parliament building barbados

Barbadians had to debate the issue of the former Opposition Party walking out of parliament in response to what they alleged were unfair rulings by the former Speaker of parliament Ismael Roett during the Hardwood no-confidence motion. Much has already been said and written about whether the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) controlled parliament was partisan throughout the whole affair. BU have written voluminously about these matters. There is no doubt that the BLP sought to manipulate and frustrate the debate of the Hardwood Affair. History will determine to what extent it played a part in the downfall of the former government.

That’s not the point of this blog!

There was much debate by the public about how they viewed the behaviour of the Opposition Party. We remember the shouting and the verbal wrestling between MP’s. The Speaker fought a mighty battle to maintain ‘order’, or did he? Some felt that the way they dealt with the Hardwood no-confidence motion outside of the parliament was an insult to the Speaker’s chair and to the parliamentary process which Barbadians hold sacrosanct. Others felt that Thompson and his fellow MP’s were within their right to exploit what the system offered them on what everyone knew was close to a general election. In fact, many of Thompson’s supporters offered the argument that after being accused of being a passive force for many months leading up to the general election, by his action of exploiting the rules of parliament, he exposed a side of his personality which caused Barbadians to sit-up and take note.

Again, just as the parliament ended last year so it seems to have started. There has been fireworks galore this week at the start of the estimates ‘debate’. We will not bore our readers with the details, because we think there has been too much grandstanding and huffing and puffing. To summarize what Barbadians are witnessing is a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) under the leadership of a youthful and hungry Mia Mottley ‘pissing’ to mark their boundary in the early psyche of Barbadians. Mia knows that with a world recession on the loom she has a good chance for a shot at Prime Minister in five years.

But what of the behaviour we are witnessing in the Lower House these days? Is it that the people who occupy the Speakers chair are not respected and hence we are seeing a willingness by MPs to react to the person and not to the rank? In the same way that we see a Senator entering the Upper House with his hair plaited in corn rows, are we seeing a more aggressive style of debate which mirrors the changing times we are living in?

We sit in front of our TV sets and witness MPs in the parliaments in Eastern Europe and Asia swearing and throwing fists in the heat of parliamentary debates. Why is it that the sensibilities of Barbadians are being touched when our MPs appear to be a little aggressive during debates? We have news for Barbadians; it will get increasingly more so because the style of debate is no longer centred in the body of knowledge which the MP possesses. It will become more and more about the management of the PR machinery to maintain the individual’s popularity and pecking order within the party. No longer will the Lower House be a place where a young person who is interested in acquiring knowledge, not only of politics but current affairs be encouraged to visit. It has all been replaced by ‘fast food’ debate. Some of us still salivate at the epic debates which the late Errol Barrow, Tom Adams, Bree St. John, the fiery Harold Blackman, the verbosely eloquent Don Blackman, the still living Ritchie Haynes and Brandford Taitt of the more recent vintage. To hear the politicians of our past lambasting their opposition counterparts by the artful use of knowledge and language is a political fest which our current generation has been robbed.

This blog was inspired by the family barber. We agreed with his animated discussion today that it is hard to separate duck from fowl in our House of Assembly. They all appear to have no sense of what history demands of them when they enter that August chamber. No wonder we are seeing no respect for tradition in the dress of some of the occupants. No wonder at a national tribute to a Barbadian recently our Prime Minister can be glibbly referred to ‘like a boy in the place’ and we have a university staffer rushing to defend the mediocrity. No wonder our youth continue to emulate non-Barbadian role models.

We don’t know if we can go as far as our dear barber by agreeing with his observation that a higher standard of debate can be found in most rum shops!

18 responses to “Barbados Parliament + Politicians = Rum Shop”

1. Every single thing this current BLP touches turns to brass or mud.

They have no sense of decency,decorum or right or wrong,not to even mention integrity.

They are a blight on this country’s political landscape and shame on the national media for not taking them to task on their despicable behaviour in parliament.

Any minute now I expect Mia Mottley to lift her dress and show us her underwear or for Owen to drop his pants and bare his behind.

Thank goodness Liz Thompson and Kerrie are not in the lower house but upstairs with Brandford Taitt who they can’t play the fool with or we will be hearing more gutter talk.

The BLP has never been about facts or informing the electorate but about spin,spin,and more spin.

They have no shame even as more and more information come out about their corruption,instead of being contrite they are in yuh face with their rotten behaviour.

2. Mia Mottley predicts she will become Prime Minister. I am not so sure. As it stands I would never support her to be PM. Time will tell.

3. LOl….Barbados stands to benefit ( maybe they will be less opportunity for corruption ) for a least five years because NOW we have a strong opposition…we didn’t before!

Go Mia…!

4. 20/20 // March 19, 2008 at 9:07 am

Mia Mottley predicts she will become Prime Minister. I am not so sure. As it stands I would never support her to be PM. Time will tell.
    =================================

Well it is easy to make that prediction. She is half way their. Now if it where up to the popular vote there is no way in hell that could happened, but as we know the Parliament of Barbaos chooses the Prime Minister.

