It has not taken long for some political candidates to behave badly. Even when their political party starts their meeting with prayer to our Creator, they still manage to find their way into the gutter.
Perhaps things may improve if Candidates started their meetings, by saying something nice about their fellow candidates. Since the suggestion is mine, I will start.
Every interaction I have had with Toni Moore has been a pleasant one. She listens to other views, and gives practical improvements. I can understand why the Prime Minister would want to include her when developing national policies.
I have had far less interactions with Floyd Reifer; but those interactions have also been pleasant. The man is clearly a leader, and with the right support, may significantly benefit Barbados politically.
Ambrose Grosvenor is a fellow member of the Wesleyan Holiness Church. He is a trusted Treasurer in his Church, and I have not heard of Ambrose being involved in any scandals. He pays attention to details, which may prevent issues from falling through the proverbial cracks.
David Walrond is a fellow old scholar of Combermere School, and a pleasant man. He has ideas, and a willingness to implement them.
Alex Mitchell is a serious man. He hates injustice with the same passion that I hate corruption. He does not compromise if that compromise causes him to violate his principles. There is no pretence with Alex – he is the real deal.
I love God unashamedly, and with only one life to live, I spend it pursuing truth, even if the truth is inconvenient to discover. I try not to judge other people, because no one is perfect, and we all learn by failure. But I try to show options, and the likely consequences of choosing each option, and let each person choose the path they wish to follow.
CHANGE ‘A MUST’
Mia says Social Partnership protocols must be revised
Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley says the time has come to revise the protocols that have governed the Social Partnership for close to three decades.
Delivering the feature address on the final day of the Barbados Labour Party’s 82nd annual conference held at St George Secondary School, she said protocols which were formulated in the 1990s to provide oversight for labour, private sector and the Government must be adjusted to suit the 21st century.
“I ask you to recognise that a moment is upon us where we need to craft new instruments and new protocols. We have before us a Social Partnership . . . that was crafted in 1991 to meet the needs of a Barbados of 1991. We have to continue to come together, but we must do so with more nuance. There has to be a new protocol for the Government of Barbados, the labour movement and the private sector of Barbados,” said Mottley.
The Social Partnership was initiated in response to the severe economic challenges of the early 1990s, including a high fiscal deficit, declining foreign exchange earnings and rising unemployment. The Prime Minister said the new protocols must emphasise the need for opportunities to be more evenly distributed among Barbadians.
“Yesterday, for example, we had a discussion about how Golden Square would be developed. The traditional approach of hiring consultants and big firms [is not going to happen this time] – not ’bout here. We got too many people in this country who are not working and who need help. This Government is prepared to walk the extra distance, to take the difficult decisions, to do the complex things that will allow us to make money.
Biggest burden
“Instead [of] giving it to persons to reap large dividends, [we will] ensure that the money can be spread as far and as wide as possible,” she said, adding that the National Insurance Scheme was carrying the biggest burden in its history.
The Prime Minister said the new policies must reflect a carving out of local market space for Barbadian manufacturing and agriculture. She noted this was especially critical as the world faces a second wave of COVID-19 and therefore the risk of supply chains being interrupted once more was high. She said this must go hand in hand with a rewiring of the Barbadian mindset to always see locally produced goods as their first option.
“It means that there are some principles that we must put down and hold dearly over the course
of the next two years. Between now and March 2022, Barbados must be managed by putting our people first at every step of the way. We have to be able to put jobs at the top of the list; we have to be able to support Barbadian production.
“The next time you go to buy something, look for what is made in Barbados first because that is what is putting food on Barbadian tables. We have to talk with our people and raise the level of consciousness of our people and make them understand what is at stake and what they can do day by day,” she said. (CLM)
Which god is this so beloved?
Is it the god of the White people or those of the Chinese, Indians etc?
This entreatise towards niceness under the cloak of religion is open viciouness of the worst kind. At least it is irrational and serves narrow party political interests.
Did we not have the separation of church and state? De-establishment?
Has it not been the ways of the christian church which have informed the degenerative political culture?
As for our household, we dont want any rh politician and their demonic parties getting between us and The Pachamama.
This political ground has been seeded by the duopoly. Now let it reap the seeds of wrath.
” The Prime Minister said the new protocols must emphasise the need for opportunities to be more evenly distributed among Barbadians.”
translation:
“we” can’t tief to elevate and promote minority THIEVES like before for “we cut”, not without being CONTINUALLY EXPOSED….to the world at large, so “we” will now include the BLACK MAJORITY that “we” have ROBBED FOR OVER 30 YEARS..”we” clearly see that “we” can no longer get away with it, without being HAULED UP BEFORE SOME INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL…
“Now let it reap the seeds of wrath.”
ASE…
1..That’s why “ bashment” should not be entertained and encouraged on BU.
2. Yuh see now anybody can talk pretty but it ain’t main a crap. That’s why people like Hamilton Lashley should be the ones going up the steps of Parliament cause these fancy talkers go in there and go just that: talk fancy till dey get duh de real power.
Ask Maloney.
