Submitted by Observing

The key thing about this scenario isn’t just the $7,500. It is how politicians FOR YEARS from BOTH SIDES have treated the public’s trust and intelligence with disdain.

Santia Bradshaw, DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER

The refrain “case closed” struck a nerve while listening to the PM’s address on Saturday. A large part of that was because the case was NOT closed and there were still questions that needed to be answered. First of all, let’s agree that charity is needed, MPs need help serving their constituents and the custom and practice is for “donations and gifts” to be given directly to politicians to utilise as needed. The problem comes when it is clearly said that we need to move AWAY from this practice and when a whole law has been passed to discourage it.

Mistakes are made. Maybe Santia didn’t know about the check. Maybe she didn’t ask for it. Maybe all other 29 MPs also received but didn’t have a break in at their office. Maybe. BUT, let’s judge the issue by the words of the MP herself.

Santia (NationNews): “Either way, it was processed by my office and the proceeds went to the people of MY constituency”

“Bradshaw who is the Minister of Transport stated that the cheque was part of a charitable contribution to HER annual Christmas hamper programme

Santia (LoopNews): She explained that the cheque is a charitable donation towards HER annual Christmas hamper and food voucher programme which she has led for several years. This particular contribution could have been written to MY charity OR in MY name, as it was done. Either way, it was processed by MY office and the proceeds went to the people of MY constituency.

– My, my, my.

NationNews:

“Mottley added that the cheque was NOT solicited by Bradshaw, and it was NOT cashed.”

“There has been no criminal behaviour, there has been no breach on the part of the Deputy Prime Minister of any law, and there is nothing that merits her dismissal. CASE CLOSED”

As has become the norm nowadays, nothing to see here. Why even bother that the donor regularly receives business from the Ministry the MP is currently heading and whose company stands to do more work. Like the typical parent back in the day…..”Shut yuh mouth and stop complaining!”

The key thing about this scenario isn’t just the $7,500. It is how politicians FOR YEARS from BOTH SIDES have treated the public’s trust and intelligence with disdain.

Freundel “closed” many cases including sewage, the Eager 11, garbage collection, downgrades galore, piss poor industrial relations and zero communication.

Mia has now “closed” cases including the check, the survey, the unbuilt Chinese houses, contracts without tender, cost of living and of course an increased cabinet.

Who determines when a case is closed? Who do these people really serve? When will enough be enough?

At some point WE have to demand more, or at least be willing to ask more of those WE place in positions of authority. If the media is too afraid to do it, then civic society must. Sitting in silence while being shut up and shuffled away just doesn’t cut it.

David asked about the bi-weekly Cabinet updates. I guess the Press Secretary and numerous staffers in the PM’s office are too busy to fulfil that promise. But hey, David Thompson (may he rest in peace) made MANY a promise too!

6 is half dozen. It just so happens that some sixes speak so much more softly and sweetly than others .

Will the real leaders please stand up?

Case closed!

84 responses to “Case closed!”

1. Most of these arguments hinge on the false premise that there is someone, somewhere, who is really in charge, who really knows what is to be done.

This premise goes against the preponderance of evidence in the academic literature, lived realities, observation and human intuition as recently argued by Professor Radika Dasai in her critique of a recent article in the Orinoco Review.

We’ve observed previously that the center cannot hold. That a range of arguments continue to rest on a centered rightness closely guarded by a critical mind or minds either in Bridgetown or Washington will remain fanciful.

The truth is that not even in the center of imperium is anybody at home. At best they are all just making it up as they go along.

There is no emperor. Therefore the question of nakedness becomes moot.

2. There is no emperor. Therefore the question of nakedness becomes moot.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The question of nakedness is indeed moot.
    But THERE IS an emperor!!

That ‘emperor’ is a spiritual being, whose mandate is to lead mankind to self destruction by way of brass bowlery. He has been doing a great job in recent times.

How BBs with such UNLIMITED POTENTIAL can be made to fall for such naked idiocy clearly tells us that the normally moderating spirit of wisdom and righteousness – has TURNED his back on us…..

