Our main problem is not finance, it is the availability of markets for what we produce. It is the closing of these markets that caused the decline in jobs,foreign exchange and income. Just in case we are losing focus. Is stimulus money a medium or long-term solution? It is a short term inadequate remedy. It buys time for the economic agents to regroup and re-calibrate – Vincent Carrington

This blogmaster was hopeful the COVID 19 global disease would have served as the great disrupter many of us have been waiting for.  That is, to force behavioural change necessary to efficiently manage our little economy to support a decent standard of living for our children and those to follow.

Last weekend Larry Summers a former US Treasury Secretary was asked to comment on COVID 19 impact on the economies of emerging and developing countries. He responded (in summary) that these countries will need significant financial assistance from international financial institutions. High debt burden carried by developing countries does not leave fiscal space to adequately finance policy development. He elaborated that emerging and developing countries will have to cooperate to create the perfect lobby in order to attract assistance. It brought to the blogmaster’s mind that some good may  come out of the investment by Prime Minister in raising the international profile of the country and region.

Countries have had to react quickly to a global economy forced to come to a screeching halt because of COVID 19. Finance ministers everywhere have had to reallocate scarce resources to fight the pandemic. What is scary for the developing world is that CHINA, USA and Europe responsible for fuelling the global economy have been significantly affected by the novel coronavirus. Unlike developing countries these three countries have access to financial resources to combat fallout from the pandemic.

The interdependent nature of the global economy – to Summer’s point – makes it a priority for the developed word to assist developing countries by suspending debt payments AND to consider debt forgiveness. The usual criteria of per capita income used by international agencies to ‘graduate’ needs to be jettisoned and replaced by more realistic economic performance indicators. How can a country like Barbados not qualify for significant debt forgiveness given the vulnerability of our small open economy? The global economy will not recover if markets in emerging and developing countries are left to flounder.

One does not have to be  a sage to know Barbadians will have to be sensitized by our leadership to the unprecedented challenges facing countries like Barbados because of the pandemic. The lack of financial intelligence and economic planning currently being demonstrated by local actors continues to be a big disappointment.   Almost every intervention and commentary seem to be crafted to be political or anchored in the same old same old rhetoric. Frankly it has been a struggle for this blogmaster of late to feel motivated to blog.

Does anyone besides a few – understand the implications of a country like Barbados already suffering from a decade of economic fatigue – the implication of depleting reserves or drawing down on hard to source lines of credit to fight COVID 19?

175 responses to “We in Potta”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

Whether the help is via suspension of debt, forgiveness of debt or whatever method, the underlying metric is TO SUSTAIN LIFE, NOT to sustain lifeSTYLE. This is one fact Barbados has to come to grips with.
    A key, given that Sovereign Debt loads increasingly contain Private as well as Bi-lateral debt, is the ‘aid’ is somehow channeled to the citizenry, and NOT to make the Private lenders whole. The ‘channeling’ of money is the biggest obstacle. The independent nature of the Sovereign, means THEY wish to make the decisions, just ‘give us’ the money. This is NOT sitting well in certain places, because they have seen this movie a few times before.
    NB. one cannot find fault in ‘crafted in the political’ and then use a phrase like ‘decade of’, which is a battle cry of the red party.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

2nd NB. You would do well to remove the name referenced, for fear it turns into another Rep-Dem battle. You know he is a JB economic advisor who is under fire from the ‘progressive’ side of the party. He and Gordon Brown authored a similar piece
    https://www.penews.com/articles/gordon-brown-and-lawrence-summers-debt-relief-is-the-best-pandemic-aid-20200417

3. @Northern Observer

Is there a name one can refer to that cannot be twisted to the political? It is the message that resonated from the interview.

The last/lost decade is fact and resulted in the electorate rejecting the government of that period, fact. This blogmaster has no problem with calling it as he sees it. Others who wish are free to wallow in political pictures.

