Road Tennis is an indigenous sport to Barbados

2,162 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. tiger woods is in a sex rehab clinic.Pray tell me what wrong with having sex .isn’t
    it a part of devine creation

2. @ac

Tiger Wood’s pristine image is yesterday’s news. He will probably comeback and win while making more money. Would he trade millions to reclaim the image he had before the expose? We say yes.

Rihanna should take notes on the benefit of a good image, it is something money can’t reclaim when one loses it.

3. Hey David

I see a lot of North American sports on the poster; what about local sports?

4. @Sargeant

Feedback accepted

5. @ac

This is for you. all you have to do is follow the link.

6. @David
    Good fuh her
    I know he might be down but not out.
    Can’t begin to imagine the people he going to attract on his first day playing golf after this problem.

7. I love horsing racing .No i am not a gambler but have put a few bets occasionally. I got goose bumps today when i read the story on Patick Husband
    Bajans should be proud of his achievments in this field .

8. I heard on the local tv channel that there is going have nightime horsing racing in barbados. I guess that is a way to appeal to tourist.

9. ac, Patrick Husbands is truly a story of success.

He and his brothers are a model for young men.

His father worked very hard. I can only imagine that their father’s example led them to this behaviour and success.

All three brothers are gentlemen, as was their father.

But, talk to someone at the racetrack when you go and they will tell you that there are many more Barbadians working in Canada, grooms, exercise lads etc.

In case you did not know, not only do bajan jockeys do well at Woodbine, like Patrick, Johnno Jones (Chally’s son) and the Callaghan’s, but bajan jockeys dominate the smaller tracks, such as Stampede Park.

Horse racing provides jobs both locally and overseas and has led to many going overseas and gaining a livelihood.

Woodbine, three Bajans in the jockeys table:

http://www.equibase.com/premium/eqbTopLeadersByTrackDisplay.cfm?TRK=WO&CY=CAN&STAT=J

Stampede park, five Bajans in the leading jockeys table, including the top two:

http://www.equibase.com/premium/eqbTopLeadersByTrackDisplay.cfm?TRK=STP&CY=CAN&STAT=J

Fort Eyrie, Chris Griffith in fourth on the leading jockeys and A.Stephen in second is another Caribbean jockey:

http://www.equibase.com/premium/eqbTopLeadersByTrackDisplay.cfm?TRK=FE&CY=CAN&STAT=J

Horse racing does well for Barbados and Barbadians.

10. @David
    is there a way in which i can find out what the various sports teams have contribute collevtively to the haitian relief fund. I hear polo was having a fund
    raiser but did not hear of the amount collected.I also heard of various cricket
    organisations.The Tiger i was told contributed 3 mill. Not sure of the amount.
    I think it would be nice or if possible if BU start some kinda of fund. We here talk alot. But need to put some money where or mouth is. Something wort looking into.

11. @ac

Your suggestion is noble but BU will stay away from money matters at this time because it is impossible to manage the transparency and accountability which is required. We have posted the Help Haiti button on our sidebar which can assist BU family members who want to donate cash.

12. Caribbean people are happy to see the Under-19 West Indies cricket team into the semi finals playing in New Zealand. Not sure if it will be televised but those interested should be able to follow on the Internet. Two Barbadians Brathwaite and Holder have been figuring prominently so far.

13. I am diappointed in the amount of politics that is involved in cricketI heard that the ponzi guy Sanford who is now in jail had a hand in the cricketarena and
    gave miilions of dollars to the winning
    team. Isn’t anything scared anymore.

@ freindly
    when youngsters like them shine. They
    should be pubicly honored as a show of good faith in them by their people.

speaking of honored the lady barbados body builderBelgrave received a certificate ofmerit from the PM.I was wondering how come there was no such
    accredited to Ryan Brathwaite.

