The following is the latest IMF Update – Blogmaster

May 7, 2021 End-of-Mission press releases include statements of IMF staff teams that convey preliminary findings after a visit to a country. The views expressed in this statement are those of the IMF staff and do not necessarily represent the views of the IMF’s Executive Board. Based on the preliminary findings of this mission, staff will prepare a report that, subject to management approval, will be presented to the IMF’s Executive Board for discussion and decision.

• IMF team reaches a staff level agreement with the Barbadian authorities on the fifth review of Barbados’ Economic Recovery and Transformation program (BERT) supported by the Extended Fund Facility.
  • In this very challenging environment, Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program.

Washington, DC: At the request of the Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm conducted a virtual mission between May 3-7, 2021 to discuss implementation of Barbados’ Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) plan, supported by the IMF under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF). To summarize the mission’s findings, Mr. van Selm made the following statement:

“Following productive discussions, the IMF team and the Barbadian authorities reached staff-level agreement on the completion of the fifth review under the EFF arrangement (Press Release 18/370). The agreement is subject to approval by the IMF Executive Board, which is expected to consider the review in June. Upon completion of the review, SDR 17 million (or about US$24 million) will be made available to Barbados.

“Barbados’ economy remains severely depressed by the ongoing global pandemic. Tourism came to a virtual standstill from April 2020 onwards and remains at a fraction of normal levels. Economic growth for 2021 is premised on a modest recovery of tourism in the second half of 2021. Risks remain elevated, including in light of the impact of recent volcanic activity in neighboring St Vincent. 

“In this very challenging environment, Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program. A new central bank law was adopted by parliament in December 2020—a critical safeguard for continued prudent macroeconomic policy. International reserves, which reached a low of US$220 million (5-6 weeks of import coverage) in May 2018, are now at a comfortable level of US$1.3 billion. Quantitative targets for end-March under the EFF were met except for the performance criterion on central government transfers and grants to public institutions, which was exceeded owing to measures to address the COVID-19 health crisis (including the vaccination program executed by the national hospital).

“The Government of Barbados is targeting a zero percent of GDP primary balance for FY2021/22 (compared to a deficit of 1 percent of GDP in FY2020/21). This fiscal stance reflects a projected modest recovery in tourism and facilitates COVID-related emergency outlays on health facilities, medical supplies, and income support to the most vulnerable. The authorities’ long-term debt target of 60 percent of GDP will be pushed out by two years (from FY2033/34 to FY 2035/36) to reflect the impact of the pandemic on the economy; the authorities remain firmly committed to reducing public debt over time.

“The team would like to thank the authorities and the technical team for their openness and candid discussions.”

IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONS

PRESS OFFICER: David Sharrock

Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

@IMFSpokesperson

147 responses to “IMF Makes USD21 Million Available to Barbados”

1. PS And yes too, water importance and resourcing, much discussed and solutions advised too, all back then, even before it became ‘popular’.

2. Tlsn
    Govt gave the permission to the Cruise liners to dock under the banner of a” humantarian cause ”
    Govt even went as far as to void the docking fees for the liners
    Yuh think govt have any legal legs on which to stand
    After all the responsibility would have lie with govt to say No and govt rather prefer to take a PR stunt from a political play book to make themselves look good
    Now all see the end results
    The ownership belongs to govt and not the Cruise liners
    Furthermore on record is the captain of one of the cruise liners thanking govt for allowing them to dock during that period
    The story is sad and begs for govt to find remedy

3. The brilliant Yardbroom, Bush Tea, Bonnie Peppa, Old Onion Bags, lawyer Amused (though Bonnie may have been one too).

4. angela cox May 9, 2021 4:45 AM The story is sad and begs for govt to find remedy

Yes, the pandemic story is sad and is going to get a lot sadder before it gets better.

What’s your point?

