Less than one month after the Phillip J. Pierre’s St. Lucia Labour Party (SLP) won the government in St. Lucia from Allen Chastanet’s United Workers Party (UWP) the Deputy Governor General read the following in the Throne Speech:-
My Government in recognition of the widespread, unprecedented reports of alleged corruption during the term of the last administration will appoint a special prosecutor to investigate allegations of corruption and Government. This appointment is expected to be completed soon. My Government will strengthen the integrity commission to return our country to a system that respects our democratic norms and the rights of the people. My Government will reactivate the bipartisan parliamentary committee to review Justice Suzie d’Auvergne Constitution report and the parliamentary recommendations, with a view to adopting final recommendations for implementation.
Extract from Throne Speech (St. Lucia)
The appointment of a special prosecutor to investigate charges of corruption by the former Chastanet government delivered on a key campaign promise by the SLP. In less than one month the SLP has started the ball rolling in a tangibly and visible manner. Time will tell if the special prosecutor will be able to discover evidence of the corruption hinted on the campaign platform.

The decision taken by the SLP government in St. Lucia contrast starkly to what occurred in Barbados post 2018 general elections. The Mia Mottley led government after three years in office has made no tangible or visible attempt to deliver on a similar promise made on 2018 general election campaign to prosecute corruption. Thousands of Barbadians were ‘mamaguyed’ into a belief that there was a mountain of evidence safely stored in the RED BAG by then Opposition Leader Mia Mottley. After three years it is safe to say Barbadians were given a ‘big rock’, the RED BAG was a prop in a well designed melodrama called – Geh Muh de Vote and Watch Muh.
Some will suggest former minister Donville Inniss suffered the ignominy of being the first minister in a Barbados Cabinet to be incarcerated, therefore the incumbent government must receive some credit? The irony is that Inniss was incarcerated in the USA because of a transaction that originated in Barbados. It was reported in the case notes local authorities cooperated with US law agencies, however, to date no charge has been made against Inniss by local authorities. The electorate geh dem de vote and watching dem like a hawk with 2023 quickly approaching.
All manner of reasons have been shared with the public by Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Attorney General Dale Marshall why they have been unable to deliver on expansive promises about corruption made in 2018. One does not have to do scientific polling to deduce that the 30-0 mandate the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) received was because a large segment of the electorate bought into the promise that corrupt behaviour would have been exposed and actors held accountable by this government. Three years later it is fair to surmise we are having more of the same.
The government will proffer that it has had to grapple with an economy in unprecedented decline, followed by the pandemic made worse by ash fall from La Soufriere- the result of which the economy loss 2 million dollars in economic activity. A reasonable question must be asked and answered – why has St. Lucia been able to initiate a formal process to investigate corruption suspected of the Chastanet government in less than one month?
POLL: Millions lost, Government seeking to ‘purge’ corruption
Zazeannah Walker October 14, 2018 06:33 PM ET
Attorney General Dale Marshall and Prime Minister Mia Mottley spoke in a joint address to the nation this evening.
The Government of Barbados is meticulously gathering information to “purge” the island from the “stain of corruption”.
Word of this comes from Attorney General Dale Marshall, who joined Prime Minister Mia Mottley in an address to the nation made this evening at her official residence, Ilaro Court.
The Attorney General said that while the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was not totally aware of the levels of corruption in the island while in opposition, they have begun to uncover “startling” information:
“It was difficult for us to make a clear assessment being in opposition at that time… We’re gone through file after file and have found a number of startling things.”
Giving a range of examples of such findings, he condemned the previous Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government for the lost of “many millions of dollars because of corruption. Using the case of a million dollar invoice which was settled in one day, which fell on the eve of the general election, he asserted that the previous administration only sought to cater to a “chosen few”:
“In many instances, contracts were awarded without any tender… There was another glaring set of circumstances and it related to the matter of exorbitant professional fees and legal fees which could not be justified by any reasonable measure…
“It was clear to us that this was all part and parcel of a whole attitude where Government was there not to benefit large numbers of Barbadians, but a chosen few.”
He stressed that a variety of efforts are being utilized to address this issue, including allowing persons to provide whistleblowing information.
