Central Bank of Barbados Governor Cleviston Haynes delivers the Bank’s review of Barbados’ economic performance in the first quarter of 2022 and takes questions from the media and online audience.
Review of the Economy January to March 2022 (Text Version)
If an economy “ grew “by 11% and still has not returned to 2019 levels, what does it really mean ?
So are you telling me that a person who was four feet tall in 2019 and in 2022 grew to be six feet but is still not four feet tall , Interesting : talk about the use and abuse of statistics………………..
And foolish me always thought that growth meant it is actually more than it was before but ………………..
Mr Skinnerif the economy grew by 11 percent would that not be in comparison to the previous year? The previous year cannot be 2019.You should know better but you overseas gloom and doomerd just looking for any negativity to nitpick on.It seems any goog news in Barbados angers you.Your party lost two electioms 30 to 0 and are vurrently struggling to even elect s president.Grow up and deal with that reality.The majority of bajans here on the ground has congidence in the current government to pull this country around despite you overseas daily nitpicking.I gone.
Steupsss
From back in Arthur’s time, we knew (because Owen told us in one of his sober moments) that we were headed up shit street.
He warned about the NEED to live within our means..
He also warned us about the Supreme Leader…
Then came..
CLICO
Froon
IMF
COVID
Volcano ash
Hurricane
Vaccines
inter alia.
..but Haynes is ‘cautiously optimistic’….
Can anyone point to any economic predictions made by the Governor in the past that actually turned into reality?
Asking for a friend, but Bushie smells BS strongly…
Clearly the post holder has been instructed to ‘sound positive’, least the Brass Bowls realize their imminent fate…
What point is there after all, in explaining to black belly sheep (BBS) the true purpose behind the ‘field trip’ to the Abattoir?
@Bush Tea
Sadly our economic fundamentals are flawed. It does not take much acumen to workout our level of consumption behaviour is unsustainable based on the economic model we have relied on over the years with little change by present day decision makers.
TRUE!
But David, that is NOT the elephant in the room.
Can you explain how it can POSSIBLY be, that our economic fundamentals are so CLEARLY flawed, and yet these ‘educated’ officials can CONSTANTLY be standing up on TV with straight faces talking a lotta shiite about our great ‘prospects’ …?
What does THAT say about their CONTEMPT for the intelligence of Bajans?
Bushie STRONGLY feels that these people get together privately after these ‘presentations’ and roll all over the floor ‘laffing their asses off’ at how gullible Bajan brass bowls ACTUALLY are….
In a TRULY educated society, Haynes would be FORCED to come with PRACTICAL assessments of our current REALITY, and to then prescribe SENSIBLE proposals to reverse the trend towards damnation….
The ONLY explanation (that makes any sense to Bushie) to how a whole country could be so damn foolish, is the ‘CURSE’….
Bushie told wunna to dig up that shiite monument that Froon planted at the Garrison…. The Alter to Satan, with the black pitch fork coming out of the earth….
Leff unm dey and see how things will work out…..
@Bush Tea
It takes courage (will power) to decouple from a comfortable way of thinking. In our system the citizenry as a key stakeholder in civil society have ceded its important role to the First Estate.
LOL @ David
Boss, it takes WISDOM to decouple from comfort towards PRACTICALITY…
What takes ‘courage’ is to continue along a path that CLEARLY leads to chaos, crises and destruction….
Or at least it takes idiotic bravado
William Skinner April 28, 2022 6:51 AM #: “So are you telling me that a person who was four feet tall in 2019 and in 2022 grew to be six feet but is still not four feet tall…..”
Mr. Skinner
Your above example is flawed. You cannot in all seriousness compare economic growth with growth in “a person.”
In simple terms, an economy can grow positively or negatively……. not a human being.
An individual continues to grow during a recession, an economy does not.
The economy could have grown by 11% when compared to the same period in 2021, but not to the level it was in 2019 or pre COVID-19.
This is something John A has been discussing on BU for several months.
Will leave this link for Vincent and Artax to explain if we should worry about lag factors effecting Barbados economy.
An interesting read to contextualize a discussion about domestic economy. Despite missteps at the local level we must also understand the challenges when placed in a global context.
https://www.earth-policy.org/mobile/books/pb4/pb4ch1_ss4
The final paragraph from the link posted. The national conversation needs to be boated about what has become boring routinely politically flavored discussions.
