Submitted by Peter Lawrence Thompson

The pandemic is a paradox; on one hand it has destroyed our major industry, but on the other it is giving us a once in a lifetime opportunity to rebuild a much more resilient economy around services that we provide digitally to the global marketplace.

Our economic future is under a dark cloud because the COVID-19 pandemic has had a particularly devastating effect on Barbados. It has triggered an 18% annual slump in economic activity, raised unemployment to levels not seen for generations, slashed tax revenue, and ballooned the national debt. This harms all Barbadians, but it is particularly damaging to the life prospects of young people, not only because they have a disproportionately high unemployment rate but also because they will have to shoulder the burden of the expanded national debt over the coming decades.

The economic shock has been this severe because of our dependence on the tourism industry.  Tourism used to earn Barbados well over a billion USD each year, much more than the offshore financial sector, rum exports, and every other export put together… but the tourism industry collapsed by more than 90% in the last three quarters of 2020.

But this threatening cloud does have a silver lining. Last year a member of the Barbados Jobs & investment Council asked me to write a memo to Cabinet outlining my proposal to create a one year visa for remote workers. They announced the 12 Month Barbados Welcome Stamp nine weeks later and it’s been the only good economic news we’ve had all year, pumping tens of millions of US dollars into the local economy. 

This programme has seen strong growth because it is in alignment with emerging opportunities exposed by the ways COVID-19 is changing global economies. Many millions of people, particularly technology professionals, in Europe and North America now work remotely from home; the Welcome Stamp programme has proved to be an effective way to motivate some of them to move to Barbados and work remotely from here.

Some of these new long term visitors are experienced digital nomads who have been travelling all over the world for years and are familiar with established digital nomad hotspots like Bali, Playa del Carmen, or Chiang Mai. However, for the majority of Welcome Stamp arrivals this is the first time they have worked remotely outside of their home jurisdiction, so most of them are better described as digital expats rather than digital nomads.

The Welcome Stamp is already more important to the Barbados economy than cruise ship tourism. Caribbean economist Marla Dukharan has estimated that the median annual spend per household is well over $50k USD. At this rate, the 2,000+ Welcome Stamp visitors that have already been approved will contribute more than $100 million USD to the Barbados economy on an annual basis, which is twice as much as our entire cruise ship tourism sector ever did in its most profitable year. Given that our inventory of available accommodation among villas, Airbnb apartments, and apartment hotels can accommodate many thousands of households, the potential exists to scale this sector to many hundreds of millions of USD in annual economic impact within a short time frame.

However, our ambitions go very far beyond simply becoming another digital nomad hot spot. The major distinction between Barbados and digital nomad hotspots is the issue of who has agency… who is setting the agenda… who is calling the shots. 

Traditional digital nomads style themselves ‘citizens of the world’ as they seek out new exotic locations and descend upon them en masse without any prior permission or consent of the local populations. They seek benign climatic environments and the most affordable costs of living. They often stay in one location for only two or three months before either jetting off to the next hot spot, or dashing across a nearby international border only to re-enter soon afterward as a way of getting around visa restrictions. Because the local populations are not in primary decision making roles, this can have adverse effects on local socioeconomic conditions, with digital nomads clustered in ghettos that do not optimally support local economic development or cultural integration.

In Barbados we have done things differently, with local decision makers in the driver’s seat. We have set a US$50k minimum annual income so that Welcome Stamp visitors have the capacity to contribute significantly to our local economy, we have priced the new visa at a level which discourages those who lack commitment,  and we have made the visa 12 months long with the possibility of renewal so that these visitors also have the time to build meaningful relationships with Barbados and Barbadians. We are not simply attracting visitors, we are inviting potential long term neighbours.

The Welcome Stamp programme gives us the opportunity to leverage this influx of highly skilled knowledge workers and entrepreneurs by building formal structures for knowledge transfer to Barbadian society. This is knowledge that Barbadian society needs to assimilate in order to prosper in the 21st century, and the influx of Welcome Stamp visitors presents us with an unparalleled strategic opportunity for doing so.