“The Prime Minister has already stated that we are going to give Barbadians the opportunity to come forward,” he said while adding that they want people to “come forward, speak to the authorities, admit their part in the misdeeds and hopefully be able to purge themselves from the stain of corruption.”
Related Article
By Kerri Gooding
While Prime Minster Mottley spoke to a variety of topics, she also added her voice on the mismanagement of funds, stressing that Barbadian administrations before 2007 placed great emphasis on being “fiscally discipline”:
“Even in those early days we never had governments that spent more than they earn… and never more than 20 million.”
She went on to reinforced her government’s position on the issue by urging Barbadians to play their part in ridding the island of corruption:
“We will need to be disciplined, we will need to engage in sacrifice… because corruption is a cancer that literally takes away money and resources, that takes away from spend on those people who actually need it.”
Well Well
It took u almost three years to openly state that the country was pelted a big rock by Mia Mottley
Oh and made I add not one big rock but several
Just look at the state of the economy and the biggest joke no passage of what is yet to be Integrity legislation
Meanwhile Mia gallivants smiles and all on magazine covers surrounded by bananas
You mek me laff. You frequently refer to speaking the “truth” and “facts”.
Do you know the definition of a banana 🍌 Republic?
Barbados has always had 50%, an economy dependant upon one or two economic sectors. The other half is a “shady government”.
Imagine for 15 years now, and FOUR administrations of the GoB, the largest public wealth fund, the NIS, has been unable to provide its citizens with an annual report. And we know from Actuarial audits all is not well. Recently it was Clearwater, another debacle without publicly available reporting.
We also had Clico in the private sector. And a former GoB Minister jailed in a foreign country for corruption, while the local authorities haven’t given the same Minister a local court to clear his good name. Nor has any local case been brought against the reported bribers.
Barbados has a Shady Government and an overall shady economy. By definition it is a Banana Republic. So posing with a hand is truth?
It maybe hurtful, but it’s true. We can speak to all the laws and regulations and for how many years we may have been a solid model, but they are now we’ll behind us. And yes there are worse. And yes corruption exists everywhere.
How can you get vex with truth? Maybe the hand should have been blank surrounded by a dotted line?
@No
Thanks for the enlightment
Never knew Barbados was a banana republic
WURA!
BLOGMASTER????
Everybody….
Sing de chorus!
🎵
So we all must agree
A big rock in a red bag dey pelt at we
Baje leaders got three degrees in
Bigrockology!🎶
“Apologies to The Merrymen.”
I see de big rock party is catching on!
P.S. This particular big rock is not one that a Dem would be lamenting, Angela Cox.
I feel a medley coming!
🎵After de ball was over
Mia put down her red bag….
I leave the rest to William Skinner.
We often ‘talk’ about the similarities of ‘political duopoly’ on BU and then act surprised when they don’t fulfill their promises to the electorate…….. or go to any length or use any means necessary to protect each other.
Recall prior and during the 2007-2008 general election campaign, David Thompson and the DEMS went the length and breadth of Barbados accusing the BEES of corruption. It was said to be so ‘wide scaled,’ that they dedicated four (4) pages of their 2008 election manifesto to ‘Good Governance.’
Thompson and the DLP promised, if elected, there would be forensic audits, accountability and recovery of the millions of dollars stolen from the Treasury.
Remember the so called ‘Hardwood Housing scandal’ and the promise of a forensic audit?
After winning the election, an agitated Thompson appeared in the media accompanied by newly appointed Attorney General, Freundel Stuart, waving papers, while talking about the “mess” they ‘inherited.’
Sounds FAMILIAR???? Okay, think about a press conference after the general election, but this time, replace David and Freundel with Mia and Dale.
I’m sure you recall in September 2008, during his address to the Canadian branch of the DLP, Thompson said, “week after week in Cabinet, we unearth horror stories of how millions and millions of dollars were spent in the most bizarre of circumstances,”……….. “that could otherwise have gone into social, infrastructural and economic development policies and projects for the benefit of Barbadians.”
And, was convinced the money was ‘stashed in foreign bank accounts.’ “It is somewhere hidden and I intend to find some, if not all, of it,” Thompson said.
In January 2009, Thompson was interviewed by the media. BU was of the opinion “Barbadians may well feel satisfied that compared to previous governments the Prime Minister has been accessible to the Barbados media.”