3. …but of course…

“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear……”

4. I am not aware (fully) about the level of familiarityof Civil
    Servants…those who manage the accounts in government offices; and\or, Constituency offices, ut accounting procedures exist. Lawyers etc, andeven crooks, keep different sets of books and accounts. The ‘honourable’ Deputy Prime Minister should know that personal accounts, and company (or constituency) accounts belong in different accounts and kept separately. Thus ‘MY’ constituency accounts should not be mixed with ‘MY’ personal accounts, and all donors or potential donors,, should be able to determine to which (or whose )accounts cheques are written, and act accordingly.

5. Been saying this since 2018 Bush tea but nobody is listening. When will they ever learn and at what COST?

6. Off message:

@ David,
    The Guardian news story, below, highlights the arrogant aloof unsustainable mentality of the average Bajan.

The Barbados government should first investigate their house before throwing stones. For example how clean are Barbados oceans.

Our tourism industry is unsustainable and is a heavy polluter of our seas; so is the sewage which is flushed out by the BWA into the sea.

So what is the solution offered by our patriotic flsherman. They break into someone’s home with containers to pillage as much fish as they can catch.

The Trin fisherman who have a higher IQ, quite rightly belief that such action will kill the golden goose.

Is it any surprise that Barbados with its superior mindset is universally despised throughout the Caribbean.

The Guardian’s offer for an interview on this subject was refused by this government.

As Bush Tea would say “What a place “.

“….However, he insists that their methods “are not sustainable”.

7. Think I gave you this joke a while back.

I was told it in the 60’s before Trinidad owned Barbados.

These two punters, a Trini and a Bajan decide to bet on a horse.

They consult an obeah man who tells them the way to confirm a winner is to push a hose up the animal’s rear end and blow.

If the eyes roll forward it is a winner, backwards, a sure loser.

So, the two of them go into the favorite’s stall in the dead of night, the Bajan gives the Trini the hose, he will watch the eyes.

The Trini blows and the Bajan sees nothing.

Fed up, the Bajan tells the Trini to blow again and eventually tells him he will blow.

So, the Bajan pulls the hose out of the horse and reinserts it the other way around.

The Trini is appalled and upbraids the Bajan.

The Bajan tells the Trini “you think I gine put my mouth where you just had yours?”

Moral: Bajans and Trinis are still the same stupid people but atleast there was a time when they could work together …. once the Trini would obey orders.

8. “MONROVIA – The man who once admitted to living on loan, but elected President of Liberia, Joseph Nyuma Boakai has come under stern criticism from one of his strong supporters Representative Yekeh Kolubah for donating millions of Liberian dollars families of the victims of the gas tanker explosion in the country without disclosing the source of the funding.”

9. #FrontpageAfrica is owned by Liberian #RodneySieh who traces his roots to #Barbados.

“President-elect Boakai also provided 10 million Liberian dollars and 200 bags of rice as a way of identifying with the bereaved families.

But speaking to reporters in Monrovia on Sunday, January 7, Representative #YekehKolubah observed that the source of the money and rice provided was not made known to the public.”

https://frontpageafricaonline.com/news/liberia-controversial-yekeh-koluba-questions-boakai-on-the-source-of-l10m-and-200-bags-of-rice-donated-to-victims-of-totota-tanker-explosion/

10. Transfers.and accounts, not transparency and accountability.

This is Barbados. A place where our leader’s word is gospel.

Believe you me, you can take that to the bank.

11. Santia (NationNews): “Either way, it was processed by my office and the proceeds went to the people of MY constituency”

NationNews:
    “Mottley added that the cheque was…NOT cashed.”

I not too bright so I here spraining my brain to decide if both of these statements are true.

If neither is true.

If one is rue and the other is not. And if so which one.

12. Both can be true.
    Examine the word cash. If you gave me a check and I deposited without asking for cash back then the check was not converted to cash as it was deposited.

If I took the check to a market and paid for stuff, then the check was processed and not cashed.

If my secretary took the check to the bank, then I can say that I did not cash it

Mia did not say “The Minister did not get the mine.

Thanks. Too much time on my hand.

Welcome back. Good to see you. Do you have checks that need processing… ?Theophilus Gazerts
    Republic Bank

13. Bushie

Harold Pinter, the late great British play write, Nobel Laureate, in acceptance, spoke about the ‘tapestry of lies which surround us’.

