Submitted by Grenville Phillips, Leader of Solutions Barbados

I listened to our Prime Minister give an interview on ABC Australia, part of which was carried on CBC-TV news on 17 Sep 2020.  In it, the Prime Minister explained that Barbadians will not be allowed a referendum, to decide on whether they support Barbados becoming a Republic.

Our Prime Minister must know that she cannot do that.  Our Attorney General, all the lawyers in the BLP and DLP, our Governor General, and all our judges should know that she cannot do that.  Yet, she noted that she will follow NIKE and “just do it”.

Our Prime Minister is not a dictator, so she must have a proverbial ‘Ace’ up her sleeve.  In the interview, she revealed it.  She justified her approach by explaining her belief that Barbadians elected her to do it.  Let me quote her.

“We certainly campaigned on it in the manifesto, that while we committed to referendum on other issues, we did not on this one, and we made it clear that this is where we believe the country must go.”

WAS IT CLEAR?

As the leader of the third largest political party in Barbados, and on behalf of the thousands of Barbadians who voted for Solutions Barbados in the last General Election, I had to investigate this claim.  Because either I was suffering from some sort of memory loss and had to resign, or our Prime Minister inadvertently misspoke.

I reread the BLP’s 2018 Manifesto.  There was no mention of any plan to make us a Republic.  On the matter of referenda, page 45 states:

“Introducing National Dialogues, National Referenda and consulting with Barbadians on major national issues, such as the decriminalisation of recreational marijuana.”

Is changing our system of government to a Republic, not more of a major national issue than decriminalising recreational marijuana?

I then read the BLP’s 2016 Covenant of Hope.  Again, there was no plan to make us a Republic.  On the mater of referenda, Page 22 states:

“We support the use of People’s Initiatives, as well as the mechanism of Referenda, to ensure that our citizens may influence the work of our Parliament and our Executive. This permits our people, and not only Parliamentarians, to have an appropriate role in decision-making on fundamental issues affecting the stability and cohesion of our nation. This must always follow an intensive public education programme.”

If fundamentally changing our system of government to a Republic, does not qualify as a fundamental issue affecting the stability and cohesion of our nation, then what does?

WHAT WENT WRONG?

So, where could our Prime Minister have gotten the idea, that a Republic plan was in their campaign manifesto?  I decided to investigate.  I read the BLP’s 2013 Manifesto, but there is no mention of a Republic plan.  So, I read the BLP’s 2008 Manifesto, and there it was, on page 77:

“Update the Constitution Review Commission recommendations on replacing the Crown with a Barbadian President and proceed to consult the public fully by way of a referendum”

Clearly the BLP’s stated intent was to measure the public’s support, of our politicians’ desire for a Barbadian Republic, by a national referendum.  So, what happened?’

One possible explanation is that a plan to make Barbados a republic without a national referendum, was in an early draft of the BLP’s 2018 Manifesto.  Since the BLP cannot force Barbados to become a republic, that plan was abandoned.  Whatever the explanation, the BLP does not have a mandate to make us a Republic.

Without a mandate from the people to make us a Republic, the BLP needs to go back to the drawing board.  To become a Republic, there must be support from both the Government and the Public.  The public’s support is normally measured by a national referendum.  No referendum, no republic.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-09-17/barbados-prime-minister-phil-williams-republic-mia-mottley/12675372?nw=0

330 responses to “No Referendum, no Republic!”

1. @ Donna
    “ Agreed. People don’t trust Commisiong. Not sure about Prescod. William Skinner seems to have time for him.”

I have known Comrade Prescod for several years. We were young Radicals and Black Power progressives in the struggle. For a brief moment we were in the NDP. I know that his background has always been for the betterment of the masses. I am not oblivious to the dangers of trying to change from the inside. I had my experiences in the NDP.

2. JohnSeptember 20, 2020 4:49 PM

DC looking old.

Guess it happens to us all.

