The following comment was posted to blog Democracy, Apathy and the National Insurance Fund  by a commenter resident overseas – Barbados Underground

We have to accept facts and reality. I am and always will be a PROUD Bajan. ALWAYS.

Bajanabroad

But facts are facts. We have not done nearly enough to remodel the mindset of our people and our economy over the last 50 years to result in a level of broad based, diverse innovation that leads to large FX inflows. It’s just a fact. No debate. This could only mean one thing. Barbados is headed for worse, harder times.

Dreamy, fantastical talk alone that will not change that trajectory. Other countries and economies have failed. We are not exceptional and immune to basic facts. We act like we do but in reality we are not. That is what our pride would not let us believe. We think we are special, punching above our weight with our 98% literacy rate. This is who we are. We have been sold a bunch of sh7te that is just emotional fodder but never really grounded in fact and does not translate to a sound economic future.

We are at that moment where bullcrap can’t plaster the crap anymore and we can’t kick the can any further with cheap loans. Unless we find oil now like Guyana our standard of live WILL drop and times will get tougher . It can and has happened to other well meaning, well intentioned countries. Sri Lanka??? It is FOLLY to ask bloggers and citizens to do what elected country managers failed but were paid handsomely to do over the last 50 years. We don’t have access to all relevant information and our elected officials want to make this situation worse. Imagine that. But yet have the gall to say they are interested in public discourse. We are not driving the bus. Even if we protest and strike. What happens next? Who leads and implements the day after? At the end of the day without good focused leadership, nothing changes after the protests and strikes.

Whether we believe or not. Facts and consequences follow their own truth. They do not care if this is who we are. They are not interested in watching muh.

The writing is on the wall. Who chooses to see it is irrelevant.

The ONLY solution is GOOD FOCUSED leadership. Always has been. This is where we failed the most:

Signed – PROUD but realistic Bajan

95 responses to “Barbados Needs Good Focused Leadership Says Bajan Living Overseas”

1. In management “focused” normally relates to a particular strategic intent.

“Good” may have a layman’s meaning but can hardly describe the merits or demerits of a “focused” strategy.

“Leadership” has been an open “sapulca” for all to invest all manner of emotions. A lot has been written about it for millenia. Tens of thousands of models have been designed. The literature is replete with the favored sayings of all kinds of leaders, various fields, especially military generals, war heroes.

Graduate students are oftentimes required to consider this vexing question. “ARE LEADERS BORN OR MADE?”

Maybe, the Bajans overseas should tooooo.

We would suggest that luck is an indispensable ingredient.

2. Good leadership revolves around the questions
    1. What is best for the people, institution or country that I lead based on vision objectives and resources and
    2. How can I cement gains so that they last even after I have gone

The problem is that we are always led by AND seem to love people who are in it for themselves mainly and who are mainly concerned only about keeping their jobs, the next promotion or winning the next election 4 years down the line.

Just observing

3. @Observing

It seems we find ourselves in a jam because based on your perspective it is the ‘system’ to blame? The conundrum then becomes who is responsible for disrupting the‘system’?

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

There were thousands in for the crapover….. from the diaspora…and many EXPRESSED their thoughts….they can see CLEARLY that the island has been infested with Judases, thieves and FRAUDS mismanaging the people’s PUBLIC FUNDS FOR OVER HALF CENTURY…and nothing they see has IMPRESSED THEM….

they can now STOP running across the world stage TELLING LIES, talking slick and employing sleight of hand to RUN SCAMS on Africans on the island, in the diaspora and across the continent now…NO ONE anywhere on the island or IN THE WORLD BELIEVES A WORD THESE GENERATIONAL FRAUDS SAY…and AFRIKAN DESCENTS should NOT bring forth any more babies in SLAVE SOCIETY BARBADOS……the corrupt, dirty SHITHOLE created by evil Judas politicians….it is UNFAIR to the UNBORN..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/12/btspeakingout-days-of-our-lives/

“Government after government has been dipping its hands into NIS funds for projects and other investments, some ill-advised. This has been a burden on the NIS.”

“Both DLP and BLP governments have written off millions, perhaps billions, in debt, inclusive of NIS debt, for major companies and entities, some under dubious circumstances.”