…..But i will be fighting the obese mantalking freak all the way. 😀

5. Was it I that said a very long time ago that better discourse can be found in any rumshop? I think so. The parliament of Barbados is not a rumshop. 😀

6. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

I seem to remember hearing that the distance between the Government and opposition benches in the UK House of Commons was two sword lengths, to avoid blood being shed in the “heat of argument” . I have no idea how true it is, but maybe we should do a similar calculation here!

Seriously, I do think both sides should conduct themselves in a manner that shows respect for the institution.

Marginal

7. The BLP has shown itself to be a corrupt organization over the years. I listen with amazement to Mia shouting up and down Parliament. Let her keep shouting

8. Tony Hall // March 19, 2008 at 10:05 am

The BLP has shown itself to be a corrupt organization over the years. I listen with amazement to Mia shouting up and down Parliament. Let her keep shouting
    =================================

Still on the theme of Parliament=A rumshop. What rumshop Propietor who would be the equivalent to the Speaker of the house, would allow Mia Mottley, Owen Arthur and others to behave this way in their place? todays parliament cannot be equal to any of todays rumshop.

9. i hear the same thing from the dlp mps up to yesterday on the ridio in the debate and yes i will backing mia for the pm job

10. same behavior coming from the dlp, where if you listen closely someone had to ask if this is a barnyard

11. Any minute now I expect Mia Mottley to lift her dress and show us her underwear or for Owen to drop his pants and bare his behind.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    Your statement as always show the level of debate you possess. Your behaviour is in line with the vile comments that these blogs were having prior to the elections. I thought that winning the government, your degrading statements would have ceased, but you surely cannot remove the stripes of a tiger and expect it to change its behaviour.

By the way BFP, you stated that the name “Anonymous” statements would not be posted. That is based on Integrity and Transparency. entertained.

12. Sorry BU, the last paragraph should not be addressed to you. My apologies.

13. Tell me why, what is so vile about anon’s expectations? schuuuppsse I have no idea why a “skirt” was mentioned in reference to the two individuals do you?

14. …..But i will be fighting the obese mantalking freak all the way.
    Adrian
    …………………………………………………………….
    bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    My New Year resolution was to be an evangelist.
    I am watching Mia . If the allegations of her alternative orientation are proved thru anecdotal evidence etc she does not have a snow cone chance in hell of becoming pm. Her crusade to legalise homosexuality is still fresh. Nuff said.

15. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC)deplores the very “unparliamentary” and unrighteous misconduct that has been so far displayed by some members of the House of Assembly of the Parliament of Barbados, since the start of Estimates “debate” on Monday, March 17, 2008, and that has been so far, too, unnecessarily “played up” – rather than denounced – by some sections of our local news media in Barbados. While, we in PDC are all for heated, intense and pugnacious debating in both Houses of Parliament, we certainly WILL NOT support the excessive use of unsavoury, obscene and insulting language, the use of character assassination, rowdyism and other forms of unparliamentary misconduct by any or all members of these Houses, at any points in time, no matter what the circumstances are that prevail in these chambers. We are of the view that those members who are guilty of lowering themselves to such unacceptable and undignified levels should receive strong public disapprobation and censure!!

Of course, Parliamentary Representatives and Senators must be very respectful of the authority of the Presiding Officers of both Houses, and must be aware of the need for a definite sense of order and discipline in the business and proceedings of Parliament. That is why there are Standing Orders of both Houses which deal with such matters and more in the Parliament of Barbados!! For, constant failure by members of the House of Assembly and the Senate to respect themselves, personally, and to respect and value one another as persons, and to respect and value one anothers’ parliamentary and legislative roles in the Barbadian political system, may certainly lead in the long run to many more Barbadian and other citizens losing more respect and value than previously for the institution of Parliament – the supposedly supreme law making body of the land.

We venture to argue ( and these are NOT the only factors ) that when thousands of Barbadian citizens could go and vote in as many prior elections that we in PDC could think of for those parties and candidates of parties that are certain to go to the very political extreme in the quest to become elected into the House of Assembly of Barbados, e.g, by making sure that they pass money and other items to potential voters, and that they throw concerts/fetes for potential voters, altogether in order to influence those voters to vote in particular ways, and we venture to argue, too, that when these same numbers of citizens could go and vote in same number of prior elections that we in PDC could think of for the same parties and many of the same candidates of parties, who largely WILL NOT demonstrate any serious leadership, passion and commitment to fundamental change for the better for the country and its citizens – based on clear, coherent and well thought out plans for doing so – then it will be seen to be the case of the chickens coming home to roost, so to speak, at later points in time when many members of the public will have to realize that these same parties and many of these same candidates of parties, having been successfully elected into the House of Assembly, thereafter, when instead they should be dealing seriously with the business of Parliament, are found by these same members of the public to be engaging in some very serious and damaging “unparliamentary” behaviour at whatever points in time. What a great shame and disgrace!!