4. William Skinner Avatar

“ Almost every intervention and commentary seem to be crafted to be political or anchored in the same old same old rhetoric. Frankly it has been a struggle for this blogmaster of late to feel motivated to blog.” Quote

Seems to me that you are being fed your own medicine. What goes around bro’. You have spent much of your time pre COVID-19 defending what you are now saying above. Not too long ago , you were being advised to ban people from BU.
    Seeing wrong and turning away brings a high price. Like the chap who “ found” “respect”for William Skinner only afternoon Skinner said , at the very beginning that he will support the PM and our government’s efforts with the fight against the COVID. His respect came years after telling Skinner he needed to shut up and look at what some Jack ass President was doing where I am currently retired.
    The same gentlemen who asked : When last did Skinner visit Barbados? He wrote that while Skinner was in Barbados.
    Now the big reveal:
    William Skinner was the campaign manager for Randall Rouse in the last election in 2018. William Skinner has two small businesses in Barbados. William Skinner directly and or indirectly employs at least fifteen people.
    BTW Mr. Rouse an Independent candidate garnered 700 votes and beat out the candidate from the DLP.
    A bit of history : In 1994 , Skinner , after declining to run under Dr. Haynes leadership of the NDP, was asked by Mr. Rouse to manage his campaign in the same constituency of St. Joseph against Dr. Richard Cheltenham. Mr. Rouse did remarkably well and was coerced to join the DLP , for the next election in the same St.Joseph, where he lost to the current AG, Mr. Dale Marshall by less than a large pack of cigarettes.
    You see my Dearest David, I may be RH and a JA . To the other gentleman , he may now take his new found respect for William Skinner and throw it in the sea . I am many things but foremost I am a proud Barbadian.
    How yuh like muh now ? Lol

5. @William

You have been trying it your way for how many decades?

The blogmaster is an advocate for trying to trigger change from within. Political parties and NGOS pull membership from the same pool. What needs to happen is for some people to be persuaded to shift thinking – it seems citizens across the world are suffering from a kind of apathy.

6. “Bert” is circling like a vulture in the private industry. “The repo” man would have been collecting most cars purchased in a 8 year plan. Come August we will be asking “where are the powerful CEO’s now – are they drawing EI?” Watch out David E.

7. RE it seems citizens across the world are suffering from a kind of apathy.

WHY IS THIS? IS IT NOT BECAUSE THE GOD OF THIS AGE IS IN CONTROL………note I didnt say God!
    THERE IS A VERY GOOD REASON FOR THIS APATHY, AND NOTHING CAN BE DONE ABOUT IT.

William Skinner has been a trier. But he has never been taught it seems that it is written A MAN’S WORK WILL MAKE WAY FOR HIM (OR GO BEFORE HIM) AND BRING HIM BEFORE (KINGS) OR GREAT MEN.

I OFTEN ADD, THAT IS IF THERE ARE (KINGS) OR GREAT MEN. AROUND, AS THAT IS MY OBSERVATION.

8. I SINCERELY BELIEVE THAT A MAN’S WORK WILL MAKE WAY FOR HIM (OR GO BEFORE HIM) AND BRING HIM BEFORE (KINGS) OR GREAT MEN, FOR I HAVE SEEN IT HAPPEN OFTEN .

NOW THE WORK MAY NOT NECESSARILY BE A GOOD WORK, BUT CANT BE REFUTED (KINGS) OR GREAT MEN, IE FOLK WITH INFLUENCE OR POWER. MUST BE AROUND, OR IN CHARGE.

NOW THE (KINGS) OR GREAT MEN, OR FOLK WITH INFLUENCE OR POWER. MAY NOT NECESSARILY BE GOOD PEOPLE OR GOOD LEADERS OR FACILITATORS; OFTEN TIMES THEY ARE VERY EVIL

THIS IS ONE OF THE MAJOR REASONS WE IN POTTA……….AND IT IS SO ALL OVER THE WORLD………AS PREDICTED. .

9. (Quote):
    How can a country like Barbados not qualify for significant debt forgiveness given the vulnerability of our small open economy? The global economy will not recover if markets in emerging and developing countries are left to flounder.
    (Unquote):
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How can an obese person be asking for a double share of food laced with fats at a time when others are hungry?

Do you really feel that lending/funding agencies like the World Bank would consider Barbados to be in dire need of assistance when the country still enjoys a rather easy standard of living based on conspicuous consumption?

Where do you think this balance of payments support would end up other than in the payment for the importation of luxury vehicles and creature comforts from China with the residual profits ending up in T&T?

Barbados must first set the example of self-sacrifice by cutting out the waste in the cabinet along with the removal of its expensively ornate trimmings making up the bevy of consultants and paid advisers.

How about the public sector taking a haircut in its overhead/emoluments bill in order to save jobs which any foreign funding agency would be insisting on; one way or the other?

“Charity is injurious unless it helps the recipient to become independent of it.”

