The following was received from a concerned Barbadian residing overseas – Blogmaster

Dear BU:

I have hesitated to make this matter public before as it involves the accounting system for Barbados Land Tax but my problem may be a test case that is aimed at the Barbados senior property holders living abroad.  Here are the facts: 

1) Timely tax receipts are non-existent and Notices come late so that those abroad cannot take advantage of a 10% discount.

2) Since 2019 a marked increase in discrepancies whereby I was double-billed for an arrears due on the BRA portal  I paid both and contrary to practice, the over-payment was  not brought forward as a credit and that receipt arrived a year late.

3) In 2020 I made 4 International Money Transfers in Barbados dollars to cover 2 residential lots and 2 co-owned agricultural lots to the BRA Account at Central Bank of Barbados and they were subjected to a charge of which I was unaware.

4) There was a misapplication of deposits with the sum for the second tranche applied to the first residential lot which had a higher tax.

5) A record was sent me by email that showed that the deposit on the higher taxed lot had been made before I had made the IMTs

6) Several registered letters and emails have been sent to the Commissioner Lewis Ward and to a senior accounting officer but they are yet to acknowledge BRA’s mistake and remove the penalties and now I am being charged thousands of dollars

7) To make matters worse, I sent in 2021 a wire to Republic Bank to cover the 4 lots – BDS$7808.98 with detailed instructions as to disbursement.  I asked for receipts but none came but in August 2022 3 lots appear with heavy penalties for non-payment of taxes.  The fourth agricultural lot which is being requisitioned was free and clear.  So where did my money go? 

I have all my receipts that showed nothing was owing until the false deposit. It would seem that this matter is not worthy of reply. nor speedy resolve.  But it has serious ramifications for the safety of money transferred to Barbados by taxpayers and investors.  Please warn other senior citizens.

Wire Transfer record – Redacted by BU

352 responses to “Barbadian Property Owners Living Abroad, BEWARE”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…am sure you have come across documents and books on our ancient truths, but they are cost prohibitive….yes, we can purchase them, but the money has to be recouped somehow if it’s being put in the public space…

know one guy paid 10,000 US for info not out there, but when the economy takes a nosedive and ya have the funds, the info is really more important, and some will buy..

2. Nobody would be talking about slavery if it were a thing of the past.

The system has changed its clothes, that’s all!

As for those who have risen above, you could tell that to the elderly light-skinned professor who was arrested while attempting to enter his own home, with a key.

It was that dude who helps celebrities discover their roots on a PBS show. He sure discovered his that day!

We may not have experienced slavery, but we have experienced colonialism.

And neo-colonialism etc. etc. etc.

Besides which, slavery ended not so long ago. There are actual RECORDINGS of ex slaves speaking. That should diabuse anyone of the idea that it was waaaaasy back in time.

I don’t moan about slavery daily but I still sèe its effects daily. I also see how desperate certain people are to ensure it never really ends.

But….we few on BU are not the only ones who speak.

It is happening among those who it still affects ALL OVER THE WORLD.

3. I said “diplomacy” not DIPLOMACY.

Diplomacy has nothing to do with telling lies about some wonderful relationship between us and the monarchy for over four hundred years.

That is IDIOCY.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

love when the jesus freaks make themselves look stupid and gotta shut up….

5. 🕉️ OM
    Religions are more about tribes and conquered lands.
    Christianity is the religion of colonialists and slavers.

6. RE Christianity is the religion of colonialists and slavers.

NOT TRUE
    NO colonialists and slavers. IN INDONESIA AND MANY ATOLLS HERE AND THERE

HAVE YOU HEARD OF NEW TRIBES MISSION—NOW CALLED ETHNOS 360?

ETHNOS IS THE GREEK WORD FROM WHICH WE GET ETHNIC ETHNICITY ETC

THE BIBLE HAS BEEN TRANSLATED TO MORE TRIBES THAN ANY OTHER LITTERATURE

THAT INCLUDES THE THE MANY TRIBES IN AFRICA

SEEMS THAT THERE ARE MORE jesus freaks IN AFRICA THAN ANYWHERE ELSE

IT SEEMS THAT I JOHN 1:9 WORKS WELL EVERYWHERE INCLUDING AMONG OUR ANCESTORS IN AFRICA WHERE jesus freaks ABOUND.

THERE ARE MORE jesus freaks IN AFRICA THAN THERE ARE MORONS ON BU.

