Last week the four main opposition political parties announced they will combine forces to support one candidate in the by-election to be held on the 11 November 2020 in St. George North. Leading political commentator @budavid described the move has “shrewd”and one that finally demonstrated a level of political maturity not witnessed since universal suffrage in the Caribbean.

When asked to elaborate by international foreign affairs correspondent @Pachamama, @budavid indicated adversarial politics was the vestige of a colonial past and had demonstrably failed to optimally define the people of the island state of Barbados. He stated, “we are a homogenous society and a consensus type of politics should be the alternative to determine the future of our small predominantly Black nation- and to ensure the hopes of a proud small island developing state are realised and fears are assuaged“.

The entrenched incumbent political party has implemented and supported a raft of polices on winning office which have weakened the voice of the opposition and served to destabilize the system of governance as envisaged by the framers of the Westminster system which the country has parodied. Two polices continuing to attract scathing critique from the BU intelligentsia are the politics of co-option and the reluctance of the incumbent and entrenched government to relax the rule governing a subvention for opposition political parties.

And the politics of inclusion practised by the incumbent party reared its head again last week with the head of the largest trade union fast tracked for membership in a record setting one week to support her candidature in St. George North. The leader of the incumbent party admitted party rules had to be ‘abridged’ to accommodate the new member.

The incumbent political party has dismissed repeated calls to relax the rule that prevents a subvention to political parties who have not faced the electorate. @budavid recently reminded the prime minister from the #barbados_underground that she had a “duty of care” as primus inter pares and guardian of our democracy to be bipartisan when treating with certain matters. She was also reminded that there was no hesitation by the government she represents to amend the Constitution for less important matters as reflected in Hansard.

The shrew decision of the Opposition parties to coalesce behind the candidate with the best chance to win has resonated across Barbados and resulted in the needle on the Political Apathy Index (PAI) shifting +10 – the most significant movement in 40 years. A desirable outcome of the tectonic shift in political sentiment has resulted in the redundancy of political pollsters.

That the political system has mechanisms by which political parties can reach a compromise even though they disagree on policies. In Sweden, difficult issues are sent to a commission on which all the parties and key interest groups are represented in order to reach an agreement, and, in Austria, Government, business and the trade unions agree on the main economic policies and the left and right parties accept what has been agreed.

Britpolitics

@budavid throws his support behind the move by the main opposition parties to embrace a consensus style of politics and hopes that it will be the catalyst for a transformation event to a consensus style of democracy. For too long the hopes and aspirations of a proud people have been superseded by the paramountcy of the political party.

369 responses to “Opposition Parties Reach Compromise to Run One Candidate in St. George North By Election”

1. David,

All well known. I guess it should be said more often. A revamp of all our systems is in order.

But the people like stupid gossip instead. It makes them feel better about themselves. It brings all people down to their level. I have always known that everybody has skeletons in their closet and at least one unsavoury character in the family. No big deal for the most part. Life is messy.

Unfortunately, most cannot conceive of a new system because this is what they have always known. So they see these suggestions as pie in the sky.

As I have said many times – this cannot change overnight. A community programme structured much like the AA programme would work because our problems are mostly in our minds.

Any serious politician should be on the ground in the community on an ongoing basis, educating the people about our systems and its flaws and how to fix them, mobilizing people to change their attitudes and behaviours to solve some of their own problems – together.

Of all the candidates, Grenville Phillips seems to understand more of what needs to be done.

It is indeed a great pity that the personality flaws do not allow me to support him.

2. @Donna

It is very frustrating having like you and others experience this around the blueberry bush affair every election cycle. Maybe those who preach the shedding of blood is onto something.

3. Lorenzo
    My comment to not being around was replying to statements about the 2008 election
    That is what i refered anyhow be that as it may
    The vile and malicious actions of a blp yardfowl that purports or tries to give a damning perspective of Floyds relevance to a convicted murderer goes into gutter rat territory
    I take note that you have abstain from comment on such low life actions coming out of the blp camp

4. @ Mariposa

Do not le t them get you down. The septic minds of some Bajans suggest that unless someone condemns they are guilty; and even to agree with you on anything is also a sign of guilt. It is guilt by association.
    I have said before that they like reading minds. One mad person once attributed a statement to me which I did not make. When I repeated what i said (cut and paste) she said I would have said it anyway. That is who you are dealing with.
    Ignore them. They get pleasure out of revealing their silliness. It is non-medical treatment for their mental decay.