10. A MAN’S WORK WILL MAKE WAY FOR HIM (OR GO BEFORE HIM) AND BRING HIM BEFORE EVIL (KINGS) OR EVIL GREAT MEN, BECAUSE HE IS A THREAT TO THE EVIL KING HE MUST BE KEPT CLOSE TO BE CONTROLLED

,A MAN’S WORK MAY NOT MAKE WAY FOR HIM (OR GO BEFORE HIM) AND BRING HIM BEFORE EVIL (KINGS) OR EVIL GREAT MEN, BECAUSE SUCH ARE IGNORANT SPITEFUL OR VINDICTIVE, AND SEEK THAT THE WORK OF GOOD MEN SHOULD COME TO NAUGHT. THEY OFTEN SUCCEED

SOMETIMES THE GOOD LORD ABOVE SPARES THE GOOD MAN FROM WALKING IN THE COUNSEL AND INFLUENCE OF EVIL KINGS OR GREAT MEN

THE RESULT IS THAT AS GOOD MEN WITH THEIR GOOD WORKS AND GOOD IDEAS AND IDEALS ARE ELIMINATED………THE RESULT IS AS WE SAY IN BARBADOS, POTTA

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Why are your contributions always in CAPS?

Do you need a new keyboard, eyeglasses, a class or two in writing etiquette or somebody to tell you writing in all CAPS is shouting and shouting at people is very disrespectful?

12. William Skinner Avatar

We need chaos. Unfortunately the chaos has arrived via a terrible and destructive virus. I read about not letting an opportunity waste etc. I don’t see the COVID as an opportunity. I see it as a destructive deadly force not of our making.
    The government’s fight against the virus has been extremely gallant and admirable.
    PM Mottley has the opportunity to now transform this economy and society but quite frankly her stimulus package, while well intentioned, falls remarkably short. I think that the two policies which I find very commendable are:
    1. Identifying the most vulnerable and guaranteeing each household $600;
    2. A very generous $2500 per month for three months to the self employed business persons, who have been paying national insurance
    However we need to temporary abandoned both the Sam Lords and Hyatt projects or at least don’t expend any government money or resources on them.We also need to scrap the Bridgetown park project. We don’t need any fancy park now ; we need jobs and to start in earnest to turn everything we produce into an export opportunity. We should not be borrowing money to prop up excessive foreign reserves. We really don’t need to be boasting how full the fridge is but there is a lock on it and our children can’t enjoy the contents.
    We need to immediately turn our attention to manufacturing and agriculture. We cannot recover anytime soon any state funds that the stimulus pumped into some administrative function to the tune of $200 million.
    However, I am going to wait until the PM explain the administration’s intentions in greater detail. So far we have fallen short.

13. RE Why are your contributions always in CAPS?

Do you need a new keyboard, eyeglasses, a class or two in writing etiquette or somebody to tell you writing in all CAPS is shouting and shouting at people is very disrespectful?

I LEAVE YOU TO WORK THAT OUT
    CAN YOU DEAL WITH THE CONTENT

14. WE ALWAYS GET LOTS OF LONG TALK ABOUT THE :WHAT!
    WHAT WE NEED MORE OF IS THE HOW!

15. @William

The fight you mentioned is short term and more reactionary to stabilize which is why the quote by Vincent is relevant. The concern of this blogmaster is the immediate need to create a winning mindset in our people to ensure we search for the right path to ensure survival. Note this is a conversation that is being had across the globe. After years of building economic success on unsustainable policies, it has been exposed in a COVID era with supply chains disrupted. Even countries with diversified economies I.e. commodities, services and agriculture etc have not been spared.

16. @WS
    “We need to immediately turn our attention to manufacturing and agriculture.” Agree!!

Trim the Advisors, Consultants, Ministers, etc…… use saving to assist the ‘needy’ as we begin the LONG recovery. Don’t expect it to be ‘over’ in 2021 & that Tourism will re-bound to fill our coffers with abundant foreign exchange!

We must invest in REAL, productive projects and not ‘paper & pencil’ investments, where the Consultants & Advisors make their money.

Time to be ‘doers’ and not just ‘thinkers’!!!

17. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

Do you know how to play Potta?

18. Not too long ago , you were being advised to ban people from BU. {Quote}

@ William Skinner

I was one of the people that was asking that ONE MAN GET BANNED from BU. And you if you now playing that you don’t know why, YOU ARE BEING DECEITFUL because he is your friend.

