Submitted by Observing

Having heard comments on education in both the upper house I woke up this morning compelled to write a few words. 

I have grown tired of the “abolish common entrance” campaign, especially coming mainly from persons in lofty positions who have never taught or worked in a primary school setting or with children of special needs or learning deficits. Yes, the exam by itself needs changing. However, framing our educational problems around a single exam on a single day is myopic at best, misleading at worse. A few points for discussion or debate. 

1. The Common Entrance Exam by itself is not the problem. The Leader of the Opposition was right. The exam is a snapshot in time that captures a moment. The child who ends up not meeting the 50% mark, either had a crisis around that time, or, was always underperforming and nothing done over the years to address the reasons for the underperformance. 

2. Our education system still does not systematically identify AND intervene to help students with challenges whatever they may be. Not enough counselors, not enough social workers, not enough specialist teachers, not enough therapist not enough remedial teachers. Further, there are not enough indicative psychological, social and diagnostic assessments done. How then do we know what problems we need to solve?

3. Regardless of a child’s performance at Common Entrance, the real focus should be ensuring the school they go to is equipped, ready and able to execute a programme to serve the already identified needs of that child and provide them with a pathway towards maximizing their own individual potential. Where or whatever schools are called becomes irrelevant once ALL of them focus on what’s important. 

4. A few solutions to start the ball rolling,
– Introduce continuous assessment supported by the comprehensive use of technology to accurately store, track and analyse student data
– Use a range of assessments (academic and psychometric) during the two (2) exit years of primary school rather than one exam with only Maths and English
– revamp the secondary school allocation process not based solely on one mark but (1) and (2) above
– Fairly allocate financial and other resources at secondary school to meet the real needs and to effectively execute the specially designed curriculum and programmes. One size never fit all. 
– Stop talking and invest Investment in early childhood and primary education with a commitment to assessing and supporting every single child along their journey through targeted interventions and parental support. All of course, recorded, tracked and analysed.

These are just a few suggestions but there are many more and many more areas that need attention. But, imagine, these and other ideas were shared with both political parties and the Ministry of Education. Based on the Estimates Debate it seems only one has been willing to listen. The other(s) seem content to just plod along aimlessly in uncertainty and utter confusion. 

Even worse is that the new Minister has spoken at least three times at length about reform, yet, I cannot identify a single concrete, tangible, feasible, executable proposal that the public can easily connect, relate to and have faith in. It is clear that neither he nor any of the other past and present Ministers have a realistic clue of what to do. 

As reggae artist Luciano once sang, Heaven help us all. 

16 responses to “Education miasma”

1. Amen!

2. When will we get over the point that education reform is bigger than a narrow focus on the 11 plus?

‘Dropping 11-Plus key to ending elitism’

EDUCATION TRANSFORMATION that ends the elitism still haunting the society is what Barbados needs, and abandoning the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination is key to this.

Government Senator Reverend Charles Morris, a former teacher, stressed this on Tuesday while contributing to the debate on the Appropriation Bill, 2025.

He believes Barbados will be left behind if major education reform does not take place.

“Our development will be retarded. Other countries not as advanced I am sure will overtake us and Barbados will be in a state, in the words of Norman Manley, going up the down escalator,” he said.

Morris said the education system was still one where those who were successful at what is known as the Common Entrance exam flourished.

“We have the Common Entrance exam that is not working. I am willing to bet you that come . . . June or July you’re going to see that the [news]papers are going to be littered with all these students that get 98 and 100. What about those who are left behind?” he asked.

“We need to do better than this. The time has come for this common entrance exam to go . . . we must adopt education transformation. It is the only way forward for Barbados right now.

“I believe that we need to look at education transformation. The Barbados society has to ask itself whether our present education system is working for the majority of the country at this point in time, as reflected in our day to day experiences and interactions.”

His recommendation was to “identify the deficits and objective needs in the system and make provisions to address them”.

“Secondly, we must have competency based learning . . . and it must be pitched to the different levels and intelligences of our students, meeting the children where they are so that they can best develop their strongest skill sets, build self-esteem, have the tools to make a living and have a sense of belonging in our societies, that is what we need,” Morris said.

