BU’s projection is that the number of murders for 2022 will exceed 2021 – See BU Murder Tracker. Have we done enough to identify and address the underlying factors driving gun violence in Barbados? Obviously there is need to improve enforcement measures but what about the pressing need to also address social behavioural factors? We must do better.
Year | Murders |
2017 | 30 |
2018 | 28 |
2019 | 48 |
2020 | 41 |
2021 | 32 |
2022 | 30 |
See caribbeansignal.com for the latest update to the Barbados Murder Database (2022) and Barbados Murder Statistics January to September 2022.
There have been at least 29 murders between January and September 2022 (up from 26 last month). The steps involved in the following analysis are similar to my 2020 analysis.
NOTE: For up to date numbers, please visit murders.opendatabarbados.org

Read the sordid numbers @caribbeansignal.com.
Saw this in the am and am surprised that no one has commented, perhaps the subject doesn’t rile the folks that contribute to the blog or they are, as I’ve heard from a few folks not one of the targets as the “bad” guys know who they are after. Never let it be said that the phrase “whistling past the graveyard” doesn’t have currency.
In the meanwhile, the Honorable AG said the Police are being outgunned by the criminals.
@Sargeant
The blogmaster is not surprise once you understand what motivates some in this forum to ‘feel’ outraged.
The Revolution (Trendroid’s Rebel Forces Remix)
The Revolution (Leadhead Dub)
General consensus and Police opinion is
Youth killing each other is related to crime and gang activity
Groups are fighting for control of territory escalating to War
Cessation of fighting will occur when one group wins
There will be relative peace until the next group challenges them
Children are the future taxpayers and are identified early so everyone is known in the system
Unemployment will be higher for the next generation which leads to more crime and less tax income
Could be we are all tired or burnt out. I know I am.
I do not know how a 2×3 island has let this thing get so out of hand.
These young men weren’t born like this. I doubt this is how most of them want to live AND DIE.
And they aren’t so bad that they even kill witnesses as they do in some countries. How bad are these boys that we have abandoned them?
Money, money, money is all most people care about. Money for me and none for you.
Truly, I am fed up. I cannot even raise enough energy for an exclamation point.
@Donna
Could be but like parenting and related etc the struggle is never ending.
A senior judicial officer says Barbados’ magistracy is not only short of personnel but is being treated with utter disregard and disrespect
“I call it institutionalised disrespect,” Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes declared on Thursday as he explained that the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Courts were only able to hear urgent matters and new charges as staff were “scotching” at the Supreme Court.
+++++++++
Over to you Mr. Smiley
https://bit.ly/3CKlJEA
@Sargeant
Are we serious? If we do not take the time to ensure there is an adequate infrastructure to deliver justice what is the point?
Two recent posts on different subjects have gone into the ether
Two Suspected Homicides – Starcom Network
https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2022/10/21/two-suspected-homicides/
@ David,
More money for criminal defence lawyers.
Let’s see what the PM, the AG and the Commish have to say.
You are referring to tge WhatsApp making the rounds about Rowe?
A day of 3 murders in the country.
@ David,
The PM and AG should say something. Too many murders in little Barbados.
Don’t know about “Rowe”.
Social media is ablaze Neil Rowe has been accused of rape and will have to answer the charge in short order.
@ David’
Will have to wait and see. Innocent until.
@Sargeant
The blogmaster is not surprise once you understand what motivates some in this forum to ‘feel’ outraged.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
SUCH A PETTY COMMENT.
GET YOUR WONDERFUL WHISKY DRINKING ATTORNEY GENERAL DALE MARSHALL WHO HAD ALL THE ANSWERS TO FIX CRIME WHILST IN OPPOSITION LYING TO HIS OWN BLACK GULLIBLE PEOPLE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.
5 YEARS ONWARD AND …………………………….
Saturday Sun headline
“3 Murders in one day”.
This is what I expect in Toronto not Barbados.
David et al,
The database has been updated. I count at least 34:
https://murders.opendatabarbados.org/view.php
Kind regards,
Amit Uttamchandani
Great job Amit.
You have presented some nice slices of the data.
Thought provoking.
Superb work.
As St Michael is the most populous parish we would expect a higher number of murders would occur there.
But is the number of murders per 1,000 much greater than the other parishes (with murders)?
