grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II,

The year 2020 was my year for playing shots – using Clyde Mascoll’s recent cricket analogy. This was to be the year of making significant investments, all of which would have benefited Barbados and Barbadians. Then Clyde got in the way.

Like so many other Barbadians, I have a mortgage. The only benefit of a mortgage is that it allows you to occupy your house about 10 years earlier. For that privilege, you get to pay the bank a lot of interest.

The amount that you borrow is called the principal. The amount that you repay is about 2.5 times the amount that you borrow. Therefore, if you borrowed $500,000, you get to repay the bank about $1.25M over 30 years.

The amount that you repay the bank, over what you borrowed, is called interest. The interest is about 1.5 times what you borrowed. So, if you borrowed $500,000, then you must repay the bank the $500,000 you borrowed, plus 1.5 times that amount, or an additional $750,000 in interest.

The amount paid to the bank during the first 10 years is almost the same as the amount you borrowed. While most of the amount you pay during the first 10 years goes towards the interest payments, some goes towards the principal.

If you had a responsible employer, then you likely have a retirement savings plan with an insurance company, or a bank. When you reach 55 years of age, the retirement funds must be paid to you. I encouraged persons to use those funds to pay the remaining principal, rather than paying interest for the next decade or two.

Over 5 years ago, I started warning people that the DLP would try to tax our retirement savings. By that time, they had taxed everything that could be taxed, and retirement savings was perhaps the only thing left. So, I tried offering economic growth proposals that did not require additional taxes.

Trying to get anyone to listen to economic growth plans 5 years ago appeared to be impossible. The national: accounting, economics, banking, and business organisations seemed to have only one aim – to get the DLP out of office, and the BLP in. The Chamber of Commerce actually passed a regulation to prevent me from sharing our economic growth plan with their members. That regulation is still in place – but only for me.

Even the DLP would not listen – they seemed to have the same agenda. So, one year later, our economic growth plan was published for public scrutiny, and Solutions Barbados was formed to contest the general election, and implement the plan for the benefit of the public.

If families could pay off their mortgages early, then everybody wins. Families would have significantly more disposable income to ‘play shots’, the government would reap the tax benefits of that additional spending, and banks would need to compete for short-term business growth loans – or go under.

During the general elections, I was on a panel with Clyde, where he told the audience that our plan was ‘voodoo economics’. So, we provided our anti-corruption, quality management, low-tax economic growth plan to individual economists and accountants, and received a very favourable report.

The independent expert confirmed that we could achieve $1B in surplus during our first year, without borrowing, laying off a single public worker, or reducing salaries. He further noted that all political parties pushing high-tax austerity needed to review our plan.

After the general elections, Prime Minister Mottley, to her credit, acknowledged that the BLP did not have all the answers, and instructed her party that all ideas must contend. But Clyde would not. The BERT leadership publicly admitted that they never looked at our economic growth plan, and dismissively noted that they would never look at it.

Last week, BERT signalled that they had failed miserably to grow the economy. All they had to show for the past 20 months is: severe austerity, high taxes, zero economic growth, and arrogant public relations to hide their gross incompetence.

Last year I reached 55 years – but it was too late for me. The clown car had rolled up the year before, and Clyde and company tumbled out – and started performing tricks. They did what I was warning that Sinckler would do – but wisely chose not to. They confiscated much of my retirement savings, and passed a lunatic law to make that theft legal.

Mercifully, they left me with just enough that I could still pay off the mortgage, and start playing shots this year. But that was too much voodoo for Clyde. So, they decided not to release all my money until 2033. They have now entered the comedy phase of their routine – telling us to ‘play shots’. With what Clyde, with what?

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

356 responses to “Too Much Voodoo”

1. Boy oh boy! Aster all the detailed explanation about VAT and the net effect he still thinks it is an unfair tax. He cannot understand that VAT is not a revenue stream to a business or an expense to a business but a cost to customers which is passed on to government. Many basic items are excluded from VAT and so the poorest people with just enough to feed themselves escape from some of the cost.. A well-administered VAT would have no effect on a business.

Unteachable!

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

Ok, now having shown conclusively Granville Phillips to be a veritable clown and megalomaniac DE OLE MAN WILL CONTINUE TO DISCUSS SOLUTIONS with those who are seeking ideas.

In this case the Mugabe Regime, NOT THE PDP, cause wunna ent get permission to agitate for change

Barbados is in A HARD PLACE!