“We must have curriculum assessment and reform at all levels, and this is going to be vital to suit not only present but future needs.”

He also said that “technology will play an integral part of the learning process if we are to adequately prepare our students and society to be productive, to be efficient, to be relevant in achieving not just economic growth, . . . but qualitative development”.

Morris added: “We don’t have to reinvent the wheel for education transformation. We can work effectively by looking at the more successful systems.”

“Analyse best practices so that we can effectively borrow from and adapt to specifically suit our needs. They can look at places like Japan. They can look at places like Finland. But we must be prepared to have the discipline that these people have.”

He also called for a reorganisation “especially at the level of the Ministry of Education”. (SC)

3. You cherrypicking or didn’t read the article?

4. What is needed for real education transformation

. . . The 11-Plus system for secondary transfer continues to be the main cause of the large-scale underachievement . . .

This article was written and submitted by Dr Garry Hornby, an emeritus professor of education, and Dr Marcia Pilgrim, a retired teacher.

Following the recent damning World Bank report on the performance of education systems across the English-speaking Caribbean, there have been reports in the Barbados media and comments on call-in radio programmes suggesting that this is exaggerating the problem.

Let’s consider a few facts. First, Caribbean Examination Council (CXC) results reported across the Caribbean for 2024 indicate that of the students who sat the exams, only four per cent gained five or more subjects, including maths and English, at grades from A to C. This figure is even more alarming when one considers that far fewer than 100 per cent of students are entered for CXCs.

In comparison, the average figure for secondary schools in the United Kingdom (UK) in 2024 (where almost 100 per cent of students sit General Certificate of Secondary Education – GCSEs) is that 46 per cent of students gain five or more subjects, including maths and English, at grades from A to C. This highlights the difference between an apparently successful education system and failing ones.

As is well known, the UK abandoned the 11-Plus exam for organising transfer to secondary schools in 1969, resulting in the vast proportion of secondary schools becoming comprehensive schools. These take in pupils from the area in which they live, so attendance is based on place of residence not entrance examinations.

There are only 163 grammar schools (which have their own entrance exams) remaining out of the around 3 500 secondary schools in the UK. Contrary to what is being repeated in the Barbados media, there is no “back-tracking” to the 11-Plus transfer system, that is, creating more grammar schools in the UK. True, creating more grammar schools was the intention of Prime Minister Teresa May a few years ago, but it was not agreed by Parliament, as the majority of MPs supported the continuation of the comprehensive school policy. So, for at least 20 years there has been only 163 grammar schools and this is unlikely to change.

Superior outcomes

This is because of the superior educational outcomes for pupils from comprehensive schools over those from grammar schools. This has been confirmed by findings from research study conducted by Durham University, which found that pupils from comprehensive schools do better than those of similar abilities from grammar schools, a finding that is supported by a recent research study in Guyana.

So, while comprehensive schools in the UK are achieving 46 per cent of pupils gaining good exam results at age 16, in Barbados and the Caribbean with selective entry to secondary schools, this is only the case for four per cent of those who sit CXCs, which has devastating consequences for the young people themselves and for national economic growth.

The second disputed fact to be addressed is the oft repeated claim that there is a 99.6 per cent literacy rate in Barbados. This reportedly is based on a national census conducted several years ago from which the percentage of people who ticked the box stating that they had completed the form themselves was taken to mean that they were literate.

So, the 99.6 per cent literacy rate is clearly false, since a large proportion of pupils obtain less than 30 per cent in the Common Entrance Exam and around 70 per cent of pupils leave secondary school with no qualifications. These results are widely considered to be due to the large numbers of pupils who complete primary school without developing adequate literacy and numeracy skills to be successful at secondary school. These findings are clearly not consistent with having a 99.6 per cent literacy rate. Whereas, UNESCO in 2016 reported that the global average adult literacy rate was 86 per cent, which is likely a better estimate of literacy in Barbados and indicates that there remains room for improvement.

Major problem

So, it is clear that there is a major problem with the outcomes of the education system in Barbados that requires a major reform, or transformation, of the schooling system. This is widely accepted by those involved in education and by many members of the public. The issue that is blocking progress with this is exactly how to bring about such reform, and this requires being clear about the major factors causing the unacceptable outcomes.