5. @David

it would be useful if you bulletpoint with short explanations all those things you would like change for discussion

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TRY AND VOTE TONI MOORE:

Or else wunna in SGN in ducks Guts.

You all will remain POOR AND PISSY. You were WARNED. If you dont vote for TONI MOORE nothing will be done up there. All projects DONE.

The last man who “”represented”” you all , did nothing for 26 yrs., TONI MOORE must be given a chance to do that to, and “”represent”” the BLP. Dont mind that they have better candidates, WITH BRILIANT IDEAS, than TONI MOORE running. Dont mind that.

IF WUNNA VOTE FUH ANYBODY ELSE, watch and see wha gine happen

EVERYTING GOTTA GUH TRU ME. Wunna betta remember that!!!!!!

I CARE!!!!!

7. Mariposs Artax spoke of in 2018 and prior so do not tty yo twist the facts.You were also around for years as AC.I notice you have not touched on your endorsing of that disgraceful meeting at Waterford i wonder why?As for your partner spot on he knows you support all the dems actions and then backs down but you still agree with her lied and deception.In my view you are no better than her two peas in the same pod.

8. I’m not in the habit of advising people either, but, I would encourage anyone to be very careful from whom they take advice.

It seems as though self confidence is DEFINED by WHOM is making the definition and according to the individuals involved.

One guy who gets pleasure out of telling people how many properties he has, what qualifications, how many holidays he go on, etc………. is a sign that someone is not confident in themselves.

But, another guy who “gets pleasure out of” bragging about his grandparents’ rum and bread shop in Nelson Street; boys going to school ‘bare feet,’ while he wore leather shoes; having dealt with the roughest gangs in town; owning a book shop; mentioning his qualifications and how many one day seminars he attended that qualified him to speak with authority on certain issues; or even displaying his stupidity by admitting losing $1,000 in a time share, knowing it was a ‘rip off’………means he is CONFIDENT IN HIMSELF.

I guess reading books and regurgitating the authors’ alternative perspectives on economic theory or mentioning moving the Transport Board’s Weymouth Headquarters to St. John are original ideas, deserving of a national award.

9. @ Artax- my former campaign manager

that outburst seems a little outside the scope of the argument thus far. what gives?

10. ….boys going to school ‘bare feet,’ while he wore leather shoes; having dealt with the roughest gangs in town; owning a book shop; mentioning his qualifications …..(Quote)

Another sign of BU insanity. Boys going to school bare foot? Roughest gangs in town? Qualifications..??
    Why do brain dead idiots make up stuff to get a laugh? The author, self-identified as a male, forgot that I also claimed to be independent financial adviser.
    For the record, I did not go to school with barefoot boys (or girls), I worked professionally with UK gangs and since I did not go to school I have never talked about my qualifications on BU. By the way, I wore Bata shoes to schools.
    But, there is a certain slimy kind of pig that likes to score points, even if they make it up to get a cheap laugh that is why the social vermin have to hide behind pseudonym. while attacking more intelligent people such as @Mariposa. They believe it makes up for their lack of original ideas.

11. Your mental problem is not being able to let go.

I am to big to fit comfortably in your craw.

Must hurt.

But today I mourn Johnny Nash and Eddie Van Halen. Been singing all day!

“You might as well jump! Go ‘head and jump!”

That is the song. Not me.

Murdaaaah!

12. @ Greene

It takes a special kind of BU regular to try to insult a person by accusing him of reading books and regurgitating the authors’ alternative perspectives on economic theory…..
    How stupid can someone be? I suppose you think you know about law because you have studied it and are now qualified. Who do you think you are? Which books are these and what does he think about them? At least one BU regulator makes it up as he goes along.
    When I tell my friends how stupid some Barbadians are they think I exaggerate. Here it is for all to read. You just could not make it up.
    As I say to @Mariposa, just ignore them. One idiot even called me a Roman Catholic, no disrespect to them, out of the blue, because she thought she could get a laugh.

13. Before you guys throw a blow ask yourself this.. Am I the same man today as the man before COVID-19.

You might be just as surprised as I am with the ‘No’.

Just saw meat, vegetables and spaghetti on the counter….
    Is she suggesting that I cook?
    I cooked yesterday .

