determined-to-Get-Most-from-Agriculture/Agriculture-plays-central-role.html

5. David

What Regional Agricultural Investment Forum what?!?… now we are talking about jokers.

I like the way President Jagdeo says that it is NOT a ‘knee jerk reaction’ to the current food crisis…..then goes on to talk about the crisis at hand and the need for ‘all hands on deck’

These are the jokers that only talk talk talk and have yet to produce a pang… while that farmer has been silently producing.

I am sure that I don’t need to remind you that we all have different skills and talents and if Mr Farmer has green thumbs and knows nothing about marketing, it is the GOVERNMENT’s responsibility to provide that support….The US Government, Canadian, European… they all provide such support to their farmers.

The Farmer has my 100% support and I even give him an extra 10% for using Brass tacks to get some free advertisement to get his stuff sold .)
    ..judging from the results he knows more about marketing than you or Bush tea….

6. Seems to me that he used the “dumb farmer” routine to them marketed quite well, since ALL were sold. Have to call that the smart farmer routine and he did not have to pay for the advertising either!

7. It turned out to be smart but was that his intention? Should a farmer invest so much money and time in a crop and then have to go on national radio using a false message to sell? What if the radio station blanks him next year?

8. Perhaps…

It WAS smart…… In fact ingenious.
    It was clearly his intention.
    He did not HAVE to go on radio- he choose to
    It was NOT a false message-what was untrue?
    …and if the radio station blanks him next year…
    …he can come on BU with that story –

VOB BLANKS POOR FARMER WITH 8 TONS OF ONIONS FOR SALE. … even Adrian in the US of A may buy some.

I only hope that Bush tea did not let the farmers cat out of the bag…. but right now he running second to Lowdown in my book .
    – so back off David.

9. Mr. Bush tea we are glad for the farmer but what about all the other farmers who are sitting on produce? Is this a sustainable approach to doing business? We think not.

10. BU, think about the outlets for local produce and then think about the way that their owners think about the purchase of local produce. Anyone with a kitchen garden knows that there are seasons for certain crops – they cannot be grown properly at certain times of the year, so there will inevitable be shortages and gluts of certain items at various times of the year. I am not certain, but I’m pretty sure that if this farmer went to a mjor outlet and told them of his plans for onions, and when they would be harvested, he would be told that it is all too uncertain, and that importing will ensure that they have a regular supply. In the meantime, 40 footers arrive in the island stuffed with onions, on which foreign exchange has been spent, and some of them are pretty old and sprouting already. Without government intervention, our farmers haven’t got a prayer, but that’s not to say that they shouldn’t understand the basic methods of marketing.

11. David, I think you missed the point of the farmer. He is stating that where there is the ability to produce a crop locally and government has stated their intention to provide support and encouragement to the production of that crop through the use of punitive duties on onions imported for retail use then government has a responsibility to ensure that the onions that they allow in duty free for MANUFACTURING purposes DO NOT make it into the retail sector. I know a little about farming and the onion market in general and the fact is that Barbados NEVER produces enough onions to supply the local market. The problem arises when retail outlets can purchase imported onions at $30-$35 per bag which is the DUTY-FREE price. Unscrupulous persons both in retail outlets and importing entities may have been using the duty free onions to make a quick buck but the negative effect of this is that it leaves the demand for the more expensive local onions very low. Goverment has to police its concessioms more efficiently to support local industries including farming.

12. this farmer is similar to some of the commenters on this blog: blame somebody else, mainly the government for every problem they encounter

we have developed a very mendicant approach to life and we want to stay in the background, hide and get some enity to do our dirty work because our brow is not be soiled by sweat for anybody to see–(sounds like some people on this blog

13. Bush Tea and cooligan we have become so tired of reading and hearing the same ish every year. We would have though in these times of food shortage and the high cost of foods that the farmers need to come together start a coop and be proactive about their situation.

14. Thewhiterabbit Avatar

Mr. Farmer did an unusual thing, he actually produced something in Bim! His inability to sell (even though he cleverly did, eventually) is a typical problem here. One friend has tons of grapefruits rotting on the ground because BS&T won’t buy them, in order to preserve a “contract” in Dominica, despite a lower price for the local fruits. While David and others are correct in stating that Government cannot and should not be responsible for everything, it does seem appropriate that Government might set up storage facilities to hold produce from a season of high productivity to one of low productivity.