Fortunately, there have been several large-scale reviews conducted, by local experts and international consultants, over the past 50 years, that have identified the major problem. It is considered to be the use of the 11-Plus exam for transfer from primary to secondary schools.

There is extensive evidence that the 11-Plus system for secondary transfer continues to be the main cause of the large-scale underachievement, disaffection as well as disruptive and anti-social behaviour in secondary schools. Therefore, reform proposals that do not include abandoning the 11Plus being used for secondary transfer are sadly inadequate and can be likened to the re-arranging of chairs on the deck of the Titanic while not facing the fact that it was sinking.

We have previously outlined proposals for education reform that comprise eight key components that must be implemented alongside abandoning the 11-Plus exam for secondary transfer.

These include creating community secondary schools serving their local feeder primaries.

Second, turning two secondary schools into sixth form colleges.

Third, re-focusing teaching at primary schools on ensuring all pupils develop adequate literacy and numeracy skills for them to be successful at secondary school.

Fourth, the implementation of comprehensive policy and procedures for the education of children with special educational needs.

Fifth, ensuring effective parental involvement at all levels of the education system.

Sixth, ensuring rigorous initial and ongoing teacher education is in place at the pre-primary, primary and secondary levels, and that it focuses on the teaching of diverse learners.

Seventh, modernising all primary and secondary school buildings and classrooms, and the equipment therein, to bring them up to a standard that is fit for learning in the 21st century.

Eighth, adding vocational options to the secondary school curriculum so that, in the later stages of their education, pupils have the choice of working for either academic or vocational qualifications.

However, as suggested in the OECD (2018) report on establishing world-class education systems, in order for these eight components to be successfully implemented, there are important contextual factors that must be in place. These relate to the governance, management and leadership of schools by principals and the professionalism of teachers.

It’s now or never. Does Barbados want to perpetuate the damage being done to many of our children and the limitations put on our economic development by the divisive and ineffective education system, or do we have the courage to move to a world-class system based on research for establishing an education system that embodies equality of opportunity and optimises outcomes for all?

5. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

IF YOU KEEP DOING WHAT YOU HAVE ALWAYS DONE – YOU WILL GET WHAT YOU HAVE ALWAYS GOT!!! HOWEVER, IF YOU WANT WHAT YOU HAVE NEVER HAD – YOU HAVE GOT TO DO WHAT YOU HAVE NEVER DONE

The #Sophists, #Plato, & #Isocrates were influential in democratizing education in the 5th century B.C. #Greece – where Plato founded the #Academy, which is often credited as the 1st university, to produce citizens who could operate as members of the civic community in Athens…

THE STRUCTURE WAS SIMPLE

Church – provides moral & spiritual education

Home – offers a nurturing environment for initial learning & successful implementation of values

School – provides formal education & technical skills, harnessed throughout life for the betterment of all & sundry

These pillars together ensured a comprehensive educational experience that integrates intellectual, physical, & spiritual development (THE HOLISTIC MAN/WOMAN)

Education however in ancient “AFRIKAN” Timbuktu was highly esteemed & played a crucial role in the city’s development as a center of Afrikan/Islamic learning…

The University of Timbuktu, a collective term for the teaching associated with [3] mosques – #Sankore #Djinguereber & #SidiYahya were scholastic communities that endured for many centuries during the medieval period!!!

The city developed into a commercial & cultural center of Islam in the 14th century, attracting scholars & scribes from various Islamic beliefs & geographical regions…

Pedagogy in Timbuktu followed traditional Islamic teaching methods. Teachers would dictate lessons, & students were expected to write them down, revise them with their teacher, & then study them!!!

This method is still widely used in the Islamic world as religious studies were taught in Arabic, which limited the popularity of the mosques among non-clergied people…

Upon completing their studies, students received a turban & an ijazah, which authorized them to teach a specific subject or text!!!

Timbuktu’s reputation for Islamic learning & scholarship grew during the 14th & 15th centuries, with estimates suggesting that the city had around 25,000 students, accounting for a quarter of its population…

The city was home to a rich writing tradition, with the creation of millions of manuscripts, hundreds of thousands of which still survive today, in perpetuity!!!