Interestingly, BU has also offered a similar opinion of Mia Mottley as well.
When asked about government’s progress in investigating corruption and Hardwood Housing, Thompson said he was not the police and was not in a position to prosecute matters.
The reason I ‘went back’ was to illustrate there aren’t any political, ideological or philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.
Did you, in all honesty, actually believed the current Mia Mottley administration would’ve facilitated investigating claims of corruption that allegedly occurred under the previous DLP administration?
If you did, then, it only goes to show that we discuss the ‘duopoly’ when it is politically convenient to to do.
I, on the other hand, DID NOT. As the old saying goes, ‘ONE GOOD TURN DESERVES ANOTHER.’
Imagine for 15 years now, and FOUR administrations of the GoB, the largest public wealth fund, the NIS, has been unable to provide its citizens with an annual report. And we know from Actuarial audits all is not well. Recently it was Clearwater, another debacle without publicly available reporting.
We also had Clico in the private sector. And a former GoB Minister jailed in a foreign country for corruption, while the local authorities haven’t given the same Minister a local court to clear his good name. Nor has any local case been brought against the reported bribers. (Unquote).
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
How about the management of the many State-owned enterprises (SOEs) who break the LAW with impunity every financial reporting year?
Barbados may not yet be a “Republic” but it is clearly slipping on a load of banana skins in achieving such a state of national mismanagement.
The ongoing fiasco regarding the failure of the financial reporting process at the NIS only gives some credence to the view expressed by a former blogger that Barbados is on the road to financial failure and the poor workers, in the end, will be left holding a bag full of tears.
There must be more in the NIS mortar than just the technical pestle of financial incompetence.
Who or where are the technocrats responsible for the current NIS debacle?
Where is the ROI from the billions of taxpayers’ hard-earned money spent to train the many students in management and accounting at the UWI over the many years?
I have long heard that the political shenanigans in Barbados are merely a show put on for the masses, particularly the yardfowls who like cockfights.
And the reality is that the leaders of the Dems and the Bees are political classmates!
@ Donna August 20, 2021 8:17 AM
Nice little ditty there, Donna!
You should copyright it for the voters for next year’s general elections.
You need to get our red “John 2” to join the choir and chime in.
Wonder what WURA’s nemesis “Enuff” has to say about your adapted song which proves the only difference between the Bees and the Dees is one of ‘deceiving’ colour!
William Skinner has been right all along in exposing the duopoly bag of hypocrisy marked BDLP.
@Artax
We have to keep trying until we trigger the tipping point.
The process of bringing the people along requires patience. You will recall there was a time BU was criticized for its many salvos launched at the judiciary, now it is an everyday occurrence.
The tipping point can only come when the masses jump on the scale and outweigh the yardfowls.
Miller,
Wuh copyright wuh! The melody belongs to The Merrymen. Also, I have merely tweeked their lyrics.
But we the members of the People”s Big Rock Party will be happy to sing it for the next election if permission is granted.
We are an equal opportunity party and therefore we invite all people who have been hit by the political big rock to tell their tale in song.
We could kill two birds with one stone!
Please note that we are not glamourising, inciting or even promoting violence. We are speaking figuratively.
“WURA!
BLOGMASTER????
Everybody….
Sing de chorus!
🎵
So we all must agree
A big rock in a red bag dey pelt at we
Baje leaders got three degrees in
Bigrockology!🎶
“Apologies to The Merrymen.”
I see de big rock party is catching on!
P.S. This particular big rock is not one that a Dem would be lamenting, Angela Cox.
I feel a medley coming!
🎵After de ball was over
Mia put down her red bag….
I leave the rest to William Skinner.”
You are more than capable , you really don’t need me on this one.
@ all
These two parties will continue on a path that has been very rewarding for them. Unfortunately BU has been a perfect microcosm of the Duopoly.
Entering public life without any ideological or philosophical moorings , is a recipe for socio economic retardation. And that’s what we have in the BLPDLP. And this reality has been permanently exposed by COVID.
In tines of national distress, the main purpose of leadership should be inspirational. We don’t have that now from any sector, political or otherwise. In terms of political, I mean both parties.
The main purpose of national discourse should be to enlighten. Playing” gotcha” becomes boring and nonproductive.