16. David you are on the ball with this report. The media continue this week with its tactic of coverup. All of Barbados is abuzz at the cussing that went down in parliament this week but not one honest report has been printed.

The reporters who want to write about it are told not to because there is the fear of getting on the wrong side of the politicians. If not for the blogs I wonder if Thompson would have promised us intergrity legislation and fredomon of information.

Keep up the good work David. You may have notcied tat many of the stories you the blogs have covered in detail are being picked up by the nation. I wish i could tell you more.

If you can get a tape of the debate of the estimates I sure that Barbadians would be rightly disgusted.

Keep up the good work most media practicioners signon to BU and BFP daily that must tell you something. Get that tape of this week in the house and it will force certain MPs to have to resign and that is not a lie!

17. I just love the Nationnews column “Flying fish and Cou Cou.

================

Flying Fish & Cou Cou Animal Farm revisited
    Published on: 3/22/08.

THE STAGE was set and the animals on the farm did not disappoint the spectators who had grown to love, and in some instances, detest them.

One observer noted the saddest thing discerned was that Napoleon (Owen Arthur) seemed still to be finding great difficulty with the fact that he was no longer head of the farm.

Indeed, Snowball (David Thompson) at times had to remind him subtly that the animals on the farm had grown tired of his acidity and name-calling, tirades, heavy-handedness, strange associations and questionable manoeuvres.

The indentured pigs on the farm were also glad to see his fall. Those who had taken supplies from their animal union for a rainy day and then had their personal business exposed, had no sympathy for Napoleon (Owen Arthur).

This was now Snowball’s (David Thompson’s )time. It was an occasion to erase the dark days and bring prosperity to the farm, they said.

But some deposed animals were still full of bark and grunt.

Boxer, (Mia Mottley) almost in a different incarnation, barked uncontrollably. Boxer (Mia Mottley) gave all kinds of trouble, especially to Benjamin, (Kenny Best) whom Snowball had installed to keep order. Boxer (Mia Mottley) was caught out in a ruse over some paperwork and to save face and embarrassment, turned to belligerence to side-step the faux pas.

Benjamin (Kenny Best) tried his best under the circumstances, but it was clear that he was still trying to find his way. But the animals know him well and said that when he became au fait with all that made the farm tick, the Boxers (Mia Mottley’s) on the farm could expect no quarter.

Squealer (Ronald Toppin) provided a surprise package. He had once been so marginalised by Napoleon (Owen Arthur) that he resigned from a lofty position to take a back seat. Now, true to form, he assumed the role of propaganda siren for Napoleon (Owen Arthur). Everything under Napoleon (Owen Arthur) he said, had been successful. Even his own self-enforced fall from grace was one of Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s)successes. Now he wanted Snowball (David Thompson) and his supporters to start to work and to ignore Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s)shortcomings.

Pulling teeth

Minimus, (William Duguid) as usual, was at his pathetic best. This was one occasion where he did not have someone write his oratory for him. Although kept on the back seat by Napoleon (Owen Arthur) for years, he now determined it was time for him to do good. Minimus (William Duguid) descended into a banal discourse about nothing, which he obviously had written. It was akin to pulling teeth, something which he,of all the animals on the farm, would have appreciated.

Of course, as is customary, Mollie (Cynthia Forde) sat in a corner scribbling unintelligible notes on a pad and hoping to appear not only busy, but smart as well. Several spectators who viewed the scenes said she failed again and would have been better served getting some alterations to her mane.

Mr Pilkington (David Estwick) was in fine form. Often accused by Napoleon (Owen Arthur), Boxer (Mia Mottley) and some of the deposed animals, of being near to bursting a blood artery because of his passionate delivery, he now articulated some of Snowball’s (David Thompson’s) ideas in measured tones and received vociferous applause from his friends.

But in the end it was Snowball (David Thompson) versus Napoleon (Owen Arthur). There was no doubt that Snowball (David Thompson) got under Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s) snout. He revealed quite a bit about Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s) rule and though the latter often squealed in defence, he squirmed just as much in discomfort.

It was undoubtedly Snowball’s (David Thompson’s) moment, but Napoleon (Owen Arthur) stole a bit of the thunder by admitting to all the charges levelled against him by the animals.

But despite this repentance, Old Major (Fruendel Stuart) wise as the hills and known for his eloquent speech and logical reasoning, whispered to Snowball (David Thompson) that perhaps the repentance was a ploy to curtail further revelations.

===========================

I love it. 😀 BFP liken Mia unto Boston Dynamics Big dog robot and now she is being referred too as Boxer. Isn’t Fat boy Duguid really a Minimus? 😀

18. It is regrettable that the majority of Barbadians may never know the kind of behaviour which transpired in the House of Assemble.

More regretable is the fact that the media house have to hide this report in the flyin an fish and cou cou section.