Submitted by Andrew Nehaul

Many write about tourism being on the way out but few provide any solid ideas or concepts that can be used as an economic substitute. With your permission I would like to change the subject.

I may be wrong but I get the impression that many who visit this site live abroad. Be it the USA, Canada, the UK or other place, they live in what is commonly referred to as a first world country. It does not matter where they live, I am of the opinion that they see and experience technology daily that can help improve the situation in Barbados.

With your permission I will digress. Many years ago when I lived in Barbados, I went to a small company in Rendezvous to get my muffler repaired. While standing there waiting for my car to be fixed, I overheard a conversation  with two young men that I remember to this day.

One man said “I was in Miami last week and you would never guess what I saw”
“No. Tell me” the other replied.
“I saw a white waiter” the first one said.
“No way”

I could not understand what they were talking about as I had recently returned from working in Banff, Alberta, Canada as part of my hotel education course in Vancouver. At the Banff Springs Hotel I worked as a waiter with Canadians of all colours and from all parts of the world. So, to see a white waiter was not new. Later, I understood that for a person who had never left the island and saw only black waiters, seeing a white person working as a waiter must be unique.

A few weeks ago I read that Bizzy Williams and his Company had developed an electric bus which he probably wanted to sell to the Government. I thought to myself that this is not the future for Barbados as we still import fossil fuel to create electricity. Any electric vehicles in most part only increases the import cost and is a drain on foreign exchange. What Bizzy should have done was to develop a garbage truck run on biogas and get the Government to encourage separation of garbage where the organic material is used to create bio gas. Alternatively, use sugar cane for bio energy.

In Europe this is a part of our daily living. We separate garbage and the organic waste is transformed to bio gas that runs the buses and other Government vehicles.

On the other hand, even though Sweden has many lakes and a great deal of water, it is a vital commodity and regarded with a high priority.

In my small community we have a system of water pipes that are over 70 years old. I am not an engineer and suspect that the pipes are galvanize or iron based. When they leak, the water authority sources the leak and then instead of replacing the pipes which means digging up the road, they run a plastic sleeve in the pipe, blow hot air through to seal and fasten the plastic to the wall of the pipe and use them for many more years. It is proven technology and should be adopted in Barbados.

These are only 2 things that I see here in Sweden that can help Barbados. I am positive that other Bajans living abroad have seen technology around them and can share their thoughts and experiences with BU which may help Barbados solve a few of its problems.

52 responses to “Bajans Abroad Have the Best Eyes and Ears”

1. What’s wrong with this gentleman? Sir, don’t you know that all Barbadians on the island want from their brothers and sisters abroad is their money and or other personal items. Hell, even when we retire and return to live in Barbados we soon find that those who previously respected and appreciated our help and efforts while we lived abroad are no longer that way since the cash isn’t flowing like before. How many of us are here living and would love to assist but the schmucks only now seeing us as know it all.

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Most people on the island want to see these greedy riffraff for minorities CRASH and BURN…they have had a long run sucking on the majority population…time to find someone else to suck on OR…assimilate into the NEW WORLD ORDER for Barbados and hopefully the other islands where the leaders are equally destructive, mentally weak and useless to their own people….and need to be PUT IN THEIR PLACE.

New World Order = the majority population who FUND the treasury, the pension fund and everything else on the island and have for centuries, starting with their brutalized ancestors…ARE NO LONGER FORCED INTO BEING DEPENDENT on everyone else by the black faces in the parliament, everyone wants to see minority parasites gone, one way or the other they will be…the people whose votes they have no choice but to beg AGAIN in 2023 HAVE TO DEMAND their INDEPENCE from this weak government..it’s decades overdue.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245778/gloomy-forecast

CRASH and BURN…

“Corporate earnings in Barbados will take a big “hit” from the COVID-19 pandemic, says an investment expert.

Fortress Fund Managers Ltd investment director Roger Cave cautioned that while his firm was “quite positive and optimistic” of a recovery in a year or two, “2020 is not going to be a pretty picture for most companies operating in the region”.

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

..the same majority population who they WILFULLY and MALICIOUSLY FINANCIALLY STAGNATED for decades and whose votes they have no choice but to beg AGAIN in 2023 HAVE TO DEMAND their INDEPENDENCE from this weak government..it’s decades OVERDUE.