WITH NO WIGGLE ROOM!

What this means at the level of diversification is evident but that is not wunna gift so leh we try de next option.

Collection & Reimbursement of VAT!

De ole man gine keep it simple and short.

1.item costs $100, $17.50 due to government

2.so, is it possible FOR THE GoB to have a system that sits (VIRTUALLY) at the merchant to collect Government’s VAT in real time FROM EVERY CUSTOMER?

Yes & no.

Yes it is possible, BECAUSE DE OLE MAN KNOWS IT IS POSSIBLE but no it does not exist.

FOR THE SHEEPLE YET!

So here is the issue graphically

https://www.bigcommerce.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/ecommerce-sales-tax-explained.png

And while its difficult for lesser minds (heheheheh I get dat from Granville Phillips cause he does insult bajans regular with that condescending attitude) advanced minds will understand how it is done.

AND THE RH VALUE FOR THE GoB to collect $$ real time AND THE RH VALUE TO ADD THIS BOLT ON TO THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE WORLD for such a mechanism

But de Barbados government ent interested in dat system IS IT heheheheh

But looka de ole man doah, I tell wunna de solution AND NOT A FELLER UNNERSTAN WHU DE OLE MAN SAY!

And in dat statement de ole man has tek de guvment of Barbados OUT OF DE HANDS OF DE IMF FOREVER!

And give it a few BILLION DOLLARS A YEAR!

Anyway tin foil going back heah and do me job “hating & tormenting Granville”

3. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Granville Phillips aka Bedroom Policeman aka Iso TALIBAN aka Buy Wunna Caskets

“…I have already invited you to have this resolved by a competent arbiter.

Why resist that? Why keep this going?…”

Are you a rass**le female rabbit?

The man John A pun Barbados Underground exposing your idiocy for bajans who are here to see.

You are erroneously claiming to have computed a savings for your 10% VAT , drawn out your pooch, which John A shows will incur a $400 million annual loss!

What competent arbiter you are insisting that John A, A COMPETENT AND HIGHLY RH TRAINED chartered accountant and financial consultant (and aspiring economist) submit his discourse to, IN RH PRIVATE, where we bajans cannot see as he exposes you NOT TO BE A COMPETENT DEFENDER OF YOUR FALLACIOUS FINANCIALS?

And this is the point I will always make!

You are more RH dangerous than Mugabe Mottley BECAUSE, EVEN BEFORE YOU GET INTO THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY you are showing how Rasshole discourteous your black suffleupagus ass is AND YOU ENT EVEN AN MP !

YOU MUST NEVER EVER RH ENTER THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY GRANVILLE!

NEVER!!!

4. GP2

Take you idea and these comments to the economic teacher at you school
    Maybe them know how to drill a hole in your head

5. This is a very clear article for those who wish to sidestep the ongoing discussion or to REstart with a clean slate.

https://blogs.findlaw.com/law_and_life/2018/09/sales-tax-vs-value-added-tax-whats-the-difference.html

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, why does the blog need clarity on VAT? The ONLY questions the blog has (as far as I can grasp) is how does @Phillips’ plan compare and contrast to the current tax and VAT regime…how does he pay for it… SHOW US THE MONEY!

Mr Phillips’ has told us that a chartered accountant has reviewed his plan so don’t you think HE SHOULD be the person providing the clarity from that professional’s spread sheet analysis?

As we all here recall, VAT was implemented when most of us here now blogging were either childless or had young kids. and some of us without have the yuts dem now and most everyone grownup too .. that to say, we have been dealing with this for a long freaking time.

Thus I think we understand the basics and mechanics of the incidence and flow of this tax…

Mr Phillips’ is THE ONE who needs to stop this absolutely stupid game and ‘cost his plan’ for all to see.

You seem to be his political whisperer so perhaps you can ask him nicely and he’ll respond to you!

7. @ Theo

Sales Tax is One thing and Vat is another but GP2 speaks to a 10% final tax on gross sales. In other words you take 10% of a companies sales in tax then you throw out all allowances.

They are 3 different animals we discussing here. Plus you can not swap out between VAT and a sales tax in the same breath.

In other words we must focus on one and not be all over the place with 2 others.