14. mARIPOSE

Since you hide behind pseudonym, dont mind how intellengent you are, i assume you are a social vermin also. 🙂

15. “that outburst seems a little outside the scope of the argument thus far. what gives?”

@ Greene

As you’re aware, I’m a brain dead idiot. So, please explain your querstion.

16. Donna

Hiw much land you have planted ?

17. @Artax,

man stop being silly. it doesnt wear well on you, mate. you are not a silly man.

if you care to, could you please explain the reason you submitted this post and to whom are you referring? it seems out of place with the arguments presented at this stage.

quote] I’m not in the habit of advising people either, but, I would encourage anyone to be very careful from whom they take advice.

It seems as though self confidence is DEFINED by WHOM is making the definition and according to the individuals involved.

One guy who gets pleasure out of telling people how many properties he has, what qualifications, how many holidays he go on, etc………. is a sign that someone is not confident in themselves.

But, another guy who “gets pleasure out of” bragging about his grandparents’ rum and bread shop in Nelson Street; boys going to school ‘bare feet,’ while he wore leather shoes; having dealt with the roughest gangs in town; owning a book shop; mentioning his qualifications and how many one day seminars he attended that qualified him to speak with authority on certain issues; or even displaying his stupidity by admitting losing $1,000 in a time share, knowing it was a ‘rip off’………means he is CONFIDENT IN HIMSELF.

I guess reading books and regurgitating the authors’ alternative perspectives on economic theory or mentioning moving the Transport Board’s Weymouth Headquarters to St. John are original ideas, deserving of a national award.[quote

18. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Dr Ronnie Yearwood was really speaking the TRUTH about Barbados.

The LEADER OF THE WHITE BAJAN AND INDIAN controlled Barbados Labour Party will only HATE him. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY must incense at him for speaking the TRUTH.

He certainly did not use any FLOWERY WORDS TO TRY AND MISLEAD BAJANS AS SHE DOES.

I wonder if she offered him High a high paying job to shut him up.

19. “if you care to, could you please explain the reason you submitted this post and to whom are you referring? it seems out of place with the arguments presented at this stage.”

@ Greene

NO, it isn’t. Someone took a subtle dig at me and I responded accordingly.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is not “”out of place with the arguments presented””.

We are in one way or another talking about MIA AMOR MOTTLEY. Wicked as hell.

21. Not much at all, John 2. I am growing for myself and my son only.

22. “It takes a special kind of BU regular to try to INSULT a person by accusing him of reading books and regurgitating the authors’ alternative perspectives on economic theory. How stupid can someone be?”

But, when a BU regular comes to this forum on a daily basis, to INSULT people, likening them to SAVAGES, WILD ANIMALS, INSECTS and VERMIN…………. he does not recognise how stupid he can be?

The level of hypocrisy on BU is overwhelming.

23. Mia backside is being scorched withn licks on social media
    Reason being she had the nerve to tell the whole of barbados that she controls the public purse and no opposition gets anything

24. Why is Patrick King so mad at the BLP
    But looka muh crosses doah
    This two faced gullyboar telling secrets
    Here is what he has to say about white shadows

Barbadians! This Barbados Labor Party has a picnic bus which has on board the white shadows, cliques, former Parliamentarians, friends and family who are all enjoying the ride at the expense of the taxpayers, these people must be exposed. This ride does not include poor people, poor people are being used as pawns in the deal.

Barbadians! I want to tell poor people that they do not have your best interest at heart, This is all about those who has finance they campaign.

STAY FOCUSED POOR PEOPLE! THIS IS NOT ABOUT YOU!

25. Patrick King singing
    Wuh loss

Barbadians! Tomorrow I will be spending my time on the ground in St George North, because, the Barbados Labor Party must not dangle carrots in front of poor people again!

26. Who takes him serious except yardfowls?

27. David seems u do but why he so mad on social media
    Here is another sling shot moment at the blp and supporters

Barbadians! Patrick King is not the problem, the problem is that the supporters of the Barbados Labor Party don’t have the guts to stand up to Mia Mottley!

28. Floyd batting sweet in SGN
    Now Patrick throwing fast bowling at the blp
    SMH
    Politics getting sweet yuh hear

29. What the DLP and the other opposition parties must press for, is not the Americanised nonsense of television debates, but to get all the candidates sitting in a hall answering live and spontaneous questions from the audience.
    The artificiality of a television studio, with known journalists who are deferential almost to a creeping style, to politicians, will not be as forensic as untrained questions from a curious public.
    Further, journalists want to maintain a working relationship with the politicians, while the general public do not.