4. @whiteHill

Andrew has made a plea for Bajans living abroad to share their wisdom to those who may want to take it on the ground. Those who want to should, if others prefer not to, they should shut up.

5. @David, yours is the typical response in every instance. You and your Bajans living here are not to be called out, you’re not to be made aware of your little island attitude and mentality. Look here Mr. David, for some time now I have had Bajans complained about some mindless drivel shit regarding providing a service for the tourists, very often I knew what you complained about was done for me in another country with a smile and a willingness to assist further. I spoke of this attitude toward those who provided your daily bread…The hotels are now closed, people are out of work. When will they ever learn, when will they ever…

6. great ideas, the problem with Barbados is there are no natural resources to sell, so what you have is a step and fetch economy that should be engaging in new technologies but because of finances keep going down the same rabbit hole not being able to try something new in case of failure, which would be a death sentence for a ruling party. So same old same old it is .. Andrew it must have been just as startling when those boys met a Canadian hooker. No Barbados is to suffer in the short term and maybe long if they don’t adhere to one simple principal ..know the game your in. Nice to see Barbados as backward as it can be has not sacrificed its elderly for herd immunity like Sweden you can only hope this will keep them in good standing with elderly tourists.

7. I like this week post. Some food for thought.

Whitehill’s comment cannot be ignored as it points out some of the fences that need to be fixed if we are to use input from all.

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“but because of finances keep going down the same rabbit hole not being able to try something new in case of failure,”

in contrast…look at the BILLIONS of the people’s money they have squandered on everyone else but the people to whom it belongs, all going down rabbit holes year after year, with no returns…and they feel no way…that is the BIGGEST FAILURE of both governments…they had no fear doing it and would do it again in a HEARTBEAT once the bribe is right..

they are not business oriented, never were, or they would know that business failures when it happens to their own people is a potential success story to learn more and be even better next time…

Theo…all those “new ideas” have been REGURGITATED on BU a thousand million times before…they are only being presented in a different package, yes Bajans and other who live outside consistently expressed the same sentiments, every opportunity they got, but did any of the two uppity governments listen, oh no, they prefer listen to the usual crooks instead.

forget it Whitehill…they will never learn or they would DO RIGHT BY THE PEOPLE who elected them, instead of bouncing from one scandal to the other, bottomline is, they do not want to do right by their people, but are breaking their stupid necks trying to impress and do right by everyone else..

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now this is a local dude, but would any one of them listen to him, of course not, you know why, because he makes sense…..they are going to wait until the island falls into the same tourism dependency TRAP as Bali…then they are going to be running off to CNN and BBC to cry, when what Christopher is saying has been said millions of times already right here on BU….being dependent on tourism ONLY will destroy many people in this plague…

we warned them and warned them and warned them over YEARS and were attacked repeatedly for our troubles…generational DEPENDENCY on tourism = poverty and death..

BTW..he is from the minority group on the island…..

https://www.9news.com.au/world/bali-locals-without-food-or-electricity-as-economic-impact-of-coronavirus-sets-in/a826b04f-94ba-436e-8c88-96c7f85a4dfd?fbclid=IwAR3zYTq8azOalh7bzesK-9Om19jp26EebzBcr8-VZV7-pjQnaXFj5zQqGt8

“Christopher Robinson
    54 mins ·
    The immediate future of Barbados? It’s why GOB needs to divert money into Agriculture and boost food production to 2500 acres so the nation can avoid famine. Our big advantage is population size, 280,000 approx and not millions. We will starve the same way though if GOB continues to be myopic about this reality.”

“There are few places in the world where hospitality, tourism and culture are as deep-rooted in the psyche than Bali.
    But Indonesia’s tropical holiday island is no longer the bustling tourist destination that Aussies love – coronavirus has transformed the relaxation destination and party capital into a “ghost town”.
    More than 80 per cent of the island’s four million residents have relied on the tourism industry for generations, but with international borders closed and the island now resembling a shadow of its former self, locals are left struggling.”

10. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

“mornin’ whitehill

11. @whiteHill

What does the harping bring to the table? The whole world is in shit. Those Barbadians who want to help let them. Those who do not give a shit be off.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

We have come to learn that many people on the island suffer with short memories, whether by design, malicious and deliberate, is still debateable…..what we do know is that fowls have no memory at all.. …so i will now try to jog the short memory syndrome crowd see if something clicks..

about 2 or 3 years ago, could even be longer i said that the land should be RELEASED to the people, in case of these types of eventualities because people who know…also know that GENERATIONAL LANDLESSNESS leads to disaster and POVERTY…well i got bewuezed on BU for about two days, because according to the clowns on BU the land is for investment purposes…read…SELL OUT to any foreign or local crook….but none of it is to be released to the people because they are not supposed to own anything in Barbados…so i took my bewuezing and waited..

enter Mia full of energy and folly…she rushes off on her whirlwind world spin and hit Suriname, ran back to Barbados gushing about how Bajans can go to Suriname and work land, so am like, does any Bajan speak Dutch, no one answered except some fowl boasting about going to Holland, i said of course, am sure to the redlight district..

….so having a very close Dutch relation i told them that EVERY PERSON born in Suriname, a Black majority country with a population of 500 thousand, is ENTITLED to a PLOT OF LAND UPON BIRTH….with no deviation…they grow their own food AND ARE INDEPENDENT of tourism and i know for sure they are well independent of supermarkets unless necessary….well i got bewuezed again…par for the course..

but you will note that the same Suriname is not as VULNERABLE to the coming shocks and POVERTY that is coming at everyone at HIGH SPEED…because the people are more INDEPENDENT than dependent, not even the plague rocked them, they had one or two deaths and no more infections last i heard…

13. @ Whitehill

you are generally correct. almost all overseas bajans have experienced that.

i learnt early o’clock not to point out flaws or give any advice to my local peeps unless it comes with some dosh.

but i have found recently, with youtube and economic decline, bajans are finally starting to be receptive to new ideas, even though they hate to credit the source

my only regret- i have none to share

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

If Mia does not know what i am saying or pretending to not know because i have posted it here before when the other parasites were in the parliament selling out, she can always call up Desi and ask him, am sure she got him on speed dial ……because even he knows that is one of the reasons Surinamese will be loathed to ever get rid of him…

.the only reason am giving out this information AGAIN is so that the PEOPLE IN BARABDOS DO NOT STARVE TO DEATH….it’s not to give low crawling politicians any ideas to entrench themselves in the parliament to continue to sell out…..especially since NO ONE IS BUYING NOR BRIBING…

she should think about it instead of running hither and yon yammering on and on about some new world order…the new world order is to FREE UP THE LAND to the majority population AND THE MARIJUANA.

my good deed for the day, don’t piss me off…

15. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I expect that in the medium term tourism wil recover, but human beings can starve to death in 6 weeks, so we need short term, medium term and long term plans.

Short term we need to bost for production, and even when there is an economic recovery we need to produce much more of our food even if it is more expensive to do so. It is alright to wait for your neighbours to invite yu to diner, but it is much better to be able t put on your own pot.

So boost food production. No more nonsense about selling all of the land to the highest bidder. That is short sighted.

Integrate food production into tourish. In fact marry the two. Whatever you say about Barbados and Bajans we have some great creative chefs. Retain them. Pay them well. and let them do their thing with local produce. And yes I have eaten at restaurants in dozens of countries, and those places have nothing on us when it comes to cokng.

Boost fisheries. We are sitting in the Atlantic Ocean for goodness sake. And use the fisheries to feed ourselves and the tourists.

Right now oil and gas is selling for a dime a dozen, but we still need fossil fuels. So boost energy production. I know that that takes big capital to do so. So it will mean that we have to partner with the deep pocket guys.

Solar energy. Neither the world nor Barbados is going to run out of sunshine anytime soon. We have been moving to solar. We need to continue to do so.

This is niche tourism, but if International students contributed $45 billion to the U.S. economy in 2018, according to the U.S. Department of Commerce. Surely Barbados can develop and hold a piece of this pie. So we should be selling education, on land and online. Imagine that there are a billion Chinese or more who want their children to learn to learn English. Language teaching can be done beautifully on line. Develop and maintain that market. And if all of those Chinese kiddies develop Rihanna accents so much the better.

