STATEMENT TO THE PRESS FROM WOMEN IN ACTION NETWORK (WiAN) – 8th July 2022
The Women in Action Network (WiAN) has taken note of the prideful and dismissive stance taken by Minister Wilfred Abrahams towards the women of this nation. Organizations of women young and old have been asking the Minister for answers via an update on the wellbeing of the girls at the Government Industrial School (GIS), reports from the 2021 investigation and the report on the 2022 investigation. As these reports appear not to be forthcoming it would perhaps be easier for the Minister to answer direct questions. We want to know who is responsible for the maltreatment of the girls in the care of the State at GIS and therefore put the following questions to the Minister:
What was the basis for deciding on who was to be interviewed by the recent panel?
Did the panel interview the former House Mistress who signed the reports that were written for her?
Why was the Watchman not interviewed?
Why did the panel not interview wards who complained severely about the maltreatment at GIS?
Why did the panel not interview the girl who had to endure a broken jaw for 2 weeks before seeing a doctor?
Why did the panel not interview the girl who was kicked around on the ground by three staffers for her refusal to go into solitary confinement?
What are the qualifications of the Supervisors on staff?
It is alleged that staff is trying to keep a certain 15 year old girl incarcerated and sedated on psychotropic drugs to prevent her from talking. Is this allegation true?
Have you investigated the repeated allegation of men having liberal access to incarcerated girls after sun down?
Have you investigated practices of staffers throwing water on girls who are stripped naked and locked up in the cells?
Was the Permanent Secretary who sanctioned the actions of the GIS administration also interviewed by the panel?
The next list of questions based on diary entries by an incarcerated teenage girl will address allegations of the Principal taking over the role of privately welcoming girls to GIS upon their arrival.
Mr. Minister how will the reports of 2021 and 2022 be reconciled with your alleged statement at a staff meeting assuring staff that you will be standing behind them 100% and that you don’t mind if you are sacked as you have been an Attorney for 27 years and can go back to your law practice?
Honourable Minister, if one child is abused, that is one child too many. Who is going to be held accountable?
The blogmaster urges the activists for a good cause to keep up the pressure. One one blow does kill ole cow.
The cause being a seat in parliament.🤣🤣
@enuff
What about the substantive matter? The minister needs to address frontally the GIS matter.
Why state the obvious? I leave that those who post for likes.
@enuff
A good dodge.
Attempts by those in control of what happens at GIS would frustrate the process
Questions would be met with non answers
The process would eventually come to a creeping hault and swept under the rug
Like Caswell the GIS activist would most likely be seen or heard no more
Abrahams is probably taking a page from the former government which was known as the government of silence.
Government “Inquiries” tend to be Cover Up Whitewash Jobs to hide dirt and culpability rather than penetrate deep to reveal the correct truth and facts in institutional systemic breaches of rights, and just another Weapon of Mass Deception tool in the toolbox to fool the people that will not lead to real progress forward.
” I leave that those who post for likes.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Why do YOU post Enuff?
To appease the supreme one?
Or in this case to defend an incompetent joker and archetypical Bajan lawyah, who is in the game purely for self, who has no idea of effective management, and who has messed up in every area he has been placed….?
How we could SERIOUSLY expect to run a billion-dollar economy SUCCESSFULLY under the leadership of a bunch of dishonest misfits is beyond Bushie….
The price will be steep….and will be paid by ALL.
DavidJuly 9, 2022 8:00 AM
Abrahams is probably taking a page from the former government which was known as the government of silence
Xxxxxc
Maybe as a member of the media you should give him a call
This govt has a well oiled PR machine to keep controversial issues out of the piercing eyes of the public
Caswell a well known advocate for the people has been silenced and somewhat disappeared
The nurses plight has all but been forgotten
A govt spending thousands of dollars on a PR machine not gonna sit idly and let advocates control the narrative
Hence the word Silence speaks volumes in their favour
What is your DLP doing? That party still subscribes to the Freundel Stuart tradition of silence? A case of a party being irrelevant at a time democracy needs it most ?
“Why do YOU post Enuff?”
good question…with all this HIGH LEVEL….evidence DRIVEN exposure…what could they possibly still get out of enabling…
now this statement will be read on every continent..