30. Dead wrong, EU!
    ALL BARBADIANS should support the tough words Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has directed towards the European Union (EU) following its heavy-handed decision to blacklist Barbados as an uncooperative tax jurisdiction. Too much is at stake for this country to stay silent.
    But Barbados’ voice must not be the only one being heard. All Caribbean countries and other small states should unite on this matter which has the potential to severely damage their economies.
    The following list of so-called noncooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, as published by the EU on Tuesday, is an eye-opener. In addition to Barbados, the states named were American Samoa, Anguilla, Fiji, Guam, Palau, Panama, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu and Seychelles. The vast majority are small states. No one in their right mind would conclude that this handful of countries have harmful tax regimes, while those of countries in Europe, and states which are its dependents, have pristine tax systems.
    We share Mottley’s view that the EU’s decision to name and shame Barbados, especially when there is clear evidence that the authorities have taken steps to ensure its tax system and related legislation are of a world-class standard, is dead wrong. There are many technicalities involved in this matter, but the way that the EU has gone about it is shocking on two major levels.
    First, as outlined by the Prime Minister, Minister of International Business Ronald Toppin and Director of International Business Kevin Hunte, the Europeans are piggy-backing on the fact that the Global Forum of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), has given Barbados a “partially compliant” rating. This was not due to Barbados not having the necessary laws in place, but simply because the Global Forum did not have enough time to assess how the new laws have been functioning. It is also noteworthy that Barbados was rated partially compliant despite receiving a passing grade in seven of the ten categories assessed.
    The second fact that makes the EU blacklisting of Barbados so hard to swallow is that in a EU Council document dated September 28 and released on Tuesday, European authorities stated: “The ongoing COVID-19 public health emergency situation has had an impact on the working methods and on the ability of many jurisdictions to take on new commitments
    or deliver on their past commitments.”
    Legislation
    This in itself is an admission that countries like Barbados were having a hard time during the pandemic and that a blacklisting at this time would be harmful.
    It is incredible that Barbados had its legislation updated, and implemented other measures that the OECD requested, even before COVID-19 was a factor.
    And even though the EU acknowledged the virus was a problem for countries, including its own member states, Barbados was still blacklisted.
    This should leave no one in doubt that this threat to Barbados’ reputation is unwarranted. Government should leave no stone unturned in trying to have this unfair blacklisting reversed.

31. Interesting column by Dr. Tennyson Joseph.

Unsettling the politics
    TENNYSON JOSEPH ALL AH WE IS ONE
    WHEN PRIME MINISTER Mia Amor Mottley reshuffled her Cabinet in July, I was concerned that the action exhibited tendencies of political overreach, hubris and overconfidence, suggestive of someone who perceived themselves as master of the political environment who could engage in Machiavellian political power play for its own sake.
    At the time, my main concern was that the post-2018 unity of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was unnecessarily upended, that critical constituencies such as the Pan-Africanists were being sidelined, and that there was too little empathy and respect shown to old stalwarts who had long histories of electoral success.
    Further, in the context of the need to fulfil the 30-0 mandate to engage in social transformation, in the midst of an unprecedented epoch-shifting existential challenge of COVID-19, where singular attention was to be placed on economic and social survival, Mottley’s reshuffle appeared to be too blasé an action, and oblivious to the possibility of opposition.
    Awoken sleeping pockets
    Quite interestingly, the Throne Speech, following closely upon the Cabinet reshuffle, introduced a most radical bundle of transformatory policies in one fell swoop. While absolutely necessary in terms of the political development of Barbados, the measures have awoken sleeping pockets of opposition. In the context of the ruffling of feathers occasioned by the reshuffling of elders, the political environment has been made far more challenging than it otherwise might have been.
    And then came the news of the byelection in St George North. Where the reshuffle unsettled the BLP internally, and where the Throne Speech aroused hostile sections of civil society, the by-election has appeared to galvanise the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), in a context where there are now public misgivings about the 30-0 situation.
    The BLP appears to have underestimated the capacity of the opposition to respond in a forthright manner, and to have assumed that, with the recent pro-BLP history of the seat, the byelection would be a confirmation of the status quo.
    Further, the announcement of the by-election came at a moment of uncertainty for the DLP, when the political leader, Verla De Peiza, was facing a leadership challenge. It can be asserted, however, that, following her victory over her challenger George Pilgrim, and her announcement of former West Indies cricketer Floyd Reifer as the DLP candidate in the by-election, De Peiza has consolidated her leadership of the DLP in the last week.
    While the history of St George North does not point to a DLP victory, it is clear that since July 2020, the BLP has made the political situation far more difficult for itself. Where the party should have been navigating through the challenges of COVID-19 and quietly
    pursuing its legislative agenda, it has done the opposite.
    Spoilt by its 2018 landslide, the BLP has unilaterally unsettled the political environment. The full consequences of this, if any, will only be fully determined after November 11.