As a teenager, I sat on a variety store bench and was educated about politics. One of my best friends father, was involved in the 1937 riots. He directed me to the old newspapers in the reference room of the public library. I read it; he lived it. He never saw a class room after seventh standard.
Later on I was influenced by a number of black nationalists. I know at least two contributors to BU , who were exposed to the same persons.
Nothing happening in Bim now surprises me. It’s all the same : Garbage in garbage out.
What is the ideology or the philosophy of the current BLP or DLP ? Where is the national vision for the next 25 years ?
What is the real role of a university in the country ?
Who will inspire us to be true masters of our fate ?
@Donna
I might be tempted to go down the road of”After de bag was opened, Mia let out a boo-hoo…”
Sure the resident poet TheO will be along soon enough
Yep…DBLP definitely landed themselves on the WRONG side of history…that will be their legacy…..one of failures due to political weakness and corruption.
The dirty laundry in the Red bag has to be forensically examined to remove any BLPDLP cross contamination.
Leadership is at an all time low in Barbados. Pedigree politics and another generation of weak leaders do not promise much better.
The NUPW has a new president. We will see where she stands. We already know where Mary and Pedro stand. And we know that Toni sits on a red backbench nowadays. Caswell’s time in the Senate is winding down.
CTUSAB is a poor excuse for a congress. They depend on government for an office and funding. And you can’t teach new tricks to old dogs anyhow.
Workers are looking at a rough time ahead. I have listened to many unionists in my time. The good ones were easy to spot. They stood on their own feet. They were not afraid to speak but also make sense of the good, the and the ugly around them. They knew when to step back and when to rush in.
Now we have a lot of programmed heads running unions on puppet strings. So their agenda isn’t about workers.
I swear workers are being treated like sheep. Sheep wake up.
Wake up, Barbados. Open your eyes and get out of the political bed. It is only good for bed sores.
Northern Observer,
I was keeping the fake Mary after the big bash theme of the original.
But finish the verse and we’ll see how it goes!
William Skinner,
The people are on the march! They need marching music.
Join us for the big Integrity in Public Life Parade! We demand accountability!
🎵 After the votes were counted
Mia put down her red bag
She tore up the manifesto….
Donna the manifesto was not torn up
It was replaced with the Covenant of Hope
No government Minister has never been locked up
To be appointed to Cabinet is considered dope
As always, our Supreme Leader is absolutely right. Didn’t Tron already call for a purge of DLP sympathizers from the civil service in May 2018? Our government should take Stalin as a model and televise the trials of DLP grandees.
We need a genuine anti-corruption law that also orders the death penalty in extreme cases. Unfortunately, there are too many unpatriotic politicians in the Senate, like the outspoken senator, who oppose such legislation.
The bag was full of nothing but hot air
Open the bag and evidence just disappear
Every party willing to fight corruption
But only when they are in opposition
Voters please ignore the “manifesta”
Just a list of the lies that they telling ya
Forget about Ali Baba and his forty thieves
Focus on Mia and her dozens of MPs
Outstretch hands waiting on the IMF
Whilst they spend the “four seasons” planning theft
Out comes the scholars with nice sounding descriptions
But to the unlettered it smells of sheer corruption
Year after year they play the same game
And we still here deciding who is to blame
Some getting excited about a picture of a banana
Saying all Mia lacking is a pirate’s bandana
Some talking of a lost decade
And complaining about some throwing shade
Two sides conspiring in hypocrisy
And the contents of the red bag still a mystery
Forgive me. I lost my muse.
Da one like um is a chant! Nuh problem! We could ride dah riddim too! As my Rasta cousin says, “Dah easy.”
I like Lil Rick, versatile!
🎵She tore up the manifesto
Pelt it way like a dirty rag
Den she took up the Covenant
And fooled us that we should hope…..
Theo…got a magazine coming out shortly, need your permission to use that poem, there is a section for poems….Same request to Northern and William Skinner..for their contributions this morning.