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN….day RUNS until NIGHT CATCHES UP…

the LONGEST DAY has an END…

time for the people to END THESE CRIMINALS, these JUDASES, these thieves and FRAUDS and CAPSIZE the entire SHITSTEM…

6. Political Parties destroy economies and leave it the next Government to fix
    20+ years of wars cause world wide recessions

Watch the Ride
    ⬆️ Sometimes you go up
    ⬇️ Sometimes you go down

Definition of It’s not whether you win or lose, it’s how you play the game
    Reaching a goal is less important than giving our best effort.

Food for Thought / UB40

Ivory Madonna dying in the dust
    Waiting for the manna coming from the West
    Barren is her bosom, empty as her eyes
    Death a certain harvest scattered from the skies

Skin and bones is creeping, doesn’t know he’s dead
    Ancient eyes are peeping, from his infant head
    Politician’s argue sharpening their knives
    Drawing up their bargains, trading baby lives

Hear the bells are ringing, Christmas on it’s way
    Hear the angels singing, what is that they say?
    Eat and drink rejoicing, joy is here to stay
    Jesus son of Mary is born again today

7. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,

To say we have a problem with leadership in the Caribbean would be a massive understatement. I believe Donna – your ex-nemesis – mentioned something about the potential of Barbados introducing the CBI scheme to its shores.

https://www.bajanreporter.com/2022/07/prime-minister-of-st-kitts-nevis-compared-with-sri-lankan-crisis-by-joel-liburd/

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“mentioned something about the potential of Barbados introducing the CBI scheme to its shores.”

another magnetic that ATTRACTS ONLY CRIMINALS….of the worse variety…

just another scam to TIEF…….hide funds, use diplomatic immunity to commit crimes….

check out those islands that introduced the CBI…..all under investigation all have their new citizens on someone’s radar, those are the ones already INDICTED and CHARGED…..all have not been caught yet……..all the misleadership are under surveillance..

people need to THINK about the real possibilities, REAL OPPORTUNITIES available to them and stop falling into the trap of the easy way is the best way, when IT’S THE WORSE..

TLSN…they will have to figure out the rest on their own ….i already have…everyone should have a FUNCTIONING BRAIN to prepare for their OWN SURVIVAL…and wellbeing..

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…for those who want to FOREVER DEPEND on LYING corrupt politicians…their crutch…..IT WILL ALWAYS BE THIS WAY…

for those WHO KNOW that they can do MUCH BETTER THAN THAT……with INDEPENDENT MINDS…..EMANCIPATED MINDS…..it’s a NOBRAINER..

10. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,

To be fair with Donna she made the statement in an ironic manner. She like others on BU has managed to leap out of the proverbial boiling hot saucepan of water. She was last seen tottering on the saucepan’s lip.

Only the most battle hardened sycophant Bajans such as Lorenzo and Enuff cannot see that the game is up.

11. William Skinner Avatar

Who will have the last laugh. How are you doing these days Comrade Austin. I see somebody reprinting all your articles.
    I guess those on “the rock” know that employers owe the fund $56 million .
    BTW, how much do the “lazy youth , mendicants and ideologues “
    owe the fund ?
    Permit me to answer : not one damn penny.
    By now those on the rock will know that the much herald refinancing of debt cost the NIS one billion in losses. That’s not loose change my people.
    So, what are the apologists going to say now. Oh , I almost for got: #throwashade.
    Peace

12. “who is responsible for disrupting the‘system’?”

The outliers when they find that tipping point. The problem is that in a 166 square mile country with only a 1/4 million people those that sniff power and smell patronage will always follow their noses rather than their heads and hearts.

Any disruption has to come from a younger generation led by a visionary leader who has the guts and courage to buck the status quo. Sadly fear of victimisation and a slave mentality render us to the inevitable.

Just observing

13. Steuspe

#crabsinabarrel
    #blackpeople

14. Comment on the issues raised or move on.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So who is going to lead the CHARGE TO HAVE THE ROGUES WHO aided and abetted the THEFTS of the people’s money in the NIS, VAT and treasury…..those who have MISMANAGED the people’s money for over half century and their MINORITY CRIMINAL PARTNERS…….. ARRESTED, CHARGED AND CONVICTED…

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Said that to say this….certain crimes HAVE NO STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS…

17. David
    Are these meant to be pejorative?

Aimed at the two above?