5. Bush Tea admitted that he supports the BLP, didn’t he?

6. Some light amid economic gloom
    “Circumstances alter cases” is a well-known expression. It is particularly applicable to our economic and fiscal condition right now.
    This Government came into office determined to bring equilibrium to the national finances. A major aspect of the solution was to restructure the national and domestic debt so as to create fiscal space to generate growth within the economy.
    COVID-19 put paid to all that. While the horses were in midstream, and plans for the reignition of the economy through major tourism development were ongoing, it ran a coach and horses through them.
    The recent news that the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is about to lend us another $48 million will not surprise those who understand international finance and how a country in these circumstances must do what it can to allow itself and its citizens some breathing space while planning for the end of the recession, or in this case, the end of the pandemic.
    It is not surprising that IMF Barbados team leader Bert Van Selm said we missed some performance targets. What had been initially planned had to be reversed. The Government had to increase finances to cash-strapped state-owned enterprises whose cash supply had been wrecked by the impact of COVID-19. In the case of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and the Ministry of Health, necessary pandemic duties meant that more cash had to be made available.
    It must be a hair-raising ride for policymakers and technocrats who have to crunch the numbers daily and consider how policy at home and abroad is impacting or may impact on those revised plans for economic growth.
    There are, however, shards of light piercing the darkness of the economic depression of our economy occasioned by the ongoing pandemic. Van Selm made the important point that we continue to make good progress in our ambitious and comprehensive economic reform programme.
    The second and perhaps equally critical shard of light is that the foreign reserves are now comfortably placed at US$1.3 billion.
    Now, let us be frank. Some of this is borrowed money but survival is the immediate key and recovery is the mediumto long-term objective.
    On this basis, most Barbadians will feel a sense of limited relief at the pronouncements of our very own Dr Kevin Greenidge, who is a senior economic advisor on loan from the IMF.
    He refuses to see notions of gloom and doom, although he admits that Government’s debt rose by $542 million in the last financial year.
    We have been blown off course. Yet, as Greenidge advises, we have to stick to our vaccination plans and we will see brighter days. This advice, if accepted, will have inwardly and external objectives If we are able to rid our country of the virus, the tourism industry may the sooner be revived. A return to a post-pandemic normalcy should reignite local business activity, which should kickstart the economy and enable us to welcome suitably vaccinated visitors coming to our “future” safe destination.
    As usual, the message is clear. The task of recovery from the pandemic has to be led by Government. It will be helped by popular adherence to the protocols and widespread observance of the anti-COVID-19 healthy lifestyle practices suggested by the authorities.
    As we now approach the upward climb, there must be a national resolve that we will fight.
    We must write our names on history’s page.

Nation Editorial

7. Crusoe

My point being govt knows that many bajans are illiterate to the issues concerning the environment and what is of great importance
    That is why govt tells the public that the South West sewage problem is resolved and people belive the falsehood
    That is why govt let the cruise liners docked in Carlisle Bay and no one raise a stink
    That is why govt can spend money on buying garbage trucks and haven’t placed an importance on the high level of the landfills which are overflowing and causing damage to the environment
    That is why a duffus like you with limited knowledge of the environment can challenge my comments and asked an ignorant question

8. Think of all the money govt has spent in the tourism industry and very little on the safety and security of the environment
    Covid sent a message
    Carry on smartly

9. “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”.

Criticism1: All of this time and you didn’t make a step
    Criticism2: All of this time and you now make a first step
    Critcism3: You are making steps but you are too far behind

Guess, it is too good of a bone to see any positive

10. I have never understood finance.
    One minute we are rejoicing for an infusion of a few million, the next minute we are doing deals for 80 (white hoax) or hundreds of millions.
    Like a guy depending on handouts but having a liking for a Porsche.
    Would be glad if a person with knowledge connects the dots for me.

11. TheOGazertsMay 9, 2021 6:20 AM

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”.

Criticism1: All of this time and you didn’t make a step
    Criticism2: All of this time and you now make a first step
    Critcism3: You are making steps but you are too far behind

Guess, it is too good of a bone to see any positive

Xxxxxxxx

If u comments are towards any criticisms I made towards govt on this present environmental problem and the threat to the marine environment
    You are dead wrong
    U can check BU archives to confirm
    Instead of trying to.put me on blast u can turn that energy out speaking on behalf of the environment an environment which has not remained silent to all the wrong doings being done to the earth
    If you are one of those who have been asleep for years
    Check COVID response

12. My comments were directed towards Wura’s comments on coding/robotics

13. There is no separation of negatives and positives.
    Every action, be it forward or backward has a report written and the conclusions are always the same.
    We can all agree that there are numerous things that need fixing – no discussion.
    We should be supportive when fixes are attempted.

14. I have been called a RH idiot lacking of credibility when I spoke openly about the environment
    Much of it having to do with the landfills and the dangers involved while pressing my preference for a WTE plant
    I have been called a RH idiot when I spoke about govt endangering the under ground flow of the water system by allowing sewage from the Southwest plant to enter the ocean and other water outlets
    I have been called a RH idiot when my comments were critical of govt allowing the liners to dock and the onset of waste matter and other toxins emitted from the liners enter the ocean and make way onto land
    Yes this RH idiot as idiotic as maybe sings from a hymn book of observation and not from no one designed for the political choir
    Now see who is the RH idiot
    COVID ain’t lying

15. Have a great day AC
    Have a great day Barbados

With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful “Barbados”. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy.