14. i would be nice if the powers that be could build some kind of monument recognizing the star atheletespast and
    present time. This would send a positive
    message to the younger ones who are aspiring in that area. It can be down town or at the airport

15. Venus williams beats schiavone advances
    to australia open quarter finals.

16. woman sues Shaquille O’neal for harassment

17. Serena Williams advances to semifinals
    in Autralia Open beating Victoria Azarenka.
    Venus is out

18. Yesterday i was listening to a lady as she spoke with great excitement of the way the Williams Sisters are able to play great Tennis. She was almost speechless as she describe herself as being so nervous as she watched the game as Serena was able to come from behind a win the game.
    She almost mentioned that it must be a gift from God that they have such skill and ability.
    It got to to thinking that also having these comes the responsibilty of developing them which takes good leadership which is a role her father has taken on so well.
    This also made me think of Haiti and their future and having no leader to guide them and now having an abudance
    Just like the the Wiliams Sisters they have an abundance of talent and ability
    and good and strong leadership in their
    father. So must Haiti in order for them to win.

19. It would be nice to see the Williams sisters retire on top.

20. First let me start by saying “the race is not always for the swift but those who endure to the end”
    Saturday day of horse racing should be spectacular with eight handicaps. The one iam most interested in is The Coolmore”Home of the champions and
    Trophy”‘.There are an excelent breed of horses runuing in this race andwith a purse of 40,000thousand dollars how cant a person resist.The weight of the horses range from io8-130lbs and they are scheduled to run a distance of 1800meters.
    As a child i have been always fascinated by the speed and distance that a horse can go and with little effort.
    On Saturday I will let you know who are my favourites for that race

21. ac,

Will Apostle Bouncebak while resisting the Pure Temptation of enoying some Daylight Express?

Maybe John Brian knows?

22. @freindly
    i have some reservations on Daylight Express even though he has been a favourable winner.tommorow i’ll let you know

23. Here are my4favourites for Coolmore
    today at Garrison:Bounce Back Bordersecret, Apostle ,PureTemptation.
    but like i say in my first comment “the race is not only for the swift but those who endure in the end”.So there you have it your guess is as good as mine.But
    be sure to have a good time at the races today.

Willams Sisters are winners again in the fourth Australian Open Doubles really a
    nail biter

24. will, guts and determination Serena Williams wins her 2nd straight Australian open Championship defeating
    Justine Henin.

25. And the Winners are

Apostle
    Pure Temptation
    Border Secret
    DaylightExpress
    It was a great day for horse racingat the
    garrison yesterday.I was diappointed in Bounceback previously have a good record of 13wins . But i was not surprised
    in the performance of Daylight Express
    somewho i was concerned about the
    weight he carried and not it might have slowed down his performance.
    Congratulations to Apostleand his jockey
    Trotman

26. with all the hpye surrounding night
    cricket the turn out so far has been disappointing.I wonder why ? giving the
    fact that cricket is a favourite of bajans.I
    am keeping my fingers crossed for a win against the Winwards.so far Barbados is a good position to do so.

27. Barbados wins over winwards.Tino youare truly the Best.

28. just a day after proving that he is the best
    by helping his teammates beat the
    Winwards. He is at again.This time Tino
    Best is giving school children advice about the dangers of illegal drugs.

29. amidst all the bad news that have been seen recently on the media it was very pleasant to listen to venus and serena Williams talk about their recent Australian victories.

30. Patrick Browne has been replaced for the 5th round of WICB 4day competition
    in Guyana.It would be interesting to see how his replacement youngster Shawn Dawrich perform.

31. Did David Williams get a raw deal?That
    question would be answeredas Ottis Gibson takes on the job as head coach of the West Indies team. Already there is controversy surrounding his appointment .Lalmar Kowlessarsays that David Williams got a raw deal and have been doing a good job.Only time will tell.

32. SUPERBOWL .All wraped into a bowl of SUPERBUCKS via advertisers who spend mega bucks for i minute of advertising while millions of people watch. Thats american!

33. New orleans a city that was under water because of hurricane Katrina is celebrity
    a superbowl win by their home team the new orleans Saint. I am happy for that city they deserve to be happy once again.
    Congratulations NewOrlean Saints I know you could do it!

34. ac,

I would say yes, that David Williams was treated very badly.

Nothing that the pathetic WICB does nowadays is a surprise, so no worries.

I am sure that Otis Gibson is capable, but when one man is there and capable, he should have a shot at the first spot.

What a hapless performance in the first ODI.

Admittedly four or five of the main guys are out, but still, the batting should have accomplished more.

