There is a recent article in The Economist which highlighted a problem of high demand for housing in London, England. Not unlike Barbados the demand is significantly located at the cheaper end of the price scale. 

Britain badly needs more homes. In the past two decades its population has grown by nearly 8m; another 2m people will be added by 2030. Many will be drawn to cities, the engine-rooms of the economy. Yet the supply of new housing is not keeping up. London alone needs an estimated 83,000 new homes each year, according to Savills, an estate agent, but is building only half that. The biggest shortfall is at the cheaper end of the housing market—anything costing less than £450 ($560) per square foot, or £4,840 per square metre, to buy. This segment accounts for nearly three-fifths of demand but less than a third of forecast supply in London (see chart).

Can high-rise buildings solve London’s housing problems

One of the lofty and laudable goals of the Mottley government is to build 10, 000 houses over five years. A recent update from Minister of Housing Dwight Sutherland suggests about 900 houses have been constructed towards meeting the goal and 2000 is the target for 2023 to 2024. We have to take the word of the minister because no specifics were mentioned to allow for cross check.

The size of Barbados is reported to be 166 mi² or 20 miles long to 15 miles wide. A relevant and sensible housing policy must factor the size of the island. How sustainable can it be to litter the once pristine landscape of Barbados with houses at the whim and fancy of politicians? We can see the result of an irrelevant vehicle policy by successive governments with the logjams experienced daily on our roads. By the way, has any study been done of the impact on national productivity because of overcrowded roads?

Is this another example of the King has no clothes approach to policy making? 

Minister Dwight Sutherland should address existing tenancy laws to encourage reluctant landlords to free up room stock as a partial solution to the housing problem. It is no secret landlords are seeing hell to manage delinquent tenants. Bear in mind many many individuals in the lower strata of society do not have the means to purchase a home through traditional means.

There is a reality Barbados must accept, the island is too small to execute a policy of constructing thousands of standalone houses. If such a policy were implemented it will not take long for the Barbados landscape to resemble what we see daily on our highways and byways.

113 responses to “Size Matters”

1. So what you think will happen with Trump’s $475 million lawsuit against CNN for defamation?

Settlement or fight?

Trump has nothing to lose plus all the evidence he could ever want like the Mueller report!!

2. 788 million peanuts Avatar
    788 million peanuts

“Wonder if any money passed?”

$788m is nuffink for the Murdoch Klan
    it is just double what the KKK Kingsland Knox Klan think they will get but won’t hahaha

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

You are being very silly …. 🤣🤣VERY! … But I will humour you …

1)Trump will win that suit as he (and allies) did with each and every one of the 60 or so election-fraud cases! He will win BIGLY! – SMH

2)He is suing CNN for calling him a liar and saying he perpetuated the ‘Big Lie’ … ahem… multiple court cases INCLUDING this latest Fox one has CONFIRMED that as true. The simplest defense against defamation is the TRUTH! … So yeah, massive victory for #45 🤣

3)Not the Mueller report again … he did not do ‘golden showers’ ok we get that; he didn’t DIRECTLY collude with Russia, yep we got that too…BUT his campaign manager was convicted based on Mueller’s investigation; his Security Adviser was fired …his … oh gee, the list is long.

So please let’s not rehash that.

I gone, gone … like Fox you are a propagandist.

4. Did the big payout helped or harm FOX.

It probably helped. The bubblers will not get to see FOX fully exposed.

5. @ dpD…… isn’t Fox News a purveyor of “FAKE NEWS” as well?

6. TheOGazerts on April 18, 2023 at 8:06 PM said:

Did the big payout helped or harm FOX.

It probably helped. The bubblers will not get to see FOX fully exposed.

… and Dominion won’t have to expose its “trade secrets”.

7. CNN revenue is $2.0B annually. After extensive research and analysis, Zippia’s data science team found the following key financial metrics. CNN has 5,392 employees, and the revenue per employee ratio is $370,919. CNN peak revenue was $2.0B in 2022.

8. Lawdy Lawdy Blues Avatar
    Lawdy Lawdy Blues

White People Blues
    Why So Pale and Wan?
    Cost of Living Rises
    War, Gas Price Increases, Food Costs Soaring, Covid, Brexit, Global Financial Recession, Quantitive Easing, Praise without Raise, Low Stagnant Wage Rates for 2+ decades
    Solution is NOT higher interest fucking rates

9. Another hotel to be built on the old Nico restaurant site?

10. Another wtf moment.

“the Government and the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) had invested close to US$70 million (BDS$140 million).”