“Market behavior—including its failure to include the indirect costs of goods and services, to value nature’s services, and to respect sustainable-yield thresholds—is leading to the destruction of the economy’s natural support systems, our own version of a Ponzi scheme. At some point the deteriorating relationship between the economy and its natural supports begins to take a political toll, contributing to state failure.”
@ Artax
It’s a matter of interpretation. The bench mark was introduced by the Governor of the Central Bank. Not me. He referenced 2019 not me. Growth means growth whether you are talking about a person or a tree.
This is the same crap for which the former Governor of the Central Bank was viciously attacked on this same BU.
Haynes is twisting the truth. This economy is not improving and the prospects of any improvement is being seriously affected by inferior political gymnastics and propaganda being engineered by the Minister of Finance, who has no time to address the country about her administration’s plan for the economy.
What goes around comes around. I was the only person on BU who said that Worrell ,was like Blackman posited , a creature of the Minister of Finance.
We are now trying to paint Haynes with a different brush because it is politically expedient .
This economy is heading toward the shambles whether we want to admit it or not. The Minister of Finance is sending out handpicked consultants to cover her backside.
At least Sinckler took the lashes upfront.
And now his mismanagement of the economy is being embraced and validated by the same politician ( Mottley) who called him the worst finance minister we ever had.
More to come bro’
@David Economic news from the U.S this morning. The Fed hasn’t even started to raise rates yet.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cnbc.com/amp/2022/04/28/us-q1-gdp-growth.html
@wargeneral
The US maybe tottering on the brink of a recession, the outlook appears to be challenging if not bleak. Again a national discussion and fit for purpose strategic approach is a must even at this late stage.
@William Skinner 8:49am
Amen.
David, the US Federal Reserve has been printing money at break neck speed for the last 13 years which kept interest rates very low. What has enabled them to do this with little damage is the fact that people and central banks around the world have held the U.S dollar as the main reserve currency. This has now been undermined by the recent Russia sanctions, sanctions on Venezuela, Iran and Afghanistan (the U.S seized or stole Afghanistans foreign reserves earlier this year.
https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2022-02-13/biden-s-decision-on-afghanistan-s-7-billion-in-foreign-reserves-is-cruel The over use of sanctions coupled with excessive money printing may leave the U.S vulnerable some day, its simply an issue of supply and demand.
@wargeneral
This is the tenor of conversation local taking heads in the media should be depositing in public space. We have to ‘retrofit’ how we manage our affairs with the urgency of now. We have an obligation to future generations.
@Walter Blackman
There is an important role for you to play.
The President of the World Bank recently explained that the strategy by G20 is to boost global supply and recommend member countries ring fenced the vulnerable in society to respond to challenge posed by Russia Ukraine conflict. What is sobering about his intervention is that it is predicated on shoring up the existing financial model.
@David, I think the solution lies in looking East. I feel that Barbados and Caricom needs to furthur deepen trade ties with Africa, partner more with China, which is already happening, I think Mia signed on to belt and road in 2019, and deepen trade ties with India and the Middle East. Come up with a national and regional strategy to ensure food security, and come up with equity financing options for risk takers in society so they can take more risks in areas like Fintech, The Ocean economy and Renewable energy for example.
I also think that the Central Bank of Barbados need to start shifting some of its reserves from the U.S dollar to Gold.
@wargeneral
Shifting to gold will come with repercussions given PM Mottley’s alliance with so-called western establishment. What about the parity of the BB dollar?
@David That is something that would have to be done gradually.
A question asked of the governor asked the question if Barbados was out of a recession
The governor instead of coming clean with a yes or no response put on a political hat stating he does not like labels being put on the economy
Now a reading absent of a direct answer from the governor one political investigator writes an article with a defining and a definite Yes about the recession
Recessions are tantamount and derived and activated in many variables of an economy would be far fetched and some what devious for any economist looking at the state of small islands economies to espoused a smoke and mirror statement.that Barbados recession is over especially when the negative effects of the global economy impact small.island economies and ongoing
Govt still has to find ways of generating faster revenue outside of borrowing and tourist spend
BTW it would be of interest to know how much tourist spend was applied to govt revenue
Unfortunately absent of an opposition govt can say anything which pleases the ears
…and there is no opposition precisely because your above RAMBLING mumbo jumbo is typical of the DLP jackasses who presented themselves as potential representatives…. after demonstrating a decade of incompetence despite their ‘certificates’…
Now if CXC had done its job, you and your ilk would be working on ZRs on the Airport route instead of confusing the damn blog with mumbo jumbo…
…and perhaps some REALLY intelligent (but currently relegated to the block) gem would have been identified by the system to represent the people.
