image-thumb.pngWe have accepted the suggestion from a BU family member to facilitate discussion on medical matters which is a topic area that should interest us all. Based on exchanges with and between BU family members posted over time, many of you work in the medical field or possess information on various medical issues acquired based on personal circumstance or otherwise. Medical Corner seeks to encourage ANYONE to submit views on medical experiences, new developments in the industry or any related matter which readers feel can serve to educate the BU family.

New Page Added

361 responses to “Medical Corner”

1. Another intersting copied ectract

In the 1940s and early 1950s, scientists frequently debated whether antibodies were essential to immunity.

Amid this controversy, a pediatrician at Washington, D.C.’s Walter Reed Hospital made a momen­tous discovery.

The story began when a US Air Force officer’s son was admitted to the hospital with acute streptococal disease. The child’s pediatrician, Ogden C. Bruton, used penicillin to control the infection, but two weeks later, the child was back, sick again.

Wishing to determine the level of antibodies in the boy’s sys­tem, Bruton sent a sample of blood for testing on a new machine recently acquired by the hospital.

The next day, the laboratory called Bruton to report that something must be wrong with the machine because it could not detect any antibodies in the blood. Bruton responded by sending over a second sample, but the results were the same: no antibodies. It occurred to Bruton that maybe the trouble was “not in the machine but in the blood. Perhaps the blood had no antibodies.

Conceivably, this could account for the recurring infections. So, Bruton began giving the boy monthly injections of antibodies, vith outstanding success.

In 1952, Bruton reported his remarkable findings. His report was a medical bombshell because it established the concept of immunodeficiency disorders, while helping to solidify the role played by antibodies in resistance to infection.

The story was not finished, however, because certain patients with immunodeficiency disorders still produced the lymphocytes that immunize against skin grafts.

This observation led to the notion that the immune system was actually a dual system—one branch centered in antibodies, a second branch centered in lymphocytes.

The sources of antibodies and lymphocytes would be found almost simultane­ously, 13 years later.

In 1965, at the meeting of the American Academy of Pediatrics, Robert A. Good’s research group was oresenting evidence on the importance of the bursa of Fabricius to antibody production. The audience was skeptical, but the evidence appeared substantial.

When the speaker finished, a Philadelphia pediatrician named Angelo DiGeorge stepped to the microphone to add a footnote. DiGeorge described how four chil­dren at his hospital were struck repeatedly with severe infections. The children had antibodies in their blood, but curiously, each lacked a thymus. DiGeorge’s observation was lost in the shuffle, but a question arose in his mind:

Were the children susceptible to skin grafts, or could they possibly be immune? DiGeorge hurried back to the hospital and devised a set of experiments to determine whether the children could successfully receive skin grafts. After weeks of study, he found they could.

The thymus was apparently the key to the production of lymphocytes and hence to graft immunity. Bruton’s patient lacked the bursa type of immunity, but DiGeorge’s patients lacked the thymus type of immunity.

The duality of the immune system was thus strengthened, and a second immune deficiency disease, DiGeorge syndrome, entered the dictionary of medical science.

2. Georgie Porgie // December 17, 2009 at 4:12 PM

RE Pat // December 16, 2009 at 4:25 PM

@ Dr. Porgie

Where is the promised information? Still waiting. Thanks, Pat.
    ===========================
    Double checked my deleted box and junk box and I see no email from you as requested with BU PAT in subject line.

I sent it twice. However my son says he did not set this brower up for emails. Will copy yours and send from my ISP. Thanks, Pat.

Do you have anything on insomnia?

3. Georgie

ac don’ believe me dat men over the age of forty should have regular sex (with whatever is available) because it helps prevent prostate anomolies… please verify. She feel I foolish..!

4. Allergies, Dirt, and the Hygiene Hypothesis (copied)

For reasons that are not completely under­stood, the incidence and severity of asthma—and allergies in general—are increasing in developed nations.

In fact, between 1980 and 1994, the prevalence of asthma rose 71 percent in the United States. Today, about 15 million Americans suffer from asthma, including 5 million chil­dren and adolescents.

Many scientists have suggested the increase is in large part due to our overly clean lifestyle. We use disin­fectants for almost everything in the home, and antibacterial products have flooded the commercial markets

In other words, maintaining overly good hygiene is making us sick. We need to eat dirt! Well, not literally.

The hygiene hypothesis, first proposed in 1989, suggests that a lack of early childhood exposure to dirt, microbes, and other infectious agents can lead to immune system weakness and an increased risk of developing asthma and allergies.

In the early 1900s, infants and their immune systems had to battle all sorts of infec­tious diseases—from typhoid fever and polio to diphtheria and tuberculosis—as well as ones that were more mundane.

Such interactions and recovery “pumped up” the immune system and prepared it to act in a controlled manner. Today, most children in developed nations are exposed to far fewer pathogens, and their immune systems remain “wimpy,” often unable to respond properly to nonpathogenic sub­stances like pollen and cat dander. Their immune systems have not had the proper “basic training.”

The hygiene hypothesis has been the subject of debate since 1989. But new research studies are providing evidence that may make the hygiene hypothesis a theory.

In 2003, researchers at the
    National Jewish Medical and Research Center in Denver reported that mice infected with the bacterium

Mycoplasma pneumoniae had less severe immunological responses when challenged with an allergen. However, if mice were exposed to allergens first, they developed more severe allergic responses. Also, the allergy-producing mediators were at lower levels in mice first exposed to M. pneumo­niae. So, early “basic training” of the immune system seems to temper allergic responses.

Two other studies also bolster the hygiene hypothesis. One study used data from the Third National Health and Nutri­tion Examination Survey conducted from 1988 through 1994 by the Centers for Dis­ease Control and Prevention (CDC).

The survey included 33,994 American resi­dents ages 1 year to older than 90. The CDC analysis concluded that humans who were seropositive for hepatitis A virus, Toxopiasma gondii, and herpes simplex virus type 1—that is, markers for previous microbial exposures—were at a decreased risk of developing hay fever, asthma, and other atopic diseases.

A second study used data collected from 812 European children ages 6 to 13 who either lived on farms or did not live on farms. Using another marker—an endo-toxin found in dust samples from bedding—the investigators reported that children who did not live on farms were more than twice as likely to have asthma or allergies as children growing up on farms.

Presumably, on farms children are exposed to more “immune-strengthening” microbes.
    So, all in all, microbial challenges to the immune system as it develops in young children can drive the system to a balanced response to allergens.

If the hypoth­esis proves correct, eating dirt or moving to a farm is not a practical solution, nor is returning to pre-hygiene days.

However, a number of environmental factors can help lower incidence of allergic disease early in life. These include the presence of a dog or other pet in the home before birth, attending day care during the first year of life, and simply allowing children to do what comes naturally—play together and get dirty.