Central to that closed case is the human inclination to assign its characteristics to everything else in the universes. To reduce spiritualism, as a scientific consideration, to others for absolution.

Whether ‘Boss man’ or emperor such fanciful thinking that a big lie and imposition represents reality continues to be central to you.

It requires acceptance that an organism which stumbles from pillar to post, destroying everything in its wake, knowing less than one percent of what is knowable, could know the mind of some ‘boss man’. A feat the Ancients thought was impossible.

Our point is that the people generally seen as being in control have not a clue. That the human inclination to outsource issues to somebody else furthers the lies we tell ourselves.

Indeed, that the humanoid, recently arrived at the crime scene, could presume to represent that which was, billions of years before him/her, takes the cake, in your mind. Thusly giving everlasting life to Pinter.

14. Fake people = Fake religion Avatar
    Fake people = Fake religion

I would say that any religion that white people promote and follow must be fake.

“US and UK ‘shoot down’ barrage of Houthi airstrikes in Red Sea”
    Fake “White Saviours” are more interested in protecting shipping businesses than humans.

Barbados was never meant to be place for black excellence in studies as it was a place for the study of black people for manipulation and control.

15. Predictable?

Gifts and the Integrity Act

IN 2023, our Parliament passed the Integrity In Public Life Act. Section 3 of the Act establishes a six-member body corporate that is to be known as the Integrity Commission, and whose members are to be appointed by the President of Barbados.

Section 58 of the Act stipulates that the Act “shall come into operation on a day to be fixed by proclamation”. No such day has yet been fixed by proclamation, and so, the Act is not yet in operation. And, of course, no members of the Integrity Commission have yet been appointed by the President.

Now, Section 23 (1) of the Act states that where a Member of Parliament receives a gift that is valued more than $2 500 the MP must make a report of the gift to the Integrity Commission.

And Section 23 (7) goes on to say that the Integrity Commission will then determine whether or not the gift was intended to be a motive or reward for the MP to do something.

The Section further states that if it is deemed that the gift was NOT intended to be a motive or reward for doing something, that the MP will be entitled to keep the gift. But if, on the other hand, the gift is deemed to have been intended to be a motive or reward for the MP to do something, the Integrity Commission will instruct that the gift be delivered up to the Minister with responsibility for Finance.

So, my fellow citizens, can anyone please explain to me what exactly the MP for St Michael South East is supposed to have done wrong when a business firm sent her a gift of a $7 500 cheque to be used in her constituency outreach programme?

Was she supposed to make a report of this gift to a non-existent Integrity Commission? I just don’t get it, and I am hoping that someone could explain it to me.

– DAVID COMISSIONG

16. Luring investors

Tax reform, related measures coming soon

NEW MEASURES ARE COMING to attract investment to Barbados after Government increases corporate tax effective this month.

This was communicated to the business community in recent correspondence from the Ministry of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment.

A December 15, 2023 letter from the ministry stated: “In addition to the tax reform, new measures will be announced in March 2024 to promote investment in Barbados, particularly in the field of sustainable investments, including in the blue and green economy, related to financing the fight against the climate crisis and new risk assurances.”

Legislative changes are imminent to facilitate the corporate tax changes, specifically an amendment to the Income Tax Act “to make provision for the reform of corporation tax in Barbados and other related matters”, and a Corporation Top-up Tax Bill to “make provision for the establishment of an effective tax rate of 15 per cent for a qualifying entity through the imposition of a top-up tax”.

Written comments

In November, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley announced the changes to Barbados’ corporation tax regime in line with the country’s commitment to enforcing a global minimum tax from this month.

Last month, the Ministry of Finance invited the business community and others to submit written comments on the draft legislation to facilitate the implementation of planned corporate tax reform. This related specifically to the amendment to the Income Tax Act and the introduction of the Corporation Top-up Tax Bill.

Interested parties had until January 5 to give feedback, which could include “technical drafting comments as well policy comments . . . on all aspects of the draft bills to the extent they serve the policy purpose of improving doing business in Barbados, attracting more activities and jobs in full compliance with international tax standards.