In the early 19th century, #AbdullahiDanFodio emphasized the importance of the right to education, advocating for equal opportunities for all children, including girls, & stressing the importance of choosing good teachers & educational content that meets the aspirations & intellectual capacities of their students…

Timbuktu’s educational institutions thrived until the invasion by the rulers of Marrakesh in 1591 & the subsequent decline of the city’s importance…

The reason for citing Greece & Timbuktu is to highlight the “OMINOUS NEED” for ‘Structuration’ within the postmodern school system that seems to be only an academic pursuit, without meaningful implementation – for surely, the time has come for serious “DISRUPTION” & a “REVAMP” of how we have done things & the “INJUSTICE” done to our young ones!!!

#LetsLookAtThisPradigm

(a) Compulsory Education (9 Years of worthwhile “GRASSROOTS” learning) + 3 extra years (NON-COMPULSORY) – explained below

Primary School

6 years (ages 6 – 12), focusing on “BASIC LITERACY” (you gotta’ be able 2 “READ & WRITE PROFICIENTLY”), math/calculus, & “SOUL EDUCATION” in the form of “MORAL EDUCATION” (this is not based on “ANY RElieGION” but on a moral code, “ETHICS” & behavioural moratorium

Junior Middle School (THE DAMNABLE YEARS)

3 years (ages 12 – 15), covers broader subjects like #LifeSciences #BioMedicalSciences #PlantScience #Humanities & Foreign Languages

Senior High School

3 years (15 – 18), “NON-COMPULSORY”, given the “2-TIER” #AcademicTrack that prepares students for the national college entrance exam “OR” the #VocationalTrack that focuses on “PURE” technical skills for immediate/future employment development

Higher Tertiary Education (PROPERLY SCREENED WITH ONLY THE TOP [2] BEST GRADES

(STUDENTS WITH DISTINCTIONS & A+ GRADES) jockey for top-tier universities & colleges – institutions across “AFRIKA” to “LATIN AMERICA” to “EUROPE/RUSSIA” to “CANADA” to “INDIA” to “ASIATIC COUNTRIES” to “BRITAIN” to “USA”, with admission primarily based on “TOP LEVEL” scores & a period of repatriation to “CONTRIBUTE” to the society you came from

National Curriculum

Set by a “SERIOUSLY REFORMED MINISTRY OF EDUCATION”, stressing the core academic “VISION” – placing weight on subject matters, ideological education (e.g., “MORAL & LEGAL EDUCATION”), with serious emphasis on “PATRIOTISM”

Teaching Methods

Traditionally, (BASED ON THE ABOVE-MENTIONED CITATION TO BOTH AFRIKAN & GREECE PRAXIS), lecture-based with rotational learning, though reforms that must encourage “CREATIVITY” & “CRITICAL THINKING” with “EXTRACURRICULAR” activities playing “SECOND FIDDLE” to “ACADEMIC PURSUITS”

Challenges & Reforms

“CLASS-BASED DIVIDE” highlighting disparities in resources & quality/quantity, has to be addressed through government initiatives like teacher/pupil subsidies & wherever possible, major focus must be placed on, online education maximization

Other Major Reforms

Direct interventionist policies to “REDUCE OR OBLITERATE STUDENT STRESS” through a “DOUBLE REDUCTION POLICY” of cutting homework & tutoring modifications, with broader subject choices, and/or the promotion of more favourable vocational education

Cultural & Ideological Context

As part of the “MORAL FRAMEWORK” OF EDUCATION – focus must be place upon a “Heritage foundation” – for a people who do not know who they are & how they got here, the “MOTIVATION” for cultural & ideological ascendency goes out the window. High cultural value on education must be a path to upward social mobility

Ideological Training

“A MIND IS A TERRIBLE THING TO WASTE”. Academic tenure must focus on egalitarian principles which are integral to societal development, aligning “ALL FUTURE” education with the stated goals of a cohesive, homogeneous society

Higher Education Trends

Expansion & rapid growth since the 1990s, led to mass higher education, but now concerns exist over a “GRADUATE POOL” of men/women without meaningful employment – as the treadmill keeps churning out “SOCIETAL MISFITS” who have to either seek higher pastures elsewhere, or fall on the scrap heap