Pine Hill buys almost all its Bajan Cherry concentrate from Belize (they refused to buy my guavas for this reason), and ditto most of its other fruit juice bases while our local fruits conveniently rot on the ground, or some small amount finds its way into very small-scale processing schemes that sell directly to the hotels. I am really angry that I have to buy “Bajan” cherry from Belize! That is just about as stupid as buying sugar from Guyana while living on a “sugar” island. Unfortunately there is a long history in Bim of buying food from away, and as a people we are happy to do it at the expense of our guys. What we need:

1. Shoot to kill all praedial larcenists and call the crime what it really is, theft.

2. Like COW, put land into corn. Cane is a grass: corn is a grass, no problems. It can feed us and it can feed animals.

3. Get the various departments of Government coordinated to help get people into farming. If a farmer wants a duty-free farm vehicle he must make $60,000 per year from farming to qualify. At that point the duty-free concession is no longer needed. It is the poor fellow just starting out that needs the help. For the same reason get Soil Conservation back into the business of clearing and plowing land for small-time farmers. Both schemes were abused, but the abuses can be handled without the draconian measures put in place by the last administration. This adminstration needs to immmediatley revisit its draconian pricing for diesel. Who can plow when paying road-duty prices for farm fuels? Answer: COW, because he is big enough to find a concessionary way around it, but the small man is just screwed.

4. Over 200 horses are killed on this island every year because they don’t run fast enough or are not agile enough for polo. That’s a lot of dog food going wasted that we now import at great expense, and no, I won’t ask you to eat horse meat, or monkey, or even African snail, even though they are all quite edible and tasty. But do start to kill or control monkeys who take away everything from my small farm (they now take all the guavas Pine Hill won’t buy anyway), and from most others in my area.

5. All the rab land could be grazing for sheep, if fenced or if the wild dogs are just killed which they deserve, and the sheep and cattle rustlers, too.

OK, all the talk about killing is tongue-in-cheek, sort of, but the point is incredibly important. One cannot farm if the produce is stolen by thieves, or by monkeys. A neighbor was physically threatened by men weilding cutlasses when he approached them as they were stealing away his banana crop. We have police, perhaps they could take off their highly polished street shoes on a reguar basis and get into the fields to protect crops grown by hardworking farmers from worthless human scum thieves. There is a huge difference between pinching a neighbor’s lime once in a while and the organized removal of thousands of pounds of vegetables, livestock, and fruit from farms.

Food can be grown in Barbados, but there must be certain changes in the structure of the distribution and marketing schemes, in the structure of government supports, and the food must be grown at reasonable prices and not at the cost associated with the desire by farmers to get rocket-science wages for their efforts.

15. This is a Public Service Announcement by Bush tea, acting on the behalf of David and the BU household:

Whereas I (David) introduced this article by harshly criticizing the subject farmer who found it necessary to go on air to plead his case instead of having a firm marketing and sales plan in place;
    and whereas a number of BU regulars have clearly illuminated the issue and eloquently pointed out the huge challenges faced by farmers, the years of neglect by authorities, the theft of produce, the deceit by hotels, PHD and large retailers, the lack of processing facilities and the low prices for produce;

be it resolved that I, David and the BU household now humbly offer our sincere apologies to said farmer and I undertake to buy the first ten pounds of onions produced next crop AND to advertise the time and place of sale of all remaining stock on BU at that time.

Be it also resolved that, as further compensation, I, David and the BU team, will unconditionally agree with any position taken by Bush tea over the coming two weeks.

…that is the end of the paid announcement.

16. Bush tea ease up nuh?

We don’t have a problem with the farmer. Our beef is ith the system that made the farmer have to go on a call in program and beg people to buy his product. What about the other farmers who are in the same position?

Man if we have offended members of the farming community we apologize and commit to publish any notice which a farmer may want to distribute in public as a matter of priority.

17. On the back page of the Daily Nation, Tuesday, April 22, 2008, and under the caption: BENN’S BEEF; and under the byline: Minister Charles wants Sir Charles to grow more food, there is a news story that quotes the Minister of Agriculture, Sen. Haynesley Benn, as having said: ” Sir Charles has been encouraged by the previous administration to see land only for its economic value, hence the golf courses, but that is NOT my focus… grow okras, (Sir Charles); grow potatoes,( Sir Charles); put your money where your mouth is. Land is to produce food”.

Furthermore, the Minister is also quoted as having said in the same newspaper issue that: ” I have no control of Sir Charles land but as for the lands (the) government does control, such as the Barbados Agricultural Development and Marketing Corporation land, we can say to our farmers to put a percentage of their arable land in food. Once that is done, I expect (other) individuals to follow our lead”.