VAT is a consumer tax collected by the businesses and passed onto the state. It also IS THE ONLY ONE OF THE 3 BEING DISCUSSED that allows one’s vat input to be deducted from one’s total Vat collected. Hence one pays in the net owed ONLY AT THE END OF THE 60 DAY PERIOD. SALES TAXES DO NOT PERMIT THIS.

A 10% final tax is a tax charged by the state and is as the name implies the final and only tax levied on the company. A final tax also disallows all allowances like depreciation and interest cost etc.

Sales Tax is a form of taxation based on gross sales. In other words it does not cancel current tax deductions allowed under our current corporate taxation system. It’s therefore a tax based on sales only, BUT UNLIKE VAT DOES NOT ALLOW THE SALES TAX PAID ON INPUT TO BE NETTED OFF.

So that’s 3 tax options that are as different as night and day and CAN NOT BE INTERCHANGED IN A DISCUSSION. Don’t think I can make it any simpler than this.

If others can accept this then there is no need for discussion as all the talk will not change the above.

8. Book keepers and accountants are not economists.

9. “To add a 10% sales tax on the existing VAT is unconscionable. We planned to abolish VAT since it is a very unfair tax. Obviously if we added a 10% sales tax to VAT, everyone would pay more tax.”

@nextparty246

I can’t remember where anyone mentioned anything about adding a 10% sales tax on existing VAT.

10. @ John A

The VAT collected for the period January to March 2019 was $272.8M.

@ nextparty246

You are moving all over the place.

What do you really mean ………. a 10% sales tax to replace VAT or a 10% tax on sales?

You also need to stop using the terms ‘VAT’ and ‘Sales Tax’ interchangeably.

11. @ Artax

Ok thanks so let’s now use actual booked figures for 2019.

January to March = 278 million
    April to December = 702 million

Total vat collected in 2019= 980m at 17.5%

GP2 projection at 10% is a 43% discount on $980M= $421.4 M less in vat collected.

So I need to know from GP2 where is he planning to make up this shortfall in revenue for the state of $421 Million in a single year.

He claims the economy will grow by a billion dollars in year one, so are you planning to bring new taxation of $421M in year one or is the $1 billion in growth going to be taxed to the tune of $421M?

Just looking for answers so I could know if to expand the one door shop or shut it down.

12. FREEDOM KNOWS MANY SO-CALLED PREACHERS WHO PREACH FALSE DOCTRINE UP UNTIL TODAY ON GP2 MONDAY SERMON. So to Infer that because John A is “A COMPETENT AND HIGHLY RH TRAINED chartered accountant and financial consultant (and aspiring economist)”, and Legion is implying that John A cannot be Challenged because he is so qualified, speaks like a true Leftist one who believes in Dictatorship in what they say is the Law follow it or die.

John A is saying we don’t need to go further than taking his word. If he is so good and all other Qualified are so good why a man that is not Qualified like Trump could turn around a county in One Year and have achieved in three years what has never been accomplished previously. Lowest unemployment rate in 70 years, Lowest unemployment rate in History of Blacks in America, Lowest unemployment rate among Hispanics in History in the US, 7 Million New Jobs, a Booming Economy, Fastest Rising Wages among the Lowest paid and etc.etc., in spite of the Non Ending Coup that is being waged and the wall to wall Anti-Trump Media coverage.

THEY HAVE A SAYING IF YOU DO WHAT YA ALWAYS DID YA WILL GET WHAT YA ALWAYS GOT. As for this great Accountant he should go to Venezuela and show them what to do. ECONOMIST AND ACCOUNTS HAVE BEEN WRECKING ECONOMIES FOR CENTURIES… Example Right here at home by the EX Minister of Fine- ants and they had all the Economist and qualified people Advising him…

Lookie here, It took someone not in those professions to show them what to do. NEVERTHELESS, SOME HERE HAVE EYES BUT THEY DO NOT SEE. THEY HAVE EARS BUT THEY DON’T HEAR. THEY HAVE A BRAIN THAT FUNCTIONS BUT THEY HAVE NO UNDERSTANDING.

It Really is Pitiful to see all these wrong-headed people agreeing with each other and patting themselves on the back. THEY LIVE IN A SMALL POND AND THEY ARE SMALL FISH AND PUFFING UP THEMSELVES BECAUSE THEY HAVE NEVER MET A SHARK.

https://i.pinimg.com/564x/d8/82/93/d88293542b8deecf0d267efcd302975e.jpg?fbclid=IwAR0sOu40dzUxggKRQ9KoELU0vCeB3kActRBtShiLYFs2b2TimW3VQPWPiW4

13. Accountants do however have to take some courses in Economics so though they are not experts, they are not totally unaware of the subject matter.