“The Government of Barbados will carefully review the comments and draw on them as appropriate to improve the legislation which is expected to be adopted by the end of January 2024,” the December 15 letter stated.

“The Government of Barbados is determined to ensure a conducive business environment for domestic and global businesses, which includes full compliance with international standards, appropriate levels of taxation and compatible tax incentives to foster growth and employment in the country.”

Government said the objective of the tax reform “is to modernise the corporate tax system, to ensure that it is conducive to doing business in Barbados while ensuring full compliance with international tax standards”.

The changes to corporate tax include that companies operating in Barbados will be subject to a new corporate income tax rate of nine per cent. Small business companies, which are those with annual revenue below $2 million, “will remain subject to a lower rate of 5.5 per cent and insurance companies will continue to be taxed at zero per cent or two per cent depending on their classification”.

Minimum rate

Mottley said in November that the Global Anti-Base Erosion Model Rules were “designed to ensure that large multinational enterprises pay a minimum effective tax rate of 15 per cent on the income arising in each jurisdiction in which they operate, through the application of a system of top-up taxes in other jurisdictions (an Income Inclusion Rule and/or an UnderTaxed Payment Rule and/or a Qualified Domestic Minimum Top-up Tax)”.

She added: “Where, for example, profits earned by a group subsidiary located in Barbados are taxed at an effective rate of only five per cent, then the new rules will come into play from 2024.

“With the global minimum tax rate of 15 per cent, the jurisdiction where the parent company is based will have the right to charge an additional ten per cent in taxes on the subsidiary’s profits. This will ensure that even those profits located in Barbados are ultimately subject to an effective tax rate of 15 per cent.”

To help cushion the blow of the higher corporate tax, Government will be offering jobs, credit, and research and development tax credits that will be “offset against any other tax liability for a period of four years”. (SC)

17. 95 South (All of the Places We've Been) Avatar
    95 South (All of the Places We’ve Been)

Imho, this cheque issue is a non-issue, except for the fact that there is a need to record and monitor payments and donations to MPs and Political Operatives

You understand the assignment

18. @David
    Why is Commissiong commenting on the “charitable donation” when his boss said, “case closed”?

And why is he referencing act of Parliament that has not been proclaimed into law ?

19. @Sargeant

Publishing of his article probably a timing issue.

20. Important to some.

” The Central Bank of Barbados wishes to advise that following discussions with RBC Royal Bank, RBC has confirmed that effective January 12, 2024, it will no longer charge its customers for transactions they make using the automated clearing house (ACH), including through the real-time payments (RTP) system.”

21. @Hants
    So ya mean other banks was doing this every since an no one noticed????

@David and Sargeant
    Commissiong is an excellent supper singer. As I noted, the check it self is minor. The principle behind the notion of transparency, accountability and operating above board is major.

The DLP though right in raising the issue has (as is the norm nowadays) overplayed their hand a bit. Especially when some hands in George Street are or were probably just as greased.

@Cuhdear Bajan
    Bang on the money. Someone either lied or mispoke or both. Have yet to hear anyone ask that question to Mia or Santia directly but hey, case closed!!!

Just observing

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

DCs response is similar to @enuff early in the issue.
    My only note, is when this administration WANTS to do something, it happens pronto. The new Ministers and Senators were sworn in immediately.
    All MPs, should have charitable entities to which donations are made. The IPL has made $2500 the limit for declaration, so be it.
    That the IPL has not been proclaimed, shouldn’t shelter MPs from operating under “best practice”.
    As a citizens group stated, the IPL needs proclamation ASAP.
    Just like how the NIS to NISSS switch was made, before this administration shared the past NIS reports which “are complete” but still not in the public domain. There is nothing preventing the proclamation of IPL.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Unrelated…Maison Ferrand owner of WIRD changed their major rum Brand from Plantation to Planteray.

24. It is fair to say the honeymoon period has ended for the BLP and all related goodwill. Going forward sensible Barbadians will become more critical of government policies. Our problem is that the DLP is in rebuild and alternative political opposition slim.