A person’s faith is essentially a private matter and if that forms the center of their political, social or corporate philosophy, who are we to judge.
Peace
Again my soul brother Adrian Greene has written the column I had in my head.
MIA AMOR MOTTLEY
Well said.
The thing is we don’t update things. We go with old Antiquated way of doing things.
As one who has bashed GP2 most severely here on BU; especially when he displayed his lack of depth in his writings on the Word, I must say that this post is a very good one.
He is very charitable, and has given good information on his competitors, and should be respected highly for so doing.
Like I said on another blog, things are happening that many on BU don’t understand or refuse to see. All the PM appears to be promoting is local procurement, which in a Barbadian context means the local community and where possible the smaller suppliers. Unemployed residents of Nelson Street and the surrounding areas should be entitled to a % of the jobs on the Golden Square project. Spread the money. I also heard her mention profit margins on public sector projects. I have long advocated that there should be a fixed profit margin for public sector projects, which is lower than that for private sector. The same folks blasting Indians, Syrians and white people on the other blog are the same ones that accuse government of unfairing Ms.Ram. When I said the government should compensate her on existing use value with a top up, the know-it-all said a property that is unoccupied has no existing use.🤣🤣🤣🤣
……a property that is unoccupied has no existing use.🤣🤣🤣🤣…(Quote)
?????? It does not matter how stupid a statement, as long as it get s a cheap laugh.
You a clown! Stay in yuh lane….the circus.🤣
The karma-like result of having BACKWARD, UNEDUCATED FAKE leaders for over 50 years who are too stupid and slave like Enuff to know that you do not depend on one economic driver, just as you do not promote and elevate the descendants of slave catchers and now trying get out of it, or pretending to anyway, because if you would LIE AND DECEIVE to be elected ya would LIE ABOUT ANYTHING and everything and CANNOT BE TRUSTED…..only dimwitted fowl slaves would still be looking up to and promoting CHRONIC LIARS for fake leaders…..
those of us who DO NOT CARRY THE IDIOT SLAVE GENE….saw this coming..and it’s about to get some much worse..
“Bridgetown – The International Monetary Fund (IMF) Friday said the economic impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic on the Caribbean has been “massive” particularly for tourism-dependent countries in the region, but that lower commodity prices were also having a “major impact” on Caribbean commodity exporters.
In an exclusive interview with the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC), IMF Deputy Managing Director, Tao Zhang, also acknowledged that the impact of COVID-19 on lives and livelihoods in the Caribbean has been severe, agreeing with an earlier description by the IMF Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva, that this is a “crisis like no other”.
He said that while the pandemic has been well-contained, particularly in smaller island-nations like those in the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU), most countries moved quickly to restrict inbound travel and adopt containment and mitigation measures.
“The total number of COVID-19 cases in general remains small and has been increasing only gradually as countries have been cautious with reopening plans. However, the economic impact of the pandemic has been massive due to the “sudden stop” in tourism.
“The shutdown of the tourism sector, which accounts for anywhere from 50 to 90 per cent of output and employment in the tourism-dependent Caribbean economies, and other lockdown measures had ripple effects, with a sharp contraction in economic activity. Lower commodity prices are also having a major impact on Caribbean commodity exporters through a decline in exports and fiscal revenues,” Zhang told CMC.”
So MUCH WORSE….
What the vote beggars should be telling the people is how they are going to get out of the huge BILLION DOLLAR DEBTS THAT THEY HELPED CREATE..
wrote off a whole billion dollars for minority thieves and need it now……😂🤣..both governments should be in prison for that, how do you not COLLECT VAT for over 20 YEARS…..why would you not collect the vat the people pais at POINT OF SALE to those social partner crooks…
https://youtu.be/ssNtoydjtQ4.
https://youtu.be/ssNtoydjtQ4
“That’s why people like Hamilton Lashley should be the ones going up the steps of Parliament cause these fancy talkers go in there and go just that: talk fancy till dey get duh de real power.”
You talking about people getting fart frighten with power and mentioning Hammie as the antithesis? Clueless and confused.
“What can voters do to stamp out this practise. The Police have recommended that persons accept the bribe, and then bring the evidence to the Police so that those offering the bribes can be charged.”
Ignorant me.
Wasn’t there a story about a woman being advised to go the police and end up with 3 days in jail???
My legal knowledge is zilch, but I believe that receiving a bribe is also a crime.
If your BLP candidate offer you a bribe, just walk away. If you take the bribe, keep your mouth shut.
Wunnah lucky, that I hear.
I am highly appreciative of David of BU for giving us this forum where we can speak our piece.
At times I may disagree very strongly with his words/opinions, but he is in my pantheon of heroes.
I apologize with regards to a particular phrase as it was uttered in haste and it was disrespectful.
Keep up the good work. I wish you the very best.
I am highly appreciative of David of BU for giving us this forum where we can speak our piece.
At times I may disagree very strongly with his words/opinions, but he is in my pantheon of heroes.
I apologize with regards to a particular phrase as it was uttered in haste and it was disrespectful.
Keep up the good work. I wish you the very best.
I will be more judicious in my choice of wo