We made a shiite bed, now we have to lay down somewhere….
William Skinner April 28, 2022 8:49 AM #: “Growth means growth whether you are talking about a person or a tree.”
@ Mr. Skinner
Who “introduced the benchmark” or “referenced 2019” is irrelevant.
The fact remains your comparison of economic growth with growth in human beings is flawed.
Whereas growth in a human is consistent until he/she ‘stops growing,’ economic growth fluctuates.
And, as far as I can recall, ALL Governors of the Central Bank have been ACCUSED of LYING or INCOMPETENCE.
From Dr. Kurleigh King, Calvin Springer, Winston Cox, Dr. Marion Williams to Dr. DeLisle Worrell.
Do you recall when former PM fired Mr. Cox?
However, I believe Cleviston Hanyes is given a ‘free pass’ by the independent economists, Barbados Economic Society and the media.
angela cox April 28 2022 10:20 AM #: “Recessions are tantamount and derived and activated in many variables of an economy….”
@ ac
A recession is simply a period of negative economic growth for two consecutive quarters.
Liars figure and figures lye.
Also Liat just announced direct flights to Ghana.
Interesting news item petrol dealers have not seen a decrease in sales since hike in rates. Here it is the blogmaster expected differently with increase sales in bicycles and businesses aggressively adopting remote working born out of pandemic experience.
Bush Tea the only mumbojumbo up.in here is u yuh ole goat with yuh repetitive mumbo jumbo brass bowl insulting tripe
Good news were out of recession …..bad news were going into hard times
@lawson
As Artax commented ‘out of recession’ is a sterile economic measure. An intelligent person must sensible translation to what it means. What is does not mean is that the economy has recovered from the abyss where it has been lodged for a couple decades.
Your right David it is not a barometer of how people are feeling about their overall life style Just a definition
@ William
@ Artax
Guys lets look at it another way then. Let’s say you had a shop that sold $10000 a day in 2019. Then in 2020 sales fell to $7000, they then recovered in 2021 to $8000 a day, what would be the reality we could argue in 2022?
William is say we ain’t saying nothing as we still have not recovered to 2019 sales which is true.
Artax is also correct in that the economy has recovered steadily from 2020 levels in 2021, even though it has not gotten back to 2019 levels yet.
So we are showing economic recovery but how relevant is it should be our argument. To answer that we can only compare it to other economies. May of the world economies have recovered to pre covid levels, yet may of the smaller ones are still lagging behind. We will lag behind because we are basically dependant on tourism. So while many of our source markets may have recovered that doesn’t mean mass travel to us will occur at the same time. It will lag behind as travel can not take precident over catching up on mortgage payments and car loans by potential tourist.
2022 however is a year if all goes well, that we should get closer to 2019 levels. Providing of course covid doesn’t blow up again or the war intensify. Personally I am what you would call cautiously optimistic and that is the best I can be.
The question will remain however is this. Is the glass half empty or half full? That can only be answered by the person viewing the glass.
There is a recession looming on the US economy. There was economic decline in the first quarter of this year. We must watch this. The indication from the governor or the Central Bank
may be be short lived in terms of Barbados getting out of the woods if the US economy falters.
@Heather
The Governor couched his language by saying the ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine if protracted will derail current growth trajectory. Please refer to an earlier point made to @lawson. For the sake of a more relevant discussion we need to improve our economic fundamentals; we need to urgently shift our over reliance on the hospitality sector.
Heather that is true but we had a good winter season this year compared to 2021 so with that in the bag we have a shot at getting closer to pre covid economic levels. I agree with you though as the next few months could go either way.
Mr Skinner where is your evidence that the economy is not improving or in shambles?You are an economist now?I know this is what you overseas bajans wish to happen but it will not.Who cares about what happen to former governors if it wss warranted especially the last one.Lastly if i had to trust the word of the current govenor of the central bank and a knowall like you guess which one i will believe.I gone.