5. BAFBFP
    Too little sex will mek yah vex LOL

You should not have regular sex (with whatever is available) though.

We are to have a series on prostate diseases soon. Remind me to resrch that one.

You should only be concerned about the comments of sensible folk. But it is indeed rumored that you are indeed
    foolish..!

BAFBFP you walh right into that short ball man. LOL

6. @Georgie Porgie: “We use disin­fectants for almost everything in the home, and antibacterial products have flooded the commercial markets

@George… This is quite possibly the first post of yours I agree with.

What is your opinion about the long-term usage of commercial antibacterial products in the average home?

Is it a good thing? Or is it a bad thing?

Why?

7. The Gov’t in Canada looking to protect people from themselves, they want to add cancer fighting agents to junk food.

What next?

http://www.cbc.ca/health/story/2009/12/22/acrylamide-junk-food-additive.html

8. GP
    It seems that I run right into a Long Hop…!

9. BAFBFP

That is worse man.

But the greatest of them all Sir GS did say that a bouncer is really a long hop, and is essentially a bad ball.

So you have a point there. Touche my friend. You may go to the head of the class man! LOL

10. GP

Sir Gary learned to play without a helmet. The people at the front of the class therefore will not block your view.

11. Interesting article I copied

Public Health: Speeding, Red Lights and Planes

Vehicles that can save our lives and others that can take us to great destinations at supersonic speeds can harbor and transmit infectious disease.

From November 2004 to April 2005, a decontamination firm in the United Kingdom examined the ambulances from 12 firms for microbial contamination.

They swabbed several fomites, including stretcher rails, the stretcher tracks below the stretcher, the paramedic’s utility bag, and five other sites within the vehicle. The swabs were streaked on nutrient agar plates to see what bacterial species would grow.

Examination of the plates indicated the ambu­lances were heavily contaminated with a diverse group of bacterial species. In fact, in many cases, there were so many bacterial colonies present, they could not be counted.

(One assumes one colony arose from one bacterial cell that reproduced many times on the nutrient agar plate.) The bacterial species included antibiotic-resistant Staphylococcus aureus and a variety of species typically found in the human colon.

More surprising, after the ambulances were cleaned by standard procedures, there was little reduction in the numbers of bacterial cells present. In fact, another study done the previous year showed that cleaning actually spread the bacterial cells onto previously “clean” surfaces.

Such contaminated fomites could be dangerous to a person in the ambulance with open wounds.

In 2004, almost 2 billion people traveled by aircraft. With this number of people flying each year, a sick person could spread a disease across the globe quite quickly.

One epidemiological study of commer­cial airlines examined the chances of spreading or catching an infectious disease on a given flight. Although the risk is very low of catching an airborne infection, it is not zero because most airlines do not have the top-grade filters able to trap all bacterial pathogens and aggregates of viruses.

Epidemiologists thought the most likely way to catch an infectious disease would be if passengers are within two rows of an ill person and on flights eight hours or longer in length.

Then, in 2003, the SARS outbreak occurred. During the outbreak, 40 airline flights were monitored for passengers carrying SARS. Five flights showed evidence of transmission of SARS.

On one 3-hour flight, from Hong Kong to Beijing, China, 22’people contracted the disease from a single infected passenger. Surprisingly, some oassengers who became ill were a full seven rows away from the infected individual.

Still, this so-called superspreading of infectious disease by airborne droplets or particles is rare and airline flights are relatively safe from infectious disease spread.

Most are still spread person-to-person, such as by hand contact, so hand washing remains the best prevention method. Just don’t touch the handle on the door of the stall when leaving the airliner bathroom.

12. Interesting article just recieved from pharmacist friend

Please take extra care …

Subject: YOU MAY POISON YOURSELF ACCIDENTALLY

In Taiwan , a woman suddenly died unexpectedly with signs of bleeding from her ears, nose, mounth & eyes. After a preliminary autopsy, it was diagnosed death due toarsenic poisoningdeath. Where did the arsenic come from?eeee
    The police launched an in-depth and extensive investigation. A medical school professor was invited to come to solve the case.
    The professor carefully looked at the contents from the deceased’s stomach, in less than half an hour, the mystery was solved. The professor said: ‘The deceased did not commit suicide and neither was she murdered, she died ofaccidental death due to ignorance!’
    Everyone was puzzled, why accidental death? The professor said: ‘The arsenic is produced in the stomach of the deceased.’ The deceased used to take ‘Vitamin C’ everyday, which in itself is not a problem. The problem was that she ate a large portion of shrimp/prawn during dinner. Eating shrimp/prawn is not the problem that’s why nothing happened to her family even though they took the same shrimp/prawn. However at the same time the deceased also took ‘vitamin C’, that is where the problem is!
    Researchers at theUniversity of Chicago in the United States , foundthrough experiments, food such as soft-shell shrimp/prawn contains a much higher concentration of – five potassiumarsenic compounds.
    Such fresh food by itself has no toxic effects on the human body! However, in taking ‘vitamin C’, due to the chemical reaction, the original non-toxic – five potassium arsenic (As anhydride, also known as arsenic oxide, the chemical formula for As205) changed to a three potassium toxic arsenic (ADB arsenic anhydride), also known as arsenic trioxide, a chemical formula (As203), which is commonly known as arsenic to the public!
    Arsenic poisoning have magma role and can cause paralysis to the small blood vessels, inhibits the activity of the liver and fat necrosis change Hepatic Lobules Centre, heart, liver, kidney, intestine congestion, epithelial cell necrosis, telangiectasia. Therefore, a person who dies of arsenic poisoning will show signs of bleeding from the ears, nose, mouth & eyes.
    Therefore; as a precautionary measure, DO NOT not eat shrimp/prawn when taking ‘vitamin C’.
    After reading this; please do not be stingy. Forward to your friends and family!!

13. @ Dr. Georgie Porgie

Could it be the shrimps contained those compounds because of the techniques used in farming? I stopped buying shrimps from Asia after watching a program on TV. These critters are raised in ponds and fed gallons of insecticides and food made from animal refuse. In fact, they are garbage eaters.

I now only buy the more expensive and smaller Caribbean Queen shrimps usually from Guyana.

14. Just got this note from my pharmacist friend.

He says “apparently the e-mail which I sent concerning taking vitamin c pills and eating shrimp is false. My apologies. please see http://www.snopes.com/shrimp/toxins

15. Interesting Article on Biotechnology-

Caught in the Spotlight

Current diagnostic tests for tuberculosis can take several weeks to complete because the tubercle bacillus Mycobacterium tuberculosis multiplies very slowly, a binary fission taking place every 24 hours or so.