Were we the People’s Democratic Congress at the helm of the government of Barbados today, Sir Charles would not in this day and age be being urged by our Agricultural Minister to grow any more agricultural produce on the lands of the people of Barbados to assist in the feeding of our nation at such a critical juncture when the world is involved in a food crisis of some sort, when the world is experiencing the pangs of a so-called economic recession, and is in the throes of financial turbulence. Certainly NOT, peoples!! Certainly, NOT, peoples!!

For all like now a PDC Government would have started the process of enacting serious national land use/land reform legislation dealing with those lands in Barbados that have long been used for agricultural purposes that these lands have UNCONDITIONALLY REMAIN this way, under our government, or that lands that have within recent times been converted to other uses, once possible, have to be correctly returned to agriculture in Barbados. Also such legislation would also have been dealing with making sure that NO KINDS OF TOURISM, CONTRUCTION, ROAD BUILDING, COMMERCIAL OR RESIDENTAL DEVELOPMENTS SHALL EVER TAKE PLACE ON THESE LANDS, UNDER OUR WATCH. Sush legislation would also have been dealing with making sure that NO FOREIGNERS OWN OUR LANDS – ONLY CAPABLE OF LEASING SUCH LANDS FOR A RELATIVELY SHORT AND FIXED TERM OF LEASE (10 -15 years ) – under our watch, and making sure that ONLY BARBADIAN CITIZENS, BARBADIAN MAJORITY OWNED BUSINESS ENTERPRISES AND OTHER BARBADIAN FULLY OR MAJORITY OWNED ENTITIES, whilst in their so-called ownership of our lands, are totally reasonably limited to the amount of lands that they can so-called own in this country.

Once agin it is the damn BLP and DLP that have allowed Sir Charles to amass such amounts of land spaces thus putting the public and the country’s fundamental strategic interests in jeopardy, and that have, too, to presently face the fire from land hungry Barbadians, now that thousands upon thousands of Barbadians still wish land for many valid purposes, including for the purpose of growing food. WE IN PDC SAY DOWN WITH THESE ABYSMALLY FAILED DLP AND BLP POLITICAL GROUPS!!

18. Corrections: omit i st Charles – line 3, paragraph 1; insert “to” between have and UNCONDITIONALLY – line 4, paragraph 4; insert “FULLY OR” between BARBADIAN AND MAJORITY – line 16, paragraph 4. Though they are typing errors in the electronic script we are ONLY catering to structural inadvertencies. Thank you!!

19. We are sure the commenters to this blog would be pleased at the latest pronouncement by the Minister of Agriculture about planning for onions in 2009. He promised that a system will be put in place to ensure a market for onions next year.

20. You continue to do an excellent job David. I feel sure that the minister reads your blog…. which intelligent Bajan does not?
    No doubt he decided to extricate you from your requirement to assist Mr Farmer next year.

I must say it is refreshing to listen to ministers that actually sound intelligent. Not to mention the women in government who not only speak intelligently, but are also pretty as well.

Great pity we did not have the chance to elect this lot about 10 years or so ago, then maybe we could have prepared ourselves better for the coming onslaught on all that we hold dear…..

21. TheWhiteRabbit
    Why isn’t corn grown here? is the humidity too great?

22. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

Interesting case this. Here is a farmer who year after year grows large acreages of a single crop, then complains that he can’t get them sold and gives them away. Last year it was tomatoes this year it was onions, what will it be next year Barbadians? Do you really feel sorry for him?
    When farmers do ‘igrunce’ everyone talks about how hard agriculture is. Does he expect Barbadians to fall for his excuses year after year? How many people in this country set up a business producing something and then after production look for people to buy. He seems to be a lazy and crafty character. He expects the government to do his market research? So far he has used the news media twice for advertising the produce he ‘could not get sell’. Twice now he has gotten his produce off his hands with the minimum of stress. If he is smart enough to scam us into coming for his produce then he should be able to figure out how to get his produce sold. I expect that he wants to sell all his produce at once to a supermarket and get a big fat wad. How hard could it be to sell food to bajans???? I know farmers who can’t plant enough of certain commodities. My advise to him…….. get off your backside, do some reading, get out and see what the plantations are growing and grow something else. Gluts occur when everyone has their eyes in another mans ground and plants according to what made money last year.

23. We have to get really when it comes to farming on this island. Now yes it would be great if government helps where it can who wouldn’t like that. Such ways governments help framers are by dropping taxes and tariffs on most if not all items needed generally by farmers, leasing government agriculture land at reasonable rates to farmers, and assistant programs that truly help farmers develop their industry. That said we just can’t stand around waiting on government to do all the work for us. Farmers need to form co op groups that are there to help market goods, sell goods, store goods, and aid the framers with their needs to yield a successful and profitable crop. The problem most wholesalers, retailers, and various business have with local farmers is the farmers ability to supply a particular produce when needed. In a co op system or in some case larger farms once manage effectively this can be less of a problem once detail with correctly.