Although the explosive growth of remote work has been catalyzed by the COVID pandemic, many large technology companies like Coinbase, Dropbox, Spotify, Twitter, and VMware have adopted it as a permanent feature of their organizations with all employees being able to work from anywhere they choose from here on.

This is the leading edge of a global economic transformation that will be parallel to the migration of blue collar manufacturing jobs from North America and Europe to places like China. China used this job migration to evolve from impoverishment to a top global power in only a few decades. Over the next few decades there will be a similar huge migration of white collar jobs (most of which use digital technologies to provide services) away from North America and Europe. Barbados can be very well positioned to be the beneficiary of this historic migration.  This evolution will shift tens of millions of well paid jobs… we only need to capture tens of thousands of them, a mere 0.1%, in order to revolutionize our economy.

The overwhelming majority of  Welcome Stamp visitors are either employees of businesses that use digital technologies to provide services to a global marketplace, or they are entrepreneurs who have founded such businesses themselves. In order for Barbados to prosper in the 21st century, we need to master these digital technologies that power the global economy. Both as employees and as entrepreneurs, we need to be selling our services directly into a global marketplace. 

The emphasis needs to be on digitally provided services because our local market is very tiny and we are thousands of kilometres away from most people in global marketplaces; shipping any material object over these thousands of kilometres incurs transportation costs which often make the item uncompetitive. Barbadians need to imitate the Welcome Stamp visitors by working remotely, selling either skilled labour or entrepreneurial services directly to the global marketplace.

The real value for Barbados is not so much for a few thousand visitors from some global metropolis to live here each earning a minimum US$50k/year salary.  The real value is for tens of thousands of Barbadians to be living here and working remotely for the same companies that these visitors do, or working for entrepreneurial ventures that sell services globally, and also be earning a minimum US$50k/year salary. 

This is the strategy which will enable us to rebuild Barbados: these are the jobs that will sustain a prosperous new Bajan middle class in the coming decades. 

Remote Work Barbados is collaborating with others in both the private and public sectors to make sure that Barbados is able to seize this once in a lifetime opportunity… because Bajans deserve to be earning $50k USD/year too.

285 responses to “Rebuilding Barbados”

1. .. But, a powerful Africa and/or network of black and other non-white nations and black and other non-white peoples is the West’s worst nightmare.
    They assume they will be treated the same way they treated everyone else. That’s why they keep warring under false pretence and false propaganda and will be a force against it. If needs must they would rather press the self-destruct button and blow up the planet so they could hide in their shelters or migrate to Mars.

2. Better Than I Imagined

3. What I am listening to right now on you tube. “Glennis Grace – When I Was Your Man & Blackbird | 15 jaar Evers Staat Op

After covid, let us hope that the government of Barbados will focus some of their efforts on creating an entrepreneurial environment for all Bajans.

The PLT 12 Month Barbados Welcome Stamp could be successful.

Traditional tourism could also return to pre covid numbers. People want to travel and Airlines want to fill planes.

4. “They assume they will be treated the same way they treated everyone else. That’s why they keep warring under false pretence and false propaganda and will be a force against it. ”

they assume very wrong, no one got the time…it’s more than Enuff to be walking around with pints and pints of their old rancid rapist bloodline….who got the time to put their stupidity as it relates to other people…into action…that is their thing.

5. Older people can not just up and leave to move to another land, they have to go back and forth a few times and build up a network of friends, learn the culture and find the best place to settle. Youngsters can be more adaptable for travelling and settling down in new places much easier.

6. “Africa is still poor but.”