Dr Tennyson Joseph is a political scientist at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, specialising in regional affairs. Email tjoe2008@live.com.

32. Nobody listening to Mottley with her mock talk about televised debate
    This woman promised transparency and in two years has yet to delivered
    Now pretending to be having a televised
    People already know that the debates are smoke and mirror circus shows

33. This observation of the politics of division by the president, has come a bit late, but it is still necessary. It is clear, even when compared with the rules of Barrow and Tom Adams, that Mottley’s premiership is one of an autocrat, who appears not to consult her Cabinet and believes, mistakenly, that she rules the little Barbadian universe.
    As to the marginalising of the Pan-Africanists, in the person of Mr Prescod, what was and is interesting about that development was the role played by David Commissiong, who, it is said, set himself up as a middle man liaising between the president and the dismissed minister.
    If true, it was Commissiong’s role which undermined the Pan-Africanists position, which had the president on the back foot. First, she brought him in to the fold over the Hyatt proposed development, then she gave him the freedom to interfere with non CARICOM affairs.
    Then we had the Black Lives Matter demonstrations, in which she played a duplicitous role then failed to make any comment, blaming, disgracefully, her position in CARICOM, a regional body of mainly black people; and, further, her position on the removal of the Nelson statue. Interestingly, she demoted the culture minister to a junior, with a desk in her office like a bag carrier.
    But there is also a food chain and the president knows full well that if the state is, by far, the biggest employer in the country, and her rivals’ love ones are state employees on temporary contracts, and they have mortgages and other debt to pay off, then there is a limit to how much they can protest.
    This is the perverse nature of Barbadian – Caribbean – politics. A vote every five years or so means the people giving up their freedoms for a given period, with no control over or say in the management of their democratic institutions.
    Mottley is the politically sharpest person in public life in Barbados, and by far of the 28/9 others in parliament. There are no checks and balances on her dictatorship and the people are living in fear of losing their jobs.
    It is the manifestation of a failed state and will end in tears.

34. @Hal,

on the ball. however, Pressie has no balls. he talked about white shadows behind party decisions but was silenced since he was given another pick. he was bought off. so much for pan africanists and their goals. and you have covered Commisiong. oh…the politics of collusion.

35. Mottley has climbed so high with false pretentious moves
    Her tail is dragging to the ground
    The idea that Mottley is genuinely in favour of having a debate is laughable
    Only recently Caswell exposed Mottley as a person with sinister Motives all designed to benefit self interest
    The country interest is all but an afterthought

36. @ Greene

Plse remind me, did Commissiong take part in any of the Black Lives Matter marches? This apologist for Cuban coffee-coloured racism is playing a very dangerous game. Keep your eyes on him, also note how the Nation and Barbados Today genuflect to his every whim.

37. @Hal

that is a rhetorical question obviously. Commissiong on a BLM march now that he is an Ambassador? really? when pigs fly, mate

38. @ Greene

Is Commissiong our ambassador to Cuba? Why do we allow these foreigners to come in to Barbados and take over?

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Austin how do you make statements like “Why do we allow these foreigners to come in to Barbados and take over?” and maintain equilibrium of credibility????

YOU sir a foreigner in a far away land who ‘took over’ in your own space and competences against locals just like the thousands of others who also superbly did similarly,

I hold no brief for the man but he has lived most of his life here due to his father moving here (dont recall if he was born here) and he has adopted this land as his own… like him or hate him at least give the man the same due care as any ‘foreigner’ who gave their life (in and) to England deserves.

SMH!

40. de pedantic DribblerOctober 8, 2020 9:52 AM Well said.

Hal, are you being deliberately provocative, or are you off the wagon today? That approach is wrong on so many levels, one of which dePendantic has addressed.

Whatever views one has on Commissiong’s worldview, there is no doubt that he speaks from his heart. He is a Caribbean man, a man who also seeks better for all, that has always been his way.

They allow random people like the Kings Beach hoodlum and the Paradise hoodlum, to come and others more recently, to come and make fortunes, then bolt, leaving huge sums owing to the NIS and employees without severance, yet you argue against a man who has done nothing of the sort, merely sought to improve things for the average Barbadian?

What is wrong with the Cuba that Commissiong supports? Against all odds and sanctions it has survived. All African, South American and Caribbean countries should open full diplomatic relations with Cuba.

After all, Cuba was instrumental in the liberation of more than one African nation, via soldiers and arms.

Yet you rally against this? Why?

Commissiong went to the same Crumpton Street that so many of Barbados leaders went to, as his father worked and lived here, as a Caribbean man. He was also one of those few at the school who really interacted with all at the school, where the colonial past still reflected boundaries of color and status and insular thinking, regardless of origin.

Maybe that was because he was indeed from a Guyanese background, not Barbadian.

Insularity is not a good look.

41. PDP and Crusoe do not take on Hal Austin anyone who can suppprt Mariposa in her shite talk cannot be serious.Mr Commisiong has championed many causes and has done far more than Hal Austin will ever do for Barbados.All he is good for is criticizing Ms Mottley and the government a total nuisance.
    Off topic to Mr Ellis and Mr Clarke why continue with the foolishness of christmas in october on love Fm.Christmas music is for December and this to me is a real turn off.Please return the love music to love Fm at thos time of the year.The other thing i am not sure why they continue to give Mr Johnson 2 days on Brasstacks.I can understand Mr Ellis having two because his programmes tend to be exciting but i find Mr Johnson, s to be boring as certain persons do not call him therefore i beleive one day is good for him which would free up a day for Mr Wickham.

42. i didnt know Commissiong’s parent (s) were from Guyana?

i know he was rude to my gran when he almost ran her over whilst riding his scooter / motor cycle from home on Wanstead Heights to uni in 83 or 84.

43. @ Crusoe

I am not being provocative at all, Crumpton Street or no Crumpton Street. I feel strongly about the formation of new communities who then try to change the cultural direction of the very country they settle in to. If I had my way I would close Crumpton Street down and build apartments on the site.
    Commissiong regularly finds himself on the other side of the ordinary black Barbadian. At some point we must stop being polite and question this.
    I am sure you are aware, we have the same thing in the UK with the spread of CoVid. Some communities, for religious and ethnic reasons, refuse to wear facial masks, gloves, use sanitisers etc and go around in groups in public. Only last week we had an illegal wedding of 200 guests in East London. The result is that the spread of the virus in certain locations is reaching crisis point.
    The politicians know, the media know, neighbours know who the culprits are, yet they refuse to call out these people.
    As to Commissiong, I am not so sure he has a political heart. I know he has a lot of inconsistent ideas. Commissiong appears regularly to support the coffee-coloured Cubans’ and Venezuelans’ exclusion of black people from the mainstream of their nations’ lives and constantly finds apologies for them. Is this a coincidence?
    When Raul Castro retired and was replace by Diaz-Canel, who immediately promoted a number of black people, both in the party and the state apparatus, we had a discussion here on BU and I raised the same points and Commissiong said we should give them a chance.
    But the Castros had an opportunity since 1959 and failed black Cubans. I think he does not find it strange that these coffee-coloured people should relegate black people to the back of the bus, as long as their political hearts are in the right place.
    You mentioned that Cuba was involved in the struggles in Angola and Mozambique, which is true, and they have done some wonderful work there. However, the late CLR James, the Trinidad-born Marxist philosopher and thinker of Barbadian heritage, visited Cuba in the Spring of 1968, and never talked about Cuba or the Castros again up until he died. In this he was like Che Guevara and his distancing himself from the revolution. There must have been a reason.
    I also suggest you talk to the many ex-Cubans, not all rightwing Floridians, and get their views about Cuba under the Castros.
    This is not new, and has sailed through the blood of Marxist since Karl Marx’s daughter, Laura, married the coloured Cuban Paul Lafargue. Marx was not a happy man. Race brings out the nasty side of Marxists. Just go back to the New York of the 1950s and 60s, or read Richard Wright and Ralph Ellison, among many.
    As to being an immigrant, it is like inviting someone in to your home who then sets about telling you how to rearrange the furniture. I am a Caribbean person, and have not the slightest objection to his promoting Caribbean unity. I want regional unity, but not at any price. By the way, I thought he was Grenadian/Trinidadian, but it does not matter.
    As we are at it, I cannot understand @Pedantic’s debating style and interventions and would prefer not to have anything to do with him, but he clearly finds it fascinating trying to challenge me. It is not his fault, but mine. I just cannot understand his logic..
    I do not normally mind these things. In fact, I enjoy them, but his reasoning is above my pay grade, whether it is about how we define unemployment, ‘facts’ as per New York Times reports, or now, about the role of immigrants in a new society, i miss it completely.

