The economic uncertainty caused by the Russian and Ukrainian conflict, disruption to global supply chain because of the pandemic, an under performing US economy, an of recent a possible ratcheting up of tension between China and the US linked to Taiwan among other negative factors continue to be a source of concern for small developing states like Barbados.

Recently the blogmaster was intrigued to read about a local campaign by a leading gas distributor promoting today (Tuesday 3 Aug 2022) as as an opportunity to earn 200 bonus points if more than x dollars was spent at the pump. While the marketing department of the large dealership is pulling out the stops to sell more gas, there is the report Barbados experienced a spike in import cost reported as $2.05 million dollars of which $634.3 million was for fuel for the first six months of the year. The fuel bill for 2021 was $685.8 million and for $506.6 for 2020. Although the comparative to 2020 and 2021 was influenced by less activity because of the pandemic, it does not change a scary reality that significant chunks of Barbados’ foreign reserves is being used to pay for fuel. In the first half of the year $813 million was earned from our main foreign exchange earner to give an idea of the significance.

Sourcing affordable fuel is the objective of any country because it strikes at the heart of maintaining a stable standard of living and economy. At the household level rising fuel will soak up discretionary funds. Of immediate concern to Barbados is that this translates to potential travelers to Barbados forced to make alternative plans. Barbados is a price taker, we produce precious little commodities of what we consume. The domestic economy needs fuel for transportation, EMERA generates mostly fossil based electricity, input for business etc. An increase in the price of fuel negatively affects cost of living. Although the government is expected to create a buffer, there is a limit to mitigants available.

Last month Minister of Commerce Kerri Symmonds implored Barbadians to appreciate the seriousness of the predicament Barbados find itself and to consider engaging in tactics to conserve. The reality is that the majority of Barbadians are not prepared to make adjustments, for example car pooling, accessing public transportation, businesses (including public sector) reverting to working from home during this difficult period to assist individuals. There are decisions we can make to ameliorate the effect of out of control fuel price, however, we appear to be in reactive mode.

We have a country struggling to get a public addicted to conspicuous consumption to conserve and there are the countervailing forces like gas dealerships encouraging consumers to purchase more fuel. We live in interesting times.

To coin a popular expression, challenging times create the opportunity for an inventive people to rise to the fore. Are we there yet?

136 responses to “As Fuel Prices Rise, what are we going to do?”

1. We are smaller than a big City …… many of them utilise the bicycle ….. fix our roads, build safe cycling lanes…. improve our health, reduce expensive vehicles /parts import …. ‘win/win’ situation…. but our fat, over-weight politicians ain’t got the ‘guts’, except for food!

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“but our fat, over-weight politicians ain’t got the ‘guts’, except for food!.”

and generational THIEVING…don’t forget the generational thieves..

3. LOL
    What are we going to do…?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie has been trying to tell you the answer to that VERY question now for YEARS….
    But you are hard ears and an unrepentant optimist … so continue to ignore….

4. 🇱🇰
    Sri Lanka has started rationing fuel to 20L per week for each car registration, which seems to be working well

Flows of Darkness…
    THE PRINCE OF DANCE MUSIC

Flows of Spaces Takes the Places of Empty Spaces in Most Cases

5. Pachamama Pachamama Avatar
    Pachamama Pachamama

2.05 billion, yes!

Good to see that causation is rightly rooted within a dynamic set of complex forces instead of the oft repeated singularity😝

6. Dear David et al,

Hope everyone had a safe and enjoyable weekend. For historical price data, as well as month to month analysis, please see here:

July 2022: https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2022/07/05/barbados-fuel-price-change-for-july-2022/

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani
    http://www.caribbeansignal.com

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Still asking what you will do….many of us have already LEVELED UP and arrived at a place of self-government……a total severing of lying politicians….much easier to do when understanding they will NEVER HAVE ANY ANSWERS..

..EQUALLY TRUE when you know that you are on your 4th GENERATION of common class thieves, because that’s WHO THEY ARE………and ya will only get a 5th generation of same and on and on without end…

but doan mine me, stay there and wait on them…

8. We were not born in the Motherland, but
    We Yes We
    We Love the Tribal Jams
    The Prince of Dance Music

9. In my neck of the woods Gas price is down over $1 from the high

10. answer is simple
    LOOK UP AND HOLD ON
    TURN YOUR EYES UPON JESUS
    LOOK TO HIM AND LOOK FOR HIM….AND RELAX

11. THE ANSWER IS SIMPLE

It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.
    It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.
    .Psalm 118:8& 9

IT SEEMS THAT THE CHICKENS ARE COMING HOME TO ROOST

MANKIND HAS REFUSED TO LISTEN TO THE TRUTH……..AND NOW IT IS TIME TO EXPERIENCE WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU LISTEN TO THE LIE
    NONE OF THE ANTIOCHI EPIMANES THAT LEAD COUNTRIES HAVE A CLUE AS HOW TO LEAD THIER COUNTRIES OR PROVIDE SOLUTIONS TO THEIR COUNTRIES PROBLEMS