And this is one in the dark. But maybe, just maybe we should look at elder tourism. Truthfully neither Sweden, the U.K., the U.S. are doing so good with their elders right now. Barbados has traditionally hosted wealthy elderly tourists for winter-long holidays. Maybe these long holidays can be extended to the upper middle class.

And alas Barbados will stil need to to export workers. So let us export some of the workers who are just as wonderful and hard working as the contributors to this blog. But “yes” whitehill they will have to send some of their earnings home, because when workers migrate they often leave behind children and elders, and often the grannies, mummies, aunties etc. take excellent care of the children and elders left behind. Those caregivers needed to be rewarded. Too often all the world disregards the “free’ work done by caregivers, especially the work done by female caregivers. Me for example, if i had been paid for all of the ‘free” childcare and eldercare which i have provided, I would be sitting real-real pretty all like now. So often you say that you send money and parcels to “us” when in fact you are sending the money and parcels for the care of your parents and your children. Tell the truth now, how many of you have ever paid the going rate for childcare and eldercare that you would have to pay in the north? I’ve read where eldercare in the north can cost up to $10,000 USD/CDN etc. per month. if you elderly parents are here and are being cared for by your siblings surely those deserve a part of that $10,000. I know that in my case I had a real, real hard time getting $100 per month out of some siblings, even though OUR elderly parents required care for 15 years and 3 months. And both parents remained at home for all but 8 months. That is 8 months between the two of them, so on average 4 months institutional care per person. I can assure you that i did not become rich offa less than $100 per month. So yes. Pay the “free” laborers.

What did the Canadian PM say about the poor care delivered to Ontario and Quebec’s elders?

16. Bajans know evuhting. They even punchabovetheirweight.

Poor ideation is only part of the problem. The main issue is a lack of openness to novel thinking and a corrupt, closed cadre of recycled failures — in positions of authority — believing that they have all the answers.

Have a look at The President’s Circle for how this (mal)functions in practice.

17. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Greene May 27, 2020 7:36 AM “you are generally correct. almost all overseas bajans have experienced that.”

Take it easy.

There is something called culture shock. Remember that feeling of dislocation when you first migrated?

There is also something called reverse culture culture shock when people return to the culture in which they were raised. Dislocation also recurs then. It is NOT, I repeat NOT a peculiarly Bajan thing.

I have a sibling who has sworn that she will never return to Barbados because whenever she does she catches a cold. That is Barbados gives her a cold. Even though I have explained to her that she is more likely to catch the cold shut up on a plane with hundreds of strangers for many hours rather that outdoor in Barbados or indoors with all of the windows open, I have not been able to persuade her that Barbados is not a disease ridden place, even though both of her parents lived to 85+. She is absolutely convinced that Barbados gives her a cold. And sunburn. Of course any human being will get sunburn if they rush straight from the great white north in winter and spends four hours outdoors next day during the hottest part of the day. So I still love her. No. I don’t want her money or her things. But how can a person who has made up her mind be persuaded?

Barbados is 13.06 degrees north of the Equator. We cannot change that. Or maybe we can?

Help me here.

18. Cuhdear Bajan,

v good submission. even tho not novel those suggestions are sensible and worth a thorough examination with a view to implementation.

regarding the bit about overseas people and their children, parents and responsibilities left in Bim, again you are correct. but it is a two way street with parents. quite often i find that siblings in Bim believe that the responsibility to take care of parents should rests solely on those over and away.

i have issues with overseas peeps leaving children behind and disappearing, or only sending home money and not corresponding with them or their caregivers who are often siblings or grandparents. again a two way street. often said siblings and grands use that to bash these children, often reminding them that the parents “dont even send nothing for them, or speak to them and left them hey for somebody to look after.” others do a magnificent job and like you said should be rewarded

overall, bajans need to listen and overseas peeps need to be humble.

or do like me and say nothing whilst doing my own thing

19. @at Mr. Bu, I see you’ve gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. Now you are ass is pleading for help from your bajan sisters and brothers when previously you treated them like shit. How the hell you think we must have felt when white men stood in awe of these black men from this little island then to have some schmuck from Black rock tell us, ” we in wanna hear nuffin from wunna, this n America, this is Barbados.” What’s that about a Crapaud and a pipe? I done wid dat and you, you can guh long.

