A Jacket for Jack

We are doing our students a grave disservice. 

Submitted by Dr. Grenville Phillips II

Once again, the Ministry of Education has proposed some type of educational reform to address the fact that most students leave school with no certificate evidence of having regularly attended.

After a lot of reported consultations, an outline of an educational reform plan has been revealed – with much public relations fanfare.  Tragically, we seem to be planning to go from bad to worse, as if that were even possible.

THE PROBLEM.

The fundamental problem with our educational system is that it is not designed for all of our students.  It is principally designed for the 20% of students who happen to understand the taught information earlier than their classmates, whether through parental support or their own initiatives.

Instead of addressing this root cause, we have decided to create separate schools of excellence.  This will simply give the 20% of early-learners more learning options, while continuing to disqualify the majority of our students from the main benefits of a secondary school education.

OUR FAILURES.

We are doing our students a grave disservice.  Instead of changing our policies that fail most of our students, we plan to shift our blame to them by cementing them as academic failures by removing their incentives to try.

Rather than evidence their secondary school education with regional or international certificates of academic worth that require their effort, we plan to present them with academically worthless certificates of participation – that require relatively little effort on their part.  Shockingly, stakeholder teaching organisations have given this plan their blessing.

THE SUPPORTING CAST.

Our experienced teachers know that our educational system does not benefit the majority of our students.  After first form, our secondary school early-learners seem to understand that our educational system is designed for them, and that the others make up a supporting cast.  By third form, the ‘supporting cast’ seem to understand that they are simply along for the ride – and begin to lose hope.

The only group that remains hopeful that our educational system can benefit all students are parents – especially parents of the ‘supporting cast’.  This educational reform plan is either a coincidence of incompetence or a cruel joke carefully designed to deceive parents into remaining hopeful.

THE SOLUTION.

The solution to all of this failure is obvious – follow the ISO 9001 international method of addressing root causes of problems, rather than our homegrown methods of reacting to symptoms with initiatives that do not address any of the root causes.

We need an educational system designed for all students.  This means that we teach in a way that all students may understand, instead of mainly the 20% who happen to understand the material first.  If every student understands, then every student can achieve a 100% pass mark on every test.  For clarity, those who are mentally retarded need special care.

CAREFUL AND CARELESS.

The reason why all students may not achieve the 100% pass mark is that some are careful while others are careless.  The careful students accept that they are not perfect and choose to reread the questions and recheck their answers.  Also, because they attach value to the taught material, they pay attention.  The careless will read the questions once and not check their answers at all.  Also, because they attach little value to what is taught, they allow themselves to be distracted.

The purpose of testing then is to identify the careless students and encourage them to: (i) adopt a diligent attitude of carefulness and (ii) value what is taught.  Students may have diverse reasons for being careless, including: parental challenges, home condition, bullying, and community environment.  However, regardless of the reason, all students can make the decision to improve the things they can control – one of which is their attitude.

Students will likely change for the better once they understand the benefits of doing so, and believe that they can attain them with normal effort.  This is not theory.  I have written about this for almost two decades – and practiced it for more than a decade.

JACKETS FOR JACK.

Since founding Walbrent College in 2010, the minimum pass mark has always been 100% and most students attain this standard.  The careless are encouraged to diligently pursue the way of the careful and similarly benefit.  There is now over a decade of evidence proving the success of this method.

While students may be classified as careful or careless, adults may be classified as either teachable or stubborn.   Despite writing about improving education for over two decades, I remain hopeful that policy makers will be willing to discuss them one day soon – two decades is a long time to be giving jack his jacket.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering, President of Walbrent College, and a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

19 thoughts on “A Jacket for Jack

1. Look Here Grenville!!!
    You are only confusing the issue by bringing common sense, logic and BASIC problem solving skills into the discussion.
    In any damn case, do you REALLY expect that people who are incapable of executing even the most basic routine matters even UNDERSTAND the concept of International Standards and accepted practice?
    Steupsss…
    Can you get this article reworded into what the DLP did under Jones vs what happened under Eduteck and what’s happening now under the minister who is to big to resign?
    This is Brassbados Grenville….

…and
    What ISO 9001 what?!?
    …THAT is for REAL REAL people, who value themselves and their children’s future.

• @Bush Tea

The refrain from public commentators and defenders of our education system is that our people travel across the world and do well. The blogmaster often responds what about those who fall through the cracks. Those who get 19 marks and are still placed in the system. We tend to focus on the point on the pyramid.

• “….our people travel across the world and do well.”
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      That is a STUPID refrain Boss.

There HAS NEVER been any unusual ‘problem’ with our people… (except brassbowlery) 🙂

The ‘PROBLEM’ has always been with our LEADERSHIP and the consequent SYSTEMS that they implemented.

Wuh..
      Even Stinkliar looks intelligent now that he is working at the UN job ent it? …and we ALL know that he is a JA.

Guess what!!!
      His donkey is ‘working’ under ISO 9001 SYSTEMS.

That is Grenville’s point aint it?

2. UN/World Bank/IMF/WHO/UNESCO…
    Six is half dozen boss….
    These are ALL full time AGENCIES of Satan…

AKA the BEAST with many heads….

3. For three years or more , we waited on this transformation thing.
    We were presented with graphics and long winded bios .
    As stated previously, transforming an educational system is not the same as buying garbage trucks and buses.
    Somethings go beyond photo ops.

4. This problem has been going on for perpetuity in the Educational system of Barbados and IMHO is purpose work.

The problem is not carelessness Grenville with all due respect: The problem is that there are many students who are UNABLE to grasp the rudimentary elements of education as presented by the Barbados Ministry of Education’s Curriculum.

I operated a “Special” school in Barbados, I was slandered, vilified and was finally forced to shut down for illegal reasons and run out of the island because what I was doing SHOWED that these students COULD be remediated and go on not only to lead a normal life but some of them are in university now.

This method of education that I offered to the children of Barbados was anathema to the MOE and I was not a thorn in their sides but a dagger.

It will go on into perpetuity until God Almighty steps in. Vengeance is Mine (meaning the Lord’s).

• Yes, the curriculum is a problem – but it is simply one method the colonial system uses to weed out the dull ones so that the bright ones may flourish.

We need a system that allows all students to flourish, not for some to be directed to work with their hands. Let the students choose to work with their hands if that is what they find exciting and fulfilling.

5. I entered Primary School as a little sponge. Academics at that level was a piece of cake. Upon completing class 2 I, along with about 5 more of my classmates were slated to skip class 3 and promote straight to class 4, because we were exceptional at that level. I spent the entire summer vacation with my head in any book I could find. I loved learning. Was prepared for class 4.

Come September upon return to school, we were told that class 4 was too full and we were reverted to class 3. I was beyond disappointed. I was angry and having a jackass for a teacher who seem to take all her personal problems out on the students didn’t make it easy. There were times I wanted my father to come to the school and beat her up. She just couldn’t separate the personal from the professional.

That episode coupled with the fact that I fell and hit my head on a rock at school, affected me negatively. I never recovered and I hated school. Felt like something died within me…..and it all occurred while I was in primary school.

————————————————–

I can attest to the fact that its a problem of insularity.

I know nothing of the Erdiston’s cirriculum, but it appears to be sorely lacking in the spiritual/psychological or in the ‘human touch’ department.

Teachers might have attained the required academic qualification but too many may be lacking the aptitude and passion for the job. Such passion and aptitude allow the teacher to go beyond the academic and reach out to a struggling student, who maybe experiencing domestic problems or other problem. Far too many take academic achievement as something personal believing that they achieved it on their own, when it actually ‘took a village.’

As a teacher, its not enough to be academically qualified. Teachers should have a keen interest in the future welfare of the nation knowing that well balanced students equate to the progression of the society.

Yes “It still takes a village.”

Barbados will have attained a high level of ‘education’ when the nation can do for self w/o having to seek external ‘expertise’ …eg fixing that sewage problem.

but has the cirriculum on the island changed since the 1800s?
    ————————————————–

To take up a position overseas with an international agency does not require high intelligence. It just requires that you have a subservient mentality that’s willing to take orders and implement such w/o push back.

6. I operated a “Special” school in Barbados, I was slandered, vilified and was finally forced to shut down for illegal reasons and run out of the island because what I was doing SHOWED that these students COULD be remediated and go on not only to lead a normal life but some of them are in university now.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

WELCOME TO THE 2 X 3 ISLAND I CAN ATTEST FROM FIRST MY OWN HAND EXPERIENCE TO WHAT YOU HAD TO DEAL WITH.

THEY DON’T LIKE INDIVIDUALS WHO CAN STAND ON THEIR FEET AND BE SUCCESSFUL WHILST LEADING OTHERS.

YOU NEEDED TO BE KISSING A LOT OF PEOPLE ASSES AND GREASING THE RIGHT FINGERS.

IT IS A SMALL SOCIETY THAT LIVE LIKE CRABS IN THE BARREL WHICH IS WHY THE LEADERS EXPLOIT THEM EVERY ELECTION TIME AS THOUGH PUPPETS ON A STRING.

WHEN I READ THIS SUBMISSION I SMILED AS IT JUST CONFIRMED WHY I LEFT.

WAY WAY TOO MANY SMALL MINDED DEMONS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

• Yup: I left too. Sad that such talent was offered and wasted but God does not sleep. Thanks for the endorsement.

7. The objective of an eudcation system should be to produce citizens that exemplify the value system of a country, regardless of their academic ability.
    But when showmanship, the gift of the gab and chicanery are celebrated skills on display in our Parliament, on the Block, at the executive level of every company and even in non-profit organisations, what is the point of a teenager who takes a little longer to understand a concept trying harder to understand Chemistry or French, when all he needs is pretty clothes, a fast tongue and a conniving mind. Even the so called bright ones also recognise this and are also seduced.
    No amount of tinkering or total reform of the eudcation system will bring about real change until this country values HONOUR, INTEGRITY, MORALITY and ETHICS.

• The objective is many things combined. Realizing personal goals. Aligning education output with national imperatives etc.

8. Listen let me make it simple hear for all.

I had a family member who owned a parrot that knew over 100 words. If you asked him the meaning of 1 word though he could not explain it.

To remember and recite is not to know, it simply is a matter of memory. We do not teach children to be prepared for the real world at school. Most leave there and cant balance a cheque book, do not know the cost difference between buying an item with cash vs credit and are taught few skills for the real world that lies ahead.

These schools work perfect to produce employees for the job market but do little to create entrepreneurs. If you doubt this what does Gates, Dell and Branson have in common besides wealth? Alll left school early. The entrepreneur can not be boxed in and does not think like the perfect employee. They dislike structure and thrive in what many view as chaos.

• That is why the aim is not to remember but to understand. Once something is understood, no effort needs to be made to remember it – that happens automatically.

9. The Ministry of Education NEEDS to incorporate foreign languages like yesterday …. Swahili, Mandarin, Russian and Arabic into the cirriculum at the Primary level where children are very open to languages. End the island mindset. Prepare the children for the world. English, French and Spanish are no longer dominant. Prepare the children.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.