“The bag was full of nothing but hot air
Open the bag and evidence just disappear
Every party willing to fight corruption
But only when they are in opposition
Voters please ignore the “manifesta”
Just a list of the lies that they telling ya
Forget about Ali Baba and his forty thieves
Focus on Mia and her dozens of MPs
Outstretch hands waiting on the IMF
Whilst they spend the “four seasons” planning theft
Out comes the scholars with nice sounding descriptions
But to the unlettered it smells of sheer corruption
Year after year they play the same game
And we still here deciding who is to blame
Some getting excited about a picture of a banana
Saying all Mia lacking is a pirate’s bandana
Some talking of a lost decade
And complaining about some throwing shade
Two sides conspiring in hypocrisy
And the contents of the red bag still a mystery”
Theo 2021.
sorry Theo…it’s for the website, of course Blogmaster will get the credit..with your name as above.
DDD
LEFF OUT DEPOE-TREE YOU IN NO POE-ET
GUH BACK IN DE GARDEN
YUH LOST YOU 2LBS FUH DE WEEK YET?
Same request for Donna.
What poetry what!
I am tweeking some lyrics to a song written and composed by The Merrymen. Therefore it is artificial and not natural to me.
This is not how I write my poetry. You must not take everything so seriously. This is not NIFCA.
WURA,
You gotta ask de Merrymen!
Flooding in Paynes Bay. Watching a webcam from Barbados.org
Hope Mr. Alden Blackman not getting water in his house.
And I cannot go into the garden as it is raining cats and dogs out there.
I already have two kittens and a puppy who decided to move in.
Haven’t weighed myself. I am easing into the diet slowly. Hardly any sugar, only one potato, no bread at all, more vegetables and I’m not avoiding all the fat. Increased activity. Feeling better already. That tells me more than any scale could. I will get into the actual keto diet in a bit.
You obviously are not seeing the creativity…i will work it out for, ya will like it.
..who is NIFCA..sarcasm….
WURA,
That was meant for GP.
This too is for GP
Parody music, or musical parody, involves changing or copying existing musical ideas, and/or lyrics, or copying the particular style of a composer or performer, or even a general style of music. Although the intention of a musical parody may be humour, it is the re-use of music that is the original defining feature.
@ WURA
Permission granted. Hope all goes well with your efforts.
Here’s a parody song for GP!
https://youtu.be/VG1eF-O2go4
DDD
RE This is not how I write my poetry. You must not take everything so seriously. This is not NIFCA.
NOT TAKING ANYTHING SERIOUSLY
JUST PULLING AT YOUR LEGS TO GET THEM OUT OF THE LEGGINS YOU WALKING BOUT IN LOL
RE I am easing into the diet slowly. Hardly any sugar, only one potato, no bread at all, more vegetables OK
and I’m not avoiding all the fat.
OK SOME EXPERTS SAY YOU HAVE TO EAT FAT TO LOSE FAT SINCE BURNING FATS RESULTS IN ACETYL COA UNITS WHICH ARE NEEDED TO MAKE KETONES —–ONCE YOU DECREASE YOUR CARBS
YOU NEED A LITTLE FAT TO MAKE YOUR ACETYL CO A
SEEMS SIMPLE SWEET CARBS IS THE PROBLEM
Increased activity. Feeling better already. That tells me more than any scale could. I will get into the actual keto diet in a bit.
YOU SEEM TO BE IN A BIT ALREADY.
YOU WILL KNOW
YOU WILL FEEL THE ACETONE IN YOUR MOUTH….GET SOME NON SUGARY CHEWING GUM FOR THAT
WHEN YOU GET INTO KETOSIS —–ACETONE WILL BE ONE OF THE KETONES YOU WILL MAKE
BUT SINCE BODY DONT USE IT…….YOU BREATHE IT OUT——SO IF YOUR MOUTH FEEL A BIT FUNNY IT COULD BE THAT..LOL
LAST YEAR I THOUGHT IT WAS THAT………BUT IT WAS COVID LOL LOL
🎵 After the vote was over
Mia put down her red bag
She tore up her manifesto
And she took up another gag
Then she called up de Stinkliar
And put him on committee….
“Permission granted. Hope all goes well with your efforts.”
going great, effort started a long time ago and now bearing fruit.
perseverance….some can learn a thing or two from that, but it’s too late now, they had 55 years…imagine that, all that time wasted…and let’s not mention the billions and billions of dollars gone into thin air.
So I would imagine it only fair to assume that this government will not even consider doing business with any of these companies or individuals involved in such unsavoury acts! I mean surely the ones condemned as corrupt can not be seen now as being seated at the head table in receipt of further largesse.
🎵 Then she called up the Stinkliar
The same one who sank the boat
Oh, what has become of the red bag
After the vote?
So….
🎵After the vote was over
Mia put down her red bag
She tore up her manifesto
And she took up another gag
Then she called up the Stinkliar
The captain who sank the boat
Oh, what has become of the red bag
After the vote?🎶
Forward march!
The Integrity in Public Life Parade is ready for de road! Come join the People’s Big Rock Party as we seek to investigate The Amazing Disappearance of the Flaming Red Bag and other such mysteries. Come dressed as your least favourite political character and be ready to play de mas!
Bring yuh Bag O’ Riddles an’ come!
It took a few stabs Donna, but that flows quite well.
@JohnA
You didn’t read the piece in BT supporting Donville. Contributions to persons elected or seeking election is a wide open, non regulated activity in Bim. What is unsavory?
NO,
Yes, it exactly matches the flow of the original song. The slightest deviation and it just doesn’t work.
@ Northern
I know poor Donville get hold and loss way for $36k USD. I mean the lesson there is if you going tied then tief big! Lol
No what I speaking about I going use a fictional example that could never happen bout here to explain hypothetically of course.
So let we say pun an island somewhere called Tiefville, a politician leading up to elections was pun a platform every night tearing another hole in a person tail, saying how dem get nuff work in the last regime by means of questionable methods. Well I would then hate to see the said same person wrapup in the new leaders arms like brothers in de cradle. I mean what could make he so clean and pristine now if that was to happen, he find Jesus and seek forgiveness or what?
All i saying is thank God I live here on the rock where nothing so could happen cause we people got a conscience and integrity, not like them rats on Tiefville!
Anyhow when we turn republic nothing so could happen so all will be well.
https://twitter.com/_tertiumquid/status/1428903924715724808
Mia needs to keep Africa out of her mouth until she SETUPS systems that ENSURE African DESCENDANTS in Barbados have ALL RIGHT OF WAY and INROADS to THEIR CONTINENT…
OUR CONTINENT will not be used for small island nasty colonial politics and dirty games…..eg the THUG IN ST. VINCENT…and yall wicked plans with corrupt CRIMINAL minorities.
Africa is WATCHING…welcome to the REAL WORLD OF THE NEW BLACK WORLD ORDER….sans Pope White Dress.
Tasker has to report THREE times per week and is on a daily curfew?
How archaic is this?
@NO
It gives an insight into the mind of the magistrate?
“I surely thought, as we move forward, it would have been now, having gotten them (written submissions) today, how long the court would take to consider these things and make a determination.
“I am now at a loss to believe we would be canvassing issues now that come out of these written submissions that came out of these oral submissions. I really thought we would have gotten past this by now, having started this matter last year,” Seale said, before adding he was “in the court’s hands”.
that’s the 40 YEAR OLD TREND…after written submissions…NOTHING…and that can last for years and years and NEVER end..
the CCJ keeps complaining and the SUPREME COURT KEEPS IGNORING…
When DLP members met yesterday to vote, angry citizens would have loved to drive up with a tanker full of slurry to spray them with shit – so they could smell for themselves what their grandees have done to the South Coast.
Oh dear! Mia hit the “big time” British journalist fuh six! Wuh the impression that was given by a BU Bajan Brit was that it was the other way around.
These fake narratives the white man spins need to be exposed.
I only found out during the Trump years the extent of US debt to China.
Next fake narrative is money laundering. More escapes there than here.
Down here to get even a damn health insurance policy you need two forms of ID. So you have to spend money on a passport or a driver’s licence.
How much money can one launder through a health insurance policy? How much money WOULD one launder through a health insurance policy that only pays big if one gets really ill.
Cud dear it ain’t fair that Donville up there in an orange jump suit and he don’t have a friendly face to talk to about Bim. Wunna could at least send up Tasker so they could sit and chat about the good old days for the next few years!
Guy Fawkes?
BBC Anchor Zeinab Badawi was carved a brand new ASS on July 25, 2021 de new official Guy Fawkes day.
As BDS Prime Minister proceeded cogently, The task was witnessed by the world @ Large.