BUT WAITING IN THE WINGS IS THE PERSON ABOUT WHOM THE PROPHESY OF THE SECOND PART OF DANIEL 8 SPEAKS

PART ONE PREDICTED THE COMING OF ANTIOCHUS IV
    PART TWO PREDICTS THE RISE OF THE ANTICHRIST, WHO AS THE JAMAICANS WOULD SAY …..”SOON COME”

BUT BEFORE ANTICHRIST APPEARS ACCORDING TO 2 THESSALONIANS 2 WILL BE WHAT BIBLE BELIEVERS CALL THE RAPTURE OR THE SNATCHING AWAY OF THE CHURCH
    Let no man deceive you by any means: for that day shall not come, except there come a falling away first, and that man of sin be revealed, the son of perdition;

4Who opposeth and exalteth himself above all that is called God, or that is worshipped; so that he as God sitteth in the temple of God, shewing himself that he is God.

5Remember ye not, that, when I was yet with you, I told you these things?

6And now ye know what withholdeth that he might be revealed in his time.

7For the mystery of iniquity doth already work: only he who now letteth will let, until he be taken out of the way.

8And then shall that Wicked be revealed, whom the Lord shall consume with the spirit of his mouth, and shall destroy with the brightness of his coming:

9Even him, whose coming is after the working of Satan with all power and signs and lying wonders,

10And with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in them that perish; because they received not the love of the truth, that they might be saved.

11And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie:

12That they all might be damned who believed not the truth, but had pleasure in unrighteousness.

12. The Prince of Dance Music
    Could you GP explain SCIENTIFICALLY how the feeding of the multitude(s) occurred IF AT ALL
    Feeding of the 5,000 “miracle” of the five loaves and two fish
    Feeding of the 4,000″, with 7 loaves of bread and a few small fish

Can’t Hack Skinatics (Skinatical Skinatics)

13. @J2
    I was a bit surprised when I saw prices at the pump were lower. I cannot recall hearing an explanation of why this happened. I think the fall occurred after stories of oil companies profits were making the news — may not be related.

14. @ks
    “We are smaller than a big City …… many of them utilise the bicycle ….. fix our roads, build safe cycling lanes…. improve our health, reduce expensive vehicles”

Very good post. And of course walking.

It was ages ago, but I seem to recall that walks over a certain distance drew a call of madness and we’re also an indication of being poor.

Minds have to be fixed as well.

15. Pacha is The Lord 😇

16. To coin a popular expression, challenging times create the opportunity for an inventive people to rise to the fore.

Xxxxxxxxxx

Lol.

How long will you continue sing this old tune? Bajans ain’t doing a damn thing except talking.

NTSH.

17. @Dullard

One must never give up the fight.

18. Not only does the people want ease at the pump
    The people of Barbados wants a sustainable plan that would help them have an ease in their electric bills
    After govt knock over the plan for a WTE plan
    Govt has not forwarded any thing better that would help ease electric bills
    Poor people cannot afford solar panels at cost which is being placed on the market
    Wealth building is what matters most for the 99 percent left behind

19. @blogmaster
    Isn’t there some breaking news on the death of two men?

I have seen you accused of playing favorites. Now I must earnestly beg you
    https://youtu.be/KQveng3Wxz8

20. Les Klang

21. Acension Code 26741

22. LMAO this is the same blog that 6 years ago blasted me and a then Opposition parliamentarian for promoting cycling. Tek win!🤣🤣

23. But Dullard

Quite right.
    The Bajan knows nothing but waiting about until the future is well known before the actions of the 11-plus mentality is engaged😃

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

wrong time to be waiting around..

wrong people to be waiting around for…or ON…

don’t think they can move an inch further without any action….

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

AS FUEL PRICES RISE, WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO?
    Buy Motta Cycles, Mopeds, Electric Bicycle?
    Steupse
    Complain bout de prices, and see effin I kan get that line of credit raised. Maybe a nex credit card. Do like de guvment, hope for some debt relief.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    Why you don’t brek de news?
    Imagine yah could get bail, for not one, or two but three murder charges.
    Sadly, those who live by violence, often find a violent ending.
    On another note, long time since we’ve seen Tron. Or maybe I missed his posts as I don’t read every thread.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Wealth building is what matters most for the 99 percent left behind”
    Is this another dream?

28. TheO,

True dat about the long walking. Especially if you are alone when you do it.

But there is a feeling I get when I walk distances that others drive.

29. BREAKING NEWS….

Parental warning Explicit lyrics

I Shot the Pop Boy (Another Bad Production)

30. I just went and put in gas and now see that the price dropping by an average of 12 cents a litre by Friday morning, bringing the cost of fuel down to a nearly four-month low.

https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/gta-gas-prices-set-to-fall-to-lowest-point-since-april-13-1.6013146

31. @NO
    Don’t steal a loaf of bread.
    Go big or go jail.