I look at DC now and think of his espousal of positions he has held it seems like forever and never seen them come to fruition to date.

I think of Trevor Marshall recently figuring out that moving Nelson will interfere more with the psyches of black people than white people.

I wonder if the time they invested in their pet dreams to rewrite the past was really worth it or a bit of a waste.

3. Nelson and a republic seem so irrelevant these days.

4. @Hal Austin September 20, 2020 4:54 PM “Is Commissiong a Barbadian? Should he have a say in this important decision? Only Barbados born voters should be allowed to vote in any referendum.”

So a Barbados born voter who left Barbados at I week old, remained out of Barbados until age 65, never worked or paid a cent of taxes in Barbados. Returned, three years later a referendum is held and this person can vote.

A person born abroad of 2 Bajan parents, moves to Barbados at 1 week old, and remains here for 65 years. worked here and paid taxes here for 40 or more years. A referendum is called and this person cannot vote.

How is this going to work?

5. @Sargeant September 20, 2020 3:33 PM “Life too sweet.”

Alas, not so sweet for we the people who have to fund the whole darn sh!t show.

6. @Simple Simon

Can you remind us where the late Prime Minister David Thompson was born?

7. @Donna September 20, 2020 3:44 PM “When the old men whose pockets should already be full take all the jobs what happens to the young men?????”

My auntie, born in 1920, told me once about an old man who had no money, not even enough for his burial fees because

“he bank all he money in de hairy purses”

But maybe auntie was lying.

8. David. Ask Hal. It is his idiotic idea.

9. @ss
    ‘bank all he money”….or made many deposits?

10. Or for that matter, Boris Johnson. Born in the USA, schooled until early teens in USA. When he returned, he eventually gave up US citizenship, not out of patriotism, but to avoid US taxes.

However, he seems to still have allegiance to the USA, or at least to US corporate interests, considering the nonsense that he has done and is now trying to break international law too, to get whatever he is trying to.

So, maybe Hal does have a point.

11. My man, yuh talking crap! I can vote for an MP and help to pick who governs but not in a referendum?

As the young people would say, “Wuh sortah vibes you pon?”

Preposterous!

12. John the Racist,

One often dies without seeing one’s vision come to fruition. Happens on the battlefield. Others take up the baton. MLK did not get there with them and his vision still isn’t completely fulfilled. Progress was made and the battle continues.

And most Bajans don’t give a damn about Nelson! Only old farts and racist whites do!

You don’t get tired lying and twisting truth?????

Yuh mean EVERY DAY SO??????????

13. Comissiong cannot be trusted, he is well aware that when nelson’s statute was mounted the people were slaves, had no say in anything, could not talk not even to speak to each other, were used as the means to make money to mount a RACIST STATUTE off theirs and their ancestors backs, both him and that fraud freedom liar are aware of this, so if he was honest with himself he would say it’s SLAVEMASTERS put up that statutue and stop calling them the planter class with his bullshit word play and freedom liar would not be saying THE PEOPLE put up any statue, what people, they were slaves and the minorities were slave catchers, neither had money to requisition any state…slave masters were a world apart from both…

don’t know what new scam Mia and the corrupt minorities are trying to run on the world and on the local people now, but they cannot get away from the reality that they ALL ROBBED THE ISLAND AND PEOPLE TOGETHER AS CROOKS AND BUSINESS PARTNERS OF BILLIONS OF DOLLARS AND FOR DECADES….both them and DLP.

watch muh nuh …and watch the world hear all about it.

