Last week there was the tragedy of a mentally disturbed young man drowning himself in the presents of several onlookers and police officers. The blogmaster will theorise that based on what was recorded, the young man should be alive today. The blogmaster sees no useful purpose to post the video that was widely circulated.

The self-righteous indignation expressed by many Barbadians at the incident has predictably dissipated as the 7-day period approaches. A majority of Barbadians are indifferent to those struggling with mental health problems. the stigma associated with mental health in Barbados is real.

Some of us are aware that like a physical ailment so too is mental illness which requires similar care. We have too many suffering in silence by refusing to be diagnosed. Imagine if the authorities engaged in as aggressive an advertising campaign to match the Caribbean Music Festival 2025 featuring Vybz Kartel. Too much of the insensitivity directed at persons suffering from mental illness is due to ignorance.

The incident last week exposed our level unpreparedness. A look at the casual and unprofessional manner two policemen dressed in boots intending to save a man in calf deep water was embarrassing. The man was known in the area to be a ‘disturbed’ man and the blogmaster is concerned based on what is known that all was not done to marshal the required resources to give the best chance to save a ‘distressed soul’.

It is probably futile to ask the Barbados Police Service (BPS) high command to make the findings of an internal investigation available to the public to assuage concerns. The public was promised last Kadooment, 250 days ago, the findings of an investigation of a policemen recorded slapping a civilian. We are none the wiser with the next Kadooment just over 3-months away.

Only bout hey!

12 responses to “Out of sight, out of mind”

1. Also in the news is the mentally disturbed young man who is said to have died after some George Floyd treatment. His parents are complaining that they have received no information on his toxicology report from Trinidad, after five years of waiting. Maybe the authorities put the report on a tortoise’s back, mistaking it for a sea turtle.

As I have said before on this blog, some of us supposedly smart people, including a medical professional, are wont to poke fun at anyone who may admit to having had mental health issues. Therefore, those who may suffer from depression at any time and for whatever reason, those who cannot face the ridicule, are likely to bottle it up and pretend, some of them eventually to be found hanging from a noose or floating face down in the sea.

The are so many walking wounded in this land, so many that could be helped long before it reaches that point. But many of us delight in being part of the problem.

Signed

“Dr. Mahy’s patient”

😊

2. Never in my wildest dreams did I expect to read of situations that warrant immediate rescue turns into spectator entertainment, including video.

The role of a police officer in brief is to enforce laws, prevent crime, respond to emergencies, and provide support services to the community in times of need and distress.

In this particular incident, it is alleged police became a limp spectator.

Bajans value modesty and decorum. While our people have a relaxed and laid-back atmosphere that allows the demise of others. Failing to act in distress of others is condoning and immoral. Your moral ethics are in free fall.

A selective society in Barbados hangs on a cliffhanger. Ignorance is a disease that festers negative consequences.

Remember, mental illnesses have no selective boundaries in modern society.

​Please wake up before tomorrow

3. Like everything else in Barbados, the BPS is guilty of endorsing mediocrity, losing public trust, poor public relationships and of having ZERO accountability and transparency.

However this general consensus that two officers who are called to a situation such as the one described should have followed this disturbed chap into the sea while clearly not dressed, briefed, or perhaps even trained to deal with that kind of issue, is carrying a situation too far in Bushie’s humble opinion.
    If these were two coast guard members, or marine police officers… perhaps!

Like almost everything else bout here, this situation was allowed to get WAY OUT OF CONTROL by those responsible – then to expect magical solutions from the authorities of LAST RESORT.

Bushie can picture the alternative news headline – “Three drown at Beach, including two policemen in British-type uniform”,
    …or- “Onlookers allege that two policemen cause the drowning of unstable man”.

What was the role of the family, friends, neighbors, community, schoolmates, workmates etc of the young man LONG BEFORE HE REACHED THIS POINT? …and of the onlookers and videographers on the day..?

When he was wondering around naked for a whole day before… What role did all those who noticed this CLEARLY IRRATIONAL behavior play, in getting the APPROPRIATE authorities to intervene with the CORRECT training – to deal with the situation?