14. @ freedom

Respond to concerns raised and leave the preaching for Sunday. Miller, John 2, Artax, Silly Woman, Donna and many others have asked basic questions. all you got to DO is answer them along with mine about where the $420M shortfall coming from.

The difference with me and you is that I will debate based on facts and figures only. You on the other hand want to debate based on smoke and mirrors and personalities.

Just Answer the questions raised by all accurately and factually. If not don’t waste our time with distractions. The problem is sweet talk will only get you so far in finance, but when questions start to get asked and you can’t answer them, then the truth comes out. Don’t mind if the question comes from me or anyone else just answer them and case closed.

We are all equal on this blog and as a result any question asked if you want to be taken seriously that is, must be answered accurately and based on facts. Whether it is from a St Philip shopkeeper like me or the PM. Stop with the deflection and distractions and bring the responses, only then will your party be taken seriously.

15. @ John A ….What is the GDP of Barbados?

What is the Government Revenue in Barbados?

What is the Percentage of the Revenue to GDP?

Then we will have a Meaningful Conversation…

16. those figures have no bearing on tax policy, or are we deflecting now to past achievements from future policies of potential parties ?

Anyhow we will leave that to another time. Good chatting and ventilating these issues with you.

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver

Maybe now people will start to see why I call Granville Phillips A RH LIAR!

I will never retract that statement because he lies incessantly

Yet, he claims to be a spiritual man who every Monday misleading the populace!

“…@nextparty246

I can’t remember where anyone mentioned anything about adding a 10% sales tax on existing VAT….”

and that is precisely the point!

The liar, BEING CAUGHT OUT TO BE TELLING LIES, now proceeds to change the content of the argument.

Now here are my issues

1.Granville pretends to be a man of the spirit telling us bout commandments and upful living

2.he then says that he has the qualities for the House of Assembly

3.he then adds that he has the Plan and Solutions for Barbados to overcome its economic woes.

And finally as the backbone of that plan

4.he says that he will decrease/remove VAT now 17.5 to 0 and charge everyone 10% tax.

All anyone needs to do is go back to his digital exchange and copy and paste precisely what he said with his vacillating goalposts!

He is a very dangerous man who lies prolifically while trying to discredit ALL HIS DETRACTORS but slowly people are starting to see he is a liar AND IS EVEN WORSE THAN MUGABE

She does tell an equal amount of lies but she ent pretending to be a modern day Billy Graham!

Freedom Croaker 510, you misshapen piece of lard, why you doan left de ole man alone?

You husband pay de people pun Broad Street fuh dem lease yet? But you and he writing books bout Honourable dealings and all sorts of tings!

Wunna would really love it for people who know wunna business dealings to dead out nuh?

No wonder you financing Granville office in the late Miss Ward’s place, I hope wunna paying de rent dere and now doing a repeat of …

18. John A:

You still want to have it both ways.

VAT is a 17.5% tax applied to the price of an item. If a company imports and sells an item, then there is relatively little VAT recovered. If a company sells knowledge-based professional services with few expenses, then there is also relatively little VAT recovered.

A sales tax of 10% is 10% applied to the price of an item. Nothing is recovered.

Comparing these two, how can you keep insisting that a 10% tax will result in 50 times the current current tax paid?

Also, you have not answered the question of, how businesses paying 50 times more in tax to the Government can result in Government receiving significantly less tax revenue – according to your calculations. Again, why resist having an independent accountant or economist decide what is clearly an dispute?

19. Artax:

Do you think that businesses will generally pay 50 times more tax, under either of our tax options, than they currently pay?

Do you think that they will pay 5 times more?

Do you think that they will pay the same amount?

Do you think that they will pay marginally less?

Do you think that they will pay substantially less?

Let us start there, because if you think that businesses will pay 50 times more, then your question makes no sense.

20. GP THE APOSTATE AND FALSE TEACHER Avatar
    GP THE APOSTATE AND FALSE TEACHER

GRENVILLE

Do you think that THE ELECTORATE WILL VOTE FOR A MAN THAT PROMISES SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS WHEN THEY KNOW THAT HE HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS?

21. @ next party 246

What I suggest is you take all the postings from Myself, Artax and all the others who have asked questions and tried to guide you, to an accountant and ask him to explain to you how it all works.

I don’t need anyone to explain to me something i deal with daily.

I now consider this matter is now closed, as we can clearly get no where based on actual working principles and their real world applications.

22. You need to answer the question – why is VAT an unfair tax when it captures all those who have money to spend and those who spend more pay more. Those who spend more generally make more. It even captures the tax evaders, the self-employed, ensuring that they at least pay some contribution for the services they use daily.

Fairest tax there is. And it actually should be easier to collect. There can be no fiddling of the books or fancy footwork.

23. TheO:

The article you referenced was useful. However, it did not address the unfairness of VAT applied in Barbados. I will give two examples.

Not all businesses pay VAT. It used to be that if you were making $60,000 per year, that you had to register with the VAT office and pay. I think that the rate was 15%. This meant that if your annual sales were $50,000, then you got to keep your prices the same. However, your competitor, who had annual sales of $65,000, had to increase the cost of his items by 15%. That harmed businesses just above the threshold.

The Government tried to solve this unfairness by increasing the threshold limit for registering to $80,000. But that gave businesses below that new threshold an unfair advantage, since they could charge 15% less than their unfortunate competitors. The limit is now above $200,000, but the results are the same.

Another unfair aspect of the VAT is that it must be paid soon after an invoice is issued. This is not a problem with merchants, since they are normally paid on their invoices, and can simply turn over the VAT component to the Government.

There are many businesses that send out invoices, and do not get paid for 3 to 8 months. These may be material suppliers, professional services, and contractors. A contractor may issue an invoice for $1M. He then must pay VAT of $175,000 to the Government from his cash-flow, thus putting the construction project in jeopardy.

I hope that you can appreciate how unfair our VAT truly is.

24. Gp2

you are taking two different things that john A said and confusing yourself.

if you go back to his first calculation – he is showing that a 10% tax rate on ALL SALES (AS APPOSED TO THE CURRENT TAX ONLY THE PROFIT) of a company in Barbados will soon bankrupt the company because currently the companies profit margins are too low (4%)
    YES , in this scenario government will taking more revenue — BUT THE BUSINESS WILL SUFFER/GO BANKRUPT/OUT OF BUSINESS —- BECAUSE THEY WOULD BE MAKING LOSSES
    10% SALES TAX. 10% SALES 10% SALES TAX. 10% SALES TAX 10% SALES TAX

In youR second complaint
    John A is showing the effects of ONLY REDUCING THE VAT TO 10% —- this will cause a drop (43% ACCORDING TO A) in government revenue.
    10% VAT 10% VAT10% VAT 10% VAT 10% VAT 10% VAT

25. and you has said REDUCE VAT TO 10% and ABOLISH corporate taxes – which will lead to even a bigger deficit .

26. WAITTTTTTT hold up!!!!!

The business can recoup the 10% sales tax by increasing prices by 10% – this part no one touched on not even GP2 or his poochlicker.

27. Swinging over to GP2 side for now.
    will read the comments tomorrow .

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John2, your 12:07 AM suggests that you are as unprepared as @Phillips! Practically every tax is passed on to the consumer so why your apparent eureka.

That’s NOT the issue… nor frankly the 4% profit discussed above…. yes, the consumer would be forced to pay a minimum 15% upcharge (the tax and the increase to cover the profit margin requirement)… but we still need to see ‘how it changes the tax revenue streams overall!

Mr Phillips should NOT be presenting stetile ‘what if’ scenarios on taxation to us at this stage of his political life…. his scenarios should be based on definitive examples of samples of real family projections (at poverty level, civil servants at low, mid, high salary levels, the self employed mechanic etc etc); companies at diffetent revenue levels and so on…. all to give a firm perspective of final economic numbers…. not some whimsical $1 billion fantasy!

That is freaking BASIC debate data for anyone purporting to change the ENTIRE tax structure of the nation… and we give this gent all this bandwidth to talk this bariffle of BS rather than DEMAND the basics.

Nonsense!

29. “Let us start there, because if you think that businesses will pay 50 times more, then your question makes no sense.”

@ nextparty246

I’m at a loss.

What question are you referring to?

30. Lawyers also do courses in book keeping, that does not make them book keepers. Some training doctors only spend a few hours on nutrition, but when qualified they set themselves up as nutritionists.