While waiting for a definitive diagnosis, physicians must make treatment decisions based on .ery limited information. It therefore is possible that ineffective drugs may be prescribed during this interval, and the patient’s illness may worsen; also, the patient may transmit the disease to others as the wait goes on.
    With help from the firefly, researchers have developed an innovative and imaginative diagnostic test for tuberculosis that could shorten considerably the time interval for detection. Only a few days may be required, and the test could help determine whether that particular strain of M. tuberculosis is drug resistant.

The new approach relies on the firefly enzyme luciferase to produce a flash of light in living M. tuberculosis cells, just as happens in the firefly .

The process works this way: A bacterio-phage specific for M. tuberculosis is genetically engineered to carry the gene for luciferase. This phage is then mixed with a culture of the bacterial cells. If the culture contains M. tuberculosis, the phage pene­trates the bacterial cell and inserts itself into the bacterial chromosome, carrying the luciferase gene along. The bacterial cell promptly begins producing luciferase.
    Now luciferin, the substrate for luciferase, is added to the culture together with ATP
    If luciferase is present, the enzyme breaks down luciferin, and the reaction results in a flash of light. A sensitive instrument detects the light flash, and the culture is confirmed to contain M. tuberculosis. The report is made to the physician, and the diagnosis is complete.
    To determine drug susceptibility or resistance, the same procedure is used, except a drug is added to the culture. If the bacterial cells are sensitive to the drug, they die and, quite literally, their “lights go out.” If they are resistant, they continue to live, and they produce luciferase—and they give off light.
    When this test was first announced to the media, headline writers from numerous publications had a field day as word of the successful test filtered through various journals and newspapers. The well-worn cliche is particularly appropriate in this instance—the future of tuberculosis diagnosis “appears bright.”

16. Alkaline, Ionized Water
    Alkaline, ionized water is anti-oxidant electron rich, restructured, micro clustered, active hydrogen saturated water. Its molecular formula shifts from H2O to H+ OH-, after it goes through an electrolysis process that changes the pH (potential of hydrogen) of the water to alkaline, ionized-rich water. As a result, this water contains essential minerals, such as calcium, magnesium and potassium in an ionic form that can be assimilated immediately into the body. It is a powerful antioxidant, more powerful than any single food or vitamin supplement because it contains active hydrogen, which supplies huge amounts of extra electrons to the body.
    Alkaline, ionized water unique characteristics are recognized in the medical field for their effectiveness in assisting the body in rebuilding itself from dehydration and the many types of illnesses and diseases. Some of the areas that people have noticed improvements in their health include arthritis, chronic fatigue, leg cramps, migraines, diabetes. Also heartburn, poor circulation, gout, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, asthma, skin rashes, dermatitis, psoriasis, obesity, diarrhea, indigestion, heart disease, allergies, constipation, stomach ulcers, hepatitis and cancer.
    Alkaline, ionized water is known to have smaller clusters of 5 to 6 water molecules, as a result of the electrolysis process, which makes it a super-hydrating water. Tap water is typically 12 to 15 molecules per cluster, which is double the size of alkaline, ionized water. Smaller water clusters also mean your body can easily absorb the minerals in this water into your cells in mere seconds. Reverse osmosis, distilled and tap water will slosh around in your stomach and often flush key minerals out of your body because they lack this important property. This is particularly important for your metabolism since smaller elements pass through cell membranes more easily to eliminate acidic waste and flushes toxins from your body more effectively.
    When you reduce active oxygen from the water, you increase its power to slow down the oxidation process, which eliminates “free radicals” safely from your body. This effectively helps to slow down the aging process. Active oxygen is not healthy for the body and is what you feel if you have ever exercised too hard and felt your lungs burn. The process of reducing and removing oxygen from the water is called ORP (Oxidation Reduction Potential). Drinking water where oxygen has been eliminated creates a healthy body.

For additional information visit http://www.purplewater.com

17. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Interesting presentation on regenerative medicine… engineering new organs.

http://www.ted.com/talks/anthony_atala_growing_organs_engineering_tissue.html

18. This is a very good article.. Not only about the warm water after your meal, but about Heart Attacks . The Chinese and Japanese drink hot tea with their meals, not cold water, maybe it is time we adopt their drinking habit while eating.

For those who like to drink cold water, this article is applicable to you.
    It is nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal.
    However, the cold water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed.
    It will slow down the digestion.
    Once this ‘sludge’ reacts with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food.
    It will line the intestine.
    Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer & arthritis .
    It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal.

Common Symptoms Of Heart Attack…

A serious note about heart attacks – You should know that not every heart attack symptom is going to be the left arm hurting .

Be aware of intense pain in the jaw line .

You may never have the first chest pain during the course of a heart attack.

Nausea and intense sweating are also common symptoms.

60% of people who have a heart attack while they are asleep do not wake up.

Pain in the jaw can wake you from a sound sleep.

Let’s be careful and be aware.

The more we know, the better chance we could survive.

A cardiologist says if everyone who reads this message sends it to 10 people, you can be sure that we’ll save at least one life.

19. Somebody sen’ me the above so I sen’ it to everybody pun BU… I musse save a life by now…!

20. @BAFBFP
    Very nice of to think of others.Thanks alot

21. ac

Boy when I get a chance to meet this fire brand I got to mek sure that I got what it takes tah las’…lol

22. @BAFBFP
    don’t worry you’ll be alright.

23. You very sure, gotta mek sure I ketch u in the right mood huh

24. @BAFBFP
    fuh yu always in the right mood.

25. I came across this story and thought it was worth sharing

“My Experience with Kidney Transplant — 8 Great Learnings”
    By: Cyrus Bagwadia

With kidneys failing, I was confronted with the most common of what is next – dialysis. I began to visit dialysis centres and talk to patients hooked on to their blood cleaning machines. They were all bearing their condition bravely and facing the reality. I realised I was facing my first moment of truth.

Dialysis is not a full replacement of all function of kidneys. At best it does the cleaning of the blood. It does not balance the fluid level nor balance the blood chemistry nor improve production of vital chemicals.

Transplant is the most preferred option. This was the unanimous medical advise.

I decided to write to members of my family and got positive response from so many willing to donate that it simply swept me off my feet. I felt being loved, a feeling which I cannot describe in words.
    I decided to drop dialysis as an option and focused only on transplant. I changed my Nephrologist to one who was willing to involve me as a patient, who wishes to fully understand the emotional, physical and medical procedures and processes. I did what the medical fraternity say “doctor shopping”. I continued to do so till I found one who best met my needs and not necessarily the most famous or the most expensive! I think this is perhaps the most important step I took. The doctor must partner with you to get to the best solution.

So my Learning #1 – Be most careful to select your Nephrologist as he is going to be your partner for a long, long time.

