The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. (My personal note)
    I am highly supportive of the efforts of the Covid-19 team. They have done a superb job.

I understand the need to have tourists visit the island. however, the process reminds me of filtering and using water from a dirty source.

2. The lack of transparency creates models some true some half truth and some skisms
    It is govt job not to create such models by telling the naked truth

3. Okay. It is obviously Bajans, who continue to let their guard down as the numbers go down. The same Bajans who complain when they have no work and no money.

Reducing our dependence on tourism is a long-term goal. We are stuck with it in the short-term.

By the way, I hear some of the victims of Hurricane Elsa believe the Government should build them “wall houses”!

4. The problem is, you misuse, over use and misrepresent the word “transparency” because it is politically expedient for you to do so…….. it falls in line with your narrow political agenda.

5. ArtaxJuly 12, 2021 7:23 PM

The problem is, you misuse, over use and misrepresent the word “transparency” because it is politically expedient for you to do so…….. it falls in line with your narrow political agenda.
    Xxxxxx

The problem wid u uh kant help but poke yuh nose in every thing I say
    Phew
    Sicko
    Go get a life

6. Now Bostic got three demons to wrestle to the ground
    Alpha
    Gamma and Delta
    What a ting doah
    First there was one now there is three
    As the ole saying goes three counts yuh out
    Bostic muh boy this thing not easy

7. It goes BOTH WAYS my friend, because you always RESPOND to my comments, even when I DO NOT MENTION your name.

Your behaviour on BU is consistent with Paranoid Personality Disorder (PPD). I’ll give a few examples.

People suffering from PPD often look for the negative in every situation or interaction, which is clearly evident in all your contributions. They also interpret innocent comments as threats or impersonal social interactions as personal attacks……. generally believing people are constantly trying to demean, harm, or threaten them. It is as a result of an inherent suspicion about the motives of people, even if it’s completely unfounded.

Other characteristics of PPD are being overly aggressive, stubborn, argumentative and defensive. You are hypersensitive and take criticism poorly……. to which you quickly retaliate with anger. Even when you’re proven to be wrong, you’re unable to move forward from an argument……. you must ‘have the last word.’

You don’t have a life that’s the reason why you continually try to make yourself relevant to this forum, even if it means fabricating information or maliciously misrepresenting the truth.

Hence, it’s clearly obvious you’re the “sicko” here……. in need of psychiatric help.

8. Hmmm
    I never knew that
    However I take your advice for what it is of worth
    Nothing 😂😂😂🤣😂😂

9. George’s caution
    CMO urges Bajans not to panic over Covid-19 case spike
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY colvillemounsey@nationnews.com
    BARBADIANS ARE BEING urged to temper their fears over the recent spike in COVID-19 cases, as it is still too early to say if the island is going through its third wave of the pandemic.
    This word of caution comes from Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George, who told the MIDWEEK NATION that the rise in cases currently does not yet meet the statistical definition of a wave.
    The Chief Medical Officer’s comments came on the same day that several restaurateurs, both fast food and fine dining, expressed some nervousness over the development which has resulted in a tightening of protocols, including a return of the 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. curfew.
    However, George said he would be in a position to state if the country was indeed undergoing a third wave or if tighter measures were needed after he monitored the trends over the next two weeks.
    “I can’t give that confirmation yet, it is too early to say. We are following the issue very closely and a pronouncement would be made at a later date. So, we are monitoring the spike, it has come down a bit, we can’t rush and make a decision based on one spike because that is not how we do good public health. We have to look at the trends over a two-week period and see where it is at and then we would be able to make an informed comment,” said George.
    He further explained: “We need to look at the number of cases presented over time. There is a statistical method that we use to decide if there is a wave. People need to bear in mind that one
    spike does not equate to a wave, a spike is just that. If we start to see multiple spikes and multiple upward trends, then that is a different story. As it stands now, we have to see where the trends take us before we can determine if we are in a third wave.”
    However, managers and owners of six prominent restaurants said the latest development was eerily similar to the start of the country’s two previous lockdowns.
    Owner of Champer’s Restaurant Cheril Newman said the reversion to the 11 p.m. curfew would result in some loss of business, but said the situation was manageable provided that numbers did not rise resulting in a further tightening of restrictions at a time when her business was just starting to pick up momentum. She explained that were this situation to escalate to the point of a shutdown, it would be the death knell of her business and several others in the sector.
    Must finish earlier
    “The return to curfew will impact us in that we will have to finish earlier as we would now have to stop serving by 10 p.m. and have all bills closed in order to give our staff the hour to get home. So it impacts on you because you can no longer do 8:30 p.m. reservations and upwards, you are essentially back to your very early dining. I am happy that we are able to do some dining as opposed to a lockdown because I don’t know any restaurant business that would be able to survive it,” said Newman.
    Manager of Tide’s Restaurant Jimion Yarde shared a similar sentiment, noting that their establishment had already reverted to their early dining protocols. He said, however, they simply could not sustain another closure of any kind.
    “The 11 p.m. curfew is not ideal for the restaurant business, but it is still something that we can
    work through, as we have been doing in recent months to counter the threat that is currently facing the country. The thing that worries me is that I don’t think that this sector, or any business for that matter, can sustain any further blows in the form of lockdowns. So we are really hoping that it does not get to that point,” he said,” also sparing a thought for entertainers who plied their trade on the restaurant circuit.
    Manager of the Burger King franchise Ryan Walters and owner of Cocktail Kitchen, Damien Leach both said their establishments were in a wait-and-see mode.
    “I am nervous because this is how it starts with two weeks first then before we know it mushrooms into something bigger. We really cannot take a shutdown of any kind; we are just starting to get back on track with our bills and rent. I will take the curfew any day because we can remain open and generate some business, but a shut down will be the end,” Leach stressed.