I for one am not an advocate for forcing private land owners into using their land in ventures they have no interest in. Doing such will only open the door to problems further down the road

24. Devils Advocate

Have you ever planted anything besides discord?

Do you have any idea what you are talking about? or are you just trying to live up to your names? (both devil and advocate; LOL)

Listen…

The second most BASIC need of any society is FOOD, coming a close second after clean water. Any government in its right mind MUST take steps to ensure that there is some level of food and water security that is within the control of its own borders.

From this perspective alone, farmers are special people.

Most of us are just cogs, doing menial servant work for organisations that are focused on making profits… mostly by pandering to the petty whims of the public and some by even antisocial activities. … Farmers are special.

In this country, the government spends millions annually to support tourism; Pays millions to market tourism; actually PAYS money to tourists to come here in special programs….

I have no problem with this support for tourism, but how is farming less deserving of a national support structure? You can eat tourist?

…so where do you get off insulting farmers as lazy and needing to get off their backsides? You obviously do not know the efforts needed to produce products through farming… no vacation, no overtime pay, no sick leave and you cussing them because they ask for a bit of help in marketing….

What Devils Advocate what?!?

…you must be the Devil self….

25. Bush tea whenever the word lazy used one circle of persons come to mind and one antsy rumfull face man in particular. Lazy is a synonym for the n word. The irony is the clique who are quick to label us small farmers lazy do no discernible work.

26. The Devil's Advocate Avatar
    The Devil’s Advocate

I qualify to call anyone lazy if the shoe fits. I have never had to wait for the government to get anything for me that I really wanted. I am a ‘small farmer’ but unlike most farmers who consider themselves small I try to think outside the box and I am not very quick to run to the government (nor to cuss them….if the shoe fits!). Agriculture is not so hard for me right now since my aim is to provide food that is safe and wholesome and when I have used that as my motivation, money followed. I did my own marketing and I find that I have had no problem selling all that I grow, why? because people are willing to buy produce that has not been bombarded with chemicals. I have never been stuck with anything that I could not get sold, why? I check to see what the plantations are growing, I check the supermarkets, I talk to people. I try to grow what there is a demand for. Any farmer worth his salt will know after 7 years farming that there are gluts in onions and tomatoes at certain times of year. Tomatoes tend to get scarce in rainy season, why? Heavy rains and high humidy = fungus rot problems and blossom drop. Why so many problems? The method of cultivation.
    Guyana and Trinidad seem to have no problems growing tomatoes. Why? Resistant varieties and staking to remove the plant from soil contact reducing soil splash on to foliage and fruit, therefore reducing crop losses due to disease.
    I hope I have answeredsome of your questions with regard to my ‘qualifications’.
    As to my name………….
    Look it up in the Oxford or any good dictionary and you will realise that I am merely doing what my name dictates when I offer an opposing idea. I do not seek to offend…….only to generate thought.
    Or is what they say about blogs….True?

27. Bush Tea …..I never said ‘farmers’ were lazy. I said the guy who did not notice the gluts in tomatoes and onions was lazy and probably blind and deaf too. (oh dear, now they will say I have something against the differently able)

28. Tssk Tssk, Suspicious by name and nature. and bandiying about the N word too. You need to be able to disagree without getting all ‘we small farmers must stick together’. Some things cannot be defended. It makes ‘us small farmers’ look like illiterate boobs instead of serious business people when people act in this manner and it finds it’s way into the newspaper. People already think we farm because ‘we cyan fine nuttin else to do’. Why is it that Agriculture is only taught at the ‘newer secondary schools’. Our brightest and best brains should be figuring out the best way to produce food under our conditions, Right? Most parents don’t want to raise a farmer…………. Tell your friends your child is going to St. Augustine to read for a Degree in Agriculture…….will the reaction be the same as ‘She gone tuh study meduhcine?’

29. Devil’s Advocate…

I appreciate you role in forcing us to look at the other side – and you do it very well.

I think however that you have bitten off a bit more than a mouthful when you come out against my client Mr. farmer…. (pro bono publico -of course)

In my book, I have a special place for farmers (who feed us), engineers (who created the world as we know it) and teachers (who create the future through our children)….

…admittedly many of these deserve a good cussing from time to time, but somehow I like that tricky farmer….

… I can’t wait to see what he grows next year – and how creative he will be in getting us to come and get them…

…much respect DA.