Learning #2 – recovery period of the donor — surgery on donor is done through laparoscopy method..The older method is making a cut of 8″ at the hip area for easy access to the kidney. This method, although makes kidney removal more easy, is more painful and recovery is a lot longer.
    The world’s first kidney transplant was done in Brigham Hospital in Boston. Brigham does over 100 transplants a year.

Learning #3 – the handling of the kidney on removal and before transfer to the recipient are crucial skills developed over time and experiences, which only comes from number of transplants done by the surgeons.

Learning #4 – post transplant monitoring to prevent rejection requires skills that would come with Nephrologists with more years of experience and one who is involved in active research.
    The full body health check indicated that the youngest of my three sister (although older to me by six years) would be the best choice.

Learning #5 – it is preferable to have separate Nephrologist for the donor and the one treating recipient. This makes the donor more comfortable as he or she can interact with the doctor with complete openness.

Learning #6 – the donor and the family must be fully and completely involved. It is best to share with them the knowledge that the recipient may have gained from his/her own reading or from doctors. I shared all the articles I could download from the net. Knowledge eliminates imaginary fears and brings these fears into an open forum for discussions with the doctor. The donor and family members should ideally become completely comfortable and every member of family must be supportive of the donor’s decision. The act of donating ones kidney is the ultimate expression of love towards the recipient.
    Time is so important in this process. Haste and hurry will create more fears. Let the donor family settle down with comfort on the whole process. The three month period of donor evaluation was most helpful from the stand point of getting answers to all the questions answered and making certain that the donor became emotionally a most willing and happy donor. Any rush towards surgery would not be a sensible thing to do even though the recipient may be on extended dialysis and wishes to bring an end to his or her misery.

At the hospital now. The two operating rooms had a connecting door. The surgeon attending on the donor hands over the removed kidney to my surgeon, who washes the kidney and trims off the fat which generally gets built around the kidney over time. The kidney is ready to be transplanted into me. An incision of about 7 inches is made vertically, in a slight hockey stick shape towards the right of belly button. Hospital stay for the donor was 3 days and I was home by 5th day. I was able to walk and take care of my needs.

Learning #7 – do not underestimate the importance of team work between surgeons, nephrologists, nursing and resident/fellow doctors, as each case is unique and collective wisdom matters. Chose your hospital most carefully.

At home, I was made to measure each day blood pressure, weight, sugar level, temperature and fluid intake and outflow. I would record these on a spread sheet and take it with me to the Nephro on each hospital visit. This went on for the first 2 months.

Learning #8 – the doctors looks at the trend of these. It would be useful for the patient to keep record of these details in a spread sheet format.

Life’s another fantastic journey of a different kind.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Rising Threat of Infections Unfazed by Antibiotics
    by Andrew Pollack
    Monday, March 1, 2010
    provided by

A minor-league pitcher in his younger days, Richard Armbruster kept playing baseball recreationally into his 70s, until his right hip started bothering him. Last February he went to a St. Louis hospital for what was to be a routine hip replacement.

More from NYTimes.com:

• Sheldon Gilgore, Physician Who Led Drug Giants Pfizer and Searle, Dies at 77

• Judge Backs Trustee on Repaying Madoff Victims

• Merck to Pay $7.2 Billion for Millipore

By late March, Mr. Armbruster, then 78, was dead. After a series of postsurgical complications, the final blow was a bloodstream infection that sent him into shock and resisted treatment with antibiotics.

“Never in my wildest dreams did I think my dad would walk in for a hip replacement and be dead two months later,” said Amy Fix, one of his daughters.

Not until the day Mr. Armbruster died did a laboratory culture identify the organism that had infected him: Acinetobacter baumannii.

The germ is one of a category of bacteria that by some estimates are already killing tens of thousands of hospital patients each year. While the organisms do not receive as much attention as the one known as MRSA — for methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus — some infectious-disease specialists say they could emerge as a bigger threat.

More from Yahoo! Finance:

• 10 Things Primary-Care Physicians Won’t Tell You

• Online Med Sales: Not What the Doc Ordered?

• 5 Things Never to Say to Your Insurers

——————————————————————————–
    Visit the Insurance Center

That is because there are several drugs, including some approved in the last few years, that can treat MRSA. But for a combination of business reasons and scientific challenges, the pharmaceuticals industry is pursuing very few drugs for Acinetobacter and other organisms of its type, known as Gram-negative bacteria. Meanwhile, the germs are evolving and becoming ever more immune to existing antibiotics.

“In many respects it’s far worse than MRSA,” said Dr. Louis B. Rice, an infectious-disease specialist at the Louis Stokes Cleveland V.A. Medical Center and at Case Western Reserve University. “There are strains out there, and they are becoming more and more common, that are resistant to virtually every antibiotic we have.”

The bacteria, classified as Gram-negative because of their reaction to the so-called Gram stain test, can cause severe pneumonia and infections of the urinary tract, bloodstream and other parts of the body. Their cell structure makes them more difficult to attack with antibiotics than Gram-positive organisms like MRSA.

Acinetobacter, which killed Mr. Armbruster, came to wide attention a few years ago in infections of soldiers wounded in Iraq.

Meanwhile, New York City hospitals, perhaps because of the large numbers of patients they treat, have become the global breeding ground for another drug-resistant Gram-negative germ, Klebsiella pneumoniae.

According to researchers at SUNY Downstate Medical Center, more than 20 percent of the Klebsiella infections in Brooklyn hospitals are now resistant to virtually all modern antibiotics. And those supergerms are now spreading worldwide.

Health authorities do not have good figures on how many infections and deaths in the United States are caused by Gram-negative bacteria. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimates that roughly 1.7 million hospital-associated infections, from all types of bacteria combined, cause or contribute to 99,000 deaths each year.

But in Europe, where hospital surveys have been conducted, Gram-negative infections are estimated to account for two-thirds of the 25,000 deaths each year caused by some of the most troublesome hospital-acquired infections, according to a report released in September by health authorities there.

To be sure, MRSA remains the single most common source of hospital infections. And it is especially feared because it can also infect people outside the hospital. There have been serious, even deadly, infections of otherwise healthy athletes and school children.

By comparison, the drug-resistant Gram-negative germs for the most part threaten only hospitalized patients whose immune systems are weak. The germs can survive for a long time on surfaces in the hospital and enter the body through wounds, catheters and ventilators.

What is most worrisome about the Gram-negatives is not their frequency but their drug resistance.

“For Gram-positives we need better drugs; for Gram-negatives we need any drugs,” said Dr. Brad Spellberg, an infectious-disease specialist at Harbor-U.C.L.A. Medical Center in Torrance, Calif., and the author of Rising Plague, a book about drug-resistant pathogens. Dr. Spellberg is a consultant to some antibiotics companies and has co-founded two companies working on other anti-infective approaches. Dr. Rice of Cleveland has also been a consultant to some pharmaceutical companies.