31. There are newspaper columnists that do one or two courses in economics and bookkeeping. Though that does not make them economists or bookkeepers, in their minds it does. They then come out pretending they know more than economists and bookkeepers.

32. @ nextparty246 February 17, 2020 10:35 PM
    “The article you referenced was useful. However, it did not address the unfairness of VAT applied in Barbados. I will give two examples.
    Not all businesses pay VAT. It used to be that if you were making $60,000 per year, that you had to register with the VAT office and pay. I think that the rate was 15%. This meant that if your annual sales were $50,000, then you got to keep your prices the same. However, your competitor, who had annual sales of $65,000, had to increase the cost of his items by 15%. That harmed businesses just above the threshold.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Neither do all businesses/commercial entities have to pay corporation tax; either by law or by treaty.
    Are you going to bring them into your proposed 10% all-embracing tax net?

Some goods/services produced and sold (like water) are specifically exempt from both VAT and corporation tax.
    Is it your intention to make Bajans pay 10% on their water supplied by the BWA including those who currently depend on the standpipe for their daily requirements?

Neither have you addressed (ad nauseam ad infinitum) the application of your 10% across-the-board Sales Tax (with No deductions or exemptions) to the forex earning sectors such as International Business and the Hotel & Tourism industry.

Would you still operate the Customs & Excise system of bonding goods?

Would you be imposing your 10% sales tax on goods manufactured or ‘repackaged’ in Barbados for export?

What about on the locally-grown agricultural produce such as yams, sweet potatoes and fresh vegetables highly recommended as a way to save forex and in the on-going fight against the fast expanding epidemic of the NCD plague?

Can we ask your permission to get your sidekick in PR stupidity the “Freedom Croaker” to be the chief spoke-person on economic and financial matters for SB?

33. re Can we ask your permission to get your sidekick in PR stupidity the “Freedom Croaker” to be the chief spoke-person on economic and financial matters for SB?

WHAT SIN HAS THE BLOGGERS COMMITED THAT THEY SHOULD BE SENTENCED TO SUCH PURGATORY , SIR?
    BETTER TO HAVE DOMPEY

34. @John A

Your view government has implemented the VAT at source with Amazon? Finally?

35. I revert back to my original stance of not agreeing with GP@2. probably was too exhausted last night.

36. With the elimination of corporate taxes and reducing VAT to 10 % will cause a bigger deficit – even if the businesses recoup the 10% sale tax by raising prices 10%

DPD . you are correct. my senior moment hit me in the middle of the night but I was not going to come back on pc to admit it.

the lost of revenue to government( by the elimination and reduction of the two taxes) will be made up by pulling those that are currently tax exempted into the tax net – form paying 0% to paying 10% – AN UNWISE POLITICAL MOVE.
    GOOD LUCK TO SB WITH GETTING THOSES VOTES.

37. @ David.

The last I heard was that Amazon does not act as a tax collector for and country other than the USA.

This move by government is nothing but another example of proof that their tax collection systems at the port of entries are poor. You just forgave $400M in VAT and you worrying about a dress old Mrs Browne bought in for $19.95 USD?

Behave wunna self do.

38. Any country not and country

39. @ David.

Just read in Bdos Today that AMAZON will SOON be collection the VAT that we can’t work out how to collect here. There has been no explanation given how this will work though and what measures will be put in place to avoid double taxation when the items land. In other words would we need to submit the AMAZON bill say with a customs entry to avoid paying it again?

I would say worry about it if and when it ever materializes. It is a waste of time anyhow as they are so many ways around it that it’s laughable.

40. I would say worry about it if and when it ever materializes. It is a waste of time anyhow as they are so many ways around it that it’s laughable.

I suspect that “it” has materialized.

I am here waiting, almost two weeks now; for some items bought on Amazon that have disappeared into the black hole call “Customs”. 2-3 days late was the norm before.

If this is how it’s going to be now, then I will have to make some adjustments.

41. @ F.M Luder

Check your Amazon bill and see if it has withheld charges on it. It probably doesn’t so you probably got clearance issues with who you ship through. He may be one still struggling with the new Asicuda software.

I bought an item yesterday on Amazon and they were no tax charges behind withheld of 17.5% so it hasn’t started yet it would seem. Besides we still have to be told how it will work here to avoid double taxation at clearance.