32. Sweet sweet sweet.

33. @Donna,
    I thought it was just a St Lucy thing.
    The time of day was also important.

34. @Hants
    The music sounds good as well.

Are you the type of guy who used to buy playboy for the music?

35. @NO

Why are we not car pooling?

Why is the BCCI not encouraging telecommuting?

What about the public sector? So much wastage we see in a daily basis.

What about fast tracking RE initiatives?

36. @ TheOGazerts,

I am just a guitar player who loves women.

Now that I can only look at the women I plan to buy myself two new guitars. a Lava # and an Ovation Celebrity Standard Super Shallow (CS28-RR) if I live. lol

37. @ David,

car pooling in air conditioned cars would be great.

38. Call the Hip Hop Police +1 246 222 2222
    Barbados Police aka Babylon’s Finest Piggies are listening to local music artists gun lyrics to see if they can find out the details of who shot who

Don’t Call Me Rogue (Cause I Ain’t Down with U)

Don’t Call Me Rogue (I’m Independent)

39. Critical Analyzer Avatar

BCCI cannot encourage telecommuting because it dampens the economy which we all know is based on consumption and not production to make the money go around.

If people telecommute, restaurants lose lunch sales, impulse purchasing drops, public transportation drops causing more hustling, vat and other taxes collected drop. etc. etc

40. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hants August 3, 2022 7:17 PM

You trying to spread COVID or what. Air-conditioning is COVID incubators.

Nobody don’t give anybody rides anymore since COVID and with this stupid Monkey pox nonsense they now peddling, they will soon have people sanitizing before they sit down.

41. Stupid monkey pox nonsense they now peddling????????????

Really? Are there NO real instances of infectious disease anymore? I thought infectious disease was an everyday hazard of living. I had several vaccinations against them in my childhood.

What is wrong with you right wingers?

42. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Donna

Monkeypox is a real disease but don’t be surprised if they start overreacting like they did with COVID. I know more people who died as a result of the COVID measures than died from COVID.

The cure should never be worse than the disease and we keep rushing headlong into the next solution without thinking through the unintended consequences.

Look at this new electric car push.
    Has anyone calculated how all these cars charging at night is going to overload the electricity grid?
    Has anyone looked at what we will do with all these huge capacity car batteries filled with environmentally toxic material when they reach end of life?

43. @ David
    Why are we not…..car pooling / telecommuting / conserving…
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Same reason that the band on the Titanic put on their free concert…

Same reason local BBs were so taken up with crapover…

It is too late Boss….
    …only chance is to try and look for a lifeboat ….more precisely, for THE lifeboat.

44. I CAME ACROSS STATISTCS IN THE LAST WEEK WHERE THE 2 X 3 ISLAND WAS BY FAR THE HIGHEST PER LITER OF GASOLINE IN THE REGION.

JAMAICA WAS NEXT.

IT AMAZES ME THAT BLACK PEOPLE FOR THE MOST PART MAKING PEANUTS CONTINUE NOT TO EXERCISE BETTER JUDGEMENT ALL AROUND.

45. But Bushie

Do you think that people realize that these conditions are largely imposed by supply deficits. Not increased demand pulled factors as is generally assumed.

That the Fed is deliberately sinking the global economy through constanly increasing interest rates to purposefully send us into a recession so that inflation can be controlled on the backs of the majority of people who had nothing whatsoever to do with the massive monetary expansion over the last three years, at least.

Junk economics!

46. @Pachamama Pachamama August 3, 2022 9:01 AM “Good to see that causation is rightly rooted within a dynamic set of complex forces instead of the oft repeated singularity.”

Can someone/anyone please translate this for me into standard english or standard bajan. Thanks.

47. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved August 3, 2022 10:36 AM
    “when you know that you are on your 4th GENERATION of common class thieves”

Don’t know why you insist on cursing us when people white just like your husband did not pay wages to my ancestors for 211 years, and paid minimal wages for another 100 years. If people white just like your husband would pay the 311 years of no and low wages, plus the accrued interest we would not need to worry about the price of oil or of gold or even of diamonds.

You always carrying on without any evidence bout 4 generations of stealing, but NEVER a word about the 15/16 generations of stealing done by people white just like your husband.

And you lay down in bed with him every night.

You are shameless.

48. @NorthernObserver August 3, 2022 4:40 PM “Sadly, those who live by violence, often find a violent ending.”

“Put away your sword” Jesus said. “Those who use the sword will die by the sword”
    The Gospel according to St.Matthew, chapter 26, verse 52.

This is the word of the Lord. Hallelujah.

49. @Critical Analyzer August 3, 2022 7:59 PM ” they will soon have people sanitizing before they sit down.”

Lol! You and I are rarely on the same page. Since monkeypox I no longer wear dresses in public places since I don’t know what I might sit in. Is bare long pants fah me now.