Doctors treating resistant strains of Gram-negative bacteria are often forced to rely on two similar antibiotics developed in the 1940s — colistin and polymyxin B. These drugs were largely abandoned decades ago because they can cause kidney and nerve damage, but because they have not been used much, bacteria have not had much chance to evolve resistance to them yet.

“You don’t really have much choice,” said Dr. Azza Elemam, an infectious-disease specialist in Louisville, Ky. “If a person has a life-threatening infection, you have to take a risk of causing damage to the kidney.”

Such a tradeoff confronted Kimberly Dozier, a CBS News correspondent who developed an Acinetobacter infection after being injured by a car bomb in 2006 while on assignment in Iraq. After two weeks on colistin, Ms. Dozier’s kidneys began to fail, she recounted in her book, Breathing the Fire.

Rejecting one doctor’s advice to go on dialysis and seek a kidney transplant, Ms. Dozier stopped taking the antibiotic to save her kidneys. She eventually recovered from the infection.

Even that dire tradeoff might not be available to some patients. Last year doctors at St. Vincent’s Hospital in Manhattan published a paper describing two cases of “pan-resistant” Klebsiella, untreatable by even the kidney-damaging older antibiotics. One of the patients died and the other eventually recovered on her own, after the antibiotics were stopped.

“It is a rarity for a physician in the developed world to have a patient die of an overwhelming infection for which there are no therapeutic options,” the authors wrote in the journal Clinical Infectious Diseases.

In some cases, antibiotic resistance is spreading to Gram-negative bacteria that can infect people outside the hospital.

Sabiha Khan, 66, went to the emergency room of a Chicago hospital on New Year’s Day suffering from a urinary tract and kidney infection caused by E. coli resistant to the usual oral antibiotics. Instead of being sent home to take pills, Ms. Khan had to stay in the hospital 11 days to receive powerful intravenous antibiotics.

This month, the infection returned, sending her back to the hospital for an additional two weeks.

Some patient advocacy groups say hospitals need to take better steps to prevent such infections, like making sure that health care workers frequently wash their hands and that surfaces and instruments are disinfected. And antibiotics should not be overused, they say, because that contributes to the evolution of resistance.

To encourage prevention, an Atlanta couple, Armando and Victoria Nahum, started the Safe Care Campaign after their 27-year-old son, Joshua, died from a hospital-acquired infection in October 2006.

Joshua, a skydiving instructor in Colorado, had fractured his skull and thigh bone on a hard landing. During his treatment, he twice acquired MRSA and then was infected by Enterobacter aerogenes, a Gram-negative bacterium.

“The MRSA they got rid of with antibiotics,” Mr. Nahum said. “But this one they just couldn’t do anything about.”

27. Top 5 Kidney-Related Myths and Misconceptions

Overlooked, overworked and misunderstood. Your wife? No, actually, it’s your kidneys we’re talking about. They’re on call 24/7 filtering toxins from your body, regulating fluids and blood pressure. Yet, most people don’t know where they are, let alone what they or what the warnings signs and risk factors are for kidney disease. Dr. Leslie Spry, National Kidney Foundation spokesperson, sets the record straight on some common kidney-related misconceptions

1. I have back pain so it must be my kidneys. Pain in the back may come from kidney disease if you have infection or blockage of the kidneys. Other forms of kidney disease rarely cause pain in the back. The most common cause of back pain is disease of the muscles or spine and not kidney disease. The kidney can only feel pain if the covering of the kidney (called the capsule) is stretched. This means swelling of the kidney from either infection or blockage of urine flow (such as a kidney stone) will result in pain that typically radiates from the flank and may come around the side to cause pain down into the groin area.

2. I don’t have any trouble passing my urine so my kidneys must be fine. Even patients who are on dialysis make urine most every day. Damaged kidneys will continue to make urine even if they no longer properly clean your blood. Kidney disease can be completely without symptoms. The only way you can tell if you have kidney disease is to have blood and urine testing.

3. As I age, it is normal for my blood pressure to be higher. While it is true that blood pressure gradually increases with age, many elderly patients still have a normal blood pressure. Normal blood pressure is still 120/80 at any age and if your blood pressure is elevated, you should be evaluated by your physician. Studies have continued to show a benefit of treating even very elderly patients for high blood pressure. High blood pressure is the second most common cause of kidney disease and is the most common cause of kidney disease in the elderly.

4. I can feel my blood sugar and regulate it on the basis of how I feel. Unfortunately, the longer you have diabetes the less likely this is true. Diabetes is the most common cause of kidney disease and patients with chronic kidney disease develop two complications related to diabetes. They are less likely to notice changes in blood sugar the way they used to. This is because diabetes gradually injures the body nerves in exactly the same way as it does the kidney. Hence your ability to “feel” your blood sugar is lost as one develops progressive kidney disease. Second, the kidney helps to break down insulin in the body. As kidney function is lost, insulin tends to last longer in the body. Loss of kidney function can result in very low blood sugars for prolonged periods of time as the insulin lasts longer and longer in the body.

5. If my blood pressure is normal, I don’t need to take my blood pressure pills. Patients with kidney disease need to maintain a normal blood pressure and the use of specific blood pressure agents such as ACE-inhibitors and ARB agents help to protect the kidney against damage. So, in addition to maintaining control of the blood pressure, these agents are kidney-protective and should be taken as prescribed by your doctor.

28. With World Kidney Day quickly approaching, what is our Country and the Barbados Kidney Association has planned to promote and/or celebrate this day?

“This day was meant to build kidney disease awareness, educate those at risk about the importance of early detection and the critical role the kidneys play in maintaining our overall health.”

One of the things that could be of much benefit to us as a people would be to offer screening tests for the purpose of “early detection of the disease, especially those who might be at risk with diabetes, high blood pressure or family history. Keeping in mind that the disease can also lead to the risk for heart disease and stroke.”

Our citizens need to be kept alert and that day would be a great opportunity to promote awareness so people know that kidney disease is harmful but treatable.

Even if it’s only once a year, the Government needs to take more interest to be proactive in people’s health, sponsoring a Kidney Early Evaluation Program (KEEP).

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WOMEN IN CHINA DO NOT GET BREAST CANCER NOR MEN, PROSTATE CANCER!

By Prof. Jane Plant, PhD, CBE ¡­ ” Why I believe that giving up milk is the key to beating breast cancer…”

Extracted from the book “Your Life in Your Hands” by Professor Jane Plant

I had no alternative but to die or to try to find a cure for myself. I am a scientist – surely there was a rational explanation for this cruel illness that affects one in 12 women in the UK ?