#lordhearourprayer

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Words and talk aside, evidence of the honeymoon end, got empirical evidence with BOSS+?
    Bajans do not trust THEIR government with THEIR money.
    This remains one of this administrations frustrations, unlocking local savings, for local investment.
    Meanwhile all and sundry are only too happy to feed off the public purse.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

In other unrelated news….the former CEO and Chair of Gildan is under fire.
    One of the major claims is he spends too much time on Apes Hill, which he personally acquired a few years back.

https://www.bnnbloomberg.ca/ex-gildan-ceo-says-board-ouster-is-tarnishing-the-company-1.2019714

27. @NO

CBB is so aggressive with advertising BOSS+ it must be embarrassing. This is the more accurate barometer of investor confidence. There was a time not too long ago domestic government paper was oversubscribed. ‘Time will tell’ the legacy effect of the 2018 restructure.

28. Northern

How you comparing the appointment of senators to setting up an Integrity Commission? Yuh reaching!

The Integrity Group is a citizen’s body. What did that group had to say?

Its President “Archer, who is an attorney, explained that given the many moving parts involved in the legislation, such as the establishment of the Integrity Commission, her organisation was anticipating it would take approximately nine months for all requirements to be in place. However, her concerns centred around the lack of updates to the public since the bill was passed in Parliament. Additionally, Archer called on the Government to begin public education for those within the Public Service who would be caught in the new law.”

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    Reach or not on swearing in, (it’s so weak it draws the apologists out) you avoided the NIS to NISSS, which is less so? The government bypassed a whole slew of steps to go from one to another?
    I am NOT suggesting that similar be done with the IPL, and
    yes it takes “some” time. However, we all know that everywhere, lawyers are honed in the fine art of DELAY.
    The comments I have read, suggests the process is already ‘behind schedule’? So unless it gets higher prioritization, we will be in 2026 and it will still be a work in progress.
    And by then each side will be blaming the other for delays. And IPL will be “awaiting proclamation”.
    Remember, despite PM MAM telling us in late August (?) the NIS reports to 2015 were complete, I predicted they would make the transition to NISSS without making a single completed report public!!! That’s integrity…lol We got them but none a yah gine see them, even if the law requires us to share them.
    The next thing we’ll be told is the NIS is no longer, hence the Act (which wasn’t followed anyways) in no longer valid.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

I don’t follow Digicel. Have seen where they had/have issues.
    It has enough mass it will exist, regardless of ownership/management

31. This piece by sing-a-song is written just in case anyone needs a definition of the term .. ‘lackie’….

32. political spin strategist operative Avatar
    political spin strategist operative

“It is fair to say the honeymoon period has ended for the BLP and all related goodwill.”

Seems like the Underground has employed a professional political spin strategist operative merchant from Australia. BLP must getting be scared.

33. There were two checks
    The first in Santias name was stolen and probably in custody when the second one was written.
    The second was in the charity name and was possessed and used by the constituency office for the Xmas hampers etc.

Santia said the CONTRIBUTION could have be written in her name or to the charity – as happened in this case ( imo meaning that two checks were written).

A check can be written in a person name and then the reason for the check can be written in the memo section

34. The court is saying we are uncomfortable with cheques made payable in the names of MPs, what is so difficult to understand? We do not trust politicians.

35. Today’s Nation Editorial.

Legislation a priority

THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS is pursuing an active legislative agenda given the wide range of policies being made law.

This is in keeping with the promises made by the current administration prior to and since assuming office in 2018.

Some of the laws were planned and promoted, others arising from unexpected situations.

There are some outstanding bits of legislation that need to go before the Parliament before it rises on the call of a General Election. This newspaper sees Freedom of Information legislation as a priority on that list.

It is not about the pursuit of news, interests of media organisations, journalists, commentators and historians but for all those serving the public’s interests and in search of truth.

Hurdles

This legislation will positively impact the lives of the average Barbadian by providing information about state-owned agencies, from bureaucrats, politicians, government-owned companies and public/ private partnerships.

When this legislation is enacted, there will still be hurdles to overcome, the major one to limit access will be the use of “national security” and another will be presenting heavily redacted documents which would make a mockery of disclosure of crucial data.

If Barbados had a Freedom of Information Act it would not be left to a minister of government or other public officials to determine and dictate what, when, where, why and how information would be disclosed.

The public should not have assumptions about the indebtedness of state-owned enterprises, the number of consultants on Government’s payroll, contracts awarded for ashfall clean-up or school repairs. The expenditure on overseas travel by the political directorate on an annual basis over the last two decades outlining a detailed breakdown of the travel agencies should not be a secret.

We recognise there will be a need to train public officers and sensitise them on how to deal with requests under the legislation and there will be other requirements such as having an Information Commissioner and relevant technology. These must not, however, be stumbling blocks to realising a meaningful goal.

This newspaper is certain that freedom of information law will bring a wide range of benefits including more efficient government spending, less wastage and greater scrutiny.

Supporting plank

In a country with no actively functioning Public Accounts Committee, to have the suggested legislation would be a good supporting plank to the work of the Auditor General relating to procurement issues, administration issues across the public institutions and the most efficient use of the public purse.

Barbadians must have a right to request and receive information and governments an obligation to publish it proactively.

When the people are well-informed, the discussion between the public and policy-makers is more meaningful and it supports and strengthens democracy.

Attorney General Dale Marshall and Minister of Information and Public Affairs Wilfred Abrahams need to get the process going to make Freedom of Access to Information legislation a reality.

The goal, we suggest, should be September 28, International Day for Universal Access to Information.

36. Music Doesn't Lie Avatar
    Music Doesn’t Lie

🇬🇧 Empire Building Lessons – Job Training for Western Slave Markets 101
    🇧🇧 There are “good slaves” (from Barbados)
    🇯🇲 There are “bad slaves” (from Jamaica)

If Barbados wants to be Rebel Souls they will have to listen to reggae, grow dreadlocks and smoke copious amounts of herb for the deprogramming of their minds. Keep it Underground.

37. Black Wall Street, Tulsa Avatar
    Black Wall Street, Tulsa

Another angle or “Take” that could be pursued by the anti-Government rebels on the Underground is an Anti-Money Laundering angle.

Donation to “Fake Charities” can be under recorded with “legal” payback for “imaginary services provided”.

The Lord works in mysterious ways, and Black Churches are watched by the Feds for the “Black Economy”.

For the love of money is the root of all evil:

38. I don’t care what the court think so there is nothing for me to understand here. I was trying to explain for the few that are confused about the check/s

I give / depend on nothing ( including vote) to politicians

IMO the court should love checks and wires because they leave a better paper trail than brown paper bags / large envelopes

39. The blogmaster does not care if one person r two cheques were written, there is the substantive issue that remains, donations to parliamentarians must be transparent, proclaimed law or rh not.

40. “A check can be written in a person name and then the reason for the check can be written in the memo section” 0/1

You need to stop this foolishness. Because something is written in the memo section does not meant that thing was done. Just admit it is a bad idea to have cheques ‘for charity’ made out in a politician’s name.

“IMO the court should love checks and wires because they leave a better paper trail than brown paper bags / large envelopes.” 1/2

Some how you seem to think that because a check is written there are no brown paper bags/envelopes. The three can exist side by side but as you stated checks do leave a trail.

C+ … the plus is for effort

41. Lawyers in Barbados do not have accounts designated “Trust” accounts for their clients’ funds, yuh think any politician will have an account designated “charitable donations” or any other term to indicate that funds in that account are to be used for charitable purposes.

Most politicians are lawyers.

Case closed.

42. Is there any doubt why there is growing apathy and cynicism with the public directed at politicians?

43. I here listening to Brasstacks on VOB929.

SUGAR

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

Sarge
    At the beginning of this issue, I pointed out MP Hinckson, (I cannot speak to others) has a Foundation, the Clarkson Foundation, which is a separate entity with a Board to oversee it’s operations. It has its own website etc
    It isn’t 100% perfect. Meaning monies can always be diverted and then somebody has to discover that occured.
    However, the intent is clear, that monies for the Foundation’s work and programs are separate from the MP themself.
    Yes this requires effort. But it is not that difficult? And I believe MP Hinckson is a lawyer.
    This separation should be mandatory for all MPs.