FALSE information Africa IS NOT POOR…Africa gets ROBBED by western countries that claim to be rich…..

https://youtu.be/G2R_jAyniPk

7. Ghana is stopping exports of its gold and cocoa…you will be shocked at the wealth in Africa.

ah already told Prof. Shillary that the only way EU/UK could get 50 billion dollars to give them in their fraudulent reparations claim for them to maintain slave societies in Barbados and the Caribbean IS OUT OF AFRICA….i knew exactly what i was speaking about.

and that 50 billion AINT HAPPENING…

8. Most passengers flew yesterday since the first shutdown about a year ago . USA

9. Yall tend to forget who ya dealing with..

case in point…just so UK came out and claimed two british people traveled to Antigua and returned with this variant or two or some such rubbish….Gaston Brown says it’s not true…well knowing who ya dealing with, those two more than likely went into Antigua loaded with their virus variant and now Antigua is holding blame, the same Antigua that has the African Diaspora Bank..

when ya dependant…they can do all of that…and more.

10. “..FALSE information Africa IS NOT POOR…Africa gets ROBBED by western countries that claim to be rich….”

stop being pedantic / reactionary and listen to what people say instead of opposing it all the the while trying to come up with things that they aren’t saying

African people are poor..

if you went to Africa you would see children sitting at the roadside just watching the traffic passing by instead of going to school

when you stop off somewhere and sit in your car and look out the window you will see poor people staring back at you

you see many people on bicycles or walking on foot as the main forms of transport

there are more people hustling tourists than barbados and more kids trying to make some pennies

you can build a school for £500 (but it needs more money for maintenance and staff)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChPT3Blnfwg

11. Is it possible for some of you to try hugging the topic at hand for a bit?

#jesus

12. Tiefing from Africa…calling themselves rich and calling Africa poor…the usual lies, deceit, thefts and with weak leaders like the lowlife frauds in Barbados …..it makes it worse for people in some countries.

13. One big question remains after our discussion: How can the mental attitude of the islanders be changed? PLT seems to presuppose that people are self-reliant enough to start a business. But the fact is that the overwhelming majority of the population prefers to earn their money as economic slaves, that is, as civil servants and as employees.

So the question is, how can attitudes be changed from mental slavery to mental freedom?

The current social environment is conceivably unfavourable for a second emancipation. The state pays for school, studies, unemployment, illness, housing, indeed for almost everything in life. In such an environment, people almost inevitably degenerate into economic slaves who rely on the state.

14. 555..I will tell you only once so the topic can be resumed….AFRICAN PEOPLE ARE DRIVEN INTO POVERTY……just like people in Barbados ARE ROBBED and driven into poverty….good thing Barbados has no resources or the people will still be in shackles and chains…..

you can research it yaself…

Africa is NOT POOR…NEITHER are the PEOPLE…it’s by TIEFING design so that criminals can pretend to be rich off OUR BIRTH RIGHT…

so stop SPREADING FALSE INFORMATION…

15. The people were DRIVEN and indoctrinated into becoming ECONOMIC SLAVES….Just Over Broke…

everyone will have to decide if they want to stay in it supervised by the slave parliaments whose squatters tief everything or move into the future…personal decision.

16. PLT does have good ideas, but he already reached a barrier that he does not know exist, although we have been telling him, just as we warned him about those fraudulent minorities..

…the government, the black leaders will have to WANT TO SEE BLACK PEOPLE PROGRESSING to that LEVEL and at the TOP of their game…in the last 54 years NOT ONE of those slave parliament dwellers wanted to see Black people wealthy, or prospering significantly, it would kill them to see 80,000 Black people become wealthy millionaires off their intelligence, gifts and skills alone…they would prefer the island degrade even further…that nasty mindset is what have the island in the present condition that everyone is talking about…

they maintain generational poverty and feed a prison system instead and believe they achieved something because their pockets got filled…

personally i know how THEY ALL put stumbling blocks in young people’s way, or in the way of any Black person who dare try to rise…i don’t have to ask, i know what they do to suppress and oppress Black people…so right away he has a BIG PROBLEM..

