In this part of the world there is the misconception by many that because we are located thousands of miles from Russia and the Ukraine, we will be unaffected by events unfolding. This is far from the truth given the interdependence of the global economy and how unrest fueled by war and rumours of war will further disrupt supply chains and cause volatility in financial markets. Also important is how East West tensions may erase the gains achieved at détente since the Cold War period.

Whether we believe Putin is a warmonger given his paideia that the attempt by former Soviet Union States – now sovereign states – pose a threat to Mother Russia because of potential membership in NATO, fear of growing democracies on Russia’s border or how it may influence the totalitarian system practiced by Russia – these are not exhaustive concerns, these are legitimate concerns.

What we know if Newton’s third law is loosely applied – “for every action in nature there is an equal and opposite reaction”. We have awakened to the news of EU and US in discussions to apply unprecedented sanctions on Russia. Russia is no stranger to suffering sanctions from the West. The annexation of Crimea by Russia is well documented. It is being reported Russia has accumulated 600 billions in reserves to mitigate economic sanctions. This will be a long fight with potential significant fallout for the global economy at the current rate of escalation.

So far the other other major economic power in the world has been reluctant to throw the bear to the wolves. Pundits have been opining that China has formed an alliance with Russia which maybe the comfort President of Russia Vladimir Putin needed to pursue his objectives by invading Ukraine. 

What is amusing to the blogmaster is to listen to commentators using the sovereignty argument to criticize Putin. Others have invoked violation of UN Charters. Where were the same commentators when the USA and friendlies invaded Iraq on the pretext Saddam Hussein had amassed weapons of mass destruction (WMD)? The blogmaster is not intending to endorse policies of either side in the conflict only to respond to positions being taken based on ignorance.

In this part of the world we have to be concerned if military conflict continues to ramp up. In recent days Minister Kerri Symmonds alluded to an urgency for Barbados to increase local production of crude to 200 a barrels by ‘milking’ old wells. Bare in mind we continue to negotiate a pandemic and Barbados along with other economies in the region – defined as open economies – will buffet with the potential to capsize in a global economic storm. 

In the world of geopolitics small islands in the Caribbean have no real voice or influence in the sphere of geopolitics. With the UN Security Council polarized the region must be very careful how we shape a position on the conflict. There is the saying when elephants fight, it is the grass that suffers.

347 responses to “Russia/Ukraine Conflict”

1. David,

Who thinks we will not be affected?

There will be economic pain. Hopefully we will learn from it. Hopefully the oh so “wise” men of the west will rethink their set up.

What do they say about a crisis?

Let’s see if we will let it go to waste!

But there will not be a conventional WW3 and there will not be a nuclear world ending war.

Saw an witty quote yesterday that said, “I don’t know how WW3 will be fought but I do know that WW4 will be fought with sticks and stones.”

Only a crazy terrorist longing to meet his seventy virgins would start WW3.

2. @Donna

You will be surprised to know how many Barbadians are presently going about their business oblivious to the threat pose by escalating tension in that region. In fact the conflict aside, many are also oblivious how decisions are informed by geopolitics.

3. When the Europeans fight among themselves World war(s) is the inevitable outcome; if we were to ‘follow’ history.

This current bout of hostilities in Eastern Europe can only spill over to the rest of the world.

Expect the Chinese to follow suit and invade Taiwan as part of the super-power-grabbing game to replace the USA as the top dog.

Don’t be surprised if the Chinese use the opportunity to seek revenge against Japan for its Shinto-backed invasion and subsequent humiliation of that Sino country during World War 11 but which now fancies its chances of becoming the planet’s No.1 superpower.

Russia has neither the population size nor the global economic and political influence to replace Uncle Sam; but China does.

Come on Mr. Tron, look into your Rasputin-designed crystal and tell us what is ahead for little Barbadoes and your Supreme Leader; a mere grain of political sand in the grand scheme of global things.

Would the new RoB back the USA as it did with England in 1914? Or will it go along, hand-to-mouth, with its new paymaster from the China seas?

4. Give Way 😊
    Noam Chomsky expressing his view to make a difference

5. So David, we in Barbados have another opportunity for learning the lesson you say we need to learn, that is, that mauby is really tasty!

And we also have another opportunity to learn the John A lessons!

Food and fuel! FAST!

Good news…. a teacher told me that she has been assigned to teach agriculture full-time in primary school. The word from “on high” was that they are BEGINNING to understand the importance of agriculture.

Oh shite!

6. @Donna

It always comes back to the quality education both formal and informal our people are being exposed. You would think in the dystopian world we live there should be an existing cultural of being curious about world affairs and the best way a SID and individuals residing therein should be managing its affairs to optimally support a quality living. Instead…

7. @ Miller
    Don’t be surprised if the Chinese use the opportunity to seek revenge against Japan for its Shinto-backed invasion and subsequent humiliation of that Sino country during World War 11 but which now fancies its chances of becoming the planet’s No.1 superpower.
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Perceptive indeed…

But the REAL spin-off to look out for, will be the retribution to be targeted at the state called ‘Israel’ by the many who have been the victims of its bullying with the support of its ally USA…

Bushie’s recommendation at this stage….
    time to PANIC.

8. David,

Bad news… Putin is attempting to pin the Nazi tail on a Ukrainian Jewish leader.

We has better pray he ain’t convert to Islam because that is kinda crazy!

9. @Donna

Putin is from the Cold War era, he never properly digested the breakup of the Soviet Union. People forget Russia has maintained a formidable weapons cache and with China continuing support further escalating has the potential to get very messy For Barbados and our dependent economies.

10. @MillerFebruary 24, 2022 8:44 AM

All right, so a look into my crystal ball: I see the colour red. Red like streams of blood.

I predicted months ago that we would need a fifth IMF programme. That is what will happen. Energy prices will go steeply up. The West will support Ukraine with all military means and accept colossal self-inflicted damage with economic sanctions. This will have a negative impact on purchasing power, so that our tourism industry will suffer a lot.

Should China take advantage of the situation and attack Taiwan, we are threatened with worse than an IMF programme. Our standard of living will drop permanently because the US will push China out of Barbados. There is no way the US will tolerate Barbados becoming a Chinese outpost. I only remind you of Grenada.

The great game has begun. As before in 1939.

Our Supreme Leader should immediately convene the National Security Council, declare a state of defence emergency, put the military on alert, abolish press freedom, postpone new elections indefinitely and reprimand the opposition.

We must now stand firm and defend our democracy.

11. We should not forget separatists control large areas of some of these former Soviet states. This is not a simple issue as some think.

12. There won’t be a “hot” war between the US and Russia otherwise it would be “MAD” (Mutual Assured Destruction) for both countries. Despite the public postering, both countries communicate through other channels other than the highly publicised phone calls and other meetings. Russia has taken back Crimea from Ukraine; it already has parts of Eastern Ukraine where most of the residents are Russian speaking under its control. Putin is upset that Russia’s sphere of influence is diminishing as the Baltic States slipped out of Soviet control and are now members of NATO; other former Soviet Pact countries are joining other alliances e.g., EU, so he is trying to draw a line in the sand and restore some semblance of the USSR.

After Russia annexed Crimea, it was thrown out of he G8, Putin is flexing its muscles and showing the world that it is still an important and powerful nation, perhaps as someone said, “Putin wants to be respected”, maybe the other countries will make a concession and let it back into the club.

From all indications Russia will invade after the Winter Olympics; install a pro Russian Gov’t and the western nations will howl; impose sanctions on Russian oligarchs and some on the country itself but they won’t intervene militarily.

Next hot spot for the US? China vs Taiwan
    I wrote the above on Jan.30 in the previous Ukraine blog, my synopsis is on the ball down to the invasion happening after the Olympics as Putin didn’t want to upstage China which is one of his allies.

13. No need to panic at all! Time to act sensibly.

The old men are dreaming dreams that the world will end at their death.

They are predicting wars that everybody knows would end life on the planet.

I think they cannot bear to think that people will carry on without them.

Steupse!

14. At least Sargeant does not think like an old man.

15. @Sargeant

What will it take to deescalate the conflict? Will the West throw Putin a bone? The longer the issue is drawn out there will still be collateral damage as you have already seen in the financial markets.

16. David,

I am well aware of Putin’s plans. Sargeant is on point.

Our education is indeed deficient and not fit for the purpose.

Many Bajans have long checked out of deep thought on world affairs. I think being a 2×3 rock with no power on the world stage is partly to blame. We think that since there is nothing we can do about it, the best course is to ignore it.

So what we can do to mitigate the effects on our lives becomes a casualty of this disengagement.

Real leaders would have done a better job of keeping the people engaged.

My grandfather and his friends used to discuss these matters in the rumshop.

People were poorer then and yet they took the time to do more than hustle.

17. @ The Bushman:
    But the REAL spin-off to look out for, will be the retribution to be targeted at the state called ‘Israel’ by the many who have been the victims of its bullying with the support of its ally USA…
    (Unquote).

By introducing Israel into the game it sounds as if you are convinced about Doc GP’s prediction of the coming rapture aka Armageddon.

Can’t imagine a conflict between Israel and Iran.

Would certainly lead to WW111 to set back the clock of modern civilization.

Such a forewarning will not sit well with your young lady friend the Dam Donna.

18. Could not have expressed better Donna.

19. But USA or NATO has no moral.authority to condemn Russians invasion of the Ukraine
    Evilness that penetrates the hearts of man would leave a finger print of evil which mankind has to confront
    Both nations can stand side by side as warmongers fighting over self interest in the name of self preservation

20. @ Miller
    Bushie has been resigned to the idiocy that parades as informed comment in recent times… so the expressions of optimism from the usual suspects, and the ‘NCO level’ war analyses from the lower ranks provide comic relief…

The whole dynamics of war is now CIVILIZATIONS away from what existed – even in Afghanistan a few years ago. It is increasingly clear that even very SMALL groups of well organized forces can create HAVOC and force superpower armies into retreat.
    It is why the USA has lost EVERY military encounter since Grenada; and why Russia had to run from Afghanistan…

With a few long range modern missiles and other classified technologies, (provided by allies) Ukraine could cause devastation ANYWHERE in Russia – who will then be forced to respond – perhaps against those who SUPPLY the technology…. How would such an escalation end…?

Bushie repeats…
    The ONLY thing that seems to be making sense in this IDIOTIC world now … is the Bible…. it just keeps being right…
    ..and what it says about all this,…. is that after a period of global CONFUSION (COVID?), and JUST when they were saying ‘Back to NORMAL, “PEACE AND SAFETY at last”…. shall come SUDDEN DESTRUCTION…

Coincidence…perhaps..??!!

Bushie don’t really trust such coincidences…
    But feel free to listen to Donna …
    After all she has a history of successful endeavors that suggest that she knows what she is about… LOL ha ha ha

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

You nailed it Angela..

Miller and Bushman….the only change is the new year…everything is on track to repeat itself…..while different results are expected….the true definition of madness…

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The ONLY thing that seems to be making sense in this IDIOTIC world now … is the Bible…. it just keeps being right…”

well they had no choice but to insert at least 25% truthfulness that our ancestors PREDICTED, or it would be 100% lies, contradictions and deceptions…

23. @David
    What will it take to deescalate the conflict? Will the West throw Putin a bone?

The longer the issue is drawn out there will still be collateral damage as you have already seen in the financial markets.
    ++++++++++
    The West is powerless when it comes to Ukraine it is not going to commit troops to the country (for obvious reasons) and although sanctions have been imposed on Russia those will not work very well without China’s participation and sanctions will have a boomerang effect on the countries that impose them. Gas prices were on the rise before the most recent invasion, and they are expected to go through the roof in the US and other Western countries and these things usually come down to pocketbook issues and the broader economy.

Putin may also be playing the long game remember Trump is on record of both wanting to take the US out of NATO and expressing his admiration of Putin and since Trump is going to run again, if he is elected the problem goes away (Trump stopped shipment of arms to Ukraine because the country refused to confirm his record of the infamous phone call). The West may also be worried about the Baltic States (Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia) they have significant Russian speaking populations what if Putin decides that they need “protection”?

I don’t think the Ukraine was ever close to joining NATO and even if the West had said that Ukraine was never going to be a member Putin would have found some other excuse so I’m not sure that the West can mollify Putin before he reaches his goal of bringing Ukraine back into the Russian orbit.

24. Thanks Sargeant, many pundits forget that it is the West who begged to return to doing business with Russia post Crimea. The domestic markets in these so-called countries are saturated and cannot satisfy their voracious consumption appetite. To this extent the blogmaster agrees there is a symbiosis between Russia and the rest of the world that cannot be ignored.

25. 24 comments and not one about the stock market.

Many assumed that Putin would do as he pleases. I suspect the behavior of the stock market is the major concern for some Americans.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Should China take advantage of the situation and attack Taiwan, ”

there are already CLAIMS news agencies are highlighting this morning about “air defense identification zone” penetration “by 9 Chinese military aircraft…..

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That apparently came from Taiwanese MoD.

to be specific:

“9 PLA aircraft (Y-8 RECCE and J-16*8) entered #Taiwan’s ADIZ on February 24, 2022.”

i don’t speak Taiwanese so this is a translation..,,they are referring people to their website.

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Angela is right, it’s all about SURVIVAL and SELF-PRESERVATION….

.the only thing, among other positives that Black/African people don’t want to copy from those experts at survival…

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@The Blogmaster, your premiss re the US invasion of Iraq as a comparison to the Russian advance into Ukraine is astoundingly amazing given your other well stated historical details of Putin’s USSR “paideia” education and firmly held beliefs. How can one contrived war by a superpower(s) against a minority ethnic autocratic leader in Iraq who had already waged hostilities on neighbors and was ostensibly threatening other attacks be even tangentially compared to this grand assault on a majority elected democratic leader who is simply trying to attend to his nation’s affairs and threatening to attack NO ONE! Seriously!

We can readily accept that the US is no angel of peace offering kumbaya and love but Vlad Putin is absolutely WAY outside norms with this invasion of a peaceful nation… this is on par with any of the historical references of colonial bullying a al the Roman advances the Turks, the Germans of WWII or even Stalin’s initial killing spree into that land … this is Geopolitical redistricting in it’s most draconian guise.

Secondly, are you saying that although guys like me who can recall robust chats with my third form mates on OPEC – which were first showing its massive power back in 70s -, on Cuba and its relations to the same USSR and a host of ex-Bim issues … all de way back over 40 years ago is now LOST on Bajans! Again, REALLY!!!

A people who now send their kids to Disney Land and Europe etc on annual jaunts and who admire their PM all bout de world scene making sweet speeches and thing so; who depend on tourists from all over de world for our main source of sustenance … that we are simply devoid of reason and awareness of the impact such as this war in Ukraine… Well if that’s so then we Bajans get real, real, dotish, fah sure.

That argument makes lil meaningful sense to me, bro.

30. You will be surprised to know how many Barbadians are presently going about their business oblivious to the threat pose by escalating tension in that region. In fact the conflict aside, many are also oblivious how decisions are informed by geopolitics

Xxxxxx

WHAT YOU WANT THEM TO DO SEND IN YOUR MORE THAN CAPABLE BDF.

AIN’T SHIT THEY CAN DO BUT LOOK ON LIKE MOST OF THE WORLD WHILST THIS PLAYS OUT AMONG THE BIG BOYS.

31. Canada will be open to Ukrainian refugees.

There are about 1.5 million living here.

32. @Dee Word

Both scenarios have similarities if judged through the prism of hegemonists making decisions in narrow political interest. It always is about geopolitics, not what is right or wrong. Regarding your last point it is taken as a rhetorical observation.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Here in the peanut gallery we can opine brilliantly (as Sargeant has) or otherwise (as I have) … generally means diddly of course but it’s interesting…

And what I find quite interesting is the well informed comment that “Putin may also be playing the long game remember Trump is on record of both wanting to take the US out of NATO and expressing his admiration of Putin […] if he is elected the problem goes away…”

What I don’t get @Sarge is 1) how would the problem go away and 2 how would that NOT be the start of @doc GP’s new world order/rapture.

There is NO CONCEIVABLE context that 45 can be reelected in 2 years; by which time when Ukraine is a vassal of Putin; that China has reclaimed or reimposed greater will on Taiwan AND the world REMAIN STABLE.

I would be a rich man if I could determine what exactly that INSTABILITY would be but I would say here with some assurance that it would be IMPOSSIBLE for a majority of Americans to re-elect a man that appeases an adversary to their nation; or that the world would sit idly by and accept that.

The mere fact that 45 is even allowed into national political discourse (and himself appeased by ‘sensible’ others) with the fawning BS he is offering is evidence enough that Vlad Putin is achieving the COMPLETE destabilizing of the US: he helped elect the man and as as soon as he was out he launched this attack and unbelievably the same man and his media minions celebrate Putin…. and that is a GOOD thing!

In prior times this would be akin to Chamberlain’s appeasement of Hitler and thus he should be hounded out of politics.. Thus, I must agree with the Bushman : TIME TO PANIC!

And BTW @Theo…what about the stock market. Portfolios in the main have been in the red for the last several months… the market is jittery and will be so for a while …but so what. Some energy stocks will soar; armaments and other producers of the Halliburton type will gain a few points …and bunker making companies should see some renewed business. One imagines!

But either the damn world is on a prayer and a whisper and stocks mean diddly squat or folks will take this massive buying opportunity, sit tight and hopefully enjoy the upside!

I gone. Yes.

34. @Dee Word

Opining serves a person even if as you suggest it will mean didly. One never knows what influence your opinion might have on others and the roles those same people may have influencing others in important places.

35. Will add in a discordant note. The invasion means different thing to different people

Some will link it to biblical prophesy
    Some will dive into their Thesaurus
    Some will see the end of the world
    And for some
    https://www.kiplinger.com/investing/604247/how-could-the-russia-ukraine-conflict-affect-your-investments?

Don’t panic or stress yourself unnecessarily. This too shall pass.

Bye

36. It will pass until end times, however, in the interim we live with collateral damage. Ask the families of all who will die in the ensuing conflict. Don’t forget when USA dropped the atomic bomb on Nagasaki as well. When these war games are played humans are effected.

37. RE Bushie’s recommendation at this stage….
    time to PANIC.
    WHY WOULD ONE PANIC IF THEY REALLY KNOW — UNDERSTAND –AND BELIEVE THE WORD OF GOD. wHY?
    THE FUN IS JUST STARTING UP IT SEEMS

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

One can find Caribbean people just about everywhere,,,hope this one gets help out of a war zone…some serious damage was reportedly already inflicted in certain areas..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/24/one-barbadian-living-in-ukraine-reach-out-to-foreign-affairs-officials-in-bid-to-leave-country/

39. That is one guy who had reasons to panic.

40. MILLER
    I KNOW THAT YOU DO NOT KNOW OR BELIEVE THE WORD….BUT THIS STATEMENT EVINCES THAT YOU HAVE NOT READ OR UNDERSTAND EZEKIEL 38 & 39
    Can’t imagine a conflict between Israel and Iran.
    WHO DO YOU THINK WILL BE INVOLVED IN THIS WAR, SIR
    BUT WE ARE NOT THERE YET
    Would certainly lead to WW111 to set back the clock of modern civilization.
    LOL DO YOU KNOW HOW THAT WAR WILL END, WHO WILL WIN IT
    AND THE clock of modern civilization. WILL NOT BE SET BACK, BUT IT WILL ADVANCED
    YOU NEED SIR TO IMPROVE IN YOUR CHOICE OF READING MATERIAL.
    SERIOUSLY

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, last and then I gone. Megalomaniacal men like Vald Putin and Xi and even the erratic Trump need to be treated with the same bombastic aggressive action which they propagate.

Zelensky is ineffectual in that regard. You are either a lion or a lamb … in warfare Lions roar and Lambs seek shelter.

The moment that Vlad Putin pushed passed that Donbas region beyond the disputed territories I would have let it be known that I would retaliate as best as I could and strike directly into the heart of the Kremlin.

This is NOT about posturing and BS talk… Ukraine is doomed as no Western power will step up and have Putin bomb their capitals… so why is Zelensky playing the lamb here. The best form of defense must be to attack the aggressor’s power base…. yes, it will antagonize the lion but being already in his clutches what else can you do!

I wish Ukraine well but they are doomed. Send a few missiles to Moscow and at Putin to tell him ‘up yours mate’ or send a John Wilkes Booth sniper type… that can work well too!

Lata

42. Dear Mr. Bushman,

Simple soul that Donna is, she decided many years ago that what was described as success by persons of your ilk was not her definition of success at all.

Therefore, Donna did not pursue the things that signify success in anybody’s eyes but her own.

So, in the things that matter to Donna, she has indeed been as successful as she wished to be.

Donna is content with her present life and that is and has always been her definition of success.

Even a fool who has read her contributions to BU would have come to the conclusion that what impresses the world has never impressed Donna. Donna is a simple country girl who loves nature, animals and interacting with ordinary people who do not think themselves more than all others they encounter.

These things I have enjoyed even today.

So the joke, you old fart, is very much on you!

43. Sigh…. I wonder what a track record of success in one or two areas of endeavour has to do with being able to figure out what is going on in Putin’s head.

Or some shite interpretation of the Bible.

Lotta shite!

44. The invasion of Ukraine would be a timely opportunity for our Supreme Leader to bring the much sought-after 80000 New Barbadians into the country. We could take in 80000 grateful, hard-working Ukrainians.

In return, we send 80,000 unemployed and civil servants to Saudi Arabia.

Let’s work together on the great population exchange!

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Don’t know how accurate, but for the war enthusiasts..

“US expects Kiev to fall in 96 hours – Newsweek citing official

A source close to the Ukraine president – who also asked not to be named – told MSNBC that he agreed with the US assessment on the fall of Kiev, believing the capital could be surrounded within 96 hours.

However, the source did not believe Zelensky’s govt would collapse.”

46. TheOGazertsFebruary 24, 2022 11:10 AM

24 comments and not one about the stock market.

Many assumed that Putin would do as he pleases. I suspect the behavior of the stock market is the major concern for some Americans.

Xxxxxx
    Not many here would be interested in the rattle and rolling of the stock market
    The end time for that is too on its way
    COVID has already sent that message
    Lo behold and it was not even a war that sent the stock market on.a nose dive

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

There is a whole lot of information surrounding this whole thing, but politics, geo or otherwise is just not my bag, so won’t put much time into any of it..especially when we will get replays here and there over the coming years, just as we have from as far back as i can remember in the 60s.. ..nothing new, same old..

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/other/government-fights-back-against-china-s-attempt-to-buy-up-commonwealth/ar-AAUdwgG?ocid=msedgntp

Now i see why minorities are acting like they are the ones in charge of reparations for Afrikan descents, OR …pretending they are responsible for Europe and UK taking a second look at compensation

..these LIARS, FRAUDS and their black face ENABLERS don’t know when to STOP…all the crooks are already lining up to take credit and/or TIEF IT…….this latest reaction is because of China’s aggressive actions…STOP LYING….

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

barbadostoday has an article and i just knew something was off about the storyline..

“The Telegraph understands that the Foreign Office’s upcoming Development Strategy, expected in the next month, will focus on providing investment and projects in countries where China is providing cheap infrastructure.

The move to pull the rug out from underneath China and authoritarian regimes providing infrastructure to other countries is thought to allow the UK to reshape its place on the world stage.

The Government will target Commonwealth and former Commonwealth countries in Southeast Asia and the Caribbean which have become increasingly dependent on China, which has invested £685 billion across 42 Commonwealth countries since 2005.

A government source said: “Liz [Truss, the Foreign Secretary] believes the more you boost development, the more you boost trade and investment, the more you bring countries into the UK and democratic sphere of influence.”

50. Would never have happened with Trump!!

https://imgur.com/n8PelkP