I had suffered the loss of one breast, and undergone radiotherapy. I was now receiving painful chemotherapy, and had been seen by some of the country’s most eminent specialists. But, deep
    down, I felt certain I was facing death. I had a loving husband, a beautiful home and two young children to care for. I desperately wanted to live.

Fortunately, this desire drove me to unearth the facts, some of which were known only to a handful of
    scientists at the time.

Anyone who has come into contact with breast cancer will know that certain risk factors – such as increasing
    age, early onset of womanhood, late onset of menopause and a family history of breast cancer – are completely out of our control. But there are many risk factors, which we can control easily.

These “controllable” risk factors readily translate into simple changes that we can all make in our day-to-day lives to help prevent or treat breast cancer. My message is that even advanced breast cancer can be overcome because I have done it.

The first clue to understanding what was promoting my breast cancer came when my husband Peter, who was also a scientist, arrived back from working in China while I was being plugged in for a chemotherapy session.

He had brought with him cards and letters, as well as some amazing herbal suppositories, sent by my
    friends and science colleagues in China .

The suppositories were sent to me as a cure for breast cancer. Despite the awfulness of the situation, we both had a good belly laugh, and I remember saying that this was the treatment for breast cancer in China , then it was little wonder that Chinese women avoided getting the disease.

Those words echoed in my mind. Why didn’t Chinese women in China get breast cancer? I had collaborated once with Chinese colleagues on a study of links between soil chemistry and disease, and I remembered some of the statistics.

The disease was virtually non-existent throughout the whole country. Only one in 10,000 women in
    China will die from it, compared to that terrible figure of one in 12 in Britain and the even grimmer average of one in 10 across most Western countries. It is not just a matter of China being a more rural country, with less urban pollution. In highly urbanized Hong Kong , the rate rises to 34 women in every 10,000 but still puts the West to shame.

The Japanese cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki have similar rates. And remember, both cities were attacked with nuclear weapons, so in addition to the usual pollution-related cancers, one would also expect to find some radiation-related cases, too.

The conclusion we can draw from these statistics strikes you with some force. If a Western woman were to move to industrialized, irradiated Hiroshima , she would slash her risk of contracting breast cancer by half.
    Obviously this is absurd. It seemed obvious to me that some lifestyle factor not related to pollution, urbanization or the environment is seriously increasing the Western woman’s chance of contracting breast cancer.

I then discovered that whatever causes the huge differences in breast cancer rates between oriental and Western countries, it isn’t genetic.

Scientific research showed that when Chinese or Japanese people move to the West, within one or two generations their rates of breast cancer approach those of their host community.

The same thing happens when oriental people adopt a completely Western lifestyle in Hong Kong . In fact, the slang name for breast cancer in China translates as ‘Rich Woman’s Disease’. This is because, in China , only the better off can afford to eat what is termed ‘ Hong Kong food’.

The Chinese describe all Western food, including everything from ice cream and chocolate bars to spaghetti and feta cheese, as ” Hong Kong food”, because of its availability in the former British colony and its
    scarcity, in the past, in mainland China .

So it made perfect sense to me that whatever was causing my breast cancer and the shockingly high incidence in this country generally, it was almost certainly something to do with our better-off, middle-class, Western lifestyle.

There is an important point for men here, too. I have observed in my research that much of the data about prostate cancer leads to similar conclusions.

According to figures from the World Health Organization, the number of men contracting prostate cancer in rural China is negligible, only 0.5 men in every 100,000. In England, Scotland and Wales , however, this figure is 70 times higher. Like breast cancer, it is a middle-class disease that primarily attacks the wealthier
    and higher socio-economic groups ¨C those that can afford to eat rich foods.

I remember saying to my husband, “Come on Peter, you have just come back from China . What is it about the Chinese way of life that is so different?”

Why don’t they get breast cancer?’
    We decided to utilize our joint scientific backgrounds and approach it logically.

We examined scientific data that pointed us in the general direction of fats in diets.
    Researchers had discovered in the 1980s that only l4% of calories in the average Chinese diet were from fat, compared to almost 36% in the West.
    But the diet I had been living on for years before I contracted breast cancer was very low in fat and high in fibre.
    Besides, I knew as a scientist that fat intake in adults has not been shown to increase risk for breast cancer in most investigations that have followed large groups of women for up to a dozen years.

Then one day something rather special happened. Peter and I have worked together so closely over the years that I am not sure which one of us first said: “The Chinese don’t eat dairy produce!”

It is hard to explain to a non-scientist the sudden mental and emotional ‘buzz’ you get when you know you have had an important insight.. It’s as if you have had a lot of pieces of a jigsaw in your mind, and suddenly, in a few seconds, they all fall into place and the whole picture is clear.

Suddenly I recalled how many Chinese people were physically unable to tolerate milk, how the Chinese people I had worked with had always said that milk was only for babies, and how one of my close friends, who is of Chinese origin, always politely turned down the cheese course at dinner parties.

I knew of no Chinese people who lived a traditional Chinese life who ever used cow or other dairy food to feed their babies. The tradition was to use a wet nurse but never, ever, dairy products.

Culturally, the Chinese find our Western preoccupation with milk and milk products very strange. I remember entertaining a large delegation of Chinese scientists shortly after the ending of the Cultural Revolution in the 1980s.

On advice from the Foreign Office, we had asked the caterer to provide a pudding that contained a lot of ice cream. After inquiring what the pudding consisted of, all of the Chinese, including their interpreter,
    politely but firmly refused to eat it, and they could not be persuaded to change their minds.

At the time we were all delighted and ate extra portions!

Milk, I discovered, is one of the most common causes of food allergies . Over 70% of the world’s population are unable to digest the milk sugar, lactose, which has led nutritionists to believe that this is the normal condition for adults, not some sort of deficiency.
    Perhaps nature is trying to tell us that we are eating the wrong food.

Before I had breast cancer for the first time, I had eaten a lot of dairy produce, such as skimmed milk, low-fat cheese and yoghurt. I had used it as my main source of protein. I also ate cheap but lean minced beef, which I now realized was probably often ground-up dairy cow.

In order to cope with the chemotherapy I received for my fifth case of cancer, I had been eating organic yoghurts as a way of helping my digestive tract to recover and repopulate my gut with ‘good’ bacteria.

Recently, I discovered that way back in 1989 yoghurt had been implicated in ovarian cancer . Dr Daniel Cramer of Harvard University studied hundreds of women with ovarian cancer, and had them record in detail what they normally ate. wish I’d been made aware of his findings when he had first discovered them.
    Following Peter’s and my insight into the Chinese diet, I decided to give up not just yoghurt but all dairy produce immediately. Cheese, butter, milk and yoghurt and anything else that contained dairy produce – it went down the sink or in the rubbish.
    It is surprising how many products, including commercial soups, biscuits and cakes, contain some form of dairy produce. Even many proprietary brands of margarine marketed as soya, sunflower or olive oil spreads can contain dairy produce .
    I therefore became an avid reader of the small print on food labels. Up to this point, I had been steadfastly measuring the progress of my fifth cancerous lump with callipers and plotting the results. Despite all
    the encouraging comments and positive feedback from my doctors and nurses, my own precise observations told me the bitter truth.