14. Nation EDITORIAL
    Tell public the pros, cons

THERE IS UNLIKELY to be any serious push back to the plan to move Barbados from a monarchial system to that of a Republican. Unlike the lead up to Independence when there was vocal opposition to the break from Britain, 50 years on we have proven our competence and ability to manage our own affairs.
    Barbadians are sufficiently mature to continue plotting their destiny as a sovereign nation in the community of world nations that breaking this last vestige of colonialism should prove to be anything but difficult.
    We will remain a member of the Caribbean Community along with other republics such as Dominica, Guyana, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago, and within the Commonwealth. There will be no significant change in what we have been doing.
    The shift in status will come at a cost and the public needs to know what it will be. The Royal Barbados Police Force will have to undergo a name change, the Barbados Defence Force will do away with the Queen’s colours, attorneys at law will no longer be awarded Queen’s Counsel designation and some clarity will be needed as to whether the Knight and Dame of St Andrew should still be our highest national award.
    This is why the Mia Amor Mottley administration must be careful not to put the cart before the horse with this most important initiative. It must engage the public and ensure that they are educated to all the pros and cons. It is more than having a Barbadian as our Head of State.
    The recently announced Cheltenham Commission must be allowed to undertake and complete its review of the parliamentary system which should guide the kind of changes required to go hand-in-hand with the Republican structure. There are critical Constitutional matters up for review.
    Issues ranging from whether Barbados should adopt proportional representation in preference to the existing first past the post, have a unicameral legislature and do away with the unelected hand-picked
    Senate are matters which should be resolved before the switch to Republican status. We should also be agreed on how to strengthen the doctrine of the separation of powers for the institutions of government in the Westminster system which we will continue to follow.
    In the Barbados Labour Party’s 2018 election-winning manifesto the party’s political leader Mia Amor Mottley in her message said in part, “… the reality is that what happens to Barbados happens to all of us because – WE ARE BARBADOS.” These words are of exceptional significance as the country looks to make a major constitutional shift within the next 15 months. The public must be involved.
    Barbadians need to know how the President will be chosen, the term of office and the precise roles and duties of the office holder directly from Prime Minister Mottley and not via a foreign broadcaster, social media or any other source.
    This is an initiative which must be undertaken properly, fairly and in the people’s best interest. It must not be about political legacy.
    The shift in status will come at a cost and the public needs to know what it will
    be.

15. “MLK did not get there with them and his vision still isn’t completely fulfilled.”

When MLK was protesting in 60’s and marching to Selma in 65 etc there were many whites protesting against him and many racist Police abusing their power. Trump is one of them and represents them.

He is Anti-#BLACKLIVESMATER same way he was Anti-MLK and Anti-MLK Public Holiday.
    UK and USA are still trying to vilify #BLM today. Their leaders talk about Hong Kong but are deaf dumb blind to cries of blacks.

▶ Here I Come
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Joxe9iV4lt4

▶ Here I Come Dub
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gehoX9_FrVk

16. Would Donville be allowed to vote?

He may have taken up residence outside of Barbados by the time the referendum rolls around and may be able to return to vote.

His vote may be needed by the republicans to get their numbers over the two thirds requirement!!

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/89182/inniss-favour-republic

What about his dentist buddy, “Doc” Morley?

Sounds like he was born in the UK but a friend of Donville must support the republic as does Donville.

Our courts have gone to great lengths to get him the right to vote.

He also contributes to the Mockley plan of population increase.

His vote might just tip the balance.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/160723/court-okay-vote

17. … and if Donville for some reason cannot return, should some special provision be made for him to cast his vote.

After all he is a former minister of Government and as such potentially a future National Hero of Barbados

18. @John

Go and drink your Horlicks.

19. Or take his medication.

20. John, thanks for the laugh. That is funny.

Now go get your Horlicks.

21. @NorthernObserver September 20, 2020 11:28 PM

Thanks for the correction.

Made many deposits indeed.

22. As a child I was never made to take Horlicks or Ovaltine or Milo.

Along the way I became a Coke addict.

23. @David September 21, 2020 6:44 AM ‘@ohn Go and drink your Horlicks.”

David, you is bare trouble den!

LOL!