44. @ Greene

I rest my case. If you cannot respect ordinary elderly black people, then all you say about their welfare is fake.

45. @Hal

he was a young guy at the time so i wont hold that against him

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“In fact, I enjoy them, but his reasoning is above my pay grade, whether it is about how we define unemployment, ‘facts’ as per New York Times reports, or now, about the role of immigrants in a new society, i miss it completely.”

I find it absolutely HILARIOUS that you find my logic incomprehensible. But it’s also interesting that to disagree with YOUR perspective is to ‘CHALLENGE’ you, which is your way of saying ‘how dare you critic me’!

If you perceive that you are beyond criticism or disagreement then so be it … but please try to be a bit more rational about logical progressions!

An expat foreigner working diligently away from his homeland should be the LAST person condemning another ‘foreigner’ for his/her diligent work… if that’s illogical to you then think of it as hypocrisy or more simply as the pot calling the kettle a sweaty tin-can so and so!

I gone!

47. @ Greene

Our values stay with us for life. If he was at university then he was an adult. We can forgive, but never forget. I was once in Grand Bahama and my friends introduced me to an old Bajan headteacher.
    At the time he had been there for over 30 years and they still refused to grant him citizenship. He only became a citizen when a politician he had taught at school pulled a few strings.
    I remember the Bahamians were so hostile to him, even his daughter called him a foreigner. When he saw a friendly face, he took out an old bottle of Mount Gay, probably which he had brought with him from Barbados. And, although I am not a rum person, out of respect I had to have a sip.
    Have you ever met Bajans families in the UK with children born in Barbados and those born in the UK? Two different tribes.

48. @ Pedantic

Here you go again. I have said I do not understand your reasoning and so avoid having any discussion. Now you say I think I am above criticism. I could not explain it better myself. I have not said any such thing. You have jumped to a conclusion.
    I do not perceive anything. My use of challenge does not mean to fight, but to debate and I cannot debate with you because your logical sophistication is above my level of education.
    Your bit on expat foreigner working from home is exactly what I mean by misunderstanding. @pedantic, you are a level above mine. To paraphrase Jurgen Habermas, before two people can have a conversation they must agree on the ground rules. We do not have any such agreement. Not because of you, but because of me.
    Let us end it there and avoid each other in future.

49. @Hal,

Ok, I get where you are coming from. Will take a look for those writings that you mentioned.

There is much paradox in racial cultural aspects of society in the Caribbean and South America. One other example, is the very strong systemic racism in Brazil, of which I only learned a few years ago. I was shocked to think that a country that produced the great Pele so many years ago, still would not let people of darker skin on the television as anchors even.

How must Pele have felt, knowing of all that he did, yet people like him were not accepted fully? Or, is there even a fully? Either you are accepted or not.

But for such a country to still ostracise a majority of the population, even now, is nothing short of astounding. To be allowed to do it. But that is what systemic racism is, occurs and all known, but no one says a word?

Nevertheless, on the bigger picture, Cuba has still done much good, even if as you say, the Castro regime did bad too.

On Commissiong’s origin, maybe I am wrong, I remembered Guyana, not sure.

50. exactly. i dont have to met them to know. i went thru that sibling thing. completely different mind set. i am so glad i was allowed to finish my schooling in Bim. the UK was so different and my siblings were like foreigners to me and I to them. they still are. that is why i will return to Bim to live and why most of my true friends are bajans i went to school with.

there are some good qualities to the UK. and i have made some good friends there but i prefer Bim with all its warts and all. i just hope that we could get our act together and dont see bajans who lived overseas as enemies.

there should be an overseas bajan career bank where bajans could tap into the knowledge and experience of returning national who would give freely of their time. instead we are relegated to remittancers thank you