There is, perhaps, no greater call upon citizens anywhere than to act with pride and industry. It is, therefore, a blessing that those words, pride and industry, consummate our national motto. Herein, we discuss the role ‘titles of honour’ play in spurring a country’s productive forces. Firstly, by discussing a seemingly small debate within legal circles with immense import for us today and our future.
Queen’s Counsel are Queen’s Counsel under the ‘Crown in right of Barbados’ whose artefacts are, for all practical purposes, grandfathered within Barbados’ constitutional fabric. Arguably, this great colonial “reservation” within our republican system allows Queen’s Counsel to retain said titles since they were conferred upon them personally at that time.
That time, however, is gone so it is difficult to plausibly argue for Queen’s Counsel becoming King’s Counsel now that King Charles III rules the United Kingdom since the Barbadian Monarchy has ended. Soon, Queen’s Counsel of the former Barbados Dominion, while retaining their titles like our Knights and Dames, must be invited into the new order of equal rank to an Attorney-General before the Courts and above the long-defunct Serjeant-at-law.
This resolution will please neither party currently claiming ‘correctness’ but it is, perhaps, the most logically consistent one we have. Moreover, if we leave this conversation at surface-level, we would all but have wasted our time for cause of apparent triviality.
Read full article – Pride and Industry
Pride and industry
There is, perhaps, no greater call upon citizens anywhere than to act with pride and industry. It is, therefore, a blessing that those words, pride and industry, consummate our national motto. Herein, we discuss the role ‘titles of honour’ play in spurring a country’s productive forces. Firstly, by discussing a seemingly small debate within legal circles with immense import for us today and our future.
Queen’s Counsel are Queen’s Counsel under the ‘Crown in right of Barbados’ whose artefacts are, for all practical purposes, grandfathered within Barbados’ constitutional fabric. Arguably, this great colonial “reservation” within our republican system allows Queen’s Counsel to retain said titles since they were conferred upon them personally at that time.
That time, however, is gone so it is difficult to plausibly argue for Queen’s Counsel becoming King’s Counsel now that King Charles III rules the United Kingdom since the Barbadian Monarchy has ended. Soon, Queen’s Counsel of the former Barbados Dominion, while retaining their titles like our Knights and Dames, must be invited into the new order of equal rank to an Attorney-General before the Courts and above the long-defunct Serjeant-at-law.
This resolution will please neither party currently claiming ‘correctness’ but it is, perhaps, the most logically consistent one we have. Moreover, if we leave this conversation at surface-level, we would all but have wasted our time for cause of apparent triviality.
Deeper thought exposes a seemingly trivial conversation about, “how many angels can dance on the head of a pin” as a meaningful conversation about the constitutional role ‘earned honour’ plays in promoting a country’s socio-economic development.
It may surprise many that there is a relationship between “pomp & circumstance” and the “rough-and-tumble” of socio-economic development. However, recalling that the State’s purpose is ‘to give us more together than we have apart’; we see why ‘honour’ lies squarely within a country’s productive foundation.
Human dignity
To quote Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and Myanmar’s former State Counsellor (Prime Minister), Aung San Suu Kyi: “Respect for human dignity implies commitment to creating conditions under which individuals can develop a sense of self-worth and security. True dignity comes with an assurance of one’s ability to rise to the challenges of the human situation. Such assurance is unlikely to be fostered in people who have to live with the threat of violence and injustice, with bad governance and instability or with poverty and disease.
Eradicating these threats must be the aim of those who recognize the sanctity of human dignity and of those who strive to promote human development. Development as growth, advancement and the realization of potential depends on available resources – and no resource is more potent than people empowered by confidence in their value as human beings”.
The concepts of ‘methodological individualism’ and ‘the invisible hand’ – that man is the homo-economicus always seeking the most efficient means of benefiting himself and his self-interested pursuit redounds to collective benefit respectively – bring us to observe that ‘the pride of titles is filled with the work of industry’.
A title is not a play-toy to be doled out on a whim. It is the capstone of a lifetime’s achievements; often fraught with trials and tribulations of unimaginable proportions. We should, therefore, be extremely reluctant, for example, to address judges by anything other than what befits their office and, in turn, those in Offices of Honour should, as a matter of course, enforce the status quo once it does no harm. The same applies everywhere.
Herein, we come to a common understanding befitting this Independence season; with national spirit in full bloom, our title as ‘citizen’ is possibly the most the important developmental tool after ‘parent’, ‘guardian’ and ‘mentor’. These titles go beyond honour; giving meaning to our humanity, which left unfilled, would be a useless mental abstraction.
This point of meaning requires us to consider the work of industry we must pour into our fount of honour to fortify our pride of independence and spirit of republicanism against the onslaught of global forces which, every day, seek to remove from our children and generations to come from their rightful inheritance.
We must, therefore, remember that our work, actions and volunteerism, more so than our consumption, enjoyment and self-satisfaction, are the things which, under command of our title citizen will ensure our true freedom and independence from the very material conditions and institutions which, if left unchecked would subjugate us once again, to the deepest of slaveries.
Dr William M. A. Chandler is a published political economist, legal scholar and business consultant. Email wma@auxomni.com.
Dr. William Chandler is a published political economist, legal scholar and business consultant.
Signed by Garth Patterson is an attorney at law (formerly QC)
Kings Queens Counsels are appointed by the Lord Chancellor
As BRD ditched the Crown KCs and QCs will now act for the Supreme Power
Title positions should no longer reflect gender
PC
@David, this is essentially a QC discussion about KC: Quintessential Contrivance about Kingly Cow-dung!
This entire chatter and talk about meetings in the judges’ chambers to discuss something so simplistically insignificant is NONSENSE!