16. Happy Mothers Day to all Mothers who traverse along the hallways of Bu
    You have been bless in knowing the joys and trials of being a Mother

17. AC.
    Was leaving.
    I have never called you a RH idiot. The reverse is true, I have always admired how you find a little nugget and exploit it or how you can take the dead horse Lazarus and ride it like a winner, though the second death is inevitable. An idiot cannot do that.
    Have a gr8 day everyone.

18. Theo
    My comments were not directed to u
    Those who did make the nasty remarks know who they are
    Nothing in my comments to such wording were directed at u

19. It is mind-boggling beyond an sense of understanding that govt would willfully expose the coral reefs and the live inhabitats of the sea world to such a danger
    Where are the voices of the so called environmentalist of Barbados the likes of Kammie Holder whose voice was silent when all this was taking place
    For what it is worth his voice has been one of supporting govt policies yet to hear him speak or object against the blasphemous and damming way govt handles environmental issues those that affect people health and well being
    Such people can be called loose cannons and traitors to country only seeing those things that affect their own well being

20. Waiting to see if govt will be transparent and honest on this blatant issue
    Mottley gets on the international world stage and speaks about global warming pointing fingers at the leaders of the International World for not helping small island states not to do enough
    Meanwhile she couldn’t help or resist to doing an godly and unjustifiable action which destroys all forms of sea life living underground
    What about the turtles
    Time for govt to put a lid on PR nonsense and do the job of protecting the country

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Why is it that Marla Dukharan is only economist who can tell the truth around here? Those who work for the government or IMF are being pathetic excuse makers.

22. @Peter

Cannot explain it.

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Everyone but Duharan is blaming only the government, but the majority of the blame lies with our hopelessly pathetic private sector. The greed and utter incompetence of the Barbadian private sector, particularly tourism businesses that refuse to innovate, is condemning thousands of Bajans to penury.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Dukharan told the tourism industry many months ago that they themselves needed to disrupt their own industry. She spelled it out for them that the way forward was to pivot to serve the needs of Welcome Stamp visitors.

Yet all but a couple of the hotel operators have utterly ignored her. The BHTA continues to spout annoying drivel that is totally disconnected from reality.

What the EF is wrong with them?

25. What is surprising is the results that the retail sector in the main has not changed how it is delivering products and services in a post Covid economy. Simply amazing, you cannot make this stuff up.

26. @ PLT
    Good point as I said above all of them are paralysed in the tradition of tourism. Rather than look outside that box they wait patiently for the return of the glory days.

27. Since Barbados declared Sovereign Default and engaged the IMF their DEBT STATUS is now WORSE than when they declared default. Granted they DELAYED some DEBT repayment however they have also taken on significant NEW DEBT that more them replaced the old DEBT levels. You CONTINUALLY hear Central Bank and Government proclaiming the Foreign CURRENCY RESERVES are at astronomic positive levels, fail to mention all these funds are borrowed money and need to be REPAID. BARBADOS has the most creative CURRENCY accounting, the ostrich with it’s head burried deep in the volcanic ash.

The sad point is the POPULACE believes all this HORSESHIT and believes everything is under control.
    Populace us shortly going to find out GOD is not a Bajan, but the DEVIL himself.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

Is White Oaks still on a monthly retainer?

29. It is a question ring asked and not being answered despite the the creation of the DPA.

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

“Is White Oaks still on a monthly retainer?”

still trying to confirm, but so far, all indications are, that they are…what a HOAX.

beg, lie and deceive for the vote…”watch muh nuh” then hire consultants to suck the country dry while RACKING UP more and more debt….who can’t see the fallout from all of that…that’s on them…

one thing my grandchildren and future generations will not do is vote for any slave system with the go-nowhere as leaders….start talking to them from now, the rest they will do on their own…

ancestors will close in, this has to end.

31. White Oaks smarter than govt delivers nothing but gets paid

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

smarter than? I expected “same as” from you? 😲😲

33. NO
    But same can be said of govt who delivers nothing to the people but collects in taxes and fees
    Maybe they both cut from the same cloth
    As they say birds of feather flocks together

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am no ornithologist, but the plumage of pols looks very similar to me. Both are of the breed LP, separated only by “C”. I think the whole lot are so similar to be deemed ‘identical’. And to get contracts at the higher level, they have to be inbred to the LP’s. So your flocking findings are likely accurate.
    What’s the difference between Cahill and White Oaks?