My first chemotherapy sessions had produced no effect – the lump was still the same size.
    Then I eliminated dairy products. Within days, the lump started to shrink .
    About two weeks after my second chemotherapy session and one week after giving up dairy produce, the lump in my neck started to itch. Then it began to soften and to reduce in size. The line on the graph, which had shown no change, was now pointing downwards as the tumour got smaller and smaller.

And, very significantly, I noted that instead of declining exponentially (a graceful curve) as cancer is meant to do, the tumour’s decrease in size was plotted on a straight line heading off the bottom of the graph,
    indicating a cure, not suppression (or remission) of the tumour.

One Saturday afternoon after about six weeks of excluding all dairy produce from my diet, I practised an hour of meditation then felt for what was left of the lump. I couldn’t find it. Yet I was very experienced at
    detecting cancerous lumps – I had discovered all five cancers on my own. I went downstairs and asked my husband to feel my neck. He could not find any trace of the lump either.

On the following Thursday I was due to be seen by my cancer specialist at Charing Cross Hospital in London . He examined me thoroughly, especially my neck where the tumour had been. He was initially bemused and then delighted as he said, “I cannot find it.” None of my doctors, it appeared, had expected someone with my type and stage of cancer (which had clearly spread to the lymph system) to survive, let alone be so hale
    and hearty.

My specialist was as overjoyed as I was. When I first discussed my ideas with him he was understandably skeptical. But I understand that he now uses maps showing cancer portality in China in his lectures, and
    recommends a non-dairy diet to his cancer patients.

I now believe that the link between dairy produce and breast cancer is similar to the link between smoking and lung cancer. I believe that identifying the link between breast cancer and dairy produce, and then
    developing a diet specifically targeted at maintaining the health of my breast and hormone system, cured me.

It was difficult for me, as it may be for you, to accept that a substance as ‘natural’ as milk might have such ominous health implications. But I am a living proof that it works and, starting from tomorrow, I shall reveal the secrets of my revolutionary action plan.

Extracted from “Your Life in Your Hands” by Professor Jane Plant

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Weight loss

The way to shape up fast is no secret. Weight training will sculpt and build lean muscle, which (unlike fat) burns calories on its own; cardio (brisk walking, biking, jogging, etc.) will shed the fat hiding those defined muscles. I’m a cardio fan from way back (I love how it feels to get my heart rate up), but who wants to slog away on a treadmill in a dull gym, going nowhere fast (or slow, as the case may be)? Not me! Especially when you can spend less time and get better results.

The secret is intervals. Study subjects who spent just 20 minutes mixing sprints with jogging lost three times the fat off their legs and butt in 15 weeks, compared to those who jogged steadily for 40 minutes, research from the University of New South Wales in Sydney finds. Intervals may spark fat-mobilizing hormones, and they amp your cardio capacity so your future runs will actually feel easier.

I like relaxing runs, but if you do the same slog every day, you can suffer from what’s sometimes called “postman’s syndrome”—named for those who do the same walk every day and yet their bodies never change. Your muscles become so efficient at a movement over time that if you do it day after day and eat the same way, you never overtax your system and burn more calories to lose weight.
    The answer is to mix up your cardio either by changing your workout around or adding speedy bursts—meaning intervals. Intervals can be fun if you approach them right. Each one represents a mini goal—finish the 1-minute sprint, complete the 2-minute cooldown, and so on. I feel more pumped up doing this and never get bored. Check out Self.com’s workout archives for tons of cool cardio plans.

Try some interval workouts and share your experience (and success) at SELF’s Swap Fitness Secrets forum.

31. Some one just sent me this.
    I think it is interesting.
    It would be nice to hear what results folk get with it.

VICKS VapoRub – INTERESTING

ALSO REMINDS AYURVEDIC TREATMENT FOR EYE PROBLEMS WHERE YOU HAVE TO RUB PURE GHEE ON YOUR SOLES OF THE FEET WITH THE HELP OF A BRASS CUP.THIS EXERCISE ALSO HELPS TO STRENGHTEN THE LOWER ABDOMINAL MUSCLES AND HELPS LIVER TOO.

During a lecture on Essential Oils, they told us how the foot soles can absorb oils.

Their example: Put garlic on your feet and within 20 minutes you can ‘taste’ it.

Some of us have used Vicks Vapo Rub for years for everything from chapped lips

to sore toes and many body parts in between. But I’ve never heard of this. And

don’t laugh, it works 100% of the time, although the scientists who discovered it

aren’t sure why. To stop night time coughing in a child (or adult as we found out

personally), put Vicks Vapo Rub generously on the soles of your feet, cover with

socks, and the heavy, deep coughing will stop in about 5 minutes and stay stopped

for many, many hours of relief. Works 100% of the time and is more effective in

children than even very strong prescription cough medicines. In addition it is

extremely soothing and comforting and they will sleep soundly.

Just happened to tune in A..M. Radio and picked up this guy talking about why cough

medicines in kids often do more harm than good, due to the chemicals in them. This

method of using Vicks Vapo Rub on the soles of the feet was found to be more

effective than prescribed medicines for children at bed time. In addition it seems

to have a soothing and calming effect on sick children who then went on to sleep

soundly.

My wife tried it on herself when she had a very deep constant and persistent cough

a few weeks ago and it worked 100%! She said that it felt like a warm blanket had

enveloped her, coughing stopped in a few minutes. So she went from every few

seconds uncontrollable coughing, she slept cough-free for hours every night she

used it.

If you have grandchildren, pass this on. If you end up sick, try it yourself and you

will be amazed at how it works.

DON’T SHUN THIS ONE.. TRY IT THE NEXT TIME YOU GET A BAD COLD.

THE ONLY THING YOU CAN LOSE IS YOUR COUGH.

32. I immediately thought of Barbados when I read an article by the NKF about a survey which focused on socioeconomic factors, perceptions, fears and concerns about living donor transplantation and barriers to learning about transplant as a treatment option.

I wonder could the results of a similar survey in Barbados show that those who are scheduled to or have received transplants before starting dialysis are those with higher incomes, a higher level of education, and therefore more likely to have learned about treatment options from a doctor.

In Barbados, it seems that barriers to early transplantation among patients with progressive kidney disease is due to either a lack of a TIMELY REFERRAL by a health professional, or the fact that patients ARE NOT informed that transplantation has better outcomes if and when pursued early. Other factors maybe financial circumstances and potential psychosocial barriers, such as anxiety and misunderstanding about the process, along with reservations about findings and approaching a potential living donor.