10. Truth vs Covid-19 misinformation
    THE COVID-19 GLOBAL PANDEMIC has been accompanied by misinformation – also known as fake news – and even conspiracy theories, about the virus, how it spreads, and the effectiveness of our efforts in controlling the pandemic.
    The issue was so bad that the Director General of the World Health Organisation (WHO) Dr Tedros Ghebreyesus warned that “we’re not just fighting a pandemic; we’re fighting an infodemic. Fake news spreads faster and more easily than this virus, and is just as dangerous”.
    Who is starting this misinformation?
    The misinformation arises from many sources. We have had presidents of countries, in places like United States and Brazil, who downplayed the potential danger posed by COVID-19, and stated that this virus “is just like the flu”, and “in a few days all will be gone”. We have had a head of government promote unproven (and dangerous) therapies, including bleach injections.
    We have had people who claimed to be doctors state, in front of a battery of news cameras, that they had identified “the cure for COVID-19” and that they had saved the lives of hundreds of people who had developed the disease. [At the same time as they are saying this, the ticker tape at the side of the television screen shows the large number of people in that country who had died from COVID-19].
    How is this misinformation spread?
    Communication has moved on from the three Ts: “telegraph, telephone or tell it to a woman”.
    The source of news can conveniently be separated into two categories: the conventional media, like radio, newspapers and television, attract one set of people, while newer “social” media, including private messaging apps and streaming sites, generally present their own set of facts and have their own audiences.
    One main feature that separates these two categories is the age of the audience, with younger people more closely aligned to the new social media.
    Social media, like Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram, encourage people to share their views with everyone willing to tune in: anyone and everyone can be a publisher. These sites have many millions of followers around the world, but also encourage contributors anxious for fame and fortune, even if they have to serve up “alternative facts”.
    The “private” messaging apps, like WhatsApp, Messenger and TikTok, among others, allow encrypted messages to be spread among people without any (or precious little) scrutiny. “Alternative facts” can also be spread through this media like a wildfire.
    Person to person messaging: this is simply “gossiping”. Gossip is known to “increase in intensity” as it moves along the people chain. Fake news is spread person to person, sometimes through ignorance, and sometimes through maliciousness. Either scenario is dangerous, especially when it refers to public health.
    Generally, genuine public health messages cannot compete with the volume of misinformation generated on even a daily basis. And as most people may have realised by now, once fake news gets a head start, even Usain Bolt may not be able to catch it. Public health messages, which seek to promote the truth, cannot compete head-to-head with the untruths generated by fake news sources.
    What ‘misinformation’ is being spread?
    Some of the misinformation includes: The pharmaceutical industry invented COVID-19 to promote sales of vaccines and other medications.
    COVID-19 was developed by the Chinese government as a type of biological weapon to reduce non-Chinese populations.
    Vaccines don’t work.
    Vaccines cause autism.
    The COVID-19 vaccine re-writes your DNA.
    The COVID-19 vaccine will cause long-term complications.
    Vaccines make you magnetic.
    The COVID-19 vaccines are causing COVID-19 variants.
    There is a micro-chip in the COVID-19 vaccine which will allow the government (or Bill Gates) to control you.
    The unfortunate result, from a public health point of view, is that people who listen and “embrace” some of this misinformation, are generally less willing to follow public health recommendations, like wearing masks, getting tested for the virus, and coming out for the vaccine.
    How should we respond?
    Psychological theory (“the science”) states that the best way of dealing with misinformation is to establish a head start in the provision of genuine
    information: the truth. Our public health officials need to step up their efforts in health promotion if they wish to head-off fake news.
    When the misinformation gets a head start, and especially when some of the misinformation has an element of truth, for example, the pharmaceutical industry is making millions of dollars from COVID-19, then conspiracy theories will attract a crowd. And COVID-19 loves crowds. But these officials also need to identify their target audiences, and identify the most appropriate strategies to reach each target group. This is one way of saying: “one size does not fit all”. This gives us the best chance of keeping ahead of the pandemic.
    As this pandemic seems to go on and on, COVID-19 fatigue will continue to grow, as will the reluctance to follow safety protocols and the pressure to return to the good old (pre-COVID-19 open economy) days.
    This is very dangerous, and can easily trigger a surge in the number of cases. Prevention, in terms of a targeted health information campaign, is always better than cure.
    Dr Colin V. Alert MB BS, DM is a family physician.