18. Not you Pacha.

19. Once a king notice that there was not enough water in the national bucket.

People were called on to provide a solution and the experts stated:
    Get a bigger pipe and pour more water in the bucket
    Get 80000 more to help fill the bucket

Going to the fool, the king said..
    ‘I noticed that you did not say much on these matters. What is your opinion?
    The fool replied
    One pipe, two pipes or 80,000 more carrying water to the bucket will make no real difference. That is a temporary solution. We have to patch the holes in the bucket and stop water being collected and siphoned off

20. What we need are short term solutions.
    Increasing the age of retirement will make a difference in the long term.

Immediately importing 80000 is a very short-term solution followed by long-term pain.
    1. Not certain government can efficiently and accurately capture the monies from these folks
    2. The 80000 is a fraction of the overall total
    3. Water issues need to be solved
    4. Housing will be an issue
    5. Not certain the 80000 will be able to generate sustained self employment or employing others
    Hopefully, we do not get others wanting 8.8 million new Baebadians

21. Where is is stated importing 80,000 people is a short term solution?

22. Can I have an opinion or must I wait for that of others. Not in my world.

In my opinion, it is a short term solution. All the positive benefits are gone in less than 20 years.

Kicking the can down the road.

23. @David

We have to accept facts and reality. I am and always will be a PROUD Bajan. ALWAYS.

–Bajanabroad

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

THE WHITE MAN DID A GREAT JOB FIRST ND FOREMOST.

YOU ARE AN AFRICAN MATE AND SHOULD BE MORE PROUD TO ADMIT THAT SAME AS THOSE BLACKS SPREAOUT IN OTHER ISLANDS OR COUNTRIES.

INSTEAD OF BEING PUT IN A LIMITED GROUP BY A WHITE MAN NAMING OF AN ISLAND.

CRABS IN A BARREL.

24. Barbados Leadership could practice focus using Central Intelligence Agency’s methodology

“Gateway Experience” Unclassified

[PDF] ANALYSIS AND ASSESSMENT OF GATEWAY PROCESS

Introduction. In order to describe the Monroe Institute technique for achieving altered states of consciousness(the “Gateway Experience”) involving brain.

How to Escape the Confines of Time and Space According to the CIA
    In the ’80s, the spy agency investigated the “Gateway Experience” technique to alter consciousness and ultimately escape spacetime.

25. Observing

A real great Leader should not gear victimisation. S/he should turn any attempts of it to their advantage

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

judging from the comments on other threads….the FAT LADY has WORN OUT HERSELF SINGING FOR YEARS…and has FINALLY GONE SILENT…

no amount of searching for ideas FROM VICTIMS can FIX THE CRIMES COMMITTED…

let KARMA and RETRIBUTION take their course.

27. Where is is stated importing 80,000 people is a short term solution?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Where is it stated that it is a STUPID, knee-jerk, ill-conceived, NON-solution…?

Bushie!! … over and over…

28. @John2

Are you able to understand the main point what commenters are trying to say here? This is about the survival of a country. Stupid tinpot politics should not be the motive fueling decision making for people promoting themselves as change agents.

29. @Bush Tea

Let us start the discussion from the position we have negative population growth combined with an ageing population.

30. David
    What has led to this negative population growth?

Not the barbados family planning association, the eugencists and Gollop.

This should be the starting point. But you, as ever, must have a jaundice view.

And your ilk. unsatisfied with how wunna fcukuped the world, have now introduced official bulling and wicking. Very good🤣

31. @ David
    You are sounding like you work with BWA yuh?

There is a massive situation, where 50% of the water pumped is being lost to ‘leakage in the pipework’.

Solution:
    Let us invest in some super expensive DESAL plant which will ensure that we have PLENTY water to counter the leaks..
    and, as a bonus, we will make some well know party financiers (and politicians) lots of money too…

..never mind the brass bowls who will pay for it ALL….

32. Bushie
    There’s a technology to insert new pipelines inside the old ones without digging up the roads and old pipes.

33. @Pacha

Prefer to avoid the rehash, the comments were deleted. Suffice to say the blogmaster prefers when commenters focus on the many issues instead of the incessant attacks by anonymous commenters to other anonymous commenters. It is a waste of time and the height of ignorance. Nobody can deny the blogmaster allows room for banter but some do not know when to stop and move on. Do you recall the week the blogmaster was away what transpired? A group of people who are so-called progressive and intelligent thinkers and the nonsense posted in that period was embarrassing.

34. @Bush Tea

What IF there is a dense network of pipes located oftentimes in challenging terrain that will take too long a period to fix, there must be alternatives brought to the table?

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“There’s a technology to insert new pipelines inside the old ones without digging up the roads and old pipes./”

they had 50 YEARS to replace 100-year-old mains and GET IT RIGHT…but they didn’t, too busy sharpening their corruption and BRIBERY SKILLS..