S.T.E.M Focused

“SCIENCE”, “TECHNOLOGY”, “ENGINEERING” & “MANAGEMENT” are the engine room that drives economic growth – this is where “VISIONARIES” are born who becomes the “ENTREPRENEURS” of tomorrow & the leaders “TODAY”

Global Engagement

Increasing international collaborations & study-abroad programs to & from – where there is an exchange of the brightest & the best in all facets of academia to heat the pool of ongoing creativity amongst many who have been left behind

Challenges

Student well-being must be at the heart of a “REVAMPED ACADEMIC SYSTEM” given the intense pressure on them that often leads to mental health issues – with hardly any backUP* support to get them through those turbulent waters

Academic Freedom

The tensions between ideological conformity & intellectual innovation are lines that must be clearly demarcated with no “BLURRING” of the lines

Our education system must balances rigorous academic training with ideological formation, aiming to foster skilled citizens aligned with national, societal goals – for while reforms can address stress, inequality & upward mobility, the challenges that persist in adaption to rampant globalization & the inversion of growing societal needs cannot be underscored – as a “REVAMPED” system must be a critical tool for both individual advancement & state development (IF WE ARE TO EVER HAVE ANOTHER SUCCESSFUL GENERATION)

MAYBE THE BLOGMASTER* CAN SEE MY PENCHANT FOR POSITIVE ENERGY DELIVERY IN THIS RECOMMENDATIONAL PIECE

#HereEndsTodaysLesson

6. “11-Plus to be replaced by hybrid placement system in 2028”

7. I have been tuned out from all the noise these last few weeks. I will have to take a listen to the parliamentary babble. Strangely enough, my son and I were actually engaged in dreaming, imagining and planning this school to capture the talents of those our educational system shamelessly abandoned by the wayside. You have to do something to lighten your mood.

How silly that those of us who succeeded never considered that those for whom we spared no thought would one day spare no thought for us, as we drove by in our fancy cars, on our way to our fancy jobs with the fancy titles, and then home to our fancy houses, pretending to be all superior. (“We”and “us” being loosely used.)

I came to the conclusion a decade and a half ago that if you really wanted something done properly around here, you have to do it yourself. No government was going to do it. No church was going to do it. No organisation was going to do it. Not comprehensively enough to make a difference on a large enough scale. Unfortunately, by the time I realised that, I no longer was capable of doing it. This dream of my son’s, probably born of my incessant grumbling, whether it comes to pass or not, is years away. Barbados cannot wait for years.

If, as Cheryl Willoughby stated, almost all of the inmates guilty of committing those violent crimes that have the potential to bury Barbados quicker than ten gravediggers can bury one casket are reading at “A is for apple” level, there can be no doubt that this is a significant part of the problem.

All the stakeholders in this country should be prepared to invest in saving themselves. Because that is what it has come to at this point in time. It does not require unselfishness, something that is in short supply. It requires only self-interest. And that we have in abundance. This is not about philanthropy. This is about securing your own future on this 2×3 rock where there is nowhere to hide.

I have known for a couple of decades that our educational system was failing. It was a pet peeve of mine, something I talked about ad nauseum. And yet, even I did not know how horribly it was failing. The problem is not just a few thousand falling through the cracks and doing violent crime. The problem is almost everybody falling short of acceptable standards! That spells disaster for productivity. Only government can fix the latter.

Mess this educational transformation up and Barbados is DONE! Or dead, if you wish to get really real. All of us, from the rich to the poor must get that through our thick skulls. The “my child getting through” attitude must end. The “my child pass fuh Harrison College, so I good” attitude must end. For how long will you or your child be good?

At this point, David’s favourite question seems most appropriate:

ARE WE THERE YET?

Unfortunately, I don’t think so.

And now, i’m off to listen to that parliamentary babble!

8. @Hants: “beyond my education level.

Quantum Mechanics is not that hard. No one understands it, but that’s OK. We simple human’s cannot know for sure. We can not know.

First understand Newtonion physics. Then Einstein’s first and second breakthrough.

Niels Bohr was quite impressive.

I often ask why the “double-slit experiment” is not taught to young people. Particle, or wave? The answer is both.

9. Crash