I approve. lol
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/21/governor-general-dame-sandra-mason-to-become-first-president-of-barbados/
A slick political move by the PM to offer to nominate the DLP appointed GG Sandra Mason.
It is a simple courtesy and reflects a smooth transition to republic status.
Sir John Snow was Governor and he became our first Governor General.
Nothing politically “ slick “ here. This was expected .
@William
The government could have nominated another, their man or woman. By transitioning Mason the government has effectively muted some of the opposition criticism regarding pace of transition to republic.
I expected nothing else. A good move to calm fears and also to avoid the appearance of denigrating the lady.
It suggests to those who were expecting major changes that the roles will not be changed significantly.
They don’t mind the country being divided SOCIALLY and FINANCIALLY for 55 YEARS, post-emancipation, but got a problem with it being divided MEDICALLY…
no one gives a shit about the social partnership of parasites and CROOKS…everyone should STOP WORKING WITH OR FOR THEM…
corrupt governments will NOT be making corrupt decisions for intelligent Black people anymore..people will decide if they want to be vaccinated or not given that BOTH HAVE HIGH RISKS.
In one breath you berate the fact that polarization is killing the country. In another, you have to “ could have” this and that to credit the PM with being “politically slick.”
Rather than accept that on this occasion the PM made a decision that will be regarded as the correct thing to do.
As a firm supporter of the country becoming a Republic, I can assure you that those who oppose it will not be silenced by this move.
Not one single opponent of becoming a republic has sought to draw Dame Sandra into the raging debate.
Just admit that you like others believe Mottley is a political McGuffie but so was Barrow and Arthur. And after all of that hero worship BS , the question remains: Where is the country to day?
Even those opposed to becoming a republic will welcome President Mason because as the PM correctly stated she is highly commended for the way she has thus far executed her duties as GG.
Sometimes we just spit in the air and then let it drop on our faces.
Nobody plants okra and reap corn. Stop stroking the fire of polarization while pretending you want to put it !
Should read : “ while pretending you want to put it out ! “
@Wlliam
As usual you have problems with conflating issues. What does being slick have to do with polarization? She made a decision that is correct but there is the political considerations that must fact given the goal of a politician/political party.
@WS
“By transitioning Mason the government has effectively muted some of the opposition criticism regarding pace of transition to republic.”
This was a slick move. To do otherwise would have been adding coals to a lit fire. Here she has closed off one line of attack and dare I say “added some legitimacy” to a process that was being questioned.
A decision. Without legalization
A dececision which employers can toss and turn for their best interest
Mia states that COVID must not divide the country
Well her decision yesterday did not help to heal the division
MIA tossed the whole bag of vaccine back into the public hand as an escape valve and one which requires meaningful legislation to put the issue at rest
The government cannot dictate to businesses how to proceed. Those businesses that want to proceed with such a policy open themselves to facing a legal challenge. The governments interest is public sector employees.
“Fowl slave”…………
The PM made the announcement YESTERDAY……….. Saturday.
How do you know or who told you there won’t be any legislation?
ArtaxAugust 22, 2021 7:17 AM
“Fowl slave”…………
The PM made the announcement YESTERDAY……….. Saturday.
How do you know or who told you there won’t be any legislation?
Xxxxxxx
Firstly she made a comment that cabinet and her agreed to No mandatory vaccine
One would have expected that to underscore that statement she would have made a comment which as to strengthen the issue as to having legislation
She did not
Therfore my comment remains and which u cannot refute or call a lie
DavidAugust 22, 2021 7:16 AM
The government cannot dictate to businesses how to proceed. Those businesses that want to proceed with such a policy open themselves to facing a legal challenge. The governments interest is public sector employees.
Xxccccc
Says who
On COVID issues of health this govt has unilateral decision
This one and important issue govt can implement legislation
Mottley statement yesterday does not have the legal strength necessary to stop employers from demanding the employee from taking the vaccine
Mia took a political football and threw it back into the people laps
No it does not.
Mia does realize that in the interview with the BBC presenter shows hypocrisy at its most ugly….there is NO RESPECT for the BLACK/AFRICAN descendants coming from the haunted parliament…and nothing but minority rule, apartheid, racism, disenfranchisement, and oppression….which makes the Black majority 2nd class citizens in THEIR COUNTRY built by them and their ANCESTORS……that is NEVER GOING AWAY as long as it’s MAINTAINED with money generated by the African descended majority…
am now watching the WHOLE INTERVIEW..