If the economy was worth x in 2019 before COVID and during COVID fell to 25% of x by year end 2021 then if it grew by 11% of the 25% of x then compared with 2019 the economy must be worth 1.11×0.25 of x …
…. or it is worth 27.75 of what it was worth in 2019.
Is my math right?
Once we opened for business in the Tourist sector the economy would grow but clearly it did not grow by that much and remains way below what it was in 2019, pre Covid.
Artax
A recession is simply a period of negative economic growth for two consecutive quarters
Xxxxxx
Tell that to the Governor who placed political economic politics against the back drop of reality what he did not say was the 11percent increase was and addition added to a cumulative amount brought forward from last year creeping growth totals
Hence in reality the Jan to March growth was one percent which included last year total
… no wonder Cleviston always wears a frown on his face.
… and the tourist season officially ended on 15 April!!!
@Skinner, of course “It’s a matter of interpretation” economic reviews always are. Why is the matter of growing 11% over the previous year but NOT reaching the levels of output for a prior year a matter of contention???
That’s simply understandable in any business and should need no deep explanation beyond the obvious so the governor can’t be accused of “twisting the truth” on that statement alone🤣. How so brother! … maybe he is indeed painting as rosy a picture as is possible but then again which government official in his role would NOT be expected to do exactly that !
Barbados suffered like all other nations and our GDP took a shellacking over last two years … thanks to some innovative ‘Welcoming Stamping’ and with other business slowly coming back we recaptured some revenue which got us that 11% uptick over the previous year but which was well below the revenues pre-Covid … why is that propaganda and why are you suggesting that the govt is masking real downturns in the economy when you say “the economy is not improving and the prospects of any improvement is being seriously affected by inferior political gymnastics“?
You may be right as I have not studied any of the reports but please clarify why you are so confident that this is all a sham. Is there no real growth as suggested by the officials? Are the ridiculously large cabinet salaries, supa-sized consultancies, administrative travel etc too big a drag?
Why so pessimistic!
Wasn’t the Haynes a dlp/scinkler appointment?
@ John April 28, 2022 3:22 PM
Sir John, please ease up on ‘poor’ Cleviston and about his ‘looks’.
He is just a spitting product of the father of the Miller clan of the supermarket business.
What you should be querying is the ‘current’ status of those private sector ‘investment’ projects which the same guv has been promising since his appointment.
Why has he stopped shining that light in the investment pipeline so that Bajans can see the end of the 5-year long tunnel?
Where is the mention of the likes of the Four Seasons restart or even the Hyatt soon-coming erection?
Maybe your friends “Enuff, John2, & Lorenzo” can shed some light on those missing in action (MIA) projects promoted as the SOS to the Bajan economy which have now morphed into mere mirages in the eyes of the previous Guv called De-liar.
Based on his pronounced prognostications on the economy, as reproduced below, can we conclude that- as a result of pending rises in sea levels- he has switched his Hobson’s choice hobby horse from the DLP conceived hotel investment projects to that of the more realistic BDLP-owned renewable energy investment sector to save Barbados from inundation; both economic and geophysical?
Continued investment in renewable energy will help to address the negative effects of volatile oil prices and to improve competitiveness. Accelerating implementation, is now crucial, taking advantage of the liquidity in the banking system. In addition, we must bolster our competitiveness by lowering the cost of doing business, increasing our output and improving our turnaround times. The path towards sustained growth requires a strong partnership with all stakeholders, a commitment to innovate and improved performance by everyone. Both public and private sectors, including small and medium-sized enterprises, will need the support of money and capital markets to support this innovation. This path is quite attainable if we continue to pull together in the country’s interest.
(Unquote).
The signing of an Air Services confidential memorandum of understanding (MOU) between Barbados and the Republic of Ghana has been described as “strengthening historical ties”.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/28/barbados-signs-air-services-mou-ghana/
With its International Monetary Fund (IMF) programme expiring at the end of September, Government is expected to start repaying the $850 million it borrowed from the financial institution from next year.
https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/2022/04/28/barbados-start-repaying-imf/
Dpd i guess by now you have figured out that Mr Skinner is anti Ms Mottley snd anti BLP..If these predictions had come from Dr Worrell, Mr Stuart or Mr Sinckler you would not heard a peep out of him., mark my words.However the proof is in the eating we shall see what happens going forward.I gone.