20. @ Cuhdear, I’m not returning your good morning, why? you should be saying it to me in person a short while ago with my coffee.

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

If you haven’t spend a decade and a half looking after your elders, while raising children and holding down a full time job you don’t know what you are talking about. It means a decade and a half getting up at 4:30 in the morning to prepare meals and assist with baths and medication; and weekends spent doing your own house cleaning, laundry and cooking and that of your elderly parents. It means going after work to provide care, sometimes dragging a toddler or an elementary school aged child with you. It means somehow finding the time to supervise those children’s homework. It means paying a care giver out of yoour own pocket when yoou have to travel for your job. It means zero holidays for a decade and a half.

It means continuing the next day, and the next, and the next for more than 5,000 days.

Cuhdear man. Give we an ease up nuh. It means taking care of things in the south, so that you in the north can devote your time to your work, your family and to nice holidays abroad.

22. Well this writer will be one of those who will ‘be off” as directed by the dictator in chief and mindguard.

When middle class bajans make these pious demands as though by right only when selfless service to nation is required by the unpaid masses that his industry has exploited for decades they should be recognized for what they are.

But when there are opportunities to mek rasssoul money or control the
    commanding heights of the economy the likes of andrew nehall cannot be found.

Under these circumstances we say to the likes of the andrew nehalls
    and his supporters to kiss muh rasssssssshole.

Nehall should tell us how many bajans have been flustrated while trying to invest in Barbados. How generations of entrepreneurs have been flustrated by a country still ruled by a vicious form of crypto racism as an economic construct.

But when running around and doing shiiite, to serve local corporate interests, is necessary these appleals could be blithely made of Bajans living abroad by a descendent of someone who benefited unduly from what is now seen as social capital.

That well-used dog will no longer hunt.

23. @ to All…as a bajan now residing here in Barbados, I’m in this shit with all of you, there is nothing I wouldn’t do if called upon.

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Sadly as the world is experiencing now, no technology can yet look after ma and pa and little Susie and Johnnie.

The care of children and elders is still intensely human hands-on.

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    “Nehall should tell us how many bajans have been flustrated while trying to invest in Barbados. How generations of entrepreneurs have been flustrated by a country still ruled by a vicious form of crypto racism as an economic construct.”

Now Pacha, yuh cud see why we can’t just give up! Man, if I did not have the honor of being exposed to : John, Leroy, Bobby. J. Connell, Calvin Alleyne, Tyrone Evelyn, Glenroy Straughn and brothers like yourself, I would not write or say a single word. Believe me.

26. Sir William

We have become convinced that what is sometimes called the political-mangerial class and their confederates in the blogosphere think that the masses are idiots, all of the rest of us.

The internation system is possiibly in the greatest depression ever known and instead of thinking about rebuilding a better system, to serve all the people, all these people what is to reestablish things as they were.

Sir William, there has to come a time when a great arising wipe these people out.

27. whiteHillMay 27, 2020 4:52 AM

What’s wrong with this gentleman? Sir, don’t you know that all Barbadians on the island want from their brothers and sisters abroad is their money and or other personal items. Hell, even when we retire and return to live in Barbados we soon find that those who previously respected and appreciated our help and efforts while we lived abroad are no longer that way since the cash isn’t flowing like before. How many of us are here living and would love to assist but the schmucks only now seeing us as know it all.

Learning, I have always found, is a two way street. I find that everybody I meet has something, however slight to teach me. I have discovered some gems in the unlikeliest of places. Those are actually the ones that stick with me. But then again I like learning as much as I like teaching.

Europeans always boast of teaching the Africans and truth be told they did some of that but some of us are only now realizing that Africa too had much to teach them.

Duh!

There are ignorant and insecure Bajans here just as well as there are know-it-all Bajans returning from abroad. I have met both types. EQUALLY OBNOXIOUS!

As for me – I would cuss yuh obnoxious ass and still take the knowledge. If you don’t want what I have to teach you then I would consider it your loss.

PS. I had a childless aunt who lived in New York who kept demanding that I send her a list of what i wanted her to bring for me. She has died without receiving that list. What I waited for with great anticipation was her annual report of the crazy adventures she had that year. She was a barrel of laughs! Priceless! She’s been dead for years and I am still laughing.