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Tron March 13, 2021 1:48 PM
    “… the overwhelming majority of the population prefers to earn their money as economic slaves, that is, […] as employees.”
    ++++++++++++
    I suspect that you have a point here Tron, that’s why I am designing to engineer systems where they earn much more money as “economic slaves” to the same global corporations that employ the Welcome Stampers, rather than the threadbare local private sector. If you are going to be an “economic slave” you might as well choose a slave master with deeper pockets full of FX.

18. I ask this question 6 months ago as well as 3 months ago plus last month and nobody replied. I will now ask it again.

When will the government share their post covid economic plan where they outlay how the economy will function with 30% less revenue based on its current level of expenditure?

Once we know the plan we could all then share our views.

19. Once he can KNOCK DOWN THAT BARRIER..if self-hatred, envy and dirty bad badmind….the wicked mindset the slave parliament people carry of liking to see Black people under everyone else’s knees and feet, he is well on his way…

20. Waru
    I understand the point you make it is not that deep to grasp or mind blowing
    but what do you expect from pirates on the rob robbing people is what they do

people are making their own points and no one is listening to anyone else was the point I was making

I know Information Technology intimately and studied it without knowing anything about it as it seemed like a clever thing to do but it was a boring dry subject
    I ended up working in IT which was even more boring tedious and monotonous although I am good at as I have a mathematical mnind I would not advise people to do it as a daily occupation and warn against it it is better to be on your feet and meet people although there is money in it and it has replaced many job roles there is still the same favouritism and bias that you get in all other areas of life

21. @ John A

Good question.

22. RE Is it possible for some of you to try hugging the topic at hand for a bit?
    NO. NOT ALL. BY NOW YOU SHOULD HAVE FIGURED THAT OUT.
    THEY TEND TO FOLLOW THE HERD
    THEY TEND TO BREAK THROUGH THE HEDGE LIKE WAYWARD SHEEP

23. System developers are disposable once they have developed and implemented a system the gig is over although there may be some ongoing maintenance modification and support roles to be had

24. @John A March 13, 2021 2:14 PM

Let’s take off the jester’s cap for once …

The answer is quite simple: there is no plan.

Our government advisors hope that tourism will boom again with the 2021/22 winter season and we will reach pre-crisis levels. But the fact is that global vaccine production will need at least another year before it can consistently deliver enough vaccine (including mutations) for everyone in the Caribbean and our tourism markets. My estimate: in the 2021/22 winter season we will reach a maximum of 50 %, and if the mask, quarantine and testing terror continues, we will reach a maximum of 5 % (as for the winter season 2020/21).

In any case, the hole in the national treasury is getting bigger by the day. If we assume normalisation by the 2022/23 or 2023/24 winter season, we will have a total breakdown of all economic activities for almost two or three years.

And what has the government done? Far too little. Instead of increasing civil servants’ salaries by 5 per cent in 2018, our government should have cut civil servants’ salaries by at least 25 per cent from April 2020 for the crisis period, and by as much as 50 per cent for ministers and senior bureaucrats. We are shouldering a huge human ballast on the island that we can no longer afford. We have the most ministers, the most state secretaries, the most advisers. New commissions, state enterprises, etc. are constantly being added. Almost like cancers.

So the situation is extremely desolate. We urgently need reforms, first and foremost a moderate currency devaluation to 1:4 or 1:5. That would abruptly reduce the expenses for the oversized civil service apparatus by at least half.

The days of tropical socialism in “Little Cuba” are numbered. It is time to acknowledge the reality. Or does anyone here on BU seriously believe that we will let American and British tourists into the country next winter just with proof of vaccination if local people continue to fall ill? I would have no qualms about that, but the local population is too superstitious and too skittish, so our government is forced to stick with the mask talibanism and quarantine slavery for populist reasons.