11. The Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory identified 17 new COVID-19 cases – six males and 11 females – from the 898 tests conducted on Tuesday, July 13.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/14/100-covid-isolation/

12. cibcfcib
    class 4 primary school

13. @Hants

We have to coexist with the virus. As time passes and we learn more about the virus (including its variants) we will have to modify protocols; individual behaviours etc.

14. @ David,

June 22, 2021

First shot was Pfizer and just got Moderna for second shot.

Have been ” fully vaccinated ” for 23 days but still wearing a mask indoors when shopping.

15. The way to go Hants.

16. The entire Class Four at St Jude’s Primary School is in quarantine after two students tested positive for COVID-19.

Reports reaching Loop News indicate that 31 students were quarantined after two students in the same class, tested positive for COVID-19.

Chief medical officer, Dr Kenneth George confirmed that one of the positive cases is connected to a cluster in St George with a family of 12.

When contacted, Dr George told Loop News that Ministry of Health officials are investigating and the “standard contact tracing will apply”.

A source informed Loop News that teaching staff, as well as ancillary, are in quarantine and will be re-tested in the next five days.

17. BTMI: Travellers with mixed COVID-19 jabs considered fully vaccinated

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/15/btmi-travellers-mixed-covid-19-jabs-considered-fully-vaccinated/

18. 17 new COVID cases for second consecutive day

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/15/17-new-covid-second-consecutive-day/

19. CTV news Toronto is reporting that Barbados is not allowing travellers who mixed vaccines.

A Canadian couple cancelled their Barbados honeymoon and is going to the Dominican Republic instead.

BTMI needs to get a clear message to Canadian travellers.

20. @Hants

What is the Barbados Embassy up there doing to earn our tax dollars?

21. @ David,

waiting for Glyne Clarke . lol lol

22. @David/Hants
    This is official Barbados Gov’t policy
    Here is what I wrote on June 24 in the blog “Gone Haywire”

“@Hants
    Earlier you wrote that you were scheduled to receive a second shot of Moderna following your first dose of AstraZeneca.
    Don’t know if you plan to visit Bim soon but a little bird told me that the Min of Health in Barbados doesn’t acknowledge the mixing of vaccines so to be fully certified as having been vaccinated one must have the full regime of a specific vaccine.
    If you go you will have to follow protocol for unvaccinated visitot/guest”

Unless the Gov’t has a change of heart, some folks may be disapointed

23. @ Sargeant I did not get AstraZeneca. my senior moment.

I got Pfizer and Moderna second dose.

I don’t plan to visit Barbados any time soon.

24. @ Sargeant,

“Effective July 16, travellers with mixed coronavirus (COVID-19) vaccines will be categorised as “fully vaccinated”.

A statement issued through Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. today said this is the latest decision as Government continues to review and update its travel protocols for entry.”

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Hants/Sarge
    The mixing was a decision of political expediency. The needle on efficacy moved all ovah de place.
    The inter country acceptance is another ⚽ being kicked around. I think it’s called diplomacy.

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/16/covid-19-update-11-new-positive-cases-123-in-isolation/

1213 tests done on Thursday 15 July. 11 people or 0.9 % were found to be infected with Covid 19.

97,243 people out of a total population of 288,000 have received at least one vaccination. 73,006 have received 2 vaccinations.

About 60,000 people in Barbados are children, that is people who are younger than 18.

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I am expecting some fully vaccinated kinsfolk from the Great White North to visit soon. I love family visits and I don’t care if that family originated in Africa, Asia, Europe or where ever…family is family…and all good.

Hugs, shared meals, conversations, sea baths, photo-ops, sometimes even shared gardening, lol! What is there not to love.

28. Considered the first on-site cutting-edge PCR testing lab in the region, the facility is located at the Crane Resort Barbados and provides incoming and outgoing travellers with a “dream experience” while navigating the COVID-19 process.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/17/new-testing-facility-at-crane-ready/

29. @Hants

Rigour is being built in as we learn more about the virus and from mistakes made.

30. Denmark is the most recent country to put the UK on the red travel list. And an Asian Conservative MP, The Minister of Health, is the latest person to have contracted Covid-19 and he has been double jabbed! We may be heading for another lockdown if we are not careful.

Is Minister Cummins cognisant of the situation in the UK?

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/17/covid-19-update-10-new-cases-141-in-isolation/

1048 tests done on Friday 16 July. 10 people or 0.9 % were found to be infected with Covid 19.

97,714 people out of a total population of 288,000 have received at least one vaccination. 73,137 have received 2 vaccinations.

About 60,000 people in Barbados are children, that is people who are younger than 18.

32. FREEDOM !!!!

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/18/covid-19-update-seven-new-cases-152-in-isolation/

1074 tests done on Saturday 17 July. 7 people or 0.65 % were found to be infected with Covid 19.

97,874 people out of a total population of 288,000 have received at least one vaccination. 73,179 have received 2 vaccinations.

34. BU family;

Here’s a webpage that produces daily up to date data on Covid-19 incidence in Barbados
    https://coronalevel.com/Barbados/

35. Thanks Lyall.

People are asking for more details about the incidence of the variants and infections associated with visitors. Wishful thinking?

36. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/19/covid-19-update-11-new-cases-151-in-isolation/

739 tests done on Sunday 18 July 11 people or 1.48 % were found to be infected with Covid 19.

98,206 people out of a total population of 288,000 have received at least one vaccination. 73,427 have received 2 vaccinations.

37. IGRUNT WRASSE WHOLE IDIOTS.

TORONTO — A party in Whitby that hosted some 2,000 guests was broken up by Durham Regional Police Sunday night.

It happened on Ashburn Road, between Brawley and Columbus roads, at what police described as a large house on a 15-acre property.

https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/we-were-outnumbered-police-break-up-party-with-over-2-000-guests-in-whitby-ont-1.5514610

38. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/20/covid-19-update-23-new-cases-164-in-isolation/

1144 tests done on Monday 19 July 23 people or 2.01 % were found to be infected with Covid 19.

98,281 people out of a total population of 288,000 have received at least one vaccination. 73,490 people have received 2 vaccinations.

39. Health authorities are reporting several new COVID-19 clusters, a week after curfew and other measures were reintroduced after a spike in cases, and there are indications that businesses and churches could have their protocols adjusted.

Without giving specifics at this stage, Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George said on Tuesday that clusters in several families were also challenging for authorities

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/21/churches-businesses-identified-among-biggest-places-of-concern/

40. Dr George told Barbados TODAY on Tuesday: “The big business cluster is still active…. There is another business, very active; there is a family in St George; there are two families in St Lucy…or a very large family in St Lucy; plus a business house in St Lucy. We have some other cases we are trying to link to other major groups, but we are trying to get a hold of the situation.”

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/21/covid-19-update-10-new-cases-165-in-isolation/

1288 tests done on Tuesday 20 July 10 people or 0.77 % were found to be infected with Covid 19.

98,450 people out of a total population of 288,000 have received at least one vaccination. 73,621 people have received 2 vaccinations.

42. A non-playing member of West Indies tested positive for COVID-19 and the second One-day International at Kensington oval postponed.

43. GAIA ?

44. 11 new virus cases, 181 in isolation

45. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/23/covid-19-update-11-new-cases-181-insolation/

1675 tests done on Thursday 22 July, 11 people or 0.65 % were found to be infected with Covid 19.

98,772 people out of a total population of 288,000 have received at least one vaccination. 73,953 people have received 2 vaccinations.