With its International Monetary Fund (IMF) programme expiring at the end of September, Government is expected to start repaying the $850 million it borrowed from the financial institution from next year.
(Unquote).
And where is this money foreign money going to come from?
The sale of the AIR and SEA ports to the Chinese or the Arabs or even the Russian oligarchs with dirty money looking for a laundry in the Caribbean?
Imagine that! Having to borrow from the same IMF to repay the same IMF.
Isn’t that like taking a 5 dollar bill from your left pocket and putting it in your empty right pocket just to pretend you have $10.00?
Now this is the perfect alibi for the new republic to bite the bullet of pride but with the shame of no industry and ‘demand’ from Britain Barbados’s share of reparations for almost 400 years of chattel slavery, colonial economic exploitation and blatant cultural indoctrination.
Why not let Britain payback the IMF along with the other foreign debts due to the international loansharks as a final divorce settlement?
Maybe the local Anglican Church can impress upon its dying Mother back home to support its boastful Bajan government’s financial claim of righting the moral wrongs committed by their slave-owning ancestors including those of our own John the Quaker.
Maybe then our Vince Codrington the BU economics guru would feel comfortable in changing his name to Kunta Kinte.
angela cox April 28, 2022 3:20 PM
RE: “Tell that to the Governor who placed political economic politics against the back drop of reality……
Don’t have to tell him anything.
Please explain what is “political economic politics.”
RE: “……..what he did not say was the 11percent increase was and addition added to a cumulative amount brought forward from last year creeping growth totals.
Hence in reality the Jan to March growth was one percent which included last year total.”
Please explain in simple English.
Re “Dpd i guess by now you have figured out that Mr Skinner is anti Ms Mottley snd anti BLP..”
@Lorenzo leff me out of the political circus. I have figured out no such thing. The brother is an equal opportunity pessimist and lambastes both parties for all to read!
I am simply kerfuffled by the distress and ole talk on basic year-over-year growth stats and wondered what analysis caused those remarks.
“Now if CXC had done its job, you and your ilk would be working on ZRs on the Airport route instead of confusing the damn blog with mumbo jumbo…”
I did minding my business and drinking water byt this mek me spit out all!!🤣🤣🤣🤣
This made me smile
“@Lorenzo leff me out of the political circus. I have figured out no such thing.”
Will smile even broader when Lorenzo returns and bags and tags DpD as a D.
@African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,
“British Virgin Islands: Premier Andrew Fahie arrested in US drug sting”
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-61266526
@ DPD
Realism is often branded Pessimism . The economy is growing how? We are out of a recession yet 50 000 are unemployed. What is the true unemployment rate? What sectors are performing any better than they were before?
All government issued bonds are underperforming.
The cost of living is higher now than it ever was before.,We are paying more for bus fare , water and electricity than before.
Where is this 11% growth in real terms?
The old way of measuring economic growth bears no match to our socio economic reality.
We can talk about growth forever but poverty throughout the region is rising and has risen to astronomical levels and no fancy reports can gloss over the fact that we are seeing an increase in BIm.
Branding glaring facts and realism as pessimism , gloom and doom and other tired adjectives does not eliminate the facts.
There is no way that we are better off today than we are economically better off than we were in 2018.
And it’s not Mottley’s fault. It’s the reality of COVID, a vicious downturn in tourism, along with hurricanes, volcanic ash, a lazy retail oriented private sector and now the war in Ukraine.
How the hell can we be better off when these circumstances and others have us in more real debt than we actually were before.
We are witnessing a historically high level of economic decline.
We are waiting for a new, promised economic model and there is none . Worrell, Haynes , Blackman , Cox and all the others have given us the same damn message for fifty years and the results have not significantly changed our economic decline with or without COVID, hurricanes, volcanic ash, and the howling of the Bees or Dees.
That is why Mottley has validated Sinckler’s failures and that is why he has embraced and validated Mottley’s leadership.
Same shit, different day.
Call it what you may. But look at the evidence.
@ Lorenzo
You are rapidly becoming a lost cause. You can’t be saved : just make sure your garbage is collected and you can catch a bus. And enjoy your heavenly stay on whatever Barbados you live in. Take the garbage and the bus ride to the supermarket and pay fir your groceries and other essentials. And continue to wish the man you claimed supervised the “ lost decade “ well. Follow your leader at all cost.