WARU YOU NEED TO CALL PATCHY MUMMY TO COME TO YOUR ASSTANCE CAUSE YOU ARE LOST
    YOU GETTING SLAUGHTERED ONCE AGAIN

7. GPSeptember 10, 2022 12:24 PM

WILLIAM

I HAD THE CHANCE AND WAS INVITED TO JOIN THE ST MICHAEL’S CHOIR IN 1971 TO SING AT WESTMINITER ABBEY. I DECLINED..

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That was the first time I traveled.

Dean Hazelwood had to fill a chartered plane and my family was one that bought seats to support the visit.

It was a big deal in those days.

I did not go to Westminster, but we traveled all over Scotland and Europe by coach with Dean Hazelwood, his sister Miss Emily Greenidge and Miss Constance Inniss.

First time I saw the laying on of hands alleviate pain.

Wonderful experience.

My mother would have loved to have gone to the Holy Land with Dean Hazelwood’s group but it was not to be.

8. We’ve had slave markets in Libya a few years ago after a criminal NATO war destroyed the country.

War, which was declared on Afrika by the Catholic Church as a means to implement a papal bull which said – “with this sign (meaning the cross) we shall conquer them”.

Chenwezi has persausively contended “what trade?”. That there was no trade, as popularly considered, we even among respectable academicians, but that slavery, like in the case of Libya, was a function of a war declared on Africa. A war, which to this day knows no end

That the same White fuckers are involved in both, as about, should mek sense to the sentient.

9. There are about 400,000 Quakers in the World, most are in Africa.

https://quakerspeak.com/video/how-many-quakers-are-there-in-world/

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John….if you knew Hazelwood, you had to have known Laura, daughter…..do you know what became of her….i knew her growing up…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yall still look STUPID…that’s why ya gotta change the subject…can’t win ANYTHING with people who actually do research and don’t have to REGURGITATE shit like copycats….

if i posted what i actually have in my possession you will CRY..

but nah, certain things just cannot go on here….that one was just but a taste and it DEBUNKED all the bullshit you and John posted on here for over a DECADE….now ya gotta start fresh….with more shite…

12. @ John ; @ GP

I said that some are diluting slavery to sing hymns in a cathedral. Obviously it was a sarcastic remark directed at those who are now referencing slavery as a great four “hundred year friendship”and the “dormant mode “.
    That remains unacceptable language for me , while others call it diplomacy.
    As for enjoying choirs and singing in cathedrals , those are personal preferences and as one who also has personal taste in music , it will not elicit any comment.
    You will both note that I also tend not to get involved in religious / biblical discussions.

13. Shamima Begum is a British born woman, who left the UK in 2015 aged 15. She obtained entry to Syria to join IS ISIS ISIL the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant.

Turns out she was aided by an Asset of Canadian Intelligence and British Intelligence also knew about her from the get go. This gives credence to the allegation / theory that IS ISIS ISIL were conceptions of Israel Intelligence who work with warmongers USA UK and allies Canada Australia New Zealand aka 5 eyes (English speaking white colonies), for false flags and wars..

14. “NO colonialists and slavers. IN INDONESIA”

Dutch and Spanish colonised Indonesia

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” Obviously it was a sarcastic remark directed at those who are now referencing slavery as a great four “hundred year friendship”and the “dormant mode “.”

on the thread above don’t you see them singing Charles’ praises and SUCKING UP…….hope they tell him it’s all to get their slimy hands on reparations where they made it VERY CLEAR VIA Hilary that they don’t have any any intention of giving a DIME of THE MULTI-BILLIONS THEY ARE ACHING FOR TO DESCENDANTS OF THE ENSLAVED BECAUSE THEY AND THEIR PARTNERS IN CRIMES GOT OTHER PLANS..

.so, we know the plot is to CUT OUT DESCENDANTS… why then would UK pay reparations to them knowing this, unless there is something nefarious afoot…

they have NO SHAME…

i was trying to remember if it was Indoniesia…i think it is, there are still descents who were dragged to that dutch place …..TRAPPED THERE.., all they gave them were the street names from their ancestral lands…

https://theconversation.com/the-dark-history-of-slavery-and-racism-in-indonesia-during-the-dutch-colonial-period-141457

yall really gotta STOP LISTENING TO John and GPs LIES they refuse to contribute anything to help only about HARMING…

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I read an article on that a year or two ago, it was UGLY what happened to these people..

17. They should be dominant mode not dormant.

18. @555dubstreet September 10, 2022 4:22 PM “Shamima Begum is a British born woman, who left the UK in 2015 aged 15. She obtained entry to Syria to join IS ISIS ISIL the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant.”