Jamaica to roll out digital currency
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/22/jamaica-roll-digital-currency/
Lawd….it took 5 years but damn they got them. The Panama Papers stars..
https://www.cbc.ca/news/real-estate-fractional-investing-1.6148981
For those who are obsessed with and impressed by 99c dime store titles like president and colonial agent banners worn by those who are, have been for 55 years and ALWAYS WILL BE subordinate to others…..not my style.
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/22/de-peiza-no-power-constitution/
Excellent.
It’s good to see Bajans speaking up. We are moving from the point of a trickle of information and everybody knowing a rumor, to those on the battlefield speaking up and confirming the presence of corruption.
Notice that the information on politicians is skimpy to too general. We have not found the courage to cross that bridge.
We are getting somewhere, but we have to move past the point where clients a separated for decades and having show trials to clawing back money and giving lawyers serious jail time.
Bankers, politicians, lawyers …..
We are getting somewhere, but we have to move past the point where clients are separated from their money for decades and having show trials to actively clawing back the clients monies and giving their lawyers serious jail time.
Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for mother Africa. However, let us not forget the reason we exist outside of the continent of Africa. It is due to the duplicity of our own brothers and sisters on that continent. Africa is embedded with their own versions of the notorious Drax’s family having accumulated over the centuries extraordinary generational wealth.
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-58291132
TLSN…life is funny, BECAUSE OF and given those 400 year old chain of events…we are now actually 60 YEARS AHEAD of the continent in terms of knowledge etc
….pay back is quite the bitch….and now they need us, beause of WHO they SOLD/BOUGHT/KIDNAPPED..
BECAUSE of WHO they SOLD/BOUGHT/KIDNAPPED..
everyone needs to do their own research on their African origins..
in saying that, the continent IS OURS through glorious ancesty…and i will defend it TO THE END from minority thieves, the sellouts/TRAITOR who are their fellow criminals in parliaments on blighted Caribbean islands…..
we are THE CHOSEN…
the more you dig, the more interesting it gets..
giving out tips today…
just remember these three POWERFUL ANCESTRIES:
KUSH, KEMET & TIMBUKTU…
remember the world criminals tried to steal the Timbuktu name, patented it and had to return it recently….and others over the decades tried to steal our CHOSEN designation to label their fraud selves……..pay attention…
Wuh rumour wuh! Long time we have known that bankers sell repossessed cars and houses foreclosed upon to their friends, often well below the market price. They recover their funds and most likely split the difference with the buyer while the defaulter gets zilch.
information is very easy to find….do some research and forget the 2-bit political joke that the island’s ambience has become..
https://youtu.be/b86XE3TbXg0?t=2
Everyone’s favorite tool these days…climate change…let’s see what comes out of this.
https://youtu.be/XT0-6Fi8jHU?t=4
Why don’t the local GPs in Barbados have access to the vaccines…not everyone wants to face these centers that some say are disorganized…some people are way more comfortable in their doctor’s office..
.long Covid is ugly business..
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/23/young-people-britain-warn-long-covid-19/
Ah guess the police in the region no longer know the difference between MILK and COCAINE….there is a test the man in the street uses to differentiate, so the police station has none…lol
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/23/drug-charges-dropped-woman-heading-barbados/
St. Philip Polyclinic is very organised.
Let us get as aggressive with transition to renewable energy to compare with republic?
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/24/student-fighting-against-difficult-odds/
these are the kind of people who impress me, those who survived the structure of ignorance and still stand strong and motivated.
@ David,
Take a look at this bar chart. Barbados continues to punch above its weight.
https://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/
@TLSN
You cannot expect to live in a welfare state and deny the government access to generating revenue in various forms. Additionally governments apply tax regimes based on a particular economic approach, for example in Barbados road tax was removed and is now applied at the pump, several Caribbean countries decided to join petrocaribe. That said the government of Barbados will have to revisit fuel prices especially diesel that is a significant input material for business.
Undeniably political FRAUD dressed up as republic…that can only fool the soft in the head and gullible.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/24/republicanism-in-the-dialectic-of-bajan-history/