28. You must have sent her the list in the Barbados mail

29. @Whitehill

There you go, being a Bajan is not conditional.

30. Actually, I refused to send it just as I refused her ticket to New York. She complained bitterly that everybody else got to show off their nieces. I thought she spent too much and should save her money.

PS. I have no problem with our postal service. My postmen and I are on great terms and I will not join in disparaging them.

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

@ Pacha
    “Nehall should tell us how many bajans have been flustrated while trying to invest in Barbados. How generations of entrepreneurs have been flustrated by a country still ruled by a vicious form of crypto racism as an economic construct.”

let them remember those words when they continue to try running the same repulsive, oppressive, racist game on the majority population with the help of their greedy house negros in the parliament..

32. BU continues to be ” entertaining “.

I am a ” Bajan abroad ” but my eyes ent too good and my ears don’t hear as good as they used to

so I will read the ideas of others.

Anybody know if the government is ” stalling ” progress with solar energy to protect the owners of gas stations

and to give Emera continuing control of the supply of electricity.

As said by various BU bloggers over the last few years. SOLAR, SOLAR, SOLAR.

AGRICULTURE, FOOD SECURITY.

33. I hardly believe that things in the Caribbean and in the North can be compared even approximately. I say that as a globalist who lives everywhere, including in the deep South.

In the tropics, metal rusts incredibly fast. Plastic crumbles after a few years. Termites eat the wood. Electricity is very expensive. Torrential rain is a common phenomenon. Hurricanes threaten buildings.

So we don’t need complicated solutions in the South, as is often suggested to us, but solutions that work with local raw materials, as maintenance-free and cheap as possible.

34. Government is great at introducing new legislation, average at implementing the accompanying regulations and downright horrible at facilitating and guiding citizens and businesses.

Legislation requires lawyers
    Regulation requires competent technocrats
    Facilitation and Guidance requires experienced subject matter experts able to bridge the gap between government, business and citizens

35. @Cuhdear B
    And alas Barbados will stil need to to export workers. So let us export some of the workers who are just as wonderful and hard working as the contributors to this blog. But “yes” whitehill they will have to send some of their earnings home, because when workers migrate they often leave behind children and elders, and often the grannies, mummies, aunties etc. take excellent care of the children and elders left behind. Those caregivers needed to be rewarded.
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Do you know its 2020? Is this common today? The people who emigrate today are likely to be childless professionals without “chick or child”.

Please stay out of the 1960’s.

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don know if yall can see this but there comes a time when the people will say …ENOUGH…

well i already have no patience with yall, never did so i wish you luck when the tide turns..

blob:https://www.facebook.com/d1f0dbc3-e32c-42ed-80ae-b1c185899512

37. @Nehal

We (plural) are “STUCK” between Colonialism & Realism

38. Yes, we have an eye for the outstanding Job, Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Amor Mottley, gave in her Interview to Matthew Amroliwala from BBC World News.

Credos again, as Mia Represent Barbados and Caricom Countries..

39. A lotta of the overseas Bajans on this blog does talk a whole lotta shiite. I suspect many of them are retirees. A lotta outdated fantasies that are cheered on by their fellow retirees. Sue me.🤣🤣

40. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Your assistance please with an item here for Hee Hee thank you

41. @ Enuff (Mr. H)

Guess you found out I slammed down the phone on your ASS. The call didn’t drop. You don’t call tourism authority personnel after midnight, asking if her boss signed the documents for you. I guess you ended up with the horses 🐎 that morning.

I had Enuff of youuuuu

42. Cuhdear Bajan
    May 27, 2020 7:53 AM

Good post, but do you know how many of those ideas were addressed right here on BU, several years ago???

The thing is, some of the commenters above are quite right on a major matter. Economic construct and its implications for development.

The Barbados model has been its downfall. Tourism and international business as money earners were and are good ideas.

However, they should have been used as leverage, not as crutches.

The wider Barbados model is still one of import and sell with a huge margin. The banks do not lend to middle / lower investors.

So, if WARU, Donna and Enuff, approach a bank and ask for a loan to buy over a plantation, with a payback of thirty years, to grow food and also have an eco apartment complex, they will not get it.

Simple as that. You have to be monied to get it. Things that could develop the country are not within the economic construct.