Perhaps a 15 year old child whose pokey was way too fast.

19. “whose pokey was way “

me no know what a pokey is
    can you describe one

20. When the infant mortality rate is 100% you know that you are not in a good place.

21. WILLIAM
    RE You will both note that I also tend not to get involved in religious / biblical discussions.
    THAT IS A VERY GOOD IDEA SIR
    IF YOU HAVE NOT STUDIED THE WORD OR UNDERSTAND ITS TEACHINGS ONE SHOULD NOT TRY TO DISCUSS OR DERIDE IT AS SOME BU RUM SHOP BETZPAENICS DO

22. pokey = prison. 🧑‍⚖️👮🏽‍♀️⛓️⚖️🚨🚓🚔👮🐕‍🦺 | ⛓🔗 | 🧑‍⚖️👮🏽‍♀️
    ’25 years in the pokey’

I thought you might have been referring to a Vaj Vej Vulva Yoni [Vagina oyster (🦪) emoji ] in some sort of brand new slang

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedSeptember 10, 2022 3:47 PM

John….if you knew Hazelwood, you had to have known Laura, daughter…..do you know what became of her….i knew her growing up…

Don’t remember meeting any Laura’s and my family was close with the Hazelwoods,

Dean/Canon Hazelwood performed the marriage ceremonies of my mother and both my sisters.

His sister Leola died in 2001.

I was a bearer of both.

https://stcyprians.com/foundation-builders-1

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

He must have been like Tudor then……..in the church and in someone’s chapel other than his wife’s….because that was his daughter….unless he had a brother…..she was too young to be his sister…he was already an old dude when we were teenagers…

25. We know up St. Philip there are no sea eggs and my hypothesis is that the intense real estate development killed them off.

So, here’s what it looks like in St. Philip.

https://imgur.com/71y8YNS

So, what does the West Coast look like?

What would you expect to see if you went diving sea eggs off Brandon’s Beach?

26. He must have been like Tudor then…

THE IDIOT CAN NOT ADMIT THAT SHE COULD BE WRONG AND IS WRONG

SOME ONE THAT REALLY KNEW HAZELWOOD WELL SAYS HE HAD NO DAUGHTER CALLED LAURA AND YOU SAY THE MAN HAD AN ILLEGITIMATE CHILD, AND THAT He must have been like Tudor then……..in the church and in someone’s chapel other than his wife’s…

AND THEN YOU CONTINUE TO SWIPE LIKE LAL because that was his daughter….unless he had a brother…..

BU MORONS NEVER FAIL TO BRING MIRTH TO THE RUM SHOP

27. Here’s what it looks like.

If I am right, there should be no sea eggs along this stretch of coast.

https://imgur.com/2tG510s

28. JOHN
    MY FIRST SON WAS DOING SOME SURVEYING WORK IN ST KITTS, WHERE HE FOUND THAT THERE WAS A GREAT ABUNDANCE OF SEA URCHINS. WHY DO YOU THINK THAT THIS MIGHT BE SO–APART FROM THE FACT THEY APPARENTLY DO NOT HARVEST THEM

29. @555dubstreet September 10, 2022 6:34 PM “…some sort of brand new slang”

It is not new just because YOU are hearing it for the first time. It is documented in Richard Allsopp’s Dictionary of Caribbean English Usage which was published in 1996. Neither was the “New World” new just because it was new to Columbus and other Europeans. Indigenous people had been living in this part of the world for tens of thousands of years. The Indigenous people of Canada’s First Nations Leadership Council is calling on Canada’s head of state, the new King Charles the 3rd to

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/indigenous-communities-bc-monarchy-reconciliation-queens-death-1.6578284
    First Nations Leadership Council calls on King Charles to renounce Doctrine of Discovery as first act

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“SOME ONE THAT REALLY KNEW HAZELWOOD WELL SAYS HE HAD NO DAUGHTER CALLED LAURA ”

John don’t know shit, just like you lied when you said Indonesia was not colonized…..just like he lied about when the slave trade started and FOR HOW LONG….

YALL int got no credibility…..the colonial slave boy and his part white 1/4? slave master…who seems more clueless but no less dangerous than you…

31. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved September 10, 2022 7:41 PM

“…she was too young to be his sister…he was already an old dude when we were teenagers…”

And you know this how.