“That legal work has to be done first. It is in the court system. I believe it has progressed but not completed,” Persaud said.

11. We are invested Avatar

Monies spent under the guise of restarting the project last time, have now become ‘invested’, even though the title to the lands remains in limbo.

12. Director of Finance and Economic Affairs The Most Honourable….
    Are the maids in the civil service now merely “Honourable”.
    Or was the body the recipient of some honour which now makes them, irrespective of job title, Most Honourable.
    We too love a title, and still claim to hate the colonizers, from whence they came.
    Let them put whatever letters they are granted behind their name, but stop all the prefixes.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

I recall your telling me, that ‘my man Avi’ had ceased using or being referred to as Professor. This is one of several ’23 stories which refer to him as Professor.

And after the CBL bailout why wouldn’t ‘investors’ be lined up around the block. You gine get your money back, plus some, once you pay the requisite consulting fees and commissions.

14. @NO

We have short memory.

15. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“We too love a title, and still claim to hate the colonizers, from whence they came.”

Ignorant and sickening arent they, same colonizers they would not only sell ya too repeatedly but kill ya if there is something in it for them, something they crave and covet…the ethics, morals and integrity lacking negros are like that …who is loyal to no one but their own selfishness and all consuming greed…even if it’s only for empty colonial titles, and driven by inferiority complex dem tink dem is nuhbody witout dem..not realizing that they are nobodies anyway…with or without useless titles.

16. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Am seeing info circulating where it’s said FDA discontinued use of pfizer and moderna vaccines in the US…..fda.gov says the monovalent are no longer authorized..

.then they should not be used anywhere else.

Question is: why is sleight of hand being used on the island to roll out sinopharm and J & J vaccines..only slaves and fowls are that dumb to continue buying into the fraud..

..did a WEF doctor not say merely couple months ago that the situation could have been handled better….meaning it was not handled as it should…what exactly are Barbados’ wannabes trying to prove…is it death for dollars? no scruples…..did they decide to make their own wayward and reckless decisions while everyone else is BACKING DOWN..

.but dont stop…every dog got their day, some get two.

17. Take a chance!!! Avatar
    Take a chance!!!

The newest lottery is from the BWA. For just $2/entry you must predict where tomorrow’s water outage requiring repairs will be. Winners will be posted in Barbados Today at the end of the story on the BWA outage.

18. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

John…just saw where Fox got a 2.7 billion dollar lawsuit coming up…accusing a company of vote rigging.which was “debunked”..

another gigantic settlement?

The article started…” Rupert Murdoch Fox will find that a damaged beast attracts more foes.”

Straight to the point.

Big league players.

19. Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on April 20, 2023 at 8:58 PM said:

John…just saw where Fox got a 2.7 billion dollar lawsuit coming up…accusing a company of vote rigging.which was “debunked”..

another gigantic settlement?

The article started…” Rupert Murdoch Fox will find that a damaged beast attracts more foes.”

Straight to the point.

Big league players.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Fox is sitting on 4.7 billion in cash!!! Its annual revenue is 14.9 billion and growing.

CNN gets 2 billion in revenue and it is falling. It has discredited itself with constant proven fallacious attacks on Trump from 2016. Russia hoax, two impeachments, Jan6 etc.

Fox had two lawsuits against it now it has one.

Smart money is that it will fight Smartmattic all the way to the Supreme Court. It has the resources.

I was surprised when both Smartmattic and Dominion did not go after Fox together.

Tells me neither one liked their chances.

Fox now has atleast 2 years, perhaps six or more of Trump and the boost he gives to ratings and earnings.

Good chance it will draw Smartmattic over the coals … or it may settle, who knows.

Its competitors have cut their own throats.

Fox will laugh all the way to the bank for the forseeible future

Size matters and Fox has it in abundance!!

20. What is the long term future for Dominion and Smartmattic if Trump wins?

He says America will go back to paper ballots as have other countries like France which tried machine voting.

21. “Fox had two lawsuits against it now it has one.
    Smart money is that it will fight Smartmattic all the way to the Supreme Court. It has the resources.
    I was surprised when both Smartmattic and Dominion did not go after Fox together.
    Tells me neither one liked their chances.
    Fox now has at least 2 years, perhaps six or more of Trump and the boost he gives to ratings and earnings.
    Good chance it will draw Smartmattic over the coals … or it may settle, who knows.”