42. @John A

If you read the same BT report it refers to Amazon issuing a tax compliant certificate. One presumes on presentation of same no further taxes will be demanded onshore.

43. @ David.

Well you will still have the duty but at least vat registered companies will be able to reclaim the VAT.

The thing is the application of VAT is at the discretion of Amazon. So let’s say I pay for an item on my card but it’s sent to my son in Florida for use there, why am I paying the VAT in Barbados?

Now if you tell me they will charge AND SHIP TO the card owner in Barbados that I could understand.

Anyhow I guess Amazon will do it Fairly and no doubt post the options of paying through other sources on their sight..LOL

As usual high on fluff and short on details.

44. @de pedantic Dribbler February 18, 2020 1:23 AM “Mr Phillips…his scenarios should be based on definitive examples of samples of real family projections (at poverty level, civil servants at low, mid, high salary levels, the self employed mechanic etc etc);”

But then the real families at poverty level, civil servants at low, mid, high salary levels, the self employed mechanic etc etc. would realize that Solutions Barbados solutions are not in their best interest, and they might not vote for Solutions Barbados…And then where would Solutions Barbados be?

45. nextparty246February 17, 2020 10:35 PM

TheO:

The article you referenced was useful. However, it did not address the unfairness of VAT applied in Barbados. I will give two examples.

Not all businesses pay VAT. It used to be that if you were making $60,000 per year, that you had to register with the VAT office and pay. I think that the rate was 15%. This meant that if your annual sales were $50,000, then you got to keep your prices the same. However, your competitor, who had annual sales of $65,000, had to increase the cost of his items by 15%. That harmed businesses just above the threshold.

The Government tried to solve this unfairness by increasing the threshold limit for registering to $80,000. But that gave businesses below that new threshold an unfair advantage, since they could charge 15% less than their unfortunate competitors. The limit is now above $200,000, but the results are the same.

Another unfair aspect of the VAT is that it must be paid soon after an invoice is issued. This is not a problem with merchants, since they are normally paid on their invoices, and can simply turn over the VAT component to the Government.

There are many businesses that send out invoices, and do not get paid for 3 to 8 months. These may be material suppliers, professional services, and contractors. A contractor may issue an invoice for $1M. He then must pay VAT of $175,000 to the Government from his cash-flow, thus putting the construction project in jeopardy.

I hope that you can appreciate how unfair our VAT truly is.

Soooo… what will your 10% Sales tax across the board do to very small businesses whose prices are usually higher than larger businesses who can make money due to volume?

All your other complaints have to do with the administration of VAT and can be fixed by greater efficiency.

46. @John A February 18, 2020 11:53 AM

My Amazon’s invoices have always included an “Import Fees Deposit” charge. This is separate from the “Shipping & Handling” charge.

Yes, the invoice doesn’t show VAT, but “Import Fees Deposit” is rather vague and should arguably cover it, no? Well that is what I always assumed given that the deposit is about 40%

Oh well, there goes another nail in the ease of doing business coffin.

47. @ donna

That comment also is nonesence. The small business who sell under $200,000 are at a serious DISADVANTAGE AS they must swallow ALL the input VAT and hence they CAN NOT compete with larger producers who can reclaim all of their input vat. This was a concern also made clear by the head of the SBA.

Lord will this foolishness ever end!

48. @ F.M Luder.

If we go by the article on Barbados Today it says the taxation of VAT will not start till April. So We will have to see what the bill will show then.

49. @John A February 18, 2020 12:04 PM

Anyhow I guess Amazon will do it Fairly and no doubt post the options of paying through other sources on their sight..LOL

Amazon has an option to pay locally, but it is a hassle for me. I would have to leave home and go to an agent to pay. Heavy traffic, long lines and all that jazz. Just to avoid paying 17.5%.

You either pay or stop shopping. A win-win for the Government.

@John A February 18, 2020 12:24 PM
    Agreed.

50. The small business who sell under $200,000 are at a serious DISADVANTAGE AS they must swallow ALL the input VAT and hence they CAN NOT compete with larger producers who can reclaim all of their input vat.
    +++++++

Got that right.
    Customers don’t care about that. “Mr Big selling it for $XYZ so you have to match him or I leffing you things pon you shelf”

Then some got the gall to claim that the “Amazon Tax” will level the playing field. Them really meant; flatten the competition.
    Dog bite yuh!