But if My.Moneyjam approaches with his crew, wants to buy that plantation to develop into condos, to sell at USD600 thousand each, he will get it.

No food produced, import bill not reduced, but Mr.Money gets a quick buck and the bank gets their pound of flesh from the idiots who buy a three bedroom apartment for Bds1.2Million. But they may not mind, they will come for two weeks a year to their holiday home.

The economic construct and business model is strangling Barbados. What the regular person can do to combat this, is first, stop buying the imported rubbish in boxes, which contain processed chemicals, red 40, yellow 65, blue 92.

Buy from your local farmer as much as you can.

Barbados needs the skillsets of seamstresses, carpenters, shoemakers, revived.

That is a beginning and Barbados needs its own local bank and development bank. Unfortunately, to get funds for the latter may be difficult at this time.

43. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Once again a request is being made to the Honourable Blogmaster for you to post my comment

44. Local concerned Bajan posted this to another board……

Like many Bajans who have family members stranded overseas I would like to know what is being done to get our loved ones home?
    My 87 yr old mother and my sister went to England in the beginning of March to be at my other sisters side on her last days of life with her long fight with cancer. Since her passing my mom and sister have been stuck in Reading. They have contacted the Barbados Consulate in an effort to get home, however they are having no luck.
    In the mean time BA flights are coming into Barbados (sometimes with empty seats) and taking English people home.
    My question to the Government of Barbados is simple, why can’t we get our loved ones on these flight and bring them home?
    My mom and sister know that coming home will mean quarantine, and they are fine with that, so please can something be done to bring the many stranded Bajans home from the UK!

The article is by a local life long Barbados citizen and was addressed to the Prime Minister.

45. @Wily Coyote

My sympathies. The level of incompetence and neglect is amazing. I hope you get them back soon. In my experience the Jamaicans are always more competent. I suggest you try getting to Jamaica and then get a flight down.

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Been telling them for years that they can’t eat tourists and if it was such a money earner for the island and not just paying basic bills etc…after 100 years of tourism, the island would be much, much further, particularly in the last 40 years, if they were not so greedy and blind to the fact that no one with intelligence depends only on one revenue stream for an entire country generationally, but have multiple top earners going at the same time and upgrade on the regular as necessary…..and leave the people to generate wealth in their individual communities so they can withstand economic shocks that are a constant in any country.

“PANAMA CITY – The socio-economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in Latin America and the Caribbean could potentially leave around 14 million* vulnerable people in severe food insecurity this year, warranting urgent attention to save lives, according to projections by the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP).

“It is vital and urgent that we provide food assistance to the growing number of vulnerable people in the region, as well as those who depend on informal work,” said Miguel Barreto, WFP Regional Director for Latin America and the Caribbean. “We still have time to prevent the COVID-19 pandemic from becoming a hunger pandemic.”

when i posted something about stranded Bajans abroad recently the fowls came out cackling…if they had a private jet at their disposable, it would not have been a problem at all..

47. @WC yours@11.58am

Last weekend some bajans in Canada were repatriated on a Westjet chartered flight that the Canadian Gov’t used to ferry its citizens home. From what I understand the Canadian Gov’t contacted the Barbados HC to inquire if there were Bajans stuck in Canada and offered to take them home since the airline would be empty on the outgoing part of the trip. Perhaps the communication piece is missing in the UK.

48. Crusoe

Told my son just yesterday that in my youth I didn’t used to have to go to Bridgetown to find a cobbler. Mr Whitehead had his very adequate shop in my neighbourhood. Last few times i repaired my son’s school shoes his classmates asked why I don’t just buy him a new pair. That’s why I say we need a reset.

Lately I was reminded that there are still a few joiners who could make me the furniture I wanted at a price not far different from the furniture stores etc. I found that I just did not like what was on display in any of the stores.

A few years ago I changed two doors because one of a matching pair had been damaged only to find out there was a guy just down the road who made doors and could have made me one that matched. My only consolation was that I had given the remaining good door to a cousin who badly needed a door and was going through a rough patch.

I say let’s return to the days when a vast portion of our funds were spent in our own neighbourhoods,

49. De ole man is in moderation here adain

heheheheeheheheheeh

50. Tony

Ah beg your pardon?🤣🤣🤣