DavidJuly 9, 2022 8:41 AM
What is your DLP doing? That party still subscribes to the Freundel Stuart tradition of silence? A case of a party being irrelevant at a time democracy needs it most
Xxxx
I guess with a well.oiled PR machine at taxpayers expense present govt can say or don’t say whatever pleases themselves
Caswell use to do a good job as a one man show? At some point we have to learn a one man cannot do it. What did he do?
He wrote articles.
He called the talk shows.
He was always available to the media to answer questions.
He addressed community concerns, honestly.
Feel free to add to the list.
What is the DLP doing to advocate citizen concerns? So far all we have heard are ‘canned’ noises from George street.
I did not listen to the speech but from the comments it appears that missed nothing.
So when did the AG become a joker.
Was it after the 2022 elections?
Wasn’t he a part of the repeat 30-0?
Wasn’t his repeat base on past performance?
If it was then we see that ‘past performance is not N indicator of future performance’ (or was it?).
Shameful….that Caswell ALWAYS had to stand alone with no VISIBLE support from those who yap the most on here…
don’t yall think it’s time ya ACTUALLY STAND UP and DO something…
.it’s UNFAIR to expect one man or woman to do everything to save YOUR PEOPLE and YOURSELVES from these criminals found in the cabinet, judiciary and minority crimunity….while they ESCAPE accountability.
On many social media pages Caswell.was appreciated
His advocacy could not have lasted that long if other voices were not giving support
His biggest mistake was one of joining the mcguffies in Parliament
While in Parliament he was targeted by the govt PR machine which on many occasions he stated he was not given access to govt initiatives before hand until he saw them during Parliament debates
His voice has been silent
At least during the past ten years His voiced was heard by all in Sundry
Don’t forget he also came into the cross fire of gun violence
David Bu although Mr Franklyn sometimes stood up for specific causes at times he appeared to be granstanding to solicit members for his union.Nothing wrong with that but i too notice since the nurses strike which he did not receive general support for he has gone silent.I wonder why? As for AC what is your leader Dr Obama Yearwood doing eccept rolling oit a lot of half baked ideas.In my view if he survives he will suffer the same fate as the political nightwatchman Ms Depeiza.I gone.
Caswell has his heart in the right place. He has committed to his advocacy role and at the same time he has to balance a responsibility to running his business/union. The blogmaster has a lot of respect for the former Senator.
UBS is reporting that 85 percent of central banks either hold or expect to be holding the Chinese yuan, renminbi.
Wonder how much the likes of the subject of this article recommends the local CB holds.
Why not gold as part of the mix?
Why not the rouble, ruble..
Or must this cycle end as destined, predicted, predictable.
“Why not gold as part of the mix?
Why not the rouble, ruble..”
they better get with the program REAL FAST, it’s obvious they are NOWHERE NEAR THERE YET…..and have NO CLUE…
still STUCK on and busy with DECEIVING and LYING to the public…so they can’t see or know what is really happening IN THE REAL WORLD.
Dr. Yearwood has made his presence known on social media platforms as well as local media
In so much that the issue of govt resistance to helping the most needy which in my estimate attributes to about 80percent of the population and not a measly 1000 as estimated by govt
Dr. Yearwood rallying cry for govt to help barbadian households did not fall on deaf of the govt as govt responded in a small way although yet all await the results from govt PR intervention
Actually Ronnie’s persona still has to emerge from the noise. Mia continues to soak all the oxygen from the room. Until Yearwood announced his team and the public gets a good feel of what they are a about, it is business as usual, BLO 30 others 0.
Caswell was a man of his time
Seems as if govt has pushed him into a hiding hole from which he has been unable to dig his way out
The GIS advocates must remain strong but have an uphill battle to climb fighting govt PR machine
Don’t expect the courts to do much to help them
This is a govt of total control
“Or must this cycle end as destined, predicted, predictable.”
Pacha….don’t hold your breath that they have the power to move away from what they spent their whole lives salivating to become a part of…..information out there states that they are an EMPLOYEE of the WEC disease…so they CANNOT go against their master’s wishes..
when ya want worldwide recognition and prestige and don’t even give a thought to safety, security and wellbeing of the people whom YA BEGGED FOR VOTES ….ya gotta SELL YA SOUL..
correction:
*information out there states that they are a WILLING EMPLOYEE of the WEF disease…
Ronnie Persona is well known and appreciated across social media where his voice has been a strong advocacy for the Barbadian households having to carry the ballooning debt of govt
As if govt has not created enough of a debt profile
Yesterday govt stood as a 12million guarantor for the UWI
Yet govt has to commission a committee to help struggling barbadians
BTW 60-0 can lose
Wait for it. A win by default. How does that help anyone?