@ William 6.48am
Amen!
@Skinner, ok thank you for your clearly defined analysis on that basic 11% growth comment from the Gov. Understand you perfectly. Now sir, that being clarified we can agreeably part ways on the perspectives re Bdos and regional economic forecasts.
Your view is indeed pessimistic although very evidentiary strong. Economic progression is almost exactly as you described the scenarios and that’s why we HAVE to look at numbers in relative and not simply in absolute terms.
Absolutely we still see folks in poverty here and across the region but relatively that does NOT invalidate the fact many more have been pulled from the pain of impoverishment into meaningful and sustainable life.
Undoubtedly, engines of the economy are down and unemployment and underemployment are high but realism tells us that it’s quite improbable and well nigh impossible to consistently have any ‘full employment’ level in Bim … our economy does not have the infrastructure to achieve that (except of course for smoke and mirrors programs to employ thousands on beautification Urban Dev. jobs or some such).
So I accept your realism and still label in pessimism !
Unless bus fares are massively subsidized we will always have to pay MORE and more as all other costs increase for operating such a transport system … can we get Bajans to become a society of EV bikes and scooters or economy size cars to better buttress our transportation . Hardly!
Utilities need to be managed very efficiently clearly but they too have increased costs year over year over year so comparatively (another relative measure) they MUST be higher. Are current economic costs at NPV higher or lower than 10 -15 years ago? I have NO idea … and I am not going to complain now about Canadian ownership and I certainly can’t opine on whether BL&P is gouging consumers.
Is the 11% growth real? Well, as a basic comparative measurement it describes an increase surely but does it mean that our economy is in BETTER shape than five years ago… ABSOLUTELY not. Do we have the plans in place to get us into a better space? We have ideas and pretty policy proposals but as you suggest the realisms from the past does not fill us with confidence about success.
So again I get your realistic view and the “historically high level of economic decline” but again in the face of historically high levels of world-wide economic upheaval, political populism and all that has transpired in Bim in last 10 years I see NO upside in looking at all that via a ‘doom and gloom’ lens … there have been TOO MANY other positives for Bajans for us to retain such an outlook!
Peace, brother.
All the long talk that we are not better off than we were in 2018. Does not take away from the fact that we are better off than we were in q1 of 2021 unemployment etc are all better
Who expect us to be back to 2018 level already?
It is amazing how supposedly intelligent people are unable to place comments in context.
Those that have ears to hear would hear with understanding
The use of technology by this administration would guide people’s interest into what govt wants people to hear think and belive
There is a new standard being set by govt one of delivering and not asking to be questioned
Any one with an iota of economic understanding would know that for growth in amounts governor stated during a pandemic and a country borrowing instead of producing cannot in any way deliver growth rate numbers in 3 mths which were handed to the people by the governor
Where is the high level of productivity to produce such numbers in a country where the economic wheels are all but fallen to the ground
Why did governor simply ignore the question asked
IS Barbados out of a Recession?
In the body of the very first comment after the article – posted by the blogmaster
Quoted from Dr Haynes
“The definition of a recession is after two consecutive quarters of economic fallout. Our economy has been now growing for the last four quarters, but the truth is that we are not where we were at the end of 2019,” the economist said.
Picked up
“So I try to avoid labels, because yes the economy has picked back up – for the last four quarters we have grown – but I think we will only begin to feel comfortable once we at least get back to where we were in 2019 and then start to grow.”
Recession fears are mounting. Here’s how to protect your money
https://www.cnn.com/2022/04/28/success/money-moves-recession-geopolitical-unrest/index.html
Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados (CTUSAB) president Edwin O’Neal is serving notice on those he said are seeking to bring the continuity of the association under threat.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/05/03/ctusab-dont-mess-us/
Fed raises interest rates by half a percentage point
https://www.cnn.com/2022/05/04/economy/federal-reserve-interest-rate-hike/index.html
“The British multinational automotive firm Inchcape announced Tuesday it had completed the acquisition of the Sir Kyffin Simpson-founded motor dealer and its regional automotive distribution arm, ITC.”
Simpson Motors is now owned by the British.
Perhaps we may see a reintroduction of British made vehicles into the island.