That man was getting overbearing. That SAME MAN was ADVISING bloggers to DEBATE ISSUES INSTEAD OF DRIFTING OFF INTO PERSONAL ATTACKS AND ABUSE. When THAT SAME MAN is not PERSONALLY ATTACKING AND ABUSING the blogmaster, he is PERSONALLY ATTACKING AND ABUSING OTHER BLOGGERS, describing HUMAN BEINGS as ANIMALS, calling them SAVAGES THAT SHOULD BE IN THE JUNGLE, WILD BARKING DOGS, WILD BEATS, PREDATORS, HYENAS, BILLY GOATS, PIGS. OR, he is calling them SILLY, APPALLINGLY IGNORANT, SEMI LITERATE BUFFOONS THAT LEARN BY ROTE.

He does this U N P R O V O K E D. In other words, nobody ain’t trouble him first.

AND WHY? SIMPLY BECAUSE THEY DON’T SHARE HIS POINT OF VIEW, WHICH HE BELIEVES IS ALWAYS RIGHT, or HE DON’T LIKE THEM, either BECAUSE THEY PROVED HIM WRONG OR STAND UP TO HIM.

THEN, he expects to come back here from early in the morning to interact and discuss issues with the same people he PERSONALLY ATTACKED AND ABUSED THE DAY BEFORE,, and they are supposed to BE CORDIAL AND POLITE WITH HIM AND ACCEPT HIM WITH OPEN ARMS.

BUT THAT IS HOW IT IS IN LIFE. I DOES SEE HYPOCRISY AND DECEITFULNESS ON BU EVERY SINGLE DAY. Instead of REMINDING HIM OF HIS BAD BEHAVIOUR and encouraging him to be better, a lot of you all DECEITFUL AND HYPOCRITICAL BUGGERS does get and say that sometimes he does make brilliant contributions as a way OVERLOOKING THE SHYTE HE DOES.

YOU SEE, when people like a fella don’t care what he do they does be willing to give him a FREE PASS that they DON’T BE WILLING TO GIVE ANOTHER FELLA THEY DON’T LIKE.

19. Where are Ms Many P and the president of her fan club the London-based BU correspondent with 50 years of journalism under his broad belt?

You are ‘”MIA”.

This topic requires you cowardly yellow input and blue-vexed contributions.

20. Here is an example to show why our decision makers lack what it takes to inspire confidence in the people. COVID 19 has ensured we look for alternative approaches to teach our children,instead what are we witnessing? The usual bickering between unions, ministry and parents. All parties want perfection in a situation that is unprecedented and imperfect.

#sickening

21. quote] Does anyone besides a few – understand the implications of a country like Barbados already suffering from a decade of economic fatigue – the implication of depleting reserves or drawing down on hard to source lines of credit to fight COVID 19? [unquote

in the interest of accuracy how true is this statement- a decade of economic fatigue? hmmm

22. @David

Honorable BLOGMASTER, we do not always see the same tree when looking at the forest, however Wily see’s this as a THROWING IN THE TOWEL announcement, is the stress of this COVID 19 World situation becoming overwhelming. Don’t despair, the government is floundering like always, totally out of touch as always and defenetly out of control or options. This may indeed be your impetus option for change you’ve been hoping for, however it is likely to be a chaotic change(Haitian) vs an organized(survival) and coordinated change that you hoped for. The present situation has all the indicators that Barbados is headed down the Venezuelan path to destruction.The WORLD begging will continue from government quarters however the WORLD economies are in tatters and they are tired of this wineing. The best scenario is Barbados survives as a FAILED STATE with some semblance of dignity and can still feed itself and have adequate supply of drinkable water. At least the abundance of bush on the overgrown cane fields will provide foder for making charcoal to cook with.

23. This topic requires you cowardly yellow input and blue-vexed contributions. {Quote}

@ Miller

Why does this topic require the journalist’s input?

The journalist has been personally attacking and abusing the blogmaster for a long time, while people like you, Miller, remained silent. The blogmaster had to tell him something about discussing COVID 19 on a particular blog, when he could of done so on the many blogs that was designed for that topic.

What he did? He personally abused and attacked the blog master, said he don’t care about BU because he wrote for some of the best newspapers in the world, took up his keyboard and ran home, just like the SPOILT CHILDISH BRAT he is. And now @ Miller asking he to return? As the blogmaster does say, “piss in muh pocket, do.”

By the way, I hope wunnuh realize that the way he BEHAVED IS CONSISTENT WITH THE SET OF BEHAVIOURS he does DESCRIBE AS THE BARBADOS CONDITION.

24. @Robert

Let us moved on. The two may post but the blogmaster will review.

25. @ Robert May 12, 2020 7:50 AM

“Speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others,
    even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.”

Can’t you decipher that the person you are describing is afflicted with the Bajan Limey condition of ‘refined insanity’?