Bush Tea
I post to rile you and others up. But I also know NOT to post that 8 outta 12 is 80%,🤣🤣
Less is more.
Conspiracy theory alert
Sometimes it is not the actual robbery but the memories that stay on your mind. The randomness, your vulnerability and that of relatives; the message eventually sinks in …
The union business is still safe… other business ???
Caswell got his message in 2020.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/07/senator-reliving-gun-incident/
unless the people are willing to STAND UP FOR THEMSELVES…Caswell SHOULD NOT put himself out there anymore….a lot of people have woken up, so there are many people already know what to do.
..the talk only brigade can remain on their own…we did as much as we can over the years and can only do so much individually….with all the fight down ya get from the ignorant…
It’s always been easy to get Judas jobs…when ya got no ethics, morals or self-respect..
so where did the 182 million dollars received for land in Holetown go……organizations are the ones organizing to help the vulnerable on the island….did a dime of that money go toward these helpless people..
shitpicker should be more concerned with whose names are liable to be on SEALED INDICTMENTS…
ah know mine int dere..
A next 30-0 would be folly, madness, lunacy and incontrovertible proof that the ‘yardfowls’ have more sense than the rest of us.
A win, I could understand.. but a 30-0. Hell no. He who feels it is not feeling it.
Whilst I understand the phrase less is more, I can see it giving rise to roaches thinking ‘they are punching above their weight’😃
Boy, I does kill myself. Hopefully, my more serious side returns
Oops. I just proved that less is more.
“I can see it giving rise to roaches thinking ‘they are punching above their weight’😃”
lol
Theo…people are doing what they KNOW must be done, been doing it for years, knew there was a time limit, and used it wisely….they are not waiting for any talk only crowd..who got nuff talk for each other but can’t draft a plan of action to save their people.
..they GOT UP and are doing the right things….that’s why we reap such success, no one needs talk only tag alongs…most things are kept from them…for obvious reasons..
Dodge? This week the government delivered another of its promises. I have faith that it will continue to do so. Also happy for you to continue providing a platform for constructive criticism, obstinance and plenty pettiness.
@Enuff
The blogmaster appreciates there is a need to check things on a list BUT it must translate to performance how it improves society.
@ WARU
It’s a Bajan thing. We always want somebody elsec lto sacrifice themselves on our own behalf.
Many who calling for Caswell now were castigating him for going after the government a few months ago.
Remember the ones on BU who said he was just looking for media exposure .
Just check the archives.
Hypocrites !!
“It’s a Bajan thing. We always want somebody elsec lto sacrifice themselves on our own behalf.”
not moi…i could hear they are coming for them tomorrow with SHACKLES and CHAINS or whatever newly formed enslavement method is AVAILABLE right now …i won’t tell them ONE SHITE…they are lucky they still get useful info…..only because i know there are those who don’t necessarily comment, like the groupie fowls, but they listen and pay attention…
.they had tons and tons of warnings and cussed us for our troubles…i know who and where am appreciated and that’s where the REAL info will go…or they will have to read all about it on my sites…
let them figure it out on their own..
“Many who calling for Caswell now were castigating him for going after the government a few months ago.”
i remember.
Not calling for Caswell
JustnQuestioning his sudden disappearance
Some what strange that ten years and before his zeal of advocacy against past govt policies left no stone unturned
Now his present silence give mystery as to ask why
Total disrespect for the small business person
https://www.facebook.com/100009465853405/posts/pfbid0K1F8zqkRhdGt4hbhXhTV7DGikHWzJoi5ygJjeCYnXKf5nA6C3FaLvtcz7taMR3wFl/
That’s for you to determine whether seeking to improve the working conditions, physical and otherwise,
of employees “improves society”. I maintain that I only state facts and refrain from running my mout fuh likes. Somethings I refuse to comment on just to let the herd run off the cliff.🤭
@Enuff
Ignore the herd and operate to your standard?