24. THOSE WHO REFUSE TO LEARN FROM HISTORY ARE DOOMED TO REPEAT IT…WHY ERASE IT?

Lord Nelson was Critical in bringing about an End to the Slave Trade. The Battle of Trafalgar was Won in 1805 which meant that Britain Controlled the High Seas…

Then when Wilberforce passed the international Slave Trade Act two years later, 1807, Britain was able to control the seas and actually enforce that Act against all other colonial slave trades…

If it wasn’t for British control of the high seas, the international slave trade may well have continued.

He was absolutely critical in dying for his country and actually making sure that Act counted and didn’t lay dying on the statute book.

LORD HORATIO NELSON IS CREDITED WITH SAVING BARBADOS FROM SURE DESTRUCTION BY FRENCH INVADERS IN 1805.

Nelson was a Hero to England and Barbados. We with little knowing of the true history of Lord admiral Horatio Nelson he was the protector of the West Indy’s. Without Nelson we would have changed hands several time from Portage’s, French and Spanish Nelson was stationed in the Caribbean in his youth. He whipped the French in 4 major battles Copenhagen, Port St. Vincent, The battle of the Nile and Trafalgar. Why would you remove his statue?

His popularity came because of the impression he made on Barbadians at the time, resulting in them purchasing the statue and land when he died, naming it Trafalgar Square and paying tribute to the Admiral by erecting the statue.

Barbadians Used to Celebrate Nelson and Horatio are Common Barbadian Names

Statue of Horatio Nelson, Trafalgar Square, Bridgetown, Barbados

https://i2.wp.com/www.bajanthings.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/Nelson_TrafalgarSq_1_CharlesWBlackburne_web.jpg?ssl=1

25. @John September 21, 2020 8:37 AM “Along the way I became a Coke addict.”

Coke or coke addict?

26. @ David [BU]:

How can the AG Marshall make such a dogmatic claim that the [vast] majority of Bajans are in favour of Barbados going republic and therefore there is NO need to have a referendum on such matter of major national importance?

Where is the evidence to back such an assertion? Was such a proposal included in his party’s manifesto and backed by the 30-0 electoral result?

Can’t similar claims be made for other doggedly controversial issues like the decriminalization of marijuana and prostitution and the ‘legalization’ of same sex unions?

If republicanism is the way to go -in spite of the additional financial cost involved and possible fears of losing a major slice of its share of the UK tourism travel and tourism market-then who is to stop his administration from removing from the statute books the offending pieces of legislation which discriminate against some minority groups and blatantly violate their human rights as guaranteed under the UN convention(s)?

Minority groups which pose no danger or threats to the mainstream society but do not have the socio-economic clout like the so-called ‘conservative’ white minority which, according to David Comissiong, prevented the various administrations from going republic since gaining ‘political’ Independence.

‘Jesus’, we know that Bajans do not possess the intellectual sophistication of the Swiss or the more ‘libertinely’ relaxed attitudes of the Dutch but please don’t allow your ‘moral’ hypocrisy to retard your social and economic progress, as an open-minded country fit for the 21st century.

27. The by election in SGN can send a strong message to government don’t you think?

28. @ Quaker John

Why is it that some people try to make fun of you while the biggest jokers on BU are seemingly popular? They seem to want you to curl up and die?

29. @ DavidSeptember 21, 2020 8:46 AM

How can it when the electoral result is a foregone ‘red’ conclusion?

Given the ‘ICU’ state of the DLP and the unattractiveness of its most likely candidate for SGN seat how can the BLP lose that riding?

Don’t be surprised if there is another vacancy in the very near future to test your ‘hypothesis’.

30. @Miller

You are a stats man, we can do a deviation from the mean LOL.

31. Hal AustinSeptember 21, 2020 8:54 AM

@ Quaker John

Why is it that some people try to make fun of you while the biggest jokers on BU are seemingly popular? They seem to want you to curl up and die?

It’s because as a child I was never forced to drink Horlicks … or Ovaltine or Milo and was left to think independently of others.

In my younger days I barely spoke, a friend told my mother I was her thinker.

Many on here were programmed to drink Horlicks as is clear from their default position of what they expect me to do and they talk without thinking.