You know that women can bear children that are decades apart. In my own family the youngest is 23 years younger than the eldest, so the 17 year old [teenager] had a sibling who was 40 [middle aged]

Just this week the Barbados Statistical Service released information on the ages of mother’s who gave birth in the first quarters of 2021 and 2022. The oldest mother was 48. It is quite possible for a 48 year old woman to have a new born, and a son or daughter of 30 or 32. Many of the women in my family in this and past generations bear children after the age of 40.

32. I was reading his obituaries from the newspapers back in 1990 which my mother kept, she was good buddies with both him and his sister.

Both helped her with her faith with good advice.

A bishop resigned when his appointment of Reverend Gordon Hazelwood to St. John was overruled by the oligarchs.

The new bishop, Bishop Mandeville, promptly nominated him to become Dean of the Cathedral when he was elevated to be the new Bishop after holding the post of Dean.

It took a half hour meeting in the environs of the House of Assembly to confirm the appointment.

That was 1951 long before the swinging 60’s.

There is no way these people would go out to bat for him if he had a clandestine daughter.

He was born in 1906 and finally retired in 1971 as Dean when he was 65.

He was then made an Honorary Cannon and administered St. Cyprians until he died in 1990.

If he had a daughter, he sure did a good job concealing it.

I think that is a load of the standard BS.

Besides, my grandfather who enjoyed relating the foibles of various priests in Barbados would have said something.

33. I know a brother and sister who are my contemporaries whose half-sister was to my mind old when she taught my sister!!

All that happened was the half sister’s mother died when she was probably in her 60’s or 70’s and her father, also in his 60’s or 70’s remarried a younger woman able to bear him children, my contemporaries, his second crop.

Biggest shock I had when they told me who their half-sister was.

I was in my 40’s or 50’s and their half sister had long retired and was I believe dead.

34. GPSeptember 10, 2022 8:45 PM

JOHN
    MY FIRST SON WAS DOING SOME SURVEYING WORK IN ST KITTS, WHERE HE FOUND THAT THERE WAS A GREAT ABUNDANCE OF SEA URCHINS. WHY DO YOU THINK THAT THIS MIGHT BE SO–APART FROM THE FACT THEY APPARENTLY DO NOT HARVEST THEM

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“According to the World Atlas of Coral Reefs, by Mark Spalding, Cronna
    Ravilious and Edmund Green, and others, there has been a progressive
    degradation in reefs throughout the Lesser Antilles over the past two decades.
    Coral reefs in St. Kitts and Nevis are declining due to:
    • Ocean pollution on the north coast of the southeast peninsula
    • Heavy use at Frigate Bay. Soil runoff and sewage effluent have caused algal
    blooms.
    • Mining for sand has affected Sandy Point in St. Kitts and areas of Nevis.
    • Overfishing of conch and lobster
    • The sale of turtle shells, meat, and souvenirs is heavy and sea turtle populations are declining.
    There are established closed seasons and minimize size laws for sea turtles, but
    no marine protected areas exist, although some studies have begun to study
    the north coast of St. Kitts and the entire south east peninsula and its wetlands
    as potential reserves”

Taken from this link.

https://reefrelieffounders.com/pdf/coral-reef-guide-for-st-kitts-kids-of-all-ages.pdf

There are reefs marked on the diagram in the link.

Google earth shows real estate development in St. Kitts but nowhere as great as Barbados.

It is also mountainous meaning that the runoff after rainfall is pretty rapid.

This diagram shows some reefs.

Are some more densely populated by sea urchins than others?

https://imgur.com/eY2hs7D

35. SEEMS YOU ARE CORRECT JOHN ABOUT FRIGATE BAY AS THAT IS NOW WELL DEVELOPED
    MY BOY DID HIS WORK THERE ABOUT 14 YEARS AGO
    SO THINGS MIGHT BE DIFFERENT BY NOW

36. “It is not new just because YOU are hearing it for the first time”

OK don’t get your knickers twisted love
    seems like engagement on BU is a trap

xx

as an aside the British way of their minimising crimes to mankind will now have to stop with King Charles as the new ting is to admit them

37. Crown colonies don’t want Royal Visits anymore

38. “Prime minister Gaston Browne reiterates plan for referendum in wake of Queen’s death”

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/sep/11/antigua-and-barbuda-republic-referendum-within-three-years-pm-queen-death

39. Some people see these conversations and requests as symbolic and of little value.

I see them as necessary for the untangling of our minds. If we don’t untangle our minds we will be running around like chickens with their heads cut off or cockroaches after they have been sprayed with insecticide.

False narratives confuse the whole world. Those who have been historically wronged continue to be deprived of their rights while the wrong ‘uns continue to believe that they are right.