You need to turn the dial and listen to other station than Faux News. In case you have not heard, Fox made a big payout to Dominion.

22. I listen to all and understand why Fox is 7 times more successful than CNN or for that matter any other station.

The others are just downright boring and repetitive.

Fox has not had to retract a single thing it said!!

It has a pile of cash it can use to fight or settle with Smartmattic as it chooses and that pile of cash is growing simply because it is never boring or repetitive and has a huge growing audience.

Wolf Blitzem is mother misery herself!! Who listens to him.

Rachel Madcow is downright laughable.

I used to listen to her all the time in 2016.

Amanpour has become so predictable that she isn’t worth the time.

Cuomo, Lauer, Stelter, Rose, Lemon, Matthews etc have all bitten the dust.

23. A huge difference between Fox and the others is that they rotate presenters in and out!! If you go to CNN or the others you always get the same old crap.

So naturally, Fox has a growing pile of cash with growing audiences, revenues and ratings!!

It’s alive.

24. You have made your point , we get it. Now give it a rest.

25. Rice and peas or peas and rice.

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, you said: “You have made your point , we get it. Now give it a rest.” … That is THE major problem we have today, brother… he repeats absolute inaccuracies laced with numerical or causative truths and REPETITION creates a perception of truth!

He and all like him will NEVER give it a rest. It is up to folks like YOU (particularly) – as editors of space like this -and all other reasonable people to lambaste his falsehoods strongly and continually.

As he RIGHTLY states above FOX Opinion “has not had to retract a single thing it said!!” despite the ABSOLUTE REALITY that they just ADMITTED that their presenters lied repeatedly on air.

He also boasts gleefully that Fox churns billions in annual revenue from those lies and laughs at competitors who do not lie so pervasively and thus don’t produce similiar revenues … in short Mr Blogmaster … we the people love BS and the more we hear what we want to hear the more we ACCEPT it.

You know the story of the Borg I am sure… how soon until we are all like the John Fellows of this world and be fully assimilated by lies and propaganda !

Roddenberry’s “Next Generation” series started over 35 years ago … THAT point of assimilation to a pervasively innocuously bad culture has been made repeatedly too, not so … yet HERE we are!

27. We live in a increasingly polarized world. There is a reason why FOX and Murdoch settled, the leading personalities at FOX admitted , and there is evidence, to being purveyors of falsehoods, FOX as a member of the fourth estate had no choice to settle in order to avoid the contradiction by contesting the case.

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

BS … pure unadulterated BS… if #45 EVER returns to the Presidency of any meaningful org – far less the US – life as we know it here in April 2023 will have CEASED !

It’s as simple as that.

When this man crashes – as he will – we can all repeat the over-used clichéd verbiage: ‘It will heard all over the world’!

He expects that many militia and others not unlike you will again amass in their numbers to ‘fight’ his treacherous cause … I am fearful he may surely get his wish!

So as always ‘we prepare for the worst and hope for the best’ or simply as we learned as Boy Scouts: Be Prepared.

29. (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below We're All Going to Go [Backing Track, Take 1 & 2] Avatar
    (Don’t Worry) If There’s a Hell Below We’re All Going to Go [Backing Track, Take 1 & 2]

The Racist Australian runs Fox News*

and Racist Americans
    and Racist Brits
    aka Racist Conservatives Love Fox News
    aka Racist News
    (Fox Corporation / 21st Century Fox)
    in the UK (The Sun and The Times)
    in the US (The Wall Street Journal and the New York Post)

Sisters, n*ggers, whities
    Jews and the crackers
    Don’t worry, if there’s hell below, we’re all gotta go
    Ah

Sisters, brothers and the whities
    Blacks and the crackers
    Police and their backers
    They’re all political actors

30. I see Bragg got butchered in New York.

If he can’t win in New York no point appealing, more bloodshed!

31. David
    on April 21, 2023 at 10:18 AM said:

We live in a increasingly polarized world. There is a reason why FOX and Murdoch settled, the leading personalities at FOX admitted , and there is evidence, to being purveyors of falsehoods, FOX as a member of the fourth estate had no choice to settle in order to avoid the contradiction by contesting the case.

So why did Dominion settle?

Fox was required to retract nothing!!