…and what part is played generally by the MENTAL HEALTH POLICIES of government – given the numerous complaints aired about their unprofessionalism?

Lotta shiite!!
    It is the identical situation with the WHOLE society… We do a lotta shiite with eddykashun, we focus on begging, borrowing, allowing gang-like behaviors, welcoming bad-boy entertainers, making immoral persons into ‘ambassadors’, glorifying money…

….and then we lament the growth of gangs, street justice, murders, lack of transparency and loss of the sense of security – AND BLAME THE POLICE.

The ONLY single point of blame that can be justifiable pin pointed, …is with those who have the AUTHORITY, RESPONSIBILITY and RESOURCES to address these fundamental issues, ….but who CLEARLY lack the COMPETENCE or the WILL to do so.

This was NOT a ‘police’ failure…
    It was a WHOLE SOCIETY failure… and specifically a LEADERSHIP one…

4. Also there is a man in the White House exhibiting disturbing signs of mental health with forces and factors which can drown small islands economy and no Carribbean leader can do nothing about it

5. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

TARGETED SELF-ASSASSINATION IS SYMPTOMOLOGY OF THE ENDTIMES & THE PERIOD OF EARTH’S HISTORY WHERE MEN’S HEARTS ARE FAILING THEM FOR FEAR – AS THE DEVIL* GRABS HOLD OF THE REINS OF FRAGILE HUMAN EXISTENCE IN ONE WAY OR ANOTHER

#SelfMurderIsASPIRITUAL_PSYCHOSIS – 4 it starts in the “SOUL” of men who have been “OVERTAKEN” by a “FORCE” beyond the realm of human cognizance!!!

The “JUDAS SYNDROME” comes with many formats – too many in the 21st century 2 innumerate!!!

In Britain, Parliament is trying to balance the “UNJUST” scales on “ASSISTED SUICIDE” – by giving anyone the “LEGAL RIGHT” 2 end their lives (IF THEY NO LONGER WANT TO BE ABOVE GROUND) – whether it be due 2 #TerminalIllness or whatever the “PATHOLOGICAL INFERENCE”!!!

WELCOME 2 THE BRAVE NEW WORLD OF AXIOMATIC TOTEMIC MADNESS*

Life is so precious – what on God’s green earth would “POSSESS” any individual 2 want 2 “EXIT” the shores of physiological existence – believing, thinking & adumbrating that they would be better off in the cold, icy wasteland of the land of the DEAD* ???

Moreover, in our technologically savvy world – “CHOCABLOCK” with terminological facades – we “LABEL” the “HORSE MANURE” as #MentalHealthIssues – when in the “DIM LIGHT” of day, it is “DEMONIC POSSESSION” ( #PlainAndSimple) – but in a morbidly dystopian, so-called progressive world, “LABELLING EVIL” has become a “SANCTIMONIUS GET OUT OF JAIL CARD”!!!

If you are NOT* sick 2 the back teeth (if you have any left) – then you are NOT* paying attention!!!

THE BIBLE IS PATENTLY CLEAR: “Righteousness “EXALT” a nation – “SIN” is a “REPROACH” to any people…” (Proverbs 14:34 as cited by the “WISE KING SOLOMON”)!!!

For as long as Barbados continues to have a “JEZEBELLIAN LEADER” at its helm & “FALSE PROFITS” (#CorrectSpelling) sitting & eating the alchemic witches brew cooked, stewed & sautéed at her table – “NOTHING ON THAT LILL ISLAND WILL EVER CHANGE” ( #BarringACatastrophicEcologicalWakeUpCall )!!!

If no man is capable of removing her because the “PROPHETS” are either “DEAD” or in “HIDING” – then “GOD WILL HAVE 2 REMOVE HER AS HE DID WITH #QueenJezebel OF OLD” – for there will be no “RELIEF” from the “EVIL & WICKEDNESS” that is causing the people 2 “GROAN”, “CRY OUT” & even “COMMIT SELF-MURDER” as the only exit strategy available 2 them – when unrestrained “WICKEDNESS” awakens every morning to do the same ‘ole, same ‘ole without any modicum of accountability whatsoever!!!