25. Anne landers said it best the poor want to be rich…the rich want to be happy the single want to be married and the married want to be dead. Look waru God loves poor people thats why he made so many of them , vot ..so now your against Gad

26. welcome stamp is a great complement to traditional tourism. The knock on effects PLT hopes for I believe are highly unlikely. Frankly I would like to know how many WS were actually issued and paid for and how is the renewal rate coming along? Seems like no one has these stats.
    I have another great complement to the tourism offer and hope to have my article published soon (have to write it). Two words – cycling tourism…wait to hear about it.

Oh and one more thing….get rid of the BDS, it is time to dollarize or euroize or even GBPize. All the problems with correspondent banks would be solved and foreign investors would definitely look at Barbados in a different light if they could bring dollars or pounds here, invest/buy/save with them and get their profits in the hard currency. Pride is one of the deadly sins, the Barbados dollar is definitely something that is used to build pride – but to a massive detriment.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@RICHARD PETKO March 13, 2021 2:50 PM
    “The knock on effects PLT hopes for I believe are highly unlikely.”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    The outcomes that I am writing about are not mere “knock on effects” which fall like dominoes from the establishment of the Welcome Stamp programme. These outcomes are an entrepreneurial socio-economic development strategy which will require entrepreneurial energy, wide collaboration, focussed dedication, and a little bit of luck to bring into being.

So if you believe it to be “highly unlikely” what you are saying that you choose not contribute any of the energy, dedication, or collaboration needed to bring it into being.

Why not? Does your adopted homeland not serve your efforts?

28. @John A

We get it, you support layoff of public servants. This is the only way to significantly reduce payroll expense. The government is obviously committed to a plan to protect public sector jobs in the short term to avoid further destabilizing the economy. This is a defensive option fraught with danger let us agree. What are the options? One cannot growth revenues overnight. Uneasy the head that wears the crown.

29. “Waru
    I understand the point you make it is not that deep to grasp or mind blowing
    but what do you expect from pirates on the rob robbing people is what they do.”

Oh i understand perfectly why pirates do what they do, just like i understand tiefing Lawson.

..but that does not mean they are to be allowed to comfortably ROB MY GODDAMN great, great, great X1000 grandchildren of their African birthright…THEY WILL ONLY CONTINUE TO DO IT …if allowed.

and if ya TELL EVERYBODY HOW THEY DO IT…well, thieves don’t like being caught…there are now 1.2 billion Africans on the continent and hundreds of millions in the diaspora….ALL OF US HAVE OUR FUTURE GENERATIONS TO LOOK OUT FOR…

so i really don’t care about their tiefing piracy…i care about what BELONGS TO MY FUTURE GENERATIONS..

…they got black people would willingly allow them to tief their future generation’s share and feel happy that their unborn generations got robbed, but am not one of them…

30. However, am more concerned right now with PLT, now that i explained somewhat how the parliament slaves oppress and suppress Black people on the island, how will he tear down those barriers so that the young and any Black person who wants to can rise and not be beaten down by backward leaders, and kept in place in economic and social bondage…

As long as that is torn down…the Black population IS OFF…

i have noticed that there is this one off across the Caribbean, happens on the continent too where there is some commonwealth award for something or the other, it varies…but that is NOT SUFFICIENT to EMPOWER young Black people everywhere…young people should be able to use their intelligence, gifts and skills handed down to reach where they want to go….and not be STIFLED BY THE BULLSHIT.

31. The visa program does not have to concentrate on IT workers as work in all office / businesses is moving to remote / home working during Covid. But, many countries may be winding down lockdown now and getting workers back to the offices again, although many people are saying they prefer working from home and feel it is more productive and preferable to the rat race and travelling into cities etc. Working in Barbados is like an extended holiday and many young graduates without children would be happy to start their careers in exotic locations, before they get mortgages and start families. So it may be worth approaching Companies to see if they would like to set up outsourcing for training etc.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogqzV9DzMmU

32. Waru
    We are unconvinced that we have the ability to do that which smallness should best mean – to change at little or no notice. And government’s legislative attempt with marijuana evidences no more than the same old conservative approach. Transformation is not made of such.