A nonsense birthed BECAUSE there was no practical and proper Act (or plan) to smoothly transition to Republicanism … had that been done then these non-issues of describing members of the Bar who are deserving of such honorifics (and base higher fees, mind you) would have been easily despatched.
Good heavens, this is done already WITHOUT issue. So why all the long-talk! Steeupese!
And then in keeping with that exceptional sense of nonsensical egotism we had the further nonsense (and illegality) of attempting to rename the duly legislated day of Independence … not to mention creating another National Hero without one word of ‘national’ consultation… More QC this time on PC!
Need we mention that up to recently our gov’t websites STILL had the title Governor General boldly listed … will there be meetings in IT Directors’ chambers to resolve that simplicity too … double Steeupse!!
Looka, we might as well discuss the seismic news of The Netherlands beating South Africa this morning in that T20I cricket match … lot more sensible stuff can be determined from that and our state of cricket affairs than these ridiculous PR contrivances fabricated by egotistical leaders and our governance future, seems to me. Fah real.
I gone, do!
@Dee Word
A case where that noble profession gives more weight to conventions than what is commonsense?
I thought these were a few ming jogging articles. The exception being reference to Aung San Suu Kyi.
Reality is there are several issues which need addressing as opposed to solution by osmosis or time.
On another channel, I see Savoy has reached the mainstream press. With new info? The land descriptors are being challenged as to exactly what lands were bought and transferred in the sale.
And the Church is weighing in (finally?) on the MoE issues.
This is bare BS! (Dah stand fuh bull shit) Have we nothing of importance to be doing? Who gives a RB (dah stan’ fuh rat’s botsy) what they call themselves?
Some people does call dum BTs. ( Dah stan’ fuh big tiefs.)
The only KC I care about is KC and the Sunshine Band.
I wonder if Lashley KC’s brother still plays with that band.
That will now occupy my attention.
I gone too.
@Donna
You need to scratch under the surface of this issue. Why was KC retained. Dee Pedantic cursorily addressed it in the context of an overall governance issue that it is.
@Donna
I saw that group in 2017 live, and he was still the bass guitarist. With Covid and time, I know nothing more current. This is up Hants and Dubs forte.
NO,
Wikipedia wukking. Steve Lashley still listed as member.
Still got it.
The current format you are using for BU maybe streamlined but it is not effective in capturing the quintessence of the BLOG*…
Please consider another “TEMPLATE” or format!!!
Cheers, ‘ole boy…
COMPLETELY OFF-TOPIC:
Dr. Russell L. Blaylock, Retired Neurosurgeon, Theoretical Neuroscience Researcher, Author & Writer in the “Surgical Neurology International” posits some challenging findings to the “MEDICAL INDUSTRIAL COMPLEX” in a piece entitled; “COVID UPDATE: What is the truth?”
He vehemently argues: “The COVID-19 pandemic is one of the most manipulated infectious disease events in history, characterized by official lies in an unending stream lead by government bureaucracies, medical associations, medical boards, the media, and international agencies. We have witnessed a long list of unprecedented intrusions into medical practice, including attacks on medical experts, destruction of medical careers among doctors refusing to participate in killing their patients and a massive regimentation of health care, led by non-qualified individuals with enormous wealth, power and influence…”
He further states: “For the first time in American history a president, governors, mayors, hospital administrators and federal bureaucrats are determining medical treatments based not on accurate scientifically based or even experience based information, but rather to force the acceptance of special forms of care and “prevention”—including remdesivir, use of respirators and ultimately a series of essentially untested messenger RNA vaccines. For the first time in history medical treatment, protocols are not being formulated based on the experience of the physicians treating the largest number of patients successfully, but rather individuals and bureaucracies that have never treated a single patient – including Anthony Fauci, Bill Gates, EcoHealth Alliance, the CDC, WHO, state public health officers and hospital administrators…”
READ MORE: https://surgicalneurologyint.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/11548/SNI-13-167.pdf
As I have been vociferously arguing with the “GREAT” & the “GOOD” since 2019/2020 – “EVERYTHING ON THIS PLANET HAS BEEN BIRTHED, SWADDLED & CROWNED WITH DIABOLICAL LIES”… Nothing can be trusted (EXCEPT) #TheRighteousnessOfJesusChrist!!!
Things are about 2 kick off in the UK!!!
https://youtu.be/FiLChBvrcAA
Re Garth Patterson article, what he states is totally correct. This is what most Bajans FAIL to internalize. Some are even dismissing the significance of becoming a republic for narrow pontifical reasons. From what I can see, if does not affect the price of food, gas or a cell phone it doesn’t register with Barbadians.
To use a layman’s explanation, Barbados became 100% POLITICALLY independent on Nov 30th 2021. In comparison, Barbados became 95% politically independent on 30th Nov 1966. The difference is that the British Monarch was removed as head of state. Once the head of state is not a monarch or emperor but now a president then the state is a republic. There is no need for comprehensive constitutional reform to actually become a republic. There was not even internal political strife in Barbados or resistance from the British Monarch to Barbados becoming a republic. Hence why I support the Mottley administration for Barbados to become a republic without referendum. Knowing Barbados, if we had to wait for this constitutional reform or referendum it would take another 15-20 years.
Where i differ from Garths opinion is that it only strengthens the reasoning to have 30th Nov to remain as Independence Day. Barbados National Day sounds too ambiguous. I consider Heroes Day, Errol Barrow Day and Independence day as national days. Independence and Republic day may sound cumbersome but it explicitly states what the day is celebrating.
A Blast from the Past
A Big Tune with Spirit Guides
Dream a Little Dream of Me
Stars shining bright above you
Night breezes seem to whisper “I love you”
Birds singing in the sycamore tree
Dream a little dream of me