MAY GOD HAVE MERCY UPON Y’ALL

In the “IRREVERSIBLY IMMORTAL WORDS OF SCRIPTURE” summed up in #5Verses:

[1] This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come
    [2] For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy
    [3] Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,
    [4] Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;
    [5] Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away

THIS IS THE PREVAILING STORM CLOUDS THAT ENGULFS THE NATION OF BARBADOS & CAN BE SEEN ENDEMICALLY ACROSS NATION, CITY, TOWN & HAMLET OF THIS ENTIRE PLANET

#WhatAWorld
    #WhatAStateOfAffairs
    #WhatADiabolicus
    #WhatPrevailingMADNESS*

6. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WHEN AN ENTIRE CAST OF HUMANS* CANNOT EAT A PROPER, HEALTHY MEAL OR FEED THEIR FAMILIES WITH ANY DEGREE OR MEASURE OF CERTAINTY OR ADEQUACY – IS IT ANY WONDER THAT THE FRAILE NEURONS OF THEIR CEREBRAL CORTEX SNAP LIKE A WEAK CORD IN A HIGH WIND (A DUBIOUS ALLUSION 2 THE KITE FLYERS THIS SO-CALLED EASTER*)

The “CRY” of #ModernEgyptians is “GIVE US BREAD & WATER” less we “DIE” – a call that is going unanswered, leaving many to either turn to “EXTREME MEASURES” or open the partitions of their souls to “INVASION & ONSLAUGHT”!!!

WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF LEADERS IF THEY HAVE NO ANSWERS 2 THE ILLS THAT PLAGUE POSTMODERN SOCIETY

Prince Joseph understood that “BREAD & WATER” were fundamental human rights in “ANCIENT EGYPT” & thus, he provided “BREAD” through “GOD-GIVEN” wisdom & acumen for “ALL” who cried out in (DIS)STRESS!!!

Today, the 3RD HORSEMAN” rides across the land with “VENGEANCE” – where a morsel of bread now cost a “DENARIUS” & men are looking 2 even “HURT THE OIL & THE WINE”!!!

#ThankGod they “CANNOT”!!!

If my hieroglyphics are NOT* easily understood – then #GoReadYourBibles & #Pray4Wisdom!!!

What kinda’ world do we live in where a “TINY FRACTION” of “STINKING SMELLY ARSE HUMANS” possessing 90+% of the world’s wealth – while the remainder “GROVEL, GROPE & GYRATE” in the darkness of their “MINDZ” for even a morsel of “STALE BREAD” – dying from “HUNGER”, “LACK OF LOVE” & “ANY FORM OF MILK OF HUMAN KINDNESS” – while “PRIEST”, “PROFIT” (#CorrectSpelling) & PRELATE” et al (#ModernTerm4Levites), pass by on the other side of the road as “SAMARITANS” lie strewn, half-“PAST DEAD”, bleeding, ravaged & “TORN” in their own excremental conditions???

IS THIS WHAT WE HAVE BECOME AS SO-CALLED HUMANS*

Is mankind nothing more than just “DUNG” – piling up in steaming mounds to be burned as “COALS” to fuel that “DESECRATED ALTAR” we called “CAPITALISM”???

If anyone thinks that #YourHumbleServant finds any kind of joy writing this “STUFF” – then I have a “BRIDGE” somewhere that I can sell you!!!

What’s worse is having to stand in the so-called “HALLOWED HALLS” of church buildings, civic auditoriums or any other place where a “VOICE” cries in the “WILDERNESS” – (just as JOHN* did anciently) – until he lost his head due to a woman whole doled out subterfuge because she would not have her “WICKEDNESS EXPOSED” or howled at even from a distance!!!

THIS IS STATE OF PLAY WE FACE AS FEAR GROWS LIKE BAD FRUIT ON A TAINTED TREE

How long before “THE MOST HIGH” intervenes??? Does anyone believe that this is going 2 “END PRETTY”???

#StayTuned

7. @TB

The problems are multifaceted.

How about considering that we have parents who have usurped their roles?

How about acknowledging that we have citizens that have ceded their roles to politicians?