They probably never experienced Ovaltine or Milo or Coke.

32. Nowadays Kool-aid has replaced Horlicks and the cycle repeats!!

33. Plus, I was never interested in popularity!!

34. @John
    Where is your buddy @plt. Is he a new Czar?

35. @john2
    Hope you exercised your option.

36. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John September 21, 2020 9:40 AM
    “Nowadays Kool-aid has replaced Horlicks and the cycle repeats!!”

Take back that statement or I will sue for blasphemy… Nothing can ever ever take the place of Horlicks!!!

37. Here we go again! Last week you called him “vile”. Now today you are his ally against me.

You do realise that if perchance a white policeman knelt on your black neck until you were dead up in merry ole England, I would howl in anger and he would say you probably gave them cause?

And again, I explained what I meant by the “curl up and die” comment. It was not meant as you continue to use it.

You are a dishonest man

38. Hal Austin September 21, 2020 8:54 AM “They seem to want you to curl up and die?”

Please note that even though we rarely agree with John, we all wish him good health, long life and happiness.

And he and you should try bayleaf, ginger, lime or lemon grass tea.

Very, very soothing

39. And that is why you are drawn to the even more dishonest John the Racist even though you know HE thinks YOU are a joker for it and is even now giggling at your self- defeating post.

He knows I would stand up for you despite your contempt, I have done that at work for people who did not like me. Left them with mouths dropped open. But in the circumstances they were right and I had to back them up.

But John has found excuses even for George Zimmerman. And every damn one after that.

And that is the “independent” thinking to which he refers. Him and a few billion racists and some brainwashed “evangelicals”.

40. Me. I have never drunk Horlicks. We milked the cows so had 2 to 6 gallons of fresh milk everyday.

And we heated it, added Fry’s cocoa and a few bayleaves, and a bit of sugar, and this was our morning and evening drink

Delicious.

41. “Republicanism has a long history in Barbados. In 2005, a referendum on the subject was planned. At the time, Mottley, then deputy prime minister, said she was “committed” to letting the public “pass judgement on it”. Yet, due to costs, the referendum was postponed. Mottley’s Barbados Labour Party was then voted out of office. Now it is back, and so is the issue of a republic, though the lofty assurances about democratic legitimacy are gone.

At the opening of the Barbadian parliament on September 15, the Queen’s official representative in the country, the governor-general, Dame Sandra Mason made no mention of a referendum on the decision to become a republic. However, she did announce a popular vote on same-sex marriage equality, which will be the first referendum ever held in Barbados.

A referendum is not required to become a republic under the island’s constitution – which only needs a two-thirds majority in both houses of parliament.” The CQNVERSATION-September 17,2020 (theconversation.com)

42. Cuhdear Bajan,

True happiness comes from speaking truth not lies.

I wish John relief from whatever it is that warps his mind.

I wish him TRUE happiness.

43. Me too.

44. But of course Hal needs to see us as savage.

45. We are not savages or beasts. We strongly disagree on issues sometimes. This is the nature of debate in a forum like this which can be muscular at times. When the dust settles we wish everyone well, Tom, Dick and K. Hunte.

46. I agree with critical analyzer, whorelicks cannot be replaced.

47. @quaker john
    @gopher
    “Nowadays Kool-aid has replaced Horlicks and the cycle repeats”

You seem to be in an extremely good mood today. Two attempts at humor in less than a day.

Count me on the side that wants you to be happy. Have a great referendum free day in Barbados

Have a great day Barbados.

48. I never knew how hard doing comedy could be until I saw Lawson attempting it.

49. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 21, 2020 10:59 AM

Me. I have never drunk Horlicks. We milked the cows so had 2 to 6 gallons of fresh milk everyday.

And we heated it, added Fry’s cocoa and a few bayleaves, and a bit of sugar, and this was our morning and evening drink

Delicious.

Same principle.

Twice in one day sure sign!!

50. Explains alot.