This sad state will not go any further till the WICB is changed, structure and all.

35. @Crusoe
    I readan article by Tony Cozier and much of what you say he talked about in more detailed. The WICB seeme tohave a history of not being fair to the coaches
    they put in place.

36. Does anybody watch or go to cricket now?
    Is a greater percentage of our young people following cricket?
    Are we spending a disproportionate about of national budgets on cricket?
    Do we need to look at replacing cricket as a sport which provided opportunity for our young people?
    Does cricket mean more to us(West Indians) than just money?

37. @David
    Cricket is an international sport and if Barbadians does not support it that is there lost. There is where we first got international publicty and heroes such Garfield Sobers and threeW’s.

38. Australia declares that bowling at Chris Gayles body is their stragety to stop him from wining. I hope The West Indies respond in kind to their batsmen.

39. Can WestIndies survive against Australia
    after showing such poor performance? I
    don’t think so batting stinks and bowling left much to be desired.Chris Gayle is talking about making changes but i hope he comes up with a better game plan too

40. I like to watch the little ones in the track
    and fields races .I make me reflect on my time in school when I would have to
    participate in running.The only thing would race very fast was my heart because i was too afraid of losing. No i did not do very well in that area but enjoy
    watching especially the primary children

41. Not again WestIndies loseChris Gayle it is time to give Tino Best a call …..hello!

42. Black couple BermdaVanessa James and her partner YannickBonheur made
    history as the first black skating pair to compete at the Olympics.Bermuda grandparents are Barbadians

43. I guess we should hear another apology from Tiger Woods!

44. so what did tiger say !a whole lot of nuttin.

45. What did you expect him to say? It will be interesting to see if his wife sticks with him down the road.

46. no instead he should have preferenced his news conference by highliting his return togolf.The public has somewhat
    gone on to thinking about other issues .It
    would have been better for him to keep his remarks more focused on golf,We are a forgiving bunch.and the past is the past.

47. Speaking of future.What is the future of West Indies cricket after geing beating by Autralia in the four day series 4-0.
    How embrassing ? I believe that their is a lack of coehesiveness that is lacking within the team and that can’t be taught.
    The team has to united as one with the same theme in mind “Wining”

48. This Tiger Woods ‘issue’ is a joke.

What did anyone expect, he is a golfer, not a preacher!

Unlike Swaggart, Baker et al, there is no ‘betrayal’ on his part, they professed specific moral stands, all he did was play golf.

The issue is manufactured by the media, to sell papers and bring another top person down, nothing else.

His forays are between himself, bis wife and family and the ladies.

No one else.

Why does the media not delve into the issues of expenditure, congress, backscrathing, pharmaceutical companies etc, which ARE publicly related and critical, with the same gusto?

Question is rhetorical , the media is just another money-maker, aimed at selling ‘stories’, nothing else.

Tiger should have simply told the truth.

Yes, I had affairs, BUTT OUT.

But then, I guess he is still playing the
    ‘media / corporate game’ of smile nicely and talk nicely, to advance.

49. Herein lies a lesson for stars etc.

Learn to ‘ride the media’, not the other way around.

Playing the game is essential for getting ahead and getting what you want.

There are a few who mastered this game, such as Madonna.

Instead of hitting the papparazzi with cameras, syage manage your appearances, grin and appear just as YOU want to be seen.

USE the free publicity that these idiots give. Hear the word ‘FREE’.

Imagine how much you can benefit by using the media, rather than get accosted, fight and end up with a bad reputation.

If necessary, speak to a marketer, get a good understanding of stage managing appearances, even if only a walk down the red carpet.

50. By the way, the same applies to those going into corporate job interviews, dealing with their manager etc.

Honesty is the best policy, but bear in mind that ensuring the image that YOU want to portray (i.e. portraying the image that they want to see), is as important in getting ahead as your ability.

This does not mean dishonesty, it means ensuring that the qualities that they want are enhanced in your interview and when they speak to you daily.

This may sound cynical, but let us not be naive, that is how things are done in the large corporate world.

Be careful of displeasures that you wish to voice, always be aware of the effect.

You will be told, they want to hear everything.

Of course they do, do you think they are stupid?

Say what YOU think it sensible to say, and be careful of what you say.