The only locally owned car dealerships in the island are Courtesy Garage and probably Nassco.
@Artax
Another case of looking for a golden handshake at a time there shift in market and Sir Kyffin getting on?
Remember, on December 2021, FTSE 250 car dealership Inchcape announced it agreed to buy Interamericana Trading Corporation (ITC) and Simpson Motors from the Simpson Group for an undisclosed sum.
New car sales are at an ‘all time low,’ even before the COVID-19 pandemic.
I’ve seen several new vehicles at Courtesy Garage, some that were there since last year. I’m wondering if they’re being as 2022 models. Simpson Motors had a reputation for engaging in that practice.
Perhaps Sir Kyffin decided to take advantage of an opportunity that would see him ‘get out’ of the car sales business, while receiving millions of dollars in the process.
I think he sold SOL as well. So, he definitely has to be one of the richest men in Barbados.
@Artax
Bear in mind Simpsons is a regional player as far as having the agency for Mercedes, Subaru, John Deere and other high value brands.
Yes, I know.
They owned the Suzuki franchise for the Caribbean region and are the agents for Mitsubishi heavy-duty vehicles, Chrysler, Isuzu, JCB and Bobcat as well.
Any of you concerned ?
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/04/covid-19-update-621-new-cases/
Barbados Water Authority said, however, that this will not make up the deficit created by the Desalination Plant being offline, so customers in the Lodge Hill to Shop Hill and the Castle Grant systems, including residents along the West Coast and in parts of St James, St Thomas, St Andrew and St Joseph will continue to experience water outages.
Source: Nation News
BARBADOS VOB 92.9 news
DEBIT AND CREDIT CARDS HACKED
The mother country appears to be in a spot of bother.
https://www.theguardian.com/business/2022/may/05/bank-england-raises-interest-rates-inflation-cost-of-living
@ David,
Barbados could learn a lesson from Antigua.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-61174988
@TLSN
https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/barbados-announces-new-heritage-district-documenting-slavery-180979175/
Central Bank designation on big credit union – Central Bank designation on big credit union:
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/06/central-bank-designation-on-big-credit-union/
Haven’t you realised as yet in his haste to make silly, irrelevant comparisons to portray Barbados in a ‘negative light,’ that guy alawys ‘looks AFTER he leaps?’
Dear Artax,
De economy bad bad. I hope it get better soon.
Signed,
A concerned Bajan
Dear Donna
I used this blog on the economy as an example.
However, in addition to “hoping the economy gets better soon,” perhaps you could offer a suggestion or two on how it could be improved to being “good good.”
Signed,
A concern Barbadian.
Artax,
None that I haven’t given before and that haven’t been given by others more versed in these matters.
Fla residents being gifted
DeSantis signs tax ‘holidays,’ gas-tax break
Published:May 6, 2022 6:09 PM EDT
Updated:May 6, 2022 10:50 PM EDT
A series of sales-tax “holidays” on such things as school clothes, hurricane supplies and tools and a suspension of the state gas tax in October topped a package signed into law Friday by Gov. Ron DeSantis.
The tax package (HB 7071), passed by the Legislature in March, will reduce state and local revenues by $804.3 million during the upcoming fiscal year, according to a House staff analysis. The total will increase to about $1.1 billion when future impacts are factored in.
Along with holding traditional tax-holiday periods before the school year and as hurricane season starts, the package will eliminate taxes during all or part of the 2022-2023 fiscal year on items including baby clothes, diapers, children’s books, Energy Star appliances, impact-resistant doors and windows, new mobile homes and admissions to Formula One Grand Prix races and the Daytona 500.
“This bill comes at an opportune time, as families grapple with the rising costs of everyday expenses like gas, food and clothing,” Department of Children and Families Secretary Shevaun Harris said during an appearance with DeSantis in Ocala. “I know that every penny saved counts.”
State leaders touted that the election-year package will help consumers.
“The tax relief you’re going to see are going to be breaks for really critical needs, like gas, diapers, disaster supplies, tools for skilled trades, recreational activities, you name it,” DeSantis said. “And, so, families are going to be able to save for things that really matter for them.”
The Bridgetown International University (BIU) School of Medicine is set to expand its campuses in Barbados, which could see a US$10 million investment.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/05/08/bius-us10m-expansion/