Wittering on while withering away in a cramped cold flat in N. London is not an easy situation to endure especially during the current Covid lockdown.

Give the maddening man a break. After all, the black ‘English bugger’s’ cold heart and confused soul is still in the back of the ‘warm’ Covid-free Ivy.

“An’aso de rain da fall

An’aso de snow a rain

An’aso de fog a fall

An’aso de Sun a fail

An’aso de Seasons mix

An’aso de bag of tricks

But aso me understand

De misery of de [Bajan] Englishman.”

~ Andrew Salkey

26. @Robert,

GP, John and Freedom Crier go off message all the time, and to me purposely so. only the other day you cussed me out or tried to when you thought i directed a comment at you. up to that point i had never read or replied to any of your post. should you be banned?

David and Hal have an adversarial relationship. Hal is right on most occasions and David on some. that type of relationship is good and it does make me laugh. i think it makes the blog v interesting along with insights from Robert Lucas. i detest when he veers into politics and black people lack of scientific knowledge as a genetic defect and he is taken to task for it Hal, me and others but such is life. we debate, cuss each other and move on.

i read Hal’s post and when you ask him a question or debate him he responds. i have not always seen eye to eye with him and i call him out and when he does not see eye to eye with me he does the same. we debate and more than often we agree to disagree.

Miller as flowery as he is and Artax as middle as the road as he is, are stellar in my book. we should celebrate diversity in whatever form it comes

that is all i have to say about that

Back to the topic

27. It is an undeniable fact that the major world markets are blocking entry to products and produce from the Caricom region.

Why then does Barbados have a penchant for purchasing top end Mercedes cars and for that matter Toyota and other mid-market brands. Would it not be prudent for the country’s finances if we were to purchase scaled back budget motor vehicles?

I am not certain what the price of a Mercedes car is in Barbados; however, I imagine it would be plenty of dollars. What does our country produce that would be the equivalent monetary value of that prestigious car?

We have to be reasonable and accept that it is inutile for us to continue to live beyond our means. We need to strip from our economy those unnecessary foreign imports that the country can not afford and concentrate on the niche markets where we can be players.

Let us find areas where we can compete on some sort of level playing field instead of forever trying to punch above our weight.

Our country should not be looking towards others to bail us out.

28. @Greene

It has nothing to do with blogmaster right or the other person wrong – the blogmaster allows for the cut and thrust of debate, we have been at it for a long time. What the blog also has nurtured is a level of self censorship where commenters who mash the crease and told about it and by and large this approach has worked over the years. What has been happening of late is that we have a few who belie they can come to the blog and do as they please AND other commenters preferring to keep silent about it.

No sir. The blogmaster will have the final say.

29. It remains elusive to this writer the reasons why some maintian such a deep reliance on the very people who inflicted the worst forms of neoliberal capitalism on us all, created economic distortions hithertofore unknown, for centuries.

Larry Summers, both in the Obama administration and the Clinton administration before did more than most in creating the groteque social conditions which laid the ground for the deaths of our people from covid.

It is this almost religious dependence on what idiots like Summers say that will be the end of us all.

30. @ TLSN May 12, 2020 8:35 AM

Brilliant! Just sheer brilliance!

A Rolls Royce of a contribution. LOL!!

A country which had a mauby pocket with champagne taste will soon find itself having to eat flying fish and drink seawater.

While its sea island cotton, sugar cane industry and black belly sheep remain in the economic doldrums.

The Mighty Chalkdust prophecy about ‘Sea water & Sand’ is about to turn into a nightmare.

31. RE Larry Summers, both in the Obama administration and the Clinton administration before did more than most in creating the groteque social conditions which laid the ground for the deaths of our people from covid.

THIS IS NOT ONLY A NON SEQUITUR BUT SCIENTIFICALLY UNTRUE

re GP, John and Freedom Crier go off message all the time, and to me purposely so.
    WE LEARNED TO DO THIS WELL BY FREQUENTING BU. SEEMS YOU HAVE LEARNED WELL TOO CAUSE YOU DOING IT HERE

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Our main problem is not finance, it is the availability of markets for what we produce.”
    —Vincent Carrington

This is clear statement of the economic crisis that Barbados faces. (We also face a social crisis but I will not address that here.)

The availability of markets for our tourism industry product has declined by 95%. The dates of hotel reopenings or resumption of flights is utterly irrelevant because there still will be no customers. Our source markets are plunging into an extremely deep economic depression (Bank of England says that the UK economy could fall by 14 per cent this year, the deepest depression since 1706) and major providers of airlift to the island will likely go bankrupt.

The availability of markets for our offshore financial services are under concerted attack through international blacklisting campaigns launched by colonial powers who still wish to exert colonial authority.

We have only one significant manufacturing industry that can compete on global markets: our rum industry. There is a huge available market for what we produce, but the largest producer, The West Indies Rum Distillery Ltd., produces the worst rum, and is owned by Maison Ferrand, a French company that seems intent on degrading the reputation of Barbados rum by exporting crap rum in bulk at rock bottom prices.

We can recover economically, but we will need to fight hard against those who do not have our best interests at heart.

33. Our sources tell us that Biden, a man who cannot be seen as being composmentis, is now the primary economic adviser to this a demented Biden. No wonder he is being paraded on the propaganda media.

34. @ Greene

I extend my sincerest apologies.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

First of all , I think you need to correct the spelling of my surname.
    This is your umpteenth attempt to discuss the post COVID – 19 economy of Barbados.
    It is also a similar number of times that you are attempting to justify the apparent policies of “beggar my neighbour and “Could Dear,give me a break” . Is it no wonder bloggers do not know which hole in the cane bottom chair to go through?

Let us be realistic. The Developed countries have to make adjustments to their economies as well. Why should we expect special considerations. We should have grown accustomed to managing an open economy. An economy that is subject to exogenous shocks. We recovered in the past. What is there to stop us from recovering from this current disruption?
    Finance is not the problem. Trust me I am an economist. The love of money is the root of evil. The latter makes me a good Judaeo-Christian. LoL !!!

I will advise again keep your hands away from the panic button. You would make a dangerous POTUS.

36. @PLT,

Can you be contacted on facebook?

if not and if you dont mind, could you post your contact details?

to do with a suggestion you made re economic development in Bim

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT at 9:15 AM

Right on track. We need to look around us at the setting of the field and take new guard. Our opponents are doing something similar. The real economic agents/ players need to get on board not the commentators. That is a mixed metaphor but I left secoundary school decades ago. I can now coin my own figures of speech.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

GreeneMay 12, 2020 9:29 AM
    peterlawrencethompson(at)gmail.com

39. @Vincent

Sorry about the spelling, the blogmaster crafted the blog when he should have been asleep.

The other point, developing countries have little fiscal space because of high debt burden, now we have COVID that will deplete reserves and force budget reallocations. This is our reality.

40. @PLT,

ok. thank you

41. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

We have enough fiscal space. We borrowed to avoid taxes. We created the burden and will reduce it with future taxes on a growing more prosperous economy.

There is nothing that one can do about the economic consequences of COVID. We should relax and continue to eliminate/ contain COVID – 19. The amount of money spent on the treatment of the epidemic is well spent. It did not cost much in monetary terms. Sorry that is not my reality.

42. @Vincent

You comment with certainty given the unknown variables in the COVID equation.

43. @ Mr. Skinner

I agree the idea of building a park in Bridgetown is unnecessary at this time…..or anytime in the future. The site where the old NIS building, Fire Service headquarters and the Golden Square market were located, should have been used to build an ‘ultra modern’ market facility, similarly to the ones in SVG or SLU. It could also accommodate the vendors plying their trade around the Charles Duncan O’neal bridge and entrance and environs of the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal.

The site on which the new Fairchild Street marketing is being built, is too small. After the food court, vendors stalls and band stand have been built, there will be parking spaces for about 25 cars. Since the market is to be similar in structure to the one in Oistins, there won’t be enough parking spaces for vendors and customers.

Instead, the old Fairchild Street market’s compound could be used to construct (1) a PSV terminal, which would be in close proximity to the Transport Board’s terminal and the market if it is built where I proposed……. (2) a car park.

The area extending towards the old and new PSV terminals could be used as an additional car park……and to construct kiosks (at least 6ft apart, bearing social distancing in mind) for small entrepreneurs providing various services, such as (and not limited to) printing, shoe makers, barbers, cell phone repairs, tax services, even set up facilities for car washers.

If the Hyatt and Sam Lord’s Castle projects are private sector initiatives, I believe they should continue, because they will provide short-term and long-term employment during the pre and post construction phases respectively.

The Hyatt could pave the way for the redevelopment of Nelson Street and Bay Street….. and reconstruction of the Empire Cinema as an entertainment center, thereby creating more employment opportunities.