36. I slapped together a few ideas..

Some problems are multidimensional. Coming up with a unidimensional solution and wishing and praying will not solve the problem
    10 reason why 80,000 is a bad idea

(1) As Barbados is a water scarce country. the addition of 80,000 will magnify this problem We have solved one problem by worsening another.
    (2) I have already pointed out that importing 80,000 may have the same effect of adding and additional 80 to 200,000 more Extending this silly thinking S would make us believe that we can handle an addition 8.5m
    (3) Transportation. Let us assume that not all 80,000 will work from home. We see the influx of more car on the road, more ZR buses, more crowded roads etc.
    (4) Housing. This becomes a greater issue. Do me turn Barbados into 166 miles of cement or do we build large buildings on a limestone base (Arch Cot)
    (5) One fact that our government seem unaware of is that everyone gets older. These 80,000 imports and their 80,000 spouses will be part of the problem which our children and their children will have to face 40 years from now. We have just kicked that can down the road.
    (6) QEH is already stretched. Renaming it will now solve the problem as we will have between 80,000 and 280,00 new citizens as possible patients.
    (7) School resources are stretched, as these 800,00 will immediately dump (almost) 120,000 new children into the system
    (8) The political landscape will immediately change. These 80,00 citizens will all be of voting age. Lumped together in a few constituencies, they will be electing their own candidates.
    Dispersed, they will be able to change the outcome in a large number of constituencies….
    Bajans will be begging the diaspora to vote…
    Living it and feeling it is not a joke
    (9) I have not ventured into the racial element as I believe others will address it for me and accuse me of doing so
    (10) Have you ever heard of the bell curve? It is folly to believe that we will get 80,000 perfect immigrants (all making tons of money). Incoming in this group will be a few bums who will stretch our system in some way.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo…the basics that you should not have to point out…

they call people liars but give them the UNVARNISHED TRUTH and that too represents a problem…

we wonder what they really want….oh wait….THEY ARE GETTING EXACTLY WHAT THEY DESERVE…

38. TheOGazerts@yahoo.com Avatar
    TheOGazerts@yahoo.com

By now maost of you have figured out where I stand with the import of 80,000.
    Race or where they come from does not factor into it.
    This is simialr to the USA reaching out to include 107M people,
    Not gonna happen …

39. What IF there is a dense network of pipes located oftentimes in challenging terrain
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Translation:

What if there is a built in political reality such that a significant proportion of the funds WILL be stolen by various parties?
    how then can we put our heads together and forge a successful operation WHILE not upsetting the endemic stealing.?

Answer:
    Waste of time…
    Our COLLECTIVE asses will pay the FULL price – of the thieving, AND of condoning it.

@ Pacha
    That technology is useless with 100-year-old cast iron pipes.
    The CORRECT ‘technology’ for this situation … would have been REGULAR, PLANNED, maintenance, that is based on the known effective lifespan of the various pipes, and a long term outlook for management.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…i said it before, and it must have gotten lost among the short memories…but NO ONE can make me their distraction on BU ever again, believe it or not, they only got away with it because i spent so many years busily setting up my end results…..and did not have the time to realize what they were doing…not that important to me…

41. @Bush Tea

Don’t move the goal post, we are here now.

42. Bushie
    We’ve told you about a project which we have intimate knowledge of.

That technology is being applied to 100 year old pipes elsewhere. They even give a limited guarantee of less than 10 percent leakage for another 50.or 60 years.

From a financial point of view, for a water scarce country, surely this should have been investigated.

What are the real other options? Desalination? We doubt.

43. Bushie
    You know not of what you spake

44. @ TheOGazertsAugust 14, 2022 2:22 PM,
    For you to state that you are not prepared to discuss race with respect to immigration is both cowardly and a sick joke. The Americas have for the last 150 plus years adopted an immigration policy which has ensured the whitening of their populations. They have systematically practised social policies over the centuries which have led to the diminution of their black populations. Mia is merely repeating the policies of the racist regimes in South America. The vast majority of these incoming migrants will not be black.

Why would a nation of ex-slaves open up their borders to other races who profess their intense dislike for our people. Mia should think twice before selling out her people.

https://www.miamiherald.com/opinion/op-ed/article239352468.html

45. @TLSN

FALSE!

46. Bushie

Where in poor ass countries like Barbados is anything preventively maintained.

One example only. Even big America has 70, 000 bridges falling down.