@ Enuff
“Bush Tea…..I post to rile you and others up.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Well concentrate on the others cause you CANNOT rile Bushie up… the bushman likes you too bad….! (:
Caswell’s problem is OBVIOUS….
The poor chap HAS to be totally FED UP with the unprecedented idiocy of brass bowl Bajans…
Unlike Bushie, Caswell probably does not grasp the spiritual NATURE of brassbowlery, and must be at a TOTAL loss as to how so many allegedly ‘intelligent;’ Bajans can be just as foolish as ac….
Same shiite happened to a chap called ‘Jonah’ …. and he went on a cruise to get away from the brass bowl idiots in Nineveh
LOL… his donkeys was returned to the job via ‘whale transport.’…
@ Caswell
No cruises or fishing for you boss
….besides wunna St Thomas people can’t even swim….
Caswell is getting good advice….STAY PUT…and just keep safe
this is being handled in other areas, OUT OF REACH…….where no one can interfere.
Waru
In Sri Lanka, the people have taken over the presidential palace. The dictator is in hiding.
Is this the future for our dictator and the retinue of sycophant?
Or will the guillotine be relied upon to deliver justice?
Caswell Franklyn is no longer leader of the opposition.
The leader of the opposition position has gone
Up in Smoke
Sporing History
Greatest Misses in Politics
DLP were offered 2 senate seats by the PM but made some loud farting noises instead
they then did a U-turn to asked if the offer was still open but it had been taken off the table
“Is this the future for our dictator and the retinue of sycophant?
Or will the guillotine be relied upon to deliver justice?”
despite what they have TOLD THEMSELVES for the last 100 years…even they should KNOW that the PEOPLE are the GOVERNMENT, they, put them there, and therefore they are mere EMPLOYEES….and when the PEOPLE can’t take the human rights abuses, oppression, suppression, thefts of their money etc and disenfranchisement anymore….THEY WILL ACT..
TLSN was just telling me they BURNT DOWN his house….he is lucky he was not in it…
all the warnings are THERE….and if they choose to ignore them…oh well….what can we say, but watch the free theatre.
Pacha…they got a free luxury swim…lol
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/video/news/protesters-swim-in-president-s-pool/vi-AAZnUA4?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=0f1ca4c6d7594afabe01400ece689cb0
Bush Tea July 9, 2022 12:46 PM
@ Enuff
“Bush Tea…..I post to rile you and others up.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Well concentrate on the others cause you CANNOT rile Bushie up… the bushman likes you too bad….! (:
Caswell’s problem is OBVIOUS….
The poor chap HAS to be totally FED UP with the unprecedented idiocy of brass bowl Bajans…
Unlike Bushie, Caswell probably does not grasp the spiritual NATURE of brassbowlery, and must be at a TOTAL loss as to how so many allegedly ‘intelligent;’ Bajans can be just as foolish as ac….
Same shiite happened to a chap called ‘Jonah’ …. and he went on a cruise to get away from the brass bowl idiots in Nineveh
LOL… his donkeys was returned to the job via ‘whale transport.’…
@ Caswell
No cruises or fishing for you boss
….besides wunna St Thomas people can’t even swim….
Thank you Bushie, I could not have said it better.
Wow
Caswell speaks once again
Here comes more trouble in Paradise
Words matter Barbados is truly too small to hide
PachamamaJuly 9, 2022 1:08 PM
Waru
In Sri Lanka, the people have taken over the presidential palace. The dictator is in hiding.
Is this the future for our dictator and the retinue of sycophant?
Or will the guillotine be relied upon to deliver justice?
…. but cricket playing.
SL 251 for 3 in their first innings of the test match, Matthews and Chandimal at the crease.
Australia made 364.
Pray tell, of what use is a “plan of action” when the masses are not yet ready to act?
The only action is to get them ready by opening their minds to the possibilities. Did that even at the supermarket yesterday.
I believe that evolution or a slow change in mindset is what’s needed here. Other than that, we can wait until Sri Lankism comes a -calling. Then necessity will again be the mother of invention and quick evolution shall become revolution in a 1937 stylee.
I solve my own problems and am living quite well. Teaching my son to do the same. He will not be dependant on any government or white man. I have already received more in benefits from the NIS than I paid in. I have already received more benefits from taxes than I paid in. Nobody owes me personally a thing.