To name only two.

8. Let Babylon Go
    Right now I let David light swarm them
    Grapes of wrath, now buss dem

Woah
    Keep them in the dark
    Isolate them and a talk
    Build up your own power base
    And use dem face a little taste
    Allocate them and replace
    Use I spark and build your case
    I see you don’t fall from grace
    Woah
    Seen

Ay
    Make I choice for me
    Tell I who I am to be
    Priority to control me
    My destiny fully decree
    Said them no scheme maliciously
    While speaking so highly of me
    No one suspect dem a enemy
    Ticks and flea
    Woah
    Hail
    Melchizedek high breed upon dem
    Inna dry bone live now commandment
    Right now you nah let David light swarm them

9. I said the exact same things to my son. I don’t blame the police for the young man’s death. They aren’t the Coast Guard. I don’t blame the lifeguard either. Someone who does not wish to be rescued can take you down with them.

The problem lies in the response of our society to mental health issues. Even as a child, I could never understand it. It seems that we haven’t come far from the days when I was perplexed that school children found great sport in teasing and taunting a mentally-disturbed old lady by continually calling her “Assie”. Thing is, nobody knows when his/her mental health will decline, but most people seem to think themselves immune.

Well, here comes another one of my stories!

Just a few years ago, a young lady stripped her clothes off on Broad Street, laid her body down on the hot asphalt and did what could only be described as night club gymnastics. I was not there, but my cousin was. Quite the spectacle, he said!

Turns out the young lady had recently been laid off from her job and had deposited at the nearby credit union, the precious severance pay she had struggled so hard and for so long to obtain. She had just come from trying to make a withdrawal to do her grocery shopping. Lo and behold, the account showed up zeros!

Poor, trusting woman had somehow given her partner access to her account. She was wiped out, with hungry children home waiting to be fed.

And that was enough to place her naked on the hot asphalt doing the Harry’s Nitery dance, free of charge, no money made.

Knowing people, I bet most of them concluded that she must have been an exotic dancer at some point in time of her life.

To those people I would say, there was a decent old lady from a decent family who used to live just down the hill from my house. At regular intervals, she would lose it, lose her drawers, and make her way to the bus stop a stone’s throw away from my house. And there began the show! I never saw it close up, because as a teenager, I saw no reason to witness her shame.
    Her family would be alerted and they would come to coax her back inside

Challenges come our way and we never know what can tip us over the edge into insanity. This is something everybody should stop and consider, before they snigger, make videos, and label people “mad”.

Unfortunately, though there is treatment available for “madness”, there is no cure for stupidity.

10. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

DEVILS HAVE HIJACKED OUR REALITY & THEY COME IN ALL KINDA’ FORMS! THE REASON I SAY THIS SHOULD BE PATENTLY CLEAR GIVEN THE LEVEL OF SCAMMING & THE DUBIOUS THEFT OF PEOPLE’S HARD EARNED MONEY! TODAY IT APPEARS THAT A VAST ARRAY OF “HUMAN filth” IS ON THE TAKE 2 TAKEDOWN WHOEVER THEY CAN REGARDLESS OF THE COST INVOLVED – FROM GOVs 2 CORPORATIONS 2 THE SIMPLE MAN ON THE STREET

Last nite, one of my Bajan Bruhs invited me to a “NETWORK MARKETING BIZ” – a message left on my #WhatsAPP* dayz ago – asking me 2 look at a presentation…

THIS WAS 1 AM IN THE DEAD OF NITE WHEN I DECIDED FOR THE SAKE OF BROTHALY COMPLIANCE 2 HAVE A LOOK

I skipped through the VT (UNIMPRESSED) & by the time I got to the end – there was an ‘ole familiar face I knew – “A WOLF IN SHEEP’S CLOTHING” (whose name I won’t ADD*) posing with another “BIZ” being propped up by a bunch of sheeple who definitely seem 2 have money 2 throw away!!!