Look at Lawson, bitching about how much of his tax dollars go to support the “Indians”! As though tax dollars can replace the destruction and near anhilation of those whom the white man replaced. Talking about sucking it up and moving on! Does he not understand trauma at all? Does he think that the drunkenness of so many of the First Nation people is their natural state? Were they that way when the white man arrive?

Does he not understand that when your whole way of life is abruptly snatched from you, you will experience a state if disorientation?

Yet when Nelson or Confederate statues are taken down he and others rail about history and heritage being taken away from the white man and its importance to his identity.

So….these things are of importance to white men but not to perhaps “primitive and simple beasts”?????

I remember refusing to write that Columbus discovered some “New World” as a child during an exam.

These false narratives allow the Shite man to continue his exploitation without any true resistance.

Tucker Carlson, unlike what Cuhdear Bajan opined, is actually accepted by those who know him as a smart person who knows EXACTLY what he is doing.

And he is soooooooooo good at it that he has the most watched show on cable news network in America!

Never underestimate the power of Tucker Carlson! He is one of the most influential people in the world. A manipulator of an army of idiots.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…… people honestly believe that the fake misleaders steeped in neocolonialism………perpetual COLONIAL FOOTSTOOLS of a darker hue….not to be confused with REAL HUEMAN ….that’s all they will ever be…. .are playing the LONG CON….all designed to KEEP AFRIKAN POPULATIONS on debt ridden pauperized islands TRAPPED INDEFINITELY…

“And you know this how.”

i know it how YOU DON’T KNOW IT…….no more gossipy news for you to carry anywhere…

41. t Takes a Nation of Millions to
    Hold Us Back

Queen may have been the figurehead for British people
    but the dubious contentious prejudicial British Mindset is in many and in all subconscious who are poorly in melanin

As Donald Trump may be the figurehead for racism populism white supremacy politics comeback
    but their corruption is in many white and sleeping in all of them beasts waiting to be triggered and reawakened

42. I and I and I forgot the I
    It Takes a Nation of Millions to
    Hold Us Back

43. 555dubstreetSeptember 11, 2022 6:36 AM

Crown colonies don’t want Royal Visits anymore

Like all others, they just want the money.

44. Nobody in their right minds will give these bums clean money.

Their problem is they have become accustomed to the perks of dirty money that they don’t know the difference.

45. Reading several articles, receiving dozens of opinions via email and what’s up and even here on BU, I am absolutely amazed how so many people can hold the same opinion , but simply because it’s not expressed the identical way by others, they reject the same opinion they hold , when it’s expressed by others.
    It really shows that we often pay more attention to the messenger than the actual message.
    That’s why it’s always wise to listen and read and then one easily discovers what is really a clash of style and personalities and not ideas.

46. I, on the other hand, can see past the remark dropping and cunt calling and limited in intellect calling and agree, regardless of person.

In fact, I pride myself on doing so Anything else is damned pointless.

I disagree only when I disagree.

47. “Like all others, they just want the money.”

I made some comments about your rightwing prejudice which offended a Moderator

What about the half that has never been told. Look how long it has been kept a big secret.
    Look how long it has been hidden away.

Slavery, Colonialism, Plantations, Capitalism is all about money from robbery with aggravation.

If one life is valued at a $2 million how much would the pirates of “the West” have to pay.
    Queens Estate is classified Top Secret. The story of the African Gold has never been told.

48. What if the truth is an “average”? What if it is reasoned statement of some, the duopoly of some, or the schemes and scams of others? What if it is just one big pile of mixed-up shit and people are just taking out what is in their comfort zone”

What if there was a nut who was always ramblings on about schemes, scams, generational poverty etc;
    What if you tried to bag and tag the nut, but her madness and conspiracy theories line up perfectly with the shit you thought was real? Should you seek therapy for what is insanity on your part, or should you join the nut?

49. “What if you tried to bag and tag the nut, but her madness and conspiracy theories line up perfectly with the shit you thought was real?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

A problem arises when people believe or engage in over zealous attempts to prove conspiracy theories or scams are applicable to ‘each and every’ situation.

Let’s assume there was a general discussion on mathematics…… and someone believes because E = mc² is a mathematical formula, it can be used to solve any mathematical equation.
    That E = mc² should be applicable to solving polynomial equations.

Such activities would, more often than not, result in those persons misinterpreting simple information, leading to them presenting blatant misrepresentations of the facts, thereby ultimately misleading the forum.