When the masses show that they are ready to rise, I shall be with them with plenty of ideas, IF THEY WANT THEM.
Until then, I am in no need of sacrifice on my behalf and I offer none on anybody else’s behalf.
Don’t forget – it is not only politicians who have access to dual citizenship!
You remind me often enough that I en from bout heh!
Oh dear me!
@Donna
You touch on a pet horse of the blogmaster. When elected and appointed officials fall short who is suppose to hold them accountable in the system of governance we boast?
Some people cannot understand that different people have different methods.
Donna does not rush in hot and sweaty like an “investor” in a Ponzi “meeting turn”.
Donna is more of a slow and steady kind o’ gal.
More of a tortoise than a hare.
As I have stated MANY TIMES,
“SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE.”
“THE RACE IS NOT FOR THE SWIFT…BUT FOR [S]HE WHO ENDURES TO THE END.”
“THIS IS A MARATHON, NOT A SPRINT.”
It may even be a marathon relay.
Evolution is slow without a cataclysmic event.
Pacha…these are not ready and NEVER WILL BE..
they have done such a bang up job at Elder Affairs…..while watching the elderly robbed etc….and Child Care Board who allow crazy white psychologists to put ropes around children’s necks….
pretenders.
“At present it falls under the Ministry of Home Affairs which is also responsible for departments such as the Prison Service and at one time the Police Service.
The child rights expert is of the opinion that the Ministry of People Empowerment & Elder Affairs, under which the Child Care Board falls, should have oversight of the reform school particularly as she perceives a new approach and energising focus within that ministry.”
When one is hired to do a job it is the hirer and payer of salaries who holds one to account.
GIS Ward Reportedly Attempts Suicide
https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2022/07/11/gis-ward-reportedly-attempts-suicide/
Surely Minister Abrahams is aware of the concern by members of the public which is being sustained by a couple advocates. That he has to be dragged kicking and screaming to report to the public he was elected to serve is arrogance at its best. A word to the ignorant is never enough.
https://www.instagram.com/tv/Cf7hCTuNuO1/
These people spend money first ….and then think afterwards…
Steupsss..
The only ‘new start’ needed for Sept 9 is a half decent minister.
Oh dear 🤭
This is not an attack.
I am usually disappointed in your typical response …. two words and an emoji.
I know you are capable of much more than that type of response.
Have a great day all. Catch you after 5:00 p.m.
Faking….very efficient at that, if nothing else..
I always knew that the ultimatum issued by the women’s group would be met with dismissiveness. That is how ultimatums rub people the wrong way.
I expected him to take his time responding. But…. the offhand way in which he eventually did so is not satisfactory. The timeframe he gave has passed. A more formal response with reasons for the delay and when the issues should be resolved would have been more professional.
@Donna
He is projecting and arrogant approach. Time will tell if it works for him. Maybe he is acting out instructions received from the prime minister.
A leopard CANNOT change its spots.
EVERYWHERE that this particular minister has been, his spots has been on show….
Home Affairs CANNOT be different….
What does the minister have to apologise for. ? Why apologise if the time frame will not be met ? Apologise to whom? For what ?
Why apologise ? To be attacked ?
The minister is right !!!!
Find somebody else to attack.
Nonsense ! Why would the Prime Minister instruct or encourage her minister to be arrogant ?
This seems to be another spurious attack on the PM.
Hope she ignores such foolishness.
Sometimes , I get the distinct impression, that there was no Barbados until a few weeks ago.
This desire to promote the country as being washed in some blood of the lamb after the elections of 2018 is pure garbage.
Will someone explain how has governance really changed since then.
When Stuart and Company were frigging up the place; the blame was correctly placed squarely on the government.
Now, we are placing all the blame on the people. The people are being instructed how to do everything to avoid blaming Mottley and Company.
Intellectual dishonesty is rampant.
We no longer hold the government responsible , we hold the people.
Nothing has changed outside of buses and garbage trucks.
Transparency and accountability are still on the back burner.
We have reached the pathetic stage where we are not promoting good governance but trying to convince ourselves that we should settle for the best of the of what we consider to be the worst.
How can the country go forward if we decide to convince ourselves that governments cannot have degrees of competence that rise above grade D, E, or F ?
If only we had as much water as we have Kool aid ………………………….
The Duopoly Rules Supreme.