I reiterated to him since we saw each other last December – “NOTHING HAD CHANGED” regarding my “MINDSET” & the fact that I “TRUST NO ONE” (except CHRIST* #FirstAndForemost & “WIFEY” whose face, “LOVE” & temperament is like the #AngelOfTheLORD*) – words uttered by Miphiboseth about King David in 2 Samuel 9:1-17:28!!!

I cited the fact that before my official “RETIREMENT” from all things “MANMADE” – I had become like Tom Hanks (who played #ChuckNolan in a real life film) that became a Hollywood blockbuster called – “CAST AWAY” – where had I not been married for almost [45] years, I would be living on some remote, idyllic island somewhere in proximity 2 #Vanuatu in the #OceaniaPeninsula, or (AS WE SAY IN BIM – SOMEWHERE BEHIND GOD’S BACK)!!!

I reminded my BRUH* that “MONEY IS #god – THE BE ALL & END ALL” for too many folks today & very (FEW) of us who have been “BLESSED” with some of the “WORTHLESS” #PlasticMoney or #VirtualCurrency – (DO NOT EVEN GIVE A MONKEY’S ABOUT IT BECAUSE WE KNOW THAT IT HAS WINGS LIKE AN EAGLE & CAN EASILY FLY AWAY WHEN IT WANTS)!!!

My final thought to him was this:

Look BRUV*, I have not had 2 deal with no “FINANCIAL ISSUES” for years (#AsYouKnow) because when I am in BIM*, you see how I live!!! My precious “QUEEN” is the #ChiefFinancialOfficer & “EVERYTHING” is in her name & she calls the shots (AS I APPROVE WHATEVER SHE DOES)!!! I do not have (OR WANT) a single “BILL” in my name & I have #OneBankAccount that I have had for donkey’s years & it hardly has any money in it at any one time – for as fast money enters the account, it goes directly out to her within 24 hours!!!

I was told that I was “PUSSY-WHOPPED” by some of my nearest & dearest but I reminded them that as much as the “QUEEN OF SHEBA” gave 2 #KingSolomon what no woman has ever given to any man before or “AFTER” – he gave her “TWICE AS MUCH” (some purport, even a “SON” called Menelik who ruled “ETHIOPIA” after his mother’s passing)!!!

When MEN” rob “GOOD WOMEN” as cited by @DONNA* – they “CURSE THEMSELVES” – for Scripture opines in Proverbs, chapter 31, verses 10 – 31: “WHO CAN FIND A VIRTUOUS WIFE/WOMAN?” For her price is far above “RUBIES”…

ANY MAN WHO TALKES ADVANTAGE OF A WOMAN – CANNOT SAY HE LOVES HIS MOTHER: He is a “NASTY, STINKING LIAR” & does know what TRUTH* is even if it walked up o him & “SLAPPED HIM SILLY”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I said 2 week ago in London, Finsbury Park & Walthamstow while “WIFEY” was shopping for one of her church sister’s son’s wedding – a lovely Asian lady commented on the attention I was paying my wife & told her she was so “BLESSED” & I had 2 correct her by saying – “NO DEAR, I AM THE ONE WHO IS BLESSED” – for had it not been for her I would have been sleeping in a box somewhere in Paddington Train Station!!!

WHEN YOU ARE BLESSED & HIGHLY FAVOURED – YOU KNOW YOU ARE BLESSED & HIGHLY FAVOURED (#Imperfect but a #ForgivenChildOfGod) – WHERE THE ONLY THING THAT REALLY MATTERS IS #1st (GOD) #2nd (LOVE) & #3rd (FAMILY) in that exact order with you the “INDIVIDUAL” coming in a distant (LAST)!!!

#HereEndTodayLesson

#HereEndsMyAutobiographicalTreatise

And on that note, here is (SOMEONE WHO HAS SINCE PASSED ON) that I met while working for British Airways through Seawell Air Services – all the way back in the 1980s when I was a #PassengerAgent working with Concorde – who became a friend & a giant mentor & I did not recognize him at first but accorded him & his wife whom he was fussing over & his 2 kids (EXCEPTIONAL) service & he did something for me that “NO ONE” has done since then!!!

#GregoryHines with someone who also have passed away – deploying their talented ability 4 music…

#TheresNothingBetterThanLove