35. Cahill had PR problem unlike WO who was savvy enough to pull of a stunt
    However if the WTE plant was deliver the people would have benefitted and see what they were paying for
    White Oaks flew high above radar where no one can detect their presence landed on Barbados soil and govt hands over the treasury at free will

36. Then it is up to Verla to blow the messy transaction to high heavens. Has she spoken to it recently? If not what is preventing her?

37. David don’t worry uh big head ((almost said little head but on second thought decided that one might be useless as well)
    Anyhow the time is fast approaching when Depezia would speak about the incomptence of govt and govt propensity to.place cart before horse
    Hence the unending purchase of garbage trucks and having no.plan or policies to replace the overused and exhausted landfills

38. This is what do best. Have the last word.

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

wont bother to give ya the rest of the bad news, i know certain minds can only handle so much…sometimes it’s best to find things out on ya own.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

what you failed to infer…both were designed trough feeders. One never got off the ground, the other ……?

41. NorthernObserver May 9, 2021 10:10 PM #: “What’s the difference between Cahill and White Oaks?”

@ NO

There are more similarities between CAHILL and White Oaks than there are differences.

Both were introduced to Barbadians by stealth, while efforts were made to justify their presence.

Recall former PM Stuart repeatedly DENIED he SIGNED any documents relating to CAHILL. However, a ‘Heads of Terms Agreement,’ bearing the signatures of Stuart and Claire Cowan, as well as letters signed by Stuart were exposed on social media, thereby indicating the former administration WITHHELD vital information about the project from Barbadians.

When the copies of the documents were presented on BU, guess who was the first individual to comment? I won’t keep you in suspense:

“ac May 18, 2016 5:39 AM #: Loud steupse.”

And, it would be easier for you to guess her subsequent contributions were not dedicated to the topic, but criticisms of Mia Mottley and Kammie Holder.

But NorthernObserver, the situation got better. During a sitting of the Senate, Maxine McClean and the SAME Verla Depeiza who NOW wants to convince the electorate she is the epitome of ‘good governance,’ called David BU a “TRAITOR” for exposing the DEMS’ lack of transparency and accountability.

Fortunately, they were forced to withdraw CAHILL, (which, by the way, is still to this day being defended by, ‘you know who).’
    And, according to that individual, “…….a memo was sent out stating there would be no Cahill and since there would be no cahill it is abundantly clear that Cahill would not cost Barbadians a dime.” I agree 100%.

Unfortunately, however, we did not have a similar type of exposé on White Oaks. And the Mottley administration has shown (and continues to show) a similar, blatant disregard for transparency and accountability.

What are the terms and conditions of White Oaks’ contract with the Government of Barbados?

How much has the company been paid for the services it rendered to the country?

Did they achieve the desired objectives. If so, where are the relevant reports and what is the status of the debt restructuring exercise?

Has ‘government’ retained their services? If so, then, what are terms of engagement and the associated fees?

Savings as a result of debt restructuring + White Oaks’ fees = did engaging their services realized significant savings and worth the effort?

42. @Artax

True, the big difference between the two is that White Oaks has some kind of a track record.

43. @ David

Clare Cowan’s ‘track record’ was clearly seen in a video, in which she described ‘potable water’ as the water in the toilet bowl.

44. DavidMay 10, 2021 7:24 AM

@Artax

True, the big difference between the two is that White Oaks has some kind of a track record.
    Xxxcccccc
    Where is your proof
    Xxxxx
    Going by what is happening under Barbados guidance with WO
    What is being shown is all bite but no bark
    Looks like govt laid in bed with one armed bandits
    Yet to see anything of substance that WO has delivered to Barbados economy
    Please do not mention Barbados not having to pay debt at high interest rate
    When in turn the natives have to pay a heavier cost for the debt

45. Good one Artax. Cahill was a company setup to fleece Barbados if you check the date it was incorporated.

46. Don’t ever say I never give you nothing (meaning anything)
    Global Sadhana 40 day challenge
    Invoke the Wealth of the Universe
    Explanation
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yk-0AKzCnAQ
    Practise
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=beNIKisP3Rg

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    this was the document laid before the House, which one Persaud publicly hailed as representative of the newfound transparency of a recently elected GoB
    The rest of your queries are confidential. Their disclosure may pose a national security threat.
    https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/sittings/attachments/713d8df19118bb2ac5742609f9125046.pdf

48. 6 of one half dozen of de other

49. 6 of one half dozen of de other

this is the 100th comment on the subject matter hand which means it is the end of page and time to turnover to a new page in the story of Barbados PLC (DIP)