(I tend to hit and run, but I monitor the site)
Social media is ablaze Neil Rowe has been accused of rape and will have to answer the charge in short order
++++++++
I’ve read what’s on social media but won’t comment at this time, it could be a case of “she said he said”
Let’s see if charges are laid
A 36-year-old male was found hanging at a residence in Charles Rowe Bridge, St. George.
Police said the body was discovered about 7 a.m.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/22/new-cabinet-changes-to-take-effect-on-wednesday/
re “it could be a case of “she said he said” … aren’t so many all about that!
What’s now about on social media is unfortunate for the MP … he may indeed be ‘legally’ not guilty of anything in a court of law…. but the facts as presented thus far would make him quite GUILTY of extremely POOR judgement in the court of public opinion!
Not a good look for an MP and a beleaguered BLP.
He could have been a gentleman to the lady – assuming she was as drunk as alleged – and next day taken her home and the next weekend likely had all the buffet freely presented which he supposedly took without her consent.
Very poor judgement if true!.
If the matter is being processed why is the matter in the public domain? Who leaked the documents?
Can a drunk person give consent ?
Oh, for chrissake! More police and courts are not going to arrest crime.
The PM wrongly stated that only lawyers and undertakers profit from the gang crime.
WHO SHE TINK SHE FOOLIN’?
For some HIDDEN FIGURES crime does pay!
Not for the stupid little CHEAP LABOUR BLACK BOYS though. They get paid chicken feed and live only slightly longer than chickens.
When one egg is broken, there is another one hatching.
Our youngsters need HOPE! Proper education fit for their purpose and opportunity.
And intervention for any who are slipping through the cracks.
That is how you prevent SOME of them from falling into crime. The police and the courts can then deal with the reduced numbers of DETERMINED criminals.
We can never eliminate crime. Some people CHOOSE to engage in it.
Others do so out of hardship. Our task is to eliminate that group.
Agree Donna but that hope is must be partly driven by a performing economy to create opportunities for people to support themselves and families. High employment in the youth segment will foment criminal activity.
It’s nuggets like dese dat duz mek me proud tuh be a Bajan.
The Prime Minister said Barbados was in a very precarious position as it related to crime due
to its very small size. She noted more than 80 per cent of the country’s murder cases had pre-dated 2018.
2022 – 2018 = 4
2018 – 1966 = 52
Well duh!
Nevertheless, thanks for that statistic.
We shall all sleep better tonight.
@ Igud
Yuh lie!!!
No one could have said dat!!!
YOU CANNOT BLINDLY FOLLOW ANY MAN OR WOMAN
Preacher Admits Stealing Almost $1 Million From His Own Church
Great job Amit.
You have presented some nice slices of the data.
Thought provoking.
Superb work.
As St Michael is the most populous parish we would expect a higher number of murders would occur there.
But is the number of murders per 1,000 much greater than the other parishes (with murders)?
(I tend to hit and run, but I monitor the site)
@TheOGazerts,
Thanks for the feedback. Re: your question, the last time I did a per capita by parish, it turned out that St. Philip was highest (per capita). Will add it in the next analysis.
Kind regards,
Amit Uttamchandani.
https://www.caribbeansignal.com
https://murders.opendatabarbados.org
Three men, two in critical condition, had to seek medical attention on Monday night after a shooting incident at Pioneer Road, Bush Hall, St Michael.
I’ve heard an interesting theory regarding the killings in Barbados.
The theory is that some of the male inmates are having sexual relations with others and some who can’t object in Dodds are vowing to get even outside.
The result is when the two are released, one kills the other.
That might explain why it is mostly men killing men and why it is mostly limited to one parish.
Yet another knee-Jerk piece of idiocy that will become meaningless in its execution.
Only a third form (or below) level school student can be expected not to see the obvious flaws in this childish law
First, it is probably no less fun to be murdered by chopping, stoning or bludgeoning than by shooting. The problem is CLEARLY much more fundamental than passing some shiite law about possession
Secondly, it creates a situation where a policeman can guarantee the sentence of 10 years to ANYONE that he/she wishes to ‘disappear’ – by simply “finding them with a gun or bullet”. Fortunately, all of our police officers are pristine, so this is not a problem for us.
Without WISDOM, there is no hope. Only digging ourselves deeper and deeper into the pit of misery.
…and there is but ONE source of true wisdom.