32. What is there to retract? It is a case where FOX agreed to an out of court settlement to stop the bleed on its reputation as a member of the fourth estate because its anchors were caught out telling lies.

33. don't bother with them Avatar
    don’t bother with them

John GP and Critical Analyzer believed the Big Lie
    so don’t bother with them

34. I grew up in the church and I thought that I had moved away from all of that fuzzy stuff. In the good old SDA church, one pastor took a delight in turning to the book of Revelations and telling us of the “mark of the beast” and of serpents and dragons let loose on this earth in the final days.

I considered it all as an hallucination or a figment of someone’s imagination, but during the past decade something was let loose on this earth.

I cannot for the life of me understand why we are where we are today. Good sense has abandoned us; conspiracy theories, alternative truths and fake stories are now the coin of all media.

The recent spate of shooting of children rivals or exceed drive by shootings in their senselessness. Politicians/judges would rip this country (USA) apart to satisfy their own ends. Once the Supreme Court was thought of as the domain of wise and sensible men, but lately their action reinforces the saying “the law is an ass>

I used to think things were complicated, but I have now moved to the point where “nothing makes sense, anymore”

35. @444
    I see you are struggling with your music.
    I will gfive you a few of my favorites to help you along the path.
    The scratch free collection

36. Bu probation
    BU has some heavy disciple about music

Yo momma is so fat that when she went to the beach a whale swam up and sang, “We are family, even though you’re fatter than me.”

37. don’t bother with them on April 21, 2023 at 2:55 PM said:

John GP and Critical Analyzer believed the Big Lie
    so don’t bother with them

There is of course prima facia evidence that supports the truth.

It is called Joe Biden!!

Only a complete idiot would believe Joe Biden could get 81 million votes.

This time around he may require 100 million or more.
    I

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, I will use the end of your piece to make a different point, namely: nothing made sense then either, it was just less questioned!

This SAME Supreme Court that “was thought of as the domain of wise and sensible men” is the same institution that deemed a Black human 3/5th inequal to his white counter-part.

That dreaded decision and more like it where for example the worthy right to protection with a personal firearm has been equated to a right to own a modern day gatling gun for use at home.

The law has looong been law an ass.

I agree with you tho that whereas previously things appeared complicated, now they are quite simple: many high ranking Americans quite ‘religiously’ work to overthrow their govt and undermine their systems now as they did in Cuba or across South America and across the world in years past.

No need to remind anyone that they actually enjoyed many successes!

What will be, will be but what was, is again!

39. This is a favorite.
    I like it because it is part of my life story. If my wife and I had thought i through we would have never married each other.. she had ‘nothing’ and I had less. Out wedding rings together cost less that $100.00 I swear that if we had roaches, they had to bring their own food if they wanted something to eat … but we made it through.

If you tell me that you heard something sweeter, I know you are lying….

40. Why do my music vary… These songs are snippets of my life. Take this one for example.. it reminds me of the Bajan girls that ignored me..

41. Have you ever looked at a woman (not yours) and as you are looking you realized a next man is looking at your woman?

42. Thank God for typos… I reached my quota and had to stop 🙂

43. “This SAME Supreme Court that “was thought of as the domain of wise and sensible men” is the same institution that deemed a Black human 3/5th inequal to his white counter-part.”

You made an excellent point.

Some judges call themselves “orginalist”, believing that the constitution should be interpreted as it was originally written. But the original document has several amendments, so how could they wish to interpret an obviously flawed document as it was originally written.

The only explanation that I can arrive at, is that here we have a group of American speaking in racist code and appeasing some group that is out there.

I may have oversimplified ‘originalism’. I am no lawyer, though I play one on BU.

44. Take a chance!!! Avatar
    Take a chance!!!

The newest lottery is from the BWA. For just $2/entry you must predict where tomorrow’s water outage requiring repairs will be. Winners will be posted in Barbados Today at the end of the story on the BWA…
    The Friday April 21 winner was Shop Hill.
    There were no winning entries and $448 will be carried forward

45. I here laughing at these two geniuses.

Murdah!!

Grasshopper, you let muh down but yuh mek muh laugh real hard.

The 3/5 compromise happened in 1787. It was first proposed in 1783.

The Supreme Court came into existence in 1789 and held its first assembly in 1790!!

The south wanted a 1 to 1 ratio when it came to representation in the new Congress but a 0 to 1 ratio when it came to taxation because slaves were property,

So a compromise was reached.