Additionally, some non-nationals are bringing their customs to Barbados, by turning Bridgetown into a ‘shanty town.’ They are building shanties where ever they please, to sell clothes, fruits, vegetables and food (without the required health certificate). Government needs to clear Bridgetown of those shanties.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 10:03 AM

In economics at my level one is expected to have acquired a certain level of quantitative skills. I am using the same / similar epidemiology model that the MoH is using. So we are into the ” known unknown ” phase. ( Ask dpD to explain. He is an expert.)
    I think we are less uncertain than six weeks ago. Epidemics like tropical hurricanes can take unexpected trajectories. So in short there will be areas of uncertainty that we have to live with.

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@PLT I was more than a tad surprised that @Greene couldn’t find you on the web so out of curiosity I googled your name and saw that in addition to your TenHabitat org that you were giving some publicity under a Govt of B’dos banner promoting “IDEAS4BARBADOS”. Good stuff.

I hope you are indeed getting traction in the corridors of power as your concepts and solutions are as pragmatically based as I have seen !

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

This article ranks amongst the highest shy$e talk that Barbados Underground has ever written!!!

You said and de ole man quotes

“…The interdependent nature of the global economy – to Summer’s point – makes it a priority for the developed word to assist developing countries by suspending debt payments AND to consider debt forgiveness…”

What de Fvuck!!!

you mean to tell me that you have a bunch of doan carish governments dat take loans from first world countries and banks SPEND DE MONEY PUN RH SHY$E and you not talking bot forgiveness?

WTF!!!

You then continue incredulously with

“…Does anyone besides a few – understand the implications of a country like Barbados already suffering from a decade of economic fatigue – the implication of depleting reserves or drawing down on hard to source lines of credit to fight COVID 19?…”

You cant be serious!!!

You shift this RH problem to one fvucking 10 year administration?

In one breath you say

“…Almost every intervention and commentary seem to be crafted to be political or anchored in the same old same old rhetoric…”

Then you come back and blame out plight upon the last decade and expect everyone here to swallow you shy$e reasoning?

We are here David King because of people like you WHO HAVE NO VISION and do not know how to engage the best of our minds WITHOUT THE POLITICAL SMALL MINDEDNESS.

You are the chief agent of political partisanship and now posing a blog article to discuss the very same thing that you encourage daily to evoke comments according to you

Steupsee!!!

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, in that cut and thrust of debate I perplexed (as often I often am) by your contradictory exclamations. It has been touched on above so I need not delve too deeply….

But good sir, it is tantamount to circuitous and torturous confusion to assert that a conversation is being held across the globe about creating ‘a winning mindset to ensure we search for the right path to ensure survival’ and then say somewhat as an afterthought – it seems – that for years we have been “building economic success on unsustainable policies’.

At first blush that appears to be Barbados of which you speak but then you added “it has been exposed in a COVID era with supply chains disrupted. Even countries with diversified economies I.e. commodities, services and agriculture etc have not been spared” clearly making it a global issue.

David in all SERIOUS context how can an ENTIRE world be on an UNSUSTAINABLE path if there are ‘even countries with diversified economies’ that covid has disrupted…. Your premiss does not make logical sense thus no solution offered to solve an illogic can be rationally logical. IMHO!

Many above recognize this but the three most pertinent were… first @Northern when he suggested: “the underlying metric is TO SUSTAIN LIFE, NOT to sustain lifeSTYLE.”… @Skinner with his indirect: “You have spent much of your time pre COVID-19 defending what you are now saying above. And @Vincent with the most direct; *”…the apparent policies of “beggar my neighbour and “Could Dear,give me a break” . Is it no wonder bloggers do not know which hole in the cane bottom chair to go through? […]
    Let us be realistic. The Developed countries have to make adjustments to their economies as well.”

Mr Blogmaster the ENTIRE world decided to be INTER-DEPENDENT… not only did Barbados buy expensive Mercedes (and cheap Toyotas or Suzukis) but they also got AID DIRECTLY and INDIRECTLY from Germany Japan and most definitely China… how then now can we paint covid as this mystical measurement to tell us Bajans that we over-abused the concept of an open economy and did not manage self reliance on agricultural etc properly?

Of course we needed to manage our agricultural resources better but that was KNOWN… previous governments (ably supported by the electorate) simply decided that we wanted the fancy lifestyle that off-shore insurance and other financial entities offered us … we did NOT need covid to tell us that!

I am simply saying covid, as the economist calls it is the type of exogenous shock that is often outside the parameters of the best insurance policy and OF COURSE we will now revisit and do all the standard short, mid and long term re-planning but to suggest that the ENTIRE world was WRONG since … let’s say since WWII is a bit beyond incredulous… based on the stupendous development in many sectors of life.