33. Peter the welcome stamp initiative is definitely the best tourism idea in recent memory and you deserve full credit and kudos on that.

Unfortunately though it will be overtaken by other tourism destinations who can execute better and are closer to the major markets because we have rested on our laurels and not developed the initiative beyond the initial rollout. THERE WAS NO FOLLOW THROUGH PLAN.

Also the below suggestion is problematic and doomed to fail because it assumes and relies on development via osmosis and the same trickle down structures that have not worked thus far. It also focuses on getting a job rather than developing skills to run your own businesses even if small

The real value is for tens of thousands of Barbadians to be living here and working remotely for the same companies that these visitors do,

Barbados’s only path at the moment (unless we literally strike oil) is to enable broad based online digital service selling to international markets via affordable access and abilities to collect foreign payments. We cannot depend on government to be heavily involved as they cannot execute to save themselves or the country and we cannot depend on a few local entities to control access as opportunities will not trickle down.

I am a Bajan making money in Australia via online offerings DAILY. It’s not rocket science, and the pathway is there if we choose to execute.

LET’S GO BARBADOS

34. The blogmaster is aware a few Barbadians in the diaspora decided to work remotely from Barbados. Are these numbers being trapped by government?

35. Back to Africa
    Barbados should concentrate on setting up business links with Africa for multiple reasons. Africa and other developing nations are the places businesses wish to expand for cheaper costs, better returns on investment and are the biggest growing markets. Africa has a wider population in younger age groups and also needs immigration to sustain the population. It still has open land although half the people live in urban areas.

36. “And government’s legislative attempt with marijuana evidences no more than the same old conservative approach. Transformation is not made of such.”

everyone saw how i put myself out there regarding the marijuana…because i know the prehistoric mindsets so well….and what happened, human rights violations, the Rasta COmmunity had to sue….2 years later and nothing is going on…maybe in 2 more years or 4 or never….that’s what toxic mindsets cause…

Trinidad is doing well
    Jamaca is doing well
    St. Vincent is doing well
    St. Lucia is doing well etc etc…

their people have ACCESS to HOME GROWN ..and that eliminates problems right away and eases the health care system…but Barbados wanted to pick a fight just to release the marijuana……resisting TO SAVE THEIR OWN PEOPLE’S HEALTH… turned it into a battle …and they are the only island to END UP NOWHERE…in that saga….because they FIGHT DOWN BLACK PEOPLE…they still tell themselves that’s what they are elected by Black people to do…..promote and elevate others and leave the Black population at the bottom.

Pacha, i could only wish PLT luck…am sure he saw me ranting away over the marijuana for the last over 2 years…..and NOTHING HAS CHANGED..it’s gotten worse, the Rasta Community last i heard was threatening to take BLP human rights violation to the world court.

so we can sit back and watch everything deteriorate further…

37. @555dubstreet

A lot of truth in your words. We have services to sell and that’s a great target market. The dots only need to be connected but conservative thinking seems to have us shackled and not develop and implement our own solutions it seems.

No one can tell me otherwise or it’s theoretical because I MAKE MONEY DAILY SELLING SERVICES ONLINE

Don’t know what else to say on that

LET’S GO BARBADOS

38. And the only reason they treat the Rasta communiy like that, apart from criminalizing and demoniziing them for refusing to assimulate into a slave society, is because they wanted to get ALL THE INFORMATION from them regarding the marijuana and STILL DON’T LET THEM HAVE ACCESS to it as is their right under multiple international laws…

so if black faces in the slave parliament REFUSE to observe or RECOGNIZE Black people’s rights under international law, in Barbados, there will always be a problem..