Interestingly, responses from the survey suggests if early transplantation is to become a reality the renal nurse should reinforce the importance of timely education, advocacy and facilitate patient-physician communication.

33. Some of you might not find this funny…

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aclS1pGHp8o&hl=en_US&fs=1&]

34. Christopher Halsall // March 12, 2010 at 12:37 PM

OMG!!

35. @Georgie Porgie,

My wife would like to know if Bajans should be warned of any dangers associated with the use of MSG.

It is sold in Barbados and usually located on the Spices section.

36. Tips for Parents of Children with Chronic Kidney Disease

Having a child diagnosed with a chronic disease is life-altering and can present emotional, financial and practical challenges for parents. Connecting with others who have experienced similar situations can be very helpful. This month, the National Kidney Foundation has compiled a list of tips from parents of children with chronic kidney disease (http://www.kidney.org/news/ekidney/october10/Top6Tips_October10.cfm)

Kidney Patient Takes Health Matters into Her Own Hands (and Fists)
    Four years ago, 35-year old Aziza Myers of New York City received news from her doctor that should have changed her way of life. She had chronic kidney disease, resulting from untreated high blood pressure. But Aziza was in denial and she continued her unhealthy lifestyle until 18 months ago when she made the decision to take control of her health (http://www.kidney.org/news/ekidney/october10/AzizasStory_October10.cfm)

Daily Hemodialysis Improves Depression and Recovery Time
    Hemodialysis patients who transitioned from in-center to daily home dialysis experienced significant improvements in symptoms of depression and post-dialysis recovery times, according to a new report (http://www.kidney.org/news/ekidney/october10/Hemodialysis_October10.cfm) published in the American Journal of Kidney Diseases, the official journal of the National Kidney Foundation.

Source: National Kidney Foundation

37. Barbados is currently in the midst of a Dengue Epidemic.

But we hear nothing on the actions to address the issue. Regular and systematic fogging should be ongoing, together with heavy work from the Ministry of Health o n bushy areas and on water ponds.

Nothing comprehensive is being done.

With this spate of dengue, many many people have been hospitalised.

What gives?

38. I came across this article, “World’s 1st Artificial Kidney device by an Indian”

It sounds great and can’t come soon enough. I’m just hoping it comes to fruition soon and that Barbados which is so laid back, and all countries can take advantage of it to stop the suffering of those with kidney disease and save more lives.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/worlds-1st-artificial-kidney-device-by-an-indian/136510-17.html

39. This month is designated as Kidney Month and wanted to share the Videos below.

**Please Note** Ads are played before the video on actual subject is presented.

Dialysis Videos – http://www.mdjunction.com/dialysis/videos
    Kidney Transplant Videos – http://www.mdjunction.com/kidney-transplant/videos
    Kidney Stones Videos – http://www.mdjunction.com/kidney-stones/videos
    Diabetes Type 2 Videos – http://www.mdjunction.com/diabetes-type-2/videos
    Organ Transplants Videos – http://www.mdjunction.com/organ-transplants/videos

40. David

What is one to make of the statement by BAMP President that Cuban trained doctors are not up to scratch? Manning had surgery there and Chavez also underwent a procedure there.The B’dos Gov’t is facilitating the travel arrangements of many Bajans to travel there to have eye surgery,

Perhaps Cuban trained doctors are like doctors trained in other places some are good and some not so good.

BTW are there any Cuban trained doctors practicing in B’dos? Is the Gov’t providing assistance to would be doctors to train in Cuba?

Interesting statement.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/doubts-over-cuban-trained-doctors/

41. Agreed, good point. You can pretty much guarantee that Manning would not come to Barbados for surgery.

Further than that, Chavez? Must be joking. This sounds like a fight for territory.

Of course, just as there are some excellent doctors here, there are those who are incompetent, so it must be in Cuba.

So, what is BAMP’s point? As I said, territory. Perhaps BAMP chairman will be happy to enlighten us as to why all of the bigups have surgery in New York, not here?

What did he say about Cuba?

42. Thanks Sargeant!

43. I tend to agree with BAMP. Not that all UWI doctors are up to scratch, but how can you be so good at a language you have only learnt for six months as to follow lectures clearly in a specialist subject? This is the first problem. Why is there a need to go to Cuba to study medicine anyway? Are all Cuban hospitals that well equipped? Having great doctors does not mean great teaching or learning.

44. Regarding to the medical treatment in the BJT (Barbados, Trinidad, Jamcia) triumverate, vs Cuba…here we have a case where 223 patients in T&T have received extensive doses of radiation, due to miscalibration of a machine.

You might blame this on technical issues, not the doctors, but is medicine not the ‘whole deal’ of treatment?

I doubt this would have happened in Cuba.

By the way, I am told by a patients family that a specialist here told them that the machine here is also miscalibrated. Dont know for sure, that is what the family member told me.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/CANCER_SHOCKER-125122789.html

45. I found the following site to be very informative…

http://www.patientslikeme.com/

46. Kidney disease is becoming more and more rampant because many of us are not as vigilant as we should be with our health.

When the doctor orders lab tests, there are a few things that you need to do to keep abreast:
    a. request a copy of your results – do not accept any excuse from your doctor – the results are readily available
    b. compare your results with the normal range shown on the paper
    c. if outside the range – ask the doctor to explain what it means in layman English – it could be a warning – catch before it is too late.

Top 5 Most Important Kidney Health Numbers
    The numbers that are especially important in predicting kidney health – and what’s in the normal range?

1. Estimated GFR number – Measures kidney function, over 60 is normal, under 60, talk to your doctor. GFR, or glomerular filtration rate, tells you how well your kidneys are doing their job of filtering the blood. More info on this test here (link to GFR page)

2. Blood Pressure Reading – High blood pressure leads to kidney disease. Normal blood pressure is 120/80. If the upper number is over 140 and the lower number is above 90, your blood pressure is too high.

3. Albumin to Creatinine Ratio – Estimates the amount of protein found in your urine in a day. Protein in the urine is one of the earliest signs of kidney disease. Less than 30 is normal, over 30, talk to your doctor.

4. Total Cholesterol – Over 200, you may be at risk for heart disease.

5. Blood Glucose Check – Checks for diabetes, the leading cause of kidney failure. While fasting: over 125 and after eating: over 200 indicates diabetes.

Source: National Kidney Foundation

47. @Dr. GP a friend sent this link to me. As a layman I can only comment on the presentation.

The “science” is above my pay grade.

http://www2.macleans.ca/2011/09/20/on-the-evils-of-wheat-why-it-is-so-addictive-and-how-shunning-it-will-make-you-skinny/

48. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer