Submitted by Concerned Bajan

Government of the People Must Listen to the People. A government of the people, elected by the people, must listen to the people. The authority granted through electoral victory is temporary and conditional, it must be exercised with humility and accountability.

Seven years into its term,this government must be minded to reflect on the above principles. It must prioritize building bridges rather than burning them, for the trust of the people is never guaranteed and must never be taken for granted. Likewise, the traditional silence or docility of Barbadians should not be misinterpreted as ignorance of civics or democratic rights.

Before the 2018 general elections, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) rightly called out the then-ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) for poor governance, lack of transparency, and erosion of public accountability. It would be both ironic and disappointing if, having come to power on those promises, the BLP were now to follow a similar path.

One issue that weighs heavily on the minds of many Barbadians is the rise in crime. In this context, the public largely supports the concept of legal wiretapping to enhance national security. However, this support does not and must not extend to warrantless or unlawful surveillance.

Barbados, as a small democracy, has already had a troubling experience with illegal wiretapping and the unauthorized interception of citizens’ communications. As such, public trust is fragile, and the line between protection and intrusion must be carefully observed.

To restore and preserve this trust, any monitoring authority responsible for surveillance must be fully independent from any political interference and beyond the influence of the ruling party. Its leadership should not be drawn from individuals with controversial pasts, especially those previously implicated in unlawful actions, such as former Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin who was removed amid allegations of unauthorized wiretapping or any of his associates.

National security must never come at the expense of civil liberties or democratic oversight. Let us not sacrifice the principles that define us as a free society in the name of safety. If we do, we risk becoming unrecognizable to ourselves.

Democratic governance demands humility, accountability, and above all, respect for the people. The power entrusted to elected officials is a privilege not a right and it is one that must always be exercised. Let not create days which become funny nights.

75 responses to “Wiretapping in Barbados: a public concern”

1. Moanin’
    I often mention that the Bu is fa forum or people to moan and groan like a woman whine and grine and a waste of time that changes nothing except allowing people to vent and get things off their chest… but it seems that there is a feedback loop where Government address the public concerns that are put out in public domain and picked up by media, and opposition even though it can be more an exercise for mitigation and CYA covering your ass with the tools in the trade like consultations, inquires etc that are tricks in the book to pretend due process was considered before implementation.
    When Mia spake of conspiracy theorists hypotheses she may have been referring to the push push in the Bush man

2. The Mottley government could win public trust by enacting and operationalizing a full suite of transparency laws. How can a prime minister and government call for citizens to hold themselves accountable but join her predecessors by ignoring a robust governance framework i.e. holding themselves accountable.

3. “When Mia spake of conspiracy theorists hypotheses she may have been referring to the push push in the Bush man”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Very possible!!
    But…
    -Who were the ‘conspiracy theorists’ with Covid19 – now that the FACTS are available…?
    -Who is now PROVEN to have been right, having predicted that our asses would be grass if we did not turn AWAY from brassbowlery?
    -…and the REAL joke is that wunna ain’t even see NOTHING yet….

However…
    It also signifies that you are not doing very well in your consultancy role here on BU.

You need to straighten up and refocus – else you will find yourself back on the unemployed roll….
    You let TheO chase you off the lotta shiite U-tube posts, and forced you to change your Mary-J brand – and it ain’t wukking fuh yuh!!

Yuh betta ‘de-construct and re-construct’ yuh!!
    Murduh!!

4. BushMaN Propaganda is of a low quality on par with Israel where there is no point even giving it any attention or dignifying it with a response. But for the record I do not work as a Consultant for any Government so that conspiracy theory should return up your ass where it came from.

One theory I just made up is David and Bush are Ralph acolytes.
    Who will be laughing or crying the loudest cum next election?
    Supporting politicians is on a hiding for nothing, nowadays they will twist a message like the Republicans and their pussy hole followers.

I never give Theo much thought as he is mindlessly stupid which is why you think he is a clever smart ass.

Psalm 68:2
    A smoke has been driven, so drive them away
    As wax melt before the fire, so shall they melt away

And if a wicked, a wicked pay
    And if a righteousness, yes, a righteous pay

Melt away, melt away, melt away
    Like ice cream

He who sits in the heaven shall laugh
    For Jah shall have them in derision
    Batter them, batter them, batter them to pieces

5. Oppose Intercept Communication law but clamouring for FOI law, or pretending? BU too sweet.

6. @Enuff

Your last comment makes no rh sense.

7. @Enuff

The question is: did the Mottley government promise the country to enact and execute on transparency legislation. Yes or No.

8. Okay. With that nonsensical comment, I hereby write off Enuff as a credible commenter on ANY topic.

9. Who was proven to be right about covid? Right about what?

10. @000 (my hero): “I never give Theo much thought as he is mindlessly stupid which is why you think he is a clever smart ass.”

I am glad that you eased up on the herb, but I fear that in your withdrawal you have become a mean and angry person. As I know this withdrawal phase will pass, I will encourage you to continue to leave the herb alone. Often, progress comes with a degree of pain and (for you) I will suffer gladly.

11. I see that (not) enuff is still throwing stuff on the wall and pretending that he has a valid point or bested someone in the discussion …

What gem will we get next
    Oppose Intercept Communication law but not given up your phones? BU too sweet.
    or
    “Discussing assisting the police in making an arrest of a possibly armed and dangerous criminal, but still calling the police when trouble comes to your door? BU too sweet?
    or

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@David August 19, 2025 at 6:26 am
    The answer is easy #gimmedevote #watchmuh
    There has been a systematic, continued dismantling of governance.
    What the former admin of the GoB began, this crew has enlarged and perfected. Barely one of those stinking Colonial type reports.
    To pelt it in wunnah faces, after no NIS Annual Report in 15+ years, they fold the NIS into a new entity the NISSS, tells nobody what assets/liabilities were transferred, and to make the fuck-u-all complete, are already behind on any reporting from the NISSS.
    They en even using a little Vaseline, just raw timbers up ya ass. #tekdat
    And the cherry on the top, is the AudGen confirms his office HAS reports to 2017, NOT ONE has been shared as required by LAW. The same laws of Barbados we seem concerned about in other areas.
    #deyennolaws #WEisdelaw

13. 100% correct @ Northern

14. @ David

This whole situation here has gone way past the party faithfuls coming here to try and sway opinion. I would bet when the faithfuls alone with no listening devices around, they too are ashamed of where we now are.

We have a MOF presenting a budget this year without any audited information from most of the state’s largest entities. This is not just a lack of last year’s audited figures either, but a lack of years gone bye ones as well. I therefore deem what was presented no more than ” guestimates” at the very best.

As for the NISSS that is a whole other ball game. No audited figures, no independent valuation of assets, no bad debt allocation with the captain sailing in the dark with no compass or chart. I would end by saying no publically shared financials for years either, but Northern says the financials are available, but the state frighten and shame to share them.

As for the crime situation and lack of real attempts to address it, well a blind man could see that. Use all the poles and lights wunna put up for cricket and mount monitored cameras pun them. Do the same with the walkover by the pine and the colums over the road wunna put up for license checking and probably never use. Open an impound facility and start taking these offenders off the road and inpounding their vehicles. Let them go court and pay the dam fine, then go to the pound and pay the state storage fees to get back dem blasted vehicle as well! The problem we got is we don’t want to offend the electorate in such a manner, so instead we come with window tint and wire tapping as a solution. Then wunna wonder how we get here. We get here cause the criminals laughing at wunna cause all dem seeing is new laws with nuff talk and no action.

15. @John A

Unfortunately the general public has little interest in these non sexy matters. It is why we tend to allow ourselves to be manipulated like puppets by the political class.

16. David
    Whistle-blower and Integrity legislation done. Something the government you sang loudly for pre-2008 failed to achieve in 10 years 6 months.. I saw job ads for the Integrity Commission a few months back, did you, Bushie or any of the BU intelligentsia apply? But you missed my point as usual, both intercept and FOI are intended to identify crime but can be abused fuh maliciousing, both in the colloquial and formal sense. Wait until FOI comes, and the letters start asking about contracts whether above or below board. Ironically, the advent of FOI will make many of BU stories and comments moot points. Then again, we’re the same people who oppose cyber security legislation. BU too sweet.

PS: Ask Bushie if fixing Melvin Hill Bridge is still a waste ah money.

17. I do not oppose the wiretapping laws now that the offending warrantless interception clause has been removed.

18. Boss…
    If Enuff’s thinking skills are in ANY way representative of the BLP’s … and hence the Barbados governments’ …
    Then our donkeys should prepare for even TALLER grass than the bushman had previously predicted…

Do you get the impression that their thinking is that, once they can sit around a table and ‘pass’ a lotta shiite legislation (mostly in secret – UNTIL CASWELL exposes the distinct smell to the public), …borrow from Tom, Mandela and Xi (to be paid back by the children of those of us who HAVE children) … Then all is hunky dory.

But ALL or their legislation turns out to be FLAWED.
    There is to consultation,
    No thinking
    No plan B
    …and hence NO positive RESULTS.

Meanwhile, there is NO REPORT of where all the money has gone….

“The advent of FOI’ is yet ANOTHER FALSE PROMISE from Ms Mottley….
    Like the promise of a HOPE report – made in our HIGHEST court – to the whole world.
    Like the promise of a referendum re the Republic…
    Like a lotta other blasted LIES…
    Steupsss!

Please tell Enuff that what Bushie says CAN INDEED be ignored, as no one listens…

HOWEVER anyone who puts their ears to the ground will note that many brass bowl Bajans are beginning to notice that the Empress is indeed naked – except for the omnipresent scarf… and EVEN BLP hacks are now calling for the head of the AG….

What does Enuff think they will call for – when it becomes clear that the OLD AG (now PM) is STILL calling the shots, as evident by her TV appearance last week.

Don’t spot yuh light on stinking Bushie Skippa
    Wunna got darkness Enuff dat want lighting up…

19. Dear White People
    Dear Black Pople
    Can a white president whitewash history of slavery
    He must be a racist president for racist population
    Linking Racism and Slavery should be teachable moments
    Are Anti-Americanism and Antisemitism justifiable deflections of truth
    Is Nationalism and Anti-immigration politics more racism manifestation

20. @ David

Weren’t the window tint and wiretapping laws recommended by the police?

Excessively dark window tint could conceal illegal activities, contraband, firearms, or the immediate observation of a vehicle’s occupants, thereby creating difficulties for police officers to access certain situations, identify potential threats, and posing a significant risk to officer safety, while they approach vehicles during traffic stops, for example.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Wait until FOI comes, and the letters start asking about contracts whether above or below board. Ironically, the advent of FOI will make many of BU stories and comments moot points.”
    You truly can write some shite.
    Distract from the abominable failure to provide information required by law, to some new method of providing information (FOI..Freedom of Information) the GoB has been unable to provide under the laws of Barbados?
    FOI requires PEOPLE to respond to FOI requests. And they have to be able to access the information requested.
    Entities like Business Barbados (formerly. CAIPO) still has trouble approving a simple Change of Director form in 8 months, the BRA you are lucky to even get an acknowledgement when they owe you money, and somebody is to believe FOI will function?
    Are we to believe either of these entities (amongst many others) can reply to FOI requests when they can’t even provide the status of submissions which have been PREpaid.
    #allhandsondeck
    There is nobody down below to do the grunt work.
    The current turnaround on probate? another too sweet BU thread.
    But we could write and pass legislation at a voluminous rate.
    Any other pie-in-the-sky sweet terms or acronyms to distract and shift focus?
    Maybe the Commercial Paper Act, to ensure the GoB doesn’t offer higher returns to $US Bonds it issues, than $BDD Bonds?

22. @Enuff

What is the saying,,,fool me once…

23. @Artax

All probably agree that some standard needs to be implemented governing tint windows on vehicles. The issue as it always is with government, poor implementation.

Wiretapping is one of those murky issues we have posted on for years. If we are to listen to Minister Abrahams recent validation, wiretapping has been used as a crime fighting tool by police for years, ‘illegally’. With the spike in crime the government seems to agree it is time to make it ‘official’.

24. Wasn’t it a ruling from the CCJ that has caused them to set up a legal framework with guardrails. What they were doing before was problematic. Still tried to sneak in those warrantless tapings though. Kudos to those who spotted it and marched. Unfortunately, I was unaware.

25. All probably agree that some standard needs to be implemented governing tint windows on vehicles.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Yuh think!!!??
    …and was needed from the VERY START!!

Same shiite with these ‘motor bicycles’ that have come on the scene – and where everyone is being allowed to do as they like – WITHOUT ANY GUIDANCE.
    When shit inevitably hits a big fan, we will hear Enuff bragging about how they are ‘turning to China for a loan to regulate the problem’….

BTW…
    What police ask for what tint control what!!
    The damn police asked for long outstanding VACANCIES to be filled..
    …for timely promotions and appointments to be made
    …for a working COURT system
    …to be left ALONE to do their REAL damn work
    …and for PROPER resources to operate effectively

The first talk of tint fines came from the PM, in lieu of anything else coherent to say about the spiraling murders – and in fact it was in reference to COLLECTING more MONEY from already overtaxed Bajan brass bowls.
    As usual once there was push back, someone ELSE (the police) became the fall guy….

Basic COMMON SENSE dictates that the police will approach a dark tinted vehicle using the same tactics as they use with a panel van, a dirty vehicle, or even with a mad-looking BB.

What a place…
    Even BASIC issues quickly become crises…

26. @ David

We could engage in a silly ‘back and forth’ argument about whether or not the proposed window tint laws were initiated by ‘government’ or police.

The fact remains that such laws are NOT UNIQUE to Barbados, and have been IMPLEMENTED in countries worldwide, for REASONS SIMILAR to those proposed for this island.

The laws exist in regional territories such as Antigua & Barbuda, St. Lucia, Dominica, Grenada, Saba, Trinidad & Tobago.
    The window tint regulations of Martinique, which is an overseas department of France and a member of the EU, align with French national regulations.
    The government of St. Vincent & the Grenadines is currently working on legislation to regulate vehicle window tinting.

EU member states, USA and the UK, for example, all have window tint laws.

In the USA, police conduct traffic stops on vehicles if they have probable cause to believe the tint VIOLATES state law.
    They are also ‘armed’ with window tint meters, which are used to ensure tinted windows are of a legal standard.

What makes Barbados DIFFERENT?

Or is it that members of the BU intelligentsia would’ve supported window tint laws, if they were implemented by anyone other than Mottley?

Should we also CONCLUDE the police in the aforementioned countries LACK ‘basic common sense?’

27. Agree for the most part with your last comment @Artax. Our problem is that the public trust has become so eroded that we have become mired in ‘talk’.

28. Ri Ri

29. @ David

On the window tint issue it is my view that this is what should of occured, if implementation of a tint law was scheduled for Spetember 1st.

At the end of March a public statement in all media should have been made stating that implementation of a tint law was scheduled for September 1st. In this statement the locations of say 6 state tint stations should have been made public. These should have been located in st Peter, St Michael, Christ Church, St Philip and the Warrens area.

Once the above was done a state certified certificate of confirmation on an adhesive material should have been issued to all those vehicles which conformed to the standard. This sticker would be placed on the left top corner of the windshiled. As there would be no implementation of the new law till September 1st, all those with dark tint would only be advised their tint was too dark. This would have given drivers 6 months to sort themselves out. But no we set up tint stations that simply say ” you good go long” or ” boss this tint dark as ass here.”

Had this matter been dealt with as suggested, I believe Bajans would have accepted it. Instead we changed the date of implementation about 6 times and put nothing in place to deal with the public till the last minute.

Just my 5 cents worth that’s all.

30. Common sense @John A.

31. David

“Our problem is that the public trust has become so eroded that we have are mired in ‘talk’”

Including the BU intelligentsia talk!!

32. NO
    I stated that the BU intelligentsia hates cybercrime, tint and intercept communications law but clamour for FOI, which all seek to address criminal activity, and both IC and FOI have some degree of opportunity for maliciousing. Am I trying to distract anyone or anything, or you’re just a one-trick NIS pony?

33. Who designed these houses?

34. @Enuff

Where do you exist, under a rock?

35. @Enuff

Nobody hates anything, we are concerned with how things are being handled or implemented. If concerns were trivial for example why did the government remove that clause from the Interception and Communications Bill? Do concerns about the rollout of the tint law valid? How come the government hot and sweaty rollout these testing sites which added to the confusion? Again one could ask if you are living under a rock.

36. Poor Enuff….
    It must be SO disheartening to find that there are SOME Bajans who
    – did NOT drink the ‘kool aid’..
    – can see the lack of clothing on the Emperor
    – does NOT give a rats donkey about wunna mafia
    – and who are willing to speak the TRUTH… at all times

No wonder our long established wiretapping business needs to be ‘legalized’ – so that such (already known) ‘irritants’ can be dealt with…

In the NORMAL scheme of things, such ‘rebels’ would have been quietly ‘presented’ with any dirt collected on them, and either:
    – made offers that they could not refuse….
    – promoted to ‘senior’ or ‘special advisory’ roles at taxpayers expense
    – or sent to Africa or Europe on assignment

But some persons are NOT FOR SALE…
    … and so, like was the case with the first Bushman, ‘the Law’ has to be concocted – as it was then, to enable ‘Pontius Pilate’ to facilitate the famous crucifixion…

There is nothing new under the Sun…
    History is a cycle, within a cycle…

Enuff and company are merely victims of the same circumstances as was Pilate…
    Same IDENTICAL Boss…
    Same identical tactics.

What a time to be alive…

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

enuff
    IF, the only entity with issues was the NIS, given it’s the largest public wealth fund, that would be bad enuff, BUT the list is so RH long.
    Clearwater Bay Limited, $124,000,000 SPENT, and not a single Report.
    Queen Elizabuff Horsepittal “accounts for the financial years ended 31st March, 2017 to 2024 are outstanding” And this after having the handpicked CEO/Chair, now an International Diplomat, at the helm for several years. Great success that nobody knows about.
    Transport Board “The accounts for the financial years ended
    31st March, 2020 and 2021 received disclaimers of opinions due to a lack
    of sufficient appropriate audit evidence. The audits of the accounts for
    the financial years ended 31st March, 2022 to 2024 are outstanding”. Appreciate 2020 and 2021 were not in the lost decade, but in the current decade.
    The Secondary Schools? Guess who is the wussest? HC…”the audits of the accounts for the financial years ended 31st March, 2019 to 2020 are in progress. The
    audit of the accounts for the financial years ended 31st March 2021 to
    2024 are outstanding” Squeen”s College…”Queens College has indicated that it is seeking a waiver on the audit of the accounts for the period 1st April, 2012 to 31st March, 2017. The audits of the accounts for the financial years ended 31st March, 2012 to 2024 are outstanding” Imagine dat, the top of the so called elite schools “seeking a waiver”.
    BAMC…”The audits of the accounts for the financial years ended
    30th June, 2019 to 2024 are outstanding.” Tell muh, how de RH is the BAMC to sell the two newco’s, WITHOUT audited financials? #trustmuh?
    The BIDC, the BTII, the BWA, the NHC, the SSA, shite man, so many additional pony tricks just awaiting picking. Not to mention the Funds withIN the NIS.
    So lewwee discuss window tints, wiretapping, the 11+,fines, immigration…..possibly the Fire Service to put out all the wild fires.

38. Tek it easy Northern…
    Don’t let we Kill Enuff…

NOBODY else who is speaking for the BLP is any where as coherent …
    – as Enuff can occasionally be…

The main issue for Enuff is confusion…
    Poor Enuff is probably just as confused as Simple Simon is… about ‘audits’, ‘reports’, and profits.

Bushie would be unsurprised to see Enuff on a ZR, trying to unwind… while jamming to some XXX rated lyrics – like CuhDear does on the way home after church…..
    Place TOO sweet den!!!

39. NO
    Quantum but no quality! You’ve just proved my point, a one-trick pony.

40. David

The government’s removal of the clause shows it is not a dictatorship as BU likes to say. I welcome the amendment. But of course you and your ilk believe the clause was to spy on political opponents, it couldn’t simply be that there may be a situation where an opportunity presents itself and an urgent decision required. Prior to this, what law existed? On tint law roll out, all across the world at some point the roll out of programmes, policies, laws etc don’t go smoothly. Not preferred, but at the end of the it’s the full implementation for me that matters. Unlike you and others I don’t seek perfection. Many of you need to get outside the bubble and those already outside it, stop pretending.

41. @Enuff

You logic eludes a lowly blogmaster. The public asked for an independent check to be baked into the law, why should anyone object?

42. David – Of course it does!

43. “The government’s removal of the clause shows it is not a dictatorship…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    What it shows, is that we are being led by a pack of bluffers…and that you take your kool aid with ice…

If your attempts ALWAYS have to be corrected by Caswell and Marcia, UPON their FIRST GLANCE AT THE JOBBY,
    …what does that tell us about wunna’s competence?
    (…or is it about wunna’s deceitfulness… ??)
    It was removed because it was so BLATANTLY ill-conceived….and was called out.

BTW…
    Dictatorship does NOT mean ‘competent’…
    Who DICTATED the ‘removal of the clause’ that had been passed by a WHOLE HOUSE (of puppets) assembly?
    Was the matter reviewed by the House, …and an AGREED amendment approved..?
    ..and passed?

THAT is EXACTLY what characterizes a dictatorship…
    Such unilateral decision-making without team inputs.

What a place.

44. It does indeed concern me that there are these constant problematic clauses, always seeming to be a GLARING overreach into the rights of citizens.

Yes, the attempt to muzzle free speech, the attempt to wiretap without warrant, and now the plan to criminalise cowards as though we are subjects of a queen whose bodies are at her disposal all seem to be leaning in one direction.

It certainly conveys an attitude towards citizens and governance that needs correction. Some speak of dictatorial tendencies, but since there has also ɓeen a tendency to back down, I prefer to put it this way –

Somebody bossy body has a tendency to get too big for her boots!

45. MACHO _ Mia always changes her opinion
    We talk of the frog sitting in the pot on a stove and the temperature is raised so slowly that the frog dies in hot water without even attempting to escape.

Wouldn’t it be worse if the frog watched the person fiddling with the dial, but in its mind it was able to easily explain away the adjustments to the dial.

The road to dictatorship will never be a smooth one; at some stages the changes must be in conflict with the freedom of the people and it is here that the will of the would be tyrant is tested. Does he ‘back down’ from the proposed changes or does he press on.

The US has its TACO president and now I am wondering if the ‘tendency to back down’ gives us a MACHO prime minister. There will come a time when the people speak and their voices will no be heard. Don’t wait until the water boils

46. For the English Speakers
    MACHO _ Mia always changes her opinion
    We talk of a frog sitting in a pot on a stove and the temperature is raised so slowly that the frog dies in hot water without even attempting to escape.

Wouldn’t it be worse if the frog watched a person fiddling with the dials on the stove, but in its mind it was able to easily explain away the adjustments to the dials.

The road to dictatorship will never be a smooth one; at some stages the changes must be in conflict with the freedoms of the people and it is here that the will of the would be tyrant is tested. Does he/she ‘back down’ from the proposed changes or do they press on.

The US has its TACO president and now I am wondering if the ‘tendency to back down’ gives us our very own MACHO prime minister with the same dictatorial bent.

There will come a time when the people will speak and their voices will not be heard. Don’t wait until the water boils, then it would be too late.

47. Sigh! I read about Henny Penny several decades ago and never forgot it.

The people are already speaking. Nobody is watching anybody fiddle with the dial. It matters none whether we call her a would be dictator or a bossy woman. What matters is how we respond to the overreach. So far, so good.

All leaders have to be keenly watched and kept in check. Errol Barrow and Tom Adams were well-known bossy men and even Erskine Sandiford had his “adamant” ways. And as for Owen Arthur, it got so you couldn’t even ask him a question! He lost the next election because of that arrogance.

Women are always judged differently from men in patriarchal societies. So far, Mia has backed down way more than any of the others ever have. If they backed down at all.

And by the way, I seem to recall it took the white people’s intervention to make Freundel back down from the disastrous Cahill project!

I am happy that you have come to understand your own predicament in your adopted home. Up until recently, you described it, almost dismissively, as “having taken a turn for the worse”. The understatement of the year! You are on life support and your power source is low! Apart from Gavin Newsom in California, Democrats got nothing! What have you been up to as Texas has gerrymandered five seats outside of normal procedural timelines, and Missouri and other red states appear set to do the same? All at the behest of Orange Mussolini! We know black lives don’t matter; soon black votes won’t matter.

Your water is so hot, I’m surprised you have the time to take our temperature!

48. “Your water is so hot, I’m surprised you have the time to take our temperature!”
    “A great reply”

Somehow, I have the feeling ‘our’ excludes me.

Of course, I , like many Americans, am concerned about recent developments in the USA. Yes, I stand on the side which believes that the US has taken a turn for the worse. Sadly, each day bring worse news as our leader (like your leader) overreaches and seek to expand the limits of his power. .

Where you and I differ is my sincere belief that at some stage the US will seek to correct itself. It may not be immediate, times may become even more painful, but the correction will happen.

I hope you are not waiting for a piece of the sky to hit you in the head; a lot will happen before it does.