Ah well maybe I am the mad-hatter for gong down this rabbit hole and you are the sage! 🙂

48. The Miller

You may want to consider a Keto-Vegan diet. For the right combination of fats are not as bad as popular narratives make out saturated fats to be. In fact, cholesterol is necessary for essential bodily functions.

The aim would be to promote ketogenesis and autophagy. Basically ketosis is a process of consuming a high fat diet by which you adapt your body from burning carbs and or sugar to relying on fat as the main fuel. Typically, no more than 30 grams of carbs are recommended daily. This means a very limited number of fruits and the absence of grains. Autophagy has to do with the replacement of weak cells.

Of course Paleos can achieve ketosis as well. They tend to have relatively higher levels of meat protein intake.

Ketogenesis combined with intermitting fasting – one meal a day or one meal every three days – have been shown to have some good affects.

Of course, you may want to rest on the advice of an enlightened health professional/s for guidance, like this writer has always done.

49. DPD
    THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST PIECES OF SIMPLE STRAIGHTFORWARD NON CIRCUITOUS PROSE I HAVE EVER READ WRITTEN BY YOU

I AM NOW TRYING TO GET BACK INTO MY CHAIR!

50. @ William Skinner May 12, 2020 7:13 AM

“However we need to temporary abandoned both the Sam Lords and Hyatt projects or at least don’t expend any government money or resources on them.We also need to scrap the Bridgetown park project. We don’t need any fancy park now ; we need jobs and to start in earnest to turn everything we produce into an export opportunity. We should not be borrowing money to prop up excessive foreign reserves. We really don’t need to be boasting how full the fridge is but there is a lock on it and our children can’t enjoy the contents.”

I agree with your point that we ought to pivot in a significant way toward agriculture and manufacturing.

However, there is little basis for the suggestion that there should be a temporary cessation of work in the construction industry. The world is fast hurtling towards recession as the Assistant SG of CARICOM noted quite obviously, and we all know that countercyclical fiscal policies are the way to go when we find ourselves in the polar regions of the business cycle. While I don’t know that Government is in a position to cut taxes, facilitating and encouraging increased expenditure, if not by itself, but also in the private sector, is vital in stopping the amplification of the business cycle. More than being simple economic theory, jobs are provisioned within construction itself as well as indirectly in the allied sectors, building supplies etc. When we continue to reopen shops and such, small businesses near work sites benefit from increased patronage. And the three projects you mentioned are especially vital at a time when tourism is in a funk so to speak. Sam Lords Wyndham Grand Resort attracts a slightly higher segment of the tourist market than other hotels. At a time with job losses across the world, the ability of many vacationers to have a luxury such as a vacation is diminished. However, Wyndham’s clientele if we can make a slight generalisation, should not be so significantly impacted that they will be unable to travel. Whenever we can reopen following the science and adopting appropriate protocols, these persons might find it refreshing to visit a wonderful oasis in a tormented world. Hyatt tends to be a business hotel, and in a world where businesses have forcefully explored the world of teleconferencing, there may not be a rush to resume unnecessary business travel. However, we will have to see and the Hyatt Ziva is a valuable addition to our tourist product. Finally the Golden Square Freedom Park is another entry into our heritage tourist product, once more making us a more attractive destination. Consequently, these projects in the short-, medium- and long-term are likely to yield significant benefits and their abandonment would be curious to say the least.

On the point of propping up the FX reserves, clearly, a nation as heavily reliant upon imports as we are requires strong FX reserves. Of course we should be more self-sufficient and more food-secure, hence why I advocate for an agricultural policy of industrial scale. However, invariably the interconnectedness of the global economy and the fact that our small size is a major barrier to producing economies of scale to be able to produce all of our needs, imports will always be important. Consequently, the government’s responsible borrowing at a low interest rates as part of a longer term strategy for economic growth and resuscitation, is not only sensible but presently the only option available.

Indeed we need to diversify our economy so that we are less vulnerable to exogenous threats, and explore renewables, manufacturing, and the industrial-scale agricultural policy I spoke about and which I might write about soon. But the reality is that across the world, this exogenous threat has “catspraddled” everyone and the GoB has done the best possible under the awful circumstances. Perhaps we might think they haven’t gone far enough but the reality is that the fiscal space is so tight that we were able to move at all is a testament to the management of the economy over the last two years. Not a partisan assessment, but for those with eyes to read and ears to hear objectively, that’s a fact.