39. Pachamama,

That is why I wonder what is so hard about reforming our educational system for instance. Why should it be so hard to change anything in a 2×3 place such as this???

It is all about the attitude! First we tell ourselves it is too hard and then we decide if it is too hard we should not even try. Or we procrastinate because we are overwhelmed before we even start.

Many solutions are simple. WE make things hard.

This is why I say our problems are mainly in our minds.

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bajeabroad March 13, 2021 4:16 PM
    “LET’S GO BARBADOS”
    +++++++++++++++
    I’d like if you got in touch with me because we can use your help in teaching Bajans how to do this.
    https://remoteworkbarbados.com

41. “The dots only need to be connected but conservative thinking seems to have us shackled and not develop and implement our own solutions it seems.”

am not buying that excuse…there is no one more conservative than Europe and they don’t let that stop them from creating opportunities for their people or from expanding OUTWARD…they develop everything in the BEST INTERESTS OF THEIR PEOPLE…they do not let anything stop them or the people from progressing…just like US there is free enterprise, there are issues yes, but the society at large are free to grow upward and outward…

so this is something entirely different and closer to home…..this is small minds at work, they only allow minorities to progress and keep down the Black majority……they are shackled by their own wicked, sellout minds..

42. So this is why I don’t bother much to discuss what paths we should take. They will not be taken until we get our attitudes right.

I do not believe at all that nobody knows what needs to be done.

43. @Donna

Sadly you may be right. All the ideas and initiatives require ‘leadership’ to make a difference.

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bajeabroad March 13, 2021 4:03 PM
    “THERE WAS NO FOLLOW THROUGH PLAN.”
    +++++++++++++++
    But WE are the follow through plan. We’re not going to spend another 55 years waiting for the government to suddenly come down with a sudden case of logic and anti-colonial thinking. You know better than most what the follow through is… it is simply what Bajeabroad is doing times 10,000.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    I agree in general principle with your ideas ‘beyond the WS’. This IS the path, how we get there is another tale.
    Barbados is SO FAR behind in ‘digitization’ (in fact much of CARICOM) that finding locals to embrace, far less envision a digital future, is not easy. They are still impressed with a computerised payroll system.
    The way to ‘merge’ external knowledge with internal entities (ownership/participation) is a challenge. Sadly, the past experience has been, whenever the external is involved, they frequently end up owning the operation. Exactly why, I am unsure. I am similarly unsure why those with the technology, have been slow (reluctant) to roll it out in the Caribbean. The obvious are resistance to change, and fear of job retention, but I am thinking there must be more.
    Your persistence is congratulated.

46. David,

Many proposals I hear for reform after a kazillion studies, white papers and green papers are things I thought of by pure observation (or as enuff disparagingly stated, anecdotal evidence) and damn common sense. Not the finer details but the broad framework.

And then the multi-coloured papers sit on.a desk until they are moved to a filing cabinet to rot.

Twenty years later we order another batch of papers.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna March 13, 2021 4:22 PM
    “It is all about the attitude! First we tell ourselves it is too hard and then we decide if it is too hard we should not even try. Or we procrastinate because we are overwhelmed before we even start.”
    You are so right Donna. But as Garvey taught us. “None but ourselves can free our minds.” So we have the power to change ourselves.

48. Sometimes it confuses me how BLACK LEADERS could be more conservative, hateful and allround destructive than Europeans…who invented all of that….to practice on Black people and others, but it’s the Black leaders have a problem letting go of it…and freeing their own minds and the people they suppress and oppress..

i bet ya if none of that works in Europeans favor tomorrow…like magic they will drop all of it…but it’s years we have been trying to get black leaders to let go of that destructive toxic mindset toward the population who elected them…don’t know how else to tell them that one way or the other it has to go and them right along with it….

it’s vexing that they did not invent it, have NOTHING TO SHOW that they invented anything period…but yet, they